Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 11, 2002
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 294 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
246
Mixed:
25
Negative:
23
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
BrianMcCriticJun 19, 2013
After watching this movie I thought to myself what is Adam Sandler doing. This guy can really act granted Paul Thomas Anderson is brilliant, but Sandler gives an outstanding performance. I connected in so many ways with Barry and that's aAfter watching this movie I thought to myself what is Adam Sandler doing. This guy can really act granted Paul Thomas Anderson is brilliant, but Sandler gives an outstanding performance. I connected in so many ways with Barry and that's a credit to Sandler. I so hope one day after he is done making the likes of Jack and Jill and Grown Ups 2, he might get another shot at making something meaningful. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
WilloweApr 22, 2011
Trained to value mediocre plots like safety blankets, whose purpose is to explain everything in order to divorce movies from the random, surreal beauty of life, many Americans are unable to recognize the virtuosity displayed in Punch-DrunkTrained to value mediocre plots like safety blankets, whose purpose is to explain everything in order to divorce movies from the random, surreal beauty of life, many Americans are unable to recognize the virtuosity displayed in Punch-Drunk Love. PT Anderson is the most talented filmmaker born in this country since Robert Altman. This is his fourth film and he has done the impossible again: a mediation on Godardian cinema served up burger and fries style. Adam Sandler and Anderson's camera provide the meat and potatoes while Emma Watson's cool dreaminess round off the meal like cold cream. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 11, 2011
Beautiful movie by one of the best directors today. You can hardly believe that this is Adam Sandler playing the title role. He plays Barry Egan, a lonely, socially awkward man who falls in love with one of his sisters co-workers. HisBeautiful movie by one of the best directors today. You can hardly believe that this is Adam Sandler playing the title role. He plays Barry Egan, a lonely, socially awkward man who falls in love with one of his sisters co-workers. His character has more depth than any character he's played up to this point, combined! You can't take your eyes off of the screen. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticMar 5, 2014
It's queer, on the borderline of hipster. But what really makes this film noticeable is how Adam Sandler actually displays some raw talent, both comical and dramatic. The whole script has this creativity to it, that makes both question andIt's queer, on the borderline of hipster. But what really makes this film noticeable is how Adam Sandler actually displays some raw talent, both comical and dramatic. The whole script has this creativity to it, that makes both question and enjoy the film. Again, loved the Philip Seymour Hoffman scenes. If only Sandler could do more of this kind of cinema. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
richaadSep 24, 2013
Protip: don't watch this movie expecting a traditional Adam Sandler movie. If you can understand this bit, you'll "get" the movie, and you probably also understand why the reviews are so heavily divided. While this movie is definitely goofy,Protip: don't watch this movie expecting a traditional Adam Sandler movie. If you can understand this bit, you'll "get" the movie, and you probably also understand why the reviews are so heavily divided. While this movie is definitely goofy, awkward and a little cringe-inducing at times, it's also simultaneously adorably sweet, hilarious, and immensely stressful. It's not a brain-bender or an heart-wrencher, but you'll probably want a cigarette afterwords.

Just watch it and forget any notion of an Adam Sandler movie. Seriously. Just absorb everything in: the characters, palette, plot, dialogue, everything. It's completely gorgeous.

9.5/10; my only real criticism is in regards to Adam Sandler's acting in a few spots. He definitely stepped up his game (for this movie), and he is by no means a poor actor (in this movie), but there are just a few parts where he's a bit too unbelievable (which is completely forgivable).
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
Antgiog1202Jul 7, 2016
This is the fourth feature-fim of Paul Thomas Anderson and it was brilliant. For those who don't know, Adam Sandler has been known for being an unfavorably appalling actor with atrocities such as "The Waterboy," "Jack and Jill," "That's MyThis is the fourth feature-fim of Paul Thomas Anderson and it was brilliant. For those who don't know, Adam Sandler has been known for being an unfavorably appalling actor with atrocities such as "The Waterboy," "Jack and Jill," "That's My Boy," etc. However, in the well-crafted, romantic "Punch-Drunk Love" he manages to surpass all the bad performances and brings a character who is an emotionally distressed business man with realism and great chemistry with his love interest. It's all because of Anderson's outstanding direction that made this sum-what miracle happen before our very eyes.

Rating: 7/10

A+ = 10
A = 9
A- = 8
B+ = 7
B = 6
B- = 5
C+ = 4
C = 3
C- = 2.5
D+ = 2
D = 1.5
D- = 1
F = 0
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
rdaviesOct 31, 2010
ADAM SANDLER FANS READ:

Well, the very fact that most of Sandler's movies are childish incoherent blurs of unrealistic character portrayal was an early indication that I wouldn't like this movie. I was wrong. This is the only good Sandler
ADAM SANDLER FANS READ:

Well, the very fact that most of Sandler's movies are childish incoherent blurs of unrealistic character portrayal was an early indication that I wouldn't like this movie. I was wrong. This is the only good Sandler movie and his only amazing performance. PT Anderson's genius shows here, creating a masterpiece while at the same time moulding Sander into a socially inept character, telling the kind of love story that only pt anderson fans and semi-intelligent film fanatics can funny comprehend. ACTING: Amazing, Sandler should quit the crap that he does now and start realacting. All characters, even minor ones, were brilliant.

DIRECTING. PT Anderson: Enough said.

PLOT: It would be a simple plot, but the strange elements make this movie what it is, and turns it from a simple romantic comedy into a kind of surreal love tale with comedic parts included.

CINEMATOGRAPHY: The best thing about this film. Anderson knows what he's doing and again, proves why most Sandler fans don't like this movie, as they aren't used to such a complex piece of genius.

CHARACTERS: Almost like Magnolia in the way that all characters tell their own story. You feel sorry and embarrassed for Barry Egan, and then your opinions of him drastically change as the accomplished the feats during the film. Final note: If your a Sandler fan don't waste your time reviewing, you don't know what your talking about, this isn't his usual corny junk film. Watch if you are a fan of the strangely artistic film maker (Kubrick for example) and are tired of the same old repetitive romance. This is something to behold.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
brianwilson10Dec 9, 2010
this film is entangled with depth. Its not pretentious, there isnt any symbolism, its jsut connecting the dots through a few watches. I love that. The charecters work in a juxtapostion because they dont, despite faults and flaws. Its athis film is entangled with depth. Its not pretentious, there isnt any symbolism, its jsut connecting the dots through a few watches. I love that. The charecters work in a juxtapostion because they dont, despite faults and flaws. Its a relativaly 'xero to hero' story but under the wing of one of the finest directors alive whom makes it his own. Just accept it for what it is, perfectley acted, shot, ran, and ...SOUND??? obviously, notice how the music builds up to represent stress and when in hawaii its completey different. Just watch it again doubters, please, it will be worth it, its just good. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaSep 21, 2012
Another masterpiece from PTA makes Punch-Drunk Love one of the best romance movies ever made. Sandler is flawless as a lonely man struggling with anger and the pressure put on him by his sisters. This film is heartbreaking and often funnyAnother masterpiece from PTA makes Punch-Drunk Love one of the best romance movies ever made. Sandler is flawless as a lonely man struggling with anger and the pressure put on him by his sisters. This film is heartbreaking and often funny surprisingly sometimes at the same time. Paul Thomas Anderson and Christopher Nolan are the film artists of the 21`st century both uncompromising their visions to make only masterpieces. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Paul Thomas Anderson, conquering a genre new for him, succeeds brilliantly. I don't think Anderson is humanly capable of making a bad movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ThatCooperGuySep 19, 2015
A beautifully lit and shot film with a surprisingly brilliant and amusing performance from Adam Sandler. "Punch-Drunk Love" is dark, funny, sweet, and very, very charming to watch. It also has some of the best acting I've ever seen in a movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeApr 5, 2016
Adam Sandler's (Yes, it's even better than Happy Gilmore) ONLY great film that's ACTUALLY worth watching. (If one doesn't count Top Five, the Hotel Transylvania movies, or Reign Over Me).
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
The3AcademySinsOct 21, 2019
An underrated gem from Paul Thomas Anderson, Punch Drunk Love does a nearly perfect job of exploring loneliness and love. Adam Sandler gives an awesome dramatic performance as Barry Egan, a depressed, socially anxious businessman who is outAn underrated gem from Paul Thomas Anderson, Punch Drunk Love does a nearly perfect job of exploring loneliness and love. Adam Sandler gives an awesome dramatic performance as Barry Egan, a depressed, socially anxious businessman who is out of tune with his own life. Emily Watson breaks my heart in this movie, and her charisma just jumps right off the screen. Phillip Seymour Hoffman plays a great villain, and there honestly is not one weak link in the cast. The use of color and lighting in the cinematography is stunning. If you like Paul Thomas Anderson, or you want to see Adam Sandler play a serious role, or you just want to see an off-beat romantic comedy/thriller, do check out Punch Drunk Love! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeApr 22, 2018
so here we go..

Punch-Drunk Love The feature focuses on creating various high pitched dramatic sequences that mesmerizes the audience with a smart and funny script with sketchy characters. Paul Thomas Anderson; the writer-director, brings
so here we go..

Punch-Drunk Love

The feature focuses on creating various high pitched dramatic sequences that mesmerizes the audience with a smart and funny script with sketchy characters. Paul Thomas Anderson; the writer-director, brings out this eerie world from his magic hat and projects his first rom-com on his own metaphorical way. Adam Sandler is amazing and hilarious in his role and is supported by a great cast like Emily Watson and Luis Guzman. Punch-Drunk Love is not your typical rom-com as it goes into dark places where no other such genre feature would do and still amuses you in its way.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
YeetusMcGeetusOct 21, 2019
This movie is mesmerizing, romantic, sad, hilarious, and beautiful. This is a must watch for PTA fans!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
40mangunshotJan 15, 2020
One of the best films I've seen in a while. The greatest performance of Adam Sandler's career. And Paul Thomas Anderson, is a really high skilled filmmaker. Great film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TristanM.Jun 14, 2007
Everybody who hates this movie keeps complaining about how disjointed the script was, how terrible they think the dialogue was, the jarring music, how nothing makes sense, blah blah blah blah blah. How ignorant can you get? People are too Everybody who hates this movie keeps complaining about how disjointed the script was, how terrible they think the dialogue was, the jarring music, how nothing makes sense, blah blah blah blah blah. How ignorant can you get? People are too afraid to step outside the box and see things from a different perspective because they are too used to being spoon-fed the same formulaic Hollywood garbage where everything has to be explained and make sense. The reason why most of the professional critics gave the film such good reviews (and why P.T. Anderson won the Best Director award at the Cannes Film Festival for this movie) is because they're used to seeing a variety of movies, some which strive to be different, others that don't. If all you allow yourself to see is the typical Hollywood film (including typical Adam Sandler comedies), then of course you're not going to recognize and appreciate the beauty of this film. Start watching movies from other countries (or more American independent cinema) and you'll quickly see that there are THOUSANDS of movies out there that don't make sense, that don't explain everything, and don't rely on dialogue. Hollywood films rely on dialogue; you can more or less tell what's going on in the movie just by listening, without even having to see it. Punch-Drunk Love (and other examples of art cinema) are usually more concerned with the visual look than they are with dialogue or plot, since cinema is a VISUAL medium. Look at the shots and editing in Punch-Drunk Love. If you don't remember what they looked like, then you weren't paying attention. Go back and watch the film again and note how the color and cinematography and editing are different than a typical Hollywood film. Do you think it's easy to make a film like that, to rely on less editing like P.T. Anderson does? Anybody who has experience making movies knows that it's much harder to shoot a film using long takes and a moving camera than the safer, easier to manipulate rapid editing of a typical Hollywood film. Watch the movie again with an open mind and think about that. And watch more non-Hollywood movies; after a while, you'll start to see why somebody might love this movie so much. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
Andys_ReviewsDec 2, 2012
Without doubt the best performance I
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Oct 9, 2014
Nearly as strange and offbeat as it is warm and endearing, Paul Thomas Anderson's "Punch Drunk Love" succeeds as a funny and character driven dramedy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
bladeagentMar 1, 2014
Adam Sandler is something to behold in this movie. Watching this, you could imagine him in Robin Williams roles. He has darkness and obsession that not every actor can reach.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
QDXHB1Feb 24, 2020
Paul Thomas Anderson once again proves that he is a skilled, nuanced, and unmatched force in the field of movie making with his 4th 4th feature film, Punch-Drunk Love. Written and directed by Anderson, it stars Adam Sandler, Emily Watson,Paul Thomas Anderson once again proves that he is a skilled, nuanced, and unmatched force in the field of movie making with his 4th 4th feature film, Punch-Drunk Love. Written and directed by Anderson, it stars Adam Sandler, Emily Watson, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Luis Guzmán and Mary Lynn Rajskub. Sandler plays an entrepreneur with severe social anxiety who is set up on a date with his sister's co-worker. The two immediately fall in love, but he is forced to defend his new love interest and himself from extortionists.
With Andersons 1999 film Magnolia, He once again delivered his signature style of slick camera work, memorable characters, and unique plot structures. But Anderson made a bit of a shift from his straight forward, grounded, dramedy, Boogie Nights. Boogie nights was a great sophomore film that made New Line Cinema a lot of money and with his Anderson's next film they were for sure going to be giving him a lot more freedom and liberty to make what he wanted. So Anderson took advantage of this and made a 3 hour drama about loneliness and reflecting on the past. It's riddled with metaphors, contemplative visual imagery and an all-star cast that all give unbelievable performances, (especially Tom Cruise). It's a brilliant film and certainly proved just how versatile of a filmmaker he could be. It's also one of P.T.A's best in my opinion. Now after a 3 year gap he has returned to the same style of filmmaking that he experimented on with Magnolia of metaphorical and abstract imagery. Alright, Imma be honest with you guys. Remember how I said I think that Magnolia is one of P.T.A's best? Well, to tell you the truth... I think Punch-Drunk Love is just a little better. I'm fully serious. This is actually better than Magnolia in my opinion. I think that Karsten Runquist, (@RunquistKarsten), said it best that this movie gives me a "high" while watching it. Paul Thomas Anderson has really hit it out of the park with this one. Adam Sandler as Berry Egan is amazing, easily one of his best performances because of the way he controls his tone in certain scenes. For example, his sudden outbursts and the way that Sandler portrays those outbursts, it's easy to tell that this man is bottling up an anger and Sandler does a great job with the character. And don't even get me started on Phillip Seymour Hoffman's performance as Dean Trumbell the mattress salesman.
From the opening sequence of colors, light, and shapes you can tell that the film will be using some abstract visuals, which is why it is such a great opening tone setter. The other color sequences as well serve as great tone setters for the following scenes. For example the final color sequence is very fast and jarring which is why the following scenes are so aggressive and the story comes to an emotional climax.
The script is very unconventional and also a little ingenious because of its embrace of violence, unrealistic dialogue, (like when Berry's sister Elizabeth wants the three of them to get coffee), and its depiction of love and the sensation that comes along with it all.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mooradj0Sep 11, 2013
Whimsical, Nietzschean, Beautiful. Jon Brion's score is the perfect complement to this story of a man coming into his own. Paul Thomas Anderson has an eye for shots and cinema all his own. Loved it.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
LatinCritic13Jul 30, 2017
Punch Drunk Love is arguably by far the best film that Adam Sandler ever starred in since Reign Over Me. Despite his participation in other idiotic movies that Sandler was in, he actually proves that he can actually act in a film that is veryPunch Drunk Love is arguably by far the best film that Adam Sandler ever starred in since Reign Over Me. Despite his participation in other idiotic movies that Sandler was in, he actually proves that he can actually act in a film that is very well directed and written by the experimental Paul Thomas Anderson himself. This movie is colorful and wacky of how this movie's story is set up. Everything ranging from the mistaken phone sex all the way to the punch drunk romance with his lovebird really does shine a light. This movie is so exciting and gripping that made me liked it a lot. Since this is a film directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, there is no doubt that this film is easily one of the best films I have ever seen since Boogie Nights. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DrewD.Jan 10, 2009
It is really a testament to the sadness of America that half of them cannot appreciate a film like this. Most of them just think it is dumb--they say it is "disjointed" or that the leads have "no chemistry". This is what doing nothing but It is really a testament to the sadness of America that half of them cannot appreciate a film like this. Most of them just think it is dumb--they say it is "disjointed" or that the leads have "no chemistry". This is what doing nothing but watching TV and standard Hollywood films does to your brain: you can't understand real human relationships (which are not "explainable" and are in fact "random", at least for most of us), you can't empathize with those who clearly have some sort of disorder, and can't figure out the unity of an actually pretty straightforward film, by artistic cinematic standards. Then, perhaps even worse, there are a group who recognize that they can't understand the film, but are too proud to admit it and accuse the film of being "pretentious" and full of "fake symbolism". I am not surprised though, that those who were expecting a standard Adam Sandler film, where you are supposed to laugh at someone who is different, didn't like this film, where you are supposed to feel for someone who is different. A shame. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
gamerguy2123Jun 16, 2012
If you didn't like this move you probably shop at wal-mart, loved transformers, and probably don't have much depth. This is probably one of Adam Sandlers best performances as an actor and will always be one of my favorites. "Hey Barry,If you didn't like this move you probably shop at wal-mart, loved transformers, and probably don't have much depth. This is probably one of Adam Sandlers best performances as an actor and will always be one of my favorites. "Hey Barry, remember when we used to call you Gay Boy?" hahaha, great film. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
seancriswellSep 12, 2012
A very interesting character study into the psyche of a man who has some flaws that he is fully aware of and trying to repress and deal with. Good work by Sandler, the scene of his character dancing in the middle of the grocery aisle whileA very interesting character study into the psyche of a man who has some flaws that he is fully aware of and trying to repress and deal with. Good work by Sandler, the scene of his character dancing in the middle of the grocery aisle while his employee is stocking up on the goods that will get him to his destination, is poignant, priceless, and ultimately the scene that will stick with me when I think back on this film. This is one of those films where multiple viewings would be enjoyable and helpful. Anderson is doing so much with these characters but also visually with the framing and color throughout that there is a lot to take in. Not enough here for me to put it in my upper tier of movies, but more than enough for me to continue to enjoy and remember this movie for years to come. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
inyourendoJul 14, 2012
Another excellent film from Paul-Thomas Anderson, i thought the chaos and awkwardness of the lead was developed excellently leaving me feeling his pain and anxiety. The chemistry between the two leads was good, however i didn't think theAnother excellent film from Paul-Thomas Anderson, i thought the chaos and awkwardness of the lead was developed excellently leaving me feeling his pain and anxiety. The chemistry between the two leads was good, however i didn't think the chances of Barry actually getting the girl were realistic. Overall a great film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 22, 2013
This is no Adam Sandler movie. This is a work of art. Punch-Drunk Love was a very engaging movie to watch. Watching Adam Sandler go from his brain-dead comedies to giving a tremendous performance as Barry Egan still amazes me today. ThatThis is no Adam Sandler movie. This is a work of art. Punch-Drunk Love was a very engaging movie to watch. Watching Adam Sandler go from his brain-dead comedies to giving a tremendous performance as Barry Egan still amazes me today. That right there is one of the biggest reasons why this movie is just tremendous. Adam really gives you the performance of a lifetime. Also, the storyline works together beautifully. Plus, alongside Adam's outstanding performance is Philip Seymour Hoffman who once again gives a great performance in P.T. Anderson movie. The story also has some great screenplay. Honestly, i didn't think the movie was going to be half as good as I thought it was going to be, but boy was I wrong. Overall, it's underrated P.T. Anderson and Adam Sandler movie that needs more recognition. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
2016Jun 30, 2016
Punch Drunk-Love is a bit slow initially, but the movie has a good graceful, romantic and dramatic conclusion, Sandler playing the role of the depressive one it contributes the only humor that has the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
GerardistheWayAug 17, 2016
The fourth film by Paul Thomas Anderson is easily my favorite rom-com, and the only one in the genre that I can honestly say I enjoyed. Adam Sandler, who has been spiraling downward further into a state of mediocrity, ought to take hints onThe fourth film by Paul Thomas Anderson is easily my favorite rom-com, and the only one in the genre that I can honestly say I enjoyed. Adam Sandler, who has been spiraling downward further into a state of mediocrity, ought to take hints on writing and acting from this film, which is easily one of his best.

The story follows Barry Egan, a lonely, emotionally unbalanced man who juggles selling toilet plungers with his accident-prone workers, putting up with his seven overbearing older sisters, and late-night phone sex. Yeah, that last one doesn't work out so well for him, as when the company (operated out of a Utah mattress store) attempts to extort him for more money they stalk his work phone and send thugs after him, from whom he runs on foot on a deserted street while they pursue in a pickup truck. All of this is coincidentally happening while he's trying to strike a connection with a co-worker of his sister's...Can't a guy get a break? Regardless, Barry navigates these difficulties to the best of his abilities with alternating calm, slightly worried submissiveness and outright brutal rage. The switch is pretty entertaining to watch.

Now upon viewing this film, all of the jokes might not be immediately evident, as they shouldn't; this isn't the kind of cheap, gag-reliant humor you find in most mainstream comedy films these days. The laughs have a tendency to sneak up on you--the jokes are more subtle and non-conventional (Anderson somehow finds a way to make a car crash and random abandonment of a harmonium close to the beginning of the film hilarious) in a way that not many people can appreciate anymore. This is intelligent humor, rather than the tired garbage populating Sandler's more recent attempts (looking at you, "The Do-Over").

As an added bonus, this film gives Sandler the opportunity to show off his true acting range, and rather than being the one-trick pony we're used to seeing him as he is at once darkly serious, inanely goofy, and instantly likable, and the ease with which Sandler goes from push-over to the one doing the shoving will make you need to do a double-take. The relatability of Barry is one of the most appealing things about his character; we've all had high and low points during romance, as well as loves so strong we thought we'd run follow that person to Hawaii if that's what it took (Oh, wait a second...). The supporting roles are played with brilliance and both support and complement the lead role, whether it be Philip Seymour Hoffman (a frequent Anderson collaborator until his untimely demise) as the mobster-esque owner of the Provo mattress store, Luis Guzman as Barry's dedicated second-in-command Lance, or Emily Watson as Lena, the object of Barry's affection who's given much more to do and say in this film than she was in "Equilibrium".

The time spent on character development is one of my favorite things about this movie; when we first meet Barry, he's a lonely workaholic who seems frightened and confused by the world outside the safety bubble of his garage workstation, so awkward with Lena in their first discussion that he can barely maintain eye contact with her. By the end of the film his confidence has markedly improved, and indeed he seems like a new man, displaying a skill with the discarded harmonium (which he decided to take) that he had previously kept hidden. So deeply has Lena affected him that he, slowly but surely, begins making major changes in his life: he acts on impulse rather than retreating to the safety of his office, stands up to his sister (at least one of them) and follows the former on a business trip using enormous quantities of frequent flier miles amassed from buying pudding (one of Anderson's signature side-plots to keep your interest when things seem to be getting slow).

The completely oddball nature of Barry and Lena's romance makes it noticeably different than the ones found in many rom-coms: it's fresher, more unique and original, and is a breath of fresh air into the genre. Paul Thomas Anderson has yet to make a bad movie, and in his collaboration with Adam Sandler he finds just the right mix of drama, humor, and sweetness that will soften the heart of even the coldest movie-goer. 9/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerAug 13, 2017
What starts off as a slowly paced and rather odd movie, quickly opens up into a meaningful tale about a lonely, socially awkward man who is mistreated by family that doesn't understand him, confused by his own actions, gets himself involvedWhat starts off as a slowly paced and rather odd movie, quickly opens up into a meaningful tale about a lonely, socially awkward man who is mistreated by family that doesn't understand him, confused by his own actions, gets himself involved in a dangerous phone-sex scam, and meets someone he falls in love with. It's about growth. About finding out who you are, coming out of your shell, standing up for yourself and discovering what you are willing to fight for. Oh, and it's about falling in love.

The thing holding the movie together is Adam Sandler's incredible performance as "Barry." The movie really shows why Sandler should step out of his box more. He even outshines the incredibly talented and critically acclaimed director behind the whole thing. Dare I say it, if Paul Thomas Anderson had tried to make this movie with anyone else other than Sandler, the results probably wouldn't have been this good. It would have been harder to overlook the nonsensical moments the director throws in or his intentionally cheap, amateurish camera work (most evident in the way it pans the screen). All of which feels kind of pretentious. The remarkable thing is that none of this really feels all that far out of Sandler's wheelhouse. It's not the majority of the stuff he's been in hasn't had him playing as a character with anger problems before. The difference is that the material here is just deeper and requires more range from him. It's amazing that more people aren't taking advantage of this. That they can't see what Anderson saw in him. I don't blame other people in Hollywood kind of losing faith in him and not wanting to give him a chance based on all those critically panned comedies he's made over the years. Especially lately where even as a fan I have to admit he hasn't been trying as hard as he used to. Still, it's not as though he hasn't come out of his comfort zone following this. He's shown he can rise to the occasion for more serious material in film's like Reign Over Me or Spanglish, among others. Come one people, throw the man a bone. He's still got it in him to deliver movies like this.

Punch-Drunk Love proves to be a meaningful, romantic, and at times outright hilarious dark comedy that features an outstanding performance from an actor who most people wouldn't and still don't think is capable of one. The movie even manages to get it out of him while playing to a few of his expected strengths in the process. Simply put, the movie gives one of cinema's biggest critical punching bags some good material from a proven director and lets us watch him rise to the occasion. Sandler even elevates to something even more special as a result. Highly recommended.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
OlivierPielJun 28, 2020
Clearly one of this early century's masterpiece of American art. Because it is a symphonic celebration of America's heart: generous but idiotic, impulsive and violent but honest, narrow-minded and egocentric but loving heart. A heart lost inClearly one of this early century's masterpiece of American art. Because it is a symphonic celebration of America's heart: generous but idiotic, impulsive and violent but honest, narrow-minded and egocentric but loving heart. A heart lost in a modern, chaotic, senseless world that it doesn't understand, rationally, and can only be conquered through intuition (the quixotic mileage quest made only sense if there is a purpose suchas following your loved one). Another reviewer courageously called it Nietzschean and he was right.
The saturation of light in many scenes where Sandler emerges and vanishes like from or into another world, the "beautiful alienation" created by the phone calls (à la Paris-Texas), etc... are visual leitmotivs just as certain phrases in a musical piece. Let's not forget the introduction of the movie, with its fantastic shot of chaos and randomness that announce a magical event, the arrival of love. And I forget a lot of other beautiful stuff.
Brilliant.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
TheCurseOfGilbertMulroneycakesDec 6, 2002
Lucy L: you didn't see it from the start, nimrod. Everyone else who gave it a yellowred score I imagine would be previous Sandler fans angry that he's decided to make a subtle, intelligent movie aimed at more than him and his Lucy L: you didn't see it from the start, nimrod. Everyone else who gave it a yellowred score I imagine would be previous Sandler fans angry that he's decided to make a subtle, intelligent movie aimed at more than him and his friends. Hey, I respect Sandler - I don't like his work, but many many do, and he makes them all happy in a wierd sort of way, so kudos. Also he seems a lovely, wonderfully self-deprecating sort of a bloke - but the rut of dumb gross-out after dumb gross-out had to be broken sooner or later. And it has been, with the help of Paul Thomas the Anderson. It's not quite his third masterpiece (after Boogie Nights and the ultra-Sandlerfan-alienating Magnolia) but it's close. And Sandler's great. Shame he made Mr Deeds and Eight (sigh) Crazy Nights immediately afterwards. Still, at least he has this. At least we know he can do it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
theunholymesiahSep 25, 2013
The first time I saw this movie I absolutely loved it. After seeing it a couple of times after the effect isn't as strong but I still love it. Any doubters on Adam Sandler and his acting ability haven't seen this film. This would have to beThe first time I saw this movie I absolutely loved it. After seeing it a couple of times after the effect isn't as strong but I still love it. Any doubters on Adam Sandler and his acting ability haven't seen this film. This would have to be the best performance I've seen from him. Not much happens in the first half hour but after that it becomes so interesting. It's not always funny but there are some very funny bits. The romance between the two I loved so much, they get along so well and they're not the perfect specimens. This isn't Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence these are two average and kinda weird people. Paul Thomas Anderson has some really interesting cinematography and music. I can understand why people wouldn't find it that great or if they didn't get it at all but I really enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
tonybobNov 10, 2005
I loved this movie. i was a little hesitant about buying it based on the reviews given but am so i happy i did. i didnt see one thing about it not a boring seen i wonder if people have seen the same movie as me because i didnt see one I loved this movie. i was a little hesitant about buying it based on the reviews given but am so i happy i did. i didnt see one thing about it not a boring seen i wonder if people have seen the same movie as me because i didnt see one imperfection about it. this movie was brilliant funny and everything you could ask for in a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenQ.Jul 28, 2006
A dark romantic-comedy about love and how everyone deserves it, even the neurotic. This isn't Billy Madison, this is a dark, gritty and surprisingly uplifting romance. I think of it as a lesser Tony Takitani (another great indie flick). A dark romantic-comedy about love and how everyone deserves it, even the neurotic. This isn't Billy Madison, this is a dark, gritty and surprisingly uplifting romance. I think of it as a lesser Tony Takitani (another great indie flick). If you've ever felt Napoleon Dynamite-ish and been depressed, this is the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MauroG.Oct 13, 2005
Increible!!! Indescriptible!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattBrady99Jan 28, 2017
"I sometimes cry a lot....for no reason."

This is the Adam Sandler I'd like to see more of. He's performance was both funny and heart-breaking at the same time. But I couldn't bring myself to watch another Sandler film after this. He's
"I sometimes cry a lot....for no reason."

This is the Adam Sandler I'd like to see more of. He's performance was both funny and heart-breaking at the same time. But I couldn't bring myself to watch another Sandler film after this. He's gotten so lazy and doesn't bother staring in theses type of movies anymore. This film perfectly demonstrates that he's capable of more than what he's famous for. You can see the boiling rage inside of Sandler character and tries to contain it. He acts nice around other people and finds joy in the strangest way.

There's nothing else quite like it. The lighting, camera movements, framing, timing, and EXTREME attention to detail bring this film to a whole other level. Paul Thomas Anderson is lighting in the bottle.

Oh and Philip Seymour Hoffman stole the show with his "SHUT UP!".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AJ_13Nov 12, 2021
So warm and heartfelt. Loved the craziness in the script, editing, score and of course, performances. PTA really does everything well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HabibiehakimAug 22, 2021
Finally one Sandler's movie that i can call "Masterpiece", Punch-Drunk Love is not only another level of a movie but it's another level performance from Sandler's too, added with Jon Brion incredible score and amazing cinematography,Finally one Sandler's movie that i can call "Masterpiece", Punch-Drunk Love is not only another level of a movie but it's another level performance from Sandler's too, added with Jon Brion incredible score and amazing cinematography, Punch-Drunk Love is simply Sandler's Masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NickTheCritickNov 3, 2021
This movie is amazing. I read somewhere that he wanted to give homage to Jerry Lee Lewis romantic comedies and I would say that it perfectly succeed in its intent. This comedy is atypical and beautifully odd as the two main charactersThis movie is amazing. I read somewhere that he wanted to give homage to Jerry Lee Lewis romantic comedies and I would say that it perfectly succeed in its intent. This comedy is atypical and beautifully odd as the two main characters perfectly played by Adam Sandler and Emily Watson that give incredible performances showing to be among the finest actors. What a movie by PTA! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SuperbaDMIkeJun 17, 2022
Punch-Drunk Love is a great movie with a surprisingly great performance from Adam Sandler but is not the only one that gets Adam Sandler's drama skills up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews