New Line Cinema | Release Date: February 13, 2009
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 373 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
199
Mixed:
115
Negative:
59
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
TTW107Apr 12, 2012
It's almost as if they didn't even watch the original Friday the 13th before making this. Please ignore this piece of crap, this is hollywood trying to get every buck they can. Thank the lord for redbox. But still, buying gum with my oneIt's almost as if they didn't even watch the original Friday the 13th before making this. Please ignore this piece of crap, this is hollywood trying to get every buck they can. Thank the lord for redbox. But still, buying gum with my one dollar would've been a better investment. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
0
driesy8888Sep 6, 2011
Why does this movie have a higher score than other Horror movies that are actually better than it? I hated it. It just seemed like another stupid sequel
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
rafael14Jan 6, 2012
it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.it's suck.v
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
Mad_Hatter91Aug 31, 2012
Really a very disappointing remake. The film begins with the death of the mother of Jason and Jason as a child who grabs the machete used to kill her. After that scene, the movie is full of clichés and ridiculous characters and alreadyReally a very disappointing remake. The film begins with the death of the mother of Jason and Jason as a child who grabs the machete used to kill her. After that scene, the movie is full of clichés and ridiculous characters and already seen the boy with glasses who is a loser, then black and foreign that have to be ridiculous, the girls have to be naked, the boys always in heat and two normal characters. If I can describe the movie in two words are sex and drugs. The good thing about the film are Jason and the deaths of the characters. At least the dead have not been studied repetitive, but all in the spoken to him. However a disappointing film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
CooterPatooterFeb 20, 2012
Mind-numbing garbage that doesn't even try to follow the source material its supposedly remaking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeApr 22, 2016
Jason Voorhees is back for some more slashing and dicing in Crystal Lake. Michael Bay decides to join Producing Lane 101 when it comes to making this. He made the entire franchise lose its mojo. Too boring, so tired, this Friday the 13thJason Voorhees is back for some more slashing and dicing in Crystal Lake. Michael Bay decides to join Producing Lane 101 when it comes to making this. He made the entire franchise lose its mojo. Too boring, so tired, this Friday the 13th calls My Bloody Valentine to join with the rest of the horrible horror films. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
DragonCriticXSep 26, 2011
I'm a huge horror film fan and i liked most of the original Friday the 13th films. But in this modern age, filmmakers seems to have forgotten what horror is all about. Nowadays it's just lots and lots of dreadfully boring gore flicks. HorrorI'm a huge horror film fan and i liked most of the original Friday the 13th films. But in this modern age, filmmakers seems to have forgotten what horror is all about. Nowadays it's just lots and lots of dreadfully boring gore flicks. Horror films is supposed to be about suspense and scare but those things are almost completely abscent in todays films. And this new tradition continues on in this remake. This movie is a total bore and is not worth more than a rent at best. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
2
ArkonBladeDec 28, 2010
wow this is 80s horror in its truest form... lame . ok i dont know why the hell any one goes to the theater and supports theese kind of **** slasher films. every thing about this movie was predictable . i mean i predicted when every personwow this is 80s horror in its truest form... lame . ok i dont know why the hell any one goes to the theater and supports theese kind of **** slasher films. every thing about this movie was predictable . i mean i predicted when every person was gona die atleast 2-5 min before it happend . the only scaryy thing about this film to me is that there are people that like this crap. the only reason i give this 2 points is for the 2 nice sets of breasts i saw in this craptacular **** . its not that i dont like slasher films its just that for the love of god make them more innovative then abunch of dumb (and i emphisize dumb) teenagers go out in the woods have sex and get killed or get drunk and get killed and then just keep doing that despite of all the dead bodies and missing people that do or dont show up. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
MovieLonely94Oct 16, 2010
um, do we really need a 2009 remake of the 1980 horror movie that had became one of the worst movies ever made? no, we didn't want to, but instead they did. god, those people are just being too stupid and naive seeing this crappy remake.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Cotts1988Apr 30, 2011
I like to write reviews based primarily on how much enjoyment I got from watching the film in question. Therefore, my score of 0 speaks for itself.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
chancewellnitzJun 21, 2011
Terrible. Just terrible. This movie embodies everything that is wrong with modern horror movies. The characters weren't likable (complete with cheesy dialogue and bad acting), the story was riddled with plot holes, and, to top it all off, theTerrible. Just terrible. This movie embodies everything that is wrong with modern horror movies. The characters weren't likable (complete with cheesy dialogue and bad acting), the story was riddled with plot holes, and, to top it all off, the killer had no motive. Watch it if you're a fan horrid movies, which seems silly to me. Otherwise, stay away. Oh, and it's not scary. At all. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
jordyboyMay 3, 2011
Wow this sucked sorta this movie was boring and made fun of the horror name i mean please i could go to camp crystal lake and do much better than this
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
ScottNJun 29, 2009
Basically nothing more than another forgettable horror movie remake. Compared with the endless onslaught of horror remakes, this file is pretty comparable, but that's not saying alot as most of these remakes offer very little of Basically nothing more than another forgettable horror movie remake. Compared with the endless onslaught of horror remakes, this file is pretty comparable, but that's not saying alot as most of these remakes offer very little of anything new, and lack the intensity and effectiveness of the originals. Friday the 13th is no exception. I will say that they did a good job with Jason and there were some good kills in this movie. F13 fans will be pleased at the usual amount of gratuitous fornication taking place in this film (a trademark of F13 movies), but those bells and whistles are the only resemblance to the original movies. Gone are the intense music (even during action/murder scenes), the witty humor, and the charasmatic characters. F13 2009 is nothing more than a shell of Sean Cunningham's original classic. Not the worst movie I've ever seen (I've seen some doosies) but quickly forgotten once I was done watching it. Yawn. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
Kriiis!!Mar 3, 2009
Giving the few jumpy moments when i saw this film, they have managed to turn a cult classic series into a soft porn teen slasher film. Not even worth downloading... Predictable story lines, rubbish acting and a sense of repetition..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CommonSenseMar 3, 2009
Very forgettable, absolutely no suspense. about 11 out of the 13 kills are painfully predictable. the movie was so short only because the basic plot couldn't have possibly gone any further; nothing was added to the original story. iVery forgettable, absolutely no suspense. about 11 out of the 13 kills are painfully predictable. the movie was so short only because the basic plot couldn't have possibly gone any further; nothing was added to the original story. i think users are giving the movie high ratings based on the fact that they managed to finish the film without passing out of leaving the theatre. semi-entertaining and a great movie are 2 different things Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikePFeb 14, 2009
Uninspired and pointless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PaulCFeb 23, 2009
I've been a fan of horror movies for over 40 years and have learned to take "critics" reviews with the proverbial "grain of salt" I really wasn't interested in seeing this "remake", but after reading what the users were saying I I've been a fan of horror movies for over 40 years and have learned to take "critics" reviews with the proverbial "grain of salt" I really wasn't interested in seeing this "remake", but after reading what the users were saying I went to see it with good expectations. What a major dissapointment and waste of precious time! I don't understand how so many users on this site could give this crap such positive reviews. This time the critics and user Mike P got it right. Uninspired and pointless indeed! Stay away from and stop supporting garbage like this which insults the intelligence of any and all fans of this genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisYFeb 20, 2009
This movie was ridiculous. I was expecting to be scared out of my mind, and that's what I got for about the first 10 minutes. But after the initial five characters are killed, the plot stops and gratuitous killings slowly happen one by This movie was ridiculous. I was expecting to be scared out of my mind, and that's what I got for about the first 10 minutes. But after the initial five characters are killed, the plot stops and gratuitous killings slowly happen one by one... by one... by one. I found myself laughing more in this movie than I should have. I cannot recommend this to anyone who is seriously searching for a quality horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
thetruthFeb 25, 2009
"They have entered the domain of jason Vorrhees".... Tjason is pure evil".... etc etc etc Um. He is not the killer in the original firday the 13th and not even a man. The killer is the mother. So, yeah, nice one retards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MetalPunkA7XAug 15, 2009
This movie is terrible... I can't believe one of my favorite slasher movies got terribly reanimated into this festering pile of s*#%... Granted, I wasn't alive when the original came out, but when I was of age, I started with the This movie is terrible... I can't believe one of my favorite slasher movies got terribly reanimated into this festering pile of s*#%... Granted, I wasn't alive when the original came out, but when I was of age, I started with the classics... F13 was very cool, and got me hooked to the genre.... When I heard that it was being remade, I was excited to see what they could do with modern technology.... Unfortunately, when I saw Michael Bay's name attached to it in the opening credits, my heart was shattered... All I could remember was Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, where his "producing amazingness" turned it into an abomination of film... I couldn't see how THIS FILM could do the same (sarcasm *hint* *hint*). Surely, after 20 minutes, I was correct in my assumption.... When the characters were introduced, I only had a connection with one... Jason.... For obvious reasons, I could see his motives for vengeance... However, the other character's personalities made them forgettable, and just downright annoying... As a viewer, I just wanted to see the teenagers killed as fast as possible, and I wanted the movie to be over... The teens had no variety, because they just got drunk/high, and were naive as hell.... Let's talk about the death scenes, shall we? People critisize the Saw franchaise for "senseless killings," but one overview of these, and they would think differently... No variety, whatsoever, to them leads me to suspect that they rehashed some old killings to attain to a younger, and obscenely naive, audience. Granted, I am in that audience range, but my mind is above the majority... A machete there, an axe here, it just all got so old... There wasn't anything that made me say, "That was something else..." It's the same stuff that we've seen before, and I can't believe people bought into this... Entertainment Weekly rated this "film" a 75, and I have one question for them? WHY!? Were you under the influence while watching this? Was it just that amazing? When Saw films are rated so low, this gets a higher rating than them?!? OK, I'LL ADMIT! The Saw films are a different subgenre of horror, but ITS HORROR PEOPLE!!!! We get scared, and that's what horror is about, being scared... My adivce, go watch Saw 1-5, because you will be scared better, and get a better story with characters to connect with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LuisGFeb 18, 2009
The thrill is gone the gore and killings pleanty and aisde from a small snippet of backstory theres not much to see here that other F13th films had... jason goes on killing rampage and thats about it and once again are the same stupid teens The thrill is gone the gore and killings pleanty and aisde from a small snippet of backstory theres not much to see here that other F13th films had... jason goes on killing rampage and thats about it and once again are the same stupid teens that you can but not car for in dismal amount... unlike scream that offered scares with some amount of brains ... this new F13th is everthing that was before and that not a compliment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
There's a nude scene towards the beginning that may go down as being one of the better ones in film history, but other than a great nude scene, the remake is flat and pointless, and it's supposed to be a horror film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Kylenine1Mar 30, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film opens with the death of Mrs. Voorhees and proceeds to the present day. It seems that the filmmakers re-wrote the film completely different. Whitney Miller (Amanda Righetti) is camping in the woods with her friends. After telling the legend of Jason Voorhees (Derek Mears) Jason actually kills Whitney's friends and takes her hostage underground. When we see Jason for most parts until the middle of the film he wears a sack over his head. It likes like the sack he wore in Friday The 13TH part: II. It's not until after killing someone in a barn does he get his Hockey Mask. This leaves me to believe that this is a film that combines the elements of the second and third films, totally re-written for a remake. While Whitney's brother Clay Miller (Jared Padalecki) searchers for her, Trent, (Travis Van Winkle) along with his friends and his girlfriend party it up at his mansion sized cottage. To me, this took away the Camp Crystal Lake setting. We're not even focused on it except for two scenes. One in the beginning and one in the middle. One includes Clay and Jenna hiding from Jason as he approaches with a body bag in Camp Crystal Lake. The first scene is when two of Whitney's friends are go to visit Camp Crystal Lake in the beginning of the film. The battle between Clay and Trent really didn't help the storyline at all. The interesting part is that Jason won't kill Whitney because she has the locket his mom had in the opening sequence of the film. She reminds him of his mother. This film has a high gore content. An example is that in one water skiing scene involving Willa Ford and one of her cast members. After Willa falls into the wall her cast member is shot in the head by Jason with an axe. He falls down and is dead of course. Another example is that Willa Ford is stabbed in the head by Jason with his Machete while hiding under a dock.
Then blood is shown going down her face. For many reasons the remake of Friday The 13TH gets a 1 out of 10 score from me.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AReviewsJun 26, 2013
Friday the 13th remake is dull full of cliches, uninteresting and stupid, it is not entertaining at all, the acting is mediocre and the jump scares are predictable, this is an example of a really bad horror movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
lukechristianscJan 13, 2015
i thought that Friday the 13th needed a remake why? cause the characters need to improve, the fact their the horror's disposable cliche characters.It came true and it's dumb and more dumber. I expected that the remake was awful and i wasi thought that Friday the 13th needed a remake why? cause the characters need to improve, the fact their the horror's disposable cliche characters.It came true and it's dumb and more dumber. I expected that the remake was awful and i was right. When the movie started We have druggie teenagers and the sluts as well, go camping at " Camp Crystal lake." girls take off their shirts and then sex happens! did you think when watching this remake did you think there was going to be no sex? your wrong and there is sex a lot. (That's not the point), Then they wonder off into oblivion then they find Jason! the characters into the original were dumb in this "remake" they get Dumber. The story continues, a bunch of teens (what ever they are) are spending a week at a mansion.By the way these characters are much much worst as we saw earlier in the film, The guys get dumbest and so are the blonde whores as well. Thank god their was two good characters in this movie Jared Padalecki and his sister are kick ass one good thing about this movie. Positives: Jason's kills in this movie are totally epic.the action improves one-hundred percent;Jared Padalecki's performance as clay was epic and one of the best characters. This movie wants you to care about the characters, i didn't i just wanted them to be dead! thank god! the only character i cared was clay and his sister. Negatives: Nipsel directs other people's classic and turns into remakes, basically Nipsel just makes the directors of the original look bad. Cunningham gets a healthy way to kill the characters, Nipsel goes for the slick by pouring tomato crap as "blood". Nipsel has no showing skill as a director. the script and the directing kills the franchise also Bay's presence. Producer Micheal Bay ruins another successful franchise also he has bad taste of directors instead of hiring a man who knows the genre/franchise, like James Wan or Hitchcock but no they choose the director who killed the chainsaw franchise now kills the guy the mask franchise. You could hear mislead producers Andrew form and Brad Fuller screaming "Come on Nipsel work that camera!" and then cheap porn producer (Bay) saying "hey speed it up let's shoot the sex scene i got my camera!" Bay just has to be involved in casting cute blondes to suck at acting in a movie then put them in a horror movie. It has "Platinum Dunes" written all over this movie. The writer Damian Shannon wrote ( Freddy vs Jason) he killed two franchises. Then we have producer Sean S. Cunningham (the director of the original) the poor man! i can't believe that this guy is producing this garbage. Grade F+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
StrangerinaJul 1, 2014
This movie would have fared much better in my book if it took more from the original Friday the 13th film where Jason Voorhees was more of a downplayed character, and was portrayed as a psychological bogeyman, rather than an invincibleThis movie would have fared much better in my book if it took more from the original Friday the 13th film where Jason Voorhees was more of a downplayed character, and was portrayed as a psychological bogeyman, rather than an invincible deadite.

But, alas, this film wants to please the crowd by bringing the legendary slasher villain to the 21st century, and this it certainly did, although they forgot to bring anything fresh to the table.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
jsharbourOct 12, 2015
Garbage. I've watched the entire Friday the 13th series in the past few months, so they are all fresh in my mind, and this 2009 remake is absolute garbage with no redeeming qualities and just stupid and brutal. There is also a huge plotGarbage. I've watched the entire Friday the 13th series in the past few months, so they are all fresh in my mind, and this 2009 remake is absolute garbage with no redeeming qualities and just stupid and brutal. There is also a huge plot failure where a woman escapes from Jason's underground hive, runs through the woods to escape, and then 30 minutes later is back in chains--with no explanation or scene explaining how she was re-captured. Edited out? What an epic fail.

I'm really not surprised at how bad this movie is because Michael Bay was involved in it. He should really just be banned from Hollywood. Next time I see his name come up front and center at the beginning, I'll just quit and save myself an hour. I did not finish this movie, just couldn't take it after an hour.

Yes, we know, death and sex go hand-in-hand. Put people in situations where they're having lots of sex and then murder them gets the adrenalin pumping. But seriously, this is 2015, not 1985. Aren't we beyond that primal crap by now? When it's this obvious it doesn't work. Sure, the girls are fun to look at, but I was at least expecting a bare minimum plot here IN ADDITION.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
kyle20ellisMar 26, 2022
'Friday the 13th' may have been panned by critics when first released but since then it is one of the most famous and influential horror films, the franchise containing one of horror's most iconic villains. The film is popular enough to'Friday the 13th' may have been panned by critics when first released but since then it is one of the most famous and influential horror films, the franchise containing one of horror's most iconic villains. The film is popular enough to become a franchise and spawn several sequels of varying quality and generally inferior to the one that started it all off.

It is very easy to call the 2009 'Friday the 13th' as a remake, for reasons that are easy to understand. Personally am actually to judge 'Friday the 13th' (2009) as a reboot rather than a remake. While not quite as bad as has been said, it even fails by reboot standards. There was no point to it whatsoever, the series should just have stopped at the last sequel and even then the series was severely fatigued, the fifth or sixth for me was the last watchable 'Friday the 13th' film, and there is very little to recommend it judging it as an overall film.

Entries like 'Jason Takes Manhattan' and 'Jason X' may have been heavily problematic and less than mediocre, but credit is due to them for trying to do something different. 'Friday the 13th' (2009) has very few ideas of its own and the very few attempted were either cheaply executed (such as an out of character Jason), felt like they were lifted from another film (too many of the deaths are sadistic enough to be near-'Saw' territory) and more horror genre clich├ęs done to death.

The story is suggestive of the series being completely stale and takes forever to get going after the first 20 minutes, with very little happening and with a lot of gratuitous, cheap and pointless elements. Apart from one respectable performance, the acting is horrendous even by 'Friday the 13th' standards, the characters are ones you want dead fast and have nothing interesting about them and the dialogue would likely make even more forgiving people embarrassed. The ending is far too abrupt and anti-climactic, as well as going too far with the ridiculousness.

Very few of the deaths are that memorable or disturbing, they're just too sadistic and paced too fast to make much impact. There is a severe shortage of suspense and scares, next to zero in both departments past the opening, replaced instead by childish humour and an overdose of gore, nudity and profanity that adds nothing. Pacing is erratic and the direction is often lifeless, especially in most of the first half. Can remember very little distinguished or memorable about the music, mostly one of the series' best assets now completely forgettable here.

Despite these many drawbacks, there are positives. The first 20 minutes were absolutely great, it was tense, scary, clever, suspenseful and compelling. It actually gave the feeling that the series had redeemed itself.

Technically, apart from some slapdash MTV-like editing that just didn't belong the production values were stylish and atmospheric.

Although no Kane Hodder, Derek Mears is a wholly respectable and imposingly unsettling Jason.

Overall, started off so well and then went downhill like water down the plughole. 3/10 Bethany Cox
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Rcavey92212Mar 14, 2020
When I first saw this movie I absolutely hated it. My expectations were on the high side. I loved the f13 franchise and was a big fan of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake which Marcus Nispel was also responsible for. So I thought to myselfWhen I first saw this movie I absolutely hated it. My expectations were on the high side. I loved the f13 franchise and was a big fan of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake which Marcus Nispel was also responsible for. So I thought to myself it was a sure bet especially with the mindset of how hard is it to execute one of these movies. Well apparently quite difficult because this disappointing dumb fest highlights all the things that brought the slasher to a close in the late 80s, Early 90s. And ontop of that he uses the same execution that he did in Chainsaw. It's very serious, drab cinematography and bleached film. All if those suited that film perfectly but here they feel very much out of place. F13 has always been fun and this revamp is anything but. In fact it's quite miserable, drawn out and lifeless. Derek Mears is fine as Hason but the film is nonsensical and 95% of the characters are really unlikable. The hot but bland Jared Padalecki and mousey Danielle Panabaker aside. Watching it now I hate it a little less but it's just not fun in any way, the kills are uninspired and the finale like the rest of the film is just plain stupid. *SPOILER* I mean after everything they go through with the cops on the way they push his body into the lake just for one last cheap jump scare, which sadly sums up the whole experience.

1.5/5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FilipeNetoJun 29, 2018
This movie is the eleventh sequel to "Friday the 13th". The number is gigantic, considering that the franchise never had a single spark of quality. This time, the franchise tried to return to its origins, to the old abandoned camp on theThis movie is the eleventh sequel to "Friday the 13th". The number is gigantic, considering that the franchise never had a single spark of quality. This time, the franchise tried to return to its origins, to the old abandoned camp on the shores of Crystal Lake, probably in an attempt to remake the first film. Despite being considerably better than the first film and any other film in the franchise, it's still not really a good movie. It creates good environment and suspense but, in fact, we already know everything that will happen, the material is totally worn. The bet on adolescent nudity, deplorable attempts to make sex scenes and drunkenness, make the film immediately obnoxious and prevents any sympathy for those creatures called "teenagers". Was it good to see them dying? It was... but it's not worth watching the movie to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Cementer200Sep 27, 2020
Friday the 13th (2009) is a bad movie. the plot of the movie is good at first but is poorly executed with forgettable characters there is too much of a focus around Jason Voorhees not really his victims.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JLauSep 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Reboot where Jason keeps a girl captive, her brother comes, he kills a group of other kids, one of which has perfect nipple placement apparently. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews