Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: September 22, 2006
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
8
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
A very disturbing look at the growing radical Christians in the US. The film tries very hard to be unbiased by not including a narrator, but the filmmakers use the radio show host to bluntly voice their views. My only complaint is that itA very disturbing look at the growing radical Christians in the US. The film tries very hard to be unbiased by not including a narrator, but the filmmakers use the radio show host to bluntly voice their views. My only complaint is that it hits it point very early on and just rehashes it again and again through the rest of the film. But hey, it was enough to get the crazy camp closed down, so I applaud the filmmakers. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
monicaFeb 2, 2007
Child abuse - caught on tape As a evangelical myself - this made me sick. They have the basis of our religion twisted up. I too hated it, wanted to turn it off, but this is real, and it is really going on right now. It cannot be healthy for Child abuse - caught on tape As a evangelical myself - this made me sick. They have the basis of our religion twisted up. I too hated it, wanted to turn it off, but this is real, and it is really going on right now. It cannot be healthy for children to be broken down emotionally. Brainwashing. Disturbing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Nov 5, 2006
"Jesus Camp" doesn't need a liberal talk show-host to connect the dots for us, but at least the final dot is left to the audience. We know what the big picture is. You can give the filmmakers a little credit by exercising some restraint "Jesus Camp" doesn't need a liberal talk show-host to connect the dots for us, but at least the final dot is left to the audience. We know what the big picture is. You can give the filmmakers a little credit by exercising some restraint by elbowing its viewers towards the proverbial elephant. There's absolutely no polemics about stem-cell research. The words are never uttered, only inferred at, when, (gulp), a camp speaker hands out fetuses for the children to contemplate at. The Christian evangelical right have been attacked before in film, and "Jesus Camp" does nothing to deter us from our, perhaps, elitist assertion that the "Jesus freaks" live in another world from us. But really, what does it say about your ideology when one of its constituents, the genuine article, appears to be more of an end result of some liberal filmmaker's satirical rendering than its actual fictional counterpart? Mama Sunshine in Todd Solondz's "Palindromes" seems relatively sane compared to her real-life counterpart in "Jesus Camp", where truth is, indeed, stranger than fiction. This documentary makes Brian Dannelly's "Saved" look like a p.r. campaign for the Christian right. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MSSep 27, 2006
If anyone has read my review for Fahrenheit 9/11 and The End of the Spear, they would probably make the assumption that I am a left wing liberal who hates George Dubya and Missionaries. To tell you the truth...well I am. But I did not view If anyone has read my review for Fahrenheit 9/11 and The End of the Spear, they would probably make the assumption that I am a left wing liberal who hates George Dubya and Missionaries. To tell you the truth...well I am. But I did not view these movies with any sort of bias and the same state of mind was in play while watching this doc about a North Dakota Jesus Camp where Evangelical parents send their children to become religious messengers and zealots for the spread of the word of Jesus. I already despise the causes and the politics behind sending these children here. I hate the fact that they are breeding their kids for their own causes. But I also feel sorry for the children. From the camera lens it appears as if they are being manipulated and literally force fed right wing ideology and religion. It makes me wonder if the parents actually believe in free will or individualism. Of course they don't. This was a truly agonizing experience. All I wanted to do was leave the theatre, but not because this movie was horribly made or because it is biased in its delivery. No. I was totally uncomfortable. It was like I was there in essence. In those lodges and at those places, with those people, the people that I despise. These kids literally spray tears during intense worship as if they are being whipped in the process. A little girl attempts to convert a random woman at a bowling ally. The camp directors scream and cry out the messages that they've made from stages. Frankly I came into this movie without my point of view but it came back during this film. I can't say a damned positive thing about these people or what they believe in. This film revealed this evangelical movement for what it really is...a very scary and saddening tragedy. This country can't survive with this type of thing. I thank this movie for showing me and all of us what harm it is doing to our youth and our right to believe in whatever we want. Thank you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PeterJ.Dec 5, 2007
Great documentary of a clan of brain washing morons. Child abuse at it's finest.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonS.Jan 23, 2007
An absolutely terrifying look at the brain washing of innocent children by the American equivalent of the Taliban. This is the view of America that scares the rest of the world.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndieB.Mar 16, 2007
A chilling and accurate depiction of how children are manipulated and brainwashed by a cult leader.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AlexSSep 7, 2011
Provocative and extremely disturbing account of Born-Again Christian Evangelism/Fundamentalism.I was shaking my head through about 75% of the movie.Despite the even-handed style you realise very quickly that all these people areProvocative and extremely disturbing account of Born-Again Christian Evangelism/Fundamentalism.I was shaking my head through about 75% of the movie.Despite the even-handed style you realise very quickly that all these people are delusional,crazy people who pray on(and mentally abuse)impressionable and vulnerable kids.Very eye-opening. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
kelly_obrienDec 7, 2013
For my movie review I chose to watch Jesus Camp. Before watching this movie I had heard mixed reviews about this film. So I decided to watch it for myself.

The movie follows three kids from Missouri and there experience at an evangelical
For my movie review I chose to watch Jesus Camp. Before watching this movie I had heard mixed reviews about this film. So I decided to watch it for myself.

The movie follows three kids from Missouri and there experience at an evangelical Jesus Camp. Levi, Tory and Rachel are evangelical Christians. Levi, 10 years old wants to become a pastor. Tory wants to be a pro-life leader of abortion. Finally Rachel, age 9, wants to work at a nail salon and tell people about Jesus. Young kids are being brain washed about all of the modern things happening in their lives. They are told that homosexuality is wrong and prayers must occur during school. This film also shows scenes of mothers homeschooling her son about the evolution of the world. The attendees of the camp even pray to a cardboard cutout of George Bush. This movie was ridiculous horrifying. At times it even made me frightened of what the kids and their parents were doing because they would run around and chant.

Although this movie was crazy and strange I still enjoyed it. I didn't expect anything like it. I would defiantly recommend this to anyone over the age of twelve because it may be frightening. Overall I would give this film a eight out of ten.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
M.SAug 8, 2007
It's so difficult to watch this as a Christian and wonder where these people went wrong. What message are these people listening to? If the Christian God does indeed exist he has to be shaking his head in disgust at the people who twist It's so difficult to watch this as a Christian and wonder where these people went wrong. What message are these people listening to? If the Christian God does indeed exist he has to be shaking his head in disgust at the people who twist the moral teachings of the Bible to corrupt children and breed hatred. This documentary is a real eye opener about a hypocritical religious and cultural crisis we face here at home. Before we fight terrorism we need to take a look at ourselves in the mirror. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
BenDJul 1, 2007
I liked it and will make sure my son who is 7 watches it again and again. God bless you all the kids in the movie
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Sep 22, 2006
Amazing
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SusanB.Dec 31, 2007
I think it is a wonderful program and I would like to get involved.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousSep 28, 2006
Go see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CurtisS.Feb 5, 2007
I immediately noticed the filmmakers' bias when I heard the creepy musical score, saw the skewed camera angles, and felt the shaky camera moves. All these combined to create the directors' attitude toward their subjects. Only at I immediately noticed the filmmakers' bias when I heard the creepy musical score, saw the skewed camera angles, and felt the shaky camera moves. All these combined to create the directors' attitude toward their subjects. Only at the end of the film, with pleasant music, do you see the power that this musical underscoring has had on you. The same kinds of situations look free and happy when presented with happy music.. I agree that intense emotional coercion is not a good thing, but many of the comments from liberal parents about this film seem to deny the fact that they themselves inculcate their values and points of view in their children like every other parent on the planet. Who are these elitists to tell anyone that evangelical parents do not have that same right? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
robcollins606Jul 10, 2014
This documentary is a simply terrifying inside look at religious fundamentalism movement in the United States. You just feel so sorry for these children and the way that they're being indoctrinated into this cult. I had to pause it a coupleThis documentary is a simply terrifying inside look at religious fundamentalism movement in the United States. You just feel so sorry for these children and the way that they're being indoctrinated into this cult. I had to pause it a couple times just to make it all the way through it. My only complaint was that the radio host was not necessary and should have been omitted. A real eye opener. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews