Saban Films | Release Date: February 7, 2020
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 26 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
11
Mixed:
13
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
umaumaiFeb 7, 2020
I wanted to give this movie a higher score as a lot of the individual parts that make up the film are great. The problem is these elements never real come together and congeal as a whole. While it didn’t seem like a surface level plot withI wanted to give this movie a higher score as a lot of the individual parts that make up the film are great. The problem is these elements never real come together and congeal as a whole. While it didn’t seem like a surface level plot with just skin deep points of interest, it was a little disjunct in the way the story unfolds. There is almost no character development, but we have a good sense of the few people we meet. I wouldn’t say it jumps the shark at all, but it’s twits, for the most part, are laid out at your feet as dialogue. Because of this it never quite reaches the heights of what I think is a potentially great premise. It has all the trimmings of a quality film with great acting, production etc. It’s strange however, that with those elements on board I think it’s run time is a little short. It could have stayed a little longer so they could explore a few more depths of the characters and created a better arc overall for the narrative, or idea, that is at the heart of this story. With all that said I would still recommend it as it sets an awkward tone that I’ve rarely seen in films. For someone who watches a lot of movies that, was nice. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
YulianFeb 14, 2020
A simple story, little humor, and even less horror or thriller. This movie starts fine but it changes the course to go for a very bland comical action approach that ends anywhere, with an emotional ending trying to give meaning to somethingA simple story, little humor, and even less horror or thriller. This movie starts fine but it changes the course to go for a very bland comical action approach that ends anywhere, with an emotional ending trying to give meaning to something that doesn't have one. It'd still be good if this change was well-made but well, I went to intrigue to boredom by the second part of it while seeing a movie trying a bit too hard to be somewhat dark-ish and funny at the same time.
Decent idea, it had its moments and wasn't bad technically speaking either, so that's why I give it a 4/10.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LejonouFeb 15, 2020
Omgggggggggggggg sooooooooo gooooooooooooooddgggggg Mmmmggggggggggggggggggg
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryMay 29, 2020
Elijah Wood plays a trendy young man who gets an apologetic letter from his estranged dad, which sparks a trip to a remote cabin so they can reconnect. It's not clear from the outset where this narrative is headed. It appears to be a dramaElijah Wood plays a trendy young man who gets an apologetic letter from his estranged dad, which sparks a trip to a remote cabin so they can reconnect. It's not clear from the outset where this narrative is headed. It appears to be a drama with packed emotional potential, but about half way thru it turns into something very different. I don't want to spoil it, but it becomes dark and violent (think Cohen Brothers without the humor). Despite some questionable chinks in the logic and no real suspense, this film manages to be a somewhat unique little venture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksMar 11, 2020
An interesting approach to a home-invasion horror/thriller. As always Elijah Wood is excellent, this time as the neurotic Norval. Though a small cast, the film is impactful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TejasNairSep 1, 2020
Nothing much happens in the first 50 minutes of Come to Daddy, a black comedy with shades of crime that sees Elijah Wood's character come to meet his father after he receives a letter from him. Things go wrong after the 50th minute and theNothing much happens in the first 50 minutes of Come to Daddy, a black comedy with shades of crime that sees Elijah Wood's character come to meet his father after he receives a letter from him. Things go wrong after the 50th minute and the film packs a punch with its hilarious jokes, sudden jerk-like action, and subtle background score. I enjoyed Wood's performance, and in a character's words, I agree that he has kind eyes. It's short and it's passable LOL material to watch with friends. TN. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Feb 27, 2020
It tries to cover more than what it can propose and towards the ending it begins to decompose in an ugly way because it sacrifices all the substance for shock value but I admit that I found it more interesting and entertaining than I expectedIt tries to cover more than what it can propose and towards the ending it begins to decompose in an ugly way because it sacrifices all the substance for shock value but I admit that I found it more interesting and entertaining than I expected and by themselves those are already pretty good merits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Mauro_LanariDec 25, 2020
(Mauro Lanari)
After almost thirty years, is "Reservoir Dogs" still copied? Originality and creativity blocked at the pulp era.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews