User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1283 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2019
    5
    This game is a great example of being tricked and lied to. Especialy after playing MW remastered.

    1. Campaing. The most borring and uninteresting campaing. Im affraid even Ghosts was more creative. Almost no epic scenes, not many interesting ideas or short side mechanics. The trick here is that it feels and look absolutely great at first. But later during gameplay you realise it is the
    This game is a great example of being tricked and lied to. Especialy after playing MW remastered.

    1. Campaing. The most borring and uninteresting campaing. Im affraid even Ghosts was more creative. Almost no epic scenes, not many interesting ideas or short side mechanics. The trick here is that it feels and look absolutely great at first. But later during gameplay you realise it is the same corridor and maximum restrictive gameplay. Sometimes you are not allowed to step aside 10 meters left or right. It will be game over and start over. Graphics and sound and voice actors are wonderful though. Story is the worst in the series. No gray colors. Strict black and white. You can say a lot about making russian soldiers animals, it is not the main problem. The problem is that it is just generic story without any strong thoughts. Usual, blunt and with plenty dull tries to rewrite modern history events. Game litterary takes you as an idiot. Combining with a dull gameplay it is just unacceptible. 2 - Multiplayer. Feels differently, fun and loyal to newcomers. Cross play is a great feature. But at the same time multiplayer lost its unique face. It feels like Medal of Honor 2010. Better, but it is not by all means a COD experience. Veterans might be dissappointed. In the end COD MW 2019 is not a terrible game. It is even not a bad one. It is just very and very mediocre. For one big step forward it makes two misserable steps back.
    Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2019
    7
    Campaña lenta con gran final Multijugador completo y entretenido me esperaba algo más....
  3. Oct 29, 2019
    6
    Great Call Of Duty this year. Campaign is visually great introducing some new mechanics into it. Multiplayer is great, time to kill and overall gameplay flow is decent. A game pass system is going to be introduced later though. Similar to the battle pass system in FortniteWhuch is disappointing because it's not a free game. .
  4. Oct 25, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game in All is very enjoyable but there is something that’s bugs me about the campaign The Portayal of the Russians is non acceptable in my view yes i am aware that its a fictional story and all but still this has happened alot in the past with Russians in the call of duty campaigns i wish to See changes in the future. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2019
    5
    A great game with the worst designed maps in Call of Duty history.

    The maps are designed for two things.
    1: Spawn trap.
    2: Camp.

    Thhis game is desperately trying to be Battlefield and fails doing so.
  6. Nov 21, 2019
    7
    Очень понравилась кампания, русских показали такими, какие они есть на самом деле. Разочаровало то, что кампания очень короткая прошел за часов 5 и не заметил. Мультиплеер та еще рулетка, все зависит от сетевого кода. Режим спецопераций больше понравился чем нет, но опять же надо играть только с командой друзей, а не с рандомами. Режим Выживания, разумеется не оценил, и за это ActivisionОчень понравилась кампания, русских показали такими, какие они есть на самом деле. Разочаровало то, что кампания очень короткая прошел за часов 5 и не заметил. Мультиплеер та еще рулетка, все зависит от сетевого кода. Режим спецопераций больше понравился чем нет, но опять же надо играть только с командой друзей, а не с рандомами. Режим Выживания, разумеется не оценил, и за это Activision огромный минус. Игра, к сожалению не стоит своих денег, максимум 40 долларов, так же нет смысла особо потеть в мультиплеере - все равно через год будет другая игра. Так же заметил то что со времен MW2 мало что изменилось в мультиплеере и это по большой части очень хорошо. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2019
    7
    Really great campaign. That being said the multiplayer really rewards camping so that takes a lot of the fun out of it.
  8. Dec 7, 2020
    6
    I have mixed feelings about Modern Warfare. On one hand, it finally improved the graphics, has the best gunplay in the series, and a very good campaign. On the other hand, the gameplay is ruined by horribly designed maps, bland colors/locations, and a very short TTK which leads to the most campers I've ever seen before. It does also have a solid BR though but once again, the depressingI have mixed feelings about Modern Warfare. On one hand, it finally improved the graphics, has the best gunplay in the series, and a very good campaign. On the other hand, the gameplay is ruined by horribly designed maps, bland colors/locations, and a very short TTK which leads to the most campers I've ever seen before. It does also have a solid BR though but once again, the depressing overuse of grey and lack of any interesting locations really hurts the experience in my eyes. I've never been so split on CoD before. Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2019
    6
    I won't get into the propaganda thing in the campaign. I do get why people are upset by it though. I'm just going to review my experience with MP.

    Honestly I haven't cared for a COD game since maybe MW3. I generally have stayed away from them. This is because of the obnoxious killstreaks and quickscoping. Quickscoping is not a major thing now but camping for killstreaks is real big.
    I won't get into the propaganda thing in the campaign. I do get why people are upset by it though. I'm just going to review my experience with MP.

    Honestly I haven't cared for a COD game since maybe MW3. I generally have stayed away from them. This is because of the obnoxious killstreaks and quickscoping. Quickscoping is not a major thing now but camping for killstreaks is real big. Put your claymores down and get in a building where you can hide and shoot people with cover. I'll be the 1st to admit that I'm not very good at these games anymore. Old eyes and my reflexes are just not like they were 10 years ago. I generally die a lot and find myself frustrated. If you've never been very good at COD or you're getting older you will probably be in the same boat. It's a punishing game and will test your patience every time you die. There are a lot of cheap deaths where you know you shot 1st or you get shot in the back. The footsteps are like concrete blocks on surfaces but the enemies are not usually where you think they are and...bang. You're dead.

    Basically if you are a very competitive gamer with little patience who doesn't camp with claymores, you may wanna skip this one for the sake of your mental health.
    Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2019
    5
    No Spec Ops missions at launch. It was held back from the game so that Activision can pretend to be heroes and release them as "Free DLC" sometime in the future. I wish I could say that this effort is completely transparent and that gamers won't be fooled by this crappy tactic, but we're talking about the Call of Duty community. They just aren't that smart. They're too busy praising theirNo Spec Ops missions at launch. It was held back from the game so that Activision can pretend to be heroes and release them as "Free DLC" sometime in the future. I wish I could say that this effort is completely transparent and that gamers won't be fooled by this crappy tactic, but we're talking about the Call of Duty community. They just aren't that smart. They're too busy praising their overlord, Activision, and incapable of clear-headed, rational thought. Screw the greedy, predatory way that this company treats it's fanbase. No Spec Ops missions even though they were blatantly advertised as part of the game at launch. Yet no one is really making a big deal about it because the CoD fanboy's are such ignorant apologists that Activision could go to these guys house's and kick them in the jewels and they would thank them for it and preorder next year's installment. Gaming has gone to s***. Expand
  11. Nov 7, 2019
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Intense but I think I liked it. At this point just play it so you don't feel left out. Expand
  12. Nov 16, 2019
    7
    Great solid call of duty very fun to play the graphics and the gunplay is awesome just ashame people camp so much .
  13. Dec 29, 2019
    5
    The story is great and it is like the old COD but in saying that I fell like falling back on a old fan favourite is cheap and the only reason they did that was because of all the bad press from the micro transactions. And saying that again after a month that added the stupid thing in again. They fail again to initiate and is just a copy paste this is the first one I have played sinceThe story is great and it is like the old COD but in saying that I fell like falling back on a old fan favourite is cheap and the only reason they did that was because of all the bad press from the micro transactions. And saying that again after a month that added the stupid thing in again. They fail again to initiate and is just a copy paste this is the first one I have played since advanced warfare it it reminds me of y I stop in the first place Expand
  14. Nov 1, 2019
    5
    Поиграл.
    С технической точки зрения - восхитительно.
    Звук, картинка, стрельба - гораздо лучше прошлых серий. Сюжет шокировал. Как же сильно оказывается Activision нас ненавидит )) Почитал комментарии... И смотрите что заметил: - Западные игроки пишут, что игра понравилась и русские зря злятся, типа это фикция и они это типа понимают. На них не действует пропаганда короче, молодцы -
    Поиграл.
    С технической точки зрения - восхитительно.
    Звук, картинка, стрельба - гораздо лучше прошлых серий.

    Сюжет шокировал. Как же сильно оказывается Activision нас ненавидит ))

    Почитал комментарии... И смотрите что заметил:

    - Западные игроки пишут, что игра понравилась и русские зря злятся, типа это фикция и они это типа понимают. На них не действует пропаганда короче, молодцы

    - Украина хором пишет, что наконец-то этих москалей показали такими, какие они есть, ТОЛЬКО на них работает пропаганда ;)
    но от них я ничего другого и не ждал, они там наверное оргазмируют на телевизоры от любой фразы про злую Россию

    - Русские отреагировали самым естественным образом, почти всем не понравилась идея Activision сделать из Российской армии войска ЭсЭс, Но некоторые "русские" откровенно признаются в ненависти к своей стране. Наверное промытые мутанты какие-нибудь, но точно не русские

    Я вспомнил свои эмоции, когда я играл в Ghost Recon Wildlands. Я там стрелял в боливийцев и вообще ни разу не воспринимал их как настоящую армию, понимал, что это игра и фикция. Там кстати эту игру забанили.

    P.S. Dear friends, Russian army doesn't kill kids and civilians.
    Russian criminals do, yes. We are putting them down as soon as they raise their heads out of their animal caves.
    Entire Russian Army? - never, and this is dumb idea to spread this BS all over the world.
    Expand
  15. Nov 1, 2019
    5
    This game does so much right, but also so much wrong. Since they are going back to the roots and bringing back old mechanics this game should be a dream for every CoD veteran, Sadly this dream gets destroyed after a few hours played in multiplayer.
    I encountered so many issues while playing for 50 hours now. Graphic errors combined with chrashes (Not a problem of my pc. Got a RTX 2070 and
    This game does so much right, but also so much wrong. Since they are going back to the roots and bringing back old mechanics this game should be a dream for every CoD veteran, Sadly this dream gets destroyed after a few hours played in multiplayer.
    I encountered so many issues while playing for 50 hours now. Graphic errors combined with chrashes (Not a problem of my pc. Got a RTX 2070 and a Ryzen 2700x also fast RAM and such) Netcode Problems, the fact that dead silence isnt a perk anymore. And also broken. And a big no no for me is, that the game lacks good mp maps. Almost none of the maps are fun to play. Rather to get controle on them. I was watching a few Streamer aswell, havin the same Problems.

    This game could be such a treasure, if its not that broken.
    Things they REALLY need to change:
    - Netcode (For real! Sometimes u hit enemys 3 meters away with 5 hitmarkers and get a 25 assist)
    - more maps! The map design of the ones right now is hated by many ppl
    - Gun reworks
    - Making dead silence a perk since this game is a campfest which is no fun at all (Most of the time the timer runs out before u get to the score limit)
    -Fixing a lot of graphic and other issues

    What is good about this game:
    - The weapons look good at are powerfull
    - the sound engine is very good
    - no kid skins (atleast for now) for weapons and other stuff. U need to work for the camo u want (oldschool)
    . daily missions
    - good killstreaks and good killstreak system
    -graphics (might be for some ppl a thing, i play on lowest anyway)
    - The loadout options

    I hope they will change something.. cause i really want to have fun playing this game.. but 80% of the time its torture.
    Expand
  16. Nov 5, 2019
    7
    This years release/remake of COD MW is two different games in one. The campaign is very engaging and I loved the story. Great set pieces reminded me of films like Zero Dark Thirty and 13 Hours. This did a great job of providing a modern setting with lots of realistic gameplay and not over the top action like past COD titles. While the single-player is great the multiplayer is just ok. ItThis years release/remake of COD MW is two different games in one. The campaign is very engaging and I loved the story. Great set pieces reminded me of films like Zero Dark Thirty and 13 Hours. This did a great job of providing a modern setting with lots of realistic gameplay and not over the top action like past COD titles. While the single-player is great the multiplayer is just ok. It feels just like any other COD game you have ever played for the most part. However, it promotes camping and there are cheap kills such as claymores and constant kill streaks. Some of the weapons are unbalanced along with team balancing issues. While this is mostly standard for COD multiplayer games this iteration feels ramped up to 10. A patch can fix most of these issues but without one it is very frustrating even for skilled players. Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2019
    7
    La idea de segregar el juego en varios archivos es lo único idiota del juego, en definitiva es mejor que Cod Blackops 4, pero al debe con los anteriores Mod.
  18. Nov 17, 2019
    6
    Good campain, decent multiplayer, bad co,op and a mode that is par exclusive and almost everyone wanted it
  19. Dec 7, 2019
    7
    The game over experience is fun, I like that it wasn’t covered in loot stuff and currency bs. I felt it fin like the original cod 4. I do dislike the never ending campers in multiplayer mode, but that every COD game. Story is good, I enjoyed it. Graphics and audio is awesome! Try it out for yourself and don’t listen to the haters with no life.
  20. Dec 9, 2019
    7
    The game is awesome but they need to do something about the campers, it ruining the game exprience
  21. Dec 9, 2019
    6
    Honestly one of the best call of duty games in recent years, though some big things do keep this game from being possibly one of the best in the entire franchise. The multiplayer has some serious issues. The new mini map system and the horrible maps are the two biggest problems with the online portion of the game at the moment, however some seriously over powered weapons, the rage inducingHonestly one of the best call of duty games in recent years, though some big things do keep this game from being possibly one of the best in the entire franchise. The multiplayer has some serious issues. The new mini map system and the horrible maps are the two biggest problems with the online portion of the game at the moment, however some seriously over powered weapons, the rage inducing claymores and skilled based matchmaking make it hard to see this game living past its 1 year life cycle. Expand
  22. Dec 16, 2019
    5
    Although the game plays well, It is hard to overcome the ridiculous amount of lies and propaganda that Modern Warfare‘s campaign tries to instill upon players. The war crimes depicted were not only carried out in real life by MIDDLE EASTERN countries, but also by America itself! Research the Highway of Death- a horrible crime committed by America, but put on the Russians in this game,Although the game plays well, It is hard to overcome the ridiculous amount of lies and propaganda that Modern Warfare‘s campaign tries to instill upon players. The war crimes depicted were not only carried out in real life by MIDDLE EASTERN countries, but also by America itself! Research the Highway of Death- a horrible crime committed by America, but put on the Russians in this game, among others. Stop being scared to put out truth rather than making a game that fuels hate to a country no less innocent than the others it depicts. Gameplay wise, amazing. Anti-Russia propaganda wise? Horrible. Expand
  23. Dec 17, 2019
    6
    Campanha legal mas diversos problemas no multiplayer que fez eu parar de jogar
  24. Dec 24, 2019
    5
    I've played many of these games and i've got to admit that this game is mediocre af. Not innovative, don't know why they released it tbh.
  25. Dec 27, 2019
    5
    Great game and if you actually follow truth and not some eastern Slavic alternative reality based lies from followers of a height challenged despot hell bent on recovering something they never had until 2016, you’ll find the game to be entertaining. Bring it on tvarish, Patton was correct about mother Russia, should’ve finished her off decades ago.
  26. Feb 25, 2020
    6
    Good campaign, good gun customisation lots of attachments.
    The bad parts of the is the maps are terrible and most of the new maps are recycled from old games and there are only a few maps that are good. And the battle pass is a rip off it's just full of stupid sprays that you will never use and character's that you cannot see because it's a first person game so it's just a waste of money.
    Good campaign, good gun customisation lots of attachments.
    The bad parts of the is the maps are terrible and most of the new maps are recycled from old games and there are only a few maps that are good. And the battle pass is a rip off it's just full of stupid sprays that you will never use and character's that you cannot see because it's a first person game so it's just a waste of money. Other than that it's fun to play sometimes but the skill based matchmaking ruins the fun of the game so hopefully they remove that and bring back the original mini map.
    Expand
  27. Feb 19, 2020
    5
    Would be a good game (not great) if they would actually fix the technical issues and not make them worse. also i hate the 1 year delay for survival to give PS4 an edge.
  28. Apr 8, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would like to put emphasis on the fact that this is the first Call of Duty I have actually enjoyed playing and invested a lot of time into since COD 4 remastered. The game itself is well balanced when it comes to its guns and is just generally fun and excited to play and I really do enjoy it. However, there is a major downside to this game and that’s the development of it. I have never played a game with so many issues and errors popping up. I know this isn’t just my network as it happens to everyone I know but everytime I freshly load up the game it says error connecting and sometimes this can genuinely take 3 attempts just to load up the game. You also can’t play loads of games back to back without a network error whether it’s being kicked out mid game for being disconnected from the call of duty servers or being kicked out of a party that you are in between games. I’ve noticed that in a party of 6 we can’t string more than 2 games together without their being a player booted out. The game itself also seems to freeze constantly and although it’s only for a few seconds when you’re in the lobby it can be so frustrating as you can’t even set up a class without the game glitching. The network errors for this game are such a let down considering how big the game itself is. I would genuinely rate this game a 9/10 if the network errors didn’t play such a big roll in preventing me from just having fun. This game with better servers and network consistency’s would be one of the top call of duty’s ever made hands down. Expand
  29. Jun 24, 2020
    5
    Horrible spawn, game with a lot of bugs and maps very big. Example: Hovec Sawmll
  30. Dec 23, 2020
    7
    Review of the story, btw: I do think the multiplayer is quite fun though.
    •The story is fine. There is almost nothing special about it. When I found out originally that Price was returning I was definitely interested. And then I found out it was a reboot of the series. And then I played the game and they do nothing interesting with a single one of the characters anyways to justify a
    Review of the story, btw: I do think the multiplayer is quite fun though.
    •The story is fine. There is almost nothing special about it. When I found out originally that Price was returning I was definitely interested. And then I found out it was a reboot of the series. And then I played the game and they do nothing interesting with a single one of the characters anyways to justify a reboot other than them not having to continue the story of the originals. It’s disappointing, honestly. For the plot they set up it continues and finishes decently. There’s a single development I thought was pretty good but otherwise... eh. It doesn’t really have a message, at least not a deep one where it could’ve, about chemical warfare or the morality of war. There are brief scenes to touch on these things but they’re basically brushed past.
    •The levels range from alright to great. But to be fair only two of them are actually great. The best ones are the ones with unique gameplay, and there are a decent amount of em. Where you’re just regularly shooting dudes as you progress there’s nothing much happening to keep you super engaged. So it’s a good thing they switch it up a bit.
    •The gunplay is great. Maybe even fantastic. Everything feels good to use, it’s all responsive, there are enough different weapons that you’ll have favorites just going through the campaign.
    •Visuals are incredible across the board. Everything looks lifelike, there are details like different animations for reloading while aiming or prone, any sight enhancements (as in night vision) are impressive.
    •Sound is also great. Voice acting is solid for everyone.

    Overall: I was disappointed by the story somewhat, but the gameplay is undoubtedly good. While the levels are varied in some spots, there isn’t enough that I had a great time. Starts out well, got a little boring near the middle, but the last few missions are fun.
    Expand
  31. Jun 21, 2020
    7
    Pretty disappointing campaign. Was expecting something more engaging than this but some of the set pieces were cool and the multiplayer is solid.
  32. Jul 22, 2020
    7
    At the BETA times, I loved it. 9/10
    When the game came out, it was strange. 8/10
    And the game in it's current state is 7/10.
    (I don't hate it, it's just not really enjoyable for me when it fully released. However, Warzone looks good.)
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 18, 2020
    80
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare serves up the freshest take on a stale formula in years, with a new engine and revitalised multiplayer mode that takes full advantage of a finely-tuned weapon customisation system and some welcome changes to ballistic mechanics. While Spec Ops fails to deliver much long-term attraction, the story mode proves there’s plenty of justification for a narrative element in a modern shooter. Free maps and updates bring everyone onto the same page in multiplayer, but Infinity Ward's take on the battle pass template still needs some work.
  2. 70
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is a mixed bag. A fantastic returning campaign, some decent multiplayer and terrible co-op makes MW an interesting entry.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Nov 18, 2019
    70
    If you don’t mind being killed by the odd nuke – how anyone can score 30 consecutive kills is beyond our tiny minds – PvP could swallow your damn life. Pair it with a gutsy (if insensitive) campaign, and this tonally conflicted series continues to stay relevant thanks to the best guns in the biz. [Issue#184, p.68]