User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 147
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2020
    7
    WASTELAND 3 is a CRPG that leverages its old-school roots to good effect with an intriguing story set in a compelling environment. The tactical, turn-based combat is fun and engaging. Unfortunately the console release is deeply unstable, resulting in many crashes and soft-locks. Combined with a clunky inventory management system and an initiative system that sometimes feels unfair,WASTELAND 3 is a CRPG that leverages its old-school roots to good effect with an intriguing story set in a compelling environment. The tactical, turn-based combat is fun and engaging. Unfortunately the console release is deeply unstable, resulting in many crashes and soft-locks. Combined with a clunky inventory management system and an initiative system that sometimes feels unfair, WASTELAND 3 falls well short of its potential. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2020
    6
    The crashing has to be addressed, its ridiculous. navigating the menus is an endurance test for your patience. Sometimes the cursor just seems to disappear - try navigating the menu looking for a suture kit as your party members bleed to death since there's seemingly no pause. That said - I'm powering through generally enjoying the game despite the problems - but, couldnt recommend at theThe crashing has to be addressed, its ridiculous. navigating the menus is an endurance test for your patience. Sometimes the cursor just seems to disappear - try navigating the menu looking for a suture kit as your party members bleed to death since there's seemingly no pause. That said - I'm powering through generally enjoying the game despite the problems - but, couldnt recommend at the moment unless you have serious patience. Expand
  3. May 6, 2021
    7
    La troisième tentative est (enfin) la bonne ! après le premier Wasteland, une antiquité de 1988 complètement fossilisée qui a reçu récemment une couche de peinture remastérisée (peine perdue, c’est fossilisé, on vous dit) puis le Wasteland 2 de 2014, intéressant dans le fond mais souffrant de graves lacunes de conception et de finition, voici le Wasteland 3 qui se révèle malgré quelquesLa troisième tentative est (enfin) la bonne ! après le premier Wasteland, une antiquité de 1988 complètement fossilisée qui a reçu récemment une couche de peinture remastérisée (peine perdue, c’est fossilisé, on vous dit) puis le Wasteland 2 de 2014, intéressant dans le fond mais souffrant de graves lacunes de conception et de finition, voici le Wasteland 3 qui se révèle malgré quelques soucis un jeu de rôle à l’ancienne, parfois rigide mais toujours accessible -contrairement aux deux précédents-et qui laisse (presque) toujours le choix…

    Accessible, car le jeu a délaissé ou atténué ses mécaniques pénibles qui faisaient du 2 un merdier conçu par des paranoïaques et surtout un foutoir de quêtes pas finissables parce qu’on ignorait comment les finir et qu’on errait comme une étagère. En outre et en même temps, les bugs étaient légion, ceci expliquant cela sans doute…!

    On trouve d’ailleurs encore pas mal de bugs sur ce Wasteland 3 mais la plupart ne sont jamais rédhibitoires et n’empêchent pas de finir le jeu comme on l’entend… il n’empêche que ça fait désordre. Les temps de chargement innommables font aussi fortement désordre, tout ça pour des zones toujours fort confinées finalement ! il faut dire que le jeu -pas très joli ma foi- a été fait avec Unity, le moteur 3D tout pourri qui pue de la gueule, ceci expliquant cela…

    Cependant, de grandes qualités d’écriture sont en place ici et beaucoup de choix à faire dans ce monde post-apo, ce qui n’est pas sans rappeler le Fallout New Vegas en matière de factions et de politique : un excellent point donc ! évidemment, la « mise en scène » est réduite au minimum et les voix anglaises sont dans un amerloque chwing-gum-marshmallow affreux : que des doubleurs culs-terreux de l’Arizona… et du Colorado ! ce n’est pas bien grave, on leur coupe le sifflet, d’autant que la traduction est toujours soignée à l’écran.

    La musique est dans l’ensemble assez sympathique, si ce n’est quelques chansons de country de merde (à la radio et parfois pendant un ou deux combats) et a contrario les effets sonores sont très convaincants et mettent toujours dans l’ambiance post-apo impitoyable (quelle violence…).

    L’autre point fort du jeu concerne le combat au tour par tour très bien fichu ici : tactique, prenant et doté d’une bien bonne interface à la manette, ma foi ! Le jeu reste néanmoins assez lent et parfois un peu laborieux -un défaut beaucoup plus accentué dans Wasteland 2 cela dit- autant par des zones ou les combats ne sont pas évitables (même pour un baratineur en « lèche-cul » ou « gros dur » !) que par l’organisation des missions un peu trop longues, voire surchargées… sans compter l’inventaire (heureusement commun aux six personnages) typiquement bordélique mais pas trop quand même (on a vu pire).

    En définitive, Wasteland 3 reste un bon jeu de rôle qui sait étonnamment bien captiver le joueur pendant presque une centaine d’heures (!) au bas mot malgré ses errements et ses bugs… et son moteur Unity à la rue.

    Epilogue : j’ai refait une seconde partie avec des choix différents, lesquels sont bel et bien présents et appréciables tout au long de la quête principale : c’est l’occasion de varier sensiblement dans ses décisions, ce qui met en relief l’autre qualité de ce Wasteland 3, à savoir qu’aucune moralité ou moralisateur impromptu ne viendra vous faire chier avec des conséquences plus ou moins aberrantes à la toute fin : tout en effet se tient ici et on y croit tout à fait.

    En voilà donc un beau réalisme post-apo sans fard ni fanfare ! par contre, l’histoire principale est indéniablement un peu courte, on s’en rend vraiment compte lorsqu’on ne fait pas les quêtes secondaires. Après plus d’un an je crois, les bugs ont en tout cas disparu et un mouveau mode de difficulté ‘touriste’ a été ajouté : bien sympathique et tranquille, je confirme ! du coup, on se rend compte qu’on est un peu juste au regard du niveau demandé si on a pas ou peu fait de missions secondaires… pas un souci en touriste ou facile mais au-delà, c’est sans doute un problème…

    On note que les temps de chargement sont descendus à 20 secondes sur Series X, un gros gain assurément mais ça ne descendra jamais plus bas, hélas. Quoi qu’il en soit, je ne change pas la note : un jeu de rôle solide et agréable mais parfois encore un peu lourd.
    Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2020
    7
    people are a bit harsh with the low scores but I do understand their frustration. I wouldn't buy this game at full price but not because it isn't good, rather it does have a lot of bugs. Most common bug- constant crashes. I've never played a game that crashed as much as this so if you get it, make sure to save often. I got this on gamepass so technically free so I'm not mad about it but itpeople are a bit harsh with the low scores but I do understand their frustration. I wouldn't buy this game at full price but not because it isn't good, rather it does have a lot of bugs. Most common bug- constant crashes. I've never played a game that crashed as much as this so if you get it, make sure to save often. I got this on gamepass so technically free so I'm not mad about it but it is frustrating when it crashes and I forgot to save. Other than that this game is fun and very challenging. If it wasn't for bugs I'd give this maybe a 9 Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2020
    6
    The gameplay is great, a clean improvement over wasteland 2 which I really enjoyed. But unfortunately the same problems that ruined that game risks ruining this game too. The game is so unstable and buggy tryints impossible to get through a playthrough without rage quitting due to multiple crashes. The save system is all over the place, whats the point in having a quick start feature ifThe gameplay is great, a clean improvement over wasteland 2 which I really enjoyed. But unfortunately the same problems that ruined that game risks ruining this game too. The game is so unstable and buggy tryints impossible to get through a playthrough without rage quitting due to multiple crashes. The save system is all over the place, whats the point in having a quick start feature if uts just going to reload at whichever previous save you had made. The crashes happen for no clear reason, sometimes its mid combat, sometimes its mid conversation. Somethings its just as you flick through your inventory. It honestly ruins the game. The difficulty spikes are insane just like the previous game too. One moment you're slaying guys with one shot likes, the next youre getting merc'd by one shot kills it means the game a grind fest as you have to massively OP for simple quests as you can't tell how difficult the quest is despite the level recommendations next to the quest. Its honestly one of my games of the year contenders but they seriously need to fix this ASAP before everyone just leaves it to be forgotten due to its poor quality. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2021
    6
    GAMES AN 8-9 IF IT RAN PERFECTLY ON XBOX..but it didn't. I probably put around around 40 hours in this game, and this game crashed about 35-40 times. I had to constantly quicksave after every little action, so I don't lose any more time.. ( i probably lost about 3-5 hours of total gameplay because of the game randonly crashing). Do not BUY this game on consoles, it's 6 months post launch,GAMES AN 8-9 IF IT RAN PERFECTLY ON XBOX..but it didn't. I probably put around around 40 hours in this game, and this game crashed about 35-40 times. I had to constantly quicksave after every little action, so I don't lose any more time.. ( i probably lost about 3-5 hours of total gameplay because of the game randonly crashing). Do not BUY this game on consoles, it's 6 months post launch, and it's straight broken.

    Other than that I thoroughly enjoyed the game, the story was straightforward, but it wasn't black and white, and I liked that. The rpg system was pretty good, and the combat was decent and addicting. I loved the presentation, but the whole ending events kind of felt underwhelming, even though I was satisfied with the ending based on my descisions. This game doesn't do anything spectacular, and it's basically an outer worlds, fallout turned into a turn based game. I would definitely say the rpg elements and presentation/themes/ side quests were the best part of the game. Story and combat were decent, while the game is completely broken on consoles.

    Try on gamepass, you might like it..especially if you like turn based games.
    DO NOT BUY ON CONSOLES.
    Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2020
    5
    This game proves once and for all nobody does QA testing anymore. Dialogue is great. I think it MIGHT be a fun game but the bugs are an absolute show stopper. Wait a few months for this to be patched. Dont spend a dime on it until at least Nov or Dec. What a joke. I really wanted to like this game
  8. Jun 25, 2021
    6
    Story: 8/10
    Gameplay: 7/10
    Graphics: 5/10
    Enjoyability: 6/10
    Overall: 6/10
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 27, 2020
    88
    Wasteland 3 is about adapting to a situation and environment while managing a "choose your own story" adventure. While the main story is fairly straight forward, how you experience that story is totally in your hands. This is why I can say that Wasteland 3 is one of the best CRPG games you will ever come across. It provides a depth that would allow you a seemingly infinite way to experience the game without being overly complex and hard to manage and all the while not taking itself too seriously in its delivery. If you want a good RPG there are a ton out there that are a dime a dozen, but if you want one of the best CRPG experiences you can have, then you absolutely have to purchase Wasteland 3.
  2. Sep 25, 2020
    90
    Do you love classic, old-school RPGs? Do you prefer a dirty Apocalypse to a generic fantasy world? Then you’ll love Wasteland 3. We couldn’t have wished for a better successor to the old Fallouts from Interplay.
  3. Sep 21, 2020
    90
    Some small issues aside, Wasteland 3 is a superb RPG and a huge step forward for inXile studio. Wasteland 3 is a classic RPG with great story and characters and challenging but fun combat system that is appealing to both new and old RPG fans.