Warner Bros. | Release Date: October 14, 1973
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 73 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
13
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SDFismeApr 6, 2021
Everybody loves New York, but New York loves nobody. The film gives more importance to character than to plot. Characters are incredibly portrayed and the contrast between the characters is clearly visible. Considering that the film was madeEverybody loves New York, but New York loves nobody. The film gives more importance to character than to plot. Characters are incredibly portrayed and the contrast between the characters is clearly visible. Considering that the film was made in 1973, a few technical errors can be forgiven but overall an incredibly well-made and fun film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
gracjanskiMay 14, 2021
The problem of the movie is the slow story. Almost all the time nothing happens, or not enough. The end of the movie is much better and you understand what the movie built up in the beginning.
Robert De Niro is perfect and steals a lot
The problem of the movie is the slow story. Almost all the time nothing happens, or not enough. The end of the movie is much better and you understand what the movie built up in the beginning.
Robert De Niro is perfect and steals a lot attention from Harvey Keitel. The music is perfect and full of classic songs.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeDec 9, 2018
Scorsese's equations for raunchy narrow minded brother is an awe inspiring formula that works magically as a family drama rather than your usual street boys feud.

Mean Streets Scorsese's equations for raunchy narrow minded brother is an awe
Scorsese's equations for raunchy narrow minded brother is an awe inspiring formula that works magically as a family drama rather than your usual street boys feud.

Mean Streets

Scorsese's equations for raunchy narrow minded brother is an awe inspiring formula that works magically as a family drama rather than your usual street boys feud. He has created a dysfunctional family drama that is explored in an ironic tone that leans towards intense life changing dram as it ages on screen. In here, the money making business, the mob mentality, cutthroat politics and guns blazing all over the street is mere distraction. And boy what a distraction it is, his well placed and edited antics leaves your eyes popped and jaws dropped. Prepare to be amazed to this ultimate grounded tale of friends and foes.

Especially all these long sequences that Scorsese creates, like a petty fight sequence in a pool hub or couple of hot heads fighting over a moot point, such genre has always been his forte and it is at its peak in here. Amongst these huge melodrama fiction, lies an honest and moving brotherhood relationship between De Niro and Keitel, where they play with heavy machinery as a joke or bicker over nonsense topics or negotiate finance as a ten years old. These are the moments that steals the show. Keitel as the arguably responsible and mature guy trying to hold this scattered surrounding of his with one direction is both funny and impressive.

But of course the show stealer is De Niro in his mischievous cloak where he defies to take any situation seriously and as a storyteller Scorsese makes it the most essential bit; he is the trickster after all. Set over the course of multiple characters and different episodes, the narration has the heart in its right place with fair justifying trial where everyone is put on a stand. Mean Streets is not that mean, as in it's not the darkest tale to come out of Scorsese's basket although it is one of the best.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
MahmusAug 22, 2019
Stylish, well acted and classic Scorsese. There's a sense that the characters have lived in this world for a long time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
OlivierPielDec 15, 2019
Interesting to see this film for the first time, year of my birth, after having grown up with Scorcese movies. It is far more realistic and touching than his latest works, even though the cinematography is indeed very rough to say the leastInteresting to see this film for the first time, year of my birth, after having grown up with Scorcese movies. It is far more realistic and touching than his latest works, even though the cinematography is indeed very rough to say the least compared to Goodfellas or Casino and so on. The messy script might be a turn off but I think it cleverly fits with the bestial , irrational pulsions that he displays so vividly, naturalistically one might say.
Also, I was surprised that Keitel's character resembles more the Jesuits priests in the movie "Silence" in a way. It is very satisfying as a way of "closing the loop" on his life's work.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
smuroseAug 10, 2020
Wow! This movie was a complete hot mess and very entertaining. The acting was authentic and funny. I think it did a great job capturing Italian Americans in that era in Little Italy. It reminded me a little of Saturday Night Fever butWow! This movie was a complete hot mess and very entertaining. The acting was authentic and funny. I think it did a great job capturing Italian Americans in that era in Little Italy. It reminded me a little of Saturday Night Fever but mafia-ish. I would watch it again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
beamyappleSep 10, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this movie is good. martin scorsese is pretty good. There are **** Some guys die. Idk watch?? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
thefruitmanJan 23, 2021
General Review:
Another movie I had never heard of and wasn’t sure what to expect. Have heard of a lot of Martin Scorsese movies but haven’t seen many (if any) before. The acting, cinematography and music were all fine in this movie but for
General Review:
Another movie I had never heard of and wasn’t sure what to expect. Have heard of a lot of Martin Scorsese movies but haven’t seen many (if any) before. The acting, cinematography and music were all fine in this movie but for some reason it barely held my interest. Might be my sleep depraved state I was in when watching it but I just didn’t find myself caring about any of the characters and nothing really seemed to happen. I know there were different mob-type people, a few fights and a restaurant involved but characters just seemed to come and go and nothing really seemed to happen. The Good:
The music – a great mixture of different styles or music which perfectly matched the different scenes and moods of the movie.
The editing and cinematography – the scenes and angles all seemed to add to different scenes, hardly noticed any cuts within scenes which usually suggests they were well done. Small touches like the shaky camera in running scenes also added another dimension of immersion.

The Bad:
The plot and characters – not if this was the movie/plots fault or my own but both the characters and plot didn’t draw me in and I found myself bored at times.
Final Thoughts:
Although there was nothing noticeably bad with the movie it just never really floated my boat and was a bit luck luster for myself. Score:
6 out of 10 pineapples!
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
AndremaxNov 19, 2018
Exquisite and natural actings inside a inconsistent plot. It's far from the best Scorcese moments.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
NickTheCritickNov 4, 2021
This is an enjoyable gangster movie by Scorsese even if I'm not neither a fan of the genre nor of this movie in itself. It didn't take me too much. When we talk about organized criminality movies i still prefer Coen's Miller's Crossing orThis is an enjoyable gangster movie by Scorsese even if I'm not neither a fan of the genre nor of this movie in itself. It didn't take me too much. When we talk about organized criminality movies i still prefer Coen's Miller's Crossing or Bellocchio' "The Traitor". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews