A24 | Release Date: September 30, 2016
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 105 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
73
Mixed:
23
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
jrodfilmsOct 19, 2016
It doesn't quite rank up there with Kids or Dazed and Confused, but it shares a similar tone between those two. Although sometimes it sucks because the characters are so dumb and the plot somewhat unbelievable, but just enough to keep theIt doesn't quite rank up there with Kids or Dazed and Confused, but it shares a similar tone between those two. Although sometimes it sucks because the characters are so dumb and the plot somewhat unbelievable, but just enough to keep the story going from place to place. I thought the movie went fast for being 2.5 hours long. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryOct 20, 2016
You may have had young people come to your door selling magazines. This film follows a group of them as they travel around the country in a van, listening to hip hop, shooting the **** drinking and smoking. Their free-spirit attitude isYou may have had young people come to your door selling magazines. This film follows a group of them as they travel around the country in a van, listening to hip hop, shooting the **** drinking and smoking. Their free-spirit attitude is captured with compelling charisma by this group of mostly "street cast" youth. Sasha Lane (also a non-actor) plays a young woman who runs away from her extremely dysfunctional family to join them. Her journey is not much about the magazines; more about her own stubborn, spunky attitude and the relationship she establishes with the lead seller (Shai LeBeouf). While this film rambles (2.5 hours), there's an undeniably captivating allure to the cast and a winningly free-spirited approach in the filmmaking Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Benkoko11Feb 23, 2017
Driven by the fierce Sasha Lane, dazzling American Honey functions as a meditiation on the freedoms, anxieties, and spontaneous self-actualizations of youth as well as a sprawling tour of the middle American condition.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsOct 13, 2016
This might be the most profound movie I have seen all year. Andrea Arnold perfectly captures the mythology of The American Dream in this layered, multi-faceted, hypnotic, fluid, dreamlike masterpiece. The cinematography and color palette forThis might be the most profound movie I have seen all year. Andrea Arnold perfectly captures the mythology of The American Dream in this layered, multi-faceted, hypnotic, fluid, dreamlike masterpiece. The cinematography and color palette for the film are top notch. Sasha Lane and Shia LaBeouf's performances are out of this world. This movie is at the same time a sprawling epic and a low energy road trip movie. I've honestly seen nothing like it. The closest thing I can compare this to is "The Deer Hunter" but American Honey is something else entirely. In a word, it is transcendent. I had read that at this year's Cannes Festival, when American Honey did not win, the crowd stood up and booed. I can see why. Oscar contender for sure. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
JuttybombOct 1, 2016
Andrea Arnold found truthful and beautiful characters in real people, and allowed us to share in an actual road trip of moments in their life. The aspect ratio of the film gives a personalized experience. The soundtrack inspired me toAndrea Arnold found truthful and beautiful characters in real people, and allowed us to share in an actual road trip of moments in their life. The aspect ratio of the film gives a personalized experience. The soundtrack inspired me to literally dance in the theatre throughout the movie. Sasha and Shia show some real chemistry, and when Mazzy Star drops while their in the car, it literally gave my entire body chills. This movie made me feel something while watching it, and the feeling has stayed with me for hours. To me the experience of watching this film is comparable to the moment when you are dancing, and you completely let yourself go, and allow yourself to get lost in the moment. It's a moment when nothing else matters. A car ride with the friends you love, while singing a song that resonates with everyone in the car. Go see this film, you won't be disappointed. Hats off to the director, cast and crew. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
JalemanyFeb 22, 2018
Loved this modern road trip around the also real US. Its excesses might be virtues and the source of its uniqueness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 4, 2017
A hypnotic tone poem that explores the lost children of capitalism, seeking to make ends meet by any means necessary, American Honey is a Southern-set film that soaks up the essence of Antebellum life as well as the brutal poverty andA hypnotic tone poem that explores the lost children of capitalism, seeking to make ends meet by any means necessary, American Honey is a Southern-set film that soaks up the essence of Antebellum life as well as the brutal poverty and isolation that goes hand-in-hand with life for many in the South and America. Telling the story of a group of lost souls that party, drink, smoke, and **** as they try and sell magazines throughout the midwest, American Honey brings kids together from all over the South and shows the division that exists in America between the rich and the poor. Wrapping you around its finger via its excellent soundtrack, unique camera work, and its essence as a film, American Honey is a harsh and truly exhausting film to watch for nearly three hours, but is an excellent slice of Americana and the underbelly of the nation from Brit Andrea Arnold.

The real highlight of this film is undoubtedly its music. Pulling from a wide range of inspirations from country to Bruce Springsteen to metal and especially to hip-hop, American Honey is a celebration of every corner of America. Though most of the characters hail from the south or midwest - Texas, South Dakota, Maryland, Florida, etc. - there are some from other states such as New Jersey and California. With its characters and music genres pulling from across the continental United States and reflecting popular music from various races and income levels, the film may largely focus on poverty and whites, but strives to encapsulate the American experience and influence that has on everyone who lives in the country. With gorgeous shots of the sun setting on the horizon or lens flares where the sun seems to blot out the whole image, Arnold captures the beauty of America wherever she goes. Beautifully maintained upper class homes, rugged oil fields, and open desert, are all given their due and show just how diverse the country in appearance, but one thing remains constant: how beautiful the land is no matter where you go. Through her camera finding this beauty and the diverse soundtrack, Arnold always sets the mood just right to be able to soak in this beauty and celebrate the nation's diversity wherever the group of kids travels.

In exploring this diversity though, the film really explores the divide between poor and rich that exists in America and also shows where they are the same. From pampered villages in rich sections of Kansas City to the poor backwoods of Rapid City, the film never shies away from showing the divide. For the former, the worst thing that happens is a daughter and her friends dancing provocatively to rap music in the backyard. For the latter, the mother is too drugged to even notice what her kids are doing. This divide between poor and rich is also shown by the traveling band of magazine sellers who freak out at the big buildings in Kansas City. For them, they have never seen anything like this with little-to-no big cities in the towns where they live. Yet, what is always common is how everybody is out for themselves and pitying those beneath them. People with Christian bumper stickers blow them off, oil workers pay for sex from the girls, and rich Texans try to exploit innocent girls by getting them liquored up. Nobody has their hands clean and that is, unfortunately, what really brings everybody together: selfishness. This selfishness is often derived out of pity where some people either respond to the feeling by offering a helping hand and buying the magazines. Or, they seek to just exploit the people and take advantage of their position as "superior". Yet, it is in the former that the film really finds its kind central heart. With characters such as lead Star (Sasha Lane), buying food for an impoverished family or taking care of kids that are not her's, the film shows what is possible when somebody feels not just pity, but empathy and offers a helping hand to those who are worse off than themselves.

Using unique camera work to capture everything, Arnold's occasionally hand-held camera in the van is really the highlight of this film. With music playing loudly in the back and constant extreme close-ups jumping from character-to-character, the film often feels like a home video. Casual, unfocused, and meandering, in this tone, American Honey seems to just be capturing events partaken in by real people at an actual point in time in American history. It is this unstructured approach that really makes the film feel its length and be mentally exhausting with very few plot threads that exist in this film to really weave it all together. The only thing left is the thematic considerations and beautiful camera work and, as a result, the film is one that really relies upon its tone to capture the imagination of the audience and provide the audience with the mental stimulation they require. In this endeavor, its hypnotic approach to filmmaking is mostly successful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeJan 14, 2017
To redefine the life and to discover the love.

From the British director of 'Fish Tank' fame, this is another a young struggling girl's story. Being brought up in a low income and abusive family, and because of that trying to redefine the
To redefine the life and to discover the love.

From the British director of 'Fish Tank' fame, this is another a young struggling girl's story. Being brought up in a low income and abusive family, and because of that trying to redefine the life. Not about heading the wrong way like drugs and other related stuffs. So this is the story of an older teen girl named Star who flees the home to find her new life and love. It all begins when she meets a youngster in a supermarket and since then she followed him everywhere. Actually the film focused to tell a gang of youth who are door to door magazine subscription dealers. They travel all over the country and have all kinds of enjoyment.

In order to stay in the group, Star has to prove her worth. She reserves her spot, but working on her own way. I always feared the narration might go to take a nasty twist. There came a couple scenes near to that, but compromised not to change the mood of the storytelling. Because it seems the writer was interested to reveal a girl try to achieve two goals. After coming to know one of it was staged, how she contemplates the other one crafted carefully. Not to forget, her fate, the future depends on it, since she's not well qualified to go out in the world to do whatever she wants.

So I think it was a decent film with a decent message. If you know the director, you would know what her films talk about. Unlike 'Fish Tank', this is about an American girl. The influence of lifestyle, culture, almost everything related to youngsters covered. The lead actress was good. It was not Shia Labeouf's film, but in a supporting role, he did his best. There are a few others I knew, but they did not get big part. The only issue with it was the length. If you are okay with it, especially for a slow drama, then the film is enjoyable. 'American Honey' is like 'American Money', one of the ways people try to make their 'American Dream' come to true. This film is exclusively for drama genre fans.

7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
zedzdedDec 25, 2019
this was an incredible movie. this movie is really not my type of movie (i love sci-fi mostly) but the acting, the direction, the camerawork, the editing the colours and the overall emotion were really impressive. oh and the soundtrack wasthis was an incredible movie. this movie is really not my type of movie (i love sci-fi mostly) but the acting, the direction, the camerawork, the editing the colours and the overall emotion were really impressive. oh and the soundtrack was a great fit too. highly recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Oct 14, 2016
An often times beautiful and ambitious film! This is definitely a thorough and detailed look at teenagers in search of the American dream. And what better way to chase that dream than to travel across the American Midwest, which is exactlyAn often times beautiful and ambitious film! This is definitely a thorough and detailed look at teenagers in search of the American dream. And what better way to chase that dream than to travel across the American Midwest, which is exactly what's done in this film! Everything comes together quite well for the most part. In terms of acting, newcomer Sasha Lane gives quite a memorable and honest performance. And though I normally can't stand Shia LaBeouf, he actually surprised me with one of his better performances in recent memory in this film. Another one of the main things I loved about this film were some of the shots of the cities and roads throughout as the characters are travelling. Like I said before, the film was often times all too beautiful and the biggest standout in terms of this was the cinematography and many memorable shots of places that the characters visit and pass by throughout the film. It honestly on several occasions made me want to travel and explore America the same way these characters did in the film! Overall, while it does only have a couple things going against it (such as its near three-hour runtime that I gradually began to feel and notice more and more as the film progressed as well as its open-ended conclusion that I found to be a bit rushed,) this was still a truly ambitious marvel of a film that managed to keep me along for the ride for the vast majority of it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Oct 27, 2017
"You know what Darth Vader looks like beneath that mask? He's a skeleton. Just like the rest of us".

'American Honey' is a beautiful made film that takes the audience on an non-stop road trip. Despite the runtime which I had an issue with
"You know what Darth Vader looks like beneath that mask? He's a skeleton. Just like the rest of us".

'American Honey' is a beautiful made film that takes the audience on an non-stop road trip. Despite the runtime which I had an issue with some scenes, but didn't ruin the overall experience. The soundtrack itself was a show stealer.

Andrea Arnold, a foreigner, enters the American dream and the modern youth. With this movie however, I think it's gonna be hard for her to top this one. The sense of freedom and naturalism, making it almost documentary-like. Andrea is another director I'm keeping my eye on for her next project.

Shia LaBeouf delivers one of his best performance I've seen from him; Transformers? Never heard of it. An impressive film debut from Sasha Lane, which surprised me this is her first movie. She's going places, I can tell you that.

Looking back at 2016, you start to see a lot of great original cinema you may overlooked at the time. This is one of them.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
carlossolracNov 14, 2018
I spent a summer going D2D selling coupons. That was in 1999 and in southern New Hampshire but somehow felt so close to the scenes of them walking through the 'burbs of KC. Andrea Arnold is the best. My favorite writer and director. See RedI spent a summer going D2D selling coupons. That was in 1999 and in southern New Hampshire but somehow felt so close to the scenes of them walking through the 'burbs of KC. Andrea Arnold is the best. My favorite writer and director. See Red Room and Fish Tank. Her soundtracks are the craic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MahmusSep 25, 2020
A masterfully made movie with great performances and great pacing, especially for such a long film.

Sasha Lane and Shia LaBeouf are amazing. It got a bit repetitive after a while, but never to the point where I wasn't completely interested
A masterfully made movie with great performances and great pacing, especially for such a long film.

Sasha Lane and Shia LaBeouf are amazing.

It got a bit repetitive after a while, but never to the point where I wasn't completely interested in what was happening.

This was really damn good
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zech147Aug 7, 2020
Wow! This movie is way more entertaining than you would expect from a low energy road film, but between the cinematography, acting, and plot it blew me away. The realness of the acting allowed me to vicariously join the cast on an epic roadWow! This movie is way more entertaining than you would expect from a low energy road film, but between the cinematography, acting, and plot it blew me away. The realness of the acting allowed me to vicariously join the cast on an epic road trip that was both over the top and completely realistic! On top of that, a great soundtrack pulls you in and leaves you hoping it will never end. When it does draw to a close you will have bonded with the characters and may find yourself wishing them well, until you remember it was only a film. I don't know why this movie wasn't more widely acclaimed, but I do recommend it to anyone who will listen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews