Summit Entertainment | Release Date: June 21, 2019
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 148 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
101
Mixed:
30
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
LamontRaymondJun 27, 2019
The critics entirely missed the boat on this movie. It's fun, it's thrilling, it's sexy, and it's never (for a second) boring. Of course, there are moments when you think, "what the hell??", but it's in a fun way. It seems like the criticsThe critics entirely missed the boat on this movie. It's fun, it's thrilling, it's sexy, and it's never (for a second) boring. Of course, there are moments when you think, "what the hell??", but it's in a fun way. It seems like the critics - especially the guy from the LA Times - are loving this movie, but they're panning it because the director has been caught up in #MeToo issues. Those may be legitimately problematic issues, but they shouldn't affect how you think about the film which involved myriad actors, crew members, etc - none of whom had to do with alleged actions by the director. The critics should see the movie and judge it by the "four corners" of the work. If not, we'll have to back and re-score all of those Hitchcock films, etc, etc. Bottom line - this is a fun film - one of the most entertaining flicks of the summer. And if this is the most underrated film this season, Rocketman is the most overrated - probably for the same reason. Everyone (including me) loves Elton John, but that treatment is just flat out boring. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
EludiumQ36Oct 26, 2019
"High fashion model cum Russian assassin"
As others seem to note here, director Luc Besson has a following and much of his work is really good and interesting: La Femme Nikita, The Fifth Element, and Lucy . He wrote/directed this La Femme
"High fashion model cum Russian assassin"
As others seem to note here, director Luc Besson has a following and much of his work is really good and interesting: La Femme Nikita, The Fifth Element, and Lucy . He wrote/directed this La Femme Nikia-esque action/fantasy tale of a Russian assassin under cover as a high fashion model. Yes, when she single handedly clears a room of armed bodyguards it stretches credulity but the scene is filmed so well and stylishly you can't help but enjoy it. "Anna" is full of twists and turns, too, with his using the let's-go-back-and-examine-how-we-got-here technique several times - yes, that can be confusing and may cause the need to re-watch it which isn't a bad thing. (originally posted IMDB 10/16/19)
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
Rondk27Jul 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mission: Impossible and Jason Bourne found a perfect match and shes a woman her name is Anna! an elite KGB assassin, fast , strong , violent and powerful she gets exactly what she wanted playing both sides CIA and KGB to Free her self from both Agency. Sasha Luss as Anna gives a pretty amazing performance considering this to be her first big movie we may be interested seeing more from her in future. Other leads that follow her like Mr. Evans, Mr. Murphy and Mrs. Mirren are pretty good touch to movie and expose their talents on screen that we may not seen yet. Overall great movie! unexpected twist! great story, great ending thumbs up for me. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
BradMorganSep 15, 2019
Anna contained good (but unrealistic) action and nice camera work. The way of telling, however, caused much confusion as it is not told chronologically. This way of telling did not come into its own until the second part of the film butAnna contained good (but unrealistic) action and nice camera work. The way of telling, however, caused much confusion as it is not told chronologically. This way of telling did not come into its own until the second part of the film but brought enough surprises. Every now and then there were unnecessary scenes that slowed down the plot, but after all came together to a good conclusion. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
Voodoo123Oct 18, 2019
+Great cast deliver memorable performances
+Decent stylised action choreography
+Refreshing to watch the espionage sequences actually play out unlike others in the genre! -Lacklustre plot -Pacing issues -Unoriginal concept I expected not to
+Great cast deliver memorable performances
+Decent stylised action choreography
+Refreshing to watch the espionage sequences actually play out unlike others in the genre!
-Lacklustre plot
-Pacing issues
-Unoriginal concept

I expected not to enjoy watching this especially within such an over saturated genre. Anna is a well made film with memorable sequences in particular assassinations we are often shown the stages of preparation and execution for anna's targets... Great stuff! The story is the weakest element here with little reason up on the screen for the audience to share Anna's motivations. At times the film seems unsure whether to take itself seriously often bordering on becoming a full blown comic book style action film rather than the thriller it also tries to be. As a result the pacing feels all over the place so its rather a bumpy ride which makes the movie seem longer than it actually is. However if you are a fan of this genre you will definitely find something to enjoy here!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
bfoore90Mar 15, 2020
A pure clunker from Luc Besson. It felt like it tried to be another female John Wick similar to that of Atomic Blonde but is ultimately a disposable and forgettable film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JamesIrish68Sep 29, 2019
Luc Besson gave us Nikita in 1990. In 2019 he gives us Anna. Just as good, if not better, than its predecessor, we go through a tornado of outlandishness from start to finish. It’s enjoyable as hell. A John Wick level of craziness thatLuc Besson gave us Nikita in 1990. In 2019 he gives us Anna. Just as good, if not better, than its predecessor, we go through a tornado of outlandishness from start to finish. It’s enjoyable as hell. A John Wick level of craziness that doesn't let up. The flashbacks are a bit much but who cares... For what it is, it's well-acted, the production values are top class with superb locations and sets. The cherry on the top is Anna, a supermodel so beautiful, words of description are just insufficient. Massively entertaining. I'm giving an OTT 10.
.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
moviecritic68Jun 26, 2019
This year has gotten off to a slow start trying to find a legitimate blockbuster. This film starts out extremely slow but picks up pace towards the end. Some nice plot twists but too many unnecessary sex scenes & some unrealistic fightThis year has gotten off to a slow start trying to find a legitimate blockbuster. This film starts out extremely slow but picks up pace towards the end. Some nice plot twists but too many unnecessary sex scenes & some unrealistic fight scenes. For this reason I chose to stay out of the green rating zone. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
arostislavnaOct 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very bland, uninspired film Containing a scene that is very blatantly ripped, and modified slightly from La Femme Nikita.

The "lesbian" angle was not needed either, it does not do anything but to trope "lesbians" into just sleeping around. Anna got no intel from her girlfriend, nor did she even want to be in that relationship.

Overall, Anna does everything La Femme Nikita did, and did it poorly.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DubeauSep 21, 2019
Anna wasn't that bad. Yes, it seems like a recycled story of Atomic Blonde and Red Sparrow, but it is way more interesting. The way it is structured with small flashbacks, is very clever and engaging. That said the action is not exactly theAnna wasn't that bad. Yes, it seems like a recycled story of Atomic Blonde and Red Sparrow, but it is way more interesting. The way it is structured with small flashbacks, is very clever and engaging. That said the action is not exactly the high feature of that film. Unequal at most. The acting is pretty decent. I give it a 72%. It's technically well done with good actors, but somewhat derivative of too recent movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Jul 27, 2019
Severely outdated like Luc Besson.
Wanna a entertaining KGB action thriller? Watch Angelina Jolie's ''Salt''
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Mauro_LanariFeb 6, 2021
(Mauro Lanari)
Besson copes with the financial crisis of his production company by making a popular and louded action movie, with which he returns to the fundamentals of his cinema, his female archetype and a more carefree era for him. But
(Mauro Lanari)
Besson copes with the financial crisis of his production company by making a popular and louded action movie, with which he returns to the fundamentals of his cinema, his female archetype and a more carefree era for him. But time passes, fans of this genre have seen it all done before and better, and Luc is no longer funny, directing probably his worst film even if he tries to update the clichés with female friendship, the matryoshka identity of his new heroin not credible even for a moment and embarrassing technological anachronisms. Forgettable at most except for the adrenaline that spurts thanks to the two timeless hits of Technotronic and INXS.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jun 24, 2019
Walked into this not knowing much. The trailers and commercials were rather vague, and there wasn't much buzz what with Child's Play and Toy Story 4 taking all the attention. I was pleasantly surprised at what turned out to be a fairly goodWalked into this not knowing much. The trailers and commercials were rather vague, and there wasn't much buzz what with Child's Play and Toy Story 4 taking all the attention. I was pleasantly surprised at what turned out to be a fairly good action spy flick.

The movie is more of a stylish version of Atomic Blonde. There are some detailed, well-choreographed fight scenes. The whole thing looks cool as it crosses both the world of espionage and the lead's cover as a fashion model. The plot isn't boring as there are a lot of twists and turn. Cast is strong, especially Helen Mirren as a gruff FBI agent.

This is directed by Luc Besson. As is often the case in his movies (5th Element, Lucy, Valerian), he tends to keep his characters at an arm's length from the audience and focus on their actions. (At least from an American perspective. He's French and my opinion could just be a cultural difference). Though I was interested in the main character Anna's goals and you understand where she's coming from, I couldn't get completely behind her as her backstory and personality did feel a little underdeveloped, plus she isn't the most sympathetic character.

Though I did say I liked the twists and turns, the sheer numbers does get to be a bit much, It borders on the comical.

There are similarities between this and the basic plot synopsis of the director's earlier film La Femme Nikita. I haven't seen Nikita, so I can't tell you if Besson is just recycling material. I do think this is supposed to be flashier than Nikita.

I think the weaknesses I mentioned could turn some people off, but I think this movie still has a lot going for it and worth taking a chance.
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
FelicityFenwickJun 27, 2019
This movie is a total hoot! the lead actress is fantastic, and the three co-stars (her KGB handler, the CIA dude, and Hellen Mirren) are all fantastic. Everyone in my theater had a great time with this movie.
14 of 18 users found this helpful144
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryJun 24, 2019
Luc Besson made a strong first impression as an action director with La Femme Nikita and he's been casting women (and men) in slick flix like this ever since. This time, former model Sasha Luss plays a Russian who's recruited by the KGB toLuc Besson made a strong first impression as an action director with La Femme Nikita and he's been casting women (and men) in slick flix like this ever since. This time, former model Sasha Luss plays a Russian who's recruited by the KGB to carry out ruthless murders (while posing as a model in Paris). As expected, there are flashy car chases, intense hand/gun fights (sometimes straining reality) and a high body count (ditto on credulity). The narrative jumps back and forth in time to create a Russian doll plot of intrigue and espionage. The movie's slick and the performances are fine (esp. Helen Mirren as her steely boss). Besson breaks no new ground, but it's still an entertaining and attractive addition to his filmography. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
ryu9376Oct 5, 2019
You could see that this was a Luc Besson film... action, suspense, intrigue & action, action, action. Double agent, triple agent, seeing the scenes & then backtracking seeing how everything unfolded to the create the events, I have to sayYou could see that this was a Luc Besson film... action, suspense, intrigue & action, action, action. Double agent, triple agent, seeing the scenes & then backtracking seeing how everything unfolded to the create the events, I have to say that I sincerely enjoyed this film. You can tell this was conceived by the same man who was behind La Femme Nikita. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
GinaKJun 25, 2019
Luc Besson often makes very smart films that are fun to watch and full of interesting twists (for example, Lucy and The Family), and definitely Anna is one of these. As he often does, Besson assembles a superb cast (this one includes HelenLuc Besson often makes very smart films that are fun to watch and full of interesting twists (for example, Lucy and The Family), and definitely Anna is one of these. As he often does, Besson assembles a superb cast (this one includes Helen Mirren and Cillian Murphy among others) and the actors throw themselves into the action with an enjoyable abandon (sometimes it is fun to “chew the scenery” a bit). The action sequences are very well done and Sasha Luss as Anna commands attention effortlessly as the plot twists and turns and keeps you guessing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Lonewolf63Jul 29, 2019
I went into this movie not knowing anything more than it was a spy thriller. I totally enjoyed this movie. The action is a little unrealistic, but the movie was well done and well acted. I look forward to seeing more of the lead actressI went into this movie not knowing anything more than it was a spy thriller. I totally enjoyed this movie. The action is a little unrealistic, but the movie was well done and well acted. I look forward to seeing more of the lead actress Sasha Luss. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
CameSep 30, 2019
A descent spy film with some cool action scenes and good performance by the leading actress.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
DennisFerreiraJun 29, 2019
This movie is well done! Sasha Luss and Helen Mirren give strong performances. Beyond an action femme fatale flop, this film delivers a storyline and layers upon delicious layers until the final scene. Don't be fooled by the nerdy alpha maleThis movie is well done! Sasha Luss and Helen Mirren give strong performances. Beyond an action femme fatale flop, this film delivers a storyline and layers upon delicious layers until the final scene. Don't be fooled by the nerdy alpha male reviews or bitter geeks who'd get shut down by the ”Anna’s” of the world. This movie is a worthy ”MUST SEE!”. Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
1
katezoeOct 2, 2019
Waste of time boring movie. The acting was terrible. The action sequences were utterly ridiculous.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
5
BioTofuSep 12, 2019
Quite French! Without realizing who directed the movie, I was able to tell that it is a European made movie when the CIA had a bigger role in the story. Then half way through I was pretty sure that it was directed by a French director. A bitQuite French! Without realizing who directed the movie, I was able to tell that it is a European made movie when the CIA had a bigger role in the story. Then half way through I was pretty sure that it was directed by a French director. A bit too self indulging and predictable, but entertaining enough to keep me interested throughout the movie. The action was pretty nice John Wick style. I especially enjoyed the restaurant brawl. My main complaint would be the tone... It created such a strange flow of hiccups along with some strange selection of music. The acting was so so at best. Expand
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
3
MrMovieBuffOct 5, 2019
French filmmaker Luc Besson ('Leon' and 'The Fifth Element') once had it all, from making good films, to being the name to look out for in a director. Which is why it's all the more disappointing to see that he fails to deliver anotherFrench filmmaker Luc Besson ('Leon' and 'The Fifth Element') once had it all, from making good films, to being the name to look out for in a director. Which is why it's all the more disappointing to see that he fails to deliver another exciting thriller, and just gives us a disposable and forgettable one in 'Anna', a thriller which continues to use the gimmick of narrative tricks to try and connect a few puzzle pieces to surprise the audience, but I found myself frustrated and tired. Our main title character is played by Sasha Luss, who may have a future in acting in more big-budget films, but here, she is resorted to implausible cliches. She is sent on a variety of missions, and takes order from a stern and firm woman named Olga (Helen Mirren). Anna is always reluctant to take on these missions, but she is always told that she has no choice. Luke Evans and Cillian Murphy are also wasted here as just the two hard-male stereotypes who are both in some way connected to Anna's missions. Time and time again, the movie pulls the rug to try and surprise us, there was once a time where this type of non-linear narrative tricks was put to good use. Here, as I said, it's frustrating and tiring, I found myself caring less and less as the runtime went on. This movie uses so many outdated formulas and cliches, it's a wonder why a studio would green-light this for a 2019 release... overall, I think some audiences who have never seen films (better films) like this before will probably be surprised by what they see, but if you've seen the better films like this before, then you will be both underwhelmed and disappointed, or you might just forget you ever saw this film to begin with. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
TheFrogFeb 25, 2021
Super woman kills hundreds of men (sorry, "male things") in the name of feminism and grrl power. No man can oppose her, the only worthy ally/adversary is of course another woman.
Essentially the idiotic action of "John Wick" - except that
Super woman kills hundreds of men (sorry, "male things") in the name of feminism and grrl power. No man can oppose her, the only worthy ally/adversary is of course another woman.
Essentially the idiotic action of "John Wick" - except that John Wick at least didn't boast a political message, he didn't kill scores of women to prove that men are better.
Expand
0 of 12 users found this helpful012
All this user's reviews
7
bataguilaOct 21, 2019
Muy entretenida, típica peli de mujer espía, todas las mujeres son bellisimas. La historia con sus vueltas de tuerca es la que la hace buena.
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
10
MaxpeinMar 18, 2020
This is one of the best action-movie for me! Most of the plots’ are very unpredictable! And the way Sasha Luss fighting some men, she was so awesome and cool!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JoeCoolSep 29, 2019
The jumping back and forth in time didn't really do the movie much good. There's some really nice ation scenes, though they're more than just a bit unrealistic. There are quite a few scenes that add little to the story except just slow itThe jumping back and forth in time didn't really do the movie much good. There's some really nice ation scenes, though they're more than just a bit unrealistic. There are quite a few scenes that add little to the story except just slow it down. The acting isn't too bad. All in all a reasonably entertaining movie, just too unbelievable to really be worth remembering. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
zouz123Jun 29, 2019
Too much unnecessary love scenes and modelling scenes, you just don't feel connected to any of the characters, everything happens so fast with no character development. Anna kills but we don't know who's the victim or his background, we don'tToo much unnecessary love scenes and modelling scenes, you just don't feel connected to any of the characters, everything happens so fast with no character development. Anna kills but we don't know who's the victim or his background, we don't know why she kills most of the time. The actions scenes are fun and not bad, but I still wanted the movie to end fast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RalfbergsApr 29, 2020
I found this movie interesting throughout. It had good action, spy stuff and all twists and machinations that go along with it and I never felt bored watching it. I don't what else would you want from such movie. Plus Russian language wasI found this movie interesting throughout. It had good action, spy stuff and all twists and machinations that go along with it and I never felt bored watching it. I don't what else would you want from such movie. Plus Russian language was actually correctly spoken (of course because actors were Russian speaking it, but sometimes they make English actors speak Russian and they butcher it - better this way. Only later when only who meant to be Russians in room where speaking English then it got a bit weird, but that's minor flow to what overall was to me a great movie) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BroyaxNov 10, 2020
Ce pauvre vieux Besson fait de la merde depuis des années… tenez, son dernier (très) bon film remonte à Jeanne d’Arc… en 1999 ! voilà qui ne nous rajeunit pas… Coincé dans les conneries alimentaires qu’elles soient tout simplement très consCe pauvre vieux Besson fait de la merde depuis des années… tenez, son dernier (très) bon film remonte à Jeanne d’Arc… en 1999 ! voilà qui ne nous rajeunit pas… Coincé dans les conneries alimentaires qu’elles soient tout simplement très cons ou à gros budget très bêtes avec strass et paillettes numériques (cf Valérian) Luc Besson a sombré dans le burlesque. Ou le ridicule. Qui ne tue pas mais presque.

Or, avec « Anna », il crée la surprise en allant farfouiller dans les vieux pots et notamment son Nikita, l’un de ses (si rares) chefs-d’oeuvre d’antan…! il se plagie ainsi lui-même dans ce qui ressemble à un gros remake avec cette fois une actrice russe, non un mannequin russe métamorphosée en actrice et en l’occurrence en espionne ballotée entre le KGB et la CIA ! une métamorphose pas forcément concluante, surtout lorsqu’on la compare à Nikita mais tout de même : quelle beauté et quelle allure… un peu maigre cependant mais c’est un mannequin d’origine, on vous dit…!

Mais ce n’est pas tout, car Anna louche fortement du côté d’une certaine « Atomic Blonde »… avec par exemple les nombreux rebondissements qui n’arrêtent pas de rebondir, à croire que tout le scénar a été tartiné sur un terrain de basket…. à l’instar justement d’Atomic Blonde. On y croit donc pas vraiment mais on est happé par l’excellent rythme et on rebondit de concert dans la joie, l’action et la bonne humeur de ces parties d’échecs entre agents doubles au quadruple jeu.

La réalisation est assez stylée et fait preuve d’une efficacité certaine, sauf lors des bastons et/ou fusillades où Anna reste en deçà du fameux Atomic Blonde tout en s’inspirant pas trop mal néanmoins d’un John Wick ! si la grande blonde débutante ici est un peu juste, elle reste néanmoins très bien entourée par le convaincant Luke Evans et l’excellente Helen Mirren. Sans oublier un Cillian Murphy très à l’aise également.

Finalement très divertissant, Anna n’est pas un autre chef-d’oeuvre de Luc Besson mais un retour en grâce : on sait qu’il aime les héroïnes mais ici, il a su lui donner un vrai début de personnalité ; ce n’est qu’un début certes… mais c’est déjà pas mal !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Mitya64Mar 29, 2020
Боевик про русскую кгбшницу модель. Впринципе разок глянуть можно, но не более
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AWESOM-0Mar 6, 2020
Good, entertains movie. I really don’t get the bad reviews, it’s not award winning, but compared to other movies in the genre it kicks ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HihihahahohoOct 21, 2020
A perfect spy movie! Very interesting and well created. Original idea and a brilliant casting
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews