Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Jan 19, 2021
    100
    Hitman 3 is a fantastic capstone to a standout series. Yes, a lot of what you experience will seem familiar if you’ve played the last two games, but IO Interactive continues to take interesting risks that largely play off while still perfecting the elements that make Hitman so special. The best compliment I can pay Hitman 3 is that I want to finish writing this review so I can go back to playing it.
  2. Jan 19, 2021
    95
    So it’s 5 levels really, but they are excellent levels, masterful executions of a brilliant concept by a team at the top of their game. And, on top of that, we’ve already got the other two games—which are available for dirt cheap, now—to make a single, expansive, globetrotting experience that sees our familiar, baldheaded puppetmaster accessing the world’s ultra-wealthy just when they thought they were invincible, dancing through the class divides like the nameless angel of death that he is, and then blowing someone up with an exploding golf ball or something.
  3. Jan 19, 2021
    95
    Hitman 3 is the ultimate experience to enjoy the history of Agent 47. The level design and small playable enhancements make this title a must play for stealth lovers. In addition, having all the content of the previous deliveries improved is the perfect example of how to offer a complete experience.
  4. Jan 19, 2021
    92
    If you’ve played one of these games before and somehow didn’t like it, Hitman 3 isn’t likely to change your mind. But it does what it does incredibly well, and is a perfected version of this iteration of Hitman. Truly, I don’t see where they could further refine these games without making more sweeping changes, and I have to imagine that’s what’s next for the team at IO.
  5. Feb 1, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 doesn’t bring any substantial changes to the tried and true mechanics of the trilogy, but instead offers the most complete, refined version of Agent 47 we’ve seen to date. Despite a lackluster story, IO Interactive has otherwise done an outstanding job over the years with this trilogy and Hitman 3 represents the culmination of all those efforts.
  6. Jan 29, 2021
    90
    This is one of the best games in the Hitman franchise and definitely the best game in the "World of Assassination" Trilogy by IO Interactive. This is a must play for anyone into Hitman and a great ending to Agent 47's story.
  7. Jan 25, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 is an excellent end to the World of Assassination trilogy. Each mission feels dramatically different with exceptional level design that provides countless mysteries to uncover and options to play with. The story comes to a gratifying conclusion, but even if you’re new to 47’s world of slick kills and dark comedy, there has never been a more appropriate time to take aim.
  8. Jan 24, 2021
    90
    If you've played the other two games in the World of Assassination trilogy then you owe it to yourself to finish the narrative in Hitman 3. If not, well, the ability to play all the games in one location makes this an almost essential purchase. If you like sneaking around and playing dress up with guns, Hitman 3 is for you.
  9. Jan 22, 2021
    90
    If you are looking for the game equivalent of a high-stakes spy thriller, love an equal balance of stealth, action, puzzles and sandbox play, or simply love the fantasy of flying to exotic locations, meeting highly interesting people and killing them, Hitman 3 has your number.
  10. Jan 20, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 is a superb final entry in what must now be regarded as one of gaming's truly great trilogies. This is a fittingly slick and satisfying send off for Agent 47, a succession of expertly crafted and endlessly replayable missions - omitting that final level dud - that sees our favourite assassin wind up his story in triumphantly fine form. IO Interactive really has brought all of their mission crafting expertise to bear here, resulting in a handful of levels that rank with the very best Hitman has to offer, and all while throwing in a couple of genuine curveballs and surprises as they go. This is essential stuff.
  11. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    A high end trilogy, with a high capacity for replayability and majestic scenery.
  12. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 succeeds in every respect by being a fantastic ending to an already great series. It's also a joy to see that IO Interactive ensured players would be able to slip right back into the shoes of a veteran killer,but didn't rest on their laurels by not offering anything new. Although the touches of permanent shortcuts and new gadgets may seem small, once implemented it's hard to imagine playing without them as they integrate seamlessly into mission stories. Add to that the same freedom to approach a hit that the series is famous for, as well as ensuring every playground looks absolutely stunning and its clear that even without good friends, Agent 47 really does find the perfect blend.
  13. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 is an impressive accomplishment. Those who've played its two predecessors won’t be surprised in the slightest by how excellent this game is. The World of Assassination trilogy’s brand of emergent gameplay and social stealth in dense, masterfully designed maps has been taken to its zenith in its final instalment, to the extent that some of the locations here can easily be called the best locations this series has ever delivered.
  14. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 takes everything good about the rebooted series and combines it with worthwhile features and levels that are more interactive than ever before to create one of the best stealth games of the last decade.
  15. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    All in all, IO Interactive has stuck with what it knows best with Hitman 3: gorgeously crafted open playgrounds for the player to wreak slick and murderous havoc in. There’s not much new here if you’re a fan of the series, but IOI didn’t really need to introduce any new mechanics to what was already a fantastic stealth experience. Agent 47’s final outing of the trilogy is his best thanks to updated and improved visuals, a fitting end to the story, and more superb sandbox level design. Sure, it could have done with maybe a different couple of tutorial missions to keep things interesting for the Hitman vets and the achievement hunting community, but other than that, there’s not much else to fault with the game. Hitman 3 is a must-play for all gamers.
  16. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    All told, though, Hitman 3 is one of the best stealth games ever made. Those that have enjoyed the last two games in the rebooted trilogy will find more to appreciate here, while newcomers to the franchise will get a highly replayable romp through expertly crafted levels. The disjointed narrative may be off-putting to some, but those willing to overlook the shortcomings of the story are getting an otherwise near-perfect stealth game with exceptional replay value and astounding visual fidelity.
  17. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Rich, rewarding, and highly replayable, Hitman 3 is one of the barcoded butcher's best appearances.
  18. Jan 19, 2021
    90
    Hitman 3 brings to a close one of gaming's great trilogies with one last display of immaculate level design and intoxicating mood from IO Interactive. Hitman 3 feels like the culmination of years of work for IO Interactive.
  19. Feb 9, 2021
    86
    Hitman 3 takes the formula in new directions, and will continually surprise you without stepping too far outside the known boundaries.
  20. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    Hitman III is one of the first strong cards of the year. IO Interactive has given us an entertaining experience focused on experimentation and replayability that no fan of the stealth genre can miss.
  21. 85
    HITMAN III is a decidedly epic conclusion to the events established in the first two games. It offers fantastic, well-realised locales with objectives that are unconventional, at least by HITMAN standards, to come out feeling fresh. Though in pursuit of this, it has lost a bit of the breadth we've come to expect from the series. Ultimately, it delivers what it promised to - a strong conclusion to the trilogy.
  22. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    Hitman 3 is full of surprises beneath its familiar systems. It manages to break out of its own sandbox without disrupting its formula too much, ending on a subtle note that brings the world of assassination saga to a satisfying end.
  23. Jan 19, 2021
    85
    Hitman 3 is a satisfying farewell to Agent 47, with stunning locations, and endless opportunities to take out your targets.
  24. Jan 19, 2021
    82
    Hitman 3 is a real sandbox dream with its cool, new VR mode, but it unfortunately turns out to be very short.
  25. Jan 31, 2021
    80
    Hitman 3 delivers a very good stealth game which gives complete freedom to the players in expansive and beautiful environments. It unluckily doesn't look as developed in storytelling, and it feels a bit short on content with only 6 environments, though. All in all, a game every stealth lover will surely appreciate.
  26. Jan 25, 2021
    80
    Agent 47 adds some more amazing hits in this fantastic ending of an incredible trilogy. Although there’s not much new mechanically in Hitman 3, you’ll come across some great new experiences along your travels from Dubai through the Carpathian mountains, that may rival the ones in Hitman 2016’s Sapienza.
  27. Jan 21, 2021
    80
    A fine and fitting send-off for gaming’s slickest, most inventive thriller.
  28. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    Hitman 3 features some of the most complex and most creative levels in the series history while polishing the gameplay to perfection. Unfortunately, it's held back by some hefty paywalls, uneven mission pacing, and some occasional clunky AI.
  29. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    The third act is often the hardest, and with Hitman 3, IO Interactive has managed, somehow, to mix things up and make it feel fresh. Some will celebrate the lengthier, curated stories, but those who love Hitman for its replay value will be slightly dismayed at Hitman 3. Nonetheless, it's still a great bloody video game.
  30. Jan 19, 2021
    80
    Without straying far from the successful sandbox formula, it's an excellent final part of IO's trilogy. While the increased freedom and level variety won't be for everyone, Hitman 3 boasts some of the best locations and stories the series has ever seen, and there's so much to uncover in each and every one of them.
  31. Jan 27, 2021
    75
    HITMAN 3 is a satisfying conclusion to the World of Assassination trilogy, but makes a few missteps that make the game feel less impactful. This game is a must-buy for any Agent 47 fanatics and is a promising sign that Hitman is still relevant in the modern games industry.
  32. Jan 19, 2021
    70
    There are grand moments that will leave you enthralled, from the Knives Out-esque murder mystery to skydiving to one of the tallest buildings in Dubai. The environments are also a highlight as they’re not only a visual treat, but contain an incredible amount of detail that encourage creativity from the player. Unfortunately, there are hang ups that drag the experience down. The focus on the rushed story has taken a toll on at least two missions, while the CG cutscenes are awkwardly done. The decrease of Mission Stories down to between zero and three is a huge blow as they used to offer some of most entertaining ways in getting close to your target. The whole point of the Hitman games is replaying missions over and over again, but after completing one a couple of times, I felt like I experienced everything it had to offer, which isn’t something I had a problem with in the past. There are standout moments, but Hitman 3 just doesn’t have the same charm it did in the last two games, and the limitations only contribute to this. It’s more Hitman, but at the same time less of Hitman.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 123
  2. Negative: 23 out of 123
  1. Jan 22, 2021
    10
    @ Zer0TheHer0, Just to annoy you, i hope they never do it. Solid hitman game by the way.
  2. Jan 25, 2021
    9
    Hitman 3 (stylized as HITMAN III) is a 2021 stealth game developed and published by IO Interactive for Microsoft Windows, Xbox One, XboxHitman 3 (stylized as HITMAN III) is a 2021 stealth game developed and published by IO Interactive for Microsoft Windows, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S. It is the eighth main installment in the Hitman series and the final entry in the World of Assassination trilogy, following Hitman (2016) and Hitman 2 (2018). The single-player story concludes the plot arc started in Hitman and follows genetically engineered assassin Agent 47 and his allies as they hunt down the leaders of Providence, the secretive organization controlling the world's affairs. IO Interactive has honed its gameplay formula to perfection, and it is on top form here, designing missions like Dartmoor where you can lose yourself for hours solving a murder mystery that is largely separate to the events of the core game. The process of puzzling out each level, deconstructing it, and then executing the perfect Silent Assassin run is some of the most fun you can have on PS5 right now – don’t miss this victory lap from one of gaming’s best franchises. I really like puzzle-y stealth games but I approach them as I do a game of chess: thoughtfully, slowly, and badly. That makes me the exact opposite of the folks who are already making their way through Hitman 3 levels quickly, skillfully, and mercilessly. They’re doing it in under a minute too. There really isn't a weak one in the bunch. This barcode butcher has made a lot of appearances over the past 20 years, but Hitman 3 is definitely one of his best. If you're reading this you're obviously quite familiar. No need to look further to spoil any of the experience of yours. If you haven't definitely check out at least the first two installments before beginning this one. You'll appreciate doing so. Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2021
    10
    Great game, would recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!