Warner Bros. | Release Date: January 19, 2018
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 131 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
67
Mixed:
45
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
The3AcademySinsJul 5, 2019
Overall a fairly good movie about the early days of the US War in Afghanistan. The action is the best part of 12 Strong, and every actor playing a member of the 595 gets a chance to shine. The first half of the movie meanders and doesn'tOverall a fairly good movie about the early days of the US War in Afghanistan. The action is the best part of 12 Strong, and every actor playing a member of the 595 gets a chance to shine. The first half of the movie meanders and doesn't quite know where to go, but at the halfway point, and hour in to the movie, the pieces start to fall into place. Worth a watch if you like feel-good war/action movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryJan 23, 2018
One of the 1st major missions after the 9/11 attack involved a Special Forces team sent to Afghanistan to strike a blow at the Taliban. Chris Hemsworth plays their captain, an inexperienced soldier who not only has to lead this dangerousOne of the 1st major missions after the 9/11 attack involved a Special Forces team sent to Afghanistan to strike a blow at the Taliban. Chris Hemsworth plays their captain, an inexperienced soldier who not only has to lead this dangerous expedition, but has to do it on horses! Even though this little-known operation makes for a fascinating story, the production is follows pretty standard war movie tropes; There are personal insights into several soldiers, a few sweet moments with locals and insights from a Northern Alliance general. Then there's lots of battle footage, most of it noisy and dusty without much clear focus on the action or creative staging of the stunts. An adequately made film, but without much to make it special. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeJan 18, 2018
Pretty much the only movie where we finally get to see the aftermath of the infamous attacks done in September 2001. Actually based on a true story called Horse Soldiers, which is completely non-fictional by the way, and I hate to say thatPretty much the only movie where we finally get to see the aftermath of the infamous attacks done in September 2001. Actually based on a true story called Horse Soldiers, which is completely non-fictional by the way, and I hate to say that because, in my sense nowadays, I see it as a common cliché with hardly any twists put to it, 12 Strong remains strong but eventually fails to come up with plan B just in case plan A flops which most likely here it does somewhere around the middle of the film. For history purposes, I see it as a very great film. For other purposes, however, I see it as a disappointment to keep up with moviegoers alike. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
4
IttiacesFeb 4, 2018
This is a very standard war movie and follows the usually Hollywood formula for American films of this nature. Based on a true story so can't fault them for the subject matter but it was presented in a way that felt quite flat and dry. IThis is a very standard war movie and follows the usually Hollywood formula for American films of this nature. Based on a true story so can't fault them for the subject matter but it was presented in a way that felt quite flat and dry. I understand why Chris Hemsworth was cast in the lead role, to ride on the back of his popularity in the Marvel movies, but unfortunately, he's just not a good enough actor to be able to hold his own here. Particularly alongside some very talented cast members like Michael Shannon and Michael Pena. I'm sure he gave the role his best effort which is commendable, but I don't think he can carry off this kind of character, not currently anyway. He just wasn't believable. The VFX were pretty seamless, there are many action sequences, and I thought it was all very well done. The whole movie is set in a desert location in the middle east so get used to seeing sand and not much else. Overall, it's worth seeing to find out more about the true story behind it, but as a film, I didn't find it particularly entertaining. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Jan 28, 2018
Do we really need more movies about the US Military? Even with the good cast, this film isn't actually telling you something more engaging or thrilling. I mean the poor depth of this one kills it, you can actually go and watch it but you'llDo we really need more movies about the US Military? Even with the good cast, this film isn't actually telling you something more engaging or thrilling. I mean the poor depth of this one kills it, you can actually go and watch it but you'll forget about it in a couple of hours. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
6
bpletch05Jan 29, 2018
If you want to watch a good, action-filled war movie, 12 Strong is definitely worth your time. It's not anything that is going to make you think, or win any Oscars but the action/gunfighting was thrilling, and it is a great story of 12If you want to watch a good, action-filled war movie, 12 Strong is definitely worth your time. It's not anything that is going to make you think, or win any Oscars but the action/gunfighting was thrilling, and it is a great story of 12 Americans who overcame some pretty tough situations to help us respond to 9/11. I don't know enough about the actual story to say if this movie stayed true to the real life events but some of it definitely seemed a little unrealistic. Overall i enjoyed myself watching it though. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
NerdHausMay 28, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie would be great if, it was released in the 1980's....... I couldn't believe what was happening when at the end of the film the Afghani warlord looks at super trooper Chris Hemsworth from across the battlefield places his hand on his heart to show Chris he now fights with his heart only to be replicated by Chris. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
section20mi6May 15, 2018
Not too bad an action piece for a first time feature film director, 12 Strong largely portrays historical events in a dramatic and unrealistic fashion with boring dialogue and adequate action scenes.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
DblBblMerrillJan 29, 2018
Although I enjoyed the story, I did not care for this film. Other than Michael Shannon, the casting was terrible. Hemsworth was a terrible choice, he just didn't portray a soldier to me. Pena was worse, he certainly doesn't have the bodyAlthough I enjoyed the story, I did not care for this film. Other than Michael Shannon, the casting was terrible. Hemsworth was a terrible choice, he just didn't portray a soldier to me. Pena was worse, he certainly doesn't have the body for an elite soldier and his lines were horrendous. I did like the battle scenes with the horses, but this movie falls way short on my war movie list. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
GrantD243Apr 25, 2018
12 Strong was a January release directed by Nicolai Fuglsig and written by Peter Craig (The Town) and Ted Tally (The Silence of the Lambs). It follows Captain Mitch Nelson (Chris Hemsworth) and his team as they embark on an operation to12 Strong was a January release directed by Nicolai Fuglsig and written by Peter Craig (The Town) and Ted Tally (The Silence of the Lambs). It follows Captain Mitch Nelson (Chris Hemsworth) and his team as they embark on an operation to respond to the 9/11 attacks by taking down Taliban strongholds. 12 Strong is a mediocre film. The action is entertaining and intense, but it is largely contained in the second half of the film which is by far the stronger half. The first half moves a bit too slow and it's pretty obvious that at least 10 minutes of this film could have been cut and the first half would have felt less...bad? I guess. The entire first half is an attempt to make you care about the American soldiers, but it never succeeds and this is probably the film's biggest problem. The characters never fully develop, and I never felt super invested in any of the team's members. The stakes also never felt very high, but I will admit that accomplishing that in a film based on a true story is never easy. Like I said before, the action is the best part of this film, but it still doesn't completely save this film as a lot of the combat is too unrealistic. American special forces are good, absolutely, but they don't kill enemies with every shot they take. Chris Hemsworth's character could probably start shooting while laying on his back with his eyes closed and he'd still hit every enemy he aimed at. And while that's cool and badass, it is unrealistic to a level where it took me out of the film at times. So, yeah, the action is entertaining, but it isn't as good as some other films in this genre (like 13 Hours). I was also somewhat disappointed with the script considering who wrote it. It's not terrible, but with two accomplished writers behind it I definitely expected more. Overall, I think this is a film that may be worth seeing as a matinee if you are bored or just want to see a military movie, but otherwise I'd wait until it hits one of the streaming services. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
TyranianSep 24, 2019
Visually extremely impressive but full of cliches and stilted acting. Overlong also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoAug 31, 2018
"12 Strong" was a good movie with a real inspiring story and never told, the characters were good although their interpretations left a lot to be desired, in addition photography is very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
umaumaiJun 11, 2020
This is a strange one. While the movie is action packed it managed to come off as one of the most generic war/combat movies of 2018 and possibly the entire 2010s. That's not a hight I think they were setting their sights on as it is based onThis is a strange one. While the movie is action packed it managed to come off as one of the most generic war/combat movies of 2018 and possibly the entire 2010s. That's not a hight I think they were setting their sights on as it is based on the actual clandestine events that started the United State's fight in Afghanistan right after the attack on the towers in New York. As action packed as it is a lot of the time you can't make heads or tails of what is happening in some of the battle sequences. Not too sure who is shooting at who, but Americans are in the mix. You could argue that only adds to the "realism" of what it's like to be in war, but here it just ends up messy and leaves the film makers looking a bit amateurish. There are real world counter parts to the characters in the film and I'm just not sure that the movie serves them as well as they did their country, but it's great that they declassified this mission so that we have a visual of what was at stake nearly 20 years ago. I did enjoy it for the most part as there are several comedic actors who's performances were great here. I recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AnUserJan 16, 2020
Needed more to be become real , and also the languages were not clear . But good job , i'm not anyones fan but movie is as enough as director could direct.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews