Netflix | Release Date: October 16, 2015
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 230 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
206
Mixed:
15
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
mmweissOct 17, 2015
"Beasts of No Nation" is an unquestionably powerful film, boosted by strong performances and impeccable cinematography. It is a very violent film, and therefore not for everybody, but it takes the viewer on a journey so compelling that it is"Beasts of No Nation" is an unquestionably powerful film, boosted by strong performances and impeccable cinematography. It is a very violent film, and therefore not for everybody, but it takes the viewer on a journey so compelling that it is not likely to be forgotten very soon. Not only is it Cary Joji Fukunaga's best work to date, it's also one of the best films of 2015. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
phildogOct 24, 2015
This is not a fun movie to watch. It is raw and real in a way many people film makers try and realize but never do. The result is a movie that depicts war in the kind of horrific realism on that can only be compared to movies like Full MetalThis is not a fun movie to watch. It is raw and real in a way many people film makers try and realize but never do. The result is a movie that depicts war in the kind of horrific realism on that can only be compared to movies like Full Metal Jacket and American History X. It is definitely a film worth seeing but understand that going into this it may not be something you can handle. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleOct 16, 2015
We know the stories of refugees. We hear about their wars. Beasts of No Nation allows us to see it first hand. Director Cary Fukunaga may be one of the best directors around when it comes to showing us absolutely brutal and incrediblyWe know the stories of refugees. We hear about their wars. Beasts of No Nation allows us to see it first hand. Director Cary Fukunaga may be one of the best directors around when it comes to showing us absolutely brutal and incredibly visceral looks at life in war torn regions (Sin Nombre being the other film by him to do this, but in South America). Incredibly powerful, violent, and intense, Beasts of No Nation will undoubtedly go down as one of the best films of 2015. The cinematography is gorgeous, as in all of Fukunaga's work, but the strongest element in the film are the characters. Every character truly elicits an emotional response within you. Their stories, their presence, and their power, all resonate with the viewer. Fukunaga does a great job creating characters we care about in such a mess of destruction and devastation. Through both his direction and writing, we truly get the full impact of their trauma and that makes this one all the more powerful. The acting is also incredible. Abraham Attah turns in one of the best performances from a child actor I have ever seen and Idris Elba is phenomenal. A truly wondrous film, Beasts of No Nation is one of the best films of the year and deserves to be recognized as such. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
NickLikesMoviesOct 16, 2015
Netflix has a great hit with their first original film. As a whole, the film is powerful, with extraordinary performances from the two lead actors, Abraham Attah and Idris Elba, beautiful cinematography, and excellent work fromNetflix has a great hit with their first original film. As a whole, the film is powerful, with extraordinary performances from the two lead actors, Abraham Attah and Idris Elba, beautiful cinematography, and excellent work from writer/director Cary Fukunaga. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonOct 18, 2015
There were moments in Beasts Of No Nation where I had to pause the film to process what I had just seen. There is an unquestionable force released by Cary Fukunaga (True Detective, Sin Nombre) and onto the viewer. The story follows young AguThere were moments in Beasts Of No Nation where I had to pause the film to process what I had just seen. There is an unquestionable force released by Cary Fukunaga (True Detective, Sin Nombre) and onto the viewer. The story follows young Agu (newcomer Abraham Attah) torn away from his family, who were murdered by ruthless soldiers, which forces Agu to flee and join a rebel group that fights against the soldiers who killed Agu's family. First and foremost, Abraham Attah was brilliant, not brilliant as in amazing but as in powwrful, emotional and simply killer. Idris Elba plays the commandant of the group, and boy can that guy act. Elba is smoking hot on screen, and simply watching him can give you goosebumps. No Nation touches many sensitive issues such as child soldiers, children on drugs and tobacco, how families are ripped apart and the stores of those who have been through it all. Agu is forced to kill, use drugs, smoke, swear and be turned into a beast rather than a playful and loving child. Supporting cast is good as well. No Nation isn't a evil movie, it tells us what evil can do to a young, growing child, the commandant isn't a bad person in his own way, he just wants revenge. Anyway, this film also questions you in ways you would have ever thought of. But beware, if you can't handle it don't watch it, some of my friends walked out because of the terror displayed in killings. But overall, brilliant and harrowing piece of work, and truly is on the road to the Oscars. Another reason why you should get Netflix. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ScorpionOct 17, 2015
In a film that hurts both our consciousness, the worst part is when it ends, for then we órfans temporarily genius director and amazing performances from his cast. Reflection is least we can do after two hours of a monstrous and dauntingIn a film that hurts both our consciousness, the worst part is when it ends, for then we órfans temporarily genius director and amazing performances from his cast. Reflection is least we can do after two hours of a monstrous and daunting reality, however Fukunaga also presents us with a definitely sad but beautiful late enough that the hope hint that he is equal to destroy survive and invade our minds and attitudes Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
rockstargod11Oct 17, 2015
Beasts of No Nation is spectacular. A harrowing bravado piece of cinematic mastery. Cary Fukunaga is a genius auteur as proven by Jane Eyre, Sin Nombre and True Detective Season 1. Here he shows war through the eyes of a child. The film isBeasts of No Nation is spectacular. A harrowing bravado piece of cinematic mastery. Cary Fukunaga is a genius auteur as proven by Jane Eyre, Sin Nombre and True Detective Season 1. Here he shows war through the eyes of a child. The film is depressing as hell, the film unrelenting in its depiction of war and violence. Idris Elba is brilliant as The Commandant, the man in control of the child soldiers. The film is a must see. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
cjames25Oct 16, 2015
One of the rawest, realest films I have ever seen.
Abraham Attah stars in what I think is one of the best child performances...ever. With the rough subject matter of child soldiers this movie carries, it manages to leave an emotional mark on
One of the rawest, realest films I have ever seen.
Abraham Attah stars in what I think is one of the best child performances...ever. With the rough subject matter of child soldiers this movie carries, it manages to leave an emotional mark on the viewer without the film being unwatchable. This film is a gripping tale of a child that I want as many people to witness as possible, and that is why I am glad this is on Netflix.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MalicOct 16, 2015
The portrayal of the child soldier Agu has to be one of the best child acting accomplishments of the decade. Attah Abraham is a great actor for his age and gives great narration as well as a wholly convincing tragic monologue about his lossThe portrayal of the child soldier Agu has to be one of the best child acting accomplishments of the decade. Attah Abraham is a great actor for his age and gives great narration as well as a wholly convincing tragic monologue about his loss of innocence. The rest of the cast is spectacular as well. Not to mention the camera is so well directed it sometimes makes you feel like a part of the rebel force. The movie is well done and worthy of attention.

This war drama is portrayed as artistically as the genre will allow for. The controversial subject of child soldiers is not shied away from even though some of the horror is implied off screen. The plight of the boy soldier seems accurately depicted while the actual countries and factions are left purposely vague. It's not a story about politics or right and wrong, it's a story about the cost of war on the people who are caught up in it. You may find yourself enamored by the charismatic commandant, unsure of what you want Agu to do next. That sort of confusion is what the main character is also feeling and the fact that I felt it while watching the story unfold is an accomplishment of the film.

Despite the many dismal scenes, after the movie is over you will want more of the story. This may be due to the ending itself which feels unresolved, but I also attribute this desire for more to the excellent story telling and cinematography of the action. The only problem I have with this movie is that it ended too soon. Great movie!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
j1trainNov 29, 2015
An overwhelming film anchored by an impressive debut from Abraham Attah as Agu. Idris Elba is a force as Commandant. Kudos to Cary Joji Fukunaga for adapting the challenging first-person narrative of the source material into such a beautifulAn overwhelming film anchored by an impressive debut from Abraham Attah as Agu. Idris Elba is a force as Commandant. Kudos to Cary Joji Fukunaga for adapting the challenging first-person narrative of the source material into such a beautiful piece of work. Powerful stuff. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
TheKavehJOct 17, 2015
I was expecting so much from Beasts of No Nation, and I was super disappointed when it ended. Sure, the acting was amazing, and some of the scenes were very action packed and good, but between those scenes the film is a mess. The film was tooI was expecting so much from Beasts of No Nation, and I was super disappointed when it ended. Sure, the acting was amazing, and some of the scenes were very action packed and good, but between those scenes the film is a mess. The film was too long, and half the time were these unnecessary scenes, that if they weren't in the movie, the film would actually be much better. I was very disappointed with this movie, and I think you will be too. Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
6
theOddFlickOct 27, 2015
A brutal portrayal of the effects of war upon a child. Well acted and filmed in a manner that captures what it must feel like to be living within such terrible conditions. But the sometimes graphic depictions of violence, at times wades intoA brutal portrayal of the effects of war upon a child. Well acted and filmed in a manner that captures what it must feel like to be living within such terrible conditions. But the sometimes graphic depictions of violence, at times wades into "sadistic violence porn". I do not feel that showing the high definition gore adds anything too the horror of war, but that it only lowers the film making process to cheap voyeuristic violence. Art and creativity can carry the same depth without the plebeian bloods spurts. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
Knighthawk81Oct 19, 2015
This film is part of the changing model of movies. It debuted in a few theaters and on Netflix on Friday, and it's already drawing some Oscar buzz for its performances. That makes some sense, but on the whole I didn't love this movie. It feltThis film is part of the changing model of movies. It debuted in a few theaters and on Netflix on Friday, and it's already drawing some Oscar buzz for its performances. That makes some sense, but on the whole I didn't love this movie. It felt overly long and it's certainly a tough watch. I didn't think the characters were developed enough and I'm not sure what we're supposed to take from this story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FilmPhonicOct 27, 2015
When media streaming giants Netfilx chooses a brutal and powerful African child soldier drama as their 1st original movie and entry into the movie distribution business, you know they’re willing to take risks. With a small budget that can’tWhen media streaming giants Netfilx chooses a brutal and powerful African child soldier drama as their 1st original movie and entry into the movie distribution business, you know they’re willing to take risks. With a small budget that can’t compete with the major film studios, they’ve opted for creativity and daring to break into a major part of the movie industry they may well revolutionize.

This is not the first film we’ve seen about African child soldiers, but it’s the first that will be seen by a large western audience and manages to capture the raw realism of ‘Johnny Mad Dog’ and ‘Ezra’ while combining it with the focused energy and compelling narrative of favela drama ‘City of God’, all while learning the lessons about the madness of war from the classics of the last 40 years.

‘Beasts of No Nation’ is an incredibly brutal and violent but powerful drama that focuses an unflinching look at the plight of child soldiers in Africa. By not setting the story in a specific country it represents the horrors inflicted upon children in countries like Liberia and Sierra Leone over the last few decades, and indeed it could apply to child soldiers in South America and the more recent horrifying corruption of children by “Islamic State”. All of which raises uncomfortable questions about the West’s selective moral outrage and lack of action when it come to global injustice.

As the lead “Agu” in his acting debut and “Best Young Actor” award winner at the Venice Film Festival, Ghanaian schoolboy Abraham Attah, 13 years old at the time of filming, delivers an incredibly nuanced performance that’s as good as any child acting display we’ve seen. Idris Elba also shines as the charismatic and domineering rebel commandant, while Cary Joji Fukunaga’s direction is assured and his adaptation of Uzo Iweala’s novel is effective, as is the striking cinematography that captures the vivid greens and yellows of the Ghanian landscape where this was filmed.

There are some who have criticised ‘Beasts of No Nation’ for its narrow focus on the plight of child soldiers within the larger context of African civil wars. This shows a fear of any truth can be vividly illuminated by drama and which differs from their world view, from those more comfortable looking at the mirror in the bliss of their own ignorance.

The Bottom Line…
Harrowingly brutal, powerful and often hard to watch, ‘Beasts of No Nation’ is war drama at its most uncompromising and tragic, made worse by the fact that it will probably remain timely for generations to come.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
shoulderoforionApr 24, 2016
Nope, did not care for this movie one bit, love Cary Fukunaga's first season of True Detective & dig Idris Elba's Luther UK, but this flick left me flat, there are some pretty scenes but we've seen this story done before & I found it ploddingNope, did not care for this movie one bit, love Cary Fukunaga's first season of True Detective & dig Idris Elba's Luther UK, but this flick left me flat, there are some pretty scenes but we've seen this story done before & I found it plodding & uninteresting. Was expecting so much more. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeJan 23, 2016
Amidst several fast-paced action sequences are several dark, contemplative looks at the troubles in this African civil war and the young boy caught in the middle. Cary Joji Fukanaga’s artistry is impressive - but many of the sequences feelAmidst several fast-paced action sequences are several dark, contemplative looks at the troubles in this African civil war and the young boy caught in the middle. Cary Joji Fukanaga’s artistry is impressive - but many of the sequences feel unnecessary to the brutal story being told. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moonman1994Nov 27, 2015
Visually stunning as to be expected from Fukunaga and truly full of emotion. Beasts of No Nation gives a solid insight into the horrors of war and the life of a child soldier. The acting is all good and it is written in a way that you findVisually stunning as to be expected from Fukunaga and truly full of emotion. Beasts of No Nation gives a solid insight into the horrors of war and the life of a child soldier. The acting is all good and it is written in a way that you find yourself truly feeling for Agu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
foxgroveNov 13, 2015
I approached ‘Beasts of No Nation’ cautiously, and somewhat reluctantly, drawn by the critical praise with which it has been bestowed. I must admit for the first 20 minutes or so I felt that my fears were to be realised. The story of a youngI approached ‘Beasts of No Nation’ cautiously, and somewhat reluctantly, drawn by the critical praise with which it has been bestowed. I must admit for the first 20 minutes or so I felt that my fears were to be realised. The story of a young African boy’s training to become a soldier fighting in a civil war contains all the politics and brutality that I was dreading. However, the film is so compelling in the way it draws you into the soldiers’ lives; their rituals, training, day to day survival etc, that one soon becomes transfixed by events however brutal or unsavoury. Ultimately, aside from one very nasty and explicit ritual execution, the violence is not quite as bad as one had feared and it is probably the least amount required within such a brutal context. The eerie music adds its own horrific tone but, amongst all this ugliness the stunningly beautiful cinematography acts like an antidote.
The film is confidently realised by director Cary Joji Fukunaga (also the cinematographer) and the editing constantly makes the right cut and keeps the tension ever present. The sound is not always clear, although this is more likely to do with the accents of its cast rather than a technical anomaly. Strangely, at its end, the film leaves you feeling somewhat brutalised even as you conversely feel enriched.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
slicshuterJan 11, 2016
An absolutely spectacular film. The story was gripping and emotional, having me on the verge of tears at some points. The brutal reality of the whole thing is conveyed very well and stellar performances by Abraham Attah and Idris Elba makeAn absolutely spectacular film. The story was gripping and emotional, having me on the verge of tears at some points. The brutal reality of the whole thing is conveyed very well and stellar performances by Abraham Attah and Idris Elba make this film something truly special. It's a shame it hasn't garnered as much attention as it deserves, and I'd like to hope Attah or Elba will get some attention during award season. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Oct 20, 2015
Beasts of No Nation certainly serves as a worthwhile Netflix addition and is rather raw, moving, and potent in many scenes. However, I also found it to be a bit underwhelming. African children in poverty, suffering, going through hardships,Beasts of No Nation certainly serves as a worthwhile Netflix addition and is rather raw, moving, and potent in many scenes. However, I also found it to be a bit underwhelming. African children in poverty, suffering, going through hardships, etc has been done too many times and unfortunately I felt like this film didn't really do anything to bring anything new to the table in that sense. On the upside though, I will admit that the film was rather well made. There's great cinematography and imagery throughout. The performances from Idris Elba and newcomer Abraham Attah were also noteworthy and impressive. Overall, I found this to be a rather interesting, powerful, and worthwhile film. Definitely worth a view if you have Netflix. I expect to see this film brought up a lot later during awards season and rightfully so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Oct 20, 2015
Beasts of No Nation really captures its setting well. You really feel like you are in a war torn nation when you watch this movie, but I found that movie could’ve benefitted for being more raw. I felt like at times like I was watching a tvBeasts of No Nation really captures its setting well. You really feel like you are in a war torn nation when you watch this movie, but I found that movie could’ve benefitted for being more raw. I felt like at times like I was watching a tv movie because I was expecting a movie about child soldiers to be difficult to watch and it really is not. I thought that maybe Netflix really didn’t want to get their hands dirty with their first film. There were a handful of scenes that had some good intensity but in the end I really wasn’t impressed like I had hoped.

I found that they also spent too much time focusing on Idris Elba’s character rather than the young boy. I do really feel that Elba is a great actor and his performance here is great and he deserves all the attention he gets for this film but I found that he took up too much of the content and because of that I cared less about the young boy in this movie. Elba’s character is really not even that evil and I didn’t hate him at all which is probably what I was supposed to do.

Beasts of No Nation is not a terrible film and the critics seem to be enjoying it a lot but I just found it to be a disappointment. I am interested the see the future of original Netflix material but the kick off wasn’t as good as I expected.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
royphishoohJan 27, 2016
An extraordinary film with astonishing performances from Idris Elba and Abraham Attah. I looked for their names in the Oscar nominations but I couldn't find them.. Why is that?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Brendon6446Nov 5, 2015
This movie is simply incredibly and sadly very true, which makes it so great! The story is so good that the viewer gets attached to the main character Agu because of the development of him throughout the movie. A+, i highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PanteDec 28, 2015
Beasts of No Nation is visually stunning picture full of emotions and top class performances. Movie is masterfully directed by Cary Fukunaga, who has once shown as that Man is the cruelest animal. Story reminds me of Full Metal Jacket'sBeasts of No Nation is visually stunning picture full of emotions and top class performances. Movie is masterfully directed by Cary Fukunaga, who has once shown as that Man is the cruelest animal. Story reminds me of Full Metal Jacket's second part. Besides the realistic screenplay, I must praise Fukunaga's direction and great Cinematography.
Movie is extremely brutal and has bit overlong run-time, but still, one of the best War-themed movies ever, and surely, best in 2015.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Dec 3, 2015
Agu: "I saw terrible things... and I did terrible things. So if I'm talking to you, it will make me sad and it will make you too sad. In this life... I just want to be happy in this life. If I'm telling this to you... you will think that... IAgu: "I saw terrible things... and I did terrible things. So if I'm talking to you, it will make me sad and it will make you too sad. In this life... I just want to be happy in this life. If I'm telling this to you... you will think that... I am some sort of beast... or devil. I am all of these things... but I also having mother... father... brother and sister once. They loved me".

The story is about a young child in an unnamed African country learns to become a soldier under the tutelage of a Commandant.

Beasts of No Nation is shocking, powerful, heartbreaking and scary to watch sometimes. Cary Fukunaga brilliantly directed this movie and he's also the same director of the first season of True Detective (Just in case you didn't know). Idris Elba delivers a menacing performance that's one of his best. Abraham Attah stole the show for me, I mean he was so freaking brilliant in this movie and he deserves an Oscar nomination (In my opinion). The movie is shocking and very real with some of the scenes which I liked, because it never hold anything back and not once tried the Hollywood way of getting out of danger. Movies like this are great examples of film making.

Now for the flaws: I liked this movie, but I honestly can't see myself watching it again. It's one of those movies that you think it's good and well made but never again will you see yourself re-watching it. But that's just me and who knows, you may have watched more than once.

Overall Beasts of No Nation is a chilling and depressing war drama that really gets to you. The performances, the visuals and the shocking scenes in this movie are unforgettable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jesseurbancsikNov 24, 2015
Netflix is killin' it this year! What an amazing movie! Beautiful cinematography, performances and life lessons! This movie really makes you think! Idris is sure to gain an Oscar nomination for his performance!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mreclecticSep 6, 2016
The movie provides a great resource on whats going on in some of the problematic countries in Africa, some of the scenes are quite shocking and violent. High quality play by Idris Elba and especially the main character the kid Agu, the "BeastThe movie provides a great resource on whats going on in some of the problematic countries in Africa, some of the scenes are quite shocking and violent. High quality play by Idris Elba and especially the main character the kid Agu, the "Beast of the Nation" has reminded me the other great movie "Hotel Rwanda" which describes similar subject of the civil war in Rwanda and based on true story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aaronjtaitOct 21, 2015
This movie blew my mind. I find it really interesting that Netflix would help to release this and get it to such a large audience, not through cinema, but through the internet. I love that it was supporting African cinema and getting anThis movie blew my mind. I find it really interesting that Netflix would help to release this and get it to such a large audience, not through cinema, but through the internet. I love that it was supporting African cinema and getting an important story out there. Amazing film-making and great acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlmostearlyNov 20, 2015
I really liked the realism this actors give, because it gives you that feeling that you're in there with the kids that are basically killers who don't forgive. 'Beasts of No Nation' is a one time only, due to it's really long story and itI really liked the realism this actors give, because it gives you that feeling that you're in there with the kids that are basically killers who don't forgive. 'Beasts of No Nation' is a one time only, due to it's really long story and it felt like it had to end in a certain scene but it still continued when you expected to end. It's not bad, it's just that I felt like it needed to end in a certain situation. Lastly, this movie is perfect, the action is beautiful along with graphic scenes that felt super real, and the acting is incredible, an astonishing performance given by Idris Elba. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
We know the stories of refugees. We hear about their wars. Beasts of No Nation allows us to see it first hand. Director Cary Fukunaga may be one of the best directors around when it comes to showing us absolutely brutal and incrediblyWe know the stories of refugees. We hear about their wars. Beasts of No Nation allows us to see it first hand. Director Cary Fukunaga may be one of the best directors around when it comes to showing us absolutely brutal and incredibly visceral looks at life in war torn regions (Sin Nombre being the other film by him to do this, but in South America). Incredibly powerful, violent, and intense, Beasts of No Nation will undoubtedly go down as one of the best films of 2015. The cinematography is gorgeous, as in all of Fukunaga's work, but the strongest element in the film are the characters. Every character truly elicits an emotional response within you. Their stories, their presence, and their power, all resonate with the viewer. Fukunaga does a great job creating characters we care about in such a mess of destruction and devastation. Through both his direction and writing, we truly get the full impact of their trauma and that makes this one all the more powerful. The acting is also incredible. Abraham Attah turns in one of the best performances from a child actor I have ever seen and Idris Elba is phenomenal. A truly wondrous film, Beasts of No Nation is one of the best films of the year and deserves to be recognised as such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
crystalthomasMar 19, 2016
Brilliantly acted film. Quite an outrage that this movie did not receive any Oscar nominations (e.g best actor, supporting actor, etc). It's extremely disturbing and not for the faint of heart, but I consider it to be one of the best films of 2015.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Muskrat147Jul 23, 2016
A masterpiece in every way, Beasts of No Nation is a powerful and emotional film, featuring a one-of-a-kind performance from Abraham Attah, exceptional cinematography, impressive direction, a wonderful score, and a stellar story-line thatA masterpiece in every way, Beasts of No Nation is a powerful and emotional film, featuring a one-of-a-kind performance from Abraham Attah, exceptional cinematography, impressive direction, a wonderful score, and a stellar story-line that will transport audiences into its war-torn setting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MiqhtAug 20, 2016
Perhaps the greatest movie of all time. A movie that gives you an uncensored taste of the reality of third world countries in Africa where recruiting children into militias is a commonplace.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AbagofScoutsJan 11, 2019
A great movie that really is a look into these kinds of conflicts that happen in Africa. It follows a young boy as he is going through Africa after his family killed by a ruthless faction. He runs and joins up with a militia that trains himA great movie that really is a look into these kinds of conflicts that happen in Africa. It follows a young boy as he is going through Africa after his family killed by a ruthless faction. He runs and joins up with a militia that trains him into becoming a soldier so that he can get his revenge. Through his travels, he sees terrible things like death and pillaging of villages where he is conflicted with his inner humanity as it slowly drifts from him. A great gritty film akin to Saving Private Ryan or Full Metal Jacket. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrFeyerwireJun 28, 2020
"Beasts Of No Nation" served as a great reminder, as to why my tastes are constantly diversifying. I love war movies, obscure stories, period pieces, exotic filming locales and movies which paint vivid portraits of an otherwise obscure time"Beasts Of No Nation" served as a great reminder, as to why my tastes are constantly diversifying. I love war movies, obscure stories, period pieces, exotic filming locales and movies which paint vivid portraits of an otherwise obscure time and place. Without Idris Elba and his Oscar Worthy (but snubbed) performance, the movie might have failed greatness. With that said, every element from filming, directing to the sporadic atmospheric scores, all add up to make this movie emotional, awe inspiring and unforgettable. It lands in my top 10 favorite movies of all time, right up there with Slumdog Millionaire, Black Hawk Down, Avatar and Tron. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BrittygalJun 25, 2020
This movie was decent. I went through a small war movie binge and this was one of the movies I decided to watch. I felt like the story was fine. The plot was fine. And the overall character growth was fine. My only issue with this movie, andThis movie was decent. I went through a small war movie binge and this was one of the movies I decided to watch. I felt like the story was fine. The plot was fine. And the overall character growth was fine. My only issue with this movie, and it seems like I may be the only one who experienced this, this movie drags on.... its only 2 hours but when I was watching it, it felt like 6. That’s not necessarily a bad thing with some movies, but I found myself taking multiple breaks when watching this, and I was surprised at how frequently I was taking them even though it seemed like I hadn’t had a break in an hour. It’s wierd to say the least bit like I said. Nobody else had this problem when watching it. It may have just been an odd day for me but overall the movie was fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews