Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. May 19, 2020
    82
    Rich in ideas and options, Golf With Your Friends is an excellent multiplayer game with some rough edges here and there.
  2. May 26, 2020
    74
    Who doesn’t enjoy a bit of crazy golf in either a virtual or real sense? It’s definitely better played online in a simultaneous manner and preferably with friends though. The many different themes are interesting, and the variety of tweaks and modes do keep things fun for a while, but the pacing of the game or loading times may cause many to lose interest, unfortunately.
  3. May 25, 2020
    74
    Golf with your Friends is exactly what its title promises. It’s a great game to pick up and play, but it lacks some options that should be mandatory, like quick games with fewer holes, or automatically kicking out idle players, who ruin the fun for the rest.
  4. May 21, 2020
    70
    With a name like Golf With Your Friends, you know exactly what you are getting - taking on opponents across 18-hole courses, lowest score wins. It’s a very simple concept, but where this could be a simple golf-based game done many times before, Golf With Your Friends presents a new experience, letting us enjoy multiplayer golfing by bringing in simultaneous play and a ton of customisation options to make sure the fun doesn’t dwindle after only a few hours.
  5. May 25, 2020
    68
    Rediscovering the ancient tradition of mini-golf simulations, Golf with your Friends brings plenty of contents between courses and game modes to enjoy with friends.
  6. May 26, 2020
    60
    An arcade golf game that almost looks like a simulator. It is a pity that the graphic section is not completely good, with little content and a very selective multiplayer experience.
  7. May 26, 2020
    60
    Golf With Your Friends is good for a laugh, and the more people you can get involved, the more fun you'll have. The concept is fantastic, but the execution is a little lackluster, resulting in a title that just about makes the par.
  8. May 26, 2020
    60
    Golf With Your Friends has all the rage-inducing charms of minigolf to savour while playing with your chums. With plenty of varied courses to play through and some good variations, there's a lot of fun to be had, even if the game often feels inconsistent and unpolished.
  9. May 21, 2020
    50
    Golf With Your Friends has been playable on Steam for a few years, so it is a bit disappointing that the game has been ported over to consoles with some of its flaws. The Steam version also has a course creator that the console version doesn't have, although Team 17 says it may arrive at some point. Still, playing with friends online and seeing all the golf balls fly down the course can certainly be fun. The game lacks the depth of many other golf games, so for enthusiasts of the genre, the title may not be up to par. But for someone looking for a laugh with friends, as a party game Golf With Your Friends is less of a whiff and can assuredly be enjoyed.
  10. May 19, 2020
    49
    Golf With Your Friends presents promising mini-golf fun with its variety of courses and modes but unfortunately, the fun to be had is hampered by overly simplistic core gameplay and some head-scratching glitches.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. May 19, 2020
    8
    Golf With Your Friends provides several different courses., It takes the traditional pace of golf and cranks it up with customizable timeGolf With Your Friends provides several different courses., It takes the traditional pace of golf and cranks it up with customizable time limits and simultaneous play for up to 12 players online or local play. The basic aim is still there although even when fine tuning your shot the mechanics do have it's share of quirks to get the shot exactly were you want it: Getting around the course in the fewest shots possible in this mini-golf stylized game. Just watch out for the plethora of obstacles that will get in your way. Timing is crucial as is a general understanding of each courses best broach hah can be viewed by a short timed fly by to give you an intitial strategy for courses or holes you may be unfamiliar with. The courses are based on a variety of themes including pirates, museums and haunted housesat well as special courses based on other Team17 franchises including Worms and Prison Architect in the works as well as some other treats team 17 has in store for us. Along with a whole host of customization options including hats and accessories an custom colors for your golf ball., several different modes including basketball, hockey, and only snapped golf balls for custom themed games, there is more than enough content here to sunk you teeth into. After many hours of play It was obvious the shots n matter what course you were on the same exact shorts could be timed and performed over and over again. S once you obtain a proven strategy on on hole you can easily manipulate the course for a successful par or under run. The achievements are repetitive and a great deal of them will just be unlocked for simply playing. It may be a little time consuming to obtain par or under for all courses if you aren't patient enough or familiar enough with the current hole or course and try to power your way into it blind. One failed hole will smack you with 14 strokes and remove your chance for a par or better run. There are a few holes where albatrosses can be hit 100% of the time if you have figured the strategy for that hole. Overall the game is a lot of good packed into a relatively low price of admission. I have a soft spot in my heart for any well executed golf game and Golf With Your Friends falls into that category. I just hope the course expansion is a continued support because as it sits there's not enough here to keep you begging for more and the online portion of the game is absolutely empty so find some friends to group up with. There's only one online achievement and it can be completed offline in a single match with 2 players so there's really no incentive to drive people into online play. While I have my share of complaints about the game that doesn't mean it isn't. good game. I would highly recommend picking this one up as a fan of the genre for any owner of an Xbox One console. It should give you at least a couple days of entertainment and is a great prt game when entertaining friends and family of all ages. Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2020
    2
    This game had absolutely fantastic potential with ace mechanics. After my first couple of holes I would have been scoring it an 8 or 9. BUT itThis game had absolutely fantastic potential with ace mechanics. After my first couple of holes I would have been scoring it an 8 or 9. BUT it is utterly ruined by hideous and frustrating bad course and hole design on every course after the first two holes. The initial fun is totally ruined every time? Did noone play test this? Full Review »
  3. May 24, 2020
    3
    How can a game with last generation graphics and the simplest gameplay ever be so flawed and unfun. My excitement for this game was crushed onHow can a game with last generation graphics and the simplest gameplay ever be so flawed and unfun. My excitement for this game was crushed on the front 9 of the first course I played. I wouldn't go so far as to say it's the worst game I've ever played but it is one that i wont be bragging about playing with anyone. Full Review »