Miramax Films | Release Date: April 9, 2004
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 111 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
79
Mixed:
19
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MaddieS.Sep 27, 2005
I agree with Julia R. Hugh Dancy is Definitely on my top 5!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MovieLonely94Oct 26, 2010
it lacks the magic of other fairy tales, but to be fair, this movie has good comedy and it sticks to the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieMadnessJun 1, 2011
A real Crowd pleaser, really enjoyed this one and say that you will too! An amazing piece of work that 100% guarantees a family fun adventure and with a comedy touch and lots of twists and turns! Amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kat267Aug 6, 2015
I remember reading this book in elementary school so when I discovered there was a movie, I jumped at the chance to see it and I am so glad I did. Anne Hathaway brings Ella to life with a classic teen-girl personality, not always in lineI remember reading this book in elementary school so when I discovered there was a movie, I jumped at the chance to see it and I am so glad I did. Anne Hathaway brings Ella to life with a classic teen-girl personality, not always in line with the book but still very well done. Hugh Dancy is the perfect Prince Char-ming, who helps Ella learn about love while she teaches him some character lessons. Ella and Char are such a cute romantic pair and they made me believe in the magic of fairytales all over again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Experiment626Dec 26, 2020
Interesting take on the fairy tale genre. Never read the book so I can't say how faithful it is. I thought Hathaway was a good casting choice for the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chromateApr 14, 2022
It's had been a couple years since I watched Ella Enchanted, and because of that I had a weird nostalgic love for it. As a kid, this was just another Cinderella story with a fun twist. Although it is truly a sweet retelling of a classic, aIt's had been a couple years since I watched Ella Enchanted, and because of that I had a weird nostalgic love for it. As a kid, this was just another Cinderella story with a fun twist. Although it is truly a sweet retelling of a classic, a heartwarming romance, rewatching it a few years later made me realize: this is also a genius comedy. I found myself laughing at both the intentional and unintentional hilarious moments. The random musical acts stood out, yet, somehow still fit perfectly. It makes a silly and lighthearted commentary on politics, and although the visual effects are makes it obvious early 2000's movie, the movie doesn't feel dated. The bad graphics and green screen actually makes this film ten times more lovable. This movie might not be the smartest or funniest of all time, but all its quirks-- and that one scene in the mirror room-- make this movie is a clear ten out of ten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JJ2FAS4UDec 30, 2021
----------------------------------9.4/10-----------------------------------
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews