Freestyle Releasing | Release Date: September 9, 2005
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 170 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
146
Mixed:
13
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
EconomistbrAug 5, 2007
The is only fun if for those that have fantasies about gang violence or for those that enjoy gang culture. The movie has a weak plot, and passes the idea that getting punched on the face is fun and turns you into a better man. Also the The is only fun if for those that have fantasies about gang violence or for those that enjoy gang culture. The movie has a weak plot, and passes the idea that getting punched on the face is fun and turns you into a better man. Also the movies sells the idea that a bunch of spoiled teenagers are big time gangsters and that is laughable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
TommyD.Feb 20, 2006
'Green Street Hooligans' comes complete with a boring, recycled plot, on which hangs a thinly examined world of soccer "Firms", and is then filled copiously with stupid coincidence, barely concealed plot turns and resolutions that, 'Green Street Hooligans' comes complete with a boring, recycled plot, on which hangs a thinly examined world of soccer "Firms", and is then filled copiously with stupid coincidence, barely concealed plot turns and resolutions that, on one hand make so little sense as to leave the viewer in disbelief that any human being could wander about this oblivious to logic and realism, and on the other hand remind the aforementioned viewer that he has seen this exact mind-numbingly impossible plot device literally hundreds of times before. The only joy that escapes from this film (seemingly accidental, although at moments one wonders) comes from some priceless voice over acting on the part of Elijah Wood, the sight of said Mr. Wood flinging his hobbity frame into battle over a bit of round ball as you reminisce about classics like 'North' and 'The Good Son', and a few choice renditions of 'I'm Forever Blowing Bubbles' that are guaranteed to cramp the stomach with fits of laughter. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChrisL.Apr 1, 2008
This is one of my favorite movies. Really does a good job of showing English Footballing culture, and has a really good storyline. The one thing I dislike is the American girl whose played by an English girl. They could have found someone This is one of my favorite movies. Really does a good job of showing English Footballing culture, and has a really good storyline. The one thing I dislike is the American girl whose played by an English girl. They could have found someone way better. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnnaM.Mar 22, 2007
It is one of the best films I ever saw. The main characters are brilliant. The story is full of action!!! The film makes an big impression on me!!!! YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS FILM!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JackMOct 2, 2005
What a film, I enjoyed this so much. Couple of things ruined it though which was the terrible cockny accent, and the end scene where everyone stops fighting, it wouldnt happen. But other then that a extremley tasty film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickiJ.Sep 26, 2005
Absolutely great film!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamieK.Nov 22, 2005
ITS GREAT.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
EldonJun 21, 2006
This movie is not a 10 or anything close to a "10", please. So contrived and forced. Trying so hard and failing. Do the people who give this a ten watch other movies too? Geez. I gave it a 3 because some of the acting is the only thing that This movie is not a 10 or anything close to a "10", please. So contrived and forced. Trying so hard and failing. Do the people who give this a ten watch other movies too? Geez. I gave it a 3 because some of the acting is the only thing that keeps one engaged. Elijah, who I am a fan of, is horribly miscast here. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Feb 15, 2008
How could anyone have enjoyed this film? This film was terrible, with a laughable plot, melodramatic dialog, and sub-standard acting. This film was so predictable it was as if my girlfriend, who watched it with me, was directing the film in How could anyone have enjoyed this film? This film was terrible, with a laughable plot, melodramatic dialog, and sub-standard acting. This film was so predictable it was as if my girlfriend, who watched it with me, was directing the film in real-time from our couch. Boo!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
rodb.Oct 4, 2005
Great!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BexSep 25, 2005
Absolutely amazing film! Recommended to all...football fans or not! Very realistic and surprising how your attitude will change towards some of the characters on the second viewing! Superb film!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kentk.Oct 10, 2005
It was the best film in ages that i have watched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
melNov 5, 2005
Gr8 i watched it twice in a row wen i first saw it n im in love wit da main guy in it (nt elijah wood).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeG.Oct 17, 2005
I think it is mint nd so do all my mates want them to bring another film out like it but wiv the man u fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GogaV.Dec 13, 2005
One of the best movies i ever seen!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kellys.Oct 26, 2005
Thought it was brillant with a really good and emotional story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisW.Jun 30, 2006
Pretty bloody brilliant film here. Too bad it didn't do too well in the "bees and honey." Really underated by the movie critics, huh? A seriously great film about football fanatics and how involved they really are with the game. Great Pretty bloody brilliant film here. Too bad it didn't do too well in the "bees and honey." Really underated by the movie critics, huh? A seriously great film about football fanatics and how involved they really are with the game. Great story that almost reminds me of movies like "The Outsiders." Worth the rent... but not a date flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaNov 27, 2005
The film was fantastic ! Best wan yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
deanot.Oct 14, 2005
This film was immense...next shud be fotball factory v green street...the mighty chelsea v the GSE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michaelo.Oct 14, 2005
Newcastle till i die!!!....football factory v green streeet next tbh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobbyM.Oct 4, 2005
Saw it in Harvard Square with a Q&A with Lexi Alexander afterwards. Really enjoyed both the theme and presentation of the movie. Elijah Wood is cast well, and although he makes the transition to street hooligan perhaps a little too quickly, Saw it in Harvard Square with a Q&A with Lexi Alexander afterwards. Really enjoyed both the theme and presentation of the movie. Elijah Wood is cast well, and although he makes the transition to street hooligan perhaps a little too quickly, otherwise preforms admirably. This is the movie I though I would be seeing when I saw Fight Club: a movie about what turns real people to violence, not the muddled nihilism of Fight Club. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MargaretP.Sep 14, 2005
This was a really captivatring film, mainly because of Elijah Wood's performance as Matt. The film shows through Matt how a non-violent, non-assertive person can get seduced by violence when they are at their most vulnerable. The film This was a really captivatring film, mainly because of Elijah Wood's performance as Matt. The film shows through Matt how a non-violent, non-assertive person can get seduced by violence when they are at their most vulnerable. The film is not really about football hooliganism; it is about finding identity and coming of age. However, the hooliganism back-drop was very realistic and exciting. The audience really cared about what might happen to the vulnerable Matt, especially given the precarious happiness he had found with the group after being betrayed by his room-mate at Harvard. Speaking as someone from England it would be quite wrong to say that Elijah or Charlie don't look thuggish enough to play hooligans - it is very naive to think that all hooligans look like thugs. Kudos should go to Elijah for choosing a risky indie movie after starring in the massive Lord of the Rings trilogy. It seems to be doing really well at the cinemas in the UIK and the US, which is not surprising. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
carterh.Sep 25, 2005
This movie is amazing!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KiraB.Jul 30, 2006
Green Street Hooligans is a terrifying yet wonderful look into the world of football hooliganism. I was amazed and awed by the normal lives these people live while they are also engaged in such furious bloodthirsty fights. Both Mr. Wood and Green Street Hooligans is a terrifying yet wonderful look into the world of football hooliganism. I was amazed and awed by the normal lives these people live while they are also engaged in such furious bloodthirsty fights. Both Mr. Wood and Mr. Dunnam were wonderfully cast and I loved the character Dunnam portrayed. [***SPOILERS***] I was a little shocked by the ending, as nobody ever likes to see our hero's die, but Matt is careful to live in a way that will honor Pete, and this makes the ending a tribute the good movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeH.Sep 24, 2006
I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenL.Sep 19, 2005
Being English it is easier to identify with the subject matter of this film. I thought that it was a good movie and as it went on you got more into the characters. I thought it was good in the sense it almost stopped before the final scene Being English it is easier to identify with the subject matter of this film. I thought that it was a good movie and as it went on you got more into the characters. I thought it was good in the sense it almost stopped before the final scene and asked you the question of what you want to happen almost asking you who you wanted to win in the story of people who no one deserved to win in. On the negative front I thought Elijah Wood was not cast well in this film. I thought he acted very well and did everything expected of him in the movie but felt it was impossible for him to deliver the transformation from nice Harved boy to football holigan. I enjoyed the film although it is a horrible look at people and what they do in the name of a course. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveS.Jun 14, 2006
Waited forever for the movie to go to dvd, no theatre carried it in my manor. Glad to say, I was not disappointed, my whole family watched, the verdict? "8 thumbs way up!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesE.Sep 24, 2006
I loved this movie, by far one of my favorites yet. It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarlosNov 22, 2005
Too see hobit as a west ham ultra (ups hooligan) is really glamorous!!! not about philosophy as fight club, but bout reallity, anyway too romantic for 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
misheleb.Nov 27, 2005
So cool, one of the bests movies i've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MalasawasFeb 16, 2011
By first... I was kinda reluctant to watch this movie, don't ask, because I dunno why. Then I've watched it. Well, at first it looks like Elijah Wood (don't remember the character name right now) is just a really pathetic ''yankee'', whoBy first... I was kinda reluctant to watch this movie, don't ask, because I dunno why. Then I've watched it. Well, at first it looks like Elijah Wood (don't remember the character name right now) is just a really pathetic ''yankee'', who seems to be overprotected in his past... and of course, as you see, is a good person to fool. Then it comes the part of discrimination from england guys, this kinda ''football gangsters'', a ''really not much helping'' sister, her ''arrogant'' and ''over-reacting'' england husband, and a poor young baby of them. In this general flash of the very beginning, you can see a weird movie. Then becomes interesting, you can see how pathetic is nationalism and racism in every each and single way, and makes you understand what it really is: a way of control. england vs. northamerica, gangsters vs. other football gangs, friends betrayed... all people showing then a lot of violence. It good the message it leave: not to trust anyone and not to mess with that people. But... at least, the are back for each other and stand when there's a challege or a fight or whatever... what our ''yankee'' guy (don't misundertand me, I'm not being racist, hate that word, I'm only emphasazing this word becaouse of the movie itself) understands and learns is to protect himself and what real friendship mean (another could be... the best friend is not who shares his room with you, could be in the other side of the world)... good movie after... what I need to say, because I noted is the credits... Elijah Wood is the ''star, well-known I mean'' there... but he's the last char to appear in credits... so... you know, you can note there the ''english nationalism''... hehe, ironic world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SoulSurgeonOct 11, 2013
Critic Desson Thomson of the Washington Post said "soccer needs this movie like Georgia needed Deliverance". Rather, I say Metacritic needs HIS review like Journalism needed Green Street Hooligans! Up your arse Desson you Journo. This is aCritic Desson Thomson of the Washington Post said "soccer needs this movie like Georgia needed Deliverance". Rather, I say Metacritic needs HIS review like Journalism needed Green Street Hooligans! Up your arse Desson you Journo. This is a masterpiece, the best soccer movie yet made. Still, its about so MUCH MORE than Football. It's about cultural differences, about brotherhood, about Publife, about being single and a 20 something, about fanaticism and exiting fanaticism and finding real life. Most importantly, its about the Lower class...about hope..beyond the day to day grind at work. Something to believe in, something to cheer for...even if what you are cheering for is low quality. It's about where you are from and the biggest ruck is always the next one. Cheers boys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
axelkochApr 20, 2013
While the acting is only mediocre and there's a lot that I could criticize about the screenplay, I want to focus on the good stuff: regarding its genre, I never expected that this movie would surprise me. There were 2 things in the plot, thatWhile the acting is only mediocre and there's a lot that I could criticize about the screenplay, I want to focus on the good stuff: regarding its genre, I never expected that this movie would surprise me. There were 2 things in the plot, that really threw me a curve and this was very nice to see, since many movies don't manage to do so. It had a nice visual style and some soundtrack choices fitted the movie very good as well (there were also ones), although I've got to say that the cinematography was too shaky, which annoyed me in a couple of scenes. The fight scenes in the movie look good, yet it's not really exciting to watch because there are lots and lots of clichés in this movie. But mostly, this movie is insanely illogical and stupid. After all, I did enjoy watching Green Street Hooligans, mostly because of the fact that the characters were elaborate and it brought a nice style with it. But if you want a good movie not just simple entertainment, stay away from this one it's really overrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReaIistiCOct 9, 2012
This movie is absolutely amazing. The acting is unreal, the fights are so realistic. The storyline is so realistic going from football firms to matchday brawlings. 10/10 for me. Spot on
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
russiangamerMar 28, 2017
Актёры отлично играют, что так и давит на эмоции, саундтрек очень крутой, драки выглядят эпично, что вкупе с хорошей операторской работой создаёт эффект погружения, словно чувствуешь каждый удар. Сюжет прост, но интересен.
Отличное кино!
Актёры отлично играют, что так и давит на эмоции, саундтрек очень крутой, драки выглядят эпично, что вкупе с хорошей операторской работой создаёт эффект погружения, словно чувствуешь каждый удар. Сюжет прост, но интересен.
Отличное кино!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
IAmTechJun 19, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Along the same kinda lines as 'The Football Factory' but nowhere near as gritty and in your face, this film suffers from a slight case of Hollywood glitz.

Not just because Elijah Wood is in it, that is one reason of course, but the violence just seems more coordinated and setup, whilst the many British actors in the film all have rather hokey cockney accents which seem rather forced, some not all.

The film centres around West Ham United Firm 'GSE: Green Street Elite' although the real firm is called 'ICF: Inner City Firm' and follows the guys around as they go to matches and plan on fights with rival firms. Nothing much different from other 'firm' flicks but the added plot of Yankee Wood who slowly fits in against his UK based sisters wishes and grows to enjoy the lifestyle.

No one really that well known in the film accept Wood who is TOTALLY out of place in this type of flick but I guess that's the idea right. Only thing is you simply can't see Wood ever getting tough enough to do what he does in the film, never in a month of Sundays.

Good entertainment but using allot of artistic license and second best to 'The Football Factory' and 'The Firm'...if your into these types of films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BroyaxAug 26, 2018
Voici le gentil Frodon qui va passer le temps chez les Rosbifs et découvre ce merveilleux sport qu'on appelle le football. Il fait connaissance avec les merveilleux gens qu'on appelle les supporters... et on sait qu'il en faut des bonsVoici le gentil Frodon qui va passer le temps chez les Rosbifs et découvre ce merveilleux sport qu'on appelle le football. Il fait connaissance avec les merveilleux gens qu'on appelle les supporters... et on sait qu'il en faut des bons supporters pour faire les meilleurs hooligans !

A l'insu de son plein gré, le gentil Frodon va devenir un super sale con et un membre estimé de l'une des tribus de dégénérés qui se mettent sur la gueule avec d'autres tribus de dégénérés. On sait cela dit que depuis, les autorités britanniques ont pris le problème à bras-le-corps et que les "meilleurs" hooligans sont russes désormais... mais tout de même, voilà un film qui met les deux pieds dans le plat et avec une efficacité redoutable.

Les bastons sont hélas très confuses et mal filmées, sans doute pour souligner le bordel ambiant mais c'est assez regrettable... Le film en rajoute également un peu trop côté guimauve et psychodrame pour mieux souligner les dommages collatéraux de tels comportements, car s'il y a des blessés, il peut y avoir un gars qui ne bouge plus...et la famille paye les pots cassés.

En tout cas, on a ici un "beau" portrait de ces gens en apparence normaux sauf les jours de match... un état des lieux édifiant et sidérant ! il faudrait être atteint soi-même de cette folie pour comprendre les bagarres tribales qui défendent leur totem à la vie à la mort. C'est aussi ça, le merveilleux sport qu'on appelle football...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WhySoSaltyMay 3, 2017
Great movie, don't let all the negativity from others on this website dissuade you. Watch it, if you like it then fantastic! If you hate it, well, "go blow some bubbles" ;)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jonslowDec 11, 2018
Violence and Friendship.
A wrongfully expelled Harvard undergrad moves to London, where he is introduced to the violent underworld of football hooliganism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews