Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 4, 2019
    95
    Operencia: The Stolen Sun shouldn’t be skipped. What is here is a wonderful RPG that is welcoming to veterans and newcomers alike. Because this is on Microsoft Game Pass there is absolutely no reason to not give this game a shot. There is absolutely something for everyone who enjoys RPGs.
  2. Mar 29, 2019
    86
    Operencia: The Stolen Sun is a top-notch old-school dungeon crawler that modernizes the genre in impressive ways. If you enjoy these sorts of challenging retro RPGs then you definitely won't be disappointed with this massive and memorable adventure.
  3. Apr 24, 2019
    85
    If you're a Dungeon Crawler fan, you'll love this game and it's available on Xbox Game Pass.
  4. Apr 15, 2019
    85
    I didn’t expect to get sucked into the world of Operencia: The Stolen Sun as fast and hard as I did. The story and memorable characters inspired by Central European mythology swept me off my feet from the get-go. The combat is equal parts fun, challenging, and rewarding which means entering battles hardly ever feel like a chore. Zen Studios has created a beautiful dungeon crawling RPG that not only will please the diehard blobber fan but also newcomers thanks to clever modern sensibilities. While the tile-based movement isn’t perfect, don’t let that hold you back from experiencing everything else Operencia: The Stolen Sun has to offer. You won’t regret it.
  5. Apr 12, 2019
    85
    I enjoyed the consistently pleasant mix of environmental puzzles and combat, as well as the crash course in Hungarian folklore.
  6. Apr 10, 2019
    85
    Operencia is a great dungeon crawling experience that you shouldn’t sleep on, especially if you’re a fan of the genre. While some of the mechanics and presentation are a little hit-or-miss, that shouldn’t scare you away from the unique world, memorable characters, and excellent combat that Operencia has to offer.
  7. Mar 29, 2019
    85
    Classic dungeon crawling in the likes of The Bard’s Tale with puzzle elements, surprising depth and colorful visuals.
  8. Apr 29, 2019
    82
    Operencia: The Stolen Sun took me by surprise and I’m going to have to start thinking of Zen Studios as more than just a great Pinball developer. It packs a decent story, memorable characters, robust combat strategy and challenge, a huge world and plenty of playtime. Currently in Xbox Game Pass, you’re able to try it out right now if you’re a subscriber, but even if not, I wouldn’t feel any guilt recommending Operencia even at its full $38.99 CAD price tag if any of the above sounded appealing to you. While it won’t be for everyone and has its quirks, it’s a specific game meant for old school dungeon dwelling fans like myself that miss the genre.
  9. Apr 8, 2019
    80
    Despite a few issues with its long loading times and its poor voice work, Operencia offers a robust and diverse dungeon crawler that should not be overlooked. The game makes great use of its intelligently mashed-up framework, with a fine balance in place to ensure that the gameplay remains constantly fresh and rewarding throughout. Whether you seek engaging combat, deep progression, or, thrilling puzzles, Operencia has it all, and much more besides.
  10. Apr 4, 2019
    80
    Operencia: The Stolen Sun should appeal to a range of gamers: fans of well made, turn-based RPGs and anyone looking for a budget title that hasn’t compromised graphics or mechanics will also appreciate it. The game doesn’t take a lot of chances but there is plenty of depth and replayability in its character leveling and crafting systems and while it may seem easy in the first few hours, combat difficulty increases and the puzzles become challenging as the game progresses.
  11. Mar 29, 2019
    80
    Operencia: The Stolen Sun is wildly ambitious for Zen Studios and for their first RPG it is incredibly impressive. It’s filled with passion and the team clearly love the genre. It does not get everything right, but if this is evidence of more to come, I can’t wait to see what the studio can do next.
  12. Mar 29, 2019
    80
    Operencia: The Stolen Sun revives classic and long gone turn-based, first person dungeon-crawler mechanics, resulting in a very satisfying game for the lovers of the genre but bringing back several of its shortcomings. Definitely suggested to classic RPG nostalgics, but we recommend everyone else to try it too, via Xbox Game Pass.
  13. Mar 29, 2019
    75
    A good classic dungeon crawler that may be too rude for non-usual players of the genre.
  14. Apr 16, 2019
    72
    Operencia: The Stolen Sun proves ambitious for an indie project, and one that offers a wealth of satisfying content for the asking price. Its methodical, sluggish nature may not be for everyone, but those who accept it as a rough-around-the-edges retro dungeon crawler, should get a kick out of it.
  15. May 28, 2019
    70
    Operencia: The Stolen Sun is an extremely solid dungeon-crawler. Each labyrinth runs the gamut of ferocious monsters and confounding puzzles that fans of the genre crave. Fights tend to be repetitious and suffer from rough pacing, but the battle system is clearly thought-out and enjoyable to master. The array of options, from party-building to difficulty customization, allows for someone to carve out their own identity. It's also nice that the cast is quirky and endearing. Even the avatar will commentate on the situation, rather than stew in silence like so many other blank slates. This makes for an adventure that's amusing in every respect.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. Apr 2, 2019
    8
    Zen studios provides us yet with another entertaining experience. The combat elements remain simple yet very effective and should satisfy anyZen studios provides us yet with another entertaining experience. The combat elements remain simple yet very effective and should satisfy any dungeon crawling lover. I never really became frustrated but I did take it in the face a few times battling some of the tougher enemies. When I first heard about Operencia: The Stolen Sun I was surprised to hear the game wasn't the fine pinball we've come to know and love from Zen Studios. This was a good decision to show that Zen can provide more than what we've seen over the year and it's always great to see a studio known for making great games to put it's talents to use in other genres. When beginning the game the graphics were nice and fluid despite taking me a few minutes to game the feel of the movement within the game. Thanks to the beautiful graphics and immersive sound design, the story pulls you in quickly. In regards to the combat I’m pleased to say that they’ve done a quality job here. The battles and puzzles present in the game had me quickly forget about the limited environment movement. Operencia: The Stolen Sun is a game that takes you on a fantastic journey and the overall mechanics in the game feel refined and I'm sure if your a fan of a good dungeon crawler, he's your chance to play a game they were nice enough to add to gamepads for many to enjoy for their small subscription fee. Keep up the good work Zen Studios! Full Review »
  2. Mar 30, 2019
    10
    Perfect dungeon crawler throwback!

    - The game has adjustable difficulty options and is far more accessible which, at least in my eyes, also
    Perfect dungeon crawler throwback!

    - The game has adjustable difficulty options and is far more accessible which, at least in my eyes, also makes it way more fun.
    - Zen's done a great job of making the game extremely controller friendly.
    - Character development's well thought out and there's a ton of combinations to explore.
    - Story's weak and character/enemy names are a mouthful. Dialog is all skippable though. But I appreciated the cheesy banter between your characters as you explored the dungeons all the same. There's no pause, you can keep exploring as they talk which is genius.
    - Combat's fun and straight forward. I appreciated that the combat was turn based, yet fast, and that there was no real time system where you constantly felt pressured as things attacked you

    Honestly this isn't what I was expecting. This is a serious, solid effort. There’s some warts like the weak story, some generic 2D art, etc. But it doesn’t detract from the core gameplay. Apparently there's more to Zen than just being "the pinball company." It's pretty clear they've got talent for this. Hopefully we'll see this game on other platforms down the road so everyone gets a chance to see it.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2019
    1
    Voici un jeu indé qui veut surfer sur la vague nostalgique des vieux débris de jadis... tels que les Might and Magic si ma mémoire est bonne !Voici un jeu indé qui veut surfer sur la vague nostalgique des vieux débris de jadis... tels que les Might and Magic si ma mémoire est bonne ! il s'agissait d'un bien malheureux mélange entre un FPS et... des combats au tour par tour, le tout mâtiné de jeu de rôle évidemment.

    Sauf qu'à l'époque, on avait choisi cette présentation par souci d'économie mais aussi pour des impératifs techniques... et sans doute une fainéantise certaine. En effet, en vue subjective, on s'épargne bien du boulot en termes de modélisation et de graphismes puisque les personnages ne sont pas là mais simplement résumés à leurs portraits.

    Quoi qu'il en soit, du tour par tour en vue subjective, c'est aussi captivant que faire des réussites au Solitaire : c'est antinomique et complètement con. En dehors des combats, le chemin est bien balisé lorsqu'on se déplace sur les cases comme jadis, bien balisé et scripté. Les décors ne sont pas vilains même si l'aspect général reste trop lisse. Ce qui est très vilain par contre, c'est les "cinématiques", des petites animations flash en 2D et 3 couleurs au goût douteux.

    L'interface est globalement perfectible mais c'est surtout le déplacement qui pose problème : tout se fait par à-coups, car la manette est mal calibrée : la zone neutre est énorme et l'accélération trop élevée. C'est juste horrible !

    Enfin, dès le début du jeu, on vous casse les pieds (pour ne pas dire autre chose) avec des miroirs à aligner... putain mais avec une telle "maniabilité", c'est simplement insupportable ! et ça m'a soûlé direct.

    Cette daube est tombée directement dans le Game Pass et on comprend pourquoi... Normalement ça coûte 30 boules quand même. Encore un indé foiré, du classique en somme.
    Full Review »