Vertical Entertainment | Release Date: March 15, 2019
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 492 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
441
Mixed:
49
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Judith86Apr 16, 2019
This great little gem of a movie somehow manages to mix genetics, cryogenics and ethics in its short running time and the results are quite good. Henry Ian Cusick(Lost) stars as the man who wants to save his children from the same illnessThis great little gem of a movie somehow manages to mix genetics, cryogenics and ethics in its short running time and the results are quite good. Henry Ian Cusick(Lost) stars as the man who wants to save his children from the same illness that took his wife and he is willing to do anything to get that. I don't wish to spoil anything, but anyone remotely interested in the aforementioned subjects would be hard pressed not to check out Chimera Strain. Expand
56 of 56 users found this helpful560
All this user's reviews
7
Clint87Apr 24, 2019
A worthwhile debu.
This is the director-writer's first film and by the looks of it I'd give him another chance again, for sure. Chimera Strain does not look like a novice effort both in the scripting and execution. The acting is standard
A worthwhile debu.
This is the director-writer's first film and by the looks of it I'd give him another chance again, for sure. Chimera Strain does not look like a novice effort both in the scripting and execution. The acting is standard throughout although Cusick hams it up at times as the tormented scientist. Quinlan is pretty amazing throughout. There are far worse films than this to waste your time with. Give this one a shot- You might be surprised.
Expand
45 of 45 users found this helpful450
All this user's reviews
9
Lincon89Apr 20, 2019
Hitchcock would be proud.
This is no hyperbole. There is a truly Hitchcockian twist in the end of Chimera Strain which would make the great master proud. There are some genuinely unsettling images and viewer discretion is advised. But the
Hitchcock would be proud.
This is no hyperbole. There is a truly Hitchcockian twist in the end of Chimera Strain which would make the great master proud. There are some genuinely unsettling images and viewer discretion is advised. But the film is engrossing, the camera work and cinematography is fantastic and the pacing- a muddle that has been many an independent filmmaker's Achilles's heel is good enough that you'd be engrossed completely for the 80 odd minutes. Great performances from the cast especially Henry Ian Cusick who plays the tormented lead character. This is one of the better indie features I have seen recently.
Expand
43 of 43 users found this helpful430
All this user's reviews
8
Shirley93Apr 13, 2019
A pleasant surprise:Being a huge fan of science fiction films I am always on the lookout for new content in the genre. Genetics, ethics and its implications on science- these are rarely discussed subjects in the entertainment industry andA pleasant surprise:Being a huge fan of science fiction films I am always on the lookout for new content in the genre. Genetics, ethics and its implications on science- these are rarely discussed subjects in the entertainment industry and Chimera Strain does a credible job introducing such subjects under the guise of a narrative. The acting is superb throughout especially the leads Quinlan and Ian Cusick. Expand
34 of 34 users found this helpful340
All this user's reviews
8
Terry99Apr 15, 2019
Beautiful film filled with deeper themes.
Although the science jargon flew over my head at times, I really enjoyed this movie and wholeheartedly recommend it to others.Chimera Strain is about a man who wishes to find a cure for his two
Beautiful film filled with deeper themes.
Although the science jargon flew over my head at times, I really enjoyed this movie and wholeheartedly recommend it to others.Chimera Strain is about a man who wishes to find a cure for his two children, but this is just the outer layering of the entire gist. The film is gorgeous to look at and I'd like to know how they managed to get such a cool location for the budget they had. The lighting is pretty and plays off on the whole transhumanism, futurism vibe. If not for the many scientific jargon I'd give this a solid 9/10 but as it stands Chimera Strain is a film, you will surely take something from.
Expand
33 of 33 users found this helpful330
All this user's reviews
7
neil76May 4, 2019
Great visuals, not much else.I am not a big fan of films of this genre so perhaps my review is subjective. The film is about a scientist whose wife is in a coma and their two children could die of the same ailment that has caused their motherGreat visuals, not much else.I am not a big fan of films of this genre so perhaps my review is subjective. The film is about a scientist whose wife is in a coma and their two children could die of the same ailment that has caused their mother to be in such a state. He goes about trying to find a cure and does all kinds of science stuff. We see the cliched lab and test tubes. The dialogues were a bit heavy handed and the plot was all over the place. However, what saves this film is the visuals. The setting- which is an abandoned industrial complex is very well presented. There is a sinister look and an uncomfortable feel when you are in the scientist's lab. The apt term I would use to describe it is Frankenstein's laboratory- abandoned hallways, dirty metal equipments and creepy chambers. The cinematography is the highlight. Decent film. Expand
31 of 31 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
7
Robin91May 6, 2019
Good science fiction film.I watched Chimera in Los Angeles (Shriek fest) and there was a lot to appreciate in this film. I won't write the synopsis (you might have read it already if you are reading this) so I'll get straight to the points:Good science fiction film.I watched Chimera in Los Angeles (Shriek fest) and there was a lot to appreciate in this film. I won't write the synopsis (you might have read it already if you are reading this) so I'll get straight to the points: Fantastic performances all around but especially Henry Ian Cusick who brings his everything to the table here. The story keeps you guessing and it isn't until the last shot that everything is resolved. Fantastic production design and props. Kudos must be given to the art director and set designers. Pacing is good and at barely eighty minutes the film never overstays its welcome. On the flipside the director should have kept the science jargon to a minimum. Its not so bad that it destroys the scene but expecting the audiences to know them is going too far. Overall, I would recommend Chimera Strain to fans and non-fans of science fiction alike. Expand
31 of 31 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
7
Dayna1234May 25, 2019
I would have done the same A lot many reviews have mentioned how despicable most of the characters of chimera strain are, and I agree for the most part. However, as a parent I probably would have done the same things Ian Cusick's characterI would have done the same A lot many reviews have mentioned how despicable most of the characters of chimera strain are, and I agree for the most part. However, as a parent I probably would have done the same things Ian Cusick's character does. This is something most people are overseeing with this film- it isn't a sci-fi thriller. That is simply the setting. Deep down this film is a meditation on family, love and loss. Would you go to any lengths to save your children? I think most people will agree on this that they would. All of the immoral means are just that- a means to an end for the scientist to get what he wants- his wife and children back. Chimera Strain is a unique film with barely any flaws from where I am standing. I went in expecting to see some science fiction action but instead got a lesson in understanding familial loss and its pains- something each one of us will face sometime or the other in our lives. Expand
30 of 30 users found this helpful300
All this user's reviews
7
Wilbur1234May 13, 2019
Decent science fiction thriller Chimera Strain is a low budget sci-fi with an original idea at its core- A genetic researcher's wife is in a coma because of a degenerative malady. What's worse is that their children are also going to get it.Decent science fiction thriller Chimera Strain is a low budget sci-fi with an original idea at its core- A genetic researcher's wife is in a coma because of a degenerative malady. What's worse is that their children are also going to get it. The researcher must do everything in his means to find a way. This requires tinkering with a lot of moral and ethical concerns. It is well made, especially for a first-time film and running at a cool 80 minutes you barely register the time. Some minor quibbles regarding the choice of child actors and some flashback sequences but these are nitpickings. The acting especially by the lead actor is quite good and you understand his plight and dilemma. If you are a science fiction fan Chimera Strain would be right up your alley. Expand
28 of 28 users found this helpful280
All this user's reviews
7
Danny12345May 22, 2019
You will hate the characters,Ever seen a movie where you end up despising all the characters? Even reservoir dogs had characters you rooted for. Chimera Strain is a first-time film by Maurice Haems and he takes up the unique challenge ofYou will hate the characters,Ever seen a movie where you end up despising all the characters? Even reservoir dogs had characters you rooted for. Chimera Strain is a first-time film by Maurice Haems and he takes up the unique challenge of making each character in his first film range from being pathetic to repulsive. This isn’t to say it’s a bad movie- one can hate a character and still admire a novel or film. This is a strange film about a genetic researcher who crosses all limits in order to save his dying family- totally understandable point. However, as we see- it is his lack of acknowledgement of this family that ends up putting them in this dilemma(wife is suffering from a degenerative disorder leaving her in a coma, which will also effect their two children soon; you'd think that being a geneticist our main dude would be one of the first persons to understand that his wife has a serious condition). But if he's bad others, such as his ex-employer and ex-girlfriend/colleague fare far worse. Expand
28 of 28 users found this helpful280
All this user's reviews
7
Alain1234May 19, 2019
Could have been a grade A thriller The fault with this movie is that the narrative is not straightforward and because of this a lot of the emotional power is lost. Had the filmmakers chosen to film it in a traditional narrative sequence theCould have been a grade A thriller The fault with this movie is that the narrative is not straightforward and because of this a lot of the emotional power is lost. Had the filmmakers chosen to film it in a traditional narrative sequence the ending would have a much better impact.The subject matter is heavy and there were occasions where I felt I needed to have a degree in biology to understand the on goings. On the other hand,the film manages to get some things right- the casting is good as is the acting. In low budget films of this sort the actors tend to either under perform or go over the top. But in this film,none of that happens. Set design is interesting and the camerawork is fluid enough to make you experience the plight of these characters. Chimera could have been a much better film had they chosen to follow the traditional narrative route, as it stands its merely a good one. Expand
27 of 27 users found this helpful270
All this user's reviews
7
Liza89Apr 17, 2019
My only issue with this indie feature was that its dialogues were a bit too scientific and the jargon went over my head. However, the film is very good especially the set pieces and pacing. Mr Haemms who wears the triumvirate hat ofMy only issue with this indie feature was that its dialogues were a bit too scientific and the jargon went over my head. However, the film is very good especially the set pieces and pacing. Mr Haemms who wears the triumvirate hat of writer/producer/director is a man to watch out for in the future. Recommended, especially for sci-fi geek. Expand
26 of 26 users found this helpful260
All this user's reviews
8
Vincent99Apr 15, 2019
Truly sci-fi!
Chimera Strain by novice director Maurice Haemms dabbles with stem cell, DNA editing, cryptobiosis among other ideas and casually throws the ethical/moral books on the sideline. I appreciated this a lot as many films simply
Truly sci-fi!
Chimera Strain by novice director Maurice Haemms dabbles with stem cell, DNA editing, cryptobiosis among other ideas and casually throws the ethical/moral books on the sideline. I appreciated this a lot as many films simply ponder on the ethical issues and not the actual situation. Quint (the main character) is a mad scientist but we side with him all throughout the film. How many low budget indie films can vouch for an anti-hero that you relate to? Chimera Strain will challenge your moral constraints.
Expand
25 of 25 users found this helpful250
All this user's reviews
8
Kevin12345May 15, 2019
Chimera Strain will hit you like a train This movie blew my mind. It is hard science fiction- you know…the thinking man's scifi as they like to call it, the acting is amazing especially by the main lead, the visuals are good and kudos forChimera Strain will hit you like a train This movie blew my mind. It is hard science fiction- you know…the thinking man's scifi as they like to call it, the acting is amazing especially by the main lead, the visuals are good and kudos for getting into a topic such as stem cell transplant which is hotly debated today all over the world. Maurice Haeems has crafted a stunning feature film full of images that will stick with you long after you've seen the film. I will see this one more time and I implore you to go see this. Independent cinema needs such films. Expand
24 of 24 users found this helpful240
All this user's reviews
8
Adrian1234May 18, 2019
Tight and tautly paced thriller I love movies that are structured well and Chimera Strain, a low budget sci-fi indie is just that. This is a deliberately slow-paced movie and one that really manages to draw the audience in even if they don'tTight and tautly paced thriller I love movies that are structured well and Chimera Strain, a low budget sci-fi indie is just that. This is a deliberately slow-paced movie and one that really manages to draw the audience in even if they don't always understand what's going on. This is all thanks to brilliant and brilliantly structured writing that makes the confusing premise palpable, a very empathetic directorial effort, and a first-rate cast. Henry Ian Cusick as the main character is astonishingly good (if you must watch the film for a reason watch it for him) and the directing by Haems is excellent.I had no idea this was his novice production. The thriller genre usually gives us duds but occasionally it manages to exceed the audience's expectation and gives us something like Chimera Strain. Expand
24 of 24 users found this helpful240
All this user's reviews
7
MJacksonJun 3, 2019
What would you do? Although the premise of this film is about science and moral perspectives at the heart Chimera Strain is about family and love.There are some questions that are glaring at the audience from this movie's setup: What lengthsWhat would you do? Although the premise of this film is about science and moral perspectives at the heart Chimera Strain is about family and love.There are some questions that are glaring at the audience from this movie's setup: What lengths would you go to save your children? What, if any lines you would not cross? The story focuses on a man(geneticist) who recently lost his wife and will soon lose his two children from the same illness. Determined to do anything he can to save them, he will go to extraordinary lengths, making incredible advancements in science. But he soon realizes his discoveries will come with a price he may not be willing to pay. As I stated before- this movie makes you question your own take on the subjects being discussed. This is a good, not great film and the reasons for me is that its too short and the ending is a cop-out. Expand
23 of 23 users found this helpful230
All this user's reviews
8
Douglas12345May 21, 2019
A heart tugging sci-fi give Chimera Strain a shot and you will be surprised by the heart this tiny science fiction film possesses.The horrors of science such as cell transplants and body farming are at full display in this rather braveA heart tugging sci-fi give Chimera Strain a shot and you will be surprised by the heart this tiny science fiction film possesses.The horrors of science such as cell transplants and body farming are at full display in this rather brave film.It is dark-both literally and figuratively and perhaps even controversial.The underlying concept is horrifying in its own right and the fact that this is not just fiction, but fact is all the scarier. Of course, a film's laurels sit on the actor's shoulders and the cast including veteran actors Henry Ian Cusick, Kathleen Quinlan and the beautiful Jenna Harrison and Karishma Ahluwalia give good performances. Erika Ervin stands tall above the rest of the cast, literally at six feet eight inches, delivering another intriguing role to go alongside her one in American horror story. If you do not mind gray characters and a film with a depressing outlook I suggest you give this movie a watch. Expand
23 of 23 users found this helpful230
All this user's reviews
8
frank4May 7, 2019
Jenna Harrison steals the show I am not a huge sci-fi fan, so it wasn't the subject that enticed me. I happen to be a huge fan of the English actress Jenna Harrison and watch every film she stars in. And she is very good here. The synopsis isJenna Harrison steals the show I am not a huge sci-fi fan, so it wasn't the subject that enticed me. I happen to be a huge fan of the English actress Jenna Harrison and watch every film she stars in. And she is very good here. The synopsis is that a scientist decides to freeze his two kids until he finds a cure for a disease which will kill them (apparently their mother is in a coma because of it). Jenna Harrison plays Charlie who is one of the scientist's partner and part time lover. The script is fantastic in branching her character. In the beginning she seems like a stock character but by the end, she is something else.I suggest you give Chimera Strain a watch. Expand
23 of 23 users found this helpful230
All this user's reviews
8
CarlaQuinnJun 5, 2019
A great performance dwarfs everything.Sometimes a film is remembered only for its performances and this is one such film. Which is not to say the film is bad- I enjoyed it but Henry Ian Cusick slays it as the main character Quint. He is aA great performance dwarfs everything.Sometimes a film is remembered only for its performances and this is one such film. Which is not to say the film is bad- I enjoyed it but Henry Ian Cusick slays it as the main character Quint. He is a brilliant researcher/scientist working on something so secretive he has his own lair. He is wrestling with his discoveries throughout the film and firmly believes what he is doing is incredible and necessary work. He has the potential to launch humanity into the next stage of evolution, to rid the planet of illness and death. However, this comes at the cost of his family- his wife and two children who he not only ignores but doesn't even know that they themselves are afflicted with a degenerative condition which renders the wife in a comatose state. His two children are also possibly on a meet with the grim reaper unless he does something about it. This is a great performance and I shall not spoil the plot anymore. Watch it and find out for yourself. Expand
21 of 21 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
8
Jenny1234May 11, 2019
A thriller about family although Chimera Strain relies heavily on science (and boy, are there some scientific jargon scattered all over this film) this film is primarily about family and the bonds that make them. From the very beginning, theA thriller about family although Chimera Strain relies heavily on science (and boy, are there some scientific jargon scattered all over this film) this film is primarily about family and the bonds that make them. From the very beginning, the music sets the tone and the immediate, brutal start to the film will test your discomfort levels early on. There is exposition provided by ethereal voice overs for much of the movie. Due to some of these voice overs and conversations, you may come to believe that Quint is not quite what you’d call a reliable narrator. The acting is so good I genuinely feel the academy should watch this film- Henry Ian Cusick is stupendous and Kathleen Quinlan is a welcome sight in a negative shade. Production design and cinematography are some of the best I have seen in low budget films. Although this is marketed as a thriller and does contain its fair share of gore and nudity, I feel that deep down this is a film about family. Unmissable. Expand
21 of 21 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
8
Jess1234May 26, 2019
A provocative grey film that will haunt you rarely give out nine stars but Chimera (or Chimera Strain as its being marketed now) is one film that thoroughly deserves all the accolades being thrown its way. The acting, cinematography, soundA provocative grey film that will haunt you rarely give out nine stars but Chimera (or Chimera Strain as its being marketed now) is one film that thoroughly deserves all the accolades being thrown its way. The acting, cinematography, sound and production design are very good, so good if you'd have asked me the round about figure for the budget I'd have said around 50 million USD. This is from a review that perfectly sums up my thoughts: From its provocative scenarios, flawed but well-meaning characters, and the moral ambiguity that permeates the entire narrative, there really is no comfortable assurance that the position taken, is the right one; it simply does not exist here. I think this is what makes Chimera so effective, that much of it's horror being a product of the positions its characters are forced to take. Following that, the often-horrific fallout that comes by way of their decisions to reinforce them. This is a must watch sci-fi. You'll be glad you saw it. Expand
21 of 21 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
8
Willa1234May 14, 2019
Intriguing and Ambitious,Chimera is not a straightforward film. It is narratively ambiguous, and the storyline is nonlinear. Furthermore, there probably isn't any character you'd root for- I have used the word probably because whether youIntriguing and Ambitious,Chimera is not a straightforward film. It is narratively ambiguous, and the storyline is nonlinear. Furthermore, there probably isn't any character you'd root for- I have used the word probably because whether you like and relate to any of the characters depends on your moral conviction and perspective. Different genre tropes and conventions are mashed together in this ambitious low budget sci-fi by first time director Maurice Haems. Although billed as a scifi thriller (some would even say horror) the film surprisingly consists of many poignant moments which give it a dramatic feel with sci-fi trappings. The look and atmosphere are good, and the cinematography is on par with any A list movie. Lastly, the acting is quite good- any concerns of expecting syfy channel type acting will be out the window by the first five minutes. Expand
20 of 20 users found this helpful200
All this user's reviews
6
Tim67Apr 27, 2019
Ticking time movie that doesn't really get going.
I remember watching a Johnny Depp movie called Nick of Time where he plays the father whose child is kidnapped, and the movie plays out in real time. Chimera reminded me of that film, albeit
Ticking time movie that doesn't really get going.
I remember watching a Johnny Depp movie called Nick of Time where he plays the father whose child is kidnapped, and the movie plays out in real time. Chimera reminded me of that film, albeit in a different way. This movie is about a scientist who is hard at work in his basement/lab trying to find a cure for his two children who might die soon. On his tail is a nefarious head of affairs called Masterson who is way too eager for the scientist to find this supposed "cure." There is also the small matter of this entire process being highly secretive and illegal. The film is shot well and enacted good, but it has pacing issues. Also, the kids seemed unprepared. Chimera is above average scifi.
Expand
16 of 16 users found this helpful160
All this user's reviews
9
md4everMar 17, 2019
Chimera Strain - where to begin... Be prepared to pay close attention all the way through. It is nuanced and multi layered. This movie has stayed with me a long time as I unravel the stories of the past and the present. Ian Cusack isChimera Strain - where to begin... Be prepared to pay close attention all the way through. It is nuanced and multi layered. This movie has stayed with me a long time as I unravel the stories of the past and the present. Ian Cusack is fantastic as Quint and his devotion took him to the brink. This is a definitely one that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. A thinking person's movie that rises above genres. Classics (Henry James), romance, thriller, sci-fi, you name it.

Well done, Chimera. I will definitely be watching this movie multiple times.
Expand
157 of 159 users found this helpful1572
All this user's reviews
7
Oscar93Apr 22, 2019
Interesting film.This is a fascinating film. It should be seen by more people. Chimera Strain is a horror not just in some visual respects but the underlying theme also. It is intelligent, thought provoking and will probably keep youInteresting film.This is a fascinating film. It should be seen by more people. Chimera Strain is a horror not just in some visual respects but the underlying theme also. It is intelligent, thought provoking and will probably keep you surprised till the ending credits role. Unlike most horror or even indie sci-fi however the acting is sublime and spearheaded by the always dependable Henry Ian Cusick. He perfectly captures the passion and madness his "Quint" should be exhibiting given the daunting task he's set forth for himself. Another plus is the visuals. This is a beautifully filthy film with cold blue frosty labs and the pulsating electronic glow which fills them, the steamy amber-lit corridors of the inner sanctum, and of course the disturbingly grotesque test subjects themselves. It all comes together to create a nightmarish tapestry of flesh, technology, and suffocating atmosphere. Do not miss. Expand
44 of 45 users found this helpful441
All this user's reviews
7
Kimberly97Apr 24, 2019
Nice but could have been better!
Chimera Strain has some great scenes and the messages aren't heavy handed, as many films of this kind tend to be. The acting by the main leads is very good, in fact I think Cusick deserves an academy award
Nice but could have been better!
Chimera Strain has some great scenes and the messages aren't heavy handed, as many films of this kind tend to be. The acting by the main leads is very good, in fact I think Cusick deserves an academy award nomination. However, there were scenes that didn't make sense due to the technical jargon. One particular scene- the exchange between Quint and Masterson- just flew over the head. Such scenes stop the flow of the movie and get the audience distracted. There were a few more scenes like this which downgraded the end product by the end. But it’s a unique concept and the execution could have been worse. This is a good offbeat movie.
Expand
34 of 35 users found this helpful341
All this user's reviews
8
Thomas30Apr 30, 2019
Nice low budget movie saw this at the Fantasporto International fest in Portugal and I must say I enjoyed the experience. Although on top surface this is a heavy science laden thriller, deep down, I feel this is about family and love. TheNice low budget movie saw this at the Fantasporto International fest in Portugal and I must say I enjoyed the experience. Although on top surface this is a heavy science laden thriller, deep down, I feel this is about family and love. The main character is a scientist who is willing to go to any length to save his children from a disease that will kill them surely. Its not a matter of whether but when. No moral or ethical boundaries are spared and although we understand the desperation of the man, would we allow this to happen if we were the law? Better still, if we were in the position of the man, would we do similar? A very good thriller which punches way above its weight. Expand
32 of 33 users found this helpful321
All this user's reviews
8
pollyjojo38Mar 24, 2019
Perspective is everything with this film. Nothing is what it seems, every character has a secret motivation and the more you learn the more questions you have. It is a slow build but the payoff is great and the ending is satisfying but alsoPerspective is everything with this film. Nothing is what it seems, every character has a secret motivation and the more you learn the more questions you have. It is a slow build but the payoff is great and the ending is satisfying but also thought provoking. would recommend. Expand
32 of 33 users found this helpful321
All this user's reviews
9
Jessie90May 2, 2019
A curious, intriguing delight.The boundaries of ethical behavior in the sciences have been fodder for Hollywood since forever. In some ways we, the audience have become accustomed to the predictability in such films, but every once in aA curious, intriguing delight.The boundaries of ethical behavior in the sciences have been fodder for Hollywood since forever. In some ways we, the audience have become accustomed to the predictability in such films, but every once in a while, a surprise takes you completely off guard. I remember being surprised by Cronenberg's wonderfully dark body sci-fi The Fly, and whilst Chimera Strain isn't in the same ballpark, it is a great film that made me ponder and evaluate my perspective on things. The acting is uniformly excellent, and the visuals and direction is top-notch. Expand
27 of 28 users found this helpful271
All this user's reviews
8
sunrisesunsetMar 16, 2019
This movie takes its time to back up some very compelling and uncomfortable arguments with the solid indisputable science behind it. But it's not just pure science; at the heart of this movie is deep, true love for family and one man's questThis movie takes its time to back up some very compelling and uncomfortable arguments with the solid indisputable science behind it. But it's not just pure science; at the heart of this movie is deep, true love for family and one man's quest to save his.

Highly recommended. Watch it and think it through before you draw a hasty conclusion.
Expand
52 of 54 users found this helpful522
All this user's reviews
6
Juanita92Apr 22, 2019
Morally repugnant, visually alright!
Went to see this last night and there is good and some bad. Good? Visuals are stunning as is the set design. The background score is nice and lends itself nicely to the theme of the film. Acting is superb-
Morally repugnant, visually alright!
Went to see this last night and there is good and some bad. Good? Visuals are stunning as is the set design. The background score is nice and lends itself nicely to the theme of the film. Acting is superb- rarely have I seen such a good performance as what Henry Ian Cusick(Lost) brings to Chimera Strain. The bad? Flashbacks and jarring scenes get in the way of the narrative. The story is very repugnant morally- in fact in the end the bad person not only escapes but also wins. I also felt that the film could have been extended to another 10 -15 minutes. The ending doesn't feel rushed, but it just ends suddenly.
Expand
21 of 23 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
6
FtFtApr 11, 2019
Interesting and unusual approach to sci-fi. I commend the filmmakers for trying. It was refreshing to see something different. The acting, effects and sets are quite good but overall it still fall victim to its biggest limitation its budget.Interesting and unusual approach to sci-fi. I commend the filmmakers for trying. It was refreshing to see something different. The acting, effects and sets are quite good but overall it still fall victim to its biggest limitation its budget. It is still interesting and I would watch it again. Expand
22 of 30 users found this helpful228
All this user's reviews
6
jonathan95May 5, 2019
Morally disturbing,This sci-fi movie makes the bad guys emerge the victor. In fact, there is not a single redeemable character at all in the whole film. This didn’t sit well with me.There is also the case of a character who we never know isMorally disturbing,This sci-fi movie makes the bad guys emerge the victor. In fact, there is not a single redeemable character at all in the whole film. This didn’t sit well with me.There is also the case of a character who we never know is either dead, alive or an apparition.The acting is great, and Henry Ian Cusick brings all his gravitas to play the lead character who is a scientist. Chimera Strain looks great and the background theme and score is also complimentary. As a matter of fact, take aside the morally bankrupt characters- none of whom most people would relate to, the film is good.I doubt you should spend 10 dollars to see this in a theater (it is barely 80 minutes) but once on some streaming channel like Netflix this film would be a fascinating case study you can indulge in on a lazy afternoon. Expand
14 of 14 users found this helpful140
All this user's reviews
6
Jennifer1234May 22, 2019
A dull but eventually fascinating affair Chimera Strain is a indie movie that tries to exceed its abilities. It is a brave attempt and I guess the filmmakers had to go through a few loopholes to get everything on screen. But in the end is itA dull but eventually fascinating affair Chimera Strain is a indie movie that tries to exceed its abilities. It is a brave attempt and I guess the filmmakers had to go through a few loopholes to get everything on screen. But in the end is it worth it? The audience wants to be entertained and I felt that the entertaining aspects were toned down in favor of a lesson in judging moral standards. Then on top of it there's the unexplained dilemma of the narrative jumping all over the place. Many of the events presented on screen are often out of sequence, and/or blend the protagonist's reality with his imagination, which is more than a bit difficult to follow. Having said all this I still think that the movie is fascinating. Expand
14 of 14 users found this helpful140
All this user's reviews
6
AngelapillsburyMay 30, 2019
Henry Ian Cusick's film,Chimera Strain is Henry Ian Cusick's film through and through. He is the main lead, and present in almost all the scenes. The actor's serious demeanor lends itself well to the character and its travails. But apart fromHenry Ian Cusick's film,Chimera Strain is Henry Ian Cusick's film through and through. He is the main lead, and present in almost all the scenes. The actor's serious demeanor lends itself well to the character and its travails. But apart from him there's not much in the way of great acting. Quinlan fans hoping to see their actress on the big screen are in for some disappointment as she's barely around, despite being prominently featured in the teasers. There is shoddy acting from the kids which is rather sad as they're cute and the chemistry between them and Cusick is palpable. There are some cheesy lines such as " If God intended us to be immortal, we would have more durable bodies”, said exasperatingly by the titular character's wife. I'd rate this film a six on ten and that's above average. In fact, for a first-time filmmaker this is a good effort. Expand
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
6
Cynthia1234May 14, 2019
Lots of good, some bad This is an ambitious film. The story is something that opens up lots of questions in your mind. What would you do in a similar situation is the big question that will come up. You’ll think that something like this couldLots of good, some bad This is an ambitious film. The story is something that opens up lots of questions in your mind. What would you do in a similar situation is the big question that will come up. You’ll think that something like this could be very real in the not too distant future and the film does well to feel authentic and realistic without the viewer having to be a science buff to understand it all. And you don’t need to be anyone but a happy movie watcher to understand the emotion that runs through Chimera. On the other hand, there are some terrible mistakes. They could have hired a better editor (two editors usually never work) and there is a continuity issue with the sequences. Kathleen Quinlan takes a villain role, bankrolling Quint’s research but also holding him to ransom in order to repair her own son, who has mutated into a fully-grown monster. The only problem is that Kathleen Quinlan is so over the top with her bossy suit and cigar it almost becomes a caricature. In my opinion father time is a good enough villain and they shouldn’t have put in a human villain at all. Expand
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
6
daniel9May 8, 2019
Punching above its weight I applaud the filmmakers for choosing a subject like stem cell engineering to base the premise on, and indeed the film is quite thought provoking. But several things are done wrongly which hamper the overallPunching above its weight I applaud the filmmakers for choosing a subject like stem cell engineering to base the premise on, and indeed the film is quite thought provoking. But several things are done wrongly which hamper the overall experience. For one it appears the interactions between Quint (the scientist) and the kids were overtly dramatic, as do the scenes between him and his comatose wife (which he is hallucinating). Little insight is provided about the relationship between Quint and his ex-boss Masterson (a way over the top Kathleen Quinlan). Visually also although the film punches far above its weight the blue/orange contrast is everywhere, and it tends to appear forced. The acting is decent, especially by Henry Ian Cusick who is quite good. In fact, he is one good reason to watch Chimera Strain. Expand
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
6
ClarenceButlerMay 30, 2019
Muddled message; exciting narrative whenever I sit to watch a film I place two criteria on whether the film is good- the narrative and the message (or theme). Chimera Strain by Maurice Haems gets one right- the narrative. This is a well-madeMuddled message; exciting narrative whenever I sit to watch a film I place two criteria on whether the film is good- the narrative and the message (or theme). Chimera Strain by Maurice Haems gets one right- the narrative. This is a well-made thriller with a bioscience backdrop, well-paced and very well acted. Henry Ian Cusick needs to be in bigger movies is all I'll say. The cinematography and editing is good and the background score also needs a mentioning. But then the message is muddled- Is stem cell application ethical? Should it be practiced at large? If the underlying theme is such then an effort should be made to emphasize the theme's larger repercussions- which is what all great movies do. But I will still recommend this film to anyone who has a passing interest in sci-fi. From a story perspective there's not much to blame. Expand
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
2
JoeCoolMar 29, 2019
3 reviews from accounts with 1 review. No way this is anywhere near an 8. I saw this coming, still I tried to watch it all the way through and failed. Boring low-budget flick not worth your time. On a really good day it might get a 3,3 reviews from accounts with 1 review. No way this is anywhere near an 8. I saw this coming, still I tried to watch it all the way through and failed. Boring low-budget flick not worth your time. On a really good day it might get a 3, anything above 4, there is just no way they're being honest with themselves. Expand
1 of 257 users found this helpful1256
All this user's reviews