Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mar 7, 2020
    100
    It may take a while to get going at first for new players, but get over that first hour of pretty much just cutscenes and the game completely opens up into one of the finest examples of storytelling in gaming. This, along with the sheer abundance of side activities and people asking for a punch, makes Yakuza 0 an exquisite game, and a perfect benchmark for newcomers to dive straight into.
  2. Apr 13, 2020
    90
    Yakuza 0 is already one of the greatest experiences on PlayStation 4, and now it is one of the best on Xbox One too. It may not have many enhancements for gamers who play on X, but it was already a looker, with a high frame rate to begin with. This is one of the glitziest and brightest games out there, and not relying on the most advanced technology meant the team could push an older engine to new heights. Dropping 40 hours means not even seeing half of what Yakuza 0 has to offer. It is a huge package of value that seemingly never stops giving.
  3. Mar 18, 2020
    90
    Today, three years after Western release on Xbox One, Yakuza 0 still translates well as an engaging and fun experience, particularly for those who love a good story. The graphics are slightly dated but nothing to be upset about, and only the somewhat foreign notion of the invisible wall cutting off stairways and paths is the only thing to be a bother. This mechanic has been changed over the years so to see it still thriving here immediately dates the game, but none of this is enough to make for a bad experience. If you enjoy the Yakuza franchise or need a jumping off point to get into the franchise, Yakuza 0 is a fantastic place to start.
  4. Mar 10, 2020
    90
    Yakuza 0 is a quirky and addictive action game that every Xbox One owner should play.
  5. Mar 4, 2020
    90
    Yakuza 0 was brilliant when it released on PS4, was even better when released on PC, and remains brilliant now that it’s on Xbox One. If you’ve never played a Yakuza game before, this is the ideal place to jump in, and the budget price along with its inclusion in Xbox Game Pass means the barrier to entry is low. Yakuza 0 is addictive, zany, compelling, funny… I could go on for a very long time. All you need to know is that you should play it. So do it. Now.
  6. Feb 27, 2020
    90
    Yakuza makes its long-awaited debut on Xbox One with the best entry in the series. Yakuza 0 is a superlative game, boasting outlandish and violent combat, bizarre peripheral characters, and a story that introduces two great protagonists in Kazuma Kiryu and Goro Majima. Play it and you'll quickly become fully invested in all things Yakuza.
  7. Mar 28, 2020
    88
    A light, once tied to Sony consoles, that finally spreads its beautiful wings in a true odyssey to conquer Xbox One.
  8. Mar 1, 2020
    88
    Yakuza 0 comes to Xbox One with a great story, deep characters, awesome fights and a wonderful '80s vibe across two different environments full of subquests and activities.
  9. Mar 17, 2020
    80
    The Xbox One version looks just as good if not a little better than its PS4 counterpart. It runs at a higher resolution and the world feels alive. It still has markings of its PS3 building, but it looks great regardless. I cannot wait to play Kiwami and Kiwami 2 on Xbox as well, as I never got a chance to finish those when they originally released. If for some reason you have not experienced the series there has never been a better time. The PS4 version is always on sale, it is in Game Pass for both Xbox and PC. Do not hesitate, play Yakuza and join me in experiencing one of the most unique and interesting games of the generation.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 209
  1. Mar 9, 2020
    9
    Yakuza 0 - Here we stand once more in the Yakuza underword. As we have comr to expect from this series 0 delivers great gameplay, a grippingYakuza 0 - Here we stand once more in the Yakuza underword. As we have comr to expect from this series 0 delivers great gameplay, a gripping story and is a visual delight. Some characters being very unlikeable makes it a delight when you get to unleash a intense punch heavy combo upon them and send them flying to the floor before, with some great "finishing moves" allows you to close out the fights in style. Using multiple fighting stances overcoming your foes is more pleasing and fluid than ever. With a bunch of different mini games to play there is always another way to kill time if you want to take a little break from the main story or maybe follow one of the hilarious side stories? Nothing quite makes you cringe and laugh more than teaching a placid and apologetic young lady how to be a dominant dominatrix by acting out the role of her "client" with her in a park and then having some kids walk up. All in all this is a fun game and for me not a whole lot to lower my score but 2 things. The amount of cutscenes during the story can feel tedious, no matter how great the story I ended up taking breaks just to not sit through another for a while. Secondly, again with cutscenes, sometimes your character can be talking to his friend (for example) during thr scene and no animation for mouth moving and just voice overs, this can be fustrating as it comes across as thoughts rather than as a proper chat between people. Full Review »
  2. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    La serie Yakuza ya todo mundo sabe lo que trae: minijuegos, una historia interesante y sobre todo, muchas peleas; eso es lo que hace divertidaLa serie Yakuza ya todo mundo sabe lo que trae: minijuegos, una historia interesante y sobre todo, muchas peleas; eso es lo que hace divertida esta franquicia. Me enamoré de ella cuando la jugué por primera vez en la PS4 con el Yakuza Kiwami, y me enorgullece jugar a esta precuela en la Xbox One. El único punto en contra es que está solamente en inglés pero eso no debería ser un problema; por lo demás es un excelente juego. Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2020
    2
    Sure.....its polished and looks alright...but that's the extent of the positive feedback I have for this game. Its just...lame. The combat isSure.....its polished and looks alright...but that's the extent of the positive feedback I have for this game. Its just...lame. The combat is silly and cartoony, and not in a good way. The game's biggest selling point is the litany of minigames you can play...which always sucks. The minigames are always the most boring part of any game...unless the game is really bad. There's darts, pool and many other games that would be easy to play IRL and far more fun. If I wanted to play any of those games but didnt want to go out I would download a dedicated pool/darts/etc simulation. Im sure some, older gamers who enjoyed the mediocrity of old school NES games will enjoy this but for anyone looking for a compelling experience I would steer clear. Full Review »