CBS Films | Release Date: August 12, 2016
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 717 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
639
Mixed:
62
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LamontRaymondAug 12, 2016
Hands down the best film of 2016. The three lead actors blew me away. Ben Foster always brings it, but he delivers a level of nuance I was even surprised by. Chris Pine finally gets a chance to demonstrate his real acting chops - he's beenHands down the best film of 2016. The three lead actors blew me away. Ben Foster always brings it, but he delivers a level of nuance I was even surprised by. Chris Pine finally gets a chance to demonstrate his real acting chops - he's been wasting his time in too many Star Trek flicks. And The Dude? Jeff Bridges? This might be his career-defining performance. Beyond the bravura acting performances, the film just has an easy, authentic feel to it. You can almost smell West Texas. It's a beautifully shot work. Won't spoil the plot - just go see this film. It's the antidote to what's been ailing Hollywood for the last couple of years. If this sucker doesn't deliver at least 2 statues in late February 2017, I'll be disappointed. (But what else is new?) Expand
17 of 23 users found this helpful176
All this user's reviews
9
WheelzFourReelzSep 14, 2016
Hell or High Water is one of those movies that gets better the more you think about it. The film has phenomenal performances, beautiful cinematography, a great soundtrack, and a fascinating story with some well realized characters that feelHell or High Water is one of those movies that gets better the more you think about it. The film has phenomenal performances, beautiful cinematography, a great soundtrack, and a fascinating story with some well realized characters that feel like real people. It's definitely one of the best films of the year. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobNov 22, 2016
Bridges, Pine and Foster all control the screen with their respective roles. Foster especially because his comedic relief helped kind of off-set the seriousness of Bridges and Pine. While it may not be the most original film script wise, ItBridges, Pine and Foster all control the screen with their respective roles. Foster especially because his comedic relief helped kind of off-set the seriousness of Bridges and Pine. While it may not be the most original film script wise, It is a very satisfying and complete one. Well worth watching and I would highly recommend. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
AquaMorphNov 12, 2016
This movie as fun an exciting. When it came out I saw a lot of comparisons to No Country for Old Men and well it's not that. Not even close. I would say Bonnie and Clyde would be an more apt comparison. Still a fantastic movie that is worth watching.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
RathaelSep 10, 2016
HELL OR HIGH WATER

Its been a while since a movie like this came out. A movie that is so simple in its execution, yet so layered and tense at the same time. Hell or High Water is a movie that is almost completely dependent on the cast and
HELL OR HIGH WATER

Its been a while since a movie like this came out. A movie that is so simple in its execution, yet so layered and tense at the same time. Hell or High Water is a movie that is almost completely dependent on the cast and the chemistry between them. This movie has a cast of four living characters and two characters that are as important, even though they have no lines in the movie.

On the surface, it seems like a simple heist/hunt movie, but the movie is actually a study of friendship, brotherhood, neighbors, and the city and state coming together. Movie is set in two states, states of Texas and Oklahoma. Both of those states were portrayed so perfectly in the movie, that they became a fifth character. The ambient in the movie is so well portrayed that one could simply get lost in the beauty of the two states by itself. Music and the support cast, that lives in this environment, are as important as the main cast, to if you haven't noticed I haven't gotten to yet. Reason for that was, I wanted to explain, that everything in this movie is so interconnected, it is so difficult to focus on the just main characters.

Now that I have set the premise for this review lets talk about the main driving force of this picture.

THE CAST

The main cast of this movie entails of : Jeff Bridges, Gil Birmingham as the Texas Rangers and Chris Pine and Ben Foster as the bank robbers. The main thing to say in this review is to say, it is really hard to establish exactly who stole the show in this movie. The entire cast had such fantastic chemistry on the screen.

Jeff Bridges and Gil Birmingham's scenes portray that these are the people that knew each other seemingly their entire lives. The friendly jabs toward each other, they way they deal with situations, everything is portrayed so smooth, you forget these are the actors, especially since they truly show you how different their characters are, and how they would approach certain things. It is still early talk about Oscar Nominations, but everyone in this movie at least deserves up most consideration, especially Jeff Bridges.

On the other hand we have the brothers.

Ben Foster and Chris Pine. Without spoiling any of the movie, but just to establish my point here, the movie right away focuses on these characters, and their chemistry, their reasoning and their genuine love for each other. For any doubters out there that Chris Pine cannot act, those fears are completely unfounded here, as I would say he brings the possibly career changing role in this movie. Ben Foster is equally brilliant in the role, and as I have mentioned and I keep bringing this point home, as it is well deserved, the movie ultimately works because of the chemistry between the characters.

This type of movie, its an experience, it is not everyone's cup of tea, its not super action packed with ongoing explosions, no superheroes or tornadoes or aliens, or natural disasters. It's a classic movie, that I mentioned before they don't make anymore. Actually, I should rephrase that, that mainstream studios don't make anymore. And I am going to do something that's going to pull some hate, but this movie I would declare BONNIE AND CLYDE for the 21st century. It is just that good.

4 out of 4 stars.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Benkoko11Feb 23, 2017
Excellent acting, edgy humor, careful direction, intense interlocking narratives - it's really hard to find fault in this marvelously modern western that has all the makings of an American classic.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
antenaNov 13, 2016
My vote for best movie of 2016 to date. Superb script; the parallels between the two sets of "brothers" works really well, and all of the actors are at their top of their game. I probably could have done with one or two fewer "foreclosingMy vote for best movie of 2016 to date. Superb script; the parallels between the two sets of "brothers" works really well, and all of the actors are at their top of their game. I probably could have done with one or two fewer "foreclosing now" signs alongside the roadway, but that's a very minor quibble, and shouldn't take away from the use of dusty, desolate West Texas as its own character in the movie. Great soundtrack by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis as well. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
jazzy_jeffFeb 28, 2018
Solid modern western. Cool soundtrack and an all around entertaining film. Doesn't do anything to make itself a classic, but it's fun viewing.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeDec 4, 2016
Early bird gets the worm.

From the British director of 'Starred Up' fame, it was like another 'The Place Beyond the Pines'. Feels like a modern western kind, because of where this story takes place, I mean Texas. There's no digital world
Early bird gets the worm.

From the British director of 'Starred Up' fame, it was like another 'The Place Beyond the Pines'. Feels like a modern western kind, because of where this story takes place, I mean Texas. There's no digital world like phones, computers et cetera, just an old fashioned storytelling. This is the story of two brothers and their series of bank robbery job. They are doing it for a reason, but on the other end, two cops make their effort to find who they are and nab them red handed. So when they meet, that's where the story gets to its end part.

It has a strong opening, then slows down. Actually, it was approached like a classic crime film, which mean no high-tech. The story was a one liner, but the events in that story were extended. A simple screenplay, yet very effective presented on the screen. Of course the story ends with this film, but feels like there's more. It is very unlikely, though I'm thinking of a sequel.

The people will remember this film for Ben Foster and Chris Pine. One of the best duo on the screen. Easily one of the best films of the year, but just it is a different theme and genre. I watched it not knowing the meaning of the title, and then I googled it. It is nothing like a must see, but I believe that you might regret if you miss it or delay your watch. So I suggest you make a right choice.

8/10
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
AxgrinderSep 10, 2016
More a character study than action film, Hell or High Water is not your classic Western. Set in current day rural west Texas, the movie paints a bleak landscape of small towns with vacant store fronts and ranch lands dotted with For SaleMore a character study than action film, Hell or High Water is not your classic Western. Set in current day rural west Texas, the movie paints a bleak landscape of small towns with vacant store fronts and ranch lands dotted with For Sale signs. Average citizens struggle to make ends meet, and not a single character in the movie has a future to look forward to. Their lives twist slowly in the wind, and the slow pace of director David Mackensie’s movie left me feeling much the same way. The economic disparity between the Haves (banks and the oil companies) and the Have Nots has become so burdensome that Toby (Chris Pine) and his ex-convict brother Tanner (Ben Foster) have nothing to left lose by going desperado. Jeff Bridges plays a deft and skillful sheriff on the verge of a retirement that he’s not looking forward to. He jokes to his partner about going out in a blaze of glory. His fatal flaw is a lack of cultural sensitivity which, when combined with an unalterable sense of right and wrong, make it impossible for him to comprehend the cultural and moral schism that is occurring. The story embodies the kind of social injustice message that Hollywood loves. Yet, this movie can’t be dismissed so easily. The message is delivered with more subtleness than blunt force, and the ending is not what you would expect. The acting is solid on all fronts, and there are some guilty pleasures to be had in watching the vigilantes take in on the chin. Plus, you can psychoanalyze your female friends by asking them if they would do what the waitress did. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
bheringSep 15, 2016
Not much I can say except this is one of the best crafted movies I've seen in years. Bridges is perfectly cast and offers perfect acting. Every character is excellently done.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
tjman09Sep 9, 2016
Hell or High Water is yet another limited release gem that shows that in today’s film climate, independent film is the quality standard bearer. While tentpole films are fun to see because they are events, films like Hell or High Water harkenHell or High Water is yet another limited release gem that shows that in today’s film climate, independent film is the quality standard bearer. While tentpole films are fun to see because they are events, films like Hell or High Water harken back to when filmmakers were more concerned with telling interesting stories, instead of making easy money. Hell or High Water is engrossing, tells its story with depth and smarts, and features really well-rounded characters. This film is truly a great film in almost all aspects, and will likely get a ton of recognition during oscar season.
From the opening scene of this film, the film is gripping, using both intrigue and acting to its advantage. Much like many other great films, this film begins with a bang and holds the audience’s attention throughout. Chris Pine has proven that he’s a talented actor over the years, but this film is a major step up for him, that being said the show stealers are Ben Foster and Jeff Bridges. Foster has had amazing performances in the past, but this stands as one of his best, and Bridges plays a role that fits him like a glove, and he does it perfectly.
The actors are notably great, but the film is gripping because the story it tells is interesting. The story doesn’t feel like a rip off of other films, and even more impressively tells it’s story with depth and smarts. Nothing in this film feels like it’s unrealistic or bombastic, every action in the film is well thought out and makes sense, that being said the film has a decent level of emotional depth. The impressive thing about Hell or High Water is that it’s not overly sentimental, but it’s the kind of film that still evokes an emotional response.
Perhaps the biggest reason that the story is interesting, and emotionally gripping is because the characters are so well developed. From the onset all characters come from relatable places, and have plenty of layers. Above that the characters are funny and at some point they simply begin to feel like real people just being captured on film. That being said every character’s conflict hits even harder, because the characters feel so relatable.
Finding something wrong with this film is extremely hard, and in a day and age with so many films coming out in conjunction that’s rare. Hell or High Water is well acted, gripping, funny, features great characters, shows an impressive amount of emotional depth, and never needlessly substitutes action for smarts. It seems safe to say that this film will get a lot of attention during Oscar season, especially for it’s screenplay. If you’re a fan of westerns, heist films, thrillers, or just in general like great films this film is a good choice.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GMReviewsSep 20, 2016
Hell or High Water is definitely the best film of the summer and will be in the top three films of the year. This film immediately introduces two brothers, who create such a brilliant on screen chemistry, that it guiltily forces you to almostHell or High Water is definitely the best film of the summer and will be in the top three films of the year. This film immediately introduces two brothers, who create such a brilliant on screen chemistry, that it guiltily forces you to almost root for these characters, despite the crimes they are committing, which at first almost brands them as general criminals who have the urge to rob and go with the excitement of a heist – but as the story progresses in its brilliant pace, they’re fleshed out as humane, definitely selfless, and with one of the brothers, regrettable in their actions. Though this film succeeds in its full-bodied character development and emotion resonance with the film following the brothers, its Jeff Bridges and his partner who really add that special extra something. The sense that this may be his final police job due to his many years on the job, and the fact he’s physically weaker than he used to be, could of shifted the genre of the film into a more serious drama, however, a great amount of humour is used between Bridges and his partner – and is done so well that it comes off very unique, and adds the understanding that there is really no villains in this film, and so when the film dramatises involving the main characters, it’s unlike any action scene in other modern movies, because you don’t wish to see any of the characters hurt in anyway. Also, this film carries Texas once again onto the silver screen in great fashion, this film is a brilliant display of the culture in the state, so with all those reasons, despite the rating saying it’s an 8/10, this film gets from me, an 8.5/10 - 88% Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MillikenLeeSep 18, 2016
Exceptionally thought provoking slice of life story with beautiful scenery and a sense of old time movie feel - with longer cuts allowing time to get absorbed and involved with the characters. Always a fan of Jeff Bridges who really nailedExceptionally thought provoking slice of life story with beautiful scenery and a sense of old time movie feel - with longer cuts allowing time to get absorbed and involved with the characters. Always a fan of Jeff Bridges who really nailed his part, as did virtually all of the actors. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonMay 29, 2017
Brothers Toby Howard (Pine) and ex-con Tanner (Foster) carry out early morning robberies of two branches of the Texas Midlands Bank and soon have Texas Rangers, Marcus Hamilton (Bridges) and Alberto Parker (Birmingham), on their trail.

Hell
Brothers Toby Howard (Pine) and ex-con Tanner (Foster) carry out early morning robberies of two branches of the Texas Midlands Bank and soon have Texas Rangers, Marcus Hamilton (Bridges) and Alberto Parker (Birmingham), on their trail.

Hell or High Water has received plenty of critical acclaim and it is certainly well deserved. The cast is uniformly excellent with Pine and Foster having great on screen chemistry. The relatively complex narrative is told in a way that keeps everything moving at a good pace and there is some great cinematography. A must watch for fans of crime dramas.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJJan 30, 2017
A great movie with poor ending. Without spoiling anything, i'm just saying that you'll like this movie, but i have to say that i was hoping for a better finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffSep 17, 2016
'Hell or High Water' is, without a doubt, the best movie of 2016, so far. This is an expert character study filmed with gorgeous cinematography and a well-paced use of suspense that make for a compelling crime drama.

The movie stars Chris
'Hell or High Water' is, without a doubt, the best movie of 2016, so far. This is an expert character study filmed with gorgeous cinematography and a well-paced use of suspense that make for a compelling crime drama.

The movie stars Chris Pine and Ben Foster as brothers; Toby and Tanner Howard, who go around stealing from Texas banks and managing to get away with it all. That is, until a Texas ranger Marcus Hamilton (Jeff Bridges) and his partner Alberto Parker (Gil Birmingham) are onto them and try their best to track both these brothers down before they hit another branch.

This film contains some great acting from the main cast, Bridges is fantastic as the ambitious Texas ranger, so caught up in the moment of trying to catch the two menacing brothers, that he essentially has an ego for wanting to catch them. Foster is so dastardly unlikable as the always acting-before-thinking Tanner, and Pine is marvelous as Toby, who is obviously inexperienced as opposed to his ex-con older brother.

Director David Mackenzie should be sure of getting a "Best Director" nomination of crafting this intense and sometimes shocking drama, the cinematography by Giles Nuttgens should also be considered for an Oscar nomination. Bridges may also get a "Best Supporting Actor" nomination for his work in this movie. Everything about this reminds me of the Coen Brothers' classic 'No Country for Old Men' (2007), another movie of a similar genre that was fantastic in its character study and suspense.

Hands down, the best movie of 2016, so far...
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Creeper3455Feb 25, 2017
The movie itself was great and there's a reason why it got nominated as Best Picture at the Oscars. It had some moments where it tries to be emotional, but with the soundtrack playing during a scene, it may result annoying (well,sort of). TheThe movie itself was great and there's a reason why it got nominated as Best Picture at the Oscars. It had some moments where it tries to be emotional, but with the soundtrack playing during a scene, it may result annoying (well,sort of). The story may look like the same "Road-Trip Movie that will probably fail like always",but it's not. This is probably the only movie that knew how to make a road-trip flick. The actors in this movie are memorable. Chris Pine and Ben Foster are a good duo and Jeff Bridges was phenomenal. In the end, Hell Or High Water is another achievement as a limited release and it could tell other people how to make road-trip flicks right. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
annbdAug 27, 2018
Not bad I would say. The revenge on the people harming your relatives by hurting the guilty ones shows always a good taste in film materials - strong and inspiring. I just didn't get why they put it like that - the one brother has taking careNot bad I would say. The revenge on the people harming your relatives by hurting the guilty ones shows always a good taste in film materials - strong and inspiring. I just didn't get why they put it like that - the one brother has taking care of his mother, while the other one has abandoned her - like he helps his brother to the limit, even sacrificing his life for him and on the other hand he has abandoned half of the family - his mother, who was sick I think. So I guess.. just be always there for all of your favorite people, relatives ones and so one. But this is just really small detail and I'm a virgo, so that explains it all. Great cinematography. No doubt. Clearly, in the last years, there has been some big progress in film shooting, film industry. And that has set the bar a lot higher. Overall 'Hell or high water' is decent and exiting with it's revenge-action scenes movie, you should watch it and won't be disappointing. Feel like a western a little bit, but not so much as to be boring. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Aug 12, 2016
An unwaveringly grounded modern western with one of the most invigorating and breath-taking finales I've ever seen in any crime thriller this side of Michael Mann's "Heat," "Hell Or High Water" is one of those special, original films thatAn unwaveringly grounded modern western with one of the most invigorating and breath-taking finales I've ever seen in any crime thriller this side of Michael Mann's "Heat," "Hell Or High Water" is one of those special, original films that both inspires and teaches. Featuring stellar performances from all the leads involved, the film keeps us on our toes whilst throwing us a few predictable bones here and there just to make us feel smart. But make no mistake, director David McKenzie and writer Taylor Sheridan hold all the cards in this brilliantly plotted caper, leaving the audience with an experience that is somehow both thoroughly enjoyable and unbearably intense at the same time. Really terrific work from everyone before and behind the camera here. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinAug 19, 2016
"Hell and High Water" is a very 'odd' movie!! For the first 75 minutes you wish it 'would just get on' to where it is going though it does have 1-2 minutes of hilarity supplied by Margaret Bowman as a sassy waiteress who wouldn't take any"Hell and High Water" is a very 'odd' movie!! For the first 75 minutes you wish it 'would just get on' to where it is going though it does have 1-2 minutes of hilarity supplied by Margaret Bowman as a sassy waiteress who wouldn't take any guff from Jack Nicholson giving his order in "Five Easy Pieces" let alone from Texas Ranger Jeff Bridges! There is also a lot of give and take between Jeff, who will soon retire, and his Mexican-Comanche partner Gil Birmingham plus the bank robber brothers Chris Pine and Ben Foster.

The screenwriter Taylor Sheridan offers sharp dialogue between the various 'couples', including an exchange between another waitress played by Katy Mixon who is flirtatious with Pine and then haughty with Bridges who wants to take her $200 tip as evidence. Where the screenplay goes astray is when it delves into the why of the bank robberies and leaves the clever based dialogue.

The chemistry between older 'black sheep' brother Foster and the 'baby' Pine works from their first appearance to the end and Pine does clean up handsomely! The chemistry between Bridges and Birmingham is just as important between as it is between the brothers and all 4 pay off.

There is no 'love interest' per se but both Bowman and Mixon women steal the movie from the more 'important' roles of the men. After that hour and 15 minutes of the set up the last 27 minutes grabs you and will surprise the most avid movie goer.

"Hell and High Water" is a low keyed Western thriller cowboy movie but that scene with Bowman is sure to remain in your herad long after the movie does. It is a classic segment that will probably be watched millions of times on Youtube!!
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
PanteSep 26, 2016
Nothing new and special, but still, very good modern Western, with three great performances, real Mexican Duel between Pine, Bridges and Foster. Also, soundtrack by Nick Cave is phenomenal, he must do more work in this genre.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Ohurra_BanwajeeSep 4, 2016
Balance! Is it more conceptual than achievable? More abstract than necessary? More then than now? Achieving balance is an art that has become so scarce across media that it’s almost a niche. What I appreciated most about Hell or High WaterBalance! Is it more conceptual than achievable? More abstract than necessary? More then than now? Achieving balance is an art that has become so scarce across media that it’s almost a niche. What I appreciated most about Hell or High Water was its balance. Its character balance, its action balance, its scripting balance; all held together in a setting that was plausible, convincing, and, well… balanced.

Action starts almost from the word “GO”, presenting a cast whose members are not necessarily adorable, but whose cause unveils itself over time, whether they be breaking the law or resolutely hell-bent on upholding it. The action itself never leaves you breathless, but the blend of determination by wrong-doers, or righteousness by law enforcers, makes for a homogeneous mix at a steady pace without precipitating into dullness, repetitiveness, or overstaying its welcome in the way that movies of this nature are so easily prone to. With its fair share of violence, the movie expertly steers clear of elements that could otherwise make it gratuitous and predictable. And although there’s profanity, it is cleverly interspersed, delivering impact and realism while avoiding over-indulgence.

Hell or High Water is a well done, rural, mild but sensible action-adventure that fires on all cylinders with suitable power. Its reasonable suspension makes for a pleasing journey over an enjoyable distance, and it checks all the right boxes amid a sense of maturity that delivers both plot and closure to satisfying expectations.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryAug 28, 2016
“Hell or High Water” was directed by David Mackenzie and written by Taylor Sheridan. Disguised as a western this is really a contemporary chase film whose underlying subject and message could have been written by a Bernie Sanders speech“Hell or High Water” was directed by David Mackenzie and written by Taylor Sheridan. Disguised as a western this is really a contemporary chase film whose underlying subject and message could have been written by a Bernie Sanders speech writer. The film stars Chris Pine and Ben Foster who portray two brothers seeking revenge and retribution from the Texas bank that has foreclosed on their family home while Jeff Bridges (playing the same character as he did in “True Grit” and “Crazy Love”) is the Texas Ranger on the trail of these angry young men. The director and cinema photographer more than adequately capture and depict the mood and lifestyle of Western Texas and of those who reside there. The film does, however, raise serious questions as to the morality of the times and how far a person or group, believing he or they have been wronged, can or should go in order to seek his or their perception of “justice”. Although most critics have literally raved about this film, it falls short of that kind of an accolade but it is nevertheless a movie to see and enjoy and, for that reason, I give it an 8. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
StevieGJDOct 22, 2016
I truly enjoyed this film. The story is interesting and never boring, though the film has a seemingly lazy pace. The acting is excellent. Even Chris Pine, who I have never thought much of in other films, was very good. I loved the easyI truly enjoyed this film. The story is interesting and never boring, though the film has a seemingly lazy pace. The acting is excellent. Even Chris Pine, who I have never thought much of in other films, was very good. I loved the easy interplay between the two cops searching for the criminals. This is a cops and robbers story with a twist that I've not seen before. Loved it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryAug 19, 2016
When the movie starts, you assume that the brothers (Chris Pine and Ben Foster) are just out for a bank-robbing joy ride thru the forlorn, foreclosed Texas midlands. As the plot develops, it becomes clear that there's more to their plan.When the movie starts, you assume that the brothers (Chris Pine and Ben Foster) are just out for a bank-robbing joy ride thru the forlorn, foreclosed Texas midlands. As the plot develops, it becomes clear that there's more to their plan. While they go from bank to bank, the sheriff (Jeff Bridges in a crotchety comic role) pursues them with quiet patience and logic. This is NOT a wildly-violent crime caper or a Tarantinoesque script with snappy repartee. It's a smartly-written, well-directed drama with involving characters and exceptional performances all around. A clean action film with that's intelligently crafted to rise above the genre. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerSep 30, 2017
A tale of brotherly love, bank robbing, and looking out for the people you care for. Watching good people do bad things for the right reasons isn't exactly anything new, so the strength of the movie doesn't come from originality. Instead HellA tale of brotherly love, bank robbing, and looking out for the people you care for. Watching good people do bad things for the right reasons isn't exactly anything new, so the strength of the movie doesn't come from originality. Instead Hell or High Water succeeds just because of how well made it is. The cinematography is gorgeous and the movie has a fitting soundtrack to go along with it's delightfully true-to-form depiction of the Texas lifestyle. David Mackenzie pulls incredible performances from what we know to be already highly talented actors. This is genuinely some of the best work of each cast member's careers.

The story itself is brimming with emotion and believable human interactions. The dialog is clever and often quite funny. The plot itself is familiar, but no less remarkable due to it's cleverness, thrills, and ability to pull the audience in. It grabs your heart and connects you to the characters. No matter which side of the law they are on.

Compelling drama, heart, soul, and the absurdity of Texas all come together in the careful hands of a talented director and fantastic to create something wonderful. Highly recommended.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
netflicAug 14, 2016
Finally a movie that I could wholeheartedly recommend, even though western-style heist movies are definitely not my favorite genre.
Brothers robbing banks - I can't say it is a very novel idea for a movie.
But how well this movie is made!
Finally a movie that I could wholeheartedly recommend, even though western-style heist movies are definitely not my favorite genre.
Brothers robbing banks - I can't say it is a very novel idea for a movie.
But how well this movie is made! How colorful it's characters are! The movie is so authentic, you can feel the taste and smell of Western Texas. Performance, sound track, directing, visuals, are all excellent. I would not be surprised to see it's name on the Oscar's list for 2016.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
fungusgnatAug 21, 2016
Mackenzie and Sheridan craft an entertaining lightweight shoot-‘em-up that risks doing real damage to folks in proportion to the serious attention the filmmakers give to their two bromances, which seem to be where their own hearts and mindsMackenzie and Sheridan craft an entertaining lightweight shoot-‘em-up that risks doing real damage to folks in proportion to the serious attention the filmmakers give to their two bromances, which seem to be where their own hearts and minds lie. This flick may not be deserving of the critical adulation it has received—for example, it subscribes a little too whole-heartedly to the victimization narrative of its Texan locals. But it’s nonetheless got enough action and reflection to make it stand out among the hopeless cases released into the August doldrums. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
3ebfan511Oct 6, 2017
Solid cops and robbers/heist type movie with some interesting economic undertones in the background and an interesting slow-paced West Texas setting mixing in with the action. Solid acting from all the main characters and a pretty well doneSolid cops and robbers/heist type movie with some interesting economic undertones in the background and an interesting slow-paced West Texas setting mixing in with the action. Solid acting from all the main characters and a pretty well done film all around. Both artistic and entertaining. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
The3AcademySinsAug 27, 2016
Easily one of the best movies to come out in the summer of 2016. Great acting, great writing, and breathtaking cinematography bring this simple heist story to life. Hell or High Water is a straightforward character study, and it's simplicityEasily one of the best movies to come out in the summer of 2016. Great acting, great writing, and breathtaking cinematography bring this simple heist story to life. Hell or High Water is a straightforward character study, and it's simplicity adds layers to the film. Would watch again! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
RobBob99Sep 3, 2016
It took the movie a little bit to get going but once it did, Hell or High Water developed into one of the best movies of 2016 so far. Everything about this film felt real and authentic from the dialogue, humor, location and the intense bankIt took the movie a little bit to get going but once it did, Hell or High Water developed into one of the best movies of 2016 so far. Everything about this film felt real and authentic from the dialogue, humor, location and the intense bank robbery scenes. Its one of the best directed movies of the year and especially one of the best acted films of 2016. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
PHANTOMRAIDERAug 22, 2016
Great flick...has everything a movie should have...interesting story, well developed characters, fine acting, especially surprising was Pine as the hero/ antihero. Light on romance, but not relationships. Light on computer effects, but notGreat flick...has everything a movie should have...interesting story, well developed characters, fine acting, especially surprising was Pine as the hero/ antihero. Light on romance, but not relationships. Light on computer effects, but not on classic action scenes. Bridges' southwest accent is getting a bit shopworn, but he delivers otherwise. See it! Then see it again. Then you will probably want the DVD......it is really that interesting! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
NavyBeanSep 1, 2016
I find Chris Pine a most beautiful man.

I am a professional cage dancer and film aficianado so know that I come at this from a different direction than most. In Key West, it is OK to live how you want to and people don't judge you like
I find Chris Pine a most beautiful man.

I am a professional cage dancer and film aficianado so know that I come at this from a different direction than most. In Key West, it is OK to live how you want to and people don't judge you like they do in Indiana and the winters here are wonderful.

I am used to getting a lot of male attention so when I saw this film, I found myself stimulated in a new way: my brain! It was a like a load of maple syrup being shot across my brow. Energizing and exciting and long enough that it wouldn't be embarrassed in the locker room.

I wish I could write more but my partner Guillermo is in one of his moods. I'll probably have to use my mouth to make him feel better.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
yosemiteAug 23, 2016
Good film. As New Mexico set the tone and atmosphere for "Breaking Bad" on TV , so it does once again in this movie. Vast emptiness as far as the eye can see, its the perfect background for this story. Parts of the film reminiscent of BonnieGood film. As New Mexico set the tone and atmosphere for "Breaking Bad" on TV , so it does once again in this movie. Vast emptiness as far as the eye can see, its the perfect background for this story. Parts of the film reminiscent of Bonnie and Clyde, Thelma and Louise and No Country for Old Men, its a good yarn. Actors are well casted but as one would expect, Jeff Bridges steals the show as the retiring law man wiser than his age. One of the great if understated actors of his time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 25, 2016
Texas fried to its very core, Hell or High Water is a film with a deep Southern fried aesthetic from its look, feel, and killer soundtrack/score. With terrific performances from Chris Pine, Ben Foster, and Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water isTexas fried to its very core, Hell or High Water is a film with a deep Southern fried aesthetic from its look, feel, and killer soundtrack/score. With terrific performances from Chris Pine, Ben Foster, and Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water is a thoroughly unique family-fueled crime film. It may be a touch heavy-handed at times with its anti-bank mentality, but this is more than overcome by its terrifically crafted characters. The brothers are very multi-dimensional, as though they may be criminals, we feel for them deeply because of their circumstances and hope they can get away with it all. That said, even the cops are well developed. Bridges' character and his relationship with Gil Birmingam's character is terrific. Not only is their banter hysterical, but for friends and fellow cops, they are given a shocking amount of depth. In addition to its terrific writing, Hell or High Water is a sturdy film that defies expectations, as is tradition with David Mackenzie's films. He takes typical premises and more than just spruces them up. Instead, he reinvents it and turns it into a fully nuanced and powerful film that explores family relationships and how far you will go to help your family. Even more, it explores the violent nature of man and how thin the line between life and death is and can be. The film's cinematography is also terrific with some seriously beautiful shots strewn through this film. Not only did it capture the Southern aesthetic as previously mentioned, it really captured the look and feel of the towns it was set in. This is also heavily due to the film's terrific production and set design. Overall, Hell or High Water is a real gem set to go down as one of the very best releases of 2016. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticAug 19, 2016
While the film is straight forward with a lot of previously done plot points, the look, feel, and humor makes this film different and special. This film is beautifully shot from start to finish and all the performances are great. Texas hasWhile the film is straight forward with a lot of previously done plot points, the look, feel, and humor makes this film different and special. This film is beautifully shot from start to finish and all the performances are great. Texas has never looked or felt more rugged with the feel of the past and present all rolled into one. A truly great film and one of the better movies of the year. A Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Rossi163Jan 15, 2017
Great freakin' movie. Wow! Surprisingly, seriously, sincerely great. Superb performances, great dialog, and deeply authentic characters and settings. Chris Pine and especially Ben Foster deliver in a big way with understated but spot-on trueGreat freakin' movie. Wow! Surprisingly, seriously, sincerely great. Superb performances, great dialog, and deeply authentic characters and settings. Chris Pine and especially Ben Foster deliver in a big way with understated but spot-on true to life portrayals. I will be watching for more from this director. Huge kudos to everyone involved in the creation of this mini masterpiece. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Aug 20, 2016
Without a doubt the most tense, engaging, and just plain awesome film I've seen so far this year! This is a perfect example of how a neo-western should be done! Yes, many of its plot points undoubtedly are familiar and been there, done that.Without a doubt the most tense, engaging, and just plain awesome film I've seen so far this year! This is a perfect example of how a neo-western should be done! Yes, many of its plot points undoubtedly are familiar and been there, done that. However, the film's excellent character study, acting, humorous moments, gorgeous cinematography that captures rural Texas in all of its gritty glory, and smartly paced storyline elevates it to ultimately make for one solid western crime flick! As far as I'm concerned, it also serves as Jeff Bridges, Chris Pine, and Ben Foster's best and most compelling work yet! Overall, it's an absolute must-see for any western or crime fan or for those looking to see a more poised and intelligent film within these genres as opposed to a more all-out gunplay and action film. As far as neo-westerns go, I'm not exaggerating when I say that this one's on par with No Country For Old Men! It really is that great! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingAug 22, 2017
Allowing breathing space for its characters to develop with realistic dialogue and sedate pacing, Hell or High Water has an emotional core that most other film lack, and this creates a compelling experience for viewers.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
x0v3rKiLxAug 29, 2016
Short, sweet, and easily the best standalone film of the year. Every lead actor in this film shines in their respective role. All these great performances encapsulate what is at the core of the film - a modern take on the old, tried-and-trueShort, sweet, and easily the best standalone film of the year. Every lead actor in this film shines in their respective role. All these great performances encapsulate what is at the core of the film - a modern take on the old, tried-and-true American western. I loved how this movie didn't give away too much at once and let the characters and their stories develop naturally. It made for a great, rhythmic plot flow and an absolutely beautiful experience overall. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
russiangamerMar 3, 2017
Реалистичный и скучноватый фильм.
Понравились актёры, реалистичный экшен, а диалоги то интересные, то скучные. Но фильм увидеть стоит, эдакий вестерн на современный лад с яркой картинкой.
Реалистичный и скучноватый фильм.
Понравились актёры, реалистичный экшен, а диалоги то интересные, то скучные. Но фильм увидеть стоит, эдакий вестерн на современный лад с яркой картинкой.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ProtosAngelusMar 5, 2017
Hell or High Water is a brilliantly written and masterfully directed movie about a man trying to get his sons out of "dirt" the hard way, and the consequences it carries, whilst giving a notion of a two way street when it comes to law.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeAug 31, 2016
You can't deny whether Hell or High Water should be watchable or not because my head is starting to say that this movie might be a great winner for the Academy Awards because I sense it might win at least a couple of awards. This is one greatYou can't deny whether Hell or High Water should be watchable or not because my head is starting to say that this movie might be a great winner for the Academy Awards because I sense it might win at least a couple of awards. This is one great film you cannot miss in any condition whatsoever. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MrNeon16Sep 1, 2016
If Hell Or High Water is just a slight indication of what I hope to expect in regards to the quality of films I expect to see for the remainder of 2016..I will be really impressed.
A modern take on the western. Two Texas brothers on a bank
If Hell Or High Water is just a slight indication of what I hope to expect in regards to the quality of films I expect to see for the remainder of 2016..I will be really impressed.
A modern take on the western. Two Texas brothers on a bank robbing spree with Texas rangers and other law enforcement in pursuit.

There are a few things that make this film stand out from other modern crime films. The motives of the protagonists are unique. They have a plan and a time limit. The locale FEELS authentic.The Production Design and Cinematography (Tom Duffield & Giles Nuttgens, respectively) are GREAT. I was immersed in the story and the world that was displayed on the movie screen. Also...I have to give credit to Nick Cave for the music. I’m not a Country music fan by any means. But all of the music choices worked seamlessly.

This movie balances action, tension and drama quite well. There is a pace. And at times, unfortunately, a bit of a languid pace. Especially in the middle of the film. This didn't bother me too much as this gave room for the characters to develop. I cared for all of them. From the major leads to the minor ones who walked in and out of the story. All of them felt real. When the action does pick up again for the climax, I was impressed.

Hell or High Water is on my Top Ten list for 2016. No doubt whatsoever. Excellent acting by the leads (Pine, Foster, Bridges and Birmingham), a great tension-filled story (with an ALMOST perfect ending), an immersive soundtrack and beautiful cinematography.

A definite recommend. 8/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
daviddelnorte23Jun 15, 2017
Reconozco que no tenía nada de ganas de ver esta película cuando salió en cines, me parecía la típica de oscar. Pero con el tiempo y sumando que escuché hablar sobre ella a gente con un gusto parecido al mio de manera más que positiva, meReconozco que no tenía nada de ganas de ver esta película cuando salió en cines, me parecía la típica de oscar. Pero con el tiempo y sumando que escuché hablar sobre ella a gente con un gusto parecido al mio de manera más que positiva, me lanzé a verla. Y la verdad, me parece la mejor película del año y mi favorita. Me encantó.

La película cuenta la peculiar relación entre dos hermanos y paralelamente la de dos policías, uno a punto de retirarse, que persiguen a los hermanos que roban bancos. Es la típica fórmula, sí, pero la grandeza está en sus diálogos y la relación que se establece entre sus personajes, unido a un toquecito de western crepuscular. Es magnífica.

En definitiva, la película es de mis preferidas y para mí debería haber ganado el oscar, sin duda. La BSO es... Un sobresaliente.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewFeb 10, 2017
Hollywood Westerns are not gone, they just underwent a new tone and identity to fit with the times. We do not see any more of those shoot-em-ups against the “Injuns,” but instead a blurred line between sheriff and outlaw. Yet most noticeableHollywood Westerns are not gone, they just underwent a new tone and identity to fit with the times. We do not see any more of those shoot-em-ups against the “Injuns,” but instead a blurred line between sheriff and outlaw. Yet most noticeable of all, it takes place in the here and now, rather than the turn of America’s economic structure.

Hell or High Water, written by Sicario’s Taylor Sheridan, shows some of those gritty details that breathe life back into the shallow, feel-good classical genre. Here, we see what Texans under the law truly act like: they use a bulldozer to bury their P.O.S. car under dirt to hide any evidence, and they throw their chips in poker to increase their luck, all with the right rationalizations explained about their backstories to help you understand their turmoil. The two black-masked thieves we focus on here, played by the greatly underrated Chris Pine (Into the Woods, Star Trek) and Ben Foster (3:10 to Yuma, The Messenger), make a living out of hopping from bank-to-bank as the only means to financially secure themselves. You normally wouldn’t want to care for a couple of crooks like them, but once you learn their background, you’ll understand.

Sheridan’s plot is not a terribly original concept for a modern-day cowboy movie, virtually copying the same tone and concept as the brilliant No Country for Old Men. This Western only sets itself apart from others by its lack of international relationships.

Even so, the hearts of all the men living here will haunt you. Each of them abuses their second amendment rights, even the filthy-rich passerby at the gas station carries firearms at all times. The town by no means chose to side with these crooks, especially not the near-retiring sheriff, played with a compellingly rich voice by Jeff Bridges (The Big Lebowski, Crazy Heart). Despite his wishes, he sets off a cat-and-mouse chase to restore integrity to these disturbers of the peace. Think of it like a Bonnie & Clyde type of thriller, except without the fun, gore, and romance. Or better yet, a Thelma & Louise type of criminal’s sympathy story, except without any strong female characters.

Yeah, hate to break it to you: Westerns today still don’t contain enough girl power like we’d expect from them by now. The female characters are either dead mothers we never meet, moral support for the main characters, or bankers who get harassed by the two crooks. If these otherwise talented actresses were made somehow more active, then greater dimension would have been added to make the script strike closer to home.

Although the widely unnoticed director David Mackenzie deserves recognition for his compelling creation of Texas’ true culture. In his view of the dead south, automobiles display the ultimate sign of one’s wealth, and oil mines can be found in an average man’s backyard. Although everything looks like the everyday mundane life for these inhabitants, several signs still connect Mackenzie’s imagined world with the works of John Ford. A field fire seen in the distance from behind a herd of frightened cattle heightens the highly-saturated look of the picture, and the dusty texture of the art direction reflects the complexion of the men unqualified to protect the people. You even get a new take on the classic showdown between sheriff and outlaw- with a new psychological twist.

Hell or High Water will last as one of those pictures made by men from the old days for men from the old days. Not everyone will come out from the experience satisfied, but for the thinking-type of viewer, Mackenzie’s new take on a familiar concept will knock ‘em out dead.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
awalAug 14, 2016
This movie is the Las Vegas strip of cinema. It takes great elements from a huge variety of sources and recreates them in it's own, small world while providing only a minimum of context. They're amusing to see, but like the Eiffel Tower inThis movie is the Las Vegas strip of cinema. It takes great elements from a huge variety of sources and recreates them in it's own, small world while providing only a minimum of context. They're amusing to see, but like the Eiffel Tower in the desert, you know that it's a pale imitation of the original.

That said, this isn't a bad movie, but it's not nearly the masterpiece that the many 90+ critics' scores might lead you to otherwise believe. The entire movie feels like West Texas written and directed by a NYC film student who knows the geography and people only through watching other movies set in the same location. There are so many cliches in the character creation, the dialog and the cinematography that's it's a bit overwhelming, but contained within the individual scenes are plenty of gems that make the movie worthwhile.

Bridges and Birmingham are walking on thread-bare, cop-partner carpet. Pine does his best "Amarillo Raylan Givens" imitation. Every scene is accompanied by some cliched Texas noir soundtrack music. Once in a while I wished for there to be no music so that I could decide myself on the mood of a particular scene. The recurring billboards on the side of the road are about as subtle as a Roadrunner cartoon. There is absolutely no chemistry between Pine and Ben Foster (his movie brother). There's no reason at all to believe that the two of them would be undertaking something like this together.

But as mentioned, there are individual scenes that are poignant, funny, sad and pleasantly incongruous which make this a worthwhile spending of your time and money.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
5
AxeTAug 19, 2016
High hopes for this in the worst summer for movies of all time. Unfortunately it does not deliver. What a let down considering the great word of mouth, solid cast and welcome genre. Jackass critics over-praise yet again here doing nobodyHigh hopes for this in the worst summer for movies of all time. Unfortunately it does not deliver. What a let down considering the great word of mouth, solid cast and welcome genre. Jackass critics over-praise yet again here doing nobody but the makers and themselves a favor! The idiots obviously grade on a curve. Do they give this mild effort a break only because everything else is so piss poor? They're unfit to be giving their worthless opinions on anything.
Jeff Bridges is a very fine actor and one of the great contemporary movie stars. Lifelong fan and he's in my top three favorite movie stars. He's good here and all the funny lines are delivered by his character, but that's about all that's good in this film. The script is weak on story. Low stakes, high boredom with contrived characters in cliché circumstances that have been put on screen countless times. The motivating family backstory is not going to be bought by a thinking audience. Obviously the writer and director were trying to comment on the modern West (actually its Texas here) with their dissertation in the forefront, and the lame story taking the backseat. Major mistake and it never works. If you want to do that then go make a documentary, write a book or become a painter because Hollywood movies should always be about strong narrative. Any kind of message on the nature of things should be sub-text, always! The audience needs a good story and the rest can filter through sub-consciously or even overtly, but the priority must be on story. The rookies behind this either don't get that, or just couldn't come up with the goods. ("Sicario" was a pretty phony and thin movie for that matter.) The tone and craft of this movie are fine and that's what the sheep critics are all flocking around because they are very easily fooled. It's a slow slog building up to nothing much.

Also there is a ridiculous logic flaw in the plot, what little plot there is. And not a flaw but maybe more troubling is a lack of moral subjectivity by the authorship of the film. The anti-hero is nothing new. What is are today's Leftist amoral filmmakers who don't pass judgment on extreme violence but show it matter of factly which is more realistic (except for the ubiquitous blood splatter now in shows and movies which is not realistic most of the time and in some ways the old code movies completely devoid of it are actually more realistic), however less reasonable for an audience looking for meaning. The tone shifts from buddy joking to cold blooded killing by characters the filmmakers intend you to like. That's not the problem. The lack of more of a moral payoff is. The danger is a culture heading for a complete lack of morality in the arts.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
haylobosAug 22, 2016
Went in with high expectations but was left unimpressed. The trailer paints the picture of a "Robin Hood Cowboy" tale which is only briefly seen in the cafe setting about 1/4 of the way through the movie. Other than that it seemed tooWent in with high expectations but was left unimpressed. The trailer paints the picture of a "Robin Hood Cowboy" tale which is only briefly seen in the cafe setting about 1/4 of the way through the movie. Other than that it seemed too formulaic and unfortunately this formula has been used way too much. There was nothing new to see here, I didn't feel the movie captured my attention, and would recommend you Redbox this one on a rainy day. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxAug 11, 2018
Deux loustics font des braquages pour arrondir les fins de mois et accessoirement pourvoir aux besoins de leur famille décomposée, payer la pension alimentaire et piquer du fric aux banques responsables de la crise des subprimes et de leurDeux loustics font des braquages pour arrondir les fins de mois et accessoirement pourvoir aux besoins de leur famille décomposée, payer la pension alimentaire et piquer du fric aux banques responsables de la crise des subprimes et de leur (sur)endettement... on a là un bel agenda social et il est respecté à la lettre.

Ce n'est pas le pire cela dit même si ce prétexte est fort mal exploité... Le pire, c'est Chris Pine et sa tête de noeud : dire que ce branque est le nouveau Capitaine Kirk, ça me fout déjà les boules mais le voir errer avec sa moustache à faire l'acteur, ça fait pitié. Et que dire de son comparse frérot dans le film, incarné par Ben Foster sinon qu'il s'agit d'un bouffon hystérique insupportable ? il vaut mieux ne rien en dire, pour notre bien à tous.

Bien sûr, on a tout de même notre bon vieux Jeff Bridges toujours vert en papy ranger ringard et lourdingue : même son collègue amérindien-mexicain n'en peut plus de ses vannes pourraves... ce bon vieux Jeff mérite nettement mieux que ce rôle mal écrit, superficiel et bourré de clichés d'un scénariste alcoolique de Parkinson.

L'histoire se traîne à deux à l'heure tandis que papy court après les deux guignols ; tout sonne faux et stéréotypé et se révèle à peine digne d'un téléfilm à la petite semaine. Au moins, la mise en scène reste calme et très posée, y compris dans les rares scènes d'action... Mais que c'est mou du genou et pas crédible pour un sou ce machin ! j'ai rarement vu un film aussi bidon.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
JamesLAug 27, 2016
A real disappointment. I was expecting plot, characters, substance, and my money's worth. This film has none of those. It is so simple and bland that you begin to think that maybe it is really smart and you are just missing it. No, there isA real disappointment. I was expecting plot, characters, substance, and my money's worth. This film has none of those. It is so simple and bland that you begin to think that maybe it is really smart and you are just missing it. No, there is nothing to miss with this film. Bridges has done this role o many time, the buddy concept has no chemistry here, and the film just takes up time. Nothing new, unique or never been done here. A major disappointment. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
AGeekNamedBobAug 14, 2016
HELL OR HIGH WATER was a perfect film. Jeff Bridges, Ben Foster and Chris Pine - three actors who always turn in great and/or interesting performances (no matter the quality of movie) in a crime western with an incredibly strong script byHELL OR HIGH WATER was a perfect film. Jeff Bridges, Ben Foster and Chris Pine - three actors who always turn in great and/or interesting performances (no matter the quality of movie) in a crime western with an incredibly strong script by Taylor Sheridan, who wrote last year's SICARIO. And a string heavy score by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis to set the tone in the bleak, dust-bowl like poor west Texas setting? Really, this film blew me away. I can think of nothing I didn't like. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
gfnyAug 19, 2016
The film was a slight disappointment because it came with such high ratings that I expected an excellent film. It is not, but it is a good film. There is much dialogue which can seem tedious at times but the story line keeps it going.The film was a slight disappointment because it came with such high ratings that I expected an excellent film. It is not, but it is a good film. There is much dialogue which can seem tedious at times but the story line keeps it going. Direction and acting were excellent -- the storyline was good. The critics that gave it about a 65 had it right. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
GinaKAug 26, 2016
A dull film about mainly uninteresting people. One critic I read mentioned “Bonnie and Clyde” when reviewing this film, and I wonder what he was smoking. Ben Foster and Chris Pike do a good job with the two main characters, but their realA dull film about mainly uninteresting people. One critic I read mentioned “Bonnie and Clyde” when reviewing this film, and I wonder what he was smoking. Ben Foster and Chris Pike do a good job with the two main characters, but their real motivations were murky until the very end when things finally got interesting. But that was more the scriptwriter’s fault and not theirs. Jeff Bridges played the Jeff Bridges character and I read he was “foul-mouthed.” I found his “joshing” with his partner highly offensive and racist. If you love clichés and despair, this is the movie for you. Expand
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
1
TheMetacritiqerSep 5, 2016
Very boring, not funny movie. I expected this to be serious but it ends up feeling like a comedy. And even the action scenes seem far fetched. Not entertainment just dull and a waste of time. Now to see Sully
2 of 33 users found this helpful231
All this user's reviews
5
NedRyerson1Jan 21, 2017
Hell or High Water is a contemporary western with nothing new to offer. It tells the story of two bank robber brothers, facing the old, fat and decaying hand of the law. Few things happen across the movie, making it very hard to follow, theHell or High Water is a contemporary western with nothing new to offer. It tells the story of two bank robber brothers, facing the old, fat and decaying hand of the law. Few things happen across the movie, making it very hard to follow, the beginning being the worst part; the western characteristic that defines the film is only noticeable in the climax (and the music), a bit more thrilling and enjoyable. The three main characters are poorly defined mostly superficially. One brother short tempered, not very smart and of unpredictable behavior; the other representing the brain of the gang, with an admirable objective but incoherent parenting; and the near to retirement ranger that wants one last glimpse of adventure. A thing to highlight is the process of recognition that two of these characters go throw as the plot cultivates, and that creates a different outcome however different not in all cases means good. Above all, the performances are interesting, especially Jeff Bridges and Ben Foster, also the photography is classy; but it’s not enough. Don’t mention this film again, come hell or high water. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90May 16, 2020
Hell or High Water was one the best films of 2016 and deservedly so. Efficiently executed film with great cinematography, great cast and good story and is done in a way that elevates it above most modern westerns
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
HotelCentralApr 10, 2017
The acting is solid but the story is meh. The police spend most of their time engaged in idle banter and do virtually nothing that might be described as "police work" or "investigating" unless you include making wild guesses. TheThe acting is solid but the story is meh. The police spend most of their time engaged in idle banter and do virtually nothing that might be described as "police work" or "investigating" unless you include making wild guesses. The justification for the two brothers committing all kinds of mayhem is slim at best and boils down to the argument that they will lose everything if they don't pay off the mortgage on time. Well, that's a little bit like saying, "Hey, I've got cancer, so it's OK for me to become a vicious druglord because how else am I going to provide for my family after I'm dead."

If that's how your moral compass points the way then you have my condolences.

For me, the high point of the film was what amounted to a comic reenactment of the Northfield, Minnesota, "raid" of 1876 in which most of the James-Younger gang got themselves very nearly shot to pieces by ordinary citizens who grabbed rifles from the local general store.

I do not recommend this film unless you seriously have nothing better to do.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
yezoOct 24, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think it is not a bad movie but not very a good one either. It is going to be controversial because as far as I am concerned, most people like this movie and the casts are famous. (but that does not change how I evaluate this movie)
First of all, spoiler alert. This movie's plot is about someone robbing a few banks and manage to get away from it and be rich at the end. And giving a reason (for his kids) so it can be justified. Basically casually robbed a few banks, killing a few civilians and policemen, and sacrifice his brother. If a lot of American like the plot, I am not surprised why plenty of people support Donald Trump. It is no way this concept make any sense to the rest of the world (America is not world if someone is confused).
Back to the plot, how Toby not being recognised, the cafe lady and 3 cowboys were in the cafe. I could understand the cafe lady might pity Toby by Chris Pine good looking, but surely the 3 cowboys would have recognised him. The car dealer would have recognised him. And the police would also found out he was crossing somewhere very close to the incident where his ID was checked. And only the ranger thinks Toby is the suspect. Anyway, let's settle with the plot.
Acting, the most remarkable actor would be the actress who sold T-bones. The ranger, he is ok, did his character of being a dick, bullying his colleague (again in a justified way so his Mexican colleague would remember him), and he felt sad and joy to take revenge for his death colleague. I suppose there would be some feelings for the ranger character when he went to Toby's place to confront him. Because the ranger thinks and believes Toby is the mastermind behind this thing and should be responsible for the death of his colleague. There might be some acting on those conflicts of the emotions although I could not quite see it (100% because I am not expert in acting).
About filming, the place looks quite pretty, or cinematographic. I suppose I could relate this movie to the style of Revenant. Many pretty sky and landscapes pictures. Unlike the majority preference, I do think the storyline and/or the message behind the movie is more important than those graphics around it. I mean it is nice to have it around. For example, nba2k has good graphics, but gameplay sucks. Hence, nba2k is a **** game. Same principle apply when I watch movies. Nothing against graphics, good to be there, not really upset if it is not there, unless I am watching a documentary.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
shoulderoforionSep 2, 2016
Had it's moments, sure, but mostly seemed the dialogue was adlibed, didn't absolutely hate it, didn't love it. This is definitely one of those movies you should wait til it streams.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
5
RatedRexDec 17, 2016
Another stupid movie that makes no sense. Everything works too conveniently. There are a couple of good scenes, but for the most part, it just meanders along. Worst of all, it whimpers to an unsatisfactory conclusion that you will have toAnother stupid movie that makes no sense. Everything works too conveniently. There are a couple of good scenes, but for the most part, it just meanders along. Worst of all, it whimpers to an unsatisfactory conclusion that you will have to suspend all common sense in order to believe. It is amazing that the critics loved this movie so much. It is easily the most overrated movie of the year. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ericrosarJun 18, 2017
Truly an amazing film-Best of 2016 IMO. Almost every shot in this movie was visually pleasing. And even more important, the script managed to "flesh-out" almost all the characters we came in contact with. Every scene managed to move the storyTruly an amazing film-Best of 2016 IMO. Almost every shot in this movie was visually pleasing. And even more important, the script managed to "flesh-out" almost all the characters we came in contact with. Every scene managed to move the story forward without giving you the "reveal" toO early. The reveal was their motivations. A serious film which at times would show some comedic levity while showing you real characters; not what some would like to see as characters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
saintdeckyFeb 2, 2017
I went into this movie with very high expectations. I have just seen it even though it had been out for nearly half a year, and have gotten countless recommendations for this movie, as well as seeing lots of positive reviews for it. The movieI went into this movie with very high expectations. I have just seen it even though it had been out for nearly half a year, and have gotten countless recommendations for this movie, as well as seeing lots of positive reviews for it. The movie had also gotten an Oscar nomination for best picture, increasing my expectations. Sadly, I was left unsatisfied.

Characters/Acting: The acting was well done; Chris Pine did an excellent job of portraying his character, better than I had expected. I'm looking forward to hopefully seeing him in more dramatic, Oscar-worthy performances in the future. Ben Foster did a good job as well, but Jeff Bridges, in my mind, seemed a bit overrated. He played a very Jeff Bridges character, and though he did have a good range of emotions in a few scenes, he didn't do much throughout the movie. I also didn't feel like there was enough of a connection or comparison between the two pairs of characters (Pine and Foster as brothers and Bridges and Gil Birmingham as the 2 cops). They barely even met, and I didn't feel a good comparison between the two kinds, if that's what the movie was going for.

Cinematography: Throughout the duration of the movie, there are countless, and I mean perpetual, endless shots of the small, depressed lands of Texas that the movie takes place in. Eventually I found the shots boring and repetitive, to the point where I was almost saying "if I see another shot of a barren wasteland in Texas, I'm going to throw my remote into the television."

Overall, the movie isn't necessarily bad; it's an okay way to kill two hours. If I didn't have such high expectations from what I had read and other people suggesting it for me, I may have knocked the rating up to a 7.
Also, whenever you see it, stick around for the T-bone restaurant scene, it's the best and funniest scene of the whole movie.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
TRakeJun 3, 2019
Jeff Bridges has adopted a "marbles in the mouth" method of speaking to play these gruff characters and it is just too tiresome. Chris Pine does a decent job. The story is slow and missed too many chances for intrigue. Every surprise is aJeff Bridges has adopted a "marbles in the mouth" method of speaking to play these gruff characters and it is just too tiresome. Chris Pine does a decent job. The story is slow and missed too many chances for intrigue. Every surprise is a dud. Some like it. Not me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AJ_13Apr 1, 2021
Really enjoyed it. It's much more than a robbery film (talks about poverty, capitalism, race). Also great acting and screenplay.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
currer_bellAug 25, 2018
This was a quite bad and boring movie... Like we needed another unrealistic movie about bankrobbers from Texas...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TyranianApr 10, 2019
Pretty cool western film with good performances and a great mood. Gritty stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
foxgroveSep 12, 2016
This lean and masterfully directed screenplay is entirely without a superfluous moment. Rich in detail and brilliantly acted it is one of those rare films that resonates even more on reflection than whilst actually watching it. Ben Foster andThis lean and masterfully directed screenplay is entirely without a superfluous moment. Rich in detail and brilliantly acted it is one of those rare films that resonates even more on reflection than whilst actually watching it. Ben Foster and Chris Pine convince totally as bank robbing brothers and veteran Jeff Bridges is at his very best as the retiring sheriff determined to catch the pair before he quits. Other supporting characters are deliciously written and outstandingly played by an unknown cast and the whole thing is beautifully shot with New Mexico standing in for Texas. Nick Cave contributes an outstanding score which is reminiscent at times of the Coen brothers ‘Fargo’. This is one hell of a movie that deserves the almost unanimous accolades that have been bestowed upon it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sanyrubMay 21, 2017
Extremely well executed film with great cinematography, great cast and good story. The main complain would be that it isn´t something we haven´t seen before. Good thing is that it keeps scalating and the third act elevates the whole picture.Extremely well executed film with great cinematography, great cast and good story. The main complain would be that it isn´t something we haven´t seen before. Good thing is that it keeps scalating and the third act elevates the whole picture. A perfect third act actually. A little bit surprising that it made it to awards season over a couple of better contenders. Great film anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gracjanskiApr 18, 2020
Good modern western movie with many jokes in the beginning by Hamilton (Jeff Bridges), some good action in the whole movie and interesting background in the end. It is very helpful to not know a lot about the movie, it will surprise you positively.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeNov 10, 2016
It was well shot, well acted, well made and the soundtrack was very good. Some people might complain that it was boring at times but it's totally worth it since the movie is really good. If you liked No Country for Old Men you should like this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
juliankennedy23Mar 26, 2017
Hell or High Water (7 out of 10) is a very good film overall and is certainly worth a watch. I wanted to get that out of the way because I have a serious complaint about this film. Hell or High Water spends most of its time in a realisticHell or High Water (7 out of 10) is a very good film overall and is certainly worth a watch. I wanted to get that out of the way because I have a serious complaint about this film. Hell or High Water spends most of its time in a realistic place. It paints a picture of two brothers who have a realistic life with believable relationships with both each other and the world around them. It also paints a realistic scenario that, while not without holes, certainly gives a purpose behind the bank robbing and other shenanigans. Hell and High Water is also a fable. Not quite of the Magic Realism kind that one easily could have seen this film drift into but of the wish fulfillment kind. The kind one would expect in a children's adventure. In other words the ending of The Goonies. Now one could easily argue if The Goonies ending worked for well The Goonies but it simply doesn’t strike true to a film that admittedly was getting looser with reality as it went along. Upon reflection one certainly, could imagine that the writer or director was well aware that they were drifting into fable territory and simply loosened the rules of the world of the film as events progressed. I certainly am willing to give this finely crafted film this. The ending just seemed too clean for a film so otherwise grounded. The equivalent of a ghost pirate ship drifting in the background.

Speaking of endings souring an otherwise fine experience. The inclusion of a blasting Black Sabbath song at the end of the first Iron Man worked because well it's and Iron Man movie and it's an Iron Man song. This film is drifting quietly into the sunset and suddenly we are blasted with this loud obnoxious country rock song (Outlaw State of Mind by Chris Stapleton) that doesn’t fit the scene, or mood and honestly at that point doesn’t fit the film. The film overall is great, The acting is more than solid all across the board and the film spends the vast majority of its running time in a good place. Like I said a very good film overall.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Nclr_ChcknFeb 26, 2019
Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.AbsoluteAbsolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom.Absolute boredom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dabyd1304Feb 7, 2017
Westerns modernos hay pocos. No digamos ya que merezcan la pena. "Hell or high water" no será recordado como un gran éxito ni como una película de culto (al menos ahora). Sin embargo dentro de unos años, en un conversación donde salganWesterns modernos hay pocos. No digamos ya que merezcan la pena. "Hell or high water" no será recordado como un gran éxito ni como una película de culto (al menos ahora). Sin embargo dentro de unos años, en un conversación donde salgan películas de este genero, a cada cual mas moderna, llegará un punto que tras nombrar "No es país para viejos" la gente se quedará pensando. Entonces alguien dirá; ¿os acordáis de esta película?, estaba realmente bien, me dejó sin poder pensar en otra cosa durante un buen rato. Y se pensará que estaba muy bien dirigida, pero que tampoco tenía nada transcendental.

Es entonces cuando un segundo visionado pondrá a esta película en su lugar. Cuando la vuelvas a ver, recordando ligeramente lo que iba a ocurrir, te darás cuenta de lo trascendental que es. O mejor dicho, de como con algo tan simple, te puede hacer ver tantos detalles. Esa sensación de estar ante algo que no habías visto antes y que te muestra distintos puntos de vista a los que tenías, esa sensación no la tienen ni muchas grandes películas. "Hell or high water" no consigue eso en su totalidad como película, lo consigue en algo mas pequeño, algo que se que está ahí y que creo haberlo visto varias veces.

Puede que me equivoque y sea lo contrario. Puede que algún día vuelva a verla porque me he acordado de ella y ya no vea esa calidad, bien porque era superficial, bien porque no había. Pero me está costando horrores decidirme entre ponerle un 7 o un 8. Me quedo con el 7, pero ya veremos si algún día...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VillaMar 1, 2017
It's very entertaining all the way through. It's realistic and the end was amazing. The characters were very thought out and felt real, never really feeling like they're not being themselves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
weirdcryoJan 19, 2017
The dialogues are great, it's probably the strongest element in the movie, they do a perfect job linking characters and provoking emotion and engaging the viewer but then we have some events that seem forced and unbelievable that the writersThe dialogues are great, it's probably the strongest element in the movie, they do a perfect job linking characters and provoking emotion and engaging the viewer but then we have some events that seem forced and unbelievable that the writers used to advance the plot.
It's defenitle a interesting movie, a little too predictable or lacking on the creative department but compensate well enough with high quality actors and dialogue to ride along.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RalfbergsMar 13, 2017
Good movie, interesting action and great acting. Still, for me, there was something missing in the story and I definitely don't consider it as one of the best movies in 2016. Still a good movie though
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
badgerryan19May 19, 2017
A masterpiece. This movie was exciting from beginning to the end. Chris Pine and Ben Foster were absolutely fantastic with extraordinary chemistry. The movie surprisingly had a lot of heart behind it and you actually truly care about theA masterpiece. This movie was exciting from beginning to the end. Chris Pine and Ben Foster were absolutely fantastic with extraordinary chemistry. The movie surprisingly had a lot of heart behind it and you actually truly care about the brothers. DO NOT MISS THIS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JurgenRamnballJan 10, 2017
The story is simple, but how they develop each narrative concept is fantastic. The intelligence of a detective, the love between two brothers, their psiques, everything about the movie is flawless. The more intelligent you are, the higher theThe story is simple, but how they develop each narrative concept is fantastic. The intelligence of a detective, the love between two brothers, their psiques, everything about the movie is flawless. The more intelligent you are, the higher the score you will give, simple as that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jess_HillOct 30, 2016
I love a good Western, and this doesn't disappoint. The cinematography and score are excellent, and all of the performances are polished and well executed. The script is brilliant, and the storyline is a stark critique of an America which hasI love a good Western, and this doesn't disappoint. The cinematography and score are excellent, and all of the performances are polished and well executed. The script is brilliant, and the storyline is a stark critique of an America which has neglected its poor for too long. The social commentary isn't subtle, but this adds poignancy given the current debacle being played out in this election cycle, and the subtext won't be lost on anyone following the political upheaval which backgrounds the film. This is a fine film that is well worth your time. 8.87/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
n_hibberdSep 14, 2016
A superbly written screenplay and Oscar-worthy performances from Pine and Foster playing two brothers forced into crime by their economic situation (which I will not spoil as it adds emotional impact as the story develops), make this one ofA superbly written screenplay and Oscar-worthy performances from Pine and Foster playing two brothers forced into crime by their economic situation (which I will not spoil as it adds emotional impact as the story develops), make this one of the best films of 2016. The slow and methodical cuts add richness and realism to the dialogue scenes, whilst the setting is authentic and complements the tone of the film. The small doses of humour spread throughout this film are surprising, yet come across as incredibly genuine and natural. Most of the levity coming from the interplay between Jeff Bridges and the outstanding Gil Birmingham as the two Texas rangers on the hunt the brothers. Absolutely excellent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca31Sep 9, 2016
David Mackenzie brings us without a doubt one of the best films of the year. From start to finish this is brilliant. Ben Foster, Chris Pine and Jeff Bridges are simply fabulous, giving flawless performances. Well told story and beautifulDavid Mackenzie brings us without a doubt one of the best films of the year. From start to finish this is brilliant. Ben Foster, Chris Pine and Jeff Bridges are simply fabulous, giving flawless performances. Well told story and beautiful music. Easily gets five stars, I cannot recommend this highly enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
im_so_metaMar 12, 2017
Great film! In the hands of a more insecure directors this could of turned into action schlock, with overblown gun fights and car chases. But the pace of the film (steady but never dull) allows the audience to really get to know and empathizeGreat film! In the hands of a more insecure directors this could of turned into action schlock, with overblown gun fights and car chases. But the pace of the film (steady but never dull) allows the audience to really get to know and empathize with the main characters, making the story believable and the emotional pay off so much greater. Although generally serious in tone, there is also actually a fair bit of humor, that had me chuckling from time to time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pdw123Sep 19, 2016
Jeff Bridges and Gil Birmingham (his deputy) certainly steal the show, especially with the sarcastic one liners, just great and AA material for sure! The salient themes relevant to ongoing national issues---housing crisis, poverty, and tooJeff Bridges and Gil Birmingham (his deputy) certainly steal the show, especially with the sarcastic one liners, just great and AA material for sure! The salient themes relevant to ongoing national issues---housing crisis, poverty, and too big to fail banks--- remind me much of that great Coen Brothers film, "No Country for Old Men". There has been a lot of megaplex schlock this past summer, but it's now Fallinter, so my advice: See this if you see nothing else this year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bob198Sep 25, 2016
one of the best movies of the year. this film dose everything right with great acting and i thought ideas and hidden messages littered though out the fime this is a most see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HalloziAug 21, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. David Mackenzie brings an adrenaline-filled movie to the big screen. We see all sorts of familiar faces, but the audience is introduced to a few new characters as well.
The film served as great entertainment with its colorful cast and numerous plot twists.
Despite the films minor shortcomings, Hell or High Water is exciting, creative, and well worth two hours of your time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Oct 27, 2019
Updated version of Bonnie & Clyde, concerning two red neck brothers and their efforts for save the family farm, amid the economic crisis. Jeff Bridges is smashing as the Texas ranger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
skeptic303Oct 18, 2016
I like to call Hell or High Water a contemporary western since it isn't really a western by the strictest standards. But whatever the case, this movie is a worthy watch. I absolutely recommend this movie not as an action film, but as aI like to call Hell or High Water a contemporary western since it isn't really a western by the strictest standards. But whatever the case, this movie is a worthy watch. I absolutely recommend this movie not as an action film, but as a character study. If there is still any lack of confidence in the western genre, I'd say movies like this prove that we still have a few places to look for ideas in this genre. Perhaps we need to redefine a western and make westerns a little more contemporary like this. I can guarantee that there are ideas left to explore.
This movie features one of the best scenes so far this year, which would be its final scene. With great characters and chemistry as well as a great storyline this is something I would watch again. It deserves a seal of approval.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cgoofiesNov 16, 2016
This movie is really good, and will be somewhere in the Oscars for best cinematography probably because of the great scenery in Texas and wonderful shots of the wilderness there and dusty towns. The acting was good, and has a good story line.This movie is really good, and will be somewhere in the Oscars for best cinematography probably because of the great scenery in Texas and wonderful shots of the wilderness there and dusty towns. The acting was good, and has a good story line. Fort this years films I would add this to one to see even if it is not at the top of the list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dspratlinNov 19, 2016
What’s it about?

Two brothers stage a few gnarly bank robberies to try and save their farm while keeping a cunning Texas Ranger at bay. What did I think? Bolstered by terrific performances from Chris Pine and Jeff Bridges, Hell or High
What’s it about?

Two brothers stage a few gnarly bank robberies to try and save their farm while keeping a cunning Texas Ranger at bay.

What did I think?

Bolstered by terrific performances from Chris Pine and Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water sets its scenes beautifully, capturing the dry isolation of the West and the characters within that world, it’s just a shame the plot is paper-thin.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jacobsmith14433Dec 3, 2016
Perfect, balanced and paced to perfection. There isn't a moment in the entire film that didn't feel genuine. Not a single word spoken that didn't seem legitimate. You empathised with just about everybody in this film, except the banks. One ofPerfect, balanced and paced to perfection. There isn't a moment in the entire film that didn't feel genuine. Not a single word spoken that didn't seem legitimate. You empathised with just about everybody in this film, except the banks. One of the best films I have had the pleasure of experiencing this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MetaFilmJunkieDec 6, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A premise that we've seen hundreds of times before, but not like this. I was expecting Hell or High Water to be another generic western, but it exceeded my expectations. Phenomenal performances from Jeff Bridges, Chis Pine, and Ben Foster-who i hope will be nominated for an Oscar. I loved the music, for being a country lover myself. The cinematography was beautiful, Giles Nuttgens really captured the beauty of the countryside. The script was tight and engrossed me into the movie. And I loved the chemistry between Ben Foster's and Chris Pine's character, they really showed the sibling love these two characters have for each other. I also loved Jeff Bridges and Gil Birmingham's chemistry, I enjoyed how their characters would criticize each other in that funny way. Hell or High Water is one of this years best films, I hope it gets nominated for multiple Oscars including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Supporting Actor (Ben Foster) Best Cinematography, and Best Original Music Score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
thedaywalkerJan 5, 2017
Was ready to give this movie a 6, because aside from the great performance and great chemistry between Chris Pine and Ben Foster their wasn't much that i enjoyed, until the 3rd act, the pacing was amazing, the fact that you find yourselfWas ready to give this movie a 6, because aside from the great performance and great chemistry between Chris Pine and Ben Foster their wasn't much that i enjoyed, until the 3rd act, the pacing was amazing, the fact that you find yourself rooting for Chris Pine's character even though he's outside the law and the final dialogue between Chris pine's character and Jeff Bridge's gave me goosebumps Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Thigpen84Feb 20, 2017
One of my 4 Favorite movies of one of the worst years (2016) in movies that I can remember, great performance by Jeff Bridges along with Chris Pine and the very underrated Ben Foster
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ivancr20589Feb 21, 2017
Good movie. have an entertaining history about cops and thiefs; these are in the situation of bank robbery due to a debt they have in the bank so that the property they have is not seized. Just enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moviewithmegMar 7, 2017
I don’t think I have the words to express how fantastically dramatic this film is. As far as movie goers go, I may be an exception, but I have a complete lack of romanticism with the American West. I understand the merit of older westerns,I don’t think I have the words to express how fantastically dramatic this film is. As far as movie goers go, I may be an exception, but I have a complete lack of romanticism with the American West. I understand the merit of older westerns, but nowadays, they tend to just seem dated. But something about Jeff Bridges in a Texas desert seems right. I’m also a sucker for a good screenplay and some risky robbery scenes, and right off the bat this film lets you know that is what you are in for. The contrast between the four main characters, the two brothers and two rangers, drive the narrative to a point to where you aren’t sure who you are rooting for by the time the climactic scene begins. So if you like bank robberies, Chris Pine’s eyes, and dramatic scenes of cars being buried, you should check this out. 8.7/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SquaredRenApr 27, 2017
Good movie, Jeff's acting left me very impressed. This movie isn't slow as some reviews describe it to be, it's well paced. The overall plot is quite good, but close at the end you can tell what's going to happen. The ending was not thatGood movie, Jeff's acting left me very impressed. This movie isn't slow as some reviews describe it to be, it's well paced. The overall plot is quite good, but close at the end you can tell what's going to happen. The ending was not that surprising, but overall it's worth to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
javierguarnidoMay 2, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. American film directed by David Mackenzie and starring brilliantly by actors Jeff Bridges, Chris Pine, Ben Foster, in the lead roles. A modern twilight western that delves into social problems, where evictions and family are part of a plot that becomes at times of rabid topicality.
Sweeping photography where the Texan desert forms part of a larger character and whose general plans and sunsets on the porches of the houses make up the essential elements within the classic western genre. This mix can not be lacking thefts and persecutions by the authority, acquiring a shade of "road movie". Although the protagonists are the thieves, the film leaves its brushstroke of who are the real artificers who steal in today's society and remain unpunished, and are none other than the banks themselves.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bdjudeApr 19, 2018
A mirror image of an all American macho psychosis. Suffice to say, not many earlier movies has insurmountably overcome the impact this movie has made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews