User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 196

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2020
    10
    Yakuza 0 is amazing it took me a bit to get through the first few chapters but once yo start playing as Majima I believe it starts to pick up I spent waymore time playing as him because I enjoyed his play style and the side story of managing a Cabaret club which is a huge surprise because you can easily spend 10+ hours playing it, but all in all its a fantastic game
  2. Mar 9, 2020
    9
    Yakuza 0 - Here we stand once more in the Yakuza underword. As we have comr to expect from this series 0 delivers great gameplay, a gripping story and is a visual delight. Some characters being very unlikeable makes it a delight when you get to unleash a intense punch heavy combo upon them and send them flying to the floor before, with some great "finishing moves" allows you to close outYakuza 0 - Here we stand once more in the Yakuza underword. As we have comr to expect from this series 0 delivers great gameplay, a gripping story and is a visual delight. Some characters being very unlikeable makes it a delight when you get to unleash a intense punch heavy combo upon them and send them flying to the floor before, with some great "finishing moves" allows you to close out the fights in style. Using multiple fighting stances overcoming your foes is more pleasing and fluid than ever. With a bunch of different mini games to play there is always another way to kill time if you want to take a little break from the main story or maybe follow one of the hilarious side stories? Nothing quite makes you cringe and laugh more than teaching a placid and apologetic young lady how to be a dominant dominatrix by acting out the role of her "client" with her in a park and then having some kids walk up. All in all this is a fun game and for me not a whole lot to lower my score but 2 things. The amount of cutscenes during the story can feel tedious, no matter how great the story I ended up taking breaks just to not sit through another for a while. Secondly, again with cutscenes, sometimes your character can be talking to his friend (for example) during thr scene and no animation for mouth moving and just voice overs, this can be fustrating as it comes across as thoughts rather than as a proper chat between people. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    La serie Yakuza ya todo mundo sabe lo que trae: minijuegos, una historia interesante y sobre todo, muchas peleas; eso es lo que hace divertida esta franquicia. Me enamoré de ella cuando la jugué por primera vez en la PS4 con el Yakuza Kiwami, y me enorgullece jugar a esta precuela en la Xbox One. El único punto en contra es que está solamente en inglés pero eso no debería ser un problema;La serie Yakuza ya todo mundo sabe lo que trae: minijuegos, una historia interesante y sobre todo, muchas peleas; eso es lo que hace divertida esta franquicia. Me enamoré de ella cuando la jugué por primera vez en la PS4 con el Yakuza Kiwami, y me enorgullece jugar a esta precuela en la Xbox One. El único punto en contra es que está solamente en inglés pero eso no debería ser un problema; por lo demás es un excelente juego. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2020
    9
    sem guerra de consoles, caixista fanatico vai criticar por criticar, EU JOGUEI e gostei, o ruim é que tem cutscene pra caramba mas no geral é um bom jogo, me surpreendeu até, divertido, legal jogar com o Goro Majima, com o Kiryu é chato, conselho, joguem o jogo sem fanatismo e sem ficar pulando as cutscene, a historia e a jogabilidade são legais.
  5. Apr 29, 2020
    9
    I've already tried Yakuza 0 on PS4, but it's been the Xbox One version where I've completed the main story.
    His story is very well narrated, it is complex, it has unexpected plot twists and the way the two stories come together is great.
    In the graphic section I think the words are superfluous, since the game runs at about 60 perfect fps and the detail that the main characters have is
    I've already tried Yakuza 0 on PS4, but it's been the Xbox One version where I've completed the main story.
    His story is very well narrated, it is complex, it has unexpected plot twists and the way the two stories come together is great.
    In the graphic section I think the words are superfluous, since the game runs at about 60 perfect fps and the detail that the main characters have is sick, not to mention that both Kamurocho and Sotenbori are beautiful cities that seem to come from a movie with CGI technology. (I mean the Xbox One X version, I don't know what the game is like on an Xbox One FAT or Slim).
    It took me 36 minutes to complete the game because I wasn't very emphatic with side quests. And finally I would like to highlight the fact that little by little the Microsoft console is nourishing itself with Japanese jewels.

    I hope that more games of this style come to the Xbox Game Pass.
    Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2020
    9
    Juego tremendo.
    Duración más que aceptable.
    Historia INCREÍBLE Muchas secundarias Mundo pequeño pero denso y carismático.

    Puntos negativos:
    El idioma.
    Que no estuviera antes para Xbox
  7. Mar 15, 2020
    9
    Some of the user reviews are just plain stupid. This game is great and I am super happy the series finally came to Xbox. Apparently people have no patience and cant handle subtitles. Once you get to chapter 4 or 5 things really get good. One of the best stories in a game. The the amount of things to do packed into 2 small maps is crazy. You also get to play as two great character. TheSome of the user reviews are just plain stupid. This game is great and I am super happy the series finally came to Xbox. Apparently people have no patience and cant handle subtitles. Once you get to chapter 4 or 5 things really get good. One of the best stories in a game. The the amount of things to do packed into 2 small maps is crazy. You also get to play as two great character. The setting is very refreshing. Give this game a chance. Expand
  8. Jun 19, 2020
    5
    Dull, dated gameplay and irritating controls. Not an enjoyable experience.

    Jsjsjjsjsjsjjsjsj
  9. Mar 8, 2020
    2
    Sure.....its polished and looks alright...but that's the extent of the positive feedback I have for this game. Its just...lame. The combat is silly and cartoony, and not in a good way. The game's biggest selling point is the litany of minigames you can play...which always sucks. The minigames are always the most boring part of any game...unless the game is really bad. There's darts, poolSure.....its polished and looks alright...but that's the extent of the positive feedback I have for this game. Its just...lame. The combat is silly and cartoony, and not in a good way. The game's biggest selling point is the litany of minigames you can play...which always sucks. The minigames are always the most boring part of any game...unless the game is really bad. There's darts, pool and many other games that would be easy to play IRL and far more fun. If I wanted to play any of those games but didnt want to go out I would download a dedicated pool/darts/etc simulation. Im sure some, older gamers who enjoyed the mediocrity of old school NES games will enjoy this but for anyone looking for a compelling experience I would steer clear. Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2020
    0
    La série Yakuza de Sega a toujours été une franchise franchement daubée, injouable, lourdingue, pathétique, caricaturale et ridicule. On change pas les (mauvaises) habitudes avec ce nouvel épisode sous-titré "zero" !

    Sauf que par rapport aux précédentes daubes de cette franchise surdaubée, c'est ici presque présentable... ou plus ou moins correct, je suppose... quoique ! pour un jeu de
    La série Yakuza de Sega a toujours été une franchise franchement daubée, injouable, lourdingue, pathétique, caricaturale et ridicule. On change pas les (mauvaises) habitudes avec ce nouvel épisode sous-titré "zero" !

    Sauf que par rapport aux précédentes daubes de cette franchise surdaubée, c'est ici presque présentable... ou plus ou moins correct, je suppose... quoique ! pour un jeu de 2015, il a un rendu de 2010. A peu près. Le jeu reste évidemment un "Yakuza", ce qui implique des voix japonaises et tout le texte en anglais uniquement.

    Le "jeu" en lui-même reste fidèle à ce que fait la franchise... à savoir des bastons complètement cons comme un DOA (Dead On Arrival ? c'est presque ça !) de l'ère PS2... ou PS1 en fait. Ou un "Virtua Fighter" pour rester chez Sega mais le combat est plus con ici qu'un Virtua mais pas moins désagréable que n'importe quel jeu de baston (à la con) japonais, c'est du "standard" si j'ose dire !

    C'est donc raté et très ennuyeux, carrément ridicule (il y a tellement de choses ridicules dans les jeux "Yakuza" de toute façon...) et ça arrive bien trop souvent ; puis il y a d'autres "mini-jeux" mais personnellement je me suis arrêté au karaoké tout en QTE... putain ! à faire mourir de honte les non-jeux de David Cage, notre Mister QTE à nous !

    Pour le reste, eh bien, il y a une pseudo-histoire dans ce pseudo-jeu dont on se fout totalement, un histoire pleine de vieux clichés et de cinématiques à n'en plus finir qu'on arrête pas de zapper, mais il en arrive toujours plus ! Bref, tout ce merdier est vraiment très con et bête comme c'est pas permis, pas drôle et très chiant : un "Yakuza" de plus à chier, comme d'habitude !
    Expand
  11. Jun 2, 2020
    2
    One of the users who gave this a 10 claimed that anyone who rated it poorly "didn't understand fun." In response to such blatant nonsense, I offer my own claim: anyone who rates this game highly is without a doubt a weeaboo. Only a weeaboo could play this game and actually think, "this is as fun as it gets." Normal people (i.e. people who aren't weirdly infatuated with Japanese culture,One of the users who gave this a 10 claimed that anyone who rated it poorly "didn't understand fun." In response to such blatant nonsense, I offer my own claim: anyone who rates this game highly is without a doubt a weeaboo. Only a weeaboo could play this game and actually think, "this is as fun as it gets." Normal people (i.e. people who aren't weirdly infatuated with Japanese culture, who don't monomaniacally consume Japanese comics, games, movies, shows, and porn) will play this game and
    wonder how it could have been rated so highly.

    First off, true to form, this is yet another Japanese game with way too many cutscenes—all of which are too long, nearly every line coming off, at best, slightly stilted and sophomoric. There's simply no justification for such long cut scenes when the dialogue is so consistently mediocre and canned. No reason the dialogue couldn't be played over, you know, GAMEPLAY. But hey, that's just how the Japanese do it. Don't ask me why.

    Next, the combat is nothing special. Functional, but heavily reliant on button mashing, lacking in nuance, and therefore tedious. Again, true to form.

    Finally, invisible walls abound. I will say that the graphics are pretty stunning, until you realize that the developers keep you strictly within bounds as you walk through what appears to be, at first glance, a huge city teeming with life. Not so. It's just a very well done false store front. Peel it off and what you find is—nothing. Absolutely nothing at all.

    All I can say is how thankful I am I didn't waste money on this, trying it out on Gamepass first.
    Expand
  12. Apr 28, 2020
    0
    Es mierda de lo mas aburrido.
    Parece una pelicula en vez de un videojuego.
    Ademas no tiene nada de interesante mas alla de los memes.
    Porqueria que Microsoft,utiliza para llenar su Game Pass de juegos malos. Como Netflix.
  13. Apr 27, 2020
    10
    Just finished the game yesterday. Great story line, game play and everything in the game! Can’t wait for kiwami 2!
  14. Feb 21, 2021
    7
    Yakuza 0 combines in a single game elements from a story driven game with brainless fighting mechanics. Usually I flee from the games with brainless mechanics, those found in games like Batman Arkham City, where battles are about smashing the controller buttons for hours. However, this game has something that has had me hooked despite those mechanics, and is a brilliant story, with a lotYakuza 0 combines in a single game elements from a story driven game with brainless fighting mechanics. Usually I flee from the games with brainless mechanics, those found in games like Batman Arkham City, where battles are about smashing the controller buttons for hours. However, this game has something that has had me hooked despite those mechanics, and is a brilliant story, with a lot of script changes that have made worth smashing the buttons nonsensically during the hundreds of fights in the game. The tenths of cinematic cutscenes between the game chapters, some longer than a TV show, add to the story, but those merits get shadowed by the lack of voice translations, other the original japanese ones. This is probably the game with more dialogues I played in my entire life, sometimes longer than they need to be, and all those dialogues are spoken in japanese and need to be read from the subtitles of you do not understand the language, as is my case. Nevertheless, the story is that good that gets you playing until the end of the game, however, I might need quite some time until I face another Yakuza game. Expand
  15. Jun 20, 2020
    8
    A great addition to the Yakuza series. Absolutely loved the character of Goro Majima.
  16. Jun 27, 2020
    9
    Loved the characters. First time playing a game from this series through the end. Bit buggy at times but not sure if that was my old launch xbone struggling.
  17. Jun 27, 2020
    10
    My favorite game series after this game i bought all of them yakuza has amazing combat great rpg elements and amazing story and characters and its funny and the game is authentic and real and criminally underrated its 1 of the best franchises
  18. Jul 8, 2020
    2
    Jogo ruim dmaisss nosssa como os dono de ps4 acharam isso bom? Eu ein só tem conversa, gameplay chato jogo ruim miserável
  19. Apr 25, 2020
    9
    I am in love.
    It took too long for me to get into the Yakuza series and I finally did. I'm glad I heard the fans and started with 0. This game is absolutely incredible!
    This is probably one of the best stories ever written in a video game. It immediately transported me to a Yakuza-style movie. Characters are very well done, with some very convincing motives for doing the things they
    I am in love.
    It took too long for me to get into the Yakuza series and I finally did. I'm glad I heard the fans and started with 0. This game is absolutely incredible!

    This is probably one of the best stories ever written in a video game. It immediately transported me to a Yakuza-style movie. Characters are very well done, with some very convincing motives for doing the things they do. They're just too damn well developed and charsmatic. Like I said before, the writing helps. The story is filled with twists and turns, with believable and impressive moments. The pacing is great and it never gets old. Soundtrack is discreet, but it's a banger. It's a contained personal story, focused on its characters, but just as epic as any other game.
    The only two chapters I did not like were 5 and 7, because they felt like padding.

    Gameplay is unorthodox and I love it, but not perfect. It fits the tone and does the job, but if the story wasn't THAT good, I'm not sure I would get to the end. The combat system can get repetitive. Guns are overpowered, the 'sphere-grid-like' upgrade system is shallow, it lacks a good lock-on system and equipments feels useless. In the end, it's just fun. Simple, but it does the trick, especially when it comes to the amazing boss fights (even if you have to fight Kuze FIVE GODDAMN TIMES).
    The semi-open-world areas take a long time to actually get going. It's a slow burner, but a rewarding one. Albeit repetitive, the side quests and subseries are hilariously well done, helping to build a well realized atmosphere and setting for both cities. The cabaret and real estate mini-games are boring, though.

    I recommend this game purely for its story. The gameplay is fun, but it's the thirst to know how everything will unfold that will keep you coming back for more. Amazing!
    I'm not sure if the rest of the series is worth it, but this one definitely is.
    Expand
  20. Jun 24, 2020
    9
    Game is amazing. Amazing story.. amazing combat. A must own!! I hope the continue to make more.
  21. Mar 9, 2021
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yakuza 0 is a decent, enjoyable game as a stand-alone. I truly enjoyed the story and it really touched me on so many levels with the final showdown probably being my favorite across the series. However, as a prequel, it does a terrible job of delivering answers to mysteries not revealed in the series. There’s mostly nothing new nor impressive that can be learned about Kiryu’s past. Questions like what made Kiryu ink a dragon? How does he know Majima? How did he develop the Dragon Style in fighting, etc. This is a huge part of who he is and yet there’s no mention of it in the main story. Even the questions that were answered were unsatisfactory, to say the least. I believe they failed to capitalize on this opportunity so far as I want a second-parter to Yakuza 0 just to add these missing links to Yakuza 1 and explore the Kiryu-Majima relationship further.

    Satisfaction is not found with Majima’s backstory either, you’d think someone as crazy as him would have a major reason for who he is today— opposite to Yakuza 4’s backstory. No, Majima just causally goes “well, now I’m gonna causally change personas from chic well-balanced lord of the night to a Japanese Joker”. Demon style? No. Why does he carry a knife? Is it significant? It must be, right? Nope, not mentioning that in a prequel.

    The money system is a very bizarre choice. Money completely lost any value in this game where you can be a multimillionaire to upgrade abilities that require billions. The longer dialogues, literally thousands of words in some instances, really put me off.
    Expand
  22. May 5, 2020
    8
    I had never played a yakuza game before, actually I played it for 5 minutes on ps4 and didn't even give it a chance as I was not a fan of most Japanese games, but what an awesome series I was missing, it is seriously an amazing game and well worth it, sure it has some weird stuff and some repetitive gameplay sometimes , but the story and the world is great, there is a lot of content andI had never played a yakuza game before, actually I played it for 5 minutes on ps4 and didn't even give it a chance as I was not a fan of most Japanese games, but what an awesome series I was missing, it is seriously an amazing game and well worth it, sure it has some weird stuff and some repetitive gameplay sometimes , but the story and the world is great, there is a lot of content and the great thing is you can choose to play whatever you want you are not forced to do annoying stuff or something if you don't like it If you haven't given a chance to the series it's a great time to get up to date. Expand
  23. Apr 29, 2020
    10
    Honestly,anyone who rates this game with a negative score, doesn't understand anything about fun.the story is the best story i ever played.the sub quests are the most hilarious and creative you'll ever find in a game.the map is jacked with things to do and 99% of them are more interesting than anything you'll find in other games.the arcade.the disco.the hostess club which i never evenHonestly,anyone who rates this game with a negative score, doesn't understand anything about fun.the story is the best story i ever played.the sub quests are the most hilarious and creative you'll ever find in a game.the map is jacked with things to do and 99% of them are more interesting than anything you'll find in other games.the arcade.the disco.the hostess club which i never even thought ill put as much time as i did . into.karaoke.bowling.gambling.fishing.telephone club.and so much more.this game will make you laugh,cry,and just have as much fun as you can.and lastly,it NEVER gets repetitive Expand
  24. May 20, 2020
    9
    Really cool game. I was in Japan last year and i remember so many things again because of this game. maybe the story its a bit to much in focus instead of the gameplay.
  25. Jul 22, 2020
    9
    Absolutely loved this game and has got me to retrospectively play all the others.
  26. Jun 20, 2020
    6
    I have mixed feelings about this game, it did not feel like an open world if I compare it to GTAV in terms of how big it was and how many places you could visit and how many side missions you could encounter its like a small neighborhood (from GTAV); However, the main story kept me going on every step of the way.
    Graphically its average.
    Gameplay is a positive point where you can
    I have mixed feelings about this game, it did not feel like an open world if I compare it to GTAV in terms of how big it was and how many places you could visit and how many side missions you could encounter its like a small neighborhood (from GTAV); However, the main story kept me going on every step of the way.
    Graphically its average.
    Gameplay is a positive point where you can execute crazy combos, and fight interesting bosses.
    Expand
  27. Jun 24, 2020
    8
    Such a good game. From locations to story to combat. Its such a weird game to the side quest and story are so polar opposite I love it.
  28. Jul 28, 2020
    9
    A captivating and emotional story for many to be introduced to major characters of the series. Combat progressively gets harder but with all the moves you get from either upgrades or mentors, you're more than well equipped to handle any combat sequence. Substories and all activities are fun and unique as none are the same but enjoyment can be found anywhere around Kamurocho or Sotenborri.A captivating and emotional story for many to be introduced to major characters of the series. Combat progressively gets harder but with all the moves you get from either upgrades or mentors, you're more than well equipped to handle any combat sequence. Substories and all activities are fun and unique as none are the same but enjoyment can be found anywhere around Kamurocho or Sotenborri. I highly recommend anyone to play this game and experience it for yourselves. Expand
  29. Aug 13, 2020
    9
    yakuza 0 has one of the best stories that everyone whos a fan of video games should experience at one point. with it being on gamepass it should definitely be played at least once
  30. Sep 7, 2020
    10
    the best YAKUZA ever without any doubt Im not really into this kind of games but that strong story telling of this game made me regret it
    just go and see the introducing of majima it was diffrent from what Ive seen in any game
  31. Sep 14, 2020
    10
    First Yakuza game...man this is deserving of 10/10. Great story: beginning, middle and end. A serious main story with **** side quests. A great levelling system and combat mechanics. Utterly fun.
  32. Oct 22, 2020
    9
    Excellent history combined with fun gameplay that can make you easily pas 100 hours makes this one of my favorite games i played
  33. Aug 16, 2021
    8
    Yakuza 0 was the first game in the series I played and once I did, I slapped myself 30 times asking why I never played it before. The prequel to this series was well done with good graphics and a good combat/leveling up system. Seeing the beginnings of Kazuma Kiryu and being able to play as a young Goro Majima was awesome. I see why fans of the series were excited to play as Majima and seeYakuza 0 was the first game in the series I played and once I did, I slapped myself 30 times asking why I never played it before. The prequel to this series was well done with good graphics and a good combat/leveling up system. Seeing the beginnings of Kazuma Kiryu and being able to play as a young Goro Majima was awesome. I see why fans of the series were excited to play as Majima and see how he became the Majima he is today. For those who have never played this series, I highly recommend it. Since playing this one a year ago, I have played and finished not only this one, but also parts 1, 2 and 3 in less than a year. Average game time with a doing a good deal of side quests will consume about 45hrs of game time, which I also loved. The best way to sum up the relationship between Kiryu and Majima is they are a version of Goku and Vegeta. Expand
  34. Sep 26, 2021
    10
    Arguably the best Yakuza entry. Highly recommended. Awesome backstory for the cast. Top tier music.
  35. Sep 29, 2021
    0
    One of my fav yakuza games. I'm really happy that it was released on xbox not to mention great story and ost.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 13, 2020
    90
    Yakuza 0 is already one of the greatest experiences on PlayStation 4, and now it is one of the best on Xbox One too. It may not have many enhancements for gamers who play on X, but it was already a looker, with a high frame rate to begin with. This is one of the glitziest and brightest games out there, and not relying on the most advanced technology meant the team could push an older engine to new heights. Dropping 40 hours means not even seeing half of what Yakuza 0 has to offer. It is a huge package of value that seemingly never stops giving.
  2. Mar 28, 2020
    88
    A light, once tied to Sony consoles, that finally spreads its beautiful wings in a true odyssey to conquer Xbox One.
  3. Mar 18, 2020
    90
    Today, three years after Western release on Xbox One, Yakuza 0 still translates well as an engaging and fun experience, particularly for those who love a good story. The graphics are slightly dated but nothing to be upset about, and only the somewhat foreign notion of the invisible wall cutting off stairways and paths is the only thing to be a bother. This mechanic has been changed over the years so to see it still thriving here immediately dates the game, but none of this is enough to make for a bad experience. If you enjoy the Yakuza franchise or need a jumping off point to get into the franchise, Yakuza 0 is a fantastic place to start.