Netflix | Release Date: September 16, 2022
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 120 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
19
Negative:
55
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
DeralacSep 28, 2022
This is the first movie I’ve seen with Ana de Armas I didn’t like. That’s mostly because I have negative interest in the topic. I was too bored to finish the movie; it’s way too long. I am not going to spend almost three hours of my timeThis is the first movie I’ve seen with Ana de Armas I didn’t like. That’s mostly because I have negative interest in the topic. I was too bored to finish the movie; it’s way too long. I am not going to spend almost three hours of my time watching someone being exploited. The fame machine chews people up and spits out a lugie. It’s a story that has been repeated over and over and over and we keep letting it happen e.g. Britney. Norma Jean's life was tragic and this film is nothing but a traffic jam while people rubberneck at a horrific accident. Sadly, I’m certain there are currently young stars being directed towards the same fate because the fame machine must consume flesh and soul. This movie is a reminder that humans can be despicable. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
3
bertobellamySep 29, 2022
Meaningless exploitation that only worries to portray Marilyn Monroe as a punching bag or a piece of meat for men to do whatever they want. It's clear that Andrew Dominik tried to make a film about how the cult of personality and theMeaningless exploitation that only worries to portray Marilyn Monroe as a punching bag or a piece of meat for men to do whatever they want. It's clear that Andrew Dominik tried to make a film about how the cult of personality and the tyrannical Hollywood patriarchy ripped Marilyn apart, but 'Blonde' mistakenly fights exploitation with a deplorable and erratic tale that doesn't bother to explore another dimension of the character other than her suffering and humiliation. Ana de Armas is fine, but his performance is borderline overacting, although this is Dominik's fault. It's easy to feel sorry for a character when shown being punched, raped, destroyed, and insulted from the first scenes to the last, but what's the point? There are no conventionalisms here; I give Dominik that, but his artistic pursuit has trampled all over the memory of not a movie star but a woman, and that is unforgivable to me. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
MattyiceSep 28, 2022
Blonde is a painful movie to sit through thanks to multiple factors, the first and worst of which being the focused subject matter. The film chooses to focus exclusively on Monroe's continuous suffering and exploitation by every person sheBlonde is a painful movie to sit through thanks to multiple factors, the first and worst of which being the focused subject matter. The film chooses to focus exclusively on Monroe's continuous suffering and exploitation by every person she was surrounded by, which makes the film feel smut-like, monotonous, and, ironically, exploitative itself. It reduces Monroe down to an abused sex symbol with daddy issues, rather than an actual human with character and depth beyond that. Additionally, with this harrowing subject matter in mind, Blonde is disgustingly long and should've had over an hour of its runtime cut, as scenes feel overly repetitive and there is not remotely enough depth to justify the length. Lastly, combined with the aforementioned is the pretension in the direction and writing. The film's entire style is distracting and attention-seeking, using certain visuals (which on their own are beautiful) over and over again, while not justifying their continuous presence enough. Ana De Armas gives a great performance as Marilyn and is a saving grace at times, but ironically the entire film feels like it's just abusing her for her beauty and body, rather than her acting ability, which I know from Blade Runner 2049 and Knives Out can be amazing on its own. In the end, Blonde is a miserable, interminable, and honestly regressive film that only a sick sadist would find entertaining, empowering, or impactful. Do not waste your time with it. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
2
GerNSep 30, 2022
The excellent performance by Ana de Armas is wasted: I wished I hadn't watched this film after reading about Marilyn Monroe. I was revolted by the many inaccuracies and the sadistic approach taken by the director. I was left wondering whyThe excellent performance by Ana de Armas is wasted: I wished I hadn't watched this film after reading about Marilyn Monroe. I was revolted by the many inaccuracies and the sadistic approach taken by the director. I was left wondering why Joyce Carol Oates wrote the novel and why Netflix made the movie. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
kbyrSep 28, 2022
Don't even bother watching it. All it does is exploit a dead women in the name of "art"
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
Peaches106Sep 29, 2022
Clearly a self indulgent film for the director. Somehow, In a 2 hr and 40 min film they manage to demean, objectify, and dehumanize Monroe without giving her an ounce of personality besides “traumatized.” It is wildly offensive to her actualClearly a self indulgent film for the director. Somehow, In a 2 hr and 40 min film they manage to demean, objectify, and dehumanize Monroe without giving her an ounce of personality besides “traumatized.” It is wildly offensive to her actual person who was far more clever than the film gives her credit for. They portray all of her genius acting as luck and go so far as to poke fun at her desire to become a serious actress without ever allowing the audience to witness times that she WAS a fantastic actress. For those who have only seen Monroe as an icon, this film will simply push her further into that role- except now she gets tragic victimhood attached. The film is severely uncomfortable to watch and yet not the least bit interesting or thought provoking. There is no nuance about her life and experiences, simply putting her private world on display without even an attempt to portray her as a person outside of her trauma. Overall it is incredibly offensive, and any overarching critique on the men in her life that the director intended has simply turned right around onto him. Someone else should’ve made this film, because it is blatantly obvious that he only sees her as the sex icon himself. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
KMarieSep 29, 2022
Oh my god, what a film.
I would love to see a movie about Brad Pitt in a few years, which includes his loves, marriages, addictions, violence and that everything is exaggerated and many things invented, that is not biographical but many
Oh my god, what a film.
I would love to see a movie about Brad Pitt in a few years, which includes his loves, marriages, addictions, violence and that everything is exaggerated and many things invented, that is not biographical but many people believe it is, i think Mr. Pitt would be very happy that millions of people will able to see that movie, or better, if he died he would not be able to see it, he would not be able to give an opinion, but quiet, they will go to Mr. Pitt´s grave and ask his permission, lol. I think Mr. Pitt will love it because this is exactly what he did by producing this movie; humiliating, violent, offending a woman who doesn't deserve it, it's disgusting what they have done and everyone should be ashamed, keep using the image and name of a woman who died so many years ago to rape her on screen, literal.
Shame on everyone involved, including Ms. De Armas, who posted on her instagram that she couldn't wait to celebrate Marilyn this year, celebrate? You didn´t do it for her, liar, you did it for your career, you should be honest, you are dying for that oscar nomination, and finally shame on netflix for help to create and promoting this, for disgusting money. Those who see the movie will need to bath after, some because of disgust and others because they enjoyed that porn.
The next time this director wants to film porn, do not use the name of a person who wanted to be remembered beyond her beauty and charm, also for her intelligence and talent. I have so many more things to say aaaaaaahhhhh
I hope Marilyn can rest, one day…
P.s. I should have known the movie was really bad and so disgusting when Casey Affleck said it was incredible.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
MazaoloSep 29, 2022
A disgusting reimagined male fantasy of female suffering. This director should never work again, shame on you Hollywood.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
mfrommarsSep 29, 2022
Anti-abortion anti-women propaganda crap. Ana de Armas does a good job, but the whole movie is just disgusting. There isn’t a point of discussion or things to thing about. It’s just gross.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
StraightArrowSep 29, 2022
A disgusting and disrespectful movie based, not on Norma Jean’s life, but on a tabloid-esque dusty book you can find in the fiction section of your local bookstore.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
KiaraDSep 28, 2022
I’m so utterly disappointed in this movie. Movie is rated NC-17 for “some sexual content” but don’t warn you about scenes of domestic violence, rape, full frontal nudity, etc. If that isn’t enough, the movie itself makes no sense. It is superI’m so utterly disappointed in this movie. Movie is rated NC-17 for “some sexual content” but don’t warn you about scenes of domestic violence, rape, full frontal nudity, etc. If that isn’t enough, the movie itself makes no sense. It is super uncomfortable to watch, and the scenes stretch on and on. I get Ana de Armas is beautiful but I just needed to get this movie over with. Cannot recommend enough to NOT watch this movie. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
ElObjetivo89Oct 4, 2022
Absolutely empty. The road is to nowhere. A sucession of exhibicionists. Impossible to believe even one of the characters.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
NickTheCritickOct 1, 2022
After the good "Assassination of Jesse James" Dominik stumbles upon a really bad movie. Each scene is a tribute to the pain and self-pity of our protagonist ending up in an overlong painfully slow agony. Editing and acting are at their worstAfter the good "Assassination of Jesse James" Dominik stumbles upon a really bad movie. Each scene is a tribute to the pain and self-pity of our protagonist ending up in an overlong painfully slow agony. Editing and acting are at their worst here. Not exactly what Marylin Monroe would have wanted for her biopic. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
ExceladeogunOct 1, 2022
I was so excited to see this movie, but right after its release, viewers and critics have had mostly disdain for it. Due to the excitement I had (especially to see Ana De Armas' take on the iconic character), I decided to still see it. BlondeI was so excited to see this movie, but right after its release, viewers and critics have had mostly disdain for it. Due to the excitement I had (especially to see Ana De Armas' take on the iconic character), I decided to still see it. Blonde is a near 3 hours of hogwash, and I'm baffled how that script was approved by a production company. Andrew Dominik's exploitative and disjointed take on Marilyn Monroe shouldn't exist.

Ana De Armas' brilliant acting does nothing to save the trashy script (fictional or not) she brought to life.

The director, scriptwriter and cinematographer should be whipped the number of times Ana De Armas mentioned 'Daddy'.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
IlCattivoOct 1, 2022
It is just horrible........................................................
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
MemoirabiliaSep 29, 2022
This film’s title, Blonde, was a sure caveat broken record interpretation not beholden to the extraordinary legacy of Marilyn Monroe. Marilyn and Norma was cunningly coy, highly intelligent, well read, studious entertainer, tenaciousThis film’s title, Blonde, was a sure caveat broken record interpretation not beholden to the extraordinary legacy of Marilyn Monroe. Marilyn and Norma was cunningly coy, highly intelligent, well read, studious entertainer, tenacious entrepreneur, a natural empathic comedian with impeccable timing and wit. At some point, the dumb blonde trope must stop; we are now an educated audience who are very aware of Marilyn Monroe’s zone of genius! In an era of feminine oppression and economic classism, Marilyn climbed out of the complexities of the impoverished orphanage to strategically reinvent herself in a man’s world as an Aphrodite, inherently birthing an evolution in pop culture for women throughout the 70s and decades to come, and yet over half a century later, we are still being subjected to this archetype gaslit pornographic misogynistic depiction of Monroe. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
ztwmOct 1, 2022
This is the most exploiting, distasteful, and sexist movie I’ve ever heard of. They’ve killed Marilyn twice with this, an absolute assassination of Marilyn Monroe, her life and legacy. SHAMEFUL. This movie will eventually disappear while herThis is the most exploiting, distasteful, and sexist movie I’ve ever heard of. They’ve killed Marilyn twice with this, an absolute assassination of Marilyn Monroe, her life and legacy. SHAMEFUL. This movie will eventually disappear while her legacy will live on forever! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
AutumncOct 4, 2022
This movie was terrible and full of bad acting right from the beginning. I couldn’t even make it all the way through.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
Justmyopinion25Sep 29, 2022
TRASH! The director is a real piece of work to exploit Marilyn this way! DISGUSTING!
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
SplitMindSep 29, 2022
Glam, gore and porn dragged out to nearly 3 hours and still no substance. A complete missed opportunity to correct the perceptions of Monroe as being a victim of predators rather than a posh slut.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
All_ButTrU4Sep 29, 2022
A shameless exploitation of the tragic Marylin Monroe. This movie doesn't attempt to tell her story only sexualize it. Going the extra mile to find ways to objectify & punish her such as fabricating a sexual assault scene between her& jfk.A shameless exploitation of the tragic Marylin Monroe. This movie doesn't attempt to tell her story only sexualize it. Going the extra mile to find ways to objectify & punish her such as fabricating a sexual assault scene between her& jfk. Ana de armis is the only good thing about this movie as her mesmerizing though underwritten performance as Marylin holds the few pieces it has together. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
KiarasmithxoxSep 29, 2022
Horrible viewing, very boring and difficult to actually finish. Ended up skipping a lot as it was so tedious
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
JoelonySep 29, 2022
Blonde takes so many artistic liberties and rewrites history to farcical levels by overly lionizing fame, painting all men as evil, and creating an elaborately one-note and eye-rolling approach to victimization and the masks we wear to cope.Blonde takes so many artistic liberties and rewrites history to farcical levels by overly lionizing fame, painting all men as evil, and creating an elaborately one-note and eye-rolling approach to victimization and the masks we wear to cope. Norma Jean could do no wrong in this narrative, simply a victim of her circumstances. That's not how reality works and the "artistic merit" comes across as emotionally stunted hubris and an obsession to tell their own version of the narrative, not Norma Jean's.

De Armas does look the part and acts her heart out, but her accent is very noticeable throughout the film, especially during emotional scenes. This isn't a knock against her, but rather an example of the pieces that don't fit together. And finally the elephant in the room: It's despicable to manufacture a controversial NC-17 rating to get people to watch the film. That is exactly what happened here. Money holding executives saw that this was a 2.75+ hour turd with nothing of substance to say, so they sold sexualization. This film's marketing has the very exploitative nature it attempted to shed a light upon. In the end, Blonde didn't get very many parts right and the message and rewrites simply muddy the waters of history, not make it clearer.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
1
miloszOct 2, 2022
Blonde is not only sexist, misogynistic, exploitative of MM memory, completely fictional mess, it's also totally boring.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
SoulWarfareOct 3, 2022
Biopics usually have 3 things it has to do. Show what made them so talented and great while showing the positive/negative things that occurred in their life. Biopics are never completely truthful and do a fair amount of dramatization but aBiopics usually have 3 things it has to do. Show what made them so talented and great while showing the positive/negative things that occurred in their life. Biopics are never completely truthful and do a fair amount of dramatization but a lot of the main beats have to be truthful. The most important of all is to be respectful to the person they are telling a story of as they are or were a real individual.

Blonde does none of that. It has no heart or soul and instead is just 2 hours 46 minutes of exhausting trauma, porn and dullness. The film acts like an artsy film but it just feels very pretentious and insulting to all the real people and the audience. The director doesn't seem to be interested in her actual life but in the terrible rumours surrounding Monroe instead. The director then turned these rumours into a long soft porn film. Do yourself a favour and don't watch this...
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
SnowflakesOct 3, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible movie very exploitative very sexist it fetishised violence against women. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
NnurhadiOct 5, 2022
The cinematography of this movie is superb and also Ana de Armas' performance is outstanding. But, the story is too much to take. The depiction of Marilyn's life presented badly. Full of falsity and lies. The unnecessary aspects as the threeThe cinematography of this movie is superb and also Ana de Armas' performance is outstanding. But, the story is too much to take. The depiction of Marilyn's life presented badly. Full of falsity and lies. The unnecessary aspects as the three way love story and the JFK included. Marilyn was an intelligent woman that should be appreciated in a lot of respect. Also the talking fetus on her womb scene much like Pro-Life propaganda which is a sensitive topic to came out of a movie depict a woman that idolize by a large amount of people (including female) now in this specific time when the overturned of Roe v. Wade happened that cause a lot of harm to many female. This is beyond disrespectful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
tanya-Sep 28, 2022
I wish people would just leave Marilyn alone and stop exploiting a dead women who was exploited enough when she was alive.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
0
Pmg1959Sep 30, 2022
This movie is an execrable piece of nasty, pretentious pseudo-art. The hatred — toward both men (pigs, bullies, sleaze bags) and women (idiots, victims, sluts) is mind boggling. That the director had the budget for all the film-school hocusThis movie is an execrable piece of nasty, pretentious pseudo-art. The hatred — toward both men (pigs, bullies, sleaze bags) and women (idiots, victims, sluts) is mind boggling. That the director had the budget for all the film-school hocus pocus and could attract fine actors underscores what a debacle this film is, and a squandering of talent. Watching it is like being beaten by an efficient ruthless thug. Do not make this a date-night movie because you will lose your significant other. Yes, that bad. Like watching a Holocaust movie from a Nazi point of view. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
darksoulwOct 5, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very right wing and misogynistic representation of Marilyn Monroe. The scene with the fetus is one of the most cringe scene I've seen. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
Larry1776Sep 28, 2022
wtf? Don't Believe the false hype about this being too graphic. All the hype for this being graphic and giving it a NC-17 rating? What a joke there wasn't any scences of what the shill media claimed it had.lol Blue is the Warmest Colorwtf? Don't Believe the false hype about this being too graphic. All the hype for this being graphic and giving it a NC-17 rating? What a joke there wasn't any scences of what the shill media claimed it had.lol Blue is the Warmest Color was graphic ! Basic Instincts made in the 80s had graphic disturbing scences this was nothing a complete joke this is basically all a marketing tactic too claim & hype it up than at the last minute have it be nothing ,but heavily edited nonsense. NC-17? The acting was good ,but this film was boring as hell bloating crap. Monroe had a rough childhood and was abused which is why she grew up too be a basically the Queen of Thots which is why many women admire her because she was a sex symbol & women use sex for power while larping as victims. This movie is bloated trash made by a crappy woke garbage company which supports degenerate crap.

This movie is based on a fictionalized book about Monroe by a terrible writer who wrote 700 pages of crap just like this film
Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
0
W28klSep 22, 2022
Overrated actor. They might as well have just made it non fictional instead of this nonsense
4 of 16 users found this helpful412
All this user's reviews