User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 72
  2. Negative: 22 out of 72

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2020
    0
    DO NOT GIVE UP THIS GAME IN FIRST WORLD!

    I am a fan of both Witcher and card games and really wanted to try this game. However, experience on first world was extremely painful - on Xbox One X, I would constantly have to wait for map to render and catch up. I gave up this game twice in few 2 hours. I thought that maybe developer will quickly fix this, but was disappointed to discover
    DO NOT GIVE UP THIS GAME IN FIRST WORLD!

    I am a fan of both Witcher and card games and really wanted to try this game. However, experience on first world was extremely painful - on Xbox One X, I would constantly have to wait for map to render and catch up. I gave up this game twice in few 2 hours. I thought that maybe developer will quickly fix this, but was disappointed to discover that this game have been released 2 years ago.

    BUT - this issue completely disappeared after first map! So just survive first map and enjoy the rest of the game. Highly recommended game if you like story-driven games and extra points if you like card games.
    Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2022
    0
    Polish worthless thing, unworthy of the attention of gamers. The Pole got into politics, instead of developing games
  3. Feb 14, 2019
    0
    I have never played a game as broken as this. Crashes, lag, fps drops...its got it all.

    Real shame tho; gameplay and story are great.
  4. Jan 2, 2019
    2
    One of my favorite games of all time is the Witcher 3 and all of it's DLC. That said I purchased this game as a hopeful expansion to that story with meaningful combat experience, though I knew game-play would be different. My take on what I purchased was a card game only remotely tied to Gwent from the game, which I thoroughly enjoyed because it was tied to the story line and gave youOne of my favorite games of all time is the Witcher 3 and all of it's DLC. That said I purchased this game as a hopeful expansion to that story with meaningful combat experience, though I knew game-play would be different. My take on what I purchased was a card game only remotely tied to Gwent from the game, which I thoroughly enjoyed because it was tied to the story line and gave you bonuses. I found this game to be a very loosely based story line with almost antiquated game play which could be found on a much less expensive game. This might be a great 2.00 game but not for the price I paid. Not happy and would not recommend this. I really hate even say this because I loved the all of the others so much. Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2022
    0
    Tout ce qui brille n’est pas forcément CD Projekt Red et le développeur réputé peut parfois faire quelques faux pas… voire se viander lamentablement. Ainsi ce Thronebreaker a été boulotté par CDPR certes mais uniquement par les stagiaires du studio, à savoir très potentiellement des branques et des incapables…

    Ce machin est tiré du petit jeu Gwent si divertissant (et pourtant très
    Tout ce qui brille n’est pas forcément CD Projekt Red et le développeur réputé peut parfois faire quelques faux pas… voire se viander lamentablement. Ainsi ce Thronebreaker a été boulotté par CDPR certes mais uniquement par les stagiaires du studio, à savoir très potentiellement des branques et des incapables…

    Ce machin est tiré du petit jeu Gwent si divertissant (et pourtant très accessoire) que l’on pratiquait dans le gros jeu Witcher 3 : il est devenu maintenant un jeu à part entière avec campagne et tout le tralala mais dont la présentation évoque un indé ou au mieux un jeu simple A ou B-… Graphiquement fort simplet et limité donc même si l’interface des combats… de cartes a été très améliorée… graphiquement parlant bien entendu.

    On notera néanmoins une musique de qualité et surtout un sacré paquet de voix (tout est doublé intégralement) des voix françaises bien agréables à écouter dans ce qui s’apparente à un livre interactif en quelque sorte, ponctué de batailles de jeu de cartes alors qu’on fait déambuler son petit personnage dans un « monde » fait à la va-vite en 256 couleurs…!

    Hélas, l’interface si plaisante du Gwent original (qu’on appelait Gwynt dans la VF) est devenue ici un fouillis et disons-le, un bordel sans nom fort peu engageant, que ce soit lors des affrontements ou dans la gestion du deck lui-même… Pire encore, les règles ont été altérées et le fameux Gwent a été sévèrement détérioré, inutilement compliqué, transformant le petit jeu divertissant en un gros tas de merde lourdingue, abscons et très énervant.

    Quant au « Witcher » lui-même, j’ignore quand il intervient dans le jeu mais on attend toujours… Voilà donc un foutoir particulièrement indigne de CDPR et très décevant, pour ne pas dire très opportuniste et bâclé. Mieux vaut (re)lire les bouquins de Sapkowski si on veut en apprendre plus sur la Reine Meve… et le sorceleur ! et éviter cette daube de Thronebreaker vraiment nulle à chier !
    Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2022
    0
    Nationality discrimination? You will get the rating you deserve. CDPараша...
  7. Mar 10, 2022
    0
    games out of politics, juegos fuera de la politica, jogos fora da política
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Feb 27, 2019
    80
    A charming and atmospheric RPG, with varied by underwhelming card battles.
  2. Jan 14, 2019
    85
    Thronebreaker is a great add on to The Witcher franchise, and it blends in a very unique way with the other games.
  3. Jan 9, 2019
    91
    CD Projekt RED is known for their quality and superb games, and this is no different with Thronebreaker, aside from performance issues. Even as a standalone separate experience from the core Witcher games, Thronebreaker is a great diversion if you’re looking for a deep and challenging card/RPG title, even giving you the option to skip the card portion completely if you wish, allowing for more people to enjoy it how they wish.