Annapurna Pictures | Release Date: May 24, 2019
4.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 545 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
254
Mixed:
44
Negative:
247
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
FilmopinionatorMay 30, 2019
This movie is a political correctness piece of trash. To have it compared to superbad is a disgrace. It's sad how the world has become so soft and oblivious to this trendy nonsense
17 of 27 users found this helpful1710
All this user's reviews
0
kszwedaMay 30, 2019
Very, very weak movie. Don't bother yourself. Cheap rip off of the Superbad.
21 of 38 users found this helpful2117
All this user's reviews
1
CanadianMikeTVMay 30, 2019
This movie is just about pushing terrible political point of views. Just a sad let down.
18 of 33 users found this helpful1815
All this user's reviews
1
GreatMartinMay 28, 2019
Every time I walk into a movie I have high expectations and every time I see a boring, stupid 'comedy' and don't even laugh once, the first thing I ask myself is "Why didn't I walk out?" and the second thing I do is tell myself "At least IEvery time I walk into a movie I have high expectations and every time I see a boring, stupid 'comedy' and don't even laugh once, the first thing I ask myself is "Why didn't I walk out?" and the second thing I do is tell myself "At least I won't see anything worse the rest of the year!"

Sadly I didn't walk out of "Booksmart" and I hope it is the worst movie I will see this year! I really have nothing positive to say about the cast except to ask if today's teens are really this vulgar, this dumb or is it the screenplay by 4 writers and the director showing them to be this way?

The worst part--and that is saying a lot--is the cringe-worthy performance and lines by Lisa Kudrow as a parent. We won't even talk about the 'father'!

Trying to be positive--and not understanding why-- Meta Critic had a 84% rating by critics and 5.6 out of 10 by the audience.

Please, please if you see it let me know what YOU think of "Booksmart" though you would be smart not to go!

synopsis

The story follows Dever and Feldstein's characters, two academic superstars and best friends who, on the eve of their high school graduation, suddenly realize that they should have worked less and played more. Determined never to fall short of their peers, the girls set out on a mission to cram four years of fun into one night.
Expand
17 of 35 users found this helpful1718
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondMay 23, 2019
It's a really good movie, though totally different from any other "classic" teen movie - mostly due to the fact that almost nobody is mean to anyone else. There are no a-holes. The jocks and popular kids don't inflict physical and emotionalIt's a really good movie, though totally different from any other "classic" teen movie - mostly due to the fact that almost nobody is mean to anyone else. There are no a-holes. The jocks and popular kids don't inflict physical and emotional pain on the sympathetic smart kids. All that being said, it does a great job exploring the main pair's friendship. And the casting of the supporting cast is right on. Expand
15 of 32 users found this helpful1517
All this user's reviews
10
StevenslabaughMay 23, 2019
I saw an advance screening of this movie and I thought it was very good. I usually hate comedies but this movie is fresh, original and constantly funny throughout. Olivia Wilde did amazing for her directorial debut, there's an underwaterI saw an advance screening of this movie and I thought it was very good. I usually hate comedies but this movie is fresh, original and constantly funny throughout. Olivia Wilde did amazing for her directorial debut, there's an underwater scene that is absolutely beautiful. Whenever I thought this movie was going to do something cliche, it flipped the script and took me by surprise. This movie has a broad appeal and I highly recommend it. Expand
21 of 45 users found this helpful2124
All this user's reviews
1
wingnutzMay 26, 2019
After seeing the very high critic scores, I was expecting to like, and perhaps love, this movie. I love Olivia Wilde, especially her performance in Drinking Buddies. I was really hopeful about her directorial debut. This comedy is notAfter seeing the very high critic scores, I was expecting to like, and perhaps love, this movie. I love Olivia Wilde, especially her performance in Drinking Buddies. I was really hopeful about her directorial debut. This comedy is not funny. There is no timing, no flow. The base premise, that these nerds want to party when they realize everyone else in their high school also got into amazing colleges while partying and screwing off, is silly, of course. But the flimsiness of it, especially because of no follow up, was sad. We kept waiting to laugh, but every performance was so stilted and every character so stereotyped (the over-the-top, effeminate gay theater boys, come on), we chuckled mildly once. After an hour, we walked out. We don't do that. It also made me think it may be a generational thing. But I really don't think so. We love these coming-of-age stories, from Superbad, American Pie, Clueless, Fast Times at Ridgemont High, even American Graffiti. This was just unfunny and bad.

I hope Ms. Wilde gets another shot at directing. But I really hope these ridiculous critic reviews don;t go to her head. Look at the mixed viewer reviews. When critic/viewer reviews are so misaligned, something is not right
Expand
15 of 33 users found this helpful1518
All this user's reviews
2
dontjimmymejulzMay 25, 2019
An annoying fat girl and a lesbian attend Happy, Happy Rainbow High School where everyone is tolerant of everything and everyone and a good 60% of the school's population are gay or transgender or a non-binary something or other. Anyway, teenAn annoying fat girl and a lesbian attend Happy, Happy Rainbow High School where everyone is tolerant of everything and everyone and a good 60% of the school's population are gay or transgender or a non-binary something or other. Anyway, teen stuff happens and none of it's particularly funny or original and by the end of it I just wanted to watch 'Fast Times at Ridgemont High' again. Expand
27 of 63 users found this helpful2736
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielMay 24, 2019
Trivial. Self-absorbed. Verbose. Superficial. And yet, this waste of film gets 84% critic score with a "must see"label. How presumptuous!
The problem is not its promotion of lesbianism per se. It's just that this film is only about the navel
Trivial. Self-absorbed. Verbose. Superficial. And yet, this waste of film gets 84% critic score with a "must see"label. How presumptuous!
The problem is not its promotion of lesbianism per se. It's just that this film is only about the navel gazing of two teenagers. You don't need to make a movie to "send a message": You write an essay. This has ZERO CINEMATOGRAPHIC VALUE.
America is truly sinking right and now left.
Expand
24 of 65 users found this helpful2441
All this user's reviews
10
PlasticsOct 19, 2019
One of the greatest comedies of 2019. a vivid and imaginative hangout movie with great characters, AND a strong directorial debut by a great actress as well. Don't listen to haters. Loved this one so much - watched it twice in one day.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingJul 13, 2019
Charming, amusing, and well-acted, "Booksmart" is a surprisingly solid entry in the coming-of-age genre. Olivia Wilde is confident in her directorial debut and the cast is excellent as well.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TejasNairOct 4, 2019
Of course there's a lot going on here in Olivia Wilde's debut directorial Booksmart that just took me by surprise as I got mauled to hypnotic pleasure with the charming and raunchy soundtrack that this sweet little story about friendship andOf course there's a lot going on here in Olivia Wilde's debut directorial Booksmart that just took me by surprise as I got mauled to hypnotic pleasure with the charming and raunchy soundtrack that this sweet little story about friendship and "having fun" is picturized on and I can't deny how much fun this would be if you were to catch it with your best buddy. TN. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gabrielramosJul 15, 2019
One of the greatest coming-of-age movies of the decade, truly understands the generation it's trying to speak to. I wish every movie about teenagers had that much RESPECT for its subject.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Aug 25, 2019
As said Cindy Lauper: girls just want to have fun. The amusing one night adventure of two geeks who wants to spend the best before of the prom. The sequence of hallucinating dolls justify the ticket price.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
KeithDowJul 13, 2019
The producers of 'Booksmart' eagerly tried to associate it with 'Superbad' in what is now in retrospect a naked attempt at "punching up."

And before you say it, yes, we do know Beanie Feldstein is Jonah Hill's sister. The bottom line is
The producers of 'Booksmart' eagerly tried to associate it with 'Superbad' in what is now in retrospect a naked attempt at "punching up."

And before you say it, yes, we do know Beanie Feldstein is Jonah Hill's sister.

The bottom line is that far too many developments in the story are illogical and far too many of the jokes land with a thud for it to be enjoyable.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CinemaCrushJan 3, 2020
Not sure where all these negative reviews. Is there a coalition of people trolling the movie because they're afraid of a film where the gay character isn't stereotyped or marginalized?? Anyway... think Superbad with a brain, a bigger heart,Not sure where all these negative reviews. Is there a coalition of people trolling the movie because they're afraid of a film where the gay character isn't stereotyped or marginalized?? Anyway... think Superbad with a brain, a bigger heart, and a smarter and more realistic script. Sure it gets a little out of hand here and there for a laugh, but almost none of it feels 'low-blow' like films such as Superbad. Great cameos from Lisa Kudrow and a few SNL greats. Beanie Feldstein (Molly) might be one of the most charming young actresses of our time. She'll be winning Oscars for dramas in 15 years. So talented and so realistic. Just a stellar performance in a well written coming of age comedy that relies less on shock value and more on tugging at the heart. Think Superbad meets last years Eighth Grade. A solid 8/10 and this genre usually isn't my cup of tea. Bravo to all involved! If you just want some genuine laughs and aren't looking for something too heady, make it this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
fightwarriorOct 21, 2019
que puedo decir es una pelicula que retrata lo aburrida que es la juventud actual, no es una mala pelicula pero no esta al nivel de SUPER BAD, podria decir que esta hasta por debajo de AMERICAN PIE, su ritmo es lento, sus momento graciososque puedo decir es una pelicula que retrata lo aburrida que es la juventud actual, no es una mala pelicula pero no esta al nivel de SUPER BAD, podria decir que esta hasta por debajo de AMERICAN PIE, su ritmo es lento, sus momento graciosos son forzados aunque si tiene algunos que valen la pena, pero en conjunto creo que esta bien para dominguear, pero no se me antoja volver a verla, el unico personaje que vale la pena es GIGI y acabando de verla preferi ver REVENGE OF THE NERDS Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Morty_McFlayJan 8, 2020
Had the potential to be just about the most leftist-driven “inclusive” comedy meant to push horrible political views, and there’s a bit of that, but ultimately it didn’t have a significant impact on the movie, so I didn’t mind. I thought itHad the potential to be just about the most leftist-driven “inclusive” comedy meant to push horrible political views, and there’s a bit of that, but ultimately it didn’t have a significant impact on the movie, so I didn’t mind. I thought it was pretty funny and about as original as a teen comedy can be nowadays. I like the two lead actresses, and the supporting cast is great too. One running joke about an insane girl at their school had me cracking up every single time it came up, it was hilarious. I looove the ending. Don’t immediately disregard it or degrade it because of its politics, like I almost did. You might miss a pretty entertaining movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
GrantD243Sep 5, 2019
The story is realistic and unrealistic at the same time, and it's a damn good time at the theater. It improves upon recent entries into this sub-section of the genre and is one of the smarter comedies of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
thegldtAug 7, 2019
Raw and masterful comedy. (Plus points for the Apple commercials soundtrack.) I can't wait to see what Olivia Wilde does next.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
abbycwlAug 12, 2019
All of this worked for me. The characters are original and fresh, the action doesn't stop for a second. The performers are clearly having the time of their lives, there are jokes for days but it's also emotionally resonant and doesn't feelAll of this worked for me. The characters are original and fresh, the action doesn't stop for a second. The performers are clearly having the time of their lives, there are jokes for days but it's also emotionally resonant and doesn't feel trivial. Super fun and great. If you haven't seen it yet, don't wait! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
FlipjeFeb 26, 2020
This is truly an awful film. I can only imagine the writers concocting this story with one message in mind: make these characters quirky and also one dimensional. 'Quirky' is all they have going for them which makes them boring. Sure, thereThis is truly an awful film. I can only imagine the writers concocting this story with one message in mind: make these characters quirky and also one dimensional. 'Quirky' is all they have going for them which makes them boring. Sure, there are messages of female empowerment yet it does nothing to propel a meaningful story. Tell a story. Come on. Here, each character broadcasts an over the top persona that is difficult to relate to. Initially, I liked that the one girl had a crush on a skater girl. Yet, we know nothing about her within the first forty minutes of the film. All we know of these highly educated outsiders is they are outsiders. That's it. Each scene only fosters a certain stereotype that is exagerated to the point of dullness. Slut girl acts like a slut. Dumb guy acts dumb. Rich kid acts rich. And the two friends are just two friends who find out the people they looked down on are actually goinst to prestigious schools. Wow, twist... So what is their motivation? To party. That's it? That's it. The whole wants vs. needs of screenplay writing 101 does not even happen here. They want to prove to people they don't care about that they can party as well. I mean, if the beginning of the film sets these two up as individuals who could care less about what others think of them, why would this matter? Their only character trait is they are indifferent to the opinions of others. And that is shattered because the movie needs to happen. These are screenplay ideas running around as supposed characters and nothing else. And on their journey they meet other purposelessy strange characters. There have been wonderful female friendship films with fleshed-out, wonderful and quirky characters. Think Romy and Michele's High School Reunion. If you want female empowerment and self-awareness, look no further than the seminal Thelma and Louise. I have loved three seasons of Glow on Netflix mainly because the writers care to build on the dynamics and relationship of the characters. But I could not make it through this forced and over the top film. I didn't laugh. I rolled my eyes as it felt like this film had the concept of something interesting and fun without actually following through on it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Slovenly_MuseAug 2, 2019
A stylish, weird, silly, sex-positive, empathetic high school coming-of-age film. What's not to love?
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
cylackMay 26, 2019
Don't understand the hype. Mildly funny, maybe 1 or 2 lough out loud moments. Took bits and pieces from every teen comedy done in the past, sprinkled in a heavy dose of modern PC. Should have expanded on the theme it touched on briefly of theDon't understand the hype. Mildly funny, maybe 1 or 2 lough out loud moments. Took bits and pieces from every teen comedy done in the past, sprinkled in a heavy dose of modern PC. Should have expanded on the theme it touched on briefly of the obsessiveness to get into elite colleges and whether success or happiness is really guaranteed. Expand
11 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
6
leburn98Jun 1, 2019
Booksmart tries it's best to be this generation's Fast Times and Ridgemont High or Super Bad, but ultimately fails in it's execution.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
4
dchipps1945May 26, 2019
I knew this film was a comedy, and it's got a few hilarious bits. Still, as a coming-of-age study of friendship, I thought it would be more serious and thoughtful. Instead it's a mixture of Clueless, Animal House, and American Graffiti, onlyI knew this film was a comedy, and it's got a few hilarious bits. Still, as a coming-of-age study of friendship, I thought it would be more serious and thoughtful. Instead it's a mixture of Clueless, Animal House, and American Graffiti, only on speed and set to the beat of a jackhammer. That is, until the third act, when we learn everybody's really a nice person. Oh, and it ends at an airport, which I've never seen a movie do before. To call the story formulaic would be understating the case. Not a bad film, but nothing special at all, in my opinion.

This wasn't a bad movie if you're up for a hyperactive fantasy world sort of flick, but it's really nothing special. The plot is formulaic
Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
6
AcaciaJun 2, 2019
I really looked forward to seeing this movie and really wanted to love it. Unfortunately, I did not love it. Can’t say exactly why. But, it just felt so over the top at times and unrealistic. I loved the relationship between the twoI really looked forward to seeing this movie and really wanted to love it. Unfortunately, I did not love it. Can’t say exactly why. But, it just felt so over the top at times and unrealistic. I loved the relationship between the two girls. Loved their chemistry, but felt a lot of the movie didn’t ring true for me. It was very raunchy in parts and the kids behavior was so stereotypical in places, it was painful to watch. Just didn’t ring true with me. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
keydancerJun 6, 2019
Good highschool comedy, with good music and easy to follow comedy with the all everyday embarrassed, falling down getting up, quarrels with a wink to reality, choices made and not made, and the regret off never made choices. that all in aGood highschool comedy, with good music and easy to follow comedy with the all everyday embarrassed, falling down getting up, quarrels with a wink to reality, choices made and not made, and the regret off never made choices. that all in a comedy, a comedy that need not a lot of humour to understand, easy watching, good mimic and the actors living in the role so that the comedy is on a silber scale presented, Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
CapnBillMay 28, 2019
Well developed characters in a hilarious counterpoint to Superbad, but you have to allow it license from the literal for it to work.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001May 26, 2019
As it happened at the time with Get Out, then with Crazy Rich Asians and now with this film, it's quite clear to me that American critics are desperate to be inclusive.

I comment this because after finishing this film I found myself quite
As it happened at the time with Get Out, then with Crazy Rich Asians and now with this film, it's quite clear to me that American critics are desperate to be inclusive.

I comment this because after finishing this film I found myself quite confused because many of the opinions that I was reading and that I was finding about the story of this film made me ask again and again what those people saw that I didn't.

Olivia Wilde basically made Superbad female version and that's not her fault. Well in a way it is because she chose that script to debut as a director but the rest is the fault of the writers because they were the ones who implemented this story but analyzing it, you will realize that you're practically watching the same film. The only difference is that the main characters in this case are women and they don't have a third character to finish the jokes like Fogell.

Although what interested the guys in Superbad was to get laid, the only difference with these girls is that they try to have fun considering that they apparently think they wasted their time in high school studying to the fullest trying to enter a good college.
Because apparently studying hard and not living at parties with drugs and alcohol is only a crime of the nerds. What a cliche isn't?

But it doesn't stop there. Once the story makes clear where is going, the path that follows is saturated with clichés until the ending.
I don't understand in what way anyone would tell me this is a fresh film, that it reinvents the genre, that it brings something new to the table because I didn't see it anywhere.

Does that mean it's a bad film? Actually bad wouldn't be the word I would chose but irrelevant.
I cannot deny in any way that more stories are needed with female characters, which obviously need more films directed by women.
That the voices of these women should be delivering strong stories and in general terms Booksmart has some of those things I mention.
The director is a woman, the main characters and screenwriters too and I applauded they have that opportunity and that they have the forum for people to see and hear their work but don't disguise the importance of that proposal with the results delivered because I personally think that Booksmart has nothing original or new and that isn't necessarily a bad thing because how many film exists that repeat thematics? However, most of the time that is stressed and criticized and I don't see why in this case it was different and it became acclamation.
Expand
11 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
8
NightReviewsMay 29, 2019
In 2007, a little coming of age-high school comedy, with a very modest budget of $20 million took the coming of age, modern high-school comedy canon by storm, and has yet to be trumped in over a decade. That little movie that could wasIn 2007, a little coming of age-high school comedy, with a very modest budget of $20 million took the coming of age, modern high-school comedy canon by storm, and has yet to be trumped in over a decade. That little movie that could was Superbad, a film that was written by real-life best friend Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, who, went on to becoming two of the most successful and prominent comedy writers of our generation. Generating real-life stories based on what happened to them, including the infamous period-blood dance scene, the cocaine-karaoke scene and other incredibly funny scenarios that we thought could ever happen in a million years, the two writers have a knack of garnering insatiable laughs with well-received, cortically and commercially successful films. Luckily for us, Superbad was a film that starred two breakout stars in Michael Cera and Jonah Hill, who would go on to becoming staples in the comedy world as well as the Seth Rogen’s comedy empire. But like all good things in this world, change is upon us. With the recent influx of female voices being heard and stories being told, we fast forward twelve years, and finally have our very own, female-centric Superbad with Booksmart. And as if destiny would have it, ironically enough, this kick-ass female story of missed opportunities and revelations delivers endless laughs, sometimes cries and funny enough, stars Jonah Hill’s little sister Beanie Feldstein. How’s that for a coincidence?

Directed by OIivia Wilde; yup, the actress of Tron, her and Drinking Buddies tackles directing duties and nails her debut feature film with so much heart, love and authenticity that Booksmart feels like a veteran comedy with constant one/two punch laughs, confidence and endless emotion. Stylistically relevant, adapting much of the real-life comedy that made the Rogen/Apatow comedies of the 2000s so successful, Wilde directs a script that has been in development for over a decade to reflect so many of the many truths of high-school youth today. Making the film contemporary with scenes including Uber, social media and of course implementing characters that aren’t only heterosexual, allows the film’s fresh vibes to come naturally off the screen, even if Amy and Molly’s (Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein) cool personalities don’t.

Booksmart is a movie that we have been waiting for, for a long time. The film’s hook may be a completely authentic female take on the high school experience, produced by Annapurna Pictures, headed by Megan Ellison, directed by a woman, starring two promising young female actresses, written entirely by women and edited by a woman, but I can assure you, these highly feminine factors are not the only reason to visit your multiplex this summer. Aside from being a female-centric comedy, after everything is said and done, it is a comedy, and I am here to attest to the fact that, it is really funny. Aside from the star-making performances of actresses Feldstein and Kaitlyn Dever, writers Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins and Katie Silberman, deliver quippy, snappy and hilarious dialogue that highlights the very different, yet strikingly similar high school personalities of their characters, without making them caricatures of figures we have come to expect from the high school comedy genre. Each character depicted in Booksmart are culminations of so many different personalities; mixing gender, sexuality, religions, class and cultures into real life characters that not only become relatable, but also become memorable. Booksmart highlights that jocks JUST aren’t jocks, and the gay students JUST aren’t gay. Every person depicted in the film is a version of someone we all knew or currently know in real life.

Although there is an array of comedy from supporting characters, the majority of the laughs stems from the bond and chemistry between our two amazing leads. While Dever and Feldstein bring true laughs to their characters Amy and Molly, unfortunately, both Amy and Molly feel like they have been missing out on their high school shenanigans. So, on the last day of high school before their graduation, Amy and Molly decide to go for it, and indulge in all the craziness that is high school, in one night. As expected, hilarity, craziness and debauchery ensues, and the two bets friends find themselves in very different places by the end of the night.

Booksmart is easily the funniest and smartest comedy of 2019.

Raunchy and totally inappropriate in so many scenes, Wilde’s Booksmart is a winning combination of American expectations for comedy films with many social expectations and commentary. Even though Amy and Molly got into their desired schools, working and studying their butts off for the whole course of high school, when Molly finds out that the slutty cheerleader archetype, the stoner and the jock all got into the same schools, becomes a little bit of a bittersweet realization.
Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
parrtarJun 3, 2019
Best movie I have seen in years. Tender, hilarious and whip-smart. Olivia Wilde has proven herself to be a capable and visionary director. The two starts are charismatic and lovable. The jokes are laugh-out-loud funny. Just the right mix ofBest movie I have seen in years. Tender, hilarious and whip-smart. Olivia Wilde has proven herself to be a capable and visionary director. The two starts are charismatic and lovable. The jokes are laugh-out-loud funny. Just the right mix of raunchy and sweet! Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442May 27, 2019
I absolutely loved this film. It had a banging, funky soundtrack like Superbad and it's basically that film with chicks but actually it's even deeper in terms of it's characters and manages to be politically progressive without being eitherI absolutely loved this film. It had a banging, funky soundtrack like Superbad and it's basically that film with chicks but actually it's even deeper in terms of it's characters and manages to be politically progressive without being either patronising or daft about it. Put it this way, it's a bit better than 'The Hustle!' I found it so memorable and unique in tone. The girls have an awesome chemistry on screen and it's just a joy to watch. Expand
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
10
ZoozookatMay 28, 2019
Pitch perfect in every way. The best high school film hands down and I’m a 34 yr old woman.
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
1
FilmladyJun 1, 2019
Ok, did Annapurna pay people to write good reviews about this film or am I in a twighlight zone where potty humor and over the top charecterizations of real humans is now the norm. This movie was bad in so many ways I don't know where toOk, did Annapurna pay people to write good reviews about this film or am I in a twighlight zone where potty humor and over the top charecterizations of real humans is now the norm. This movie was bad in so many ways I don't know where to begin.
I suppose I should be supporting this film cause of the lack of female driven stories and women directors getting their shot in the industry. But I just can't get behind blatantly bad material with obvious jokes and and wackadoodle cliche charecters. Movies like Lady Bird we're funny, compelling, and original. This is what you get when American Pie and not another teen movie had a baby in 2019.
Expand
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
1
JOHN1941May 31, 2019
Have lost confidence in the pro reviewers because of this poor excuse for a teen story. We left after 30 minutes - I went back the next day to finish (thank you Mr. Manager) the film and it went further down the drain. If this is an accurateHave lost confidence in the pro reviewers because of this poor excuse for a teen story. We left after 30 minutes - I went back the next day to finish (thank you Mr. Manager) the film and it went further down the drain. If this is an accurate view of our high school kids today, we are in trouble. I do not think it is accurate from what I see in schools. The two girls even look embarrassed using the f word so much. Add lousy camera work, and you get a 1 because the theater was comfortable, though the story could have been worthy of the effort. I suggest rating films by the number of f words from now on. Expand
13 of 26 users found this helpful1313
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleMay 25, 2019
What sets Booksmart apart from the typical teen comedy is that it sticks the landing - it has a powerful ending, followed by a hilarious credit sequence. You can't appreciate the writing, the flow, and the directing in general until you'veWhat sets Booksmart apart from the typical teen comedy is that it sticks the landing - it has a powerful ending, followed by a hilarious credit sequence. You can't appreciate the writing, the flow, and the directing in general until you've seen it a second time. Also, have to say GREAT job in the casting department. Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1May 25, 2019
Booksmart is about a couple overachiever girls (Beanie Feldstein, from Neighbors 2 and Ladybird, and Kaitlyn Dever) who've spent their entire high school years studying and participating in student government. About to graduate and fearingBooksmart is about a couple overachiever girls (Beanie Feldstein, from Neighbors 2 and Ladybird, and Kaitlyn Dever) who've spent their entire high school years studying and participating in student government. About to graduate and fearing she may have wasted her social time, Feldstein's character decides they should attend a party before it's all over. (It's basically the old high school boys try to attend a party/lose their virginity style R-rated comedy but starring females.)

I found this to be really funny. The pizza delivery guy scene in particular had me in stitches.

When you get down to the bare bones, the story is the basic two best friends find themselves going down different paths trope. Also, the the high school doesn't feel very realistic and the movie is basically about privileged white people problems. But the execution is so good, it didn't bother me much.

Olivia Wilde's directorial debut is surprisingly strong. There are three visual and/or audio moments that are really well done.

Feldstein and Dever are pretty funny and relatable, especially Feldstein who brings so much energy and personality to the role. Heck, the entire cast is pretty good, especially Santa Clarita Diet's Skyler Gisondo as a weird, rich kid who tries to fit in and American Horror Story's Billie Lourd as a nutty party girl who inexplicably shows up wherever the leads are.

The trailers looked good, but the film surpassed my expectations and I recommend this.
Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
10
IloveaudraMay 25, 2019
This is a hilarious, of-the-moment comedy. Witty, warm and affecting. First rate acting. If you like fresh, modern movies, go see this now!
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
0
futurescrnwrtrJun 14, 2019
I hate this movie. If there was a number lower than 0, I would have chosen that instead. Yuck.
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
8
mainstreamkidMay 25, 2019
I enjoyed this film quite a bit. I think it's a very well-paced comedy, the dialogue is dynamic and funny, and pretty much every single joke lands. The only real issues I had with this film were its 'MTV show' moments. It feels like there's aI enjoyed this film quite a bit. I think it's a very well-paced comedy, the dialogue is dynamic and funny, and pretty much every single joke lands. The only real issues I had with this film were its 'MTV show' moments. It feels like there's a song playing over the film every 5 minutes, but it does help that a majority of those songs were, in my opinion, pretty great. Other than that, Booksmart pretty much nailed it.

A huge amount of people are comparing it to Superbad, and I do get why they're doing that. I recognize that they do seem to have a lot of similarities, but I think their tones are completely different.

I don't think Booksmart is a good comedy because of its Superbad similarities and how aware it is of the generation it's portraying and presenting itself to. I think Booksmart is a great comedy because it was able to feel very much like its own thing despite of its Superbad similarities and how aware it is of the generation it's portraying and presenting itself to. And to me, that's super-good, just like the film itself.
Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
8
OneSubtleDoseMay 25, 2019
As a reasonable fan of films in his early 30s. I felt the need to give an honest review. This film is not a 10. Even ignorant hate should not blind a person who made it all the way to scenes involving 'graphic lesbian sex' should admit whyAs a reasonable fan of films in his early 30s. I felt the need to give an honest review. This film is not a 10. Even ignorant hate should not blind a person who made it all the way to scenes involving 'graphic lesbian sex' should admit why their attention was held so long. Of course everything is black and white in today's social climate. Left/Right. This is about a film that I thought was pretty witty, well-paced, cute and hardly graphic in dialogue or scenes of adults kissing. Two cute young women kissing makes it graphic lesbian sex though. Like most men I am all for graphic lesbian sex in contextually appropriate moderation :) It's presence or absence will not make me rate a a quality comedy that lightly touched on a few issues without preaching. Excess of femininity is mocked, playful homophobic language used and future promiscuity glorified. It's all in jest. Lighten up folks on both sides. Feminists. Fight the good fight. I am glad people loved the film enough to rate it as a modern day classic. I do not. Trust in Will Forte & Jason Sudeikis; and a very impressive debut by Olivia Wilde. Score: Eight (Ball. For GiGi) & (10 for Diana Silvers) Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
8
angelsanzcorreaMay 27, 2019
Ignore the homophobe incels trying to bring this movie down, this is a light, fun and stylish coming-of-age teen comedy. Good writing, great performances and even an impressive cinematography. Superficial, sure, but well worth it.
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
10
usualleeMay 29, 2019
Kind of bought into the hype and went to see this. Wasn't sure what to expect. Pleasantly surprised - this is the funniest movie I've seen in YEARS! Some of the comments on here are of dubious value, to say the least. "Aggressively promotingKind of bought into the hype and went to see this. Wasn't sure what to expect. Pleasantly surprised - this is the funniest movie I've seen in YEARS! Some of the comments on here are of dubious value, to say the least. "Aggressively promoting lesbianism"? Really? Did we watch the same movie? One of the characters happens to be a lesbian, yes. So what? Lesbians do exist. However, I'm pretty sure most didn't become a lesbian just because they watched a movie that had a lesbian in it. I mean, come on.

It's too bad so people feel so threatened by anything even slightly different from the "norm". Also, everybody's just so damn excited to be able to get OUTRAGED by something - anything!- these days. And to engage in ostentatious virtue-signalling. On both the right AND the left! Anyway I kinda hate politics, so why am I talking about politics? Because every last damn thing gets politicized these days, I suppose. Forget politics. Just enjoy a genuinely hilarious comedy that is raunchy and boundary-pushing but has a really good heart.
Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
9
davidislesMay 25, 2019
I don't usually review films on here but the fact that this doesn't have a good audience score is unbelievable. This is a smart and funny comedy that is well acted and well directed. Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein shine as the two leadsI don't usually review films on here but the fact that this doesn't have a good audience score is unbelievable. This is a smart and funny comedy that is well acted and well directed. Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein shine as the two leads and all of the supporting characters are fun without being overdone. The music in this is great, it is well shot, it looks beautiful, and it does a pretty good job reflecting what a high school friendship can be. It might not be for everyone but it definitely is not a bad film. A Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
9
Wavy_YeezyMay 28, 2019
I was suprised with this movie. It was surprisingly absolutely hilarious. It reminded me a lot of mean girls and superbad like people are saying. Will go down as the most underrated movie this year.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
0
LamontRahadJenkJun 29, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Felt very forced. Comedy can never have someone plugged in to check a woke box, and this was no different. Comedy is organic. Comedy is real. Woke is the antithesis of Joke. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Jun 4, 2019
Similar to this year's "Fighting With My Family," Olivia Wilde's coming-of-age film "Booksmart" is a piece that was initially sold on the premise of being a comedy. And, though it is more comedically focused, with a lot of its oddball humorSimilar to this year's "Fighting With My Family," Olivia Wilde's coming-of-age film "Booksmart" is a piece that was initially sold on the premise of being a comedy. And, though it is more comedically focused, with a lot of its oddball humor and side characters inspiring a couple of well deserved laughs, it was the story and central friendship in question that won me over in the end. All of that success starts with the performances and chemistry between the two leads, Beanie Feldstein and Kaitlyn Dever, who not only give tremendous performances in their own respective rights, but play off of one another so well that it would honestly shock me to learn that they were anything less than close in real life. Some of the humor doesn't quite land all the time, but again, I was more or less in my seat for the commentary on friendship and high school than anything else. Overall, it's a solid debut and a worthy entry alongside the pantheon of similar high school party flicks. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
7
swelleanorJun 6, 2019
This movie has a lot of funny parts that I'm still chuckling about a few days later. It's a sweet movie about friendship, and I actually recognized the world it was set in even though my high school graduation was almost 15 years ago. It'sThis movie has a lot of funny parts that I'm still chuckling about a few days later. It's a sweet movie about friendship, and I actually recognized the world it was set in even though my high school graduation was almost 15 years ago. It's really, really raunchy, which may account for why I didn't love it. Overall, more good than bad, and if it sounds like something you might like, you'll probably love it. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
dinojay2Jun 24, 2019
They did a great job of depicting teen life without falling into cliches and stereotypes. The whole "no one is just one thing" theme was pulled off spectacularly, and it was pretty funny to boot.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
beechmiJun 7, 2019
What a pleasant surprise....who'd have thought Olivia Wilde could direct a very entertaining movie?! Clever and witty...this film will be around for a very long time. The cast is fantastic, and there's not a weak link anywhere. Very relatableWhat a pleasant surprise....who'd have thought Olivia Wilde could direct a very entertaining movie?! Clever and witty...this film will be around for a very long time. The cast is fantastic, and there's not a weak link anywhere. Very relatable characters, and will really touch your heart. Those haters on this site clearly don't have one...which is why they didn't 'get it'. Movie like this don't come along often...and when they do they must be seen. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
briknowsbestJun 10, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Billie Lourd for best supporting actress. Although it had it's moments of slowness, this movie is overall entertaining and the decent writing is supported by stellar comedic and heartfelt performances from its leads and a great supporting cast. Plus incredible cameos from Lisa Kudrow, Maya Rudolph and Will Forte. Could've gone without the student/teacher plot but Jessica Williams was also fantastic in her small part. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
Q8MarrongGlaceAug 16, 2019
Thank GOD I didn't pay for this movie to watch it , Its very bad that I cannot stand how people would actually like it , I am aware people have different taste but I am also aware that not all positive FB are authentic some have to be paidThank GOD I didn't pay for this movie to watch it , Its very bad that I cannot stand how people would actually like it , I am aware people have different taste but I am also aware that not all positive FB are authentic some have to be paid for or people doing it as a favor as most messed up movies review lately I got fooled by high rating so many times because of that kind of people not helping out others and kept messing around with fake rating in purpose !! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
ahmedaiman1999Jul 9, 2019
It has some very sporadic chuckles in its first half, flashes of wit, and striking performances especially from the two leads. But other than that, It's neither funny nor original. I have seen quite few films with this theme, or that areIt has some very sporadic chuckles in its first half, flashes of wit, and striking performances especially from the two leads. But other than that, It's neither funny nor original. I have seen quite few films with this theme, or that are classified under this sub-genre (I haven't even seen Superbad), but I already found everything here quite familiar. The plot itself is clichéd, insipid, formulaic, and oversimplified. And you can clearly notice that at every single turning point in the story. And there are a lot in the second half, for it's very overstuffed, messy, and muddled. And that, of course, caused a lot of tonal imbalances.

I'm really frustrated because I thought I would see something like Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig's fantastic and highly auspicious directorial debut. But Booksmart seems to think it is much smarter then it actually is. I have to give Olivia Wilde points for making such an energetic and colorful film, though. Also, these flashes of wit I've mentioned above are all due to Wilde's direction. I do think she has a quite promising directorial career.

(5.5/10)
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MarshallCavalliAug 15, 2019
I personally love this film. This is very similar to Superbad and other coming of age comedies, but has it's own quirky sense of humor that really works fo the tone they're going for. Would highly recommend.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Stevenw4Aug 30, 2019
Who doesn't love a good high school coming-of-age story featuring a female lead? This movie is fun. Story is interesting. Acting is great. You'll laugh and be entertained. Definitely go see this.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
ScraperJun 7, 2019
Booksmart is a clinic in overacting to prop up cliched material instead of inventing something new. Nearly the entire supporting cast was a cringe-worthy caricature that blared the stereotype to obnoxious levels. I could not figure out whyBooksmart is a clinic in overacting to prop up cliched material instead of inventing something new. Nearly the entire supporting cast was a cringe-worthy caricature that blared the stereotype to obnoxious levels. I could not figure out why for all smart hype of the film did it take such predictable and worn-out paths using 2-3 braincell supporting characters. The filmmaker may have updated the time period but really offered nothing new in terms of coming-of-age insights. It's sad because I was kind of excited to see this. Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
3
netflicJun 3, 2019
This movie was supposed to be a female version of “Superbad” which I liked a lot.
To be honest, there are few comedies that I really enjoy. But they do exist.
“Booksmart” was not one of them. I could see artistic capabilities in protagonists’
This movie was supposed to be a female version of “Superbad” which I liked a lot.
To be honest, there are few comedies that I really enjoy. But they do exist.
“Booksmart” was not one of them. I could see artistic capabilities in protagonists’ performances but for the most part they were over-acting. Besides, they should not play high schoolers. They looked early thirty to me. Jokes were not that funny, and directing, though quite energetic was mediocre at best.

Do not believe critics and do not waste your time and money.
Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
0
insicknessMay 29, 2019
This movie is unwatchable, irritating garbage. I had to stop watching after 10 minutes. It was making my eyes bleed. It thinks it's being clever and hip but there is no substance.
14 of 30 users found this helpful1416
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryMay 28, 2019
The story of high school nerds going crazy isn't new. Although it's usually teen boys, this film features 2 girls (which has also been done before). This duo spent their school days studying, until they realize that they forgot to have fun.The story of high school nerds going crazy isn't new. Although it's usually teen boys, this film features 2 girls (which has also been done before). This duo spent their school days studying, until they realize that they forgot to have fun. To rectify the situation, they set out on a series of sometimes amusing misadventures. The characters are enthusiastic and a few of the supporting ones are enjoyable. The writing is sometimes funny, but much of it flails. Audience members who can more recently relate to their school years will probably find this more entertaining. As it is, it's always energetic and occasionally amusing. Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
1
KdpannellMay 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a boring movie. It tries to hard to be funny. If you watch the previews you have just about seen the movie. It is that bad. I would give it a 0 but it would not let me. Expand
12 of 26 users found this helpful1214
All this user's reviews
3
imtheonlytyeJun 3, 2019
The movie isn't that good. It tries so hard to be superbad and it utterly fails at it. I love Jonah Hill, but his sister tries to be like him so bad it's obnoxious. It's unrealistic to the point that it isnt even funny. And i'm not even gonnaThe movie isn't that good. It tries so hard to be superbad and it utterly fails at it. I love Jonah Hill, but his sister tries to be like him so bad it's obnoxious. It's unrealistic to the point that it isnt even funny. And i'm not even gonna start with the excessive feminism, like just make a movie about girls if you fancy female led roles, but why do you have to constantly remind us and shove feminism down people's throats? Also, a lot of things that happened in this movie like literally made no sense. Expand
11 of 24 users found this helpful1113
All this user's reviews
10
rhaddish7May 25, 2019
This show was so funny! It definitely is one of my favorite movies. Everyone in the theater was clapping afterwards and laughing hysterically. It is shocking that it is Olivia Wilde's first directorial debut. Definitely a must see.
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
0
DOUGKJun 4, 2019
I was fooled by the good reviews, this is a terrible movie, terrible story, acting, ideas, etc. Why anyone would think otherwise is incredible. Nothing about this movie is worth seeing. I have not walked out of a movie in many years but II was fooled by the good reviews, this is a terrible movie, terrible story, acting, ideas, etc. Why anyone would think otherwise is incredible. Nothing about this movie is worth seeing. I have not walked out of a movie in many years but I walked out of this one and my wife stayed but said it only got worse. Expand
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
10
amjudge01May 28, 2019
This was one of the funniest movies I've seen in YEARS. Plus the acting and storyline were amazing. No downsides to this movie. Go support women filmmakers and women-centered stories by seeing this beautiful film!
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
10
levistringMay 24, 2019
A really funny movie in the vein of Superbad. The women in this are hilarious and some great cameos from 2000s SNL. My wife and I both loved it and will probably see again 10/10. There hasn't been a great comedy like this for years. Must See IMO.
10 of 23 users found this helpful1013
All this user's reviews
10
kirkenderJun 4, 2019
Booksmart is a glorious film. Its filled with love. Love for the characters, love for film, love for relationships. It will make Baby Boomers confused and angry, Gen Xers question their existence, and everyone else will be happy. (It's notBooksmart is a glorious film. Its filled with love. Love for the characters, love for film, love for relationships. It will make Baby Boomers confused and angry, Gen Xers question their existence, and everyone else will be happy. (It's not Superbad, its better in every way, therefore Superbad is a bad ripoff of Booksmart now.) Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
10
j1trainMay 26, 2019
Metacritic has a misogyny and homophobia problem as evidenced by many of the negative user reviews here, many of which I assume were written by people who haven't even seen the movie. Booksmart is a "female Superbad," sure, but it's also aMetacritic has a misogyny and homophobia problem as evidenced by many of the negative user reviews here, many of which I assume were written by people who haven't even seen the movie. Booksmart is a "female Superbad," sure, but it's also a great movie that's written, directed and acted well. It also treats all its characters with humanity, something some of these misogynistic and homophobic user reviewers might want to try, rather than continuing their futile campaigns for men's rights. Expand
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
7
manningn15May 28, 2019
This is one of my top 5 favorite comedy movies of 2019. The chemistry between Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein was so natural and hilarious. Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein gave stupendous performances that were hilarious and emotionallyThis is one of my top 5 favorite comedy movies of 2019. The chemistry between Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein was so natural and hilarious. Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein gave stupendous performances that were hilarious and emotionally touching. Noah Galvin, Billie Lourd, Skyler Gisondo, Jessica Williams, and Jason Sudeikis's supporting performances were terrific and really funny. The writing and screenplay were funny and fantastic. Olivia Wilde's direction was great. Also I thought the soundtrack was pretty good. Overall it was an enjoyable and funny movie. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
9
vischallaMay 28, 2019
This was by far one of the funniest and smartest coming of age movies I have ever seen. The on-screen chemistry of Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein feels authentic and real. The jokes are laugh out loud funny and the story is full of heart.This was by far one of the funniest and smartest coming of age movies I have ever seen. The on-screen chemistry of Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein feels authentic and real. The jokes are laugh out loud funny and the story is full of heart. This is a movie I will definitely be revisiting for years to come. With so many memorable lines it is an instant classic. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
1
Sammiches25May 30, 2019
Overall, This movie is just a bad copy of Superbad. If you criticize this movie you're a bigot and disqualified from picking apart what's wrong with the film. I would rather go watch Superbad, Pineapple Express, The Hangover, Road Trip,Overall, This movie is just a bad copy of Superbad. If you criticize this movie you're a bigot and disqualified from picking apart what's wrong with the film. I would rather go watch Superbad, Pineapple Express, The Hangover, Road Trip, Freddie Got Fingered, or even The Room because at least they aren't piles of **** laced with social justice and PC humor. I strongly believe there will one day be a legendarily funny comedy directed by a woman with no cheesy humor, but that day has not yet come and that's why this film missed its projected box office revenue by nearly 5 million dollars. There's nothing fresh about this film. Only watch it if you're a Democrat or you spend most of your time trying to shove money down a garbage disposal. Expand
8 of 21 users found this helpful813
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96May 31, 2019
It's the rave reviews that drew me into this one, and I just didn't think it looked all that fresh or funny to begin with. It really is just a female 'Superbad', (add to the fact that Jonah Hill's younger sister Beanie Feldstein starred inIt's the rave reviews that drew me into this one, and I just didn't think it looked all that fresh or funny to begin with. It really is just a female 'Superbad', (add to the fact that Jonah Hill's younger sister Beanie Feldstein starred in this makes it feel even more like that), with most of the jokes falling flat for me. There were a handful of mildly amusing moments for me, and Feldstein is mostly charming throughout (the same can't be said for Kaitlyn Dever however, who've I've always found to be really annoying in most films.) Overall, only a handful of decent moments and Feldstein's performance didn't really make this one too worth it for me. I really think Olivia Wilde should just stick to acting. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
6
amheretojudgeMay 24, 2019
Yes, it is a typical coming of age film, but the kids aren't just told to have fun, the supervisor is a smart cookie.

Booksmart Wilde has got it. I think so. I mean, there have been plenty debut directors hitting home runs in couple of
Yes, it is a typical coming of age film, but the kids aren't just told to have fun, the supervisor is a smart cookie.

Booksmart

Wilde has got it. I think so. I mean, there have been plenty debut directors hitting home runs in couple of years. And even though, the director, Olivia Wilde, isn't changing the game or flipping the table, but her rhythm is adaptable to those ever-changing background score that often transcends into a catchy song. Watch her craft a sensible theme that leans towards drama or comedy, within a snap. This risky element in the script does hover around the dangerous territory and when it has to get its hands dirty, it whimpers. The drama is a bit transparent and emotions overridden. The equation between the lead characters, despite of being shallow and backstage when taken lightly, is more absorbent than when it finally reveals its true self.

And no matter how smartly Wilde choreograph these fights with using productive angles and expressive background score, the cheesy liners that initiates the conversations cannot be pulled off with all the distractions possible; no matter how elegant. Beanie Feldstein is the winner. Clearly. Mostly, because she has got a leader-alike role. She is up for anything, overpowering everyone, her personality is, in fairness, crowd pleasing. Her know-it-all attitude draws you in and her.. well, friendship tames you into adoring her.

Kaitlyn Dever, on the other hand, is the underrated star whose zest to keep things vanilla helps survive their friendship. But, surprisingly, as a character, Feldstein can't even stand alone, and Dever is strong when alone, this is where things get juicy and also come to an end; a bit early I'd assume. At the end of the day, this will always be the beckoning of Wilde's talent, that were maybe hidden maybe not, but what's sure is that she is here to stay, in her comic arena, not experimenting but confident in her punch lines.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
WildnOutAdvntrMay 28, 2019
A film like no other, it's everything we needed and more! I had to see it twice because I was laughing so hard the first time, I missed dialogue!
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
10
fra92Jun 7, 2019
Smart, funny and witty. Olivia Wilde is a great director, and the cast is fantastic. Why are the reviews so negative? trolls are out? I don't get it! Go and watch this show, it will be worth it
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
4
JoeCoolJun 17, 2019
Must see movie? OMG! Critic credibility totally down the drain. As a comedy this movie just fails completely. I didn't laugh a single time, nor did I even come close to a smile. It was just not funny, it really wasn't. As a coming of ageMust see movie? OMG! Critic credibility totally down the drain. As a comedy this movie just fails completely. I didn't laugh a single time, nor did I even come close to a smile. It was just not funny, it really wasn't. As a coming of age story it fares considerably better. Not great by a long shot, but at least not a total failure. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
WaelJun 10, 2019
Fast-paced and relatable, "Booksmart" is about two high school best friends and seniors trying to get to a party on their last evening of high school to prove they're not just what the title suggests. It's funny, and has some ridiculousFast-paced and relatable, "Booksmart" is about two high school best friends and seniors trying to get to a party on their last evening of high school to prove they're not just what the title suggests. It's funny, and has some ridiculous moments that are truly laughable, along with some subtle jokes here and there. The chemistry between the two leads actresses, Dever and Feldstein, is impeccable and the messy direction is a nice way to go. This is a flimsy, yet original coming-of-age film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticJun 29, 2019
Plays like Superbad mixed with the supporting characters of a Richard Linklater film. Not as good as either but still a lot of fun. B+
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewJun 21, 2019
To quote emperor Palpatine, “A surprise to be sure, but a welcome one.” Upon seeing a red rating screen before the trailer for Booksmart, it seems to be yet another crass comedy that can’t draw the fine line between rules and fun. Turns outTo quote emperor Palpatine, “A surprise to be sure, but a welcome one.” Upon seeing a red rating screen before the trailer for Booksmart, it seems to be yet another crass comedy that can’t draw the fine line between rules and fun. Turns out director Olivia Wilde’s motion picture actually has some profound philosophies to say when it’s time to party these coming summer months.

The screenwriter wisely took time to build up the homosexuality of the co-lead, Amy, so that by the end, her story makes the LGBTQ community feel respected. Yes, even I, a straight man, felt heartbroken when Amy did; mostly because the actress playing her, Kaitlyn Dever, knows how to play the part seriously when admitting how she profanes a plush panda’s snout, then snaps a vicious attitude toward those who take advantage of her habit of saying yes to everything.

Her perfectionist best friend, Molly, though, is the type of lead character who gives the entire project more layers of depth than similar comedies. While not correcting grammar on bathroom walls, Molly‘s assertive (emphasis on the first three letters of that adjective) female dog personality barks everyone else down. Beanie Feldstein plays the part of Molly like the only sane woman within a murder mystery party, but not even she, nor the rest of the cast, acts truly heterosexual!

Casting directors out there, keep a keen eye out on Beanie Feldstein and Kaitlyn Dever! These two build expert chemistry off each other, almost like the two improvised half the content… maybe Beanie and Kaitlyn could score Best Actress Golden Globe nominations? Fingers crossed!

Although the unorthodox immorality of the screenplay encourages youths to dishonor the police and ignore their parents. Don’t be surprised if someone shortly after watching this movie is photographed to the front and to the side, a number below in hand. Right from seeing how Molly vandalized her own parking spot at school, the complete freedom of breaking rules means even the rules of logic are broken. There’s an instant when the two lead girls speak fluent Chinese so the principal cannot understand them, and nothing before or after the scene explains why they would know such a language. Better scenes probably wound up on the cutting room floor to close up some plot holes, but instead, the bigger issues are peppered down by the unpredictably spicy visuals.

The cinematography doesn’t quite match what the hot imagery calls for, as it ranges from Steadicam to going all vertigo on Molly’s distraught face. With the things done wrong, several jokes go on too long, including Amy’s parents listing the cute names for her graduation food, a creepy doll nightmare, or a fantasized dance with Molly’s crush. That dance is just another one of those invigorous daydreams implemented. While hit or miss, when a visual does hit, it is oh, so fresh! Right down to the makeup design of the characters, it appropriately gives crucial information about who they are without calling any attention to itself.

Because everything looks genuine enough, the supporting cast are believable as videos on an Instagram story, shouting louder than a saturated karaoke projector backlight. At school, the students seem well-behaved, then after the scholarly caps set loose, shirts rip apart to reveal their true selves! Every character leaves an impact, from a full-of-themselves drama duo to a trashy teenager in a teacher’s body. Over eight hours, the entire collection of whomever impacted Molly and Amy throughout their four years of high school jumps in line of their misadventures.

Molly ain’t entirely happy though, as a big problem keeps coming in: Too many of these party-hardy kids got into her level of schools: Yale, Harvard, etc. That’s why Molly needs to party on their last night of teenagerhood, to prove she’s more than just their class president. Not just that, she’ll ensure Amy will enjoy it too, even if it means introducing her to porn for “educational” purposes.

This inner concern Molly has for her own ego presents something much deeper than what most coming-of-age teen comedies dwell on, it displays something applicable to anyone of any age: why “YOLO” vitalizes humanity now more than ever before. It means we should go love those privileged breaks life offers. It means we need to have some fun. It means we need to follow the rules. It means we have to know when the line between fun and rules must be drawn or erased. Booksmart has the fun part down cold, so take good note on the journey of Molly and Amy.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
BeastJ18Jun 21, 2019
Not particularly original but fairly well-written main characters, creative art direction and vibrantly colourful.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
GLADIADORJun 29, 2019
Um tipico filme adolecente, que e divertido, mas as piadas na maioria das vezes nao funcionaram comigo.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
haridy666Jul 19, 2019
i really don t get why this film is championed by critics, the characters were annoying , plot is weak as well as non sensible and we have seen this type of film a million times. is it because it starring and directed by women ?
give me a
i really don t get why this film is championed by critics, the characters were annoying , plot is weak as well as non sensible and we have seen this type of film a million times. is it because it starring and directed by women ?
give me a **** break
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MarkHReviewsMay 28, 2019
Writing a good comedy is hard. Writing a “coming of age” comedy that doesn’t sink into a bottomless pit of existential angst or become so sugary that it induces diabetes is even harder. “Booksmart” is so good it generates irrationalWriting a good comedy is hard. Writing a “coming of age” comedy that doesn’t sink into a bottomless pit of existential angst or become so sugary that it induces diabetes is even harder. “Booksmart” is so good it generates irrational exuberance about this tired, clichéd genre.

Directing her first feature film, actress Olivia Wilde takes charge with a self-confidence usually reserved for a veteran director at the peak of her powers. Her steady hand helps the characters navigate a potentially off-putting barrage of f-bombs and graphic sexual language to reveal themselves to be irreverent but sweet, outrageous but real. It’s a balancing act Wilde appears to manage effortlessly.

Writers Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins and Katie Silberman also deserve praise. The screenplay for “Booksmart” mixes laugh-out-loud humor (the doll fantasy sequence is the funniest scene I’ve seen this year) with characters crafted so winningly you are pulling for them while laughing at them and with them. The smart script also offers plenty of surprises.

The story line is slight, but all that’s needed. On the last day of school, Molly (Beanie Feldstein) and Amy (Kaitlyn Dever) recognize that, perhaps, they’ve been too singularly focused on their academic success and decide to attend their classmates’ year-end blow-out the night before graduation. While the story structure is formulaic, it serves its purpose.

The glue that holds this film together is the chemistry between Molly and Amy. Feldstein announced herself as a young actress of note in last year’s “Lady Bird” (being Jonah Hill’s sister probably didn’t hurt her impeccable comedic timing). Dever, first seen on TV’s “Justified” (2011-2015) and the film “Short Term 12” is a revelation. It’s an indication of this film’s self-assurance that Dever’s character is gay, but her sexual orientation does not become a cause, a crusade or even the primary motivation for her actions. She just is. Molly and Amy argue, criticize and support each other fiercely. While doing so, they knit together a film that is gross, profane, sweet, touching, uplifting, consistently insightful, quirky and refreshingly funny.

The texture of the film is further buoyed by some key actors in minor roles. Jason Sudeikis (“We’re the Millers,” “Horrible Bosses 2” and Wilde’s real-life partner) adds a deft touch as the needy school principal/part-time Lyft driver. Jessica Williams (“The Daily Show”) fully embodies the “cool teacher.” Lisa Kudrow and Will Forte, as Amy’s parents, are compellingly confused by their daughter’s sexual orientation while remaining cloyingly, cluelessly supportive.

This is a film that crackles with smart dialogue and laughs that are all well-earned. It’s the funniest movie I’ve seen in years. At the screening I attended, most of the people in the audience were laughing out loud early on. This may be the best film I’ve seen at capturing fully the gamut of emotions - the confusion, optimism, pain, self-consciousness, unearned self-assurance and burgeoning self-awareness – that late adolescence represents. It’s one of the best films of the year.
Expand
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
8
stezo2kJul 7, 2019
The trailer didn't do this any justice. Very enjoyable and funny. Loved the characters too. I'd easily say comparable to superbad.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
giglioJun 16, 2019
Adoreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeei
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
steveymeJul 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a liberal - happy with all the points of views projected. Was looking forward to seeing it. Slight problem - overacted and unfunny. Shame. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
JunkmanJul 9, 2019
This movie was terrible. Not enjoyable to watch, nor funny. It seemed as if they took the concept from, "Superbad" and tried to make it original with lame humor and cheap, tasteless jokes. The main characters lacked on screen chemistry asThis movie was terrible. Not enjoyable to watch, nor funny. It seemed as if they took the concept from, "Superbad" and tried to make it original with lame humor and cheap, tasteless jokes. The main characters lacked on screen chemistry as best friends, perhaps do to their acting ability, especially Beanie Feldstein. It's blatantly obvious why she got casted into this role; her brother is Jonah Hill. If you're not aware, Jonah Hill stared in "Superbad," where his character was the controling, self centered friend. It's not ironic that Jonah Hill's sister, Beanie, plays the exact same role/character in this movie.

I can't stress enough how much this movie is a rip off of, "Superbad, " even down to the plot. It's the same plot from the film, where two friend's friendship gets tested on a adventure trying to get to a party. In conclusion, this movie should be avoided. It's a Netflix film at best. It's a film you watch when you finish watching the full series of "the office," and you can't decide what else to watch. I can't understand why this film got high ratings. This film didn't do well at the box office, and it seemed to go under most people's radars. I'm certain why this movie got overlooked for one simple reason. It was trying too hard to be "Superbad."
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
AvengerDragon56Jul 7, 2019
I don't understand why the user rating is low. Maybe it's because people only like Alita: Battle Angel?
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
FishonmikeNov 8, 2019
Terrible film, why this movie has universal acclaim is beyond me, don't waste your time. Complete garbage, and zero laughs.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
1
RWilliDec 12, 2019
Two of the most unlikeable people in any highschool have a movie written about them. No wonder it bombed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
DrBlahBlahJul 12, 2019
The film tries soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo hard to be the Female Superbad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
christianscubanAug 31, 2019
All these comments are just from middle aged men and women who have nothing better to do.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
shmay123Oct 17, 2019
Absolutely awful and unfunny, this film's inexplicable good reviews were apparently driven by the superfluous overlay of leftist politics. If the girls in the film happened to be right wing conservatives, the film would receive the stinkerAbsolutely awful and unfunny, this film's inexplicable good reviews were apparently driven by the superfluous overlay of leftist politics. If the girls in the film happened to be right wing conservatives, the film would receive the stinker reviews it so richly deserves. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksMar 28, 2020
A heavily enjoyable coming of age film about two best friends. I really think this could be one of the best teen movies ever to come out. Olivia Wilde certainly has earned herself all the credit she has gotten as director of this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Sep 5, 2019
I get the Superbad comparisons, SuperBad was a one-of-a-kind comedy that is more about friendship than anything else. Booksmart is just as good though, Kaitlyn Dever, Beanie Feldstein, Skyler Gisondo and especially Billie Lourd, who stoleI get the Superbad comparisons, SuperBad was a one-of-a-kind comedy that is more about friendship than anything else. Booksmart is just as good though, Kaitlyn Dever, Beanie Feldstein, Skyler Gisondo and especially Billie Lourd, who stole every scene she appeared in. Like Superbad, Booksmart is a smart, heartwarming, extremely funny and quotable movie about friendship, growing up and moving on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantMay 30, 2020
It took me a while to get around to watching this smartly written take-off on cheesy high school comedies (mainly because of a trailer that didn't do it justice), but actress Olivia Wilde's feature film debut as a director knocks it out ofIt took me a while to get around to watching this smartly written take-off on cheesy high school comedies (mainly because of a trailer that didn't do it justice), but actress Olivia Wilde's feature film debut as a director knocks it out of the park. With unexpected story elements reminiscent of buddy cop films and outrageous road trip tales, this incisively scripted, creatively shot, superbly designed Independent Spirit Award winner for best first feature defies all of the cliches of the teenage comedy genre while simultaneously skewering the inane offerings that have come typify such pictures, all without becoming mean, gross, stereotypical or stupid. The impeccably assembled ensemble, led by Kaitlyn Dever and Golden Globe nominee Beanie Feldstein, works together like a well-oiled machine, firing on all cylinders and delivering authentic performances without becoming trite, overly cynical or amateurish. The rapid-fire humor, reminiscent of screwball comedies, will keep viewers in stitches throughout, even in some inventive fantasy sequences that integrate perfectly into the main narrative without becoming clumsy, inappropriate or out of place. I truly can't say enough good things about this one, but I would recommend going directly to the film itself and skipping the preview that vastly undersold it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
toph123May 9, 2020
One of the funniest movies of 2019, if not the decade. Smart, fresh, and original in many ways. It's got quite a heart too. Plus outstanding performances across the board.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bataguilaSep 18, 2019
Si entretiene, pero es para viejas, las historias son bobas pero funcionan, y es una apologia a las lesbianas y gays
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LajaleaaAug 24, 2019
"Here comes the 1%."
.
( 57/100 ) . La juventud que la actriz y directora Olivia Wilde presenta en "Booksmart" está llena de privilegios ignorantes y celebra los valores más incorrectos que justo la juventud necesita vencer y cambiar. La
"Here comes the 1%."
.
( 57/100 )
.
La juventud que la actriz y directora Olivia Wilde presenta en "Booksmart" está llena de privilegios ignorantes y celebra los valores más incorrectos que justo la juventud necesita vencer y cambiar.
La cultura Pop ha producido films sobre la rebeldía, energía y desenfreno juvenil que, junto a films como "Superbad" (2007) y "Project X" (2012), solo fortalecen el estereotipo que la juventud americana se ha ganado: una sociedad de derroche y consumismo irresponsable e innutil.
Amy y Molly (Kaitlyn Dever y Beanie Feldstein), están a un día de graduarse de la preparatoria cuando se dan cuanta de lo tontas que fueron al estudiar y no salir de fiesta al mismo tiempo, por lo tanto deciden hacer de su última noche la más loca y aventurada de su preparatoria.
No es difícil identificarse con esa juventud, todos lo hemos sido y, al menos un poco, hemos sentido los privilegios de pertenecer y los miedos de ser minoría. El problema es que el guión asume que "pertenecer" es diversión, alegría y festejo, y lanza a sus actrices a una aventura que, en vez de disfrutar, las convierte en patéticos intentos de retroceder a una actitud primitiva. Asimismo promueve la actitud del exceso, el ceder a los impulsos sexuales y mentales, la desconfianza social y "soluciona" la idea de "comprar amigos" con romance. Aunque hay una secuencia de animación (que se puede quitar sin daño alguno), la escena que le da valor a la película (e, irónicamente, se enmudece) es un conflicto verbal que muestra el talento actoral de las protagonistas.
A pesar de que el film tiene la oportunidad de exponer un drama socio-cultural, prefiere optar por el camino cómico e inconsciente de su misma cultura. "Booksmart" es peligrosa y me causa pavor imaginar cuantos jóvenes pueden verla y querer crecer igualmente solo porque es "cool". No lo es, hay diferentes tipos de diversión, y entregarse a los impulsos es la forma más irresponsable de vivir.
-
The youth that the actress and director Olivia Wilde shows in "Booksmart" is full of ignorant privileges and celebrates the most incorrect values that the youth needs to overcome and change. The Pop culture has produced films about young rebellion, energy, and wildness that, along with films like "Superbad" (2007) and "Project X" (2012), just reinforces the american stereotype that youthhood has won: a society of waste and useless, irresponsible consumerism. Amy and Molly (Kaitlyn Dever and Beanie Feldstein), are about to graduate from high school when they realize how foolish they were by studying and not going out to parties at the same time, therefore they decide to make their last night of high school, the most adventurous and crazy. It is not that hard to identify yourself with this youth, we all have been young and, at least a little, have felt the privileges of belonging and the fears of being an outcast. The problem is that the script assumes that "belonging" is fun, joy, and celebration, and throws their cast to an adventure that, instead of enjoying, it makes of them pathetic attempts of behaving in a primitive way. Likewise, it promotes excess behavior, giving in to the sexual and mental impulses, the social distrust and "resolves" the idea of "buying friends" with romance. Even though there’s an animation sequence (that can be taken out with no harm), the scene that gives some value to the movie (and, ironically, is muted) is a verbal conflict that shows the acting talent of the main cast. Despite the film has the opportunity of exposing a social-cultural drama, it prefers to take the comical and unconscious path of the same culture. "Booksmart" is dangerous and it makes me dread to imagine how many young people can see this and would want to grow up just like that because it's "cool". It's not, there are different types of fun and giving in to the impulses is the most irresponsible way of living.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kingfinnFeb 8, 2020
It's hilarious, touching, and back to hilarious again. Outstanding throughout
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews