New Line Cinema | Release Date: June 26, 2009
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 102 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
58
Mixed:
26
Negative:
18
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
KayakMar 4, 2014
An example of a film where too many emotional devices become unbearable. Too forced, too cheesy and too sad. Good for people who like this sort of film, but really not my cup of tea.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
Is it possible to make a drama too sad and depressing to watch? Quite possibly. My Sister's Keeper might just fit that criteria. Abigail Breslin shows her potential but never quite nails this role.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MattAJul 6, 2009
I blame the shortcomings of this film on both the writer of the script and the director. The director often rushed the emotion on particular scenes by slapping a montage together and then adding loud sappy music. Cameron Diaz's role as I blame the shortcomings of this film on both the writer of the script and the director. The director often rushed the emotion on particular scenes by slapping a montage together and then adding loud sappy music. Cameron Diaz's role as Sara was often weak, and unbelievable...with a few instances of a legitimate emotional connection. This movie could have been on any hallmark or lifetime channel that makes weepies. If you let yourself get sucked into it... you'll probably shed a few tears. If you expect to be moved emotionally and spiritually... you better be easily convinced. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FeliciaGJul 1, 2009
I LOVED the book and have ready many of her books and the best part is always the ending that you did not expect, the BIG TWIST!! I was very disappointed in the ending, it just ruined the whole movie for me-The ending is what MAKES the book!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
tracytAug 8, 2009
If you have not read the book then a good film, if you have read the book the the film will disappoint, the book gives more detail and goes a lot deeper and the ending it totally different, watch the film then read the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SuzanneEJun 28, 2009
What made Picout's book so compelling was the twist ending. By selling out to a predictable, soppy ending, the movie loses much of the book's impact. Sub-plots and characters (brother Jesse's pyromania and the romantic story What made Picout's book so compelling was the twist ending. By selling out to a predictable, soppy ending, the movie loses much of the book's impact. Sub-plots and characters (brother Jesse's pyromania and the romantic story behind Alexander and his high school sweetheart) that were deleted from the movie gave the book it's dimension. Editing fewer soppy scenes (including the trip to the beach) would have created time to explore these interesting subplots. Overall, a huge disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaniJul 17, 2009
While the movie was still sad and heartfelt, it was not anywhere near as powerful as the book. The plot twist in the book that was changed IS what made the book. The movie now is just sad but very predictable. I could not wait to see this While the movie was still sad and heartfelt, it was not anywhere near as powerful as the book. The plot twist in the book that was changed IS what made the book. The movie now is just sad but very predictable. I could not wait to see this and I left the movies very disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful