Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: August 5, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 101 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
8
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
GalenMar 9, 2011
I personally find this film to be tedious and boring. I see so many people praising this film due to how spectacular it looks and feels. I agree that the filming technique and acting is wonderful but the whole thing just falls flat. It isI personally find this film to be tedious and boring. I see so many people praising this film due to how spectacular it looks and feels. I agree that the filming technique and acting is wonderful but the whole thing just falls flat. It is painfully long which just ruins it. This is a movie that might have been interesting if the pacing weren't so horrible and the story was more interesting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
carlaymoutOct 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the WORST, TERRIBLE AND DONE NOTHING MOVIE! I just saw the actor talking and talking and done nothing. If I were the director, i'll rewrite and recolor 'em. This movie talk nonsense and nothing just nothing blank. Just like a rotten egg without yolk, the other foreign people wouldn't understand what're they talking about, But I knew Chinese, i know this movie talking about nothing. if i were the critic, i Gave 'em an 'F' negative 100. Go to Hell.......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
MalcolmM.Oct 27, 2005
U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U will wish to see it end sooner than u thought u could. U will be unable to U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U will wish to see it end sooner than u thought u could. U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U will wish to see it end sooner than u thought u could. This is no typo error. And now, when i snap my fingers, u will awake! (snap) And now, u realise u have wasted 2 hours of your time. Yes, time did stop for awhile there.. And now it was a forgotten memory, lost. Now snap out of it, you fool! And get on with your life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HermanKFeb 9, 2008
Self-indulgent nonsense packaged as an abstract art; sprinkled with famous old film stars. It is indeed a hypnotism like Malcolm said. Indeed, my friend and I nearly fell asleep. Hint: The director said to the cast that whoever can drag out Self-indulgent nonsense packaged as an abstract art; sprinkled with famous old film stars. It is indeed a hypnotism like Malcolm said. Indeed, my friend and I nearly fell asleep. Hint: The director said to the cast that whoever can drag out their scene most will be paid well. It was based per second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KennethG.Sep 11, 2005
This movie is certainly quite beautiful to look at. It has style and mood, and intrigue. And there are a few truly compelling moments. But I found it almost intolerable to watch. It goes on and on and on, plus it goes in complete circles. This movie is certainly quite beautiful to look at. It has style and mood, and intrigue. And there are a few truly compelling moments. But I found it almost intolerable to watch. It goes on and on and on, plus it goes in complete circles. The characters are unlikable, and after an hour and a half of this, I'm squirming in my seat, wishing the writer had had a better relationship with his delete key. Alas, it meanders on for another 50 minutes. I felt like *I* was caught in "2046," unable to leave. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
thewisekingFeb 6, 2006
painfully tedious. this not very stylish (the sets are cliched blade runneresque dated versions of 80s futurism) faux noir soporific mess should be avoided.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Mar 31, 2008
I could not finish this movie. Watched about 30 minutes of it. Many scenes had nothing happening, besides a slow pan of the room, no movement, no dialogue, just music. Little happened plotwise. This movie tries very hard to be artistic, and I could not finish this movie. Watched about 30 minutes of it. Many scenes had nothing happening, besides a slow pan of the room, no movement, no dialogue, just music. Little happened plotwise. This movie tries very hard to be artistic, and comes across very artificial and empty. Like watching an unoriginal poem, being read as slowly as possible. I was almost too tranquilized by it to push stop on the remote. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
alexc.Nov 24, 2005
I hated this movie... way too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful