Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Jun 27, 2016
    75
    Mighty No. 9 is a masterpiece of old-school gameplay mechanics, and, one needs to look at it as a spiritual successor to Mega Man, instead of an outright sequel.
  2. Jun 21, 2016
    75
    Mighty No. 9 has a strong gameplay core that isn’t better or worse than Mega Man—it’s just different. The further the game deviates from that core, however, the worse it becomes.
  3. Jun 27, 2016
    70
    There are so many cool ideas scattered around the game that the sore aspects really stand out even more. Growing up such a huge fan of the Mega Man series has certainly left me starved in recent years, and Mighty No. 9 fills that void well. There is a great game buried in here, one that kept me coming back like the Mega Man titles I grew up with, but the rough edges really shine bright just when I start looking past them.
  4. Jun 20, 2016
    68
    Color us not impressed: despite being delayed numerous times, Mighty no. 9 is a derivative, short and technically mediocre game. Recommended only if you truly miss Mega Man, and if you already played other (and better) tributes like Shovel Knight.
  5. Jul 3, 2016
    66
    Mighty No.9 disappoints in almost any area due to an inaccurate and frustrating gameplay and a bad technical production with uninspired art. Unlocking the co-op mode only once the story has been completed was a bad and inexplicable choice, too. On the bright side, though, it's packed full of contents and when it works it can be frantic and entertaining. Not a total failure, but given the kind of talents working on it it's unluckily a huge letdown.
  6. Jul 3, 2016
    60
    Mighty No. 9 fails to fill the shiny blue, metallic, oversized boots of its predecessor. The game manages to capture the essentials of the previous titles without capturing the essence.
  7. Jun 20, 2016
    60
    If you are feeling nostalgic for Mega Man, dust off your NES or Super Nintendo; Mighty No. 9 is not the spiritual successor we wanted. It may look and play like Mega Man, but Comcept’s robotic doppelganger doesn’t have the heart of Capcom’s Blue Bomber. A sparkless facsimile, Mighty No. 9 never captures the excitement or creativity of Mega Man’s classic exploits
  8. Jun 20, 2016
    55
    If you've got a hankering for old-school platformers (albeit ones bastardised by a few modern conventions) Mighty No. 9 is a game for you. If you were going to pick it up on a whim because you fancied a taste of Capcom's golden age, you're better off looking elsewhere. Hardcore gamers eat your heart out, but don't expect to sleepwalk through this one.
  9. Jun 20, 2016
    50
    Mighty No. 9 is an inoffensively average game sprung from the memories of the past, with little to show for its position in the present.
  10. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Aug 13, 2016
    40
    A frustrating, joyless platformer that buries its few good ideas under apathetic nostalgia. [Sept 2016, p.77]
  11. Jul 8, 2016
    40
    Mighty No. 9 is largely not fun, and irritating in many ways: controls, voice acting, repetitive music. It is a hollow and empty experience. This is pretty much the kind of game you'll buy when it's on sale dirt cheap to see what all the fuss was about.
  12. Jun 28, 2016
    40
    What it is is a victim of extremely unrealistic expectations. Perhaps the famous Kickstarter campaign is to blame for that. Or maybe it's our nostalgia-fueled game culture. Or maybe some of us just don't have the patience for really hard games designed for kids.
  13. Jun 22, 2016
    40
    Mighty No. 9 contains the seeds of a good platforming franchise, but for now they're exactly that: Seeds. In its current state, Keiji Inafune's intended successor to the Mega Man series lacks creativity, joy, and character – not to mention several weeks' worth of polish.
User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 108
  2. Negative: 62 out of 108
  1. Jun 21, 2016
    10
    What could of been a perfect successor to the megaman series turned out to be short to the expectations we had, this is correct the texturesWhat could of been a perfect successor to the megaman series turned out to be short to the expectations we had, this is correct the textures in this game are horrible , the fire don't get me started , I saw the IGN review before playing the game and they said "I barely used the powers I collected " this is a lie all the powers are useful if you're a skilled player, I found myself playing with the skills quite often to add some variety to the gameplay.

    Anyways as a megaman fan I recommend this because it's a fun game after all if you want a good platform with smooth 60fps then just buy it, it's cheap and challenging at some points.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2016
    10
    Is it the greatest game in the world? No. But I've been having fun with it and it's probably the closest we're going to get to a new Mega ManIs it the greatest game in the world? No. But I've been having fun with it and it's probably the closest we're going to get to a new Mega Man game for a while.

    FYI- A game pad is mandatory if you don't want cramped fingers and rage fits.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2016
    10
    I bought the game having low expectations, but with the hope that the game would be patched up sooner or later. To my surprise the game is aI bought the game having low expectations, but with the hope that the game would be patched up sooner or later. To my surprise the game is a lot of fun!! Not only that, the game runs smooth!! The controls are tight!! IGN claimed there was noticible frame rate rate drops but I have not noticed it, maybe there was a day one patch? I don't know, but what I do know is that after finishing 70% of the game I have not noticed anything. Some have claimed the controls feel sloppy, Wrong!!! I play mostly twitch type games, so I can tell pretty quickly if some games have sloppy controls, and I guarantee you this game has good controls! In fact the only thing I can think of is the Jump button, when you lightly touch the jump button Beck will barely jump off the floor, But when you press it longer he will max out his jump, so I have died a few cheap deaths when I lightly jumped, when I should have maxed it out, sure I got upset!! But that was my fault, I'm not some clown that will blame the game!! So its funny to me how so many people that havent even played the game are judging it based on other peoples opinions! If you like Mega_man Buy it! Its a great game, its tough so most people will not like it, I think that's what has upset so many people. At least people that have played, which apperantly not many have. Full Review »