Summit Entertainment | Release Date: March 21, 2014
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 660 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
317
Mixed:
206
Negative:
137
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EdgarMar 24, 2014
We are presented with yet another distopian society. The film tells the story of a young lady who doesn't quite fit in. The story is entertaining and I would watch it again. Here society is divided into groups and when a person is young theyWe are presented with yet another distopian society. The film tells the story of a young lady who doesn't quite fit in. The story is entertaining and I would watch it again. Here society is divided into groups and when a person is young they are encouraged to join the group that fits their temperament. This is more action less sci-fi than other films in this genre. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
SwitSwatMar 22, 2014
Being a fan of the series, this movie, in all candor, was not really well put together. Yes, it was a decent movie, but they could have done much better. There are a lot of scenes that were left out and some scenes that were just reallyBeing a fan of the series, this movie, in all candor, was not really well put together. Yes, it was a decent movie, but they could have done much better. There are a lot of scenes that were left out and some scenes that were just really sloppy. The book is much better, but it's still worth a try, even if you've read the book or not. If I hadn't read the book, my score probably would have been higher, but since I did, this movie gets a 7/10 from me. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
movie_critic007Mar 30, 2014
Divergent is definitely a must see for all ages. I really enjoyed it, however compared to the book it was very different, but overall it was good. I think that they cut out a lot of the good parts of what was in the books. if you have alreadyDivergent is definitely a must see for all ages. I really enjoyed it, however compared to the book it was very different, but overall it was good. I think that they cut out a lot of the good parts of what was in the books. if you have already seen the movie and read the book you will know what I'm talking about. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
AzurdoMar 24, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just so happened to have the opportunity to go to a private screening of Divergent on Friday morning, and I absolutely loved it! They covered nearly all the vital events in the book, but skipped over a few (some they could have incorporated into the movie) including Tris' rivalry with Peter and her friendship with Al. That's honestly the only reason why I gave it a 9. The actors chosen fit the roles extremely well, the soundtrack is just magnificent, and the movie altogether had a perfect combination of intense moments and laid back ones. I suggest reading the book before watching the movie, but since only around 50 percent of the people who watched Divergent read the book, people have still enjoyed it despite not reading the book. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GabrielaRodBApr 17, 2014
I'm giving 8 to the movie because as a person that has read the book I felt that there were some details that shouldn't have been left behind, however Im giving 8 to the movie because even when you didn't read the book you'll understand itI'm giving 8 to the movie because as a person that has read the book I felt that there were some details that shouldn't have been left behind, however Im giving 8 to the movie because even when you didn't read the book you'll understand it without trying too hard and they were kind of true to the book, they weren't mayor changes so yeah, I'm looking forward to Insurgent :). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ChaeoteAug 2, 2014
I went into this movie with no pretext of intentions. Well, no, that's not actually true, I went in thinking it was going to suck...

Comes out around the same time as the Hunger Game sequel, deals with similar stuff...yeah, ripoff, don't
I went into this movie with no pretext of intentions. Well, no, that's not actually true, I went in thinking it was going to suck...

Comes out around the same time as the Hunger Game sequel, deals with similar stuff...yeah, ripoff, don't care whatever...

Honestly? It wasn't that bad...

Sure, there's a bit of a hunger games feel in certain spots, simply due to teens having to choose factions or whatnot... but, that's not how it plays out.

It almost plays out like Equilibrium, except being from the kids point of view. It's not that they've denied emotion, just compartmentalized it.

SPOILER: I did a bit of research, and it turns out Chicago is just a big eugenics experiment, which explains a lot.

But even without that, it's not too hard to understand.

My biggest complaint is actually the acting in the 2nd half. It's weird but it almost seems like the actors/ancestresses become less comfortable with their roles as the movie goes on, as if it had been filmed in reverse.

It's not a total K.O. to the movie, but you can tell some of them are forcing their performances more than at the start.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
jppl1999Apr 12, 2014
Another young-adult franchise with a really interesting discourse based on the film, creating an entertaining movie to watch. The performances are mostly nice, but the majority of the time they become inefficient to represent the real storyAnother young-adult franchise with a really interesting discourse based on the film, creating an entertaining movie to watch. The performances are mostly nice, but the majority of the time they become inefficient to represent the real story and characters that the book wants to transmit. However, its a nice movie at the end, with several social and political messages that are expressed all over the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
felixableMar 26, 2014
I have never read the original book nor the trailer before watching the movie. I think the movie had too much expectation before it was released and personally I found it not bad. Story-line wise, it has too shallow depth about the backgroundI have never read the original book nor the trailer before watching the movie. I think the movie had too much expectation before it was released and personally I found it not bad. Story-line wise, it has too shallow depth about the background as well as thoughts within the protagonist: a divergent, what was she thinking when she decides which fraction to choose?

The movie is actually quite long but I found it missing explanations or more details throughout the story, in other words, things happen too rapidly. Overall, I like the movie and am looking forwards to the sequel.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
reyshel04Dec 11, 2014
just watched this movie...Good enough for me
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IsanicolesJul 26, 2016
I read all the books to this series then watched the movies expecting more Hollywood to be in it then the book itself. However, when I watched the movie I was blown away. The movie was a lot like the book, but not entirely. Which is stillI read all the books to this series then watched the movies expecting more Hollywood to be in it then the book itself. However, when I watched the movie I was blown away. The movie was a lot like the book, but not entirely. Which is still good. The actors were perfect for their roles, they played them very well. I say 2 thumbs up to this movie!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
alex2542Mar 23, 2014
I think people are being too hard on this movie expecting the next big franchise RE: Harry Potter or The Hunger Games. People need to take it for what the books are. Which in my eyes, the books are not in HP and THG's stratosphere, but risesI think people are being too hard on this movie expecting the next big franchise RE: Harry Potter or The Hunger Games. People need to take it for what the books are. Which in my eyes, the books are not in HP and THG's stratosphere, but rises well above the mediocre attempts at creating literary young adult novel franchises. The divergent series is just okay as is. And this movie was good enough. I feel like the studio succeeded because I got the same feeling from the film that I got while I was reading the book. That to me is a success enough to have made the price of admission worth it. Yes, it glossed over important plot points but really the omissions are not so critical that it ruins things. I went with two friends who didn't read the books, they understood the plot, the premise, and they're planning on seeing the all but certain sequel. Was it as good as Catching Fire? No. But I'd say it was right on par with the original hunger games
And that to me qualifies as passable. More than passable. Shailene Woodley is a terrific choice as the lead and in my opinion she's one of the more underrated actresses in the business. Theo James did better than I expected, and I had my reservations about Miles Teller as the Peter character, but he played it just fine. His arrogance was 100 percent believable.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonMar 22, 2014
The movie adaptation of Divergent benefits from a talented cast, a spot-on visual depiction of the factions, the Dauntless Pit, and the story's urban Chicago setting. The acting ensemble is as good as the cast of The Hunger Games and vastlyThe movie adaptation of Divergent benefits from a talented cast, a spot-on visual depiction of the factions, the Dauntless Pit, and the story's urban Chicago setting. The acting ensemble is as good as the cast of The Hunger Games and vastly superior to that of Twilight and the forgettable Vampire Academy and Mortal Instruments adaptations. While Woodley doesn't fit the canon description of Tris, she captures the character's mix of vulnerability and courage, her desire to be independent in a world that demands conformity. And although heartthrob Theo James is almost too manly looking for Woodley's doe-eyed ingenue, he definitely gets the job done as the intensely serious Four. But the movie doesn't live up to the hype or the potential of the written series. The Dauntless initiation process isn't as violent or emotional on the screen as it is on the page, and neither is the buildup of the Tris and Four romance or Tris' friendship with her fellow transfer initiates. Considering the two-and-a-half-hour runtime, there are parts that drag on and yet aspects of the book that seem surprisingly cut. The performances (Winslet is fabulous as the icy Erudite leader, and Zoe Kravitz, Maggie Q, and Jai Courtney are all true to the spirit of their characters) make up for some of the pacing and screenwriting issues, but overall this adaptation falls short of fan expectations. Still, tweens and teens who've read the books should absolutely see the movies and hope the second and third installments fare better. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
benoskiApr 4, 2014
From what I've watched, whether or not you've read the book or not, Divergent is simply a love it or hate it film.

I thoroughly enjoyed the film, and it might just make me go and read the book.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
JrAgujaIsAGleekMar 31, 2014
Usually, I write a short review of every movie I watch. But I had a lot of things to say about the movie so here goes.....

Before I start, I would like to say, shame on the critics. Sure, it's may be just their opinions but some of the
Usually, I write a short review of every movie I watch. But I had a lot of things to say about the movie so here goes.....

Before I start, I would like to say, shame on the critics. Sure, it's may be just their opinions but some of the critics' reviews I have read said that they haven't read the book yet. Critics are journalists and they should do their research a little. Don't just sit there, watch the movie and judge it without some research. And also, are they really expecting Divergent to have the same epic feeling as The Hunger Games? Seriously? We all should know Divergent trilogy won't be brilliant as The Hunger Games trilogy.

Some of the elements from the book have to be removed for the movie. It's pretty common these days. As a fan, I understand. But what ticks me a little is that two of the important elements have to be removed in the movie. I won't mention one of them because it's a huge spoiler but I will mention the other one. Two of the characters (as I can remember) are removed in this movie and those characters were Uriah and Edward. While I am disappointed about it, I can easily forgive this part unlike The Hunger Games where Maggie is completely cut off and she has some importance to the overall trilogy despite her small appearance. Okay, enough dropping THG references. :)))))

What I like though is that they kept the final act of the movie justice to the final chapters of the book, except one part which I am not going to tell. But still, it's like what I imagined in the books.

Most of the cast' performance are okay except Shailene Woodley and Theo James. Their performances were excellent! They are the highlight of the whole movie. I am glad they took their roles as Tris Prior and Four Eaton. If you're still complaining how Theo is quite older than Four, seriously get a life. And oh, let's not forget Kate Winslet! Her signature English accent is not noticeable there so she did her role well. And Theo as well, another English actor.

And lastly, the pace and the plot of the movie. It's just entertaining enough with its action-packed scenes for non-readers so that's something despite some of the plot holes that some non-readers are going to question.

I can't wait for Insurgent!!!! (And oh, non-readers, try to read the books. ;)
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBJul 25, 2014
Divergent is one the most intense films I have seen all year, I have never read the books but Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Miles Tiller, Kate Winslet (Basically everyone in this movie) did a great job, even with similarities it is enoughDivergent is one the most intense films I have seen all year, I have never read the books but Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Miles Tiller, Kate Winslet (Basically everyone in this movie) did a great job, even with similarities it is enough with its own thing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
GottalovebooksMar 21, 2014
I could not have picked a better cast or director for this movie. Neil burger executed this pretty darn well, and the book to movie adaptation was amazing. I am a fan of the books, and I loved this movie. A must see for everyone, book readersI could not have picked a better cast or director for this movie. Neil burger executed this pretty darn well, and the book to movie adaptation was amazing. I am a fan of the books, and I loved this movie. A must see for everyone, book readers and non book readers. Everyone in the theatre was having a good time, and that is the real reason of movies (to me). Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
blockofcheeseJul 24, 2014
I watched this movie with no expectations, and Wow... this is film is an eye pleaser! I very much enjoyed the story, can't wait to see the sequels Insurgent and Allegiant Parts 1 & 2! Neil Burger did a great job directing! Top notch action,I watched this movie with no expectations, and Wow... this is film is an eye pleaser! I very much enjoyed the story, can't wait to see the sequels Insurgent and Allegiant Parts 1 & 2! Neil Burger did a great job directing! Top notch action, drama, sci-fi film so far this year...! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
marcelotweetMar 24, 2014
DIVERGENT is a thrilling action-adventure film set in a world where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues. Tris Prior (Shailene Woodley) is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When sheDIVERGENT is a thrilling action-adventure film set in a world where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues. Tris Prior (Shailene Woodley) is warned she is Divergent and will never fit into any one group. When she discovers a conspiracy by a faction leader (Kate Winslet) to destroy all Divergents, Tris must learn to trust in the mysterious Four (Theo James) and together they must find out what makes being Divergent so dangerous before it's too late Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MovieobsessionApr 17, 2014
Divergent is a fantastic movie in my opinion and I cannot wait for the next film Insurgent. I know that people have been saying that it is a Hunger Games rip off but they are wrong. It may have some similar themes to the Hunger Games they areDivergent is a fantastic movie in my opinion and I cannot wait for the next film Insurgent. I know that people have been saying that it is a Hunger Games rip off but they are wrong. It may have some similar themes to the Hunger Games they are different films.
On the subject of similarities between films most films that come out nowadays are complete rubbish and they are mostly copies of earlier films.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
GarfoodleAug 19, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Meh...
Its pretty good...
I watched the movie, then read the book, like a swag person, so keep that in mind...
From a movie standpoint, its pretty good. The actors are not well known, but they are pretty good. Its well written and all, and everything is done well.
Because Metacritic doesn't have book reviews, well, this will serve as my review for the book as well.
Its good. The story is quite interesting. Chicago is one of the last remnants of civilization. Some war happened, of which the book speaks very little, and the city has divided into 5 factions. There is the dauntless, the faction to which the book revolves around, who believed that the world ended due to cowardice, therefore, they serve as the army. Then there are the ones who believed stupidity was the cause, and they serve as the smart people. Then there is the ones who believe it was liars, who serve as the justice system. Then there is the Mormon farmers, who believed sadness was the cause, and then the people who think it was due to people not conforming, who serve as the Gov't. Anyway, the whole thing about the book is that people take a test to determine which faction they belong in. But then there are those who don't belong in any, and are called divergent. They are considered a threat to the system of gov't because they can think and break the simulation, and well, ya. The protagonist is one of the Divergent. She chooses the army people, and half of the book/movie is based around her training. Then 2nd half of the book/movie is based around how the smart people try to take over the gov't by using the army with brainwashing and lots of killing. Granted,i've spoiled a lot of stuff already, but there is some interesting plot twists and turns and all that stuffs. Anyway, its a pretty good book/movie, and well, is a lot like hunger games. If you liked hunger games, you will like this. Simple.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
jmayApr 20, 2014
Divergent is about a young girl named Tris who seems to be "Divergent". This is a great movie though the book is way better and has more detail unlike the movie which they changed.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
nwando4000Jul 24, 2014
Definitely I love this movie very interesting and as a viewer I could understand what the movie is all about. To me I prefer this movie to Hunger games. I can recommend Divergent to anybody to watch.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondMar 21, 2014
Despite the fact that the movie feels a touch long in its final third, I really enjoyed it – much more than I thought I would. (And no, I haven’t read the book.) The three leads - Kate Winslet, Shailene Woodley, Theo James – are uniformlyDespite the fact that the movie feels a touch long in its final third, I really enjoyed it – much more than I thought I would. (And no, I haven’t read the book.) The three leads - Kate Winslet, Shailene Woodley, Theo James – are uniformly excellent. Typically, actors in this type of film will realize how shallow their characters are written, and they’ll mail in their performances. Not so here. Each delivers some of their finest work yet in any medium. No joke. Because of her lot as a “divergent,” Woodley is forced to hide her true nature, which means she must act within an entirely narrow and tempered band of emotions, which can be a real test for any actor – to avoid appearing as wooden. She does it with skill, and the audience, in turn, pulls for her. And James – whom I enjoyed in his short stint in the underrated Golden Boy – is the breakout star of this film. Like Woodley, he simmers in a low burn throughout. Finally, Winslet does an amazing job as the heavy. If you buy into the film, you’ll enjoy it. Walk in trying to poke holes in the story and you’ll find them. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
rrangerMar 21, 2014
A must see movie! Two strong leads; both perfect actors for the role; with a good plot. I'm not a teenager, and I thoroughly enjoyed the movie; didn't even think once about possibly needing to go to the bathroom during the whole 2 hours andA must see movie! Two strong leads; both perfect actors for the role; with a good plot. I'm not a teenager, and I thoroughly enjoyed the movie; didn't even think once about possibly needing to go to the bathroom during the whole 2 hours and 20 minute movie. This movie should be a hit; possible making over 50 million this weekend; hopefully hitting 100 million. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
kivayugimotoMar 21, 2014
Definitely a must see movie to see. The Thursday first run show was crowded, and this was people paying $12,25 to see this movie in the Titan X theater. I didn't get to read the book, but I enjoyed the storyline of the movie. They pickedDefinitely a must see movie to see. The Thursday first run show was crowded, and this was people paying $12,25 to see this movie in the Titan X theater. I didn't get to read the book, but I enjoyed the storyline of the movie. They picked the perfect actors for the roles! I will definitely go and read the 2nd book to see what will be coming up in the next movie! Don't miss this one. :) Expand
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
9
David_HMar 23, 2014
This movie reminds me why we should often not worry about what the critics say. Granted it won't receive academy nominations and not too artsy or deeply thought-provoking or intellectual, but sometimes people just want to go to a movie and beThis movie reminds me why we should often not worry about what the critics say. Granted it won't receive academy nominations and not too artsy or deeply thought-provoking or intellectual, but sometimes people just want to go to a movie and be entertained without having to think too much. Keep in mind I'm well beyond 40 yrs old and i do also love movies like silver linings playbook, so you know where i'm coming from. but both my wife and i found this was one of the most entertaining movies we can remember seeing. It does draw some interesting parallels with Hunger games (which we also liked) but is a different and unique take on future humanity struggling (and failing) to control and manage society. Sadly, I worry one of the reasons this kind of storyline is ringing true to viewers these days is because our own society and leaders seem to be running off the rails themselves, and a twisted Orwellian future state seems less far-fetched than ever before... Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
9
Frank197Mar 29, 2014
The critics are... unfair! The movie is great! Shailene Woodley is awesome in her role! Yeah, he's not like the book, but the adaptation is better than The Hunger Games adaptation! If you like the books, you have to see the movie! If you loveThe critics are... unfair! The movie is great! Shailene Woodley is awesome in her role! Yeah, he's not like the book, but the adaptation is better than The Hunger Games adaptation! If you like the books, you have to see the movie! If you love Shailene Woodley, you have to see the movie! The question is... How can't you love her? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
rafinhadivergenMar 21, 2014
This is amazingly!! The best YA MOVIE. Congradulations Neil for the best movie can I see. Veronica taks for de stores. Shailenne and Theo James are a perfect Four and Tris.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaJul 6, 2014
Good adaptation of the popular Young Adult novel. Not as good as The Hunger Games, but having a great cast help. Woodley is shaping up to become the next big thing. Worth a look.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NickDeCastroMar 24, 2014
Awesome movie. The movie plays with the theme that society tries to force us into a specific box when we really wish we were free to do many different things with our lives. The story exaggerates this theme by reducing people to fiveAwesome movie. The movie plays with the theme that society tries to force us into a specific box when we really wish we were free to do many different things with our lives. The story exaggerates this theme by reducing people to five different personality types. Once they reach adulthood, all people are forced to choose and live by one set of rules only. The main character, Tris, does not fit conveniently into any one type so she is considered dangerous because she cannot be controlled. Even though this is being compared to Hunger Games (young people in combat in a dystopian future), it is actually completely different. Only the setting is the same. There were a few minor details that could have been corrected. This is a must watch for any fans of Sci-Fi, action, or even if you just like to see a female in a lead role. Loved it.
P.S. - If you have not yet seen the trailer, watch it after the movie. It revealed a bit too much.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
foxgroveApr 24, 2014
An engaging Sci Fi thriller which is a bit of a mystery at the beginning (I haven't read the book) as events don't pan out as expected. The young cast are convincingly energetic and Kate Winslet lends her well earned stature to a baddie roleAn engaging Sci Fi thriller which is a bit of a mystery at the beginning (I haven't read the book) as events don't pan out as expected. The young cast are convincingly energetic and Kate Winslet lends her well earned stature to a baddie role even if it is a somewhat unusual choice for the Oscar winner. The plot at times does strain credibility even for this genre and the inevitable blossoming romance between Woodley and James is more of the same. However, for such a long film it is consistently entertaining and for the most part it all works very nicely. Only towards the end do events veer towards extreme conventionality, but by this time one has enjoyed it too much to carp. I think the film critics saw a different movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
IamthejuanAug 22, 2014
This is one of the best movies that has been made since Elysium with Matt Damon. All of the people complaining about it must be too unintelligent to realize the allegory in the movie, in addition to the cool action scenes and goodThis is one of the best movies that has been made since Elysium with Matt Damon. All of the people complaining about it must be too unintelligent to realize the allegory in the movie, in addition to the cool action scenes and good screenwriting.

Even Hollywood is trying to wake us up about society, and yet people complain over the dumbest things because they don't understand the deeper meaning behind movies. and for the record, book to movie ports cannot be exact. It is a different media format that is being targeted to a different audience. I have also read the book, and yes it is better but that does not make this movie bad.

Also, this movie is nothing like Hunger Games. Hunger Games was retarded. This movie is far more realistic and intellectual.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
iamthedangerMar 21, 2014
As someone who hasn't read the books, I really enjoyed it. Honestly I didn't expect to like it after reading some of the reviews but it was good. Great acting from both Theo James and Shailene Woodley. I'm a fan!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
TrisPriorApr 7, 2014
This is such a good movie, it's far more realistic then the Hunger games and not as childish. So go to the theaters, if you haven't yet and go watch Divergent. It's only a shame that there are only three books made. But most of all theThis is such a good movie, it's far more realistic then the Hunger games and not as childish. So go to the theaters, if you haven't yet and go watch Divergent. It's only a shame that there are only three books made. But most of all the special effects are great because the first movie of this book adaption wasn't a low budget, like the hunger games, when Peeta and Katniss come in on their race car. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
bikergirl3636Jul 21, 2014
If you love Equilibrium, or any other sifi fantacy movie you will love this one. i love the charters and the plot however the end i really wish they had killed that one lady at the end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
funkeedeevaAug 27, 2014
People tend to compare Divergent to The Hunger Games. Yes you will feel that way in the beginning but after a while you will see it differently. It covers social issue, politics, action, youths and family. I love the soundtracks.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
HPFANBOY1237Apr 9, 2017
Divergent is a great but silently bland film compared to the eccentric book it's based on. But mostly I'm not disappointed because it mostly stayed true to the book besides leaving some characters out, and Shailene Woodley is fantastic as Tris!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SchroederRockOct 15, 2015
Divergent is a lesser Hunger Games to me. It has moments of great flash and fun, but isn't executed as masterfully. There's a really good movie series here, but that's only if the cast, direction and writing can ascend the norm. FlashyDivergent is a lesser Hunger Games to me. It has moments of great flash and fun, but isn't executed as masterfully. There's a really good movie series here, but that's only if the cast, direction and writing can ascend the norm. Flashy production is easy to come by, but if we scrape past the surface and the soul of this Divergent Series isn't in-tact, then it becomes a house of cards. A promising start, but will it develop into something greater? Time will tell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Tss5078Dec 7, 2014
When I first heard about Divergent, I though the first Hunger Games rip off was upon us, and besides that the whole story seemed somewhat confusing. It is Science Fiction and Directed by Neil Berger, the mind behind Limitless, so I decided toWhen I first heard about Divergent, I though the first Hunger Games rip off was upon us, and besides that the whole story seemed somewhat confusing. It is Science Fiction and Directed by Neil Berger, the mind behind Limitless, so I decided to give it a shot, and it was the best idea I had in a long time.
In a post war America, the city of Chicago is fenced off from the rest of the world, and has split into five factions of people. At the age of 18, all citizens must take an aptitude test, to determine where they belong. Beatrice (Shailene Woodley) is one of the girls taking the test as the movie starts, and her results show that she has an aptitude for all five factions, making her Divergent. Divergent's are highly intelligent, rebellious, and seen as a threat to the Government, so she hides her results and joins Dauntless, the equivalent of the National Guard in Chicago. During her rough training, the now renamed Trice, meets up with Four (Theo James) who she has an instant connection to, but who is also a threat to her secret identity. One thing that was never explained is why these people have to take the aptitude test, if they are allowed to join whichever faction they choose. It's a major plot hole and the only reason this film didn't receive 5 stars, as I really hate plot holes. Shailene Woodley stars as Trice, making the jump from TV to film, and she has done it with a bang. In much the same way Jennifer Lawrence was the perfect choice to play Katniss, Woodley was perfect for the role of Trice, and brought so much more to the film than I ever thought she would. Theo James is also terrific as Four, the mysterious trainer and love interest of Trice, and together the team is the perfect pair. Divergent is highly original, really well written, and introduced Hollywood to a whole slew of new stars, not to mention it's Director, Neil Burger, is on one hell of a successful run of films. Divergent has everything I look for in a film and in my favorite genre, and for that it is now one of our must see movies!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Jul 27, 2014
Not up to the caliber of " The Hunger Games" but a solid film that gives a good dose of excitement in the final 30 minutes. Divergent might be a tad long but good acting by Winslet and Woodley make for an interesting series to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jul 27, 2014
While its premise is a little silly, Divergent manages to be entertaining even with noticeably bad and corny moments. I was impressed enough to be interested in what happens next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MisterKSMar 25, 2014
I enjoyed it thoroughly, and not because i've already read the book. It's very exciting and heart-racing. I know it's a tad bit like "The Hunger Games", but there's a distinct difference about the two of them. I love Shailene Woodley and TheoI enjoyed it thoroughly, and not because i've already read the book. It's very exciting and heart-racing. I know it's a tad bit like "The Hunger Games", but there's a distinct difference about the two of them. I love Shailene Woodley and Theo James, they're the key ingredient of the movie. Plus... Kate Winslet being so cold you just don't care even a bit. Watch it and be the judge yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
C3realkillahSep 14, 2014
Well I watched divergent...the movie I thought was just a rip off of the hunger games and...I WAS DEAD WRONG!!! let me tell you I LOVED this movie and I don't buy a lot of movies but I'm definitely picking this one up. I think it beats theWell I watched divergent...the movie I thought was just a rip off of the hunger games and...I WAS DEAD WRONG!!! let me tell you I LOVED this movie and I don't buy a lot of movies but I'm definitely picking this one up. I think it beats the hunger games by a long shot. It's darker, had me on the edge of my seat, had some feels it is just IMO better than hunger games. Let me get to the review because I could go on and on about how much I love this movie. The premise seemed hunger game like and the factions and even some themes are the same the movies are vastly different. The factions and story were amazing. I've seen themes like these before but my god this movie put them to good use and wasn't generic like I thought it was. The characters Triss and four were well rounded and full of personality. The dauntless faction (my favorite of course) was so entertaining watching the initiation, training, the hardships of war and suffering to come out stronger than ever. The way the twist came and the final act of the movie was intense, jaw dropping, Had me raging (in a good way) and had some MAJOR FEELS and doesn't need spoiling at all! The action, special effects, fight scenes, and actors were all amazing. It definitely is a great movie and deserves higher reviews and praise then I seen it been getting. This is hands down one of my fav movies and I only have a handful of favorites. It definitely shouldn't be passed off as generic or rip off in anyway. I highly recommend it to those who like the hunger games or other scifi young adult adventure films. I will definitely be seeing the sequels and reading the books (and I hardly ever read) I give this movie a 9.5. I really can't find anything wrong with it except the cliffhanger ending. It was just AMAZING. You owe it to yourself to watch this atleast give it a try who knows you might come out loving it like I did!! 9.5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticSep 10, 2014
While it is at least thirty minutes to long, Divergent offers up a half way decent time. Comparisons with The Hunger Games are fair though its not as good, but not Twilight which still sits as one of the worst franchises in the last tenWhile it is at least thirty minutes to long, Divergent offers up a half way decent time. Comparisons with The Hunger Games are fair though its not as good, but not Twilight which still sits as one of the worst franchises in the last ten years. Shailene Woodley's presence on screen definitely helps make some of the less interesting things about the story at least watchable and contributes to a solid start to a new franchise. B Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ViolettFeb 3, 2018
9 for the first part, 5 for the second, 7 in total. Seriously, this lovestory ruined everything. Actually pretty cool post-apocalyptic mid-budget movie, reminded me of Aeon Flux, but this one is even better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpezzSep 30, 2014
The Movie haven't great change from the book and i like this.
The film is a little long, but the history is really big.
A blockbuster movie, not a masterpiece but also not a **** :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscDec 21, 2014
Okay i wasn't a fan of 'The Hunger Games' series that much, divergent didn't disappoint what so ever. As a reader i admire and am entertained by the book itself cause author Veronica Roth creates characters that absorbing to the DivergentOkay i wasn't a fan of 'The Hunger Games' series that much, divergent didn't disappoint what so ever. As a reader i admire and am entertained by the book itself cause author Veronica Roth creates characters that absorbing to the Divergent Series, She creates Psychology futuristic events in the divergent world that makes this book and this movie fun! some screenwriters take popular books make a screenplay can actually be **** like Percy Jackson or The Hunger Games and makes an adaptation then it become a disaster or it comes ok i guess. These Screenwriters did understand the book and what they can do to make it better as a script thats what screenwriters should do often as they make adaptations. The movie is Woodley plays Tris so well she was mean't for this role to play this so well her characteristics fit perfectly in the novel and through out this film. Director Neil Burger makes Roth's vision a reality in this movie and thats everyone dream in a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
Divergent, sin dudas, está un poco infravalorada, el film es entretenido y su historia es interesante, le hace falta mejores críticas de las que tiene, ya que la película, en general, es buena.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lkalibaJul 23, 2014
Though it can be cliché and predictable at times, "Divergent" is a loyal adaptation that moderately succeeds due to its solid acting, visual panache, and adequate direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AmisThysiaApr 6, 2014
I thought the acting and character development was fantastic, which is the purpose of the long run-time. There's a growing trend these days to make films shorter and shorter to suit our ADHD-levels of attention span, fitting the timing toI thought the acting and character development was fantastic, which is the purpose of the long run-time. There's a growing trend these days to make films shorter and shorter to suit our ADHD-levels of attention span, fitting the timing to plot rather than to the time needed to make us connect with the characters. Divergent managed to avoid that, and I think this is where its strength lies - characters, rather than plot. The plot is enjoyable enough, but as others have noted, aspects of it are two-dimensional or don't make much sense, and parts of it feel too stretched-out or too rushed at times. Overall, if you're looking for a good dystopian sci-fi flick with some actual, realistic, relatable human characters in it (sometimes hard to come by in sci-fi), you're not going to go wrong with Divergent. If you're looking for a deep Orwellian analysis of society or for a solidly plot-driven film, you might want to give it a miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jammo1994May 2, 2014
I think this movie is brilliant and its one of those where you wont need to read the books to get it but you will want due to the pure genius that is divergent the only thing that keeps me putting this at a seven is it just seems likeI think this movie is brilliant and its one of those where you wont need to read the books to get it but you will want due to the pure genius that is divergent the only thing that keeps me putting this at a seven is it just seems like something i've seen before and probally will see again due to the buzz over the hunger games Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Viper8787Feb 14, 2015
Better than I expected it to be. It gave a big hunger games feel as i was watching it as it is sort of similar to it. Has some good action scenes that were excellently shot. Some points did get boring as nothing was really going on,but anBetter than I expected it to be. It gave a big hunger games feel as i was watching it as it is sort of similar to it. Has some good action scenes that were excellently shot. Some points did get boring as nothing was really going on,but an entertaining enough movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
samthebeastMay 21, 2014
I think this series has a very bright future ahead of it and that it is better than the hunger games by a long shot. The best thing is that the female character isn't emotionless she is a heroine full of heart and emotion and build herI think this series has a very bright future ahead of it and that it is better than the hunger games by a long shot. The best thing is that the female character isn't emotionless she is a heroine full of heart and emotion and build her character up through the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
random_person23May 28, 2014
When I first watched this movie, I loved it so much because the cast is amazing and the story is interesting. But then I read the book. I still think it is a great movie but, they left out many details. If they hadn't changed a few things,When I first watched this movie, I loved it so much because the cast is amazing and the story is interesting. But then I read the book. I still think it is a great movie but, they left out many details. If they hadn't changed a few things, the movie would have been better. The writers and the director could have done a better job. I am looking forward to watching insurgent because there will be a different director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mariusik008Jul 23, 2014
It's a must see movie. It's build on the same perception that is presented in The Hunger Games, but it's something more with this one than it's predecesor. Shailenne is a fenomenal actress and this role come to justify just that. Also theIt's a must see movie. It's build on the same perception that is presented in The Hunger Games, but it's something more with this one than it's predecesor. Shailenne is a fenomenal actress and this role come to justify just that. Also the rest of the cast are good actors, great play for their characters in the movie. All in all, don't jump this one !! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
1leggdroflcoptrMar 11, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Divergent was an interesting movie however the plot wasn't all that strong, I do like the 1984 big brother type of controlled society premise however I feel like they made it kind of weak in the movie. Given that there is time constraints in making a feature film I will assume that in the book there was more time spent on the whole of the atmosphere. The plot was indeed interesting I think the pacing for it was very good they made sure to give enough information as to why being divergent is "bad" and balancing between Tris' own ways of dealing with and hiding divergence while still keeping the mystery of how divergence is going to be very important in the end. However the begining did start a bit slow. Something I did like a lot was at the end where Four is being controlled and about to kill Tris I like how they didn't take the cheesey LOVE CONQUERS ALL way out, no they played on Four's fear of shooting an innocence so he was to much of a **** to pull the trigger giving his mind a chance to wake up *slow clap* Now the very end I have mixed feelings on because its so open ended and can really be taken in a lot of different ways, I do like that they escaped and hooray they fought the man and won now they run away blah blah blah. However since they wiped the program that was controlling the dauntless and have many people to bear witness at the problems with Erudite why not stay and try to make their society better instead of running away. That aside I did like the movie I thought it was cool not a blockbuster hit but entertaining a more precise score for me would be 6.7/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DivergenteSep 19, 2015
Para mi una película no tiene que ser completamente entretenida para que la disfrute. Es cierto que divergente tiene sus altibajos, pero me gustó lo suficiente. Hay ciertas partes que dejaron a desear, en específico las simulaciones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SrPepeNov 18, 2017
Interesante y divertida película. Una lastima que las siguientes hayan sido tan ASQUEROSAS. Los personajes son muy buenos, las pruebas interesantes y la historia bien.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tbeit2Jun 28, 2017
One of the better YA novel movies. The film succeeds mainly as an origin story for Triss and seeing how she developed and realizes the danger she is in. The film does a good job building the world and introduces some great charactersOne of the better YA novel movies. The film succeeds mainly as an origin story for Triss and seeing how she developed and realizes the danger she is in. The film does a good job building the world and introduces some great characters throughout that make you care about Triss's struggle. It also looks great (aside from the guns, which look horrible). The cinematography is beautiful and a joy to look at. Acting is also very good for the most part and it is a consistent movie.

It has its flaws, such as some mundane writing, some weird art design, some cliched story telling (I hope you like your intro and outro narration!) and could have developed some of the side characters more. But overall, I really did enjoy the film. I would give it a 7, but the fact that the cinematography is as beautiful as it is makes me bump it up just a point.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DominArsenOct 27, 2019
Staging a society with different factions that represents boxes, including one that does not appear. This is the one to which I belong. The one that belongs to all. This film is great because instead of looking to be this rare box it isStaging a society with different factions that represents boxes, including one that does not appear. This is the one to which I belong. The one that belongs to all. This film is great because instead of looking to be this rare box it is tracked.

Mettant en scène une société aux différentes factions qui représente des cases, dont une qui n'apparaît pas. Celle-ci est celle à laquelle j'appartiens. Celle qui appartient à toutes. Ce film est génial, car au lieu de rechercher à être cette case rare elle est traquée.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilipeNetoFeb 13, 2021
After the resounding success of "Hunger Games", American studios were hungry for more films and trilogies for young adults. "Maze Runner" and "Divergent" were two of the most evident, with scripts and source material that, in everything,After the resounding success of "Hunger Games", American studios were hungry for more films and trilogies for young adults. "Maze Runner" and "Divergent" were two of the most evident, with scripts and source material that, in everything, remind us of "Hunger Games". In this film, the beginning of another trilogy, we are presented with a dystopian future: the human race faced the Third World War and almost died out.

In order to regain peace, the survivors grouped in the city of Chicago and created factions, in which they engaged according to their vocation: Erudite grouped intellectuals, teachers and scientists; Amity did the same with farmers, manufacturers, artisans and traders; Candor includes magistrates, lawyers, bailiffs and lawmakers; Dauntless welcomed the police and military; the Abnegation brought together civil servants, doctors, nurses, social workers and all those who dedicate their lives to helping others. By their characteristics, they are also the political leaders. The faction is chosen in adolescence, after a vocational test that should help, or even indicate, to which faction you belong. There are also those who have no faction or have left theirs, and who live in misery. In a system where the faction is more relevant than family, being without a faction is being excluded from society.

The young protagonist is Beatrice, or Tris, whom the vocation test indicated belonging to more than one faction, that is, being a Divergent, a serious threat to the faction system. Choosing to join the Dauntless, she will face serious difficulties to integrate and pass the tests presented to her. To make matters worse, her father, who is one of the leaders of the Abnegation, is being questioned by the strength of the Erudite, led by the cruel Jeannine, eager to rise to power, albeit by violence.

I really liked the movie, overall. At the time it was released I felt it went quite unnoticed, overshadowed especially by "Maze Runner". Now that some years have passed and the success of the competitors has faded, it was interesting to see this film, I felt that I could appreciate it better and that the film has aged well until now. The story is good, it holds us to the end, and it develops in an engaging way.

The cast is quite good and competent at what they should do. I especially liked Shailene Woodley, who I didn't know until I saw her here. She is good at what she does, she has talent and, on a more personal note, she is identical to an old flame of mine, which is almost the same age as her, and that of course made me remember my own past. Theo James was also excellent, particularly in the action scenes, where he seems cut out for the role. Miles Teller is just as good, especially considering that his character is hateful. Equally worthy of our hatred is the character of Jai Courtney, who is very good at the task of being rude, brutish and somewhat sadistic. Kate Winslet is cold and insensitive, and in fact she performed very well, but I don't know if I would bet on her as the first choice for the character. The film also features Zoe Kravitz, Ansel Elgort and Ashley Judd.

Technically, the film is visually impressive. The cinematography is excellent, vibrant and sharp, and I loved the landscapes of a half-destroyed and decadent Chicago, of dry rivers and lakes, and devastated buildings. Incredible, but not coherent: if the entire human population was there, wouldn't more space be needed? Why not rebuild all? Didn't they have two hundred years of peace to do so? Another thing I liked and found amazing was the action and fighting sequences. Really well executed. I also liked to see Intrepid climb buildings with ease ... in a city that is famous for its strong winds (another logic problem that can only be forgiven for being less relevant). The sets and costumes were very well done and the soundtrack also fits into the overall set.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NolanLundgaardMay 12, 2018
Divergent was a movie movie that (mostly) lived up to my expectations. Not quite as good as the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CJAgoraFeb 25, 2019
I can only say that I loved watching this movie, along with my family, and it caught our attention. Thanks to the production team, for all the moments of pleasure created.
In short, against critics, I and my family have been excited about this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DiptanshuMay 3, 2020
Entertaining!acting was good it has best ensemble cast and they were good as there characters!Music was Amazing so does soundtracks,screenplay was great engaging till the end even it's predictable,visuals were okay,story-line was literallyEntertaining!acting was good it has best ensemble cast and they were good as there characters!Music was Amazing so does soundtracks,screenplay was great engaging till the end even it's predictable,visuals were okay,story-line was literally like starting Harry-potter type and ended like hunger-games!it was good even though influenced,the death at last felt too much and whole climax felt little over the top and the intro was Good.some moments were amazing like climbed flying or flag capturing and dream testing!overall it was entertaining and fun movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
adam_chesworthSep 16, 2020
It was really good i liked it, different and unusual. I loved Shailene Woodleys performance in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MdMubinBiswasDec 17, 2020
nnnvggghhhffffff ggfvvbbfffyyjhgfggg ggyjjjgfyygh yggb7ikuuhghhjkkhhhgggkkhhhn
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lessacebolaFeb 5, 2021
Divergente é bem pesado emocionalmente, mas tem uma história muito boa. O filme também apresenta algumas críticas sociais.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews