Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: August 12, 2005
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 51 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
9
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ArsalSep 20, 2007
Kairo is an utter masterpiece. Nothing less, nothing more. It's not so much as the usual 'jump-because-we-said-so' horror movies being churned out as of late. It's atmospheric, dark, surreal, almost dream-like in some Kairo is an utter masterpiece. Nothing less, nothing more. It's not so much as the usual 'jump-because-we-said-so' horror movies being churned out as of late. It's atmospheric, dark, surreal, almost dream-like in some scenes. Recommended to everyone who's sick of blood and guts being spurted at the screen for no reason, and to fans of art-house cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Aug 19, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] "Kairo" isn't entirely successful but it's still vastly superior to the remake I saw yesterday. Thankfully, there's nothing pale and naked coming out of a coin-operated laundry machine. In "Pulse", you see the [***SPOILERS***] "Kairo" isn't entirely successful but it's still vastly superior to the remake I saw yesterday. Thankfully, there's nothing pale and naked coming out of a coin-operated laundry machine. In "Pulse", you see the influence of the "Invasion of the Body Snatchers", but in the Japanese original, the source of inspiration is more explicit. It's the 1978 version with Donald Sutherland. What's also interesting is how the ghosts are presented. They're reminiscent of the monoliths from "2001: A Space Odyessy". What ultimately prevents "Kairo", however, from joining the ranks of first-rate J-horror flicks, is a short supply of interesting characters saying interesting things. The two girls who traveled across the Pacific and morphed into Kristin Bell and Kristina Milian are equally wretched, but at least with two storylines, they're not constantly on screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobNMay 25, 2009
Kiyoshi Kurosawa's films appeal to me. I am a thinker (I am not saying I am smarter than everyone.) I have thought a lot about the dangerous era we have entered in the past 20 years or so with technology. As Postman and McLuhan pointed Kiyoshi Kurosawa's films appeal to me. I am a thinker (I am not saying I am smarter than everyone.) I have thought a lot about the dangerous era we have entered in the past 20 years or so with technology. As Postman and McLuhan pointed out, the recent generations of folks born in advanced countries are the first in history to suffer from information glut. We are boldly going...finish the sentence. There has to be a cost to this technology. This film plays on that realistic fear, the fear of the unkown, the fear of alienation, the fear of technology. This is not a 2001 the computers will kill you fear, this is a deep-seated psychological/spiritual dillema. The film does drag at times, and the characters act annoyingly odd at times as well. The ever present atmoshpere, the ever present ideas, create one of the creepiest and best "horror" films I have seen. Note: I usually hate horror films. They tend to be "shock" films with no dread or horror. Pulse (the Japanese version, not the horrid American version) is a true horror film. There is no comparison with the original and the remake. The remake is horrible and empty of the spirit of the original. Great stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClarkE.Nov 19, 2005
I'm not sure why so many people were confused by this movie. I found it easy to piece together. It's not really horrifying, but it's incredibly atmospheric and affecting, and leads the viewer to believe that they would I'm not sure why so many people were confused by this movie. I found it easy to piece together. It's not really horrifying, but it's incredibly atmospheric and affecting, and leads the viewer to believe that they would themselves give in if confronted with this situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
keithw.Nov 20, 2005
Twilight Zone far superior edit edit edit!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RadCompanyDotNetDec 5, 2005
Pulse's horror is of the slowly creeping, paralyzing variety, letting our minds fill in the unknown gaps as we struggle to grasp what evil may lurk. Japanese horror has honed it's edge on the principle that fear is a dish best Pulse's horror is of the slowly creeping, paralyzing variety, letting our minds fill in the unknown gaps as we struggle to grasp what evil may lurk. Japanese horror has honed it's edge on the principle that fear is a dish best served covered, never revealing what dessert awaits in it's final act. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EdwardV.Feb 28, 2006
This movie is a damn boring and useless piece of crap. I just spent money on two rentals including this one and Memory Killer, another waste of time,because of the positive reviews by the critics on this site, so I am very angry.It seems This movie is a damn boring and useless piece of crap. I just spent money on two rentals including this one and Memory Killer, another waste of time,because of the positive reviews by the critics on this site, so I am very angry.It seems that some reviewers on here have an unnatural prejudice FOR these cheap, vague, and dark foreign movies. I am making a list of the positive reviewers, including Ken Fox,Sean Axmaker, AnitaGates and Michael Wilmington, and I won't trust their reviews ever again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChazG.Mar 17, 2006
I'm a big fan of foreign films. This film could have gone somewhere... Unfortunatly it goes nowhere and isn't even the slightest bit frightening. If you choose to watch this film, expect to feel your time was wasted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JonnyV.Apr 29, 2006
giving it a 2 is a very generous rating, as it make no sence, and lacked being even remotely scary, a waste of my precious, precious time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KurtC.Aug 13, 2006
It wasn't so much scary as it was chilling. It brings a fresh viewpoint to the thriller genre that certainly makes you rethink just how dependent we are getting on instant communication. The cinematography is more mood-setting than It wasn't so much scary as it was chilling. It brings a fresh viewpoint to the thriller genre that certainly makes you rethink just how dependent we are getting on instant communication. The cinematography is more mood-setting than eerie. Kristin Bell did an excellent job in her first movie roll. I'm looking for to more from her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
timcNov 21, 2005
Oh my. I saw this at the Nuart in LA and let me say, PLEASE dont spend a penny on this pretensiously lousy movie. The story is so weak, I cannot think of ANY other movie in recent memory, if EVER that has as many holes. The effects are like Oh my. I saw this at the Nuart in LA and let me say, PLEASE dont spend a penny on this pretensiously lousy movie. The story is so weak, I cannot think of ANY other movie in recent memory, if EVER that has as many holes. The effects are like something you see on a Playstation commercial (esp. the plane that crashes). The supposed highlight in fright, when the woman is walking in slow mo... Oh My Goodness! That's suposed to be scary? Not even a 5 year old kid would be scared (if you take out the screaming of the guy hiding behind the couch). To top it off, the ending is so lameTo be honest, I felt ripped off, not the cash necessarily, that was not the big deal, but it's an insult to the crowd and their friends, dates, etc. That's how I honestly felt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JennyFeb 28, 2006
Loved it. There were a few cheeseball scenes, but overall was a creepy departure from the usual. I found many scenes absolutely riveting and original, depsite somewhat of a lack of cohesive narrative to drive the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KelR.Jun 23, 2006
This movie seemed like it was made in the 80's or something because of poor clarity. Besides that, and the fact you have to read subtitles, it's astoundingly great. The story of this movie is top notch, and ths special effects will This movie seemed like it was made in the 80's or something because of poor clarity. Besides that, and the fact you have to read subtitles, it's astoundingly great. The story of this movie is top notch, and ths special effects will blow you away. Simply put if you LOVE asian horror than you MUST see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CharlottePApr 13, 2011
Unnerving, but slightly irksome and glacially-paced Japanese horror film that didn't quite deliver on its promise. It's a precursor to the glut of similar films that followed it, and might be appreciated more if you have never seen DarkUnnerving, but slightly irksome and glacially-paced Japanese horror film that didn't quite deliver on its promise. It's a precursor to the glut of similar films that followed it, and might be appreciated more if you have never seen Dark Water, The Grudge, or the Ring, shallow though that sounds; although you can appreciate the artistry you're left bemused. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PanchogulMay 19, 2020
Esta película es un poco difícil de apreciar por lo bizarra y ambigua que puede resultar ser la trama, la cual a simple vista es muy simple, pero el desarrollo tiende a ser un poco errático y complejo de entender, aún así es toda una joya delEsta película es un poco difícil de apreciar por lo bizarra y ambigua que puede resultar ser la trama, la cual a simple vista es muy simple, pero el desarrollo tiende a ser un poco errático y complejo de entender, aún así es toda una joya del cine asiático y se las ingenia para ser espeluznante y lúgubre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews