Lionsgate | Release Date: April 15, 2016
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 190 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
123
Mixed:
45
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TVJerryApr 20, 2016
Ryan Reynolds (in a semi-uncredited role) already made this movie. In "Self/less" his body was occupied by someone else's awareness. This time it's Kevin Costner (as the titular sociopath) who inherits CIA agent Reynold's memories. ThisRyan Reynolds (in a semi-uncredited role) already made this movie. In "Self/less" his body was occupied by someone else's awareness. This time it's Kevin Costner (as the titular sociopath) who inherits CIA agent Reynold's memories. This includes the location of a hacker who possess a program that can create world anarchy. As Kostner slowly inherits the skills and secrets, he becomes the gruff action hero of the film. It's fun to see usually gentle Kostner become so nasty. There are some decent action scenes, a solid cast of supporting actors and some attractive London locales. The film runs too long and the turns in the story are predictable. While there's nothing especially original here, it's still a relatively absorbing film. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
JyroJyroAug 17, 2017
The concept of this movie is simply ludicrous but Kevin Costner seems to believe in it - in fact, he is the best feature of this strangely undecided sci-fi/thriller/espionage film. There was tremendous leeway for ethical issues to be exploredThe concept of this movie is simply ludicrous but Kevin Costner seems to believe in it - in fact, he is the best feature of this strangely undecided sci-fi/thriller/espionage film. There was tremendous leeway for ethical issues to be explored here, and in that sense it is a slightly missed opportunity. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
eva3si0nDec 4, 2017
Surprising example as having excellent cast to shoot the mediocre film. A plot boring and not interesting, and except Kevin Costner in the movie there is nothing to look.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
LeZeeSep 9, 2016
A man with the two minds!

This is a very familiar theme, but a different format and gives a different scientific excuse to execute the story. It is kind of 'Face/off' and 'Self/less' meets the 'Hardcore Henry'. It has some decent stunt
A man with the two minds!

This is a very familiar theme, but a different format and gives a different scientific excuse to execute the story. It is kind of 'Face/off' and 'Self/less' meets the 'Hardcore Henry'. It has some decent stunt sequences, but most of the film was just running and chasing around. And then there's a youngster whose involvement was the centre of the narration.

It all begins when an American secret agent was killed before completing his mission in the London. The important data from his brain were transmitted to a prison serving convict and then after the surgery he goes loose. So the man hunt begins against the running out of the time where the original mission needs to be accomplished. How the rest of the story shapes up were a fast paced action-thriller.

Something I don't like in the todays films are the open ending keeping in mind a sequel. This was an average box office film, but they might make another film. Wonderful cast, though. There are too many big names and everybody did the brief roles, except Kevin Costner in the main character, a tough one. But I did not know it was his film till I watch. In the poster he looked like somebody else. Though he did well along with the others, particularly Gal Gadot who I saw recently as Wonder Woman and now as an ordinary wife. A swift pace, but the story was nothing, overly depended on the star value as well as the stunts and the technical quality. Overall film was okay kind, partially entertaining, because of the performances.

6/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jamessAug 3, 2016
A competent but forgettable thriller. If you took Face Off and changed it to brains, and slapped in a bunch of Jason Bourne surveillance stuff...well, you've got Criminal, a title as generic as the action. If you think Ryan Reynolds has aA competent but forgettable thriller. If you took Face Off and changed it to brains, and slapped in a bunch of Jason Bourne surveillance stuff...well, you've got Criminal, a title as generic as the action. If you think Ryan Reynolds has a co-starring role...well, it's really a grizzled Kevin Costner with implanted Reynolds memories. And I'm sorry. Just don't buy Costner as a violent sociopath with no empathy, who begins to care as Reynolds memories affect him. Yes, Reynolds completes him. Tommy Lee Jones and Gary Oldman pick up paychecks as "doctor" and "man in charge", but Gadot is actually effective as Reynolds wife. But I swear to God, a half hour after watching, I literally had to pick up the Redbox case to remember what I had just seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RalfbergsAug 16, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie itself was quite ok, even though the premise was not too well taught out as it had some weird points in the story which didn't make sense. For example, why did the woman whose husband was murdered got so attached to main character, I mean I get that he has her husband's memories and feelings, but that doesn't mean she should feel like that towards someone who she doesn't know and who already tried to rob her house and is a criminal. Also the ending was a bit weird. But all in all was an ok movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
NigmeMar 17, 2017
Acting: 7 (for Gary Oldman & Gal Gadot)
Screenplay: 5
Ending: 1
My score: 5
Unfortunately Costner was not revealed in this movie
Bad copy of "Face/Off".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BroyaxJan 28, 2019
Encore un gros triple A (à moins que ce ne soit un double) avec quelques stars vieillissantes mais qui ont encore du répondant comme le vieux Oldman, l'encore plus vieux Costner et le très vieux Jones... Mais c'est tout de même dans les vieuxEncore un gros triple A (à moins que ce ne soit un double) avec quelques stars vieillissantes mais qui ont encore du répondant comme le vieux Oldman, l'encore plus vieux Costner et le très vieux Jones... Mais c'est tout de même dans les vieux pots qu'on fait la meilleure soupe et à cet égard, ces bons acteurs ne déçoivent certainement pas... surtout ma foi l'inégal Costner ici dans le rôle principal du psychopathe en pleine rédemption à l'insu de son ignorance !

Costner est en vérité plus à l'aise dans ce genre de personnage bourru, brusque et mal élevé comme il l'avait déjà montré dans... Waterworld (putain, ça ne nous rajeunit pas...). Des belles filles sont également de la fête avec notamment Wonderbra Woman mais sans son costume ! Cette espèce de thriller complotiste (anti)terroriste est en tout cas des plus rocambolesques avec son échange de cerveau ou plutôt de mémoire entre un agent secret décédé et un psychopathe notoire encore en cabane...

On n'a pas le temps de s'ennuyer dans ce film au rythme soutenu qui assume ses conneries de scénariste surmené jusqu'au bout, à prendre bien entendu au second ou au troisième degré puisqu'il s'agit de sauver le monde (quand même) ! tandis que notre psychopathe devient un peu moins "sauvage"... On déplore que l'action soit autant malmenée par un montage trop nerveux et des caméras qui ont la tremblote de Parkinson... on a vu pire ailleurs certes mais on a vu aussi beaucoup mieux même si le "mieux" est rare à notre époque.

Entre sympathie et ridicule, le film oscille sans cesse mais se laisse regarder... il aurait pu être pire. Il aurait pu être mieux !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RoboKarenAug 9, 2019
It's not a horrible movie.... but when your review starts with "it's not horrible" then I guess it was pretty horrible. I'm generally tolerant of bad action movies but there were SO MANY OP-SEC failures by both the CIA and the bad guys thatIt's not a horrible movie.... but when your review starts with "it's not horrible" then I guess it was pretty horrible. I'm generally tolerant of bad action movies but there were SO MANY OP-SEC failures by both the CIA and the bad guys that it was just sheer frustration watching it. Everyone is an idiot and entirely deserve to get nuked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LaskeudeungFeb 1, 2017
The concept not too ridiculous i thought. Changing criminal (its titile) for being a cliche hero being. But pardon me for showing big dissapointment for Costner performance. Lack of his touch of this action agent movie and cheap scriptThe concept not too ridiculous i thought. Changing criminal (its titile) for being a cliche hero being. But pardon me for showing big dissapointment for Costner performance. Lack of his touch of this action agent movie and cheap script couldn't save this movie till the end. Despite , i still liked the idea. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews