Neon | Release Date: December 3, 2021
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 52 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
5
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
TVJerryMar 28, 2022
Because his true identity can still cause trouble for his family, the central character of this story is given an alias (Amin) and shown only in animation (apparently, much of the time he was lying down facing up toward the camera). He wasBecause his true identity can still cause trouble for his family, the central character of this story is given an alias (Amin) and shown only in animation (apparently, much of the time he was lying down facing up toward the camera). He was just a young boy in the 80s, when he and members of his family fled Afghanistan after the Mujahideen started to rise to power. His years-long journey to his final home in Denmark is truly remarkable and terrifying, but it wasn't until 20 years later that he became comfortable sharing the full truth about this family and his own gay relationship. There are a few moments of video from historic events, but much of the more challenging and emotional moments are illustrated in a straightforward, unflashy style. Even so, his narrative is fascinating and his resilience is incredible. Ultimately, it ends with a very touching resolution. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantJan 22, 2022
This will undoubtedly be perceived as an unfavorable opinion, but I'll say it anyway -- the gay protagonist's harrowing story about his escape from Afghanistan's political turmoil is truly inspiring, and the animation used to tell it isThis will undoubtedly be perceived as an unfavorable opinion, but I'll say it anyway -- the gay protagonist's harrowing story about his escape from Afghanistan's political turmoil is truly inspiring, and the animation used to tell it is visually dazzling. But do the two really mesh? I must be missing something here, because, even though director Jonas Poher Rasmussen's latest is inventive in its own right, I fail to grasp the significance of using this particular approach to tell this story. In fact, I'm even skeptical about labeling this work as a documentary; it seems more like a stylish retelling of a true story, which, in my book, isn't the same as a work belonging in the genre in which it has been placed. It also underplays the gay aspect of this story in favor of a somewhat overlong recounting of the protagonist's flight to freedom. While the film certainly has its admirable elements (especially in the last half hour), this offering strikes me as yet another overhyped 2021 release -- not as much as many of last year's other cinematic darlings, but I don't see this as something deserving of the excessive praise that has been generously heaped upon it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
SamimacedoDec 19, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. É o best picture, que tato ao contarem essa hisoria, eu amei demais, espero que venham mais documentários assim. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
JLuis_001Apr 22, 2022
The strength of animated filmmaking provides an enriching approach to this powerful story that I believe a normal documentary would not have been able to provide.

Flee is a heartfelt film that reflects and questions how so many people are
The strength of animated filmmaking provides an enriching approach to this powerful story that I believe a normal documentary would not have been able to provide.

Flee is a heartfelt film that reflects and questions how so many people are forced to survive by fleeing their homes because of how the inability to understand each other often results in violence and complete social collapse.

A powerful work.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
bertobellamyJun 1, 2022
'Flee' transcends any form of medium or genre to tell the heartbreaking story of an Afghan refugee asking for a chance to live a dignified life. Jonas Poher Rasmussen's craftsmanship gives us an astounding film that uses animation not just to'Flee' transcends any form of medium or genre to tell the heartbreaking story of an Afghan refugee asking for a chance to live a dignified life. Jonas Poher Rasmussen's craftsmanship gives us an astounding film that uses animation not just to hide the identity of its subject, but as a way to tell the horrible experiences of his youth. The writer/director is meticulous not to sensationalize the tales of Amin; the close relationship he has with him opens a door no other filmmaker could have. The animation is simple but effective, and two styles — one being more abstract than the other — blend organically for very dramatic purposes. The use of archival material helps contextualize Amin's story, giving you insight into the cultural and political changes in countries like Afghanistan and Russia. You may already know the details, but the way Rasmussen inserts them into the film helps you understand another angle of the film: Amin coming to terms with his sexuality. It's amazing how the movie tackles many relevant things without being didactic or overwhelming. 'Flee' will leave you thinking for days about the refugee crisis and the suffering of innocent people, but not in a very disposable way; its tone and execution honor the sacrifices of these people. Maybe this could be the most humanistic film ever made about a very delicate theme. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LuissDtJun 4, 2022
Flee is not only a very well animated movie with a sensational script, it is also one of the best surprises in terms of movies and documentaries in 2021
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeJun 22, 2022
Historic win in 2022 of three Academy Awards! Best International Film. Best Documentary. Best Animated. Beyond expectations and amazing film making.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
adamtaylor792Aug 4, 2022
Beautiful animation elevates this documentary to the next level and makes it unlike anything else available to watch. The exploration of identity while giving an alternate view to history from the perspective of someone who lived throughBeautiful animation elevates this documentary to the next level and makes it unlike anything else available to watch. The exploration of identity while giving an alternate view to history from the perspective of someone who lived through events makes it worth watching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SamiIsidorioDec 30, 2021
Whatta good film, whatta touching film, its better yhos film win best animated film in oscars.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
MordoReviewerJan 21, 2022
An excellent made, very moving documentary, everyone should see it and learn from it.
An increible achievement for documentary and animation
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
fra92Dec 5, 2021
Flee is such an amazing movie. It's so touching and important. It's a personal story that spoke to me and made me cry. I really loved it and I recommend to watch it
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
justmovietrollFeb 28, 2022
A simple yet beautifully animated and deep story of a gay refugee and his journey as a child. It's a worthy addition to the Documentary universe, as well as an underrated animated masterpiece. A must-see!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
rezagtx1983Jan 20, 2022
garbage leftist product.us destroyed afghanistan and now they make woke garbage about them.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
5
AndyCFJul 11, 2022
Even as a gay man who empathizes with the plight of the main character, I find that this film, as sensitive as it is, is grossly overrated. I have read the overwhelming praise of the animation which I don't understand; it is basic, jerky,Even as a gay man who empathizes with the plight of the main character, I find that this film, as sensitive as it is, is grossly overrated. I have read the overwhelming praise of the animation which I don't understand; it is basic, jerky, without the extra frames to make the action flow. But worse are the expressionless characters, who seem to be in shock for the entire length of the film. There is no complexity of emotion, and when the off-screen narration of the main character claims "he couldn't stop crying," there is no visual evidence. When you rely on off-screen narration to fill in the gaps, despite the fact that the actual people who lived through this nightmare are used, but don't have the ability to emote, you are making excuses for the oversight. The live action news footage, shown boxed like home movies, is hardly adequate. A movie that relies on what it can tell you instead of show you is not a good movie. Film is a visual medium (duh) and this film fails miserably. what a missed opportunity! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
All_ButTrU4Aug 19, 2022
"This is a film which simply wouldn’t have worked in any medium but animation: in an hour and a half we come to know Amin intimately without actually setting eyes on him at all. It’s an ingenious way to tell a story that’s both extraordinary"This is a film which simply wouldn’t have worked in any medium but animation: in an hour and a half we come to know Amin intimately without actually setting eyes on him at all. It’s an ingenious way to tell a story that’s both extraordinary and commonplace: only with the teller’s anonymity tactfully preserved can the tale itself be hauled fully into the light."

Flee is a stunning achievement in film that manages to be not only a moving documtary but a step forward in storytelling. It's use of straight forward yet evocative animation and anonymity create a dizzying intimacy with the story ,one that stays with you long after it ends. Truly groundbreaking media that succeeds not only through it's humanity but through showing a world most of us couldn't imagine, one where lives end in seconds and families lose touch. I truly loved this movie despite perhaps never really ever going to commit to rewatching it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MargiVSep 10, 2022
Powerful story! But not that great. It was very descriptive, very good documentary material. I like the drawing style and the real life scenes. It touched many contemporary problems. We need more movies like this. As for the Oscar nominationsPowerful story! But not that great. It was very descriptive, very good documentary material. I like the drawing style and the real life scenes. It touched many contemporary problems. We need more movies like this. As for the Oscar nominations for the documentary and international has a chance, but for the animation, it doesn't touch Luca. Well done to the producers! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews