Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
Buy On
  1. Apr 5, 2018
    85
    Titan Quest is a hack-n-slash game that captivated a great many players for over a decade. There have been thousands of mods, skill-sets, skins, and even a few full games made in its wake because of how good it was. Now on console, the game lives again. Maybe a bit too close to the flawed original, and maybe not as hack-friendly as the original, but it gives a chance for a new set of players to battle a titan… and that should be good enough for anyone.
  2. Mar 25, 2018
    77
    It has a few minor problems and shows its age mechanically, but overall it is still a decent action RPG proving why it is found on almost every best-of-list in its genre.
  3. Mar 29, 2018
    75
    For those that have never played it, they may either love it or hate it depending on how well they adapt to the grid-based movement. Fans of the original 2006 release who are looking to try the game out again will have a fun time here. While it’s not the best port of a PC action RPG, it has the makings of a fun time with up to five buddies online. Granted, local co-op should have been in there, but this is still a very competent RPG that I think any fans of Diablo will enjoy at a great price.
  4. Mar 18, 2018
    75
    A more-than-competent loot-based action RPG with some interesting ideas.
  5. May 10, 2018
    70
    Titan Quest is a good game that will appeal massively to the hardcore RPG fan. The story and narrative are excellent and rewarding, with clever level design, great locations and loads to do. The controls sometimes let the game down, as does the menu selection, but if you can’t afford to go to Greece this summer, don’t worry – just sit at home, put on some sunglasses and play some Titan Quest.
  6. Mar 19, 2018
    60
    Control issues and poor pacing will turn off some players before the game truly hits its stride, but those who persist will find an experience that has cavernous depth.
  7. Apr 16, 2018
    55
    Titan Quest is a classic PC action-RPG that is badly adapted to Xbox One. Despite maintaining its virtues as the first day, its performance complicates the player's experience, especially those who did not know the original 2006 game.
  8. Apr 6, 2018
    55
    Titan Quest's gameplay is decent, but incredibly outdated. Also, this RPG on the console is very clumsy to play because of the sloppy controls.
  9. Mar 27, 2018
    31
    Releasing a PC game on console can work great, but some concessions have to be made for the differing audiences and control schemes. The core gameplay loop is more than capable of holding interest and has been put to great effect in recent games, but here, every opportunity is wasted. If you enjoy obscure interfaces, slow fiddly combat, and dated visuals, then please, fill your boots.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 24, 2018
    7
    Titan Quest first released back on PC in 2006 and I know a few friends of mine enjoyed it quite a bit, so there was some interest from me inTitan Quest first released back on PC in 2006 and I know a few friends of mine enjoyed it quite a bit, so there was some interest from me in the Xbox One version. Thankfully it does offer quite a few enjoyable moments but I must admit that I’ve played better RPG’s than this and the main reason why it doesn’t reach it’s full potential is because it suffers with a few too many shortcomings. They do however get more right than they get wrong and they’ve handled the combat side of things really well. There are a number of different classes for you to get to grips with and this without a doubt keeps things interesting for longer. Another thing that makes the combat interesting and fun is the amount of upgrades and weapons that are available. Each weapon and upgrade feels different and the game does a great job of making each item matter, which is great. You can play this game in either single player or multiplayer and whilst I enjoyed the single player aspect I was however a little disappointed with the multiplayer offerings. The multiplayer aspects fail to pack a punch for me and in my opinion they lack in terms of the fun factor, which is a shame. They do combat this though by offering a lot of variety when it comes to the enemies you face and this does make the fun levels go up slightly because each different enemy brings something new to the table. In terms of content the game has more than enough to keep you satisfied and the campaign is packed to the rafters with myths and legends which ultimately keeps things fresh. You will however notice that the more you play the more technichal issues you’ll bump into. None of these issues are game-breaking but they do frustrate you quite a bit and this will definitely be off-putting for some. The presentation side of the game was in my opinion sorely lacking in places. Nothing much stands out in the visual department and most of the environments look the same which does make things become tedious quite quickly. The sound design is a little better, but nothing much stands out here as well which is a shame. All in all Titan Quest is a pretty decent addition to the RPG genre but it isn’t going to set the world alight because there isn’t anything different from the many games that are already in the genre. It’s shortcomings definitely stop the game from being placed in the higher echelons of the genre, but it does get quite a few of the important mechanics right and fans of the RPG genre will find just enough to satisfy them here. Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2018
    9
    Titan Quest is a solid action RPG. Isometric in view, similar to Diablo but slower in pace. Skill point placement and items/gear will eitherTitan Quest is a solid action RPG. Isometric in view, similar to Diablo but slower in pace. Skill point placement and items/gear will either make your romp through the game fun and easy or difficult and tedious. The good thing is that you play through areas more than once in search of collecting better loot. The ability to create semi unique builds is good and if you make a mistake with points you can buy them back. The enemies aren't very smart but there are a lot of them to fight. Defense is a big part of the game as it moves along. The downside is random infrequent crashes. The game auto saves often but it's still annoying. Save your game manually if you find a legendary item. Compared to games like Diablo and Sacred, it's on par with those. Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2018
    2
    UPDATE: Dropping my score even more. As you get into the expansion the bugs get worse and worse. I'm repeating the same section for the 4thUPDATE: Dropping my score even more. As you get into the expansion the bugs get worse and worse. I'm repeating the same section for the 4th time because of crashes. Go into inventory and move something - crash. Go to merchant and start selling stuff - crash. Start combat with a group of enemies - crash. This game is a buggy mess.

    The original game was great. This is a slightly updated re-release of a game that is really old and it doesn't even include the newer DLC. This is a ripoff.

    Even worse is that it is really buggy. Prior to a recent patch you could crash it by moving an item from one inventory bag to another. Still have issues where you select something to slot it and it shows you available items but you cannot use controller to move the selection. You have to exit out and come back in before it'll work.

    Graphics on a real old game are having issues keeping up on the fastest console currently available?? You can see the untextured scenery before the textures get applied. How can a game this old have texture issues?

    Loot from chests tend to drop such that you cannot pick them up. Fortunately I figured out that if you hold the A button then it pops up with a list of loot nearby so you can select the loot. Otherwise some things are unobtainable. In other situations the loot text shows up and disappears as you move around.

    After the recent patch the game crashes frequently during combat or while moving around. The original I didn't really notice any issues with checkpoints but on the console it is very common to have to replay whole areas because of the poor location of the checkpoints. Guess it just wasn't that bad in the original.

    Have fallen through the scenery on more than one occasion and the only solution is to reload. In another case I was fighting a larger boss and they ran over to where I was at and laid on top of me. I couldn't move because the game thought I was inside them yet they could attack me. I had to reload.

    Yet another buggy situation is with the combat selection. By default you'll auto-target the first enemy and then after that it seems to bounce around to whoever it wants. It cannot be power based because I notice it goes after melee instead of the archers/mages draining my health. It isn't locality either because on many occasions I'm fighting a horde of melee and it auto-targets someone on the other side of the screen (which triggers more mobs). You can press a key to set up a focus cone where you can select another enemy but while this is being done you cannot move or attack. If you are surrounded at this point you'll take a beating. I died countless times because of this. Once the conde is visible you either have to select someone or let go of the characters. Meanwhile your health plummets.

    The recent patch also seems to show "save" notifications a lot more now. The problem is that each time a save occurs the delay is very, very noticeable. This is on an external SSD which is way faster than the internal HDD the console comes with.

    I enjoy TQ but this version is a buggy, partial-remaster of a very old game that plays horribly on a modern console. I would have gladly paid a little extra for some real remastering updates and bug fixes AND the latest DLC but this is what we got instead.
    Full Review »