Focus Features | Release Date: March 13, 2020
0.8
USER SCORE
Overwhelming dislike based on 1991 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
171
Mixed:
23
Negative:
1,797
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
TheFrogMay 22, 2020
Men bad, women good. No responsibility for women: it's always their choice, unlike for men, who have no means of escaping a life of indentured servitude after an unintended pregnancy that follows consensual sex.
Of course women are always
Men bad, women good. No responsibility for women: it's always their choice, unlike for men, who have no means of escaping a life of indentured servitude after an unintended pregnancy that follows consensual sex.
Of course women are always represented in the most sympathetic way possible, while men are evil, harassing, controlling. I can see why women love this movie, cannot see a single reason why a man would.
Expand
83 of 109 users found this helpful8326
All this user's reviews
1
viroodiemApr 6, 2020
Poorly acted, Ridiculous story, hateful and misandrist. Basically on par with 99% of Christian movie quality but on the polar opposite political spectrum. Not as gruesome as Unplanned but every bit as bad.
44 of 81 users found this helpful4437
All this user's reviews
1
elliemaeApr 11, 2020
Acting & production value good but the fantasy presented I support of killing embryos & fetuses is just that-bizarre pathetic unsympathetic fantasy. The childish desperation to undo the past should not be indulged.
43 of 82 users found this helpful4339
All this user's reviews
10
nmuldoonApr 3, 2020
Just some immediate reactions since it’s nearly 3AM, but this is an incredibly powerful and effective film. It’s made up of small moments that’s cumulative power is something pretty remarkable to behold. Eliza Hittman’s work reminds me in aJust some immediate reactions since it’s nearly 3AM, but this is an incredibly powerful and effective film. It’s made up of small moments that’s cumulative power is something pretty remarkable to behold. Eliza Hittman’s work reminds me in a lot of ways of Andrea Arnold’s films in the way it creates incredible intimate humanist portraits of fairly insular characters. She also shares a lot in common with her fellow New York compatriots the Safdies Brothers in the way she captures unglamorous but a hyper-specific vision of New York unlike that we normally see in cinema. This attention to details has always been a hallmark of her works but there’s something specifically in this film that makes the world feel so real - little touches like hot sauce packets in a family junk drawer, the feel and atmosphere of being adrift in a city with nowhere to stay, the way a manager tends to speak at a dead-end retail job. Everything in the world of her film feels so lived in. The film tackles the topic of abortion and does so in the least melodramatic way possible, the film rather than announcing it’s thesis just simply takes you through the process and the maddening levels of bureaucracy put in place to keep women from being able to simply make a choice about their bodies. In the midst of all this though it also has a very human story and real friendship and that’s anchored by two incredible performances. Talia Ryder already feels like a star in this film and has such a softness and warmth that you can already see why Spielberg would be casting her in his work. The standout though obviously is Sidney Flanigan. The entire film rests on her shoulders and there’s very few frames she’s not at the direct center of. The character of Autumn requires such control and nuance given how quiet she is. Flanigan keeps this from ever feeling like a passive character though, so much is communicated in just the way she physically responds and so much of her strength comes in the way in which we see her just barely holding on but managing to. It’s an incredibly challenging role to take on and Sidney Flanigan not only rises to the challenge but provides Autumn such a distinct identity. I also don’t wanna go all Sean Baker here, but I love that Eliza Hittman always shoots on film and the cinematography here is absolutely gorgeous.

An early contender for Best Film of 2020
Expand
17 of 199 users found this helpful17182
All this user's reviews
10
tkc88Nov 2, 2020
10/10, if only to attempt to balance out all of the disproportionate negative reviews, many of which I doubt were actually based on viewing the film.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
RewriteOct 1, 2020
This is a well-written, well-acted movie that seems realistic. An empathetic look into a life very different than mine...that's art.
Apparently a lot of people on both sides of the issue found this movie pro-abortion. That wasn't my take-away
This is a well-written, well-acted movie that seems realistic. An empathetic look into a life very different than mine...that's art.
Apparently a lot of people on both sides of the issue found this movie pro-abortion. That wasn't my take-away at all. While I'm fairly certain the director is pro-abortion, the film didn't come across as a political statement. It was respectful.
I personally feel we're never going to get anywhere on this issue when people use terms like 'baby-killers', 'reproductive rights', etc. There are no simple answers, but hopefully this movie was a step in the right direction.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
HerickDienerDec 17, 2020
Cru e desconfortável. Um tema tão necessário visto da forma mais realista possível. É incrível como um filme tão simples tecnicamente pode causar tantas coisas em quem assiste.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
deltanzJan 1, 2021
It is so sad to see that Metacritic doesn't do anything against sexist fake commenters that just logged on here to give this amazing film a bad grade.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
mohammadhoseinjJan 14, 2021
Profound, Meaningful, Fantastic, and Important! A Tale of beautiful and believable friendship that shows its strength through the most challenging times. Never Rarely Sometimes Always shows the light at the end of the tunnel by letting usProfound, Meaningful, Fantastic, and Important! A Tale of beautiful and believable friendship that shows its strength through the most challenging times. Never Rarely Sometimes Always shows the light at the end of the tunnel by letting us pass the darkest tunnel. Is it perfect? No. Is it essential? Damn straight. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
knasilSep 3, 2021
All the people who gave this movie low scores should at least admit that they haven't watched it!

It is one of the best films of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LehMaximusDec 19, 2020
Seeing this user rating trend is exactly the reason why I gave up on the reliability of this site. This was one of the few great films to come out this year. By no means perfect, but a fantastically grounded and no-bull depiction andSeeing this user rating trend is exactly the reason why I gave up on the reliability of this site. This was one of the few great films to come out this year. By no means perfect, but a fantastically grounded and no-bull depiction and representation of the trauma and control women must face in certain US states. I found it eye-opening for sure, and the lead performance was deeply impactful and devastating at times. I don't understand the cancel mentality people have on this site. There's a 0-10 scale for a reason. I would also hazard a guess that at the very least 60% of the negative reviews are from users who never watched the film. This site is one of the most cancerous on the web. Thank you and see you all again never. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
Amin_JamJul 25, 2020
I really enjoyed how a simple story was narrated so calmly and soothingly painful in this film. the rightfully intentional lack of an original score (or at least a remarkable or outstanding one) helps perfectly to navigate the audience withI really enjoyed how a simple story was narrated so calmly and soothingly painful in this film. the rightfully intentional lack of an original score (or at least a remarkable or outstanding one) helps perfectly to navigate the audience with the natural flow of the story. A girl desperately in need of an immediate abortion and an utterly supportive older cousin embark on a journey to the big apple in a world of extreme patriarchy and mischief masculinity. LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT. WATCH IT ASAP. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
7
henryzandtJul 24, 2020
There's obviously a lobby going on not to like this movie. But it's a good movie. Told modestly, acted naturally. About the luck that sometimes people can be helped when they're faced with a difficult choice.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
thethiagoguzzoJul 7, 2020
Masterpiece.
Powerful performances, refined script and great direction. Eliza Hittman's best work to date.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
DukeCumberjackNov 18, 2020
Well made film. Powerful. Metacritic, please, for the love god--if a movie touches even remotely politicized subjects, limit user reviews to written comments. This is ridiculous.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
ibbsteDec 5, 2020
The best American movie of the year by far, regardless of politics. The bias in the downvoting in the user section in here is disgraceful and anti-art.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
drderuAug 3, 2020
Women’s plight for choice and freedom with their bodies have always been a sensitive discussion. It is inevitably political, an accurate reflection of the society, the moral and ethical values that surround it that it’s relatively difficultWomen’s plight for choice and freedom with their bodies have always been a sensitive discussion. It is inevitably political, an accurate reflection of the society, the moral and ethical values that surround it that it’s relatively difficult to tackle especially if it involves young women and their power against the opinions and stigma that coincide it.

Never Rarely Sometimes Always is a sad depiction of this reality. There’s not a light scene nor a hint of optimism and hopefulness in this excellent drama. Not overseeing the controversy of the subject matter, Never subtly shows the inner turmoil of Autumn, how she reacts toward everything that’s happening around her. How she could appear callous with the propensity to self detach, and only knows despondence as her cousin Skylar and their companionship act as the beating heart of this forlorn film. A particular scene where she’s being questioned by an adviser before undergoing the procedure just took the film to its sad, emotional heights.

Though there are striking similarities in theme between Never and the Romanian art film 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days; Never Rarely Sometimes Always feels as present as today which further proves that women in this modern era are still as oppressed when it comes to their autonomy. With great directorial and writing, and really impressive performance from its characters, Never Rarely Sometimes Always is probably the first great drama of 2020.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ranjan04rajeevAug 5, 2020
I don't know why people are giving such negative reviews to this movie. The movie is truly unique in itself and a must watch. It is a feminist movie with very interesting characters and a very good plot line. It is not a cliche HollywoodI don't know why people are giving such negative reviews to this movie. The movie is truly unique in itself and a must watch. It is a feminist movie with very interesting characters and a very good plot line. It is not a cliche Hollywood movie but it deeply humane one. I do not usually watch such movies but because of this much negative rating; I knew that this movie was good and was offending some people. Maybe against abortion people. I don't have anything against these people, but the movie explores the very human perspective and everyone should watch it at least once.
Considering the craft of the movie it is very well directed and well acted you will never feel bored.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
fede01_8Jun 2, 2021
Almost 2k negative reviews for an indie film that wasn't even a major awards contender. No doubt there's a pro-life group behind this review bombing (funny how the actual negative reviews only amount to less than 10, they can't even elaborateAlmost 2k negative reviews for an indie film that wasn't even a major awards contender. No doubt there's a pro-life group behind this review bombing (funny how the actual negative reviews only amount to less than 10, they can't even elaborate why this is a bad film in their view) Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ConairSep 30, 2020
Absolutely heart wrenching. Without much dialogue, this film still has an incredible impact. The performances are all top tier, and the direction is focused and heartfelt.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Orlan7HarrisAug 22, 2020
A Fantastic Film that is very intelligent in the ways how the story progresses and becomes something unique. The First didn't really do it for me but the re watch made me appreciate the film much more.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
SuzydranoNov 4, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anyone who gives this movie less than a 7 is a pro-lifer who doesn’t want a movie about a girl getting an abortion to get the praise and recognition that it deserves. Surprise, surprise. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
AnilTOFeb 8, 2021
As a male person, I think the movie can make you feel the empathy that most of people can never relate with. I wouldn't consider as feminist or misandrist movie. Yea the movie didn't show any good/nice men but it doesn't mean all men areAs a male person, I think the movie can make you feel the empathy that most of people can never relate with. I wouldn't consider as feminist or misandrist movie. Yea the movie didn't show any good/nice men but it doesn't mean all men are bad/evil. Just try to understand the process of person's struggle. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
kevynknoxDec 10, 2020
A gorgeous yet quite harrowing film. Taking a cue from the Brothers Dardenne, this look at a young woman's journey is a brilliant take on the everyday horrors of being a woman in such a male dominated world.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
daniel6996Jul 7, 2020
lmao, this is why i hate ratings. y'all are tasteless as **** this is such a mature movie and an important one. also is a debut film, and such a solid one.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
mifepristoneJul 4, 2020
best 2020 movie so far. Detractor are just extremist. this is an incredibly powerful and effective film
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ssd1Aug 11, 2020
Excellent acting, realism, character development. An important theme, well handled. If your reason for low scoring this movie is that you claim to be "pro-life", and you don't support assistance for women and children, you're nothing moreExcellent acting, realism, character development. An important theme, well handled. If your reason for low scoring this movie is that you claim to be "pro-life", and you don't support assistance for women and children, you're nothing more than anti-choice,and your opinion shouldn't count. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
DSENJan 5, 2021
How this movie has a 0.7 rating from users is really disheartening. Got to catch a screening at Sundance last year and it was easily one of the most powerful films of the fest. I don’t if it’s a film I could ever watch again but it’sHow this movie has a 0.7 rating from users is really disheartening. Got to catch a screening at Sundance last year and it was easily one of the most powerful films of the fest. I don’t if it’s a film I could ever watch again but it’s something everyone should experience. Eliza Hittman is really a director to watch for she’s been on my radar since she dropped beach rats a few years back. Please don’t let the horrendous user score sway you away. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
PaoloKagaoanJul 7, 2020
Already reviewed it soemwhere else. Had I known that the antichoicers were gonna brigade this film I would have rated it higher.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Moore20Sep 14, 2020
We got different intents coming here to search for an app to track our partner or friends so it’s advisable to know the truth and not fall prey to the evil ones. I have been in a long distance marriage because of the nature of my job, myWe got different intents coming here to search for an app to track our partner or friends so it’s advisable to know the truth and not fall prey to the evil ones. I have been in a long distance marriage because of the nature of my job, my husband cheated on me times without number but since I wasn’t around to get him caught red handed in the act I decided to hack his cell phone to get all the data activities on his device. I got in contact with knoxtech00 (@) gmailcom through the head of the IT department in my workplace. According to him, after a long search on here he got to discover this genius and swift IT personnel, this guy is the best in the game right now. He shared me his contact info, After I got in contact with him, we made a deal and i paid him. I doubted the services at first but what I felt impossible became possible within 6hours,I got access to my husband’s phone activities,I don’t know how he did it but it looked like magic cause it was as if I had his phone in my palm. I got access to his Snapchat messages and videos, WhatsApp,instagram,Facebook,call logs ,video chat , text messages etc all in one swipe. I’m happy I got to discover the truth, knowing is better than self doubt. He is definitely the real deal, do not hesitate to reach out to him at knoxtech00 (@)gmailcom for a perfect, quality and satisfactory spying and investigatory services. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
Camwhit0196Feb 27, 2021
I actually bumped up the rating due to the amount of negative reviews due to politics. But despite that this film is just bad the actors seem like they are acting in a middle school play they dont want to be in and the story is just generallyI actually bumped up the rating due to the amount of negative reviews due to politics. But despite that this film is just bad the actors seem like they are acting in a middle school play they dont want to be in and the story is just generally dull. The only reason i can see this being so critically praised is due to the topic matter is depicts but overall this is just a bad movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
moviemitch96Apr 12, 2020
A "meh" movie with a very "meh" attitude, much like its two young protagonists, who look thoroughly bored and unimpressed throughout the entire film's runtime. No exaggeration, almost the entire thing consists of Sidney Flanigan and TaliaA "meh" movie with a very "meh" attitude, much like its two young protagonists, who look thoroughly bored and unimpressed throughout the entire film's runtime. No exaggeration, almost the entire thing consists of Sidney Flanigan and Talia Ryder's bored and nonchalant facial expressions, which in turn made it pretty difficult for me to invest in them and their characters. Furthermore, the film itself simply feels as though it approaches its intended message (abortion) with a shrug, not really adding or contributing anything new, worthwhile, or compelling. Overall, there's nothing really too remarkable here. A seemingly "meh" and half-baked approach deserves a "meh" and half-baked score from me. Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
10
leavell13Jul 13, 2020
Confident and understated feature with a strong voice and a heartbreaking lead performance. The anti-choice trolls can whine and vote against this movie all they want. If it pisses them off it only emboldens Eliza Hittman's powerful statement.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
enerkonOct 8, 2020
Pro-lifers tanking the user score. This movie is slow, serious and vital. The powerful scene where the title comes from -- I won't get it out of my mind. Sidney Flanigan is great.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
JcarolliJul 30, 2020
The quiet expression of feelings by the actors was fantastic. Sorry the user score is skewed by the pro lifers.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
sirrongJun 15, 2020
In the current atmosphere of social unrest exposing systemic racism and a global pandemic, what a powerful reminder that social justice is long overdue for women as well. The emotional climax also reveals the movie's title in such a perfectIn the current atmosphere of social unrest exposing systemic racism and a global pandemic, what a powerful reminder that social justice is long overdue for women as well. The emotional climax also reveals the movie's title in such a perfect cinematic moment. Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
0
thwewjejJul 4, 2020
feminist propaganda about how you can be a strong independent woman but not really because you will always be oppressed by the white cis male patriarchy.
8 of 33 users found this helpful825
All this user's reviews
8
katezoeJun 14, 2020
Matter of fact movie on sensitive topic. An indictment on the lack of health care and choice in America.
5 of 21 users found this helpful516
All this user's reviews
8
j1trainMay 6, 2020
Pro-lifers tanking the user score. This movie is slow, serious and vital. The powerful scene where the title comes from -- I won't get it out of my mind. Sidney Flanigan is great.
10 of 53 users found this helpful1043
All this user's reviews
0
Felix99Mar 16, 2021
The movie is embarassing. Ridiculous acting, boring, slow pacing and full of cliches. The "critics" must have been paid to rate this thing 91...
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
7
satriaamuApr 9, 2020
the issues raised are very relevant but the story line is very slow as well the acting is bad.
6 of 48 users found this helpful642
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Apr 8, 2020
In essence, the story of Never Rarely Sometimes Always has nothing complicated to explain. It's a story about teen pregnancy and abortion but if you might tell it to someone else that way you would be selling it too cheaply.

Autumn (Sidney
In essence, the story of Never Rarely Sometimes Always has nothing complicated to explain. It's a story about teen pregnancy and abortion but if you might tell it to someone else that way you would be selling it too cheaply.

Autumn (Sidney Flanigan) the protagonist is in need of an abortion but the laws of her state require parental permission to execute it.
Unable to work out the situation by herself, she and her cousin - who discovers her secret - decide to embark to New York to carry out the procedure.

The outstanding resources of this film lies in the solid performance of its lead actress and the great work the director does by not allowing a story that could be easily lent to melodrama, to fall into it.

The story never tries to make Autumn's experience something more than what it is and that's essential because that keeps the story rooted where it needs to be.
And although the experience can be replicated and as a viewer and person you fully understand that this occurr to countless many young women; Never Rarely Sometimes Always is Autumn's experience and both the director and the main character give a strong voice to the subject and deliver a raw but revealing film.

The negative element? The victimization of its protagonist.
As I said, melodrama is avoided but despite the pro-abortion message, the director can't help but portray Autumn as an innocent and tormented young woman unable to fully weigh her situation or to think it more through.

I cannot deny the experience is traumatic for young women, but I suppose the film should also try to give the message that it's not the end of the world, even understanding the situations that overwhelm the character, such as the sequence that it provides the title to the film.
That's the reason why I didn't give it an 8.
Expand
6 of 85 users found this helpful679
All this user's reviews
9
SophiaZApr 24, 2020
Incredibly raw and refreshingly realistic. I appreciate that this film dares to touch aspects of reality that society consciously and conveniently looks past. This movie not only gives a voice to many without one, but also serves as aIncredibly raw and refreshingly realistic. I appreciate that this film dares to touch aspects of reality that society consciously and conveniently looks past. This movie not only gives a voice to many without one, but also serves as a necessary reminder that those suffering in these ways are far from alone. Expand
9 of 138 users found this helpful9129
All this user's reviews
10
thiagodpascoaApr 20, 2020
Sidney Flanigan conveys so much anguish of the character in her look, the purposeful voids in the dialogues based on camouflaging the feelings, and then when they are revealed is devastating, the scene at the clinic ended me up on.
10 of 156 users found this helpful10146
All this user's reviews
4
Brent_MarchantJan 30, 2021
Is it a story? Or a statement? This indie offering about a pregnant Pennsylvania teen who travels to New York City to obtain an abortion seeks to combine story threads about this controversial subject with an adolescent finding herself overIs it a story? Or a statement? This indie offering about a pregnant Pennsylvania teen who travels to New York City to obtain an abortion seeks to combine story threads about this controversial subject with an adolescent finding herself over her head on the streets of the big city. Unfortunately, the two don't mesh well, creating a film that struggles desperately to find its feet. To its credit, director Eliza Hittman's latest effectively presents a balanced view of this hot button topic and sensitively portrays the fear that an adolescent in this position might experience, thanks in large part to the outstanding lead performance of newcomer Sidney Flanigan. However, the film's unfocused intent, sometimes-sluggish pacing, obvious thematic allusions and uneven (sometimes contradictory) character development get in the way, leaving viewers wondering exactly what the director was going for here. Despite the many inflated accolades this one has received, considerable fine tuning is definitely in order here. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
PerfectPortalJul 1, 2022
An understated but highly effective drama in which, even if you don’t condone Autumn’s decision, you still feel her mounting concern as the complications lead to more delays, and therefore more expenses. The scene from which the title derivesAn understated but highly effective drama in which, even if you don’t condone Autumn’s decision, you still feel her mounting concern as the complications lead to more delays, and therefore more expenses. The scene from which the title derives is incredible, because Autumn’s reactions to the questions say it all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JamesDefoeJan 12, 2021
It is a competent photograph on what it is like to be on an abortion process as a teenager, but those who are not foreign to the topic might find not much to take away from it. It took me a while to understand that the protagonist being hardIt is a competent photograph on what it is like to be on an abortion process as a teenager, but those who are not foreign to the topic might find not much to take away from it. It took me a while to understand that the protagonist being hard to empatize with was a conscient choice and the message it delivers is quite a cherry on top that brings it to another level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alinareviewsDec 22, 2020
Painfully truthful, touching and deep. Not everyone would understand the experience of these young girls.People might say "oh why she didnt do this or that" - did anyone teach them? Was anyone close enough to support? They were doing best ofPainfully truthful, touching and deep. Not everyone would understand the experience of these young girls.People might say "oh why she didnt do this or that" - did anyone teach them? Was anyone close enough to support? They were doing best of what they could understand and know. If you know more - congrats, bravo, take a medal, we all know you always know what to do in any situation. Just kindly take your zero back and leave the page. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
r0sieDec 30, 2020
A tragic and tender portrait of the plight of the young, American woman. At its core it is a beautiful and powerful telling of sisterhood and stolen girlhood under the leering male gaze. It will make you feel sympathy, discomfort, andA tragic and tender portrait of the plight of the young, American woman. At its core it is a beautiful and powerful telling of sisterhood and stolen girlhood under the leering male gaze. It will make you feel sympathy, discomfort, and (hopefully) outrage. This is a fragile moment captured in raw Americana imagery from sleepy, rural landscapes to the gritty, florescent city. It is grounded in the deep and tired eyes of the powerhouse leads. Strength, loyalty, and bravery supersede the dark forces and realities facing the teens and so many women. A must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NoraKratzerMay 10, 2021
This was a touching film with a message. No wonder it won Sundance. Thought it was really nicely made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
enjoyeroffilmJul 31, 2021
Great movie esp. given the budget. Two female stars superb. If you look at the script, you can see the nasty political messages (men are evil, abortion providers are the only ones who care about young women) largely removed from the finalGreat movie esp. given the budget. Two female stars superb. If you look at the script, you can see the nasty political messages (men are evil, abortion providers are the only ones who care about young women) largely removed from the final film. Alas, they remain in the supposedly 'best' sequence (the questionnaire) where, if the film were true to Autumn's character, the girl would see in these intrusive, nosy questions (about a "partner" she doesn't even have) the same adult intimidation she's already learned to live with but hates. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
XerbySep 3, 2021
Несмотря на то что фильм крайне давит феминистической повесткой (все положительные персонажи - женщины, все отрицательные персонажи - мужчины) и порой желание сценаристки показать мужчин сволочами выходит совсем комичным (отчим главнойНесмотря на то что фильм крайне давит феминистической повесткой (все положительные персонажи - женщины, все отрицательные персонажи - мужчины) и порой желание сценаристки показать мужчин сволочами выходит совсем комичным (отчим главной героини называет свою собаку "маленькой шлюшкой", потому что "ей это нравится") он весьма неплох. Может из-за потрясающей актёрской игры главных актрис, может из-за напирающей на реализм съёмки, но все два часа мне было крайне интересно чем всё закончится, хотя в фильме, по большому счёту не происходило ничего. Момент же, когда во второй половине фильма героиня проходит психологический тест (на который надо ответить одним из вариантов "никогда / редко / иногда / всегда") и из её эмоций при ответах мы понимаем что же именно произошло, просто гениальный. В общем, если не сильно пугает что фильм акцентирует внимание на том "как же парням везёт, у них даже месячных нет", то посмотреть стоит. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChanekeCholoDec 13, 2021
This is the movie that we need right now, the most sadly and painfully real movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ceyhunturksoyMar 31, 2022
I think this movie is very good. Contrary to what you might think, there is no general insult to all men in this movie. Okay, there are situations that the men in the movie do to women, such as harassment, forcing sexual intercourse, but hereI think this movie is very good. Contrary to what you might think, there is no general insult to all men in this movie. Okay, there are situations that the men in the movie do to women, such as harassment, forcing sexual intercourse, but here we are witnessing more of a woman's troubles. There are tons of movies about men going to war and suffering there. Why not movies like this that talk about the hardships of women? I don't understand why you took your red pills and ran to this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews