User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 147
  2. Negative: 92 out of 147
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    8
    The presentation side of the game does a solid job on both the visuals and sound design deliver a decent amount of immersion. I enjoyed the story that was present in the game and in my opinion they’ve carried on the story from Far Cry 5 extremely well. Whenever you’re in combat it always feels satisfying and I especially enjoyed the feel of the shooting mechanics because they definitelyThe presentation side of the game does a solid job on both the visuals and sound design deliver a decent amount of immersion. I enjoyed the story that was present in the game and in my opinion they’ve carried on the story from Far Cry 5 extremely well. Whenever you’re in combat it always feels satisfying and I especially enjoyed the feel of the shooting mechanics because they definitely pack a punch. There’s a decent amount of content for you to explore and enough variety in the missions to keep you interested. Crafting has a great importance about it and upgrading certain things makes you become even more attached to the overall gameplay. Technically the game suffers with a few issues every now and then which can be some-what annoying. There hasn’t been many changes implemented in the game so it pretty much feels the same as Far Cry 5.
    While I enjoyed the story the lack of character progression meant that they didn’t always feel as important as they should’ve been. Far Cry 5 was an absolute masterpiece and it got so much right that it ended up being my 2nd favorite game in the series. I was looking forward to Far Cry New Dawn and while it isn’t as good as Far Cry 5 it’s still a solidt addition to the franchise. Once again we’re treated to a very good and compelling story but in order to get the full value of the story I would recommend playing Far Cry 5 first. Something that I really enjoyed about the previous Far Cry game was its presentation and I’m pleased to say that they’ve done justice to both the visuals and sound design again. I do however have a small gripe though and that is that you have to deal with a few bugs every now and then but thankfully they don’t come up very often so you won’t be bothered by them too much. In terms of content the game has a decent amount for you to sink your teeth into and the combat elements feel very satisfying. Crafting also feels important as well but I do wish they would have focused a little more on character progression because it makes the characters in the game feel a little less important. At the end of the day then whilst Far Cry New Dawn feels very similar to Far Cry 5 with not too many changes I still recommend that you get the game because if you’re a fan of this franchise you’ll still see it as being an important addition. In the end it's worth the lower price of admission into the far car series.
    Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2019
    9
    Not sure why there are so many negative and scathing reviews. Far Cry New Dawn is a blast and a fun way to re-engage with Hope County. The colours and transformed landscape are stunning, and it is of little consequence to me if this would be a realistic post-apocalyptic landscape; Far Cry has never been about ultra-realism and has been more about creating havoc and accomplishing missionsNot sure why there are so many negative and scathing reviews. Far Cry New Dawn is a blast and a fun way to re-engage with Hope County. The colours and transformed landscape are stunning, and it is of little consequence to me if this would be a realistic post-apocalyptic landscape; Far Cry has never been about ultra-realism and has been more about creating havoc and accomplishing missions in a fully realized world, which is what this is. It feels like a more realized and expanded DLC that allows you to play with new (and some old) characters in a new way, filled with some of the humour and playfulness of the Far Cry 5. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2019
    9
    I do recommend that you finish Far Cry 5 first since New Dawn is, story wise, a sequel. It is by no means Far Cry 6 though, and it was never advertised as such. It feels in every aspect I can think of, like a large DLC. The changes made to perks, guns for hire, crafting system, fighting and the possibility to liberate outposts multiple times for greater rewards is in my opinion good ones.I do recommend that you finish Far Cry 5 first since New Dawn is, story wise, a sequel. It is by no means Far Cry 6 though, and it was never advertised as such. It feels in every aspect I can think of, like a large DLC. The changes made to perks, guns for hire, crafting system, fighting and the possibility to liberate outposts multiple times for greater rewards is in my opinion good ones. The map is smaller, but that's not a bad thing. The action comes closer, you don't spend endless amounts of time staring at loading screens when you fast travel, it's faster to just grab a trike and drive there since the map is not that huge! I'm satisfied, no bugs that I've seen and a **** of action. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2019
    6
    Far Cry: New Dawn is a rather simple, uninspired game, but it manages to capture an important aspect of a quality video game very well. Being fun. It isn’t the best in the series, and I would recommend playing Far Cry 5 before jumping into this. It’s a direct sequel to 5, so that background would help. Far Cry 5 is also generally a better game and is a more traditional Far Cry experience.Far Cry: New Dawn is a rather simple, uninspired game, but it manages to capture an important aspect of a quality video game very well. Being fun. It isn’t the best in the series, and I would recommend playing Far Cry 5 before jumping into this. It’s a direct sequel to 5, so that background would help. Far Cry 5 is also generally a better game and is a more traditional Far Cry experience. But don’t let that stop you from picking up New Dawn. If you’re a Far Cry fan then chances are you will enjoy this game.

    Despite it being a practical DLC to Far Cry 5, it manages to save face by being $40, rather than $60. It means Ubisoft is able to acknowledge that this entry is lacking in many areas compared to the standards the previous games have set.
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2019
    6
    This game is not bad but doesn't feel right. The world does not look like 17 years after a nuclear holocaust, even a fictional scifi one where 'life finds a way'. We are reminded of this by the large living trees everywhere. Base building was overstated. The loss of features like fighters was a huge mistake. Most of the guns for higher are just dumb, something you have to tolerate if youThis game is not bad but doesn't feel right. The world does not look like 17 years after a nuclear holocaust, even a fictional scifi one where 'life finds a way'. We are reminded of this by the large living trees everywhere. Base building was overstated. The loss of features like fighters was a huge mistake. Most of the guns for higher are just dumb, something you have to tolerate if you otherwise like the feature. The strange choice to make your character from the previous game join the cult, their silliness, and limited options - makes this great feature terrible. An elderly woman for a sniper, a shiba inu? What happened to our mountain lion? For an asset flip New Dawn improves little, Far Cry 5 was just a much better game. If you're a huge fan of Far Cry you'll probably enjoy it, otherwise save your money and check out Far Cry 5. Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2019
    5
    I totally appreciate the willingness to try something a bit different, and the lower price point, but in this case I don't feel like it paid off. Damage numbers and loot rarity doesn't add anything meaningful to the FarCry experience I have come to know and love. Enemy A.I is still the same as in FC5. Enemies are extremely predictable and easy to manipulate making a lot of the game aI totally appreciate the willingness to try something a bit different, and the lower price point, but in this case I don't feel like it paid off. Damage numbers and loot rarity doesn't add anything meaningful to the FarCry experience I have come to know and love. Enemy A.I is still the same as in FC5. Enemies are extremely predictable and easy to manipulate making a lot of the game a bit boring. The villains are only mildly interesting compared to past titles. I don't know that there is much more to say. I mean if you played FarCry 5 you already know what to expect, though for me personally doesn't do anything in particular that makes me want to come back to it. It honestly just made me want to replay FarCry 5. If you do decide to pass on New Dawn let me assure you that you aren't missing anything super special. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2019
    0
    I like how they're afraid to list "male" and "female" as a choice at the start, just "body type" is available. Western Society circa 2019: celebrate mental illness, scientific facts don't matter, respect the precious fee fees.

    Ignoring the astronomical new level of SJW woke-ness from Ubisoft, its just a bad game overall. It's Far Cry 5 DLC, might even pass for a mod on PC. The
    I like how they're afraid to list "male" and "female" as a choice at the start, just "body type" is available. Western Society circa 2019: celebrate mental illness, scientific facts don't matter, respect the precious fee fees.

    Ignoring the astronomical new level of SJW woke-ness from Ubisoft, its just a bad game overall. It's Far Cry 5 DLC, might even pass for a mod on PC. The cash-grabbiest cash grab that would make Activision blush. Same map as Far Cry 5, just "reworked" into a Rage knock off.

    Tedious grinding and loaded (again) with MTX's. They were at least conscious enough of what they were doing to not charge $60 at release but this shouldn't have been priced higher than $20.

    Skip it. You're not missing anything.
    Expand
  8. Feb 22, 2019
    0
    Another example of politically correct garbage, a cash-grab and a lazy job by the developers, don't even bother with it.
    It's not even a Far Cry game anymore.
  9. Feb 17, 2019
    0
    This game is designed to be tedious and boring. The RPG "elements" added make it feel nothing like a Far Cry game. The design choices all try and push you towards spending extra money in the cash shop. Do yourself a favor avoid this game like the plague.
  10. Feb 19, 2019
    0
    pior igual far cry primal ,por que não fez dlc gratir no far cry 5????? pra paga mais de 50 dólares o mesmo jogo de far cry 5 , pra min far cry morreu
  11. Feb 22, 2019
    0
    Get woke go broke.

    75 characters I must type so I am tying this long necessary sentence.
  12. Feb 27, 2019
    0
    I thought Far Cry 5 was a great game, but New Dawn is like they gave the assets for Far Cry 5 to a bunch of interns and said, here, see what you can make of this. I gave it a go for two sessions and decided I have had enough. I am trading it in for something else. Maybe the reason I dislike it so much is because I just finished playing Metro Exodus which is a near masterpiece. New Dawn byI thought Far Cry 5 was a great game, but New Dawn is like they gave the assets for Far Cry 5 to a bunch of interns and said, here, see what you can make of this. I gave it a go for two sessions and decided I have had enough. I am trading it in for something else. Maybe the reason I dislike it so much is because I just finished playing Metro Exodus which is a near masterpiece. New Dawn by comparison just feels superficial, trashy and soul-less. Expand
  13. Feb 22, 2019
    8
    Fun sequel to Far Cry 5. The new outpost system where the get stronger is a nice addition. Game has a good amount of content for $40. Overall if you liked Far Cry 5 then you're going to like New Dawn.
  14. Apr 7, 2019
    8
    As a 20 dollar game, this is a very big surprise for me. An epilogue to Far Cry 5, that has many mechanics better than its AAA game cousin. This B game, is cleaner, more linear, and some of the AI, shooting and fort design appear improved. I liked it better than FC5, no meaderings, psychedlic trippy parts, or uneven style junctures.
  15. Mar 29, 2019
    9
    When i see 75 for critic and 31 (3.1) for user ratings, i Know there is an active effort by a group to make it look like a bad game when it's not. In fact, it's a great game. Just what you would except from a Far Cry game. Plus it's got a twist then you would think from an aftermath of Far Cry 5. I was hesitant at first to buy the game. Even though 99% of shooter game are male. Ubisoft andWhen i see 75 for critic and 31 (3.1) for user ratings, i Know there is an active effort by a group to make it look like a bad game when it's not. In fact, it's a great game. Just what you would except from a Far Cry game. Plus it's got a twist then you would think from an aftermath of Far Cry 5. I was hesitant at first to buy the game. Even though 99% of shooter game are male. Ubisoft and most other developers and publishers are putting an effort to make the woman masculine and the man feminine. By putting hot pink/purple on everything and the villain 2 woman. This is happening across the board with a woman as character in Battlefield V, Star Wars Battlefront II and the list can go on and on. Even though overwhelming data shows that the people buying these games don't want a female as a character or at least the only one to pick, publishers and developers are putting them in. Why? it's part of a bigger picture. Regardless where one stands on the issue, promoting LGBT does one thing, it eliminates the family structure.since humanity has existed the father has always been the bread winner with the mom raising children and holding down the home. This keeps money flow to the family while having a parents home to raise the children properly. Now with both parents working, the kid has to go to school sometimes 1-2 hours beforehand and stay 2-3 hours afterwards. Hence the state is now raising your kid. Maybe jr. will believe what the teacher says over the parents. Either way, the family unit is dependent on the state more and more. I could go on, but while people roll there eyes at this you should know it's sinister. The all seeing eye in Ubisoft, as it's on top of the dollar is the supernatural all seeing eye of lucifer. That's why his eye is on top of the pyramid and on ALL actual pyramids it's flat. Because you cant physically see the eye looking at you at all times. In old times they were called "the watchers". I write this because while it is an entertaining game, it's much more then a game to Ubisoft. Be aware of how they influence you. There is a reason the all seeing eye or 666 is in CBS news, AOL, currency throughout the world, Time Warner, Disney, Kleenex, Coca Cola, Heineken, Treyarch has a witchcraft symbol, Google and countless others. Don't believe me, do your own research. God Bless. Expand
  16. May 18, 2019
    10
    I always knew it would be a FC5 reskin, so not sure why so negative! Its a fun game that has alot of punch!
  17. Feb 22, 2019
    8
    The game is so far pretty fun, I haven't been able to play to the ending yet, but the stuff that I have gone through in-game has been, to me, real fun. I were worried at first that the map would've been a repeat of FC 5, but it wasn't, it's still the same layout, but the flora and fauna is so different, feels like exploring something entirely new, but also fun to see old buildings.
    I were
    The game is so far pretty fun, I haven't been able to play to the ending yet, but the stuff that I have gone through in-game has been, to me, real fun. I were worried at first that the map would've been a repeat of FC 5, but it wasn't, it's still the same layout, but the flora and fauna is so different, feels like exploring something entirely new, but also fun to see old buildings.
    I were really happy that the game is gender neutral to the player, choosing a body type instead were refreshing to me, even if one know what was really the difference.
    Expand
  18. Mar 28, 2019
    4
    Not a bad game if I’m honest. But my god are there bugs and glitches in this short version of far cry.. detection is really messed up and the story is boringly mind numbing, my suggestion to UBISOFT would be to either make a new farcry with better stealth mechanics and listen to what the users wants or just give up and move on.
  19. Apr 9, 2019
    3
    My first FarCry game was Farcry 5 and I loved it me and my friend grinded it over and over and over again but I was very disappointed i spent 60$ on this game to finish it in 8.5 hours i bought the most expensive edition for nothing i didn't even realise i had finished the game when i only realised i was finished the game when I got to the final mission I am very disappointed and I hopeMy first FarCry game was Farcry 5 and I loved it me and my friend grinded it over and over and over again but I was very disappointed i spent 60$ on this game to finish it in 8.5 hours i bought the most expensive edition for nothing i didn't even realise i had finished the game when i only realised i was finished the game when I got to the final mission I am very disappointed and I hope they expand the game with DLC and more Expand
  20. Apr 30, 2019
    8
    Based in the same area as far cry 5 after the bombs drop, it's a totaly new game not just a dlc as some monkeys would have you believe. The main map is totaly different albeit smaller but there are new missions in different smaller maps. It's harder than it's predecessor which is always welcome
  21. Apr 28, 2019
    8
    I loved this game, the setting has to have been the second most creative after Xenoblade, the first one. I never really cared about how similar of a world this is to Rage, because it really isn't... Since Rage is based a in a desert. I also really enjoy playing co-op with my friend, we enjoy the humor of the physics some times, riding with a motorcycle that has a .50 cal mounted on theI loved this game, the setting has to have been the second most creative after Xenoblade, the first one. I never really cared about how similar of a world this is to Rage, because it really isn't... Since Rage is based a in a desert. I also really enjoy playing co-op with my friend, we enjoy the humor of the physics some times, riding with a motorcycle that has a .50 cal mounted on the back, and shooting our way through hope county. Not to mention, the ending reminded me a lot of MW3, I really liked MW3. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Mar 9, 2019
    80
    Hardly a far cry from what's come before, but still surprisingly enjoyable. [Issue#225, p.74]
  2. Feb 28, 2019
    80
    If you love Far Cry then there is no reason for you not to want to involve yourself with Far Cry New Dawn, as it does everything you would expect and a little bit more.
  3. Feb 25, 2019
    80
    I must admit that I find it easy to recommend Far Cry: New Dawn, especially to folks who happen to be fans of the series like I am. While it’s certainly not the best game in the franchise, or even the second or third best, it’s a very solid affair, and one that offers good value for its price tag. You’ll get a lot out of this game, including fun, a good challenge, lots of side content and some very dangerous and difficult beasts to hunt. If you’ve never been a fan of the series, then Far Cry: New Dawn won’t win you over. However, if you’ve ever enjoyed one of these games, or happen to really enjoy this type of experience, it’s well worth picking up.