Netflix | Release Date (Streaming): June 14, 2022
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
2
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Criminal1Jun 14, 2022
Incredible closer look at the Queen of Pop's amazing journey to world domination at 50.
18 of 20 users found this helpful182
All this user's reviews
9
PatreeyaSJun 14, 2022
Jennifer Lopez is such an icon, she’s so inspiring to watch. She works so hard. Some people are so mean to her, believing those lies, just like the clickbait that say she didn’t want to do a Superbowl with Shakira, but in fact she’s not happyJennifer Lopez is such an icon, she’s so inspiring to watch. She works so hard. Some people are so mean to her, believing those lies, just like the clickbait that say she didn’t want to do a Superbowl with Shakira, but in fact she’s not happy about the 12 minutes that they gave her that wasn’t enough for 2 headlines. She fights for 14 minutes not only for herself but for Shakira too Expand
23 of 26 users found this helpful233
All this user's reviews
10
izemtvvvJun 14, 2022
Jennifer Lopez is a Legend! This documentary perfectly portrays the talent she posseses, she is a disciplined well trained performer Go JLO!
17 of 21 users found this helpful174
All this user's reviews
10
HugoemaJun 14, 2022
Increíble e impactante documental, JLo es una artista talentosa, genuina y humilde. Siempre a representado a los latinos de todo mundo, si no estaban enterados, es hora de que lo vean. RESPETO.
22 of 28 users found this helpful226
All this user's reviews
7
LuissDtJun 14, 2022
JLO manages to get away with it in Halftime, I don't like documentaries but this one is adequate enough that it makes us think that the artists do not fully enjoy the Super Bowl halftime
15 of 21 users found this helpful156
All this user's reviews
10
SaraMelJun 17, 2022
The best documentary about an artist i've ever watched, I even teared up a couple of times, a must watch for everyone looking for motivation to succeed
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
AshSummerJun 18, 2022
She’s a dancer, who became an actor, who became a singer, who became a global icon.


She is truly a global icon
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
robtrigJun 19, 2022
It may be a little late to continue talking about the Superbowl and the awards campaign that Hustlers has yielded, but the message this documentary conveys is very true and important. Before watching I saw the power of the media to takeIt may be a little late to continue talking about the Superbowl and the awards campaign that Hustlers has yielded, but the message this documentary conveys is very true and important. Before watching I saw the power of the media to take conversations out of context to rival two great artists. And the worst thing was seeing fans of other artists hitch a ride on the unnecessary hater. Jennifer has been dealing with this type of invasion and opinion for over 20 years, and while everyone is rooting for her to have a meltdown and give up, she has responded by becoming a true global Latin icon born straight from NY. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
IZExJLoJun 15, 2022
Jennifer Lopez has broke boundaries for Latin Entertainers since her debut in the 90's from humble beginnings being homeless to performing on the worlds largest stage.

Halftime is a testament to JLo and her Limitless potential as an
Jennifer Lopez has broke boundaries for Latin Entertainers since her debut in the 90's from humble beginnings being homeless to performing on the worlds largest stage.

Halftime is a testament to JLo and her Limitless potential as an entertainer, For years Tabloids ate her up with salacious headlines and false narratives and now those same things have carried over online (the amount of 1 star reviews from fake accounts on this site is clear evidence)

As soon as this documentary trailer premiered it drew comparisons to Beyonce's "Homecoming" and i can tell you there is NO similarity at all, there is an organized online smear campaign against Jennifer Lopez specially on Twitter and other social sites organized by other fandoms of female artists (Shakira/Beyonce/Mariah Carey Stans) who have for years fed into the click bait headlines and insults. It's time JLo gets the respect she rightfully deserves even now you'll go online and see blogs dissecting every single word she's said in this documentary putting her under a microscope as if she isn't a human being. There is no Shakira slander as many outlets falsely took snippets out of context for attention.


Overall "Halftime" is a great watch even if you aren't a fan.
Expand
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
9
juanrojas22Jun 14, 2022
this is so inspirational. Jlo went through a lot of racism and misogyny during her career, but that didn't stop her from building an entire empire. she works hard for everything she has, she is an icon, a legend without a doubt.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
lyqizmusixqJun 14, 2022
Wonderful Documentary, all the false clickbait headlines were garbage, This beautiful story about Jennifer Lopez's journey and her treatment in the media deserves the great reviews its getting.
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
10
HanoverAvoJun 16, 2022
A beautiful portrait of an incredibly strong and hardworking woman. Not only will you walk away with a new understanding of Jennifer but also a new level of respect
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
ThititatPORJun 17, 2022
So much respect for her. I love her even more after finished watching this documentary. She works hard to get where she belongs. So proud of her
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Jun 16, 2022
As often happens in documentaries that only seek to exalt the figure they're focusing on, Halftime is essentially the same, but scrambled. Particularly when it comes to the machinery required to make the ''Jennifer Lopez's brand'' work.

I
As often happens in documentaries that only seek to exalt the figure they're focusing on, Halftime is essentially the same, but scrambled. Particularly when it comes to the machinery required to make the ''Jennifer Lopez's brand'' work.

I read some professional reviews before I started watching it, mostly to get a better sense of it, because to tell you the truth my level of interest was pretty low.

One of those reviews states that Lopez is a ''superstar'' and therefore her attitudes are allowed, but the only thing I could notice was the stink of her ego and it definitely only reaffirmed the opinion I had of her, regardless of her professional accomplishments.

That's why I doubt this documentary will change the minds of those who think the same about her, because at the end of the day, you don't learn anything from her, rather this only serves to do what I mentioned first; To keep the brand going.
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
AnthonylordJun 16, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just JLo complaining about a show that took place more than 2 years ago. Just because Shakira took all the attention and went number 1 after the show. Also she insulted Belly Dancing which is stupid and racist. She even went on and said that she wanted more substance on the show. Expand
2 of 17 users found this helpful215
All this user's reviews
5
emiliomrtnJun 16, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the documentary only proves Jennifer's self-centeredness above all else, it's amazing how someone can make a documentary about a show that she wasn't the headliner for. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
0
UncleWillardJun 14, 2022
What the heck is even this?! There are artists and entertainers, and sometimes people who transcend that and do both well. JLo is not one of them. She's a dancer who can sing (sort of, imo). I have no idea why anyone thinks she's any moreWhat the heck is even this?! There are artists and entertainers, and sometimes people who transcend that and do both well. JLo is not one of them. She's a dancer who can sing (sort of, imo). I have no idea why anyone thinks she's any more than that, and this kind of extended commercial is exactly the kind of thing that discredits any ideas about her being an artist. I think she's an overblown celebrity in the vein of a Kardashian. I didn't even remember she performed in the SuperBowl, because I'm more interested in the game than the show. This is totally unnecessary and sheds no light in how the heck she became so successful. I can't name one Jlo song. Expand
3 of 31 users found this helpful328
All this user's reviews
0
MalohuJun 14, 2022
What nonsense. No wonder Netflix is losing subscribers. Enough of this reality TV celebrity garbage. I got rid of regular cable to get away from this junk and now its a huge part of what Netflix produces.
3 of 33 users found this helpful330
All this user's reviews
1
BarbaraManfieldJun 16, 2022
Very boring and self-serving show with one of the least talented and least acclaimed stars of her generation. No matter what Jlo does, it's always mediocre. I had to stop watching this marketing gig halfway through. There was so muchVery boring and self-serving show with one of the least talented and least acclaimed stars of her generation. No matter what Jlo does, it's always mediocre. I had to stop watching this marketing gig halfway through. There was so much narcissism at full display. This woman is so full of herself. Yikes. Expand
1 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
1
QhasiJun 18, 2022
She spends a sizable portion of this mess of documentary making Shakira out to be a nobody who had no business being part of the halftime show. Disgusting and narcisistic. No wonder Mariah Carey doesn't "know her". She's clearly seen thatShe spends a sizable portion of this mess of documentary making Shakira out to be a nobody who had no business being part of the halftime show. Disgusting and narcisistic. No wonder Mariah Carey doesn't "know her". She's clearly seen that side of her. Expand
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews