User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 703 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 703

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2018
    0
    No save until first boss killed and can't skip many intros. Need wait and pass easy parts again. Annoying.
  2. Jan 3, 2022
    0
    Are you f**king kidding me??? I die to the first boss within a matter of seconds because I don't immediately figure out how to dodge his attacks, and now I'm back in the f**king MAIN MENU and have to START THE WHOLE GAME OVER AGAIN??! Not even being able to skip the goddamn cutscenes?! Is this supposed to be some kind of dumb meta-joke?

    Your game can be as good as it wants, if you don't
    Are you f**king kidding me??? I die to the first boss within a matter of seconds because I don't immediately figure out how to dodge his attacks, and now I'm back in the f**king MAIN MENU and have to START THE WHOLE GAME OVER AGAIN??! Not even being able to skip the goddamn cutscenes?! Is this supposed to be some kind of dumb meta-joke?

    Your game can be as good as it wants, if you don't have the basic common sense to put a checkpoint before a boss-fight in the BABY TUTORIAL MISSION where the player is just figuring out how to play your f**king game (which is also way more difficult than it needs to be, since your game is dogs**t at explaining stuff), I'm not interested in playing it. I don't have infinite time to spare on nonsense like this. F**k this s**t. Glad I didn't spend money on this but just downloaded it off Game Pass.
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2020
    1
    Tiens, c'est pas le même développeur que pour le premier Nier... et pourtant, c'est aussi chiant, aussi pénible, aussi lourdingue que le premier : il faut dire que cette suite est une copie carbone du premier mais dans un univers SF en lieu et place de la fantasy de supermarché du précédent... et ici avec une histoire tirée d'un Kinder Surprise soit dit en passant. Ou d'une blagueTiens, c'est pas le même développeur que pour le premier Nier... et pourtant, c'est aussi chiant, aussi pénible, aussi lourdingue que le premier : il faut dire que cette suite est une copie carbone du premier mais dans un univers SF en lieu et place de la fantasy de supermarché du précédent... et ici avec une histoire tirée d'un Kinder Surprise soit dit en passant. Ou d'une blague Carambar... Une enquête est en cours.

    Comme dans tous les jeux de "Platinum" en tout cas, ça va vite et c'est très agité comme si on assistait à une crise d'épilepsie ininterrompue à chaque combat... que c'est confus, d'autant que la vue peut changer radicalement et utiliser en vérité toutes les vues possibles ou imaginables : original peut-être mais bordélique,beaucoup trop bordélique !

    Et quel vide de toute façon à part ces vagues d'ennemis, puis ces boss à la con... rien que le premier je dois dire qu'il m'a guéri à l'avance de tous les autres... c'est pas la difficulté, c'est la lourdeur et la pénibilité, le déjà vu, la ringardise, la beauferie du truc... l'infinie chienlit en somme.

    Et comme d'habitude, il y a toujours un souci avec le principe de sauvegarde, uniquement à des points précis, en activant une merde précisément, alors tu pourras enfin sauvegarder dans une zone restreinte qui ne te ramènera de toute façon qu'à ce sale endroit précis et précisément, juste pour te faire chier. Parce que ça marche comme ça dans les jeux japonais.

    Cela dit, il y a d'autres tics typiquement japonais mais moins désagréables : le 60 im/s par exemple ou l'héroïne si sexy dont on peut mater la culotte. En toute décontraction. On notera cette armée de robotes guerrières qu'on aimerait inspecter de plus près également... entre perversité et mauvais goût caractérisé, on navigue ici en eaux troubles, des eaux que les otaculs connaissent bien !

    Quoi qu'il en soit, si le jeu est plutôt joli (et très fluide de ce que j'en ai supporté) il reste techniquement bien faiblard et vraiment vide. Il est écrit clairement avec le fion et aussi crispant et ennuyeux qu'il peut l'être : je crois même qu'il se sont surpassés à cet égard...
    Expand
  4. May 3, 2019
    1
    Totaly stitched up with this games high marks. It's basicaly a game from the 1980's with better graphics. First you can only save a game at end of each level but I only completed the first level which was very long and tedious. You are greeted with an old skool shoot em up that the graphics actually look like it was made in the 1980's, unlike games of the 80's you have no lives and have toTotaly stitched up with this games high marks. It's basicaly a game from the 1980's with better graphics. First you can only save a game at end of each level but I only completed the first level which was very long and tedious. You are greeted with an old skool shoot em up that the graphics actually look like it was made in the 1980's, unlike games of the 80's you have no lives and have to start over if you die ( although it's not exactly difficult ) which is painful as you then have to wait for it to load again ( not sure why it takes so long ) after that it puts you in a kind of table top view of your character fighting robots still not hard and after that a type of 2d platformer which is still not hard ( give me me super mario bros on the snes all day long over this please ) anyway inbetween the tedious combat of just holding down the trigger and pointing you then get plenty of running through sections with nothing happening ( yawn fest ). The only good thing about this game is the main character you play which is actually drawn nice. The game is technically 3d but nearly always plays as 2D apart from the boss fight which again was a tedius long drawn out affair. Sorry to anyone who likes this game but to me it was incredibly boring and rivals Fallout 76 for how bad it is. You would probably be better off watching a film than playing this, it's not really a game Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2018
    1
    I thought i was getting an RPG? I didnt, i got a ridiculously difficult twin-stick shooter. Dodging doesn't even work, the enemies still hit you. Typical JRPG crap. Waste of money.
  6. Mar 24, 2021
    2
    This may be one of the worst games I have played in quite a while, it's an utterly tragic affair. It tries really hard to blend rpg, platforming and shmup elements into some cohesive story rich experience, which is comendable...but it simply stumbles and smashes it's face at every step.

    The "platforming" sections are marred by awful camera function and instill a massive sense of
    This may be one of the worst games I have played in quite a while, it's an utterly tragic affair. It tries really hard to blend rpg, platforming and shmup elements into some cohesive story rich experience, which is comendable...but it simply stumbles and smashes it's face at every step.

    The "platforming" sections are marred by awful camera function and instill a massive sense of pointlessness. The exploration is a waste of time in the empty, boring world, which can take an age to traverse at times. The general combat is tedious and repetitive, with next to no satisfying payoff at any point. Shmup patterns and controls feel amateuring at best, leaving anyone with any experience in the genre bored to tears or laughing out of despair.

    The only redeeming factor is the soundtrack, which is just wonderful. It's just a sad fate for the composer, that their talent and hard work is forver attached to this sad excuse for a game. How anyone is giving this 5-6/10 is confusing enough, seeing the 10's on display is just outright hilarious. Quite telling that they often never say what is actually good about it and just call it a masterpiece.

    Avoid like the plague, or just watch a longplay and play anything else. You'll have served your time better in the long run.
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Aug 18, 2018
    90
    Excellent combat executed with stylish flair. A must have for action game fans. [Sept 2018, p.90]
  2. Aug 17, 2018
    70
    Nier: Automata Become As Gods Edition has a very deep and thoughtful story, but it requires a lot of time before you get down to it.
  3. Aug 1, 2018
    100
    XBox One owners have no excuse to miss out on this game. It is one of the best examples of video games as a medium of entertainment and needs to be played by every person possible. I cannot stress enough how important this game is, or how good it is.