American Broadcasting Company (ABC) | Release Date: July 7, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 896 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
619
Mixed:
160
Negative:
117
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RickDangerousJul 15, 2006
10 out of 10. This movie beyond delivered. This is the best movie of the summer, if not year. Keira Knightley, Johnny, and Orlando all gave timeless performances in the tradition of Indiana Jones and LOTR. The critics really missed the point 10 out of 10. This movie beyond delivered. This is the best movie of the summer, if not year. Keira Knightley, Johnny, and Orlando all gave timeless performances in the tradition of Indiana Jones and LOTR. The critics really missed the point on this one. Don't listen to em', don't be a critic, and just watch and enjoy the best damn movie out! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JonnyBoyJul 10, 2006
Awesome movie. Not as good as the first.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelP.Jul 6, 2006
I LOVED THIS MOVIE! Better than the first in most way, I cannot wait for the final installment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickJul 7, 2006
Just came back from seeing it, and I enjoyed this a lot more than the first one. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryceE.Jul 8, 2006
Davy Jones is awesome! Jack Sparrow seemed more goofy than cool, and the movie takes its time to get going, but the scenes featuring Davy Jones are just rad. Best "summer" movie by far. people taking this movie too seriously just need to chill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkA.Jul 9, 2006
This movie was so GOOD! Ive seen it twice and cant wait for a third! Like others have said, I dont know what movie the critics saw because it wasnt this one...it might be too long for some people but I didnt feel it, its the most fun This movie was so GOOD! Ive seen it twice and cant wait for a third! Like others have said, I dont know what movie the critics saw because it wasnt this one...it might be too long for some people but I didnt feel it, its the most fun you'll have at the theater this summer...and the last minute will blow you away! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronJul 9, 2006
In a single word: Fantastic.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JoanJul 10, 2006
How much more bang for your buck could you ask for? In 2+ hours you get some action, some comedy, lots of adventure, and 3 very beautiful people playing pirates. It's not Shakespeare, but it's not Battlefield Earth either.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HadenJul 10, 2006
I thought it hit the spot not like that boring Superman Returns with its wooden indian acting and no plot. Pirates is great all around fun and the action is non stop. Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow steals the screen each and every time I thought it hit the spot not like that boring Superman Returns with its wooden indian acting and no plot. Pirates is great all around fun and the action is non stop. Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow steals the screen each and every time he appears. The rest of the cast is essentially worthless. I wish it had gone on and on as the audience I watched it with loved it. Great popcorn fun. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrifterW.Jul 18, 2006
Truly a high seas adventure with plenty of great twists and turns in the plot, great comedic devices and a great set of actors I truly enjoyed Dead Man's Chest and I am surprised that many critics did not. Johnny Depp has created his on Truly a high seas adventure with plenty of great twists and turns in the plot, great comedic devices and a great set of actors I truly enjoyed Dead Man's Chest and I am surprised that many critics did not. Johnny Depp has created his on persona as Jack Sparrow whose crude, slurred remarks and facial expressions alone try to stand to make him the center point of the movie which is how this edition should be. But as comedic as he is, Orlando Bloom and Kiera Knightly actually compete in his misadventurous comedy in this one as opposed to the first one. Decorated with the numerous side actors of the film I enjoyed watching it, and during most of the scenes I was laughing so hard I was almost on the floor. The comedy may seem to be 'Over the top' to most, but in my opinion I think that's how they designed Jack Sparrow to be. The villians are excellently designed, especially Davey Jones whose octopus face is excellent and creepy at the same time. I saw from other reviews I wasn't the only one to note that his eyes stood out from the character in fact making a character of themselves! The plot seems to be a bit rushed when introducing Elizabeth and Will in the beginning, but if they spent twenty minutes explaining what was happening before the rain started to fall it would have probably tipped the tide of the movie opinions. Truly their sense of timing was excellent and by the ratings of 250M$ in a full week it must be saying they've done something right! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClydeM>Jul 21, 2006
It was awesome. Although it didnt have the spark the first one did it hall allot of other things to make up for it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathyP.Jul 21, 2006
Perfect summer escapism. Depp is right on target!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TannerR.Jul 6, 2006
Bloody brilliant. I am going to see it for a third time tonight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeM.Jul 7, 2006
Reading the reviews of POTC:DMC left me weary as I left for the theater. Aside from Apocalypto and The Fountain, this was the first film of the year I had been looking forward too. I am happy to say it does not disappoint. POTC:DMC is full Reading the reviews of POTC:DMC left me weary as I left for the theater. Aside from Apocalypto and The Fountain, this was the first film of the year I had been looking forward too. I am happy to say it does not disappoint. POTC:DMC is full of the humor that made the first film so appealing, doubles the action, and delivers better performances all around. One of the main complaints is concerned with the films running time. Yes, Pirates runs two and a half hours, but after watching it, I was hungry for more. This is one of those films that should not be judged on it's intellect, but on it's ability to deliver entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyJul 7, 2006
If I could give this movie any rating (not just 1-10) it would still be off the charts. I went to the midnight premiere and it was a blast. You don't get that kind of energy in a room unless it's at a midnight show. It was a crazy If I could give this movie any rating (not just 1-10) it would still be off the charts. I went to the midnight premiere and it was a blast. You don't get that kind of energy in a room unless it's at a midnight show. It was a crazy theater full of people who are just in love with Pirates: amazing. People wildly cheered the new grand entrance of Captain Jack Sparrow, weren't afraid to let loose laughing, and just totally enjoyed the ride from stop to finish. I'll admit the beginning was a bit disorientating, and I found myself longing for a clear day on the horizon instead of being below decks for the entire film. It was only in the first 20 minutes when I actually doubted the plotline of the film. Imagine that: doubting two of the greatest writers in Hollywood, not to mention some of the best actors. Now there's a laugh. But as soon as Depp appeared, everyone was in high spirits. The stunts and swordfights were all amazing, as they should be. This sequel includes a host of new characters, most notably a wacky fortune-teller, a colonial lord intent on "justice", and old Bootstrap Turner. We find one character from the previous film in Tortuga, definitely worse for wear, and his character's personality has undergone a complete development stage. It makes for one very interesting clash onscreen, let me tell you. And the Kraken.... oh man, if there's ever been a granddaddy of sea monsters, this is it. That monstrosity rips ships apart in nigh ten seconds. We can truly see why they say Davy Jones rules the seas with a beast like that at his command. Jack Sparrow actually stays a good man to the end (with some assistance from Elizabeth of course), and the twist at the end is enough to rock you until Memorial Day weekend 2007. With all these twists and turns, that means you have to keep up with the story as you're going through all of the different plots. It's one helluva ride though, and better than the first. Cheers. And remember: Hide the rum!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlackA.Jul 8, 2006
I saw POTC:DMC this evening and I loved the film. I left the theatre wanting more and ready for the next installment. . .immediately. It's funny, I didn't go into the theatre with high expectations, somewhat mindful of the the I saw POTC:DMC this evening and I loved the film. I left the theatre wanting more and ready for the next installment. . .immediately. It's funny, I didn't go into the theatre with high expectations, somewhat mindful of the the lackluster movie reviews in the press. Having said that, I have no idea what crawled up the collective a**es of the majority of the movie critics and got caught in their sphincters. I guess some of them have no sense of fun or something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.LohmannJul 8, 2006
Great Movir. Depp is fantastic and funny. Finally, a great summer movie!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettC.Jul 8, 2006
I don't get all the critics on this one... since when is it not enough to be a fun summer movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BritneyB.Jul 9, 2006
IMO, this movie actually deserves a 9, but I think a lot of people were too hard on it. I found Dead Man's Chest to be everything I hoped it would be. There are plenty of laughs, and amazing quotes. Like Pirates 1, having Johnny Depp IMO, this movie actually deserves a 9, but I think a lot of people were too hard on it. I found Dead Man's Chest to be everything I hoped it would be. There are plenty of laughs, and amazing quotes. Like Pirates 1, having Johnny Depp could most likely make or break the movie (at least at the box office). However, I found Orlando's acting to be a big improvement over his decent, but not outstanding, performance in the first film, especially in the scenes with 'Bootstrap' Bill. The plot and character development was impressive, and the feeling of randomness that you get from skipping around from character to character adds to the film, as long as you're paying attention and can keep up. I have seen the movie twice already (once at midnight on the 7th) and can't wait to see it a few more times in theatres! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesG.Jul 9, 2006
It does what it is supposed to do and is honorable in its pursuit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJul 9, 2006
Pure Popcorn. Loved it. Just go and enjoy. Johnny Depp is magic as Captain Jack Sparrow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiamondSeaSep 11, 2006
this movie was great, it had action, adventure, romance and comedy, it has been on in my town since June when it was released, and I don't live in a small town.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevint.Nov 13, 2006
I though it was full of thrill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeK.Dec 20, 2006
I love this movie, a great sequel to a great trilogy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SuzanneC.Jul 11, 2006
i can't believe people are saying that this film wasn't as good as the first one. it had more action, more comedy, more twists, more exciting characters and an amazing cliff hanger. the first one was fantastic but this one topped i can't believe people are saying that this film wasn't as good as the first one. it had more action, more comedy, more twists, more exciting characters and an amazing cliff hanger. the first one was fantastic but this one topped it in my book. i saw it the day after it was released and it got amazing cheers when it started and had more when it finished. it was amazing and should be a definite oscar winner for johnny!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJul 11, 2006
I have absolutely no idea where all these naysayers are coming from. Every single person I know who has seen the film, agrees that this movie truly establishes the series as the best original film franchise since Back to the Future and I have absolutely no idea where all these naysayers are coming from. Every single person I know who has seen the film, agrees that this movie truly establishes the series as the best original film franchise since Back to the Future and Indiana Jones. This trilogy will go down in history books, and will be deemed as timeless classics. And Davy Jones is beautiful. He is truly stunning, and is easily the most iconic movie villain since Darth Vader, and the old time classic Disney villains like Maleficent and the Queen from Snow White. The running time absolutely flies by, and there is alot more storyline and inventive action sequences than the first film, which was a rather swift plot dragged into a 2-hour swordfight. It's eye-candy, it's sensationalism, and it perfectly picks you up where it left off and drops you off gasping for breath. Do not listen to these bizzarre people that did not like; there is not a single thing more you could ask for from a popcorn movie; and it's so refreshing to see such a wonderful film that is NOT adapted from silly fantasy novels or overrated comic books! Because when you get right down to it, all the films borrow from the ride is the name itself; plotwise, the films borrow more from the Monkey Island computer games. See it now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinD.Jul 12, 2006
I loved it! Sure, the opening was slow, but the second half more than makes up for it. And as for being "too scary" for little kids, I took my 3 and 5 year old brothers and the only thing that scared them was the "Lady In The Water" trailer. I loved it! Sure, the opening was slow, but the second half more than makes up for it. And as for being "too scary" for little kids, I took my 3 and 5 year old brothers and the only thing that scared them was the "Lady In The Water" trailer. The movie itself was riveting! Best movie I've seen in a while! Can't wait for POTC: At World's End... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatssunflowerJul 13, 2006
Its quite simple to enjoy this movie: have a sense of humor, accept the interwoven legend with history, and step into Pirate's world. Stick to the code. Otherwise you will be another frustrated soul whining about length, confusion, and Its quite simple to enjoy this movie: have a sense of humor, accept the interwoven legend with history, and step into Pirate's world. Stick to the code. Otherwise you will be another frustrated soul whining about length, confusion, and boredom....gross. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sinn7Jul 14, 2006
This is the best movie I have seen in 3 years (when the 1st one came out). It was so funny that at one stage I found myself clapping as I laughed! It was also more exciting than the 1st movie as I was literally on the edge of my seat for the This is the best movie I have seen in 3 years (when the 1st one came out). It was so funny that at one stage I found myself clapping as I laughed! It was also more exciting than the 1st movie as I was literally on the edge of my seat for the last fifteen minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeJ.Jul 19, 2006
Fantastic Ride! I enjoyed every minute of this film. I can't wait for the next film to find out what happens next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonnaD.Jul 21, 2006
This movie has everything in it, campy humor, witty humor, action, drama, romance, great special effects and of course, Capt. Jack. I've seen it once and plan to see it again, just too much fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoanieS.Jul 21, 2006
Its a perfect sequel. Johnny is still right on! I've already seen it 7 times, plan on seeing it more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJul 27, 2006
I loved the film. I think it was too complicated for many American minds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OrlaB.Jul 30, 2006
This Movie was a great movie to watch. Sometimes it made you jump with fright but others were alright! Sometimes I didn't quite make it out, but most of the time it was grand. I thought it would be an Overly Long movie, but actually it This Movie was a great movie to watch. Sometimes it made you jump with fright but others were alright! Sometimes I didn't quite make it out, but most of the time it was grand. I thought it would be an Overly Long movie, but actually it wasn't too bad. It was a great Movie to watch and I think most people would enjoy it. All the actors AND actresses were brilliant in it. Especially Keira Knightly and Johnny Depp. Brilliant actors they are.If you haven't gone to see it go see it soon, and don't worry about it being s cary coz it ain't!!!! Enjoy!!! Orla. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SusanS.Jul 8, 2006
I saw the movie last night and was delighted as was the rest of the audience. I had a hard time believing I was watching the same movie the critics have panned. It was great! I'll probably go see it again at least 5 times. The critic I saw the movie last night and was delighted as was the rest of the audience. I had a hard time believing I was watching the same movie the critics have panned. It was great! I'll probably go see it again at least 5 times. The critic from EW in particular needs to have her glasses examined-her review was nasty and way way out of line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarsonS.Jul 8, 2006
I was camping when the movie came out and i drove 1 and a half hours both ways to go see this and i wasn't disappointed. The action scenes are absolutely spectacular and the story line is quite good. The special effects are superb with I was camping when the movie came out and i drove 1 and a half hours both ways to go see this and i wasn't disappointed. The action scenes are absolutely spectacular and the story line is quite good. The special effects are superb with davy jones and his crew and of course you can never got enough of Jack Sparrows delightful quirkiness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyJul 8, 2006
Absolutely loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephS.Jul 9, 2006
I thought that Johnny Depp was the absolutley FANTASTIC. He made the movie. Loved it. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
moederAug 15, 2006
wow what a fantastic movie why are you so negative about this movie the story was what i didn't expected it is wonderfull the action the humor everything i love this movie eand the end marvelous.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JakeB.Aug 9, 2006
'Dead Man's Chest' is one of the years best and most exhilarating film experiences. A masterpiece pure and simple. Th plot is in the most simplistic terms not the point. Like a Dashiell Hammett novel it's all about the 'Dead Man's Chest' is one of the years best and most exhilarating film experiences. A masterpiece pure and simple. Th plot is in the most simplistic terms not the point. Like a Dashiell Hammett novel it's all about the aura and dialouge. Not to mention characters, trust me the film has MANY of those. But, I'll attempt a brief plot summary. Jack Sparrow owes a debt to the ultra- heavy of the sea, Davy Jones... the payment... his soul, well that or 100 other souls. To slight Davy Jones Jack gets assistance from Will Turner. Little does Jack know Will and his fiancé Elizabeth are being hunted for helping Sparrow, a known pirate escape a grizzly fate. The only way of achieving freedom is retrieving Jack's compass for the evil Lord Beckett. Will gets involved for more than he bargained for and has to battle against Jones at Sparrow's side. Acting wise 'Chest' has nearly no rough patches. Depp brings undeniable comedic energy to Sparrow and though un-recognizable physically, Nighy's Jones is a wonderful villain. Plus, Bloom has seemingly improved since the first outing. The effects are dazzling but that goes without saying. As to the detractors who complain the entire film is setup for number three, I tell you this: It's the best damn setup money can buy! Overall: A Rousing fun and more than a bottle a' rum Matey! P.S. Odds are Depp will not receive an Oscar for his work (sequels are rarely honored) but he sure as hell deserves one! It's the best male performance all year! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
HenryOct 1, 2007
GREAT MOVIE, funny as hell really enjoyed it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JDC.Jun 17, 2007
I think (Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Mans Chest) was great. it had a lot of action, Jonny Depp a.k.a Jack Sparrow was an incredible actor. Also it was very funny. I liked the story where it talked about Davy Jones. I liked the romance I think (Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Mans Chest) was great. it had a lot of action, Jonny Depp a.k.a Jack Sparrow was an incredible actor. Also it was very funny. I liked the story where it talked about Davy Jones. I liked the romance between Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann. I also loved when Will reunited with his farther Bootstrap Bill Turner. It was funny when Elizabeth hit former Commodore Norrington in the head with a rum bottle. It was cool when Jack was chief of the warriors, also when the crew was swinging back and forth in the cages. I like the story that Tia Dalma told of Davy Jones. I thought the fight between the crew of the Black Perl and The Kraken was the best and coolest. I definitely liked how it connected the first movie with the third movie. I liked when Norrrington, Will, Jack fought over the key of Dead Mans Chest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeannaHAug 3, 2007
Really great movie!!!!!!! I love Johnny Depp!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TraiDepJul 11, 2006
A *very* fast paced roller coaster ride. packs more popcorn fun in one movie that some trilogies lack (some reviewers said, 'difficult to follow plot' or 'too dense'. I personally think they're too old. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryJul 21, 2006
Fantastic movie. Depp is a brilliant. It wasn't long enough!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KipM.Aug 27, 2006
A great movie but some parts i didnt get until the 2nd time i saw it but theres still things i have no clue about what going to happen in the story. But i still give it a ten!:) i cant wait for the 3rd movie!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 18, 2007
"Pirates of the Carribean: Dead Man's Chest" is a brilliant film, cleverly mixing action with off-the-wall humor. Johnny Depp, once again in the role of Jack Sparrow, is hilarious. The action scenes kept me absolutely riveted to the "Pirates of the Carribean: Dead Man's Chest" is a brilliant film, cleverly mixing action with off-the-wall humor. Johnny Depp, once again in the role of Jack Sparrow, is hilarious. The action scenes kept me absolutely riveted to the screen. A great film, certain to go down as a true Hollywood classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gm101Mar 15, 2011
Awesome second chapter to the series. I gotta say, ILM really tricked me with Davy Jones, because I had no idea his face was actually computer generated. Great work!
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
Jack101Sep 10, 2012
It was fantastic in visual effects and fun through the island of the tribes and the three way swordplay for the chest. Its four star in my book, and it was just as good as the first one
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gizmawyJan 12, 2013
will what can i say it record for highest opening weekend of all time ($135,600,000) and grossed over $1 billion dollars worldwide
is that worth just ( 6.8 )
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorApr 29, 2015
O Único ponto fraco é a falta do capitão Hector Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush),Fora isso é uma das melhores sequências da história do cinema,muito subestimada pelos críticos e pelos próprios fãs e audiência,mesmo sem Geoffrey Rush,Johnny DeppO Único ponto fraco é a falta do capitão Hector Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush),Fora isso é uma das melhores sequências da história do cinema,muito subestimada pelos críticos e pelos próprios fãs e audiência,mesmo sem Geoffrey Rush,Johnny Depp segura as pontas dando um show e entreter com seu genial personagem Jack Sparrow,possui ótimas frases,piadas e essa segunda parte da franquia fez 10 a 0 no primeiro no quesito efeitos especiais com cenas incríveis de ação que começa com a parte da tribo ao mesmo instante em que Jack salta amarrado a um tronco de pontes e montanhas Will e a tripulação tenta escapa da gaiola de cordas brilhante sequência de cena,depois Kraken detona o navio em que Will se encontra,depois a genial cena da praia da roda em movimento durante a batalha de Jack,Will e Norrington,E a destruição final do Kraken,Não é a toa que ganhou o Oscar de Melhor Efeitos Visuais em 2006. Excelente aventura!!! excelente filme!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
Awesome!!! One of the greatest sequels ever!! The ending was very dramatic and suspenseful. Johnny Depp is always fun to watch!!! Do not miss it!!! Better than The Lord Of The Rings!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIJul 24, 2015
........................................................................................................................................................................................................................a extraodinary second part
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
raciocinioOct 21, 2015
A Underrated great sequel, Deserves 75% in Rotten Tomatoes and 67% here... This sequel have an inprovement in action and CGI without doubts here are the best adventures scenes of the franchise...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sicranoAug 7, 2015
............................................................................................................................................One of best sequels of al time!!!!!!! Super Underrated for the stupids............................................................................................................................................One of best sequels of al time!!!!!!! Super Underrated for the stupids critics and some dull audiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DarkBeeApr 5, 2018
Give up the moorings, take the left flank, guys! The adventures of Jack Sparrow, yes-Captain Jack Sparrow, continue. After the Captain returned his ship, the Flying Dutchman, led by Davy Jones, recalls that the former had a debt, the priceGive up the moorings, take the left flank, guys! The adventures of Jack Sparrow, yes-Captain Jack Sparrow, continue. After the Captain returned his ship, the Flying Dutchman, led by Davy Jones, recalls that the former had a debt, the price for failure of which was slavery for a hundred years. The problem is that the task will have to be done by Jack himself. A person who does not particularly love to fulfill both his own and other people's errands. Captain Jack Sparrow returned his ship. Happiness, joy and delight reigned around him, but did they leave him? More likely no than yes. No ship, and even the "Pearl" will not help Jack get rid of a distinctive feature - an optimistic attitude, regardless of the situation reigning around. Having received that coveted drawing of the key that Jack was looking for, the Captain managed to calm down his team, so much bored with a truly piratical robbery and robbery. But it is difficult to carry out missions, when enemies are chasing you on the horizon. Davy Jones with his team "Flying Dutchman" wants to take Sparrow. Seated in the sea for eternity, Jones turned into a monster. The once famous and illustrious Captain, who is the object of universal fanaticism, became a monster and a repulsive creature. His team - part of the ship, encroached on a similar fate. "Flying Dutchman" plows on the sea is not at will, because he wants to prey. Destination, prepared by otherworldly forces clearly showed what happens to those who for nothing rushes with words. And after so many years, the question arises: "What is it all Jones?". Torture, pursuing a lifetime, if life can be called so, or granted happiness, one way or another coming on the heels? Tentacles, growing on the face, and introductory vegetation clearly make it clear that no, it is unlikely all this gift. For three years, that the cinema was empty without "Pirates", the film did not lose its cherry on the cake. "Pirates of the Caribbean Sea" is still fun, they have humor, from which the truth is ridiculous. Having dealt with his enemy in the last part, Jack Sparrow does not stop and shows viewers that enemies can be found every day, which he does during the course of the film. Pirate battles, thanks to which the original in 2003 amazed everyone, please also in the sequel. The battles have become bigger, and the adventures are more amazing. The captain, who does not care about the problems of others, once again gets into trouble on an abandoned island. The actor's game, which made the whole last film, makes this moment from nothing, turning it into a fantasy. Mr. Depp deserves praise for the way he played once again. Davey Jones is the famous pirate of the famous ship. Do you smell this smell of confinement? The smell of when death in the seas becomes the most terrible. Tin is that death is by no means the worst thing that can happen to a person. You need to be afraid of further actions. The stage when you need to go into the afterlife, which in general is something not. Davy Jones, to whom this honor was paid (if it can be called so) failed to accomplish its task, because of what was punished by the deformity of the person and the team. Bill Nighy, who played Jones, and subjected to the absolute impact of computer graphics, gloomily and viciously showed his hero. Desperate in his life, the Flying Dutchman plows the seas of the whole world. The only meaning that existed in Jones's life has disappeared. There is only discouragement and a loyal team, which one way or another has nowhere to go. Captain Jack Sparrow is a lucky and truly sarcastic captain. Having found his native "Pearl", Jack goes on a new journey. However, if the last time Jack was confronted by the fierce Captain Barbossa, now the rates are rising. Any obligation is death. Stopping the job or interrupting it is slavery. What will Jack do to accomplish the task? A question that no one will answer. Johnny Depp, who once again played the role of Sparrow, proved that he was not in vain the Captain of his role. Not forgetting about the actor's zest in the game of this character, Depp once again provided us with a hero who can admire. Verdict. The sequel was at times better than the original and provided us with the ideal antagonist. Davey Jones, a fearsome appearance, is remembered for his charisma. His hatred is explained by the past, which was left to the future sequel. Jones can be understood - he lost everything he had, and there is no reason to live. It's just impossible to die - Jones's only problem, for which he really is sorry. "All of you!" I dropped my brains. Enjoy watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelC.Jul 10, 2006
I Agree totally with Jack H. who states wisely that this movie cannot stand alone! it is the 2nd movie of a trilogy, and does just what it is supposed to do...keep you entertained and build up to the 3rd. Of course its not better than the I Agree totally with Jack H. who states wisely that this movie cannot stand alone! it is the 2nd movie of a trilogy, and does just what it is supposed to do...keep you entertained and build up to the 3rd. Of course its not better than the 1st because the first is fresh and new. Though it is lacking plot, and gets a whole lot of nowhere for its 2 1/2 hours...Its FUN! no 2nd movie has ever been the best of the trilogy...all it does is build up to the 3rd, and give a lot of action and laughs to get you there. A Great Film! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JackH.Jul 9, 2006
A terrific film simply in its change from the original. Rather than using the formula of many film series by making it just Curse of the Black Pearl with a different villain and more characters (which it seems at first), the film instead A terrific film simply in its change from the original. Rather than using the formula of many film series by making it just Curse of the Black Pearl with a different villain and more characters (which it seems at first), the film instead reinvents every element used in the original and simply adds to it. I have already seen it twice, and like the first, it can't be viewed just once. The main flaw in this film is the same as any second film in a planned trilogy: it cannot stand alone eg. Back to the Future Part II, The Empire Strikes Back. That said, it works brilliantly in the way it was intended: it gives us a more in depth look at the characters in play to prepare us for the final film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TheoL.Jul 9, 2006
Don't buy into all the negative and lukewarm reviews the "professional" critics are giving this film. Dead Man's Chest is an absolute blast!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
HayleyC.Jul 11, 2006
Phillip W.. if you didnt like it.. fine, say what it is you didnt like and leave it at that no need to diss the movie, or those that like(ed) it, it was very much a set up for the last in the trilogy and more script would have been nice. but Phillip W.. if you didnt like it.. fine, say what it is you didnt like and leave it at that no need to diss the movie, or those that like(ed) it, it was very much a set up for the last in the trilogy and more script would have been nice. but it was FUN.. stop expecting this movie to have been all deep and meaningful...it was supposed to be exciting, fun, eye candy.. and it WAS. sheesh enjoy yourself for a change - cant wait for the 3rd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PurseyH.Jul 11, 2006
I thought it was very entertaining, as you can see by the customer reviews alot of people agree. The point is its a movie that is definitely worth seeing and who knows, if you can put all these bad reviews out of your head and get your own I thought it was very entertaining, as you can see by the customer reviews alot of people agree. The point is its a movie that is definitely worth seeing and who knows, if you can put all these bad reviews out of your head and get your own oppinion on it, mabey you'll really like it. I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LorileeO.Jul 10, 2006
I don't know why so many are harping on the 2 1/2 hour run time - this seems to be in line with other blockbusters (Superman Returns, King Kong, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Titanic etc.) - I didn't notice all the complaining I don't know why so many are harping on the 2 1/2 hour run time - this seems to be in line with other blockbusters (Superman Returns, King Kong, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Titanic etc.) - I didn't notice all the complaining then! The movie provides exactly what viewers want from this sort of story - fascinating venues, high intensity special effects, loads of action, solid humor, romance, and a touch of horror. What more could you want of a action/adveture pirate movie? Johnny Depp is spectacular, as are the witch lady, Kiera and Orlando. The wait to see #3 is going to kill me! No, it didn't have any serious, life changing subplots or morals, but it was not meant to. All the key players stayed true to their character. The effects were amazing. For me, the 2 1/2 hours whizzed by. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanF.Jul 12, 2006
[***SPOILER***] I be a pirate, and I think this film be ye accurate representation of the day to day life of ye average deckhand. Therefore, a 9 I give this documentary about the life, and apparent greusome death, of my captain, jack sparrow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffW.Jul 10, 2006
Whoaaa! Give me a break p-l-e-a-s-e-! Okay, it's not as good as the first (10) but they never are. It is a close second however and definitely does not deserve anything less than that. I watched it last night, came home and seen that Whoaaa! Give me a break p-l-e-a-s-e-! Okay, it's not as good as the first (10) but they never are. It is a close second however and definitely does not deserve anything less than that. I watched it last night, came home and seen that this movie broke the record three-day take for any movie ever. The people have voiced their opinion. The critics and their ilk need to lighten up! :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaryG.Jul 21, 2006
A fun and hilarious romp, perfect summer entertainment for the whole family. Can't wait for the grand finale next summer! Depp, Knightley, Nighy, Harris - all gave engaging performances. The only problems with it: not enough Capt. Jack A fun and hilarious romp, perfect summer entertainment for the whole family. Can't wait for the grand finale next summer! Depp, Knightley, Nighy, Harris - all gave engaging performances. The only problems with it: not enough Capt. Jack and too much Will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlotteH.Jul 27, 2006
This movie delivers more great, tongue-in-cheek, swashbuckling action in the same vein as "Black Pearl", and has even more spectacular visuals! Sure, I felt a little cheated by the cliff-hanger ending, but I'm not so indignant that I This movie delivers more great, tongue-in-cheek, swashbuckling action in the same vein as "Black Pearl", and has even more spectacular visuals! Sure, I felt a little cheated by the cliff-hanger ending, but I'm not so indignant that I won't shell out my money to see "Pirates III" next year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShawnJul 28, 2006
C'mon people - it's a summer movie and you were forewarned (from how the last movie played) that this movie is heavy on the visuals, effects, etc. and not as big on plot. Keep in mind to that this really more Part 2a, with Part 2b C'mon people - it's a summer movie and you were forewarned (from how the last movie played) that this movie is heavy on the visuals, effects, etc. and not as big on plot. Keep in mind to that this really more Part 2a, with Part 2b coming out next summer, than it is a stand alone sequel. [***SPOILERS***] OK - onto the review: this movie gives you everything you expected from a "Pirates of the Carribean" sequel: fierce battles, intrigue, plot twists, unrequited love, great sailing scenes...I could go on. Johnny Depp returns as our favorite pirate captain and he does not disappoint. He maintains his character's odd habits and mysterious ways and you are always trying to guess which side he is really on. The biggest character development is Keira Knightley's Elizabeth Swan. In the first "Pirates", she hints at the tough as nails "take-no-prisoners" woman her character wants to be - in the second movie, we see it come to the forefront. The only character who really remains the same is Will Turner, who is once again ably played by Orlando Bloom. Admittedly, Bloom's character experiences one of the major plot twists, but he continues to play Turner as a highly resourceful man of principle who will not allow convention to get in the way of doing what he believes is right. All in all, I found Dead Man's Chest to be a highly satisfying follow up to the first "Pirates" and I am eagerly anticipating next summer's finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidG.Jul 8, 2006
In my opinion the first quarter of the movie lacked the PoTC finesse which the first movie showed so brilliantly, but it was still interesting albeit it was a little confusing here and there. The rest of the movie was sheer brilliance as it In my opinion the first quarter of the movie lacked the PoTC finesse which the first movie showed so brilliantly, but it was still interesting albeit it was a little confusing here and there. The rest of the movie was sheer brilliance as it was polished all around. It had action perhpas better than any movies so far this year, an excellent atmosphere, some nicely thrown in humor, and an overall pleasing storyline. So if you were a fan of PoTC 1, do yourself a favour, and go see this movie. PS: Hahah hey Carson, camping was awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleH.Jul 9, 2006
Just watched the first movie last week and saw Dead Man's Chest tonight and I loved it. It's going down as one of my favorites!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NavneetS.Jul 9, 2006
An absolutely underrated movie! I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianM.Aug 5, 2006
I am surprised to see this film getting quite a bit of negative feedback. I'm afraid this film got slammed merely because of the high standards set by the first film. People have a nasty tendancy to either expect too much from a sequel, I am surprised to see this film getting quite a bit of negative feedback. I'm afraid this film got slammed merely because of the high standards set by the first film. People have a nasty tendancy to either expect too much from a sequel, or simply NOT want to like a sequel, and try hard to find flaws and dismiss the film. This would be a shame in the case of 'Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest'. The film is really well done, and is without a doubt one of the best movies so far this year. Some people complained about the 2 and a half hour length, but I thought the time simply flew by. It did not feel in the least bit slow or boring. I look at it as getting more of my money's worth! Moving on, the acting in this film was very well done! Even Orlando Bloom gave a passable performance. Depp did not disappoint with a great performance as Captain Jack Sparrow. For those complaining that the film went 'nowhere' they could not be more wrong. 'Dead Man's Chest' simply is the second act to the overall story, comparable to 'The Empire Strikes Back' in the Original Star Wars Trilogy. Overall, this was a great film, that should not be missed. It is one of the few family films I have thoroughly enjoyed, and did not leave me groaning. I eagerly await the next installment to this franchise. This has easily become one of my favorite Disney properties. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Aug 6, 2006
Pirates is truly a wonderful movie. It is a huge step up from the original, and one of summer's most delightful films. I abosolutely loved the shocker at the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BobR.Jul 13, 2006
Lots of fun.....but the next movie will make or break this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GerronK.Jul 13, 2006
This is a fantastic thrill ride from beginning to end! From the stunning special effects, to the always dependable Johnny Depp's performance, this movie defines the genre of summer blockbuster. I will admit that the movie seems to be This is a fantastic thrill ride from beginning to end! From the stunning special effects, to the always dependable Johnny Depp's performance, this movie defines the genre of summer blockbuster. I will admit that the movie seems to be veering off course several times, but that didn't deter me from having the best time at a theater since last year's "Batman Begins". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichK.Jul 7, 2006
The running time is long and there are a few slow points. That being said I found this sequel to be just as enjoyable as the first. I don't understand why so many critics are panning this film. It is not meant to be anything but a The running time is long and there are a few slow points. That being said I found this sequel to be just as enjoyable as the first. I don't understand why so many critics are panning this film. It is not meant to be anything but a summer popcorn flick. I found the look of this movie to be unique and the special effects are phenominal, plus all that was enjoyable about the first movie is still here. There is a great deal of laughs and action. If you are looking for escapism in its purest form then I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimA.Jul 8, 2006
I have no idea what movie the critics saw but it wasn't this one. It was different than the first yeah, but that's to be expected from a sequel because more of the same is boring. This one was darker, creepier, and had more plot I have no idea what movie the critics saw but it wasn't this one. It was different than the first yeah, but that's to be expected from a sequel because more of the same is boring. This one was darker, creepier, and had more plot than the first one and it works gorgeously. To those that believe that CG ruined the movie- would you rather they used puppets and end up making it look like a bad 1970s movie? Didn't think so. The length is fine- bigger tales mean longer screen times, and I was never bored once. All the actors are just as good (even better probably) than they were in the first movie and the dialogue is really good, something that is definitely lacking in movies these days. There was nothing bad about this film at all, don't listen to the haters, go give Gore Verbinski more money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkC.Aug 23, 2006
I liked this moive a lot it had action and class but it wasnt as good as i wanted it to be it wasnt as good as the first moive but it still was entertaning. But to long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekR.Aug 28, 2006
everything was great and funny, except 4 the ending-it didnt make sense
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickM.Aug 3, 2006
Ummmm, im sorry but what is wrong with this movie, its is a funny, awsome action, you never know what will happen next, and it has a plot twist in the end that is worthy of shamalamalyn(exuse my spellings, its a hard name to spell) the only Ummmm, im sorry but what is wrong with this movie, its is a funny, awsome action, you never know what will happen next, and it has a plot twist in the end that is worthy of shamalamalyn(exuse my spellings, its a hard name to spell) the only flaw is the fact it leaves you needing wanting to see more of the movie, hey, it convinced me to see the 3rd movie the day it comes out. and please, the complaint about the length, look at the lord of the rings series, all very long, and classics. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KristinaDNov 24, 2006
Not as good as the first one, but still a very good movie. Johnny Depp is incredible as Captain Jack Sparrow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethC.Dec 20, 2006
Although I did like the first one better, i loved this movie also.... Johnny Depp is perfect as Jack Sparrow. He is by far my favorite actor!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertM.Jul 12, 2006
Dead Man's Chest is a thrill-seeking adventure that turns toward a dark heading as the story becomes appropriately more grim. The effects make the action sequences breathtaking while the performances are as suprising as it's ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarrenF.Jul 15, 2006
Hey everybody, how about this movie WAS good. You all just expect it to be like The Curse of the Black Pearl. I don't want to sit through the same crap (albeit, excellent crap) AGAIN. I want something different. There's nothing Hey everybody, how about this movie WAS good. You all just expect it to be like The Curse of the Black Pearl. I don't want to sit through the same crap (albeit, excellent crap) AGAIN. I want something different. There's nothing wrong with a dark atmosphere, which was not even that dark. There were still plenty of funny, funny scenes. The problem most of you seem to have is the plot. It was fine; if you don't overanalyze like so many people (critics included) seem to do, then it makes sense. And the cliffhanger ending? COME ON, PEOPLE. So many trilogies have ended part 2 like that. LOTR of recent years. STAR WARS: EMPIRE!? COME ON! To be quite honest, I thought it was an excellent movie. People expect so much out of everything now. You all expected these outlandish ideas of what it should be, and are just upset that things could not turn out the way you dreamed. It was a very good, well-made movie. I will agree the first one was better. However, Dead Man's Chest is an excellent movie, as well. First week numbers don't lie, people. Everyone in the theater when I watched loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CateW.Jul 17, 2006
Definitely an e-ticket ride, though darker than the first episode. Arrr!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MohammedR.Jul 17, 2006
This movie kicks butt. The critics as usual do not know what they are talking about. Go and see it. Can not wait for part three.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanF.Dec 23, 2006
I found this movie to be better than the 1st. Had a good story and it drew me in so that when it ended i was instantly craving the next movie. Only negative bit though is that it was a bit long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeriouslyMay 26, 2011
If you're reading this then you're probably alive. If you're alive then you'd probably like this movie. I personally loved it. It is a sequel to a film that didn't need a sequel, yet adding this movie to the franchise just made it a whole lotIf you're reading this then you're probably alive. If you're alive then you'd probably like this movie. I personally loved it. It is a sequel to a film that didn't need a sequel, yet adding this movie to the franchise just made it a whole lot better. You wouldn't really need to see the first film to understand this one, so don't worry if you haven't watched The Black Pearl just yet. Seriously, get the -blam- off this website and watch this movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
LavezziApr 8, 2012
This film manages to fuse together both the hilarity and incompetency of Jack Sparrow with the seriousness and fright of Davy Jones. Although some will contest the ending it proves to show that the film isn't simply about the silly exploitsThis film manages to fuse together both the hilarity and incompetency of Jack Sparrow with the seriousness and fright of Davy Jones. Although some will contest the ending it proves to show that the film isn't simply about the silly exploits of Jack but there is a more underlying story beneath it all. Brilliant acting from Johnny Deep who provides a laugh in every scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gzayas91Jul 21, 2018
This was bigger, better than the first one. I know it panned by critics, but I don't care. This was awesome blockbuster sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SEROJDec 21, 2015
I'm actually surpised that this part has such low scores! I personally like it even better than the first one! Absolutely superb adventure movie! And this is when my all-time favorite villian "Davy Jones" gets in!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
While it is not nearly as good or original as the first film, it is still a great film! It has even more action than the first film and has amazing visual effects (the Kraken and Davy Jones are spectacular CGI creations), Johnny Depp doesWhile it is not nearly as good or original as the first film, it is still a great film! It has even more action than the first film and has amazing visual effects (the Kraken and Davy Jones are spectacular CGI creations), Johnny Depp does fantastic again, the music is great (but not as great as the first film) and the script is creative in some ways and has its moments of witty dialogue. This is a great action/adventure flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMasterLFeb 27, 2015
Es curioso, disfrute mas la segunda parte que la primera; aunque cuenta con varias tramas, varios personajes, esta segunda parte es un espectáculo visual, mas divertida, mas oscura que la anterior. Una buena secuela
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JP32Jun 22, 2018
The entire movie is supercharged with crowd-pleasing energy. This is one big, lovable film. Even with a story that sometimes feels arbitrarily drawn out, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is a soaring success because of director GoreThe entire movie is supercharged with crowd-pleasing energy. This is one big, lovable film. Even with a story that sometimes feels arbitrarily drawn out, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is a soaring success because of director Gore Verbinski's zest for big budget summer popcorn filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MonkiReviewsJun 15, 2017
One of my favorite film franchises ever, the first was actually tied for my favorite movie ever. The characters are great, and still funny! The story started slow, but the whole second half was amazing. I didn't mind the length, it actuallyOne of my favorite film franchises ever, the first was actually tied for my favorite movie ever. The characters are great, and still funny! The story started slow, but the whole second half was amazing. I didn't mind the length, it actually felt short. The special effects were super realistic, some of the best I have seen. The first half wasn't interesting enough to give it a 10, but it was amazing overall and worth a watch for sure! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JPKJun 13, 2019
Great Sequel
Dead Man’s Chest once again has a near-flawless performance from Johnny Depp along with other great performances from Bloom, Knightly, Rush, and Nighty, good storytelling, amazing special effects, and an epic music score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheRussianatorApr 4, 2018
This sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" in my opinion is even better than the first one. With a mind-blowing 230 million budget for a movie released in 2006, this movie looks amazing. All the actors are game and theThis sequel to the very successful "Curse of the Black Pearl" in my opinion is even better than the first one. With a mind-blowing 230 million budget for a movie released in 2006, this movie looks amazing. All the actors are game and the dialog is still very witty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CTHReviewsMar 15, 2018
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is a very underrated film in my opinion. So underrated in fact, that I think it's the best out of the franchise. Davy Jones is not only brought to life by chilling CGI, but Bill Nighy (not thePirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest is a very underrated film in my opinion. So underrated in fact, that I think it's the best out of the franchise. Davy Jones is not only brought to life by chilling CGI, but Bill Nighy (not the Science Guy) gives a very creepy, and at times, sympathetic performance. It's also a nice, not forced-in setup for the finale to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NolanLundgaardJun 8, 2018
While Dead Man’s Chest is not as good as the original, it still succeeds in captivating the audience, especially with Johnny Depp’s performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PujaN.Jul 7, 2006
I don't know why people are going all crazy trying to judge and ridicule an a mere action flick. It keeps your eyes relatively pleased, yet storyline is somewhat predictable..but who can't fall in love with Johnny Dep's silly I don't know why people are going all crazy trying to judge and ridicule an a mere action flick. It keeps your eyes relatively pleased, yet storyline is somewhat predictable..but who can't fall in love with Johnny Dep's silly character? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FantasyJul 11, 2006
Pirates 2 was a bit long and dragged at some points but still was great fun. The trilogy is no more as by breaking all the records they have changed it into two more flicks. Keith Richards has already signed on to play Captain Jack's Pirates 2 was a bit long and dragged at some points but still was great fun. The trilogy is no more as by breaking all the records they have changed it into two more flicks. Keith Richards has already signed on to play Captain Jack's father which should be a hoot. But for now this Pirates is very long and some of it should have been left on the cutting room floor. But for those of you who hated it, don't take this movie too seriously, because it is nothing more than an amusement ride. Just bring the popcorn, sit back and enjoy. Johnny Depp steals the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful