First Run Features | Release Date: October 5, 2007
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 17 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
0
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
smijatovJul 14, 2011
"For the Bible Tells Me So" is definitely a film that all Americans should watch! It carries the ultimate Christian message - the message of love! Love and acceptance that the church preaches but ignores in their relation to gay people. The"For the Bible Tells Me So" is definitely a film that all Americans should watch! It carries the ultimate Christian message - the message of love! Love and acceptance that the church preaches but ignores in their relation to gay people. The irony is exceedingly striking in video footage of Christian fundamentalists who claim they do not hate, but love gay people... they just want to help them change. That juxtaposed to anti-gay protesters with very offensive, death-threatening signs makes the relevance of the film's message ever-more important. From a technical aspect, the film is pretty ok, but it has some messy editing, that could have been fixed and made to flow a bit better. Overall, however, it is the message of the film that is important and the shedding of light over the fictional interpretations of fundamentalists in the US on the issue of homosexuality. Definitely worth watching, if for nothing else, for a lively and (for once) informed debate. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewD.Jan 13, 2008
Devout Christians need not feel belittled watching this film. It takes their beliefs seriously but argues convincingly that most people have not thought this subject through exhaustively. Many people only consider the issue when a loved one Devout Christians need not feel belittled watching this film. It takes their beliefs seriously but argues convincingly that most people have not thought this subject through exhaustively. Many people only consider the issue when a loved one comes out of the closet. The most painful journey is sometimes made by those whose struggle to understand comes in the wake of tragedy. The film is hard on those who have practiced spiritual violence, such as James Dobson (Focus On the Family) Jerry Fallwell. Religious people should realize that the Bible should not be used as a weapon of assault. Our words have power and if used irresponsibly, have the potential to lead to tragedy. The film expresses clearly the conviction that it is perfectly possible to be Christian and gay. This film is clear in its message but knows how to say things to win hearts and minds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Feb 13, 2008
It certainly makes you think. Right wing Christians will not be amused, but no matter what your background, it makes some strong points that are hard to dispute, particularly when it comes to the bible. Well edited and excellent use of interviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JameseOct 15, 2007
I found this movie interesting since i myself am religious. I am just not sure about how the parents reacted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeO.Oct 16, 2007
Very informative & an invaluable insight into the current culture wars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Love people, love up anything. This type of documentary is very interesting because it comes from and superimposed on those who translate the Bible in their own way, everything condemning homosexuality, an abomination. The world needsLove people, love up anything. This type of documentary is very interesting because it comes from and superimposed on those who translate the Bible in their own way, everything condemning homosexuality, an abomination. The world needs information and destruction of common sense which, they (religious-capitalists who were shown in the documentary), these traditionalists - **** that **** do not defend unless the millions who make up the poor people without structure psychological or think enough to say â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
emmuh88Jun 3, 2014
As a teenager that has grown up not only in a Catholic family but also in a society that portrays the issue of homosexuality as controversial, I found this movie extremely eye opening and interesting. Within the first few minutes of theAs a teenager that has grown up not only in a Catholic family but also in a society that portrays the issue of homosexuality as controversial, I found this movie extremely eye opening and interesting. Within the first few minutes of the movie, there was a quote that really stuck out to me: “This country is doing everything it can to make it seem like it is okay to be gay, and it’s not.” When I heard this I was shocked. How could someone say something so harsh and horrible? Throughout the movie, there were several families with a homosexual son or daughter. Most of the parents mentioned that when their child came out, they referred to the Bible. Leviticus 20:13 states, “If a man also lie with man and a woman also lie with woman, both of them are committing an abomination. They shall be put to death, their blood is upon them.” Despite the fact that I am apart of the Catholic community, I had never once before heard of this verse. I feel as though the church portrays homosexuality as a sin that should be punished with death. I find this ridiculous. Overall, I thought this movie was intriguing and gave a new perspective on homosexuality (interviews of Christian parents of homosexuals) that I had never seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews