Annapurna Pictures | Release Date: April 12, 2019
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 79 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
23
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
GinaKApr 18, 2019
A good-natured, funny, colorful, and very entertaining film without any real bite. No satire here, so turn your mind off. Enjoy the wonderful graphics and the clever dialogue, but be warned that this is definitely a smart film for intelligentA good-natured, funny, colorful, and very entertaining film without any real bite. No satire here, so turn your mind off. Enjoy the wonderful graphics and the clever dialogue, but be warned that this is definitely a smart film for intelligent kids and not for adults looking for anything remotely Swiftian. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
ThisIsActing100Apr 15, 2019
All Laika films are a pleasant reminder of the value and beauty of hand-made art. Stop motion is an endangered kind of animation, and the fact that there is a studio that continues to work in this style and devotes so much attention to everyAll Laika films are a pleasant reminder of the value and beauty of hand-made art. Stop motion is an endangered kind of animation, and the fact that there is a studio that continues to work in this style and devotes so much attention to every detail in the frame is stunning. The visual component of "Missing Link" is the brightest and most ambitious film of the studio today. Although his story is not as emotionally complex and deep as the story of “Kubo and two strings ” is a charming, kind, fast-paced adventure, where Laika demonstrates both farce and witty dialogues along with beautiful animation. Starting with impeccable decorations and ending with visually breathtaking scenes with elaborate details, the Lost Link looks incredible. In this story, there is even a place for some actual topics about how a person endangers and destroys everything that he discovers and exposes the true nature of a “civilized society”. Sometimes the most important adventure you can take is finding someone who joins you in your future adventures. Find someone and see the next animation victory Laika studio Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
joelboyApr 29, 2019
Fantastic, funny, giant adventure movie with a trip around the world. I would recommend it to any family looking for some quality fun at the theatre.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
RobertFloydMay 27, 2019
Missing link has really cool animation and Zack gives a really good performance but from the other laika animation movies, this is the one that is made the most for children but knowing that, I still liked it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24May 7, 2019
It might be the lightest Laika offering to date -- both in depth and in tone -- but what "Missing Link" lacks in real meaning, it makes up for in sheer entertainment value and enjoyment. Thanks to some clever implementation of oddball humor,It might be the lightest Laika offering to date -- both in depth and in tone -- but what "Missing Link" lacks in real meaning, it makes up for in sheer entertainment value and enjoyment. Thanks to some clever implementation of oddball humor, a handful of thrilling set-pieces, and some winsome voice work from Hugh Jackman and Zach Galifianakis, you're ultimately left with one of the better animated efforts I've seen as of late. Not the best, but most definitely better than the common rabble. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
LELoboMay 16, 2019
Missing link had great vivid animation, cleverly written & entertaining for all ages
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LinkieboySep 3, 2019
A lovely movie created by super talented people. The skills and love that went into this animation is beyond amazing and the characters are well thought-out. Mr. Link is just the cutest character ever and I hope to see more amazing picturesA lovely movie created by super talented people. The skills and love that went into this animation is beyond amazing and the characters are well thought-out. Mr. Link is just the cutest character ever and I hope to see more amazing pictures like this from Studio Laika! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
HealingToolboxJun 5, 2019
Wow, madly wonderful, worldclass, exceptional and creative art direction. An astounding from the Kubo movie, which has a much stronger script. This one may have unintentionally been made by and for animators more than for a general audience.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Nov 14, 2019
A meet and greet with one of the most fantastic legendary beings of the world, and the stop-motion genre. One of the plot's strengths are the characters with own soul and charming, and the fresh, natural humor. Just stay in your seat forA meet and greet with one of the most fantastic legendary beings of the world, and the stop-motion genre. One of the plot's strengths are the characters with own soul and charming, and the fresh, natural humor. Just stay in your seat for enjoy and watch the surprises that come with the exit credits. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ajzeg01Sep 15, 2019
So, I’m a pretty big fan of the animation studio Laika. They have crafted some of the most beautifully animated stop-motion films of all time and I really admire them. They are one of the few studios in Hollywood that only makes films for theSo, I’m a pretty big fan of the animation studio Laika. They have crafted some of the most beautifully animated stop-motion films of all time and I really admire them. They are one of the few studios in Hollywood that only makes films for the art, not the money (as the box office clearly shows). So, what did I think of their latest film, Missing Link? It was alright. This is less Coraline, ParaNorman and Kubo, more Boxtrolls. The story and characters are very simple, but the animation is still spectacular and it makes the movie. It’s so detailed, colourful, and there are full hand-to-hand fight scenes in this movie that are really well-choreographed and I can’t imagine how hard they were to animate. It’s well-written as well, the dialogue was very good and fit the voice actors perfectly. Now, chances are you haven’t seen this movie, or you may have never even heard of it, so let me just give a short plot synopsis. It’s about a cryptozoologist in the 1800s who goes looking for Sasquatch in the wilds of America so he can join an elite club of explorers. This movie doesn’t avoid the theme of colonialism that is so often left out of adventure stories like this and I really commend the movie for that. There’s also a gender nonconforming character and the romantic subplot does not go the typical route. It’s actually one of the more progressive animated films out there. Overall, this movie has a lot of interesting ideas but they aren’t really fleshed out very well, making this one of Laika’s weakest movies. However, the movie is still pretty good! I’d watch this over Wonder Park or Uglydolls any day! I’d say it’s worth checking out at least once. Not enough people have seen it and I just don’t think that’s fair. It’s a very enjoyable little film, so give it a watch! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
afm185Jun 21, 2020
Really really good. Nearly great. I barely had any issues with it, and I literally enjoyed every single moment of it. I feel as if there isn’t actually anything wrong with it, rather, it just isn’t amazing. I don’t even know how to explainReally really good. Nearly great. I barely had any issues with it, and I literally enjoyed every single moment of it. I feel as if there isn’t actually anything wrong with it, rather, it just isn’t amazing. I don’t even know how to explain it, it’s just not quite there. That being said, I thought the animation was beyond impressive, the characters were great, the story, though predictable and not altogether creative, was well done for sure, it made me laugh quite a few times, the voice acting is fantastic (and right after I found out who the voice actors were and it made me like the movie even more), the villain(s) are, though a bit shallow, really good in my opinion, I don’t think there’s a single line of bad dialogue, and it’s really just a thoroughly enjoyable time overall. Plus, the Missing Link is freaking adorable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews