Annapurna Pictures | Release Date: May 24, 2019
3.3
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 342 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
113
Mixed:
17
Negative:
212
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
dontjimmymejulzMay 25, 2019
An annoying fat girl and a lesbian attend Happy, Happy Rainbow High School where everyone is tolerant of everything and everyone and a good 60% of the school's population are gay or transgender or a non-binary something or other. Anyway, teenAn annoying fat girl and a lesbian attend Happy, Happy Rainbow High School where everyone is tolerant of everything and everyone and a good 60% of the school's population are gay or transgender or a non-binary something or other. Anyway, teen stuff happens and none of it's particularly funny or original and by the end of it I just wanted to watch 'Fast Times at Ridgemont High' again. Expand
19 of 44 users found this helpful1925
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielMay 24, 2019
Trivial. Self-absorbed. Verbose. Superficial. And yet, this waste of film gets 84% critic score with a "must see"label. How presumptuous!
The problem is not its promotion of lesbianism per se. It's just that this film is only about the navel
Trivial. Self-absorbed. Verbose. Superficial. And yet, this waste of film gets 84% critic score with a "must see"label. How presumptuous!
The problem is not its promotion of lesbianism per se. It's just that this film is only about the navel gazing of two teenagers. You don't need to make a movie to "send a message": You write an essay. This has ZERO CINEMATOGRAPHIC VALUE.
America is truly sinking right and now left.
Expand
17 of 46 users found this helpful1729
All this user's reviews
1
MetatronJun 14, 2019
Weak plot to prop up homosexual propaganda. All love is not equal. Pedophelia, incest and homosexuality are all sin. Romans 1:16-32 is good for the soul.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
FilmopinionatorMay 30, 2019
This movie is a political correctness piece of trash. To have it compared to superbad is a disgrace. It's sad how the world has become so soft and oblivious to this trendy nonsense
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
3
ScraperJun 7, 2019
Booksmart is a clinic in overacting to prop up cliched material instead of inventing something new. Nearly the entire supporting cast was a cringe-worthy caricature that blared the stereotype to obnoxious levels. I could not figure out whyBooksmart is a clinic in overacting to prop up cliched material instead of inventing something new. Nearly the entire supporting cast was a cringe-worthy caricature that blared the stereotype to obnoxious levels. I could not figure out why for all smart hype of the film did it take such predictable and worn-out paths using 2-3 braincell supporting characters. The filmmaker may have updated the time period but really offered nothing new in terms of coming-of-age insights. It's sad because I was kind of excited to see this. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
twall3Jun 14, 2019
"For this reason God gave them up to vile passions. For even their women exchanged the natural use for what is against nature. Likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust for one another, men with men"For this reason God gave them up to vile passions. For even their women exchanged the natural use for what is against nature. Likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust for one another, men with men committing what is shameful, and receiving in themselves the penalty of their error which was due." Romans 1:26-27 Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
swelleanorJun 6, 2019
This movie has a lot of funny parts that I'm still chuckling about a few days later. It's a sweet movie about friendship, and I actually recognized the world it was set in even though my high school graduation was almost 15 years ago. It'sThis movie has a lot of funny parts that I'm still chuckling about a few days later. It's a sweet movie about friendship, and I actually recognized the world it was set in even though my high school graduation was almost 15 years ago. It's really, really raunchy, so beware! Overall, more good than bad, and if it sounds like something you might like, you'll probably love it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
kirkenderJun 4, 2019
Booksmart is a glorious film. Its filled with love. Love for the characters, love for film, love for relationships. It will make Baby Boomers confused and angry, Gen Xers question their existence, and everyone else will be happy. (It's notBooksmart is a glorious film. Its filled with love. Love for the characters, love for film, love for relationships. It will make Baby Boomers confused and angry, Gen Xers question their existence, and everyone else will be happy. (It's not Superbad, its better in every way, therefore Superbad is a bad ripoff of Booksmart now.) Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
keydancerJun 6, 2019
Good highschool comedy, with good music and easy to follow comedy with the all everyday embarrassed, falling down getting up, quarrels with a wink to reality, choices made and not made, and the regret off never made choices. that all in aGood highschool comedy, with good music and easy to follow comedy with the all everyday embarrassed, falling down getting up, quarrels with a wink to reality, choices made and not made, and the regret off never made choices. that all in a comedy, a comedy that need not a lot of humour to understand, easy watching, good mimic and the actors living in the role so that the comedy is on a silber scale presented, Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
leburn98Jun 1, 2019
Booksmart tries it's best to be this generation's Fast Times and Ridgemont High or Super Bad, but ultimately fails in it's execution.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
parrtarJun 3, 2019
Best movie I have seen in years. Tender, hilarious and whip-smart. Olivia Wilde has proven herself to be a capable and visionary director. The two starts are charismatic and lovable. The jokes are laugh-out-loud funny. Just the right mix ofBest movie I have seen in years. Tender, hilarious and whip-smart. Olivia Wilde has proven herself to be a capable and visionary director. The two starts are charismatic and lovable. The jokes are laugh-out-loud funny. Just the right mix of raunchy and sweet! Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
6
cylackMay 26, 2019
Don't understand the hype. Mildly funny, maybe 1 or 2 lough out loud moments. Took bits and pieces from every teen comedy done in the past, sprinkled in a heavy dose of modern PC. Should have expanded on the theme it touched on briefly of theDon't understand the hype. Mildly funny, maybe 1 or 2 lough out loud moments. Took bits and pieces from every teen comedy done in the past, sprinkled in a heavy dose of modern PC. Should have expanded on the theme it touched on briefly of the obsessiveness to get into elite colleges and whether success or happiness is really guaranteed. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001May 26, 2019
As it happened at the time with Get Out, then with Crazy Rich Asians and now with this film, it's quite clear to me that American critics are desperate to be inclusive.

I comment this because after finishing this film I found myself quite
As it happened at the time with Get Out, then with Crazy Rich Asians and now with this film, it's quite clear to me that American critics are desperate to be inclusive.

I comment this because after finishing this film I found myself quite confused because many of the opinions that I was reading and that I was finding about the story of this film made me ask again and again what those people saw that I didn't.

Olivia Wilde basically made Superbad female version and that's not her fault. Well in a way it is because she chose that script to debut as a director but the rest is the fault of the writers because they were the ones who implemented this story but analyzing it, you will realize that you're practically watching the same film. The only difference is that the main characters in this case are women and they don't have a third character to finish the jokes like Fogell.

Although what interested the guys in Superbad was to get laid, the only difference with these girls is that they try to have fun considering that they apparently think they wasted their time in high school studying to the fullest trying to enter a good college.
Because apparently studying hard and not living at parties with drugs and alcohol is only a crime of the nerds. What a cliche isn't?

But it doesn't stop there. Once the story makes clear where is going, the path that follows is saturated with clichés until the ending.
I don't understand in what way anyone would tell me this is a fresh film, that it reinvents the genre, that it brings something new to the table because I didn't see it anywhere.

Does that mean it's a bad film? Actually bad wouldn't be the word I would chose but irrelevant.
I cannot deny in any way that more stories are needed with female characters, which obviously need more films directed by women.
That the voices of these women should be delivering strong stories and in general terms Booksmart has some of those things I mention.
The director is a woman, the main characters and screenwriters too and I applauded they have that opportunity and that they have the forum for people to see and hear their work but don't disguise the importance of that proposal with the results delivered because I personally think that Booksmart has nothing original or new and that isn't necessarily a bad thing because how many film exists that repeat thematics? However, most of the time that is stressed and criticized and I don't see why in this case it was different and it became acclamation.
Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
4
dchipps1945May 26, 2019
I knew this film was a comedy, and it's got a few hilarious bits. Still, as a coming-of-age study of friendship, I thought it would be more serious and thoughtful. Instead it's a mixture of Clueless, Animal House, and American Graffiti, onlyI knew this film was a comedy, and it's got a few hilarious bits. Still, as a coming-of-age study of friendship, I thought it would be more serious and thoughtful. Instead it's a mixture of Clueless, Animal House, and American Graffiti, only on speed and set to the beat of a jackhammer. That is, until the third act, when we learn everybody's really a nice person. Oh, and it ends at an airport, which I've never seen a movie do before. To call the story formulaic would be understating the case. Not a bad film, but nothing special at all, in my opinion.

This wasn't a bad movie if you're up for a hyperactive fantasy world sort of flick, but it's really nothing special. The plot is formulaic
Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
1
CanadianMikeTVMay 30, 2019
This movie is just about pushing terrible political point of views. Just a sad let down.
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
9
CapnBillMay 28, 2019
Well developed characters in a hilarious counterpoint to Superbad, but you have to allow it license from the literal for it to work.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
mitchthibaultMay 26, 2019
A wildly inventive, modern take on a coming-of-age story with hilarious and genuine characters - absolutely loved it. Olivia Wilde does an amazing job directing, Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein are incredible and deserve mounds of praise.A wildly inventive, modern take on a coming-of-age story with hilarious and genuine characters - absolutely loved it. Olivia Wilde does an amazing job directing, Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein are incredible and deserve mounds of praise. Wish I had this movie when I was in high school, it made me laugh LOUDLY. The writing was phenomenal and was able to avoid typical cliches of movies of its kind!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For all those complaining about the "graphic lesbian sex" while quoting a Bible verse - you may pleasantly go away and watch a Dinesh D’Souza movie while the rest of us enjoy cinema that represents us, lesbian sex and all. byeeeeeee.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
ZoozookatMay 28, 2019
Pitch perfect in every way. The best high school film hands down and I’m a 34 yr old woman.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
0
kszwedaMay 30, 2019
Very, very weak movie. Don't bother yourself. Cheap rip off of the Superbad.
11 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
10
Bigmase13May 26, 2019
An excellent film. A hilarious comedy with a heart of gold. An excellently paced movie that was a blast to watch from start to finish. A smart script, a number of visually interesting sequences, and a stellar cast across the board makes for aAn excellent film. A hilarious comedy with a heart of gold. An excellently paced movie that was a blast to watch from start to finish. A smart script, a number of visually interesting sequences, and a stellar cast across the board makes for a must watch movie. A fantastic directorial debut for Olivia Wilde, I look forward to seeing what she does next. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
1
JOHN1941May 31, 2019
Have lost confidence in the pro reviewers because of this poor excuse for a teen story. We left after 30 minutes - I went back the next day to finish (thank you Mr. Manager) the film and it went further down the drain. If this is an accurateHave lost confidence in the pro reviewers because of this poor excuse for a teen story. We left after 30 minutes - I went back the next day to finish (thank you Mr. Manager) the film and it went further down the drain. If this is an accurate view of our high school kids today, we are in trouble. I do not think it is accurate from what I see in schools. The two girls even look embarrassed using the f word so much. Add lousy camera work, and you get a 1 because the theater was comfortable, though the story could have been worthy of the effort. I suggest rating films by the number of f words from now on. Expand
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
1
GreatMartinMay 28, 2019
Every time I walk into a movie I have high expectations and every time I see a boring, stupid 'comedy' and don't even laugh once, the first thing I ask myself is "Why didn't I walk out?" and the second thing I do is tell myself "At least IEvery time I walk into a movie I have high expectations and every time I see a boring, stupid 'comedy' and don't even laugh once, the first thing I ask myself is "Why didn't I walk out?" and the second thing I do is tell myself "At least I won't see anything worse the rest of the year!"

Sadly I didn't walk out of "Booksmart" and I hope it is the worst movie I will see this year! I really have nothing positive to say about the cast except to ask if today's teens are really this vulgar, this dumb or is it the screenplay by 4 writers and the director showing them to be this way?

The worst part--and that is saying a lot--is the cringe-worthy performance and lines by Lisa Kudrow as a parent. We won't even talk about the 'father'!

Trying to be positive--and not understanding why-- Meta Critic had a 84% rating by critics and 5.6 out of 10 by the audience.

Please, please if you see it let me know what YOU think of "Booksmart" though you would be smart not to go!

synopsis

The story follows Dever and Feldstein's characters, two academic superstars and best friends who, on the eve of their high school graduation, suddenly realize that they should have worked less and played more. Determined never to fall short of their peers, the girls set out on a mission to cram four years of fun into one night.
Expand
10 of 20 users found this helpful1010
All this user's reviews
1
Sammiches25May 30, 2019
Overall, This movie is just a bad copy of Superbad. If you criticize this movie you're a bigot and disqualified from picking apart what's wrong with the film. I would rather go watch Superbad, Pineapple Express, The Hangover, Road Trip,Overall, This movie is just a bad copy of Superbad. If you criticize this movie you're a bigot and disqualified from picking apart what's wrong with the film. I would rather go watch Superbad, Pineapple Express, The Hangover, Road Trip, Freddie Got Fingered, or even The Room because at least they aren't piles of **** laced with social justice and PC humor. I strongly believe there will one day be a legendarily funny comedy directed by a woman with no cheesy humor, but that day has not yet come and that's why this film missed its projected box office revenue by nearly 5 million dollars. There's nothing fresh about this film. Only watch it if you're a Democrat or you spend most of your time trying to shove money down a garbage disposal. Expand
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
1
FilmladyJun 1, 2019
Ok, did Annapurna pay people to write good reviews about this film or am I in a twighlight zone where potty humor and over the top charecterizations of real humans is now the norm. This movie was bad in so many ways I don't know where toOk, did Annapurna pay people to write good reviews about this film or am I in a twighlight zone where potty humor and over the top charecterizations of real humans is now the norm. This movie was bad in so many ways I don't know where to begin.
I suppose I should be supporting this film cause of the lack of female driven stories and women directors getting their shot in the industry. But I just can't get behind blatantly bad material with obvious jokes and and wackadoodle cliche charecters. Movies like Lady Bird we're funny, compelling, and original. This is what you get when American Pie and not another teen movie had a baby in 2019.
Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleMay 25, 2019
What sets Booksmart apart from the typical teen comedy is that it sticks the landing - it has a powerful ending, followed by a hilarious credit sequence. You can't appreciate the writing, the flow, and the directing in general until you'veWhat sets Booksmart apart from the typical teen comedy is that it sticks the landing - it has a powerful ending, followed by a hilarious credit sequence. You can't appreciate the writing, the flow, and the directing in general until you've seen it a second time. Also, have to say GREAT job in the casting department. Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
10
IloveaudraMay 25, 2019
This is a hilarious, of-the-moment comedy. Witty, warm and affecting. First rate acting. If you like fresh, modern movies, go see this now!
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
8
OneSubtleDoseMay 25, 2019
As a reasonable fan of films in his early 30s. I felt the need to give an honest review. This film is not a 10. Even ignorant hate should not blind a person who made it all the way to scenes involving 'graphic lesbian sex' should admit whyAs a reasonable fan of films in his early 30s. I felt the need to give an honest review. This film is not a 10. Even ignorant hate should not blind a person who made it all the way to scenes involving 'graphic lesbian sex' should admit why their attention was held so long. Of course everything is black and white in today's social climate. Left/Right. This is about a film that I thought was pretty witty, well-paced, cute and hardly graphic in dialogue or scenes of adults kissing. Two cute young women kissing makes it graphic lesbian sex though. Like most men I am all for graphic lesbian sex in contextually appropriate moderation :) It's presence or absence will not make me rate a a quality comedy that lightly touched on a few issues without preaching. Excess of femininity is mocked, playful homophobic language used and future promiscuity glorified. It's all in jest. Lighten up folks on both sides. Feminists. Fight the good fight. I am glad people loved the film enough to rate it as a modern day classic. I do not. Trust in Will Forte & Jason Sudeikis; and a very impressive debut by Olivia Wilde. Score: Eight (Ball. For GiGi) & (10 for Diana Silvers) Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
8
angelsanzcorreaMay 27, 2019
Ignore the homophobe incels trying to bring this movie down, this is a light, fun and stylish coming-of-age teen comedy. Good writing, great performances and even an impressive cinematography. Superficial, sure, but well worth it.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1May 25, 2019
Booksmart is about a couple overachiever girls (Beanie Feldstein, from Neighbors 2 and Ladybird, and Kaitlyn Dever) who've spent their entire high school years studying and participating in student government. About to graduate and fearingBooksmart is about a couple overachiever girls (Beanie Feldstein, from Neighbors 2 and Ladybird, and Kaitlyn Dever) who've spent their entire high school years studying and participating in student government. About to graduate and fearing she may have wasted her social time, Feldstein's character decides they should attend a party before it's all over. (It's basically the old high school boys try to attend a party/lose their virginity style R-rated comedy but starring females.)

I found this to be really funny. The pizza delivery guy scene in particular had me in stitches.

When you get down to the bare bones, the story is the basic two best friends find themselves going down different paths trope. Also, the the high school doesn't feel very realistic and the movie is basically about privileged white people problems. But the execution is so good, it didn't bother me much.

Olivia Wilde's directorial debut is surprisingly strong. There are three visual and/or audio moments that are really well done.

Feldstein and Dever are pretty funny and relatable, especially Feldstein who brings so much energy and personality to the role. Heck, the entire cast is pretty good, especially Santa Clarita Diet's Skyler Gisondo as a weird, rich kid who tries to fit in and American Horror Story's Billie Lourd as a nutty party girl who inexplicably shows up wherever the leads are.

The trailers looked good, but the film surpassed my expectations and I recommend this.
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
davidislesMay 25, 2019
I don't usually review films on here but the fact that this doesn't have a good audience score is unbelievable. This is a smart and funny comedy that is well acted and well directed. Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein shine as the two leadsI don't usually review films on here but the fact that this doesn't have a good audience score is unbelievable. This is a smart and funny comedy that is well acted and well directed. Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein shine as the two leads and all of the supporting characters are fun without being overdone. The music in this is great, it is well shot, it looks beautiful, and it does a pretty good job reflecting what a high school friendship can be. It might not be for everyone but it definitely is not a bad film. A Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
8
NightReviewsMay 29, 2019
In 2007, a little coming of age-high school comedy, with a very modest budget of $20 million took the coming of age, modern high-school comedy canon by storm, and has yet to be trumped in over a decade. That little movie that could wasIn 2007, a little coming of age-high school comedy, with a very modest budget of $20 million took the coming of age, modern high-school comedy canon by storm, and has yet to be trumped in over a decade. That little movie that could was Superbad, a film that was written by real-life best friend Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, who, went on to becoming two of the most successful and prominent comedy writers of our generation. Generating real-life stories based on what happened to them, including the infamous period-blood dance scene, the cocaine-karaoke scene and other incredibly funny scenarios that we thought could ever happen in a million years, the two writers have a knack of garnering insatiable laughs with well-received, cortically and commercially successful films. Luckily for us, Superbad was a film that starred two breakout stars in Michael Cera and Jonah Hill, who would go on to becoming staples in the comedy world as well as the Seth Rogen’s comedy empire. But like all good things in this world, change is upon us. With the recent influx of female voices being heard and stories being told, we fast forward twelve years, and finally have our very own, female-centric Superbad with Booksmart. And as if destiny would have it, ironically enough, this kick-ass female story of missed opportunities and revelations delivers endless laughs, sometimes cries and funny enough, stars Jonah Hill’s little sister Beanie Feldstein. How’s that for a coincidence?

Directed by OIivia Wilde; yup, the actress of Tron, her and Drinking Buddies tackles directing duties and nails her debut feature film with so much heart, love and authenticity that Booksmart feels like a veteran comedy with constant one/two punch laughs, confidence and endless emotion. Stylistically relevant, adapting much of the real-life comedy that made the Rogen/Apatow comedies of the 2000s so successful, Wilde directs a script that has been in development for over a decade to reflect so many of the many truths of high-school youth today. Making the film contemporary with scenes including Uber, social media and of course implementing characters that aren’t only heterosexual, allows the film’s fresh vibes to come naturally off the screen, even if Amy and Molly’s (Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein) cool personalities don’t.

Booksmart is a movie that we have been waiting for, for a long time. The film’s hook may be a completely authentic female take on the high school experience, produced by Annapurna Pictures, headed by Megan Ellison, directed by a woman, starring two promising young female actresses, written entirely by women and edited by a woman, but I can assure you, these highly feminine factors are not the only reason to visit your multiplex this summer. Aside from being a female-centric comedy, after everything is said and done, it is a comedy, and I am here to attest to the fact that, it is really funny. Aside from the star-making performances of actresses Feldstein and Kaitlyn Dever, writers Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins and Katie Silberman, deliver quippy, snappy and hilarious dialogue that highlights the very different, yet strikingly similar high school personalities of their characters, without making them caricatures of figures we have come to expect from the high school comedy genre. Each character depicted in Booksmart are culminations of so many different personalities; mixing gender, sexuality, religions, class and cultures into real life characters that not only become relatable, but also become memorable. Booksmart highlights that jocks JUST aren’t jocks, and the gay students JUST aren’t gay. Every person depicted in the film is a version of someone we all knew or currently know in real life.

Although there is an array of comedy from supporting characters, the majority of the laughs stems from the bond and chemistry between our two amazing leads. While Dever and Feldstein bring true laughs to their characters Amy and Molly, unfortunately, both Amy and Molly feel like they have been missing out on their high school shenanigans. So, on the last day of high school before their graduation, Amy and Molly decide to go for it, and indulge in all the craziness that is high school, in one night. As expected, hilarity, craziness and debauchery ensues, and the two bets friends find themselves in very different places by the end of the night.

Booksmart is easily the funniest and smartest comedy of 2019.

Raunchy and totally inappropriate in so many scenes, Wilde’s Booksmart is a winning combination of American expectations for comedy films with many social expectations and commentary. Even though Amy and Molly got into their desired schools, working and studying their butts off for the whole course of high school, when Molly finds out that the slutty cheerleader archetype, the stoner and the jock all got into the same schools, becomes a little bit of a bittersweet realization.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
Wavy_YeezyMay 28, 2019
I was suprised with this movie. It was surprisingly absolutely hilarious. It reminded me a lot of mean girls and superbad like people are saying. Will go down as the most underrated movie this year.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
AcaciaJun 2, 2019
I really looked forward to seeing this movie and really wanted to love it. Unfortunately, I did not love it. Can’t say exactly why. But, it just felt so over the top at times and unrealistic. I loved the relationship between the twoI really looked forward to seeing this movie and really wanted to love it. Unfortunately, I did not love it. Can’t say exactly why. But, it just felt so over the top at times and unrealistic. I loved the relationship between the two girls. Loved their chemistry, but felt a lot of the movie didn’t ring true for me. It was very raunchy in parts and the kids behavior was so stereotypical in places, it was painful to watch. Just didn’t ring true with me. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jun 4, 2019
Similar to this year's "Fighting With My Family," Olivia Wilde's coming-of-age film "Booksmart" is a piece that was initially sold on the premise of being a comedy. And, though it is more comedically focused, with a lot of its oddball humorSimilar to this year's "Fighting With My Family," Olivia Wilde's coming-of-age film "Booksmart" is a piece that was initially sold on the premise of being a comedy. And, though it is more comedically focused, with a lot of its oddball humor and side characters inspiring a couple of well deserved laughs, it was the story and central friendship in question that won me over in the end. All of that success starts with the performances and chemistry between the two leads, Beanie Feldstein and Kaitlyn Dever, who not only give tremendous performances in their own respective rights, but play off of one another so well that it would honestly shock me to learn that they were anything less than close in real life. Some of the humor doesn't quite land all the time, but again, I was more or less in my seat for the commentary on friendship and high school than anything else. Overall, it's a solid debut and a worthy entry alongside the pantheon of similar high school party flicks. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
beechmiJun 7, 2019
What a pleasant surprise....who'd have thought Olivia Wilde could direct a very entertaining movie?! Clever and witty...this film will be around for a very long time. The cast is fantastic, and there's not a weak link anywhere. Very relatableWhat a pleasant surprise....who'd have thought Olivia Wilde could direct a very entertaining movie?! Clever and witty...this film will be around for a very long time. The cast is fantastic, and there's not a weak link anywhere. Very relatable characters, and will really touch your heart. Those haters on this site clearly don't have one...which is why they didn't 'get it'. Movie like this don't come along often...and when they do they must be seen. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
fra92Jun 7, 2019
Smart, funny and witty. Olivia Wilde is a great director, and the cast is fantastic. Why are the reviews so negative? trolls are out? I don't get it! Go and watch this show, it will be worth it
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
futurescrnwrtrJun 14, 2019
I hate this movie. If there was a number lower than 0, I would have chosen that instead. Yuck.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
briknowsbestJun 10, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Billie Lourd for best supporting actress. Although it had it's moments of slowness, this movie is overall entertaining and the decent writing is supported by stellar comedic and heartfelt performances from its leads and a great supporting cast. Plus incredible cameos from Lisa Kudrow, Maya Rudolph and Will Forte. Could've gone without the student/teacher plot but Jessica Williams was also fantastic in her small part. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondMay 23, 2019
It's a really good movie, though totally different from any other "classic" teen movie - mostly due to the fact that almost nobody is mean to anyone else. There are no a-holes. The jocks and popular kids don't inflict physical and emotionalIt's a really good movie, though totally different from any other "classic" teen movie - mostly due to the fact that almost nobody is mean to anyone else. There are no a-holes. The jocks and popular kids don't inflict physical and emotional pain on the sympathetic smart kids. All that being said, it does a great job exploring the main pair's friendship. And the casting of the supporting cast is right on. Expand
13 of 27 users found this helpful1314
All this user's reviews
1
wingnutzMay 26, 2019
After seeing the very high critic scores, I was expecting to like, and perhaps love, this movie. I love Olivia Wilde, especially her performance in Drinking Buddies. I was really hopeful about her directorial debut. This comedy is notAfter seeing the very high critic scores, I was expecting to like, and perhaps love, this movie. I love Olivia Wilde, especially her performance in Drinking Buddies. I was really hopeful about her directorial debut. This comedy is not funny. There is no timing, no flow. The base premise, that these nerds want to party when they realize everyone else in their high school also got into amazing colleges while partying and screwing off, is silly, of course. But the flimsiness of it, especially because of no follow up, was sad. We kept waiting to laugh, but every performance was so stilted and every character so stereotyped (the over-the-top, effeminate gay theater boys, come on), we chuckled mildly once. After an hour, we walked out. We don't do that. It also made me think it may be a generational thing. But I really don't think so. We love these coming-of-age stories, from Superbad, American Pie, Clueless, Fast Times at Ridgemont High, even American Graffiti. This was just unfunny and bad.

I hope Ms. Wilde gets another shot at directing. But I really hope these ridiculous critic reviews don;t go to her head. Look at the mixed viewer reviews. When critic/viewer reviews are so misaligned, something is not right
Expand
13 of 27 users found this helpful1314
All this user's reviews
0
insicknessMay 29, 2019
This movie is unwatchable, irritating garbage. I had to stop watching after 10 minutes. It was making my eyes bleed. It thinks it's being clever and hip but there is no substance.
11 of 23 users found this helpful1112
All this user's reviews
1
KdpannellMay 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a boring movie. It tries to hard to be funny. If you watch the previews you have just about seen the movie. It is that bad. I would give it a 0 but it would not let me. Expand
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
10
StevenslabaughMay 23, 2019
I saw an advance screening of this movie and I thought it was very good. I usually hate comedies but this movie is fresh, original and constantly funny throughout. Olivia Wilde did amazing for her directorial debut, there's an underwaterI saw an advance screening of this movie and I thought it was very good. I usually hate comedies but this movie is fresh, original and constantly funny throughout. Olivia Wilde did amazing for her directorial debut, there's an underwater scene that is absolutely beautiful. Whenever I thought this movie was going to do something cliche, it flipped the script and took me by surprise. This movie has a broad appeal and I highly recommend it. Expand
14 of 30 users found this helpful1416
All this user's reviews
3
netflicJun 3, 2019
This movie was supposed to be a female version of “Superbad” which I liked a lot.
To be honest, there are few comedies that I really enjoy. But they do exist.
“Booksmart” was not one of them. I could see artistic capabilities in protagonists’
This movie was supposed to be a female version of “Superbad” which I liked a lot.
To be honest, there are few comedies that I really enjoy. But they do exist.
“Booksmart” was not one of them. I could see artistic capabilities in protagonists’ performances but for the most part they were over-acting. Besides, they should not play high schoolers. They looked early thirty to me. Jokes were not that funny, and directing, though quite energetic was mediocre at best.

Do not believe critics and do not waste your time and money.
Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
0
DOUGKJun 4, 2019
I was fooled by the good reviews, this is a terrible movie, terrible story, acting, ideas, etc. Why anyone would think otherwise is incredible. Nothing about this movie is worth seeing. I have not walked out of a movie in many years but II was fooled by the good reviews, this is a terrible movie, terrible story, acting, ideas, etc. Why anyone would think otherwise is incredible. Nothing about this movie is worth seeing. I have not walked out of a movie in many years but I walked out of this one and my wife stayed but said it only got worse. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
amjudge01May 28, 2019
This was one of the funniest movies I've seen in YEARS. Plus the acting and storyline were amazing. No downsides to this movie. Go support women filmmakers and women-centered stories by seeing this beautiful film!
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
8
mainstreamkidMay 25, 2019
I enjoyed this film quite a bit. I think it's a very well-paced comedy, the dialogue is dynamic and funny, and pretty much every single joke lands. The only real issues I had with this film were its 'MTV show' moments. It feels like there's aI enjoyed this film quite a bit. I think it's a very well-paced comedy, the dialogue is dynamic and funny, and pretty much every single joke lands. The only real issues I had with this film were its 'MTV show' moments. It feels like there's a song playing over the film every 5 minutes, but it does help that a majority of those songs were, in my opinion, pretty great. Other than that, Booksmart pretty much nailed it.

A huge amount of people are comparing it to Superbad, and I do get why they're doing that. I recognize that they do seem to have a lot of similarities, but I think their tones are completely different.

I don't think Booksmart is a good comedy because of its Superbad similarities and how aware it is of the generation it's portraying and presenting itself to. I think Booksmart is a great comedy because it was able to feel very much like its own thing despite of its Superbad similarities and how aware it is of the generation it's portraying and presenting itself to. And to me, that's super-good, just like the film itself.
Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
levistringMay 24, 2019
A really funny movie in the vein of Superbad. The women in this are hilarious and some great cameos from 2000s SNL. My wife and I both loved it and will probably see again 10/10. There hasn't been a great comedy like this for years. Must See IMO.
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryMay 28, 2019
The story of high school nerds going crazy isn't new. Although it's usually teen boys, this film features 2 girls (which has also been done before). This duo spent their school days studying, until they realize that they forgot to have fun.The story of high school nerds going crazy isn't new. Although it's usually teen boys, this film features 2 girls (which has also been done before). This duo spent their school days studying, until they realize that they forgot to have fun. To rectify the situation, they set out on a series of sometimes amusing misadventures. The characters are enthusiastic and a few of the supporting ones are enjoyable. The writing is sometimes funny, but much of it flails. Audience members who can more recently relate to their school years will probably find this more entertaining. As it is, it's always energetic and occasionally amusing. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442May 27, 2019
I absolutely loved this film. It had a banging, funky soundtrack like Superbad and it's basically that film with chicks but actually it's even deeper in terms of it's characters and manages to be politically progressive without being eitherI absolutely loved this film. It had a banging, funky soundtrack like Superbad and it's basically that film with chicks but actually it's even deeper in terms of it's characters and manages to be politically progressive without being either patronising or daft about it. Put it this way, it's a bit better than 'The Hustle!' I found it so memorable and unique in tone. The girls have an awesome chemistry on screen and it's just a joy to watch. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
usualleeMay 29, 2019
Kind of bought into the hype and went to see this. Wasn't sure what to expect. Pleasantly surprised - this is the funniest movie I've seen in YEARS! Some of the comments on here are of dubious value, to say the least. "Aggressively promotingKind of bought into the hype and went to see this. Wasn't sure what to expect. Pleasantly surprised - this is the funniest movie I've seen in YEARS! Some of the comments on here are of dubious value, to say the least. "Aggressively promoting lesbianism"? Really? Did we watch the same movie? One of the characters happens to be a lesbian, yes. So what? Lesbians do exist. However, I'm pretty sure most didn't become a lesbian just because they watched a movie that had a lesbian in it. I mean, come on.

It's too bad so people feel so threatened by anything even slightly different from the "norm". Also, everybody's just so damn excited to be able to get OUTRAGED by something - anything!- these days. And to engage in ostentatious virtue-signalling. On both the right AND the left! Anyway I kinda hate politics, so why am I talking about politics? Because every last damn thing gets politicized these days, I suppose. Forget politics. Just enjoy a genuinely hilarious comedy that is raunchy and boundary-pushing but has a really good heart.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
rhaddish7May 25, 2019
This show was so funny! It definitely is one of my favorite movies. Everyone in the theater was clapping afterwards and laughing hysterically. It is shocking that it is Olivia Wilde's first directorial debut. Definitely a must see.
7 of 16 users found this helpful79
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeMay 24, 2019
Yes, it is a typical coming of age film, but the kids aren't just told to have fun, the supervisor is a smart cookie.

Booksmart Wilde has got it. I think so. I mean, there have been plenty debut directors hitting home runs in couple of
Yes, it is a typical coming of age film, but the kids aren't just told to have fun, the supervisor is a smart cookie.

Booksmart

Wilde has got it. I think so. I mean, there have been plenty debut directors hitting home runs in couple of years. And even though, the director, Olivia Wilde, isn't changing the game or flipping the table, but her rhythm is adaptable to those ever-changing background score that often transcends into a catchy song. Watch her craft a sensible theme that leans towards drama or comedy, within a snap. This risky element in the script does hover around the dangerous territory and when it has to get its hands dirty, it whimpers. The drama is a bit transparent and emotions overridden. The equation between the lead characters, despite of being shallow and backstage when taken lightly, is more absorbent than when it finally reveals its true self.

And no matter how smartly Wilde choreograph these fights with using productive angles and expressive background score, the cheesy liners that initiates the conversations cannot be pulled off with all the distractions possible; no matter how elegant. Beanie Feldstein is the winner. Clearly. Mostly, because she has got a leader-alike role. She is up for anything, overpowering everyone, her personality is, in fairness, crowd pleasing. Her know-it-all attitude draws you in and her.. well, friendship tames you into adoring her.

Kaitlyn Dever, on the other hand, is the underrated star whose zest to keep things vanilla helps survive their friendship. But, surprisingly, as a character, Feldstein can't even stand alone, and Dever is strong when alone, this is where things get juicy and also come to an end; a bit early I'd assume. At the end of the day, this will always be the beckoning of Wilde's talent, that were maybe hidden maybe not, but what's sure is that she is here to stay, in her comic arena, not experimenting but confident in her punch lines.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
imtheonlytyeJun 3, 2019
The movie isn't that good. It tries so hard to be superbad and it utterly fails at it. I love Jonah Hill, but his sister tries to be like him so bad it's obnoxious. It's unrealistic to the point that it isnt even funny. And i'm not even gonnaThe movie isn't that good. It tries so hard to be superbad and it utterly fails at it. I love Jonah Hill, but his sister tries to be like him so bad it's obnoxious. It's unrealistic to the point that it isnt even funny. And i'm not even gonna start with the excessive feminism, like just make a movie about girls if you fancy female led roles, but why do you have to constantly remind us and shove feminism down people's throats? Also, a lot of things that happened in this movie like literally made no sense. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15May 28, 2019
This is my favorite comedy movie of 2019, one of my favorite movies of 2019, and one of my favorite movies of all time. The chemistry between Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein was so natural and hilarious. Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie FeldsteinThis is my favorite comedy movie of 2019, one of my favorite movies of 2019, and one of my favorite movies of all time. The chemistry between Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein was so natural and hilarious. Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein gave stupendous performances that were hilarious and emotionally touching. Noah Galvin, Billie Lourd, Skyler Gisondo, Jessica Williams, and Jason Sudeikis's supporting performances were terrific and really funny. The writing and screenplay were funny and fantastic. Olivia Wilde's direction was great. Also I thought the soundtrack was pretty good. Overall it was a really enjoyable and funny movie. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
9
vischallaMay 28, 2019
This was by far one of the funniest and smartest coming of age movies I have ever seen. The on-screen chemistry of Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein feels authentic and real. The jokes are laugh out loud funny and the story is full of heart.This was by far one of the funniest and smartest coming of age movies I have ever seen. The on-screen chemistry of Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein feels authentic and real. The jokes are laugh out loud funny and the story is full of heart. This is a movie I will definitely be revisiting for years to come. With so many memorable lines it is an instant classic. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
10
j1trainMay 26, 2019
Metacritic has a misogyny and homophobia problem as evidenced by many of the negative user reviews here, many of which I assume were written by people who haven't even seen the movie. Booksmart is a "female Superbad," sure, but it's also aMetacritic has a misogyny and homophobia problem as evidenced by many of the negative user reviews here, many of which I assume were written by people who haven't even seen the movie. Booksmart is a "female Superbad," sure, but it's also a great movie that's written, directed and acted well. It also treats all its characters with humanity, something some of these misogynistic and homophobic user reviewers might want to try, rather than continuing their futile campaigns for men's rights. Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
10
WildnOutAdvntrMay 28, 2019
A film like no other, it's everything we needed and more! I had to see it twice because I was laughing so hard the first time, I missed dialogue!
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96May 31, 2019
It's the rave reviews that drew me into this one, and I just didn't think it looked all that fresh or funny to begin with. It really is just a female 'Superbad', (add to the fact that Jonah Hill's younger sister Beanie Feldstein starred inIt's the rave reviews that drew me into this one, and I just didn't think it looked all that fresh or funny to begin with. It really is just a female 'Superbad', (add to the fact that Jonah Hill's younger sister Beanie Feldstein starred in this makes it feel even more like that), with most of the jokes falling flat for me. There were a handful of mildly amusing moments for me, and Feldstein is mostly charming throughout (the same can't be said for Kaitlyn Dever however, who've I've always found to be really annoying in most films.) Overall, only a handful of decent moments and Feldstein's performance didn't really make this one too worth it for me. I really think Olivia Wilde should just stick to acting. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
MarkHReviewsMay 28, 2019
Writing a good comedy is hard. Writing a “coming of age” comedy that doesn’t sink into a bottomless pit of existential angst or become so sugary that it induces diabetes is even harder. “Booksmart” is so good it generates irrationalWriting a good comedy is hard. Writing a “coming of age” comedy that doesn’t sink into a bottomless pit of existential angst or become so sugary that it induces diabetes is even harder. “Booksmart” is so good it generates irrational exuberance about this tired, clichéd genre.

Directing her first feature film, actress Olivia Wilde takes charge with a self-confidence usually reserved for a veteran director at the peak of her powers. Her steady hand helps the characters navigate a potentially off-putting barrage of f-bombs and graphic sexual language to reveal themselves to be irreverent but sweet, outrageous but real. It’s a balancing act Wilde appears to manage effortlessly.

Writers Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins and Katie Silberman also deserve praise. The screenplay for “Booksmart” mixes laugh-out-loud humor (the doll fantasy sequence is the funniest scene I’ve seen this year) with characters crafted so winningly you are pulling for them while laughing at them and with them. The smart script also offers plenty of surprises.

The story line is slight, but all that’s needed. On the last day of school, Molly (Beanie Feldstein) and Amy (Kaitlyn Dever) recognize that, perhaps, they’ve been too singularly focused on their academic success and decide to attend their classmates’ year-end blow-out the night before graduation. While the story structure is formulaic, it serves its purpose.

The glue that holds this film together is the chemistry between Molly and Amy. Feldstein announced herself as a young actress of note in last year’s “Lady Bird” (being Jonah Hill’s sister probably didn’t hurt her impeccable comedic timing). Dever, first seen on TV’s “Justified” (2011-2015) and the film “Short Term 12” is a revelation. It’s an indication of this film’s self-assurance that Dever’s character is gay, but her sexual orientation does not become a cause, a crusade or even the primary motivation for her actions. She just is. Molly and Amy argue, criticize and support each other fiercely. While doing so, they knit together a film that is gross, profane, sweet, touching, uplifting, consistently insightful, quirky and refreshingly funny.

The texture of the film is further buoyed by some key actors in minor roles. Jason Sudeikis (“We’re the Millers,” “Horrible Bosses 2” and Wilde’s real-life partner) adds a deft touch as the needy school principal/part-time Lyft driver. Jessica Williams (“The Daily Show”) fully embodies the “cool teacher.” Lisa Kudrow and Will Forte, as Amy’s parents, are compellingly confused by their daughter’s sexual orientation while remaining cloyingly, cluelessly supportive.

This is a film that crackles with smart dialogue and laughs that are all well-earned. It’s the funniest movie I’ve seen in years. At the screening I attended, most of the people in the audience were laughing out loud early on. This may be the best film I’ve seen at capturing fully the gamut of emotions - the confusion, optimism, pain, self-consciousness, unearned self-assurance and burgeoning self-awareness – that late adolescence represents. It’s one of the best films of the year.
Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
7
WaelJun 10, 2019
Fast-paced and relatable, "Booksmart" is about two high school best friends and seniors trying to get to a party on their last evening of high school to prove they're not just what the title suggests. It's funny, and has some ridiculousFast-paced and relatable, "Booksmart" is about two high school best friends and seniors trying to get to a party on their last evening of high school to prove they're not just what the title suggests. It's funny, and has some ridiculous moments that are truly laughable, along with some subtle jokes here and there. The chemistry between the two leads actresses, Dever and Feldstein, is impeccable and the messy direction is a nice way to go. This is a flimsy, yet original coming-of-age film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews