Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 2, 2018
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 310 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
101
Negative:
81
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
EliOli123May 13, 2019
My wife and I saw the previews for this movie while watching another one. It looked like it was going to be a pretty decent movie in the Spy genre from what we saw, so we picked up a copy. It started out well, but the graphic rape scenes,My wife and I saw the previews for this movie while watching another one. It looked like it was going to be a pretty decent movie in the Spy genre from what we saw, so we picked up a copy. It started out well, but the graphic rape scenes, nudity and just the subject matter of training these young people to be whores was absolutely disgusting. When we saw the naked lead actress obeying orders to spread her legs for the man that just tried to rape her earlier, that was enough for us. The blue ray disc was popped out, broken in half and tossed into the trash. Absolutely disgusting. We watch movies to be entertained, not to feel violated. They could have gotten their points across without these graphic scenes. We just couldn't take it any more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
paulraisedFeb 3, 2019
Hollywood keeps mashing the cold war concept with current times, and that doesn't work. The movie feels out of place, it can't shake the feeling that something is not right. That makes it a failure, like The Sum of All Fears. Also LawrenceHollywood keeps mashing the cold war concept with current times, and that doesn't work. The movie feels out of place, it can't shake the feeling that something is not right. That makes it a failure, like The Sum of All Fears. Also Lawrence doesn't help with her blank face void of emotion. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
ch1pKaJan 24, 2019
Nonsense impersonating history. Endless holes in the plot and his despondency do not give the right to this video to be called a film. For complete idiocy there are not enough drunken bears driving around on the red square, on unicycle.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobJan 19, 2019
The performances are ok but the characters are pretty stereotypical and the plot is nothing to write home about. The overuse of sex throughout the movie was clearly used in an attempt to mask any shortcomings and they do a poor job of doingThe performances are ok but the characters are pretty stereotypical and the plot is nothing to write home about. The overuse of sex throughout the movie was clearly used in an attempt to mask any shortcomings and they do a poor job of doing just that. It's watchable but that's about the only good thing I can say about it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
AlextheamazingRJul 15, 2018
Awful and sexist movie, the acting and direction very basic, the plot confusing and stupid.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Arthur_RevanJul 13, 2018
**** **** ****!!!!
Anyone who likes this piece of **** is a deranged idiot!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
NeronFStyleJul 13, 2018
I can describe this only as an "insulting" film. Characters have no motivation, poor acting. This anti-soviet/anti-russian propaganda would be nice back in 50's. Feels bad it's 2018.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
section20mi6Jun 14, 2018
An artistically boring storyline accompanied with cliche character narratives, Red Sparrow is simply awful in its direction, making the film one of the most atrocious representation of espionage.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
namelessJun 11, 2018
This film is unwatchable. I waited to see it on the plane. I tried 3 times and had to turn it off each time it was so bad. The fake accent, the same expression, the one dimensional characters she plays. So I fast forwarded to the end; herThis film is unwatchable. I waited to see it on the plane. I tried 3 times and had to turn it off each time it was so bad. The fake accent, the same expression, the one dimensional characters she plays. So I fast forwarded to the end; her expression was still the same. So if you think the movie might get better when it reaches cable, I'm sorry to tell you it doesn't, but at least you can turn it off. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
DarkArtJun 6, 2018
The russians were again shown as villains. Again this primitive! Writers and director russophobes who do not have any clever ideas.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
just_whyMay 13, 2018
If you enjoy flicks where you can guess accurately:
(a) the ending in the first 15 minutes
(b) the characters nationality by their penchant for inhumanity and want to be surprised by the amount of crass rape/gore/torture scenes, you'll really
If you enjoy flicks where you can guess accurately:
(a) the ending in the first 15 minutes
(b) the characters nationality by their penchant for inhumanity
and want to be surprised by the amount of crass rape/gore/torture scenes, you'll really love the experience.
For everyone else, do yourself a solid one and stay away.

The movie dons a pseudo-dark exterior to swindle the spy thriller masses, but what you get out of it are one too many "seen that one coming", usually followed by "I wish I could unsee that".
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
supemoneylifeApr 17, 2018
really boring and slow movie. acting is wooden imo. the whole thing is predictable
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
2
tcoph2020Mar 28, 2018
This movie had unnecessary gory violence. I was looking to have an enjoyable time but had to put my hand over my eyes several times. I almost walked out three times but held in there. Would not recommend this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
AlexsaysMar 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is the first movie that made me to leave the cinema before the end. I was trying to enjoy it but I don't know where to start, I was there for 40 mins, hoping that something was going to be at least better than the previous scene, but nope, so finally I decided that if they took my money, they were not going to steal my time.

Acting was wrong, awfully wrong, but it wasn't the worst, in fact it was the less wrong stuff of all this ""movie"" (because is not a movie, is just more anti-russian propaganda), what about Jennifer Lawrence being raped because... I still don't know the reason?, I guess the director just wanted to see her nude and in that manner, so that brings me to -> is this casting (director, plot writer, etc) a casting of criminals? I don't know if that STRONG word would fit them, but definitely something is wrong with them, the hate that they show (on purpouse) on this movie, is just aaaaawful.

Don't go to watch this... THING, you will completely spoil your time on it.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
bigscreen454Mar 11, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red sparrow made an attempt at flying, fluttered for a little bit, but then belly flopped into the pool of the local Russian YMCA. She walks thru the rest of the film as a cold wet bird struggling to find herself.

I have no doubt that this film, which netted J Law unprecedented millions of Denaro for just showing up and talking in a concocted Russian accent will get the Oscar nod during award season.

The plot is mostly about loss, yet at times I am at a loss for words. She breaks her leg in a freak ballet accident (who knew ballet could be so dangerous?) and then things just keep getting worse for her along the way, including a couple rape scenes.

Spoiler Alert: J Law couldnt hit a golf ball inside of a steam room of the local Russian YMCA to save her life. She should definately stick to being a ballerina.

The film was formidably watchable for the most part only until the end where a plot twist that makes absolutely zero sense occurs. The confused little bird tries to make out with her uncle and then strangely gets him shot just to upset her American lover. If this moment was important then the director certainly failed to build it up. Makes me think Rian Johnson rewrote this script it’s so bad. Go see it, but only if you like torture (literally).
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
JonnyMentholMar 11, 2018
Absolutely horrible and not in the way it wants to be, simply a bad film. Acting by Lawrence was pretty decent everything else...just bad. I can't believe critics are giving films like this positive reviews when they Bomb films with anyAbsolutely horrible and not in the way it wants to be, simply a bad film. Acting by Lawrence was pretty decent everything else...just bad. I can't believe critics are giving films like this positive reviews when they Bomb films with any funding by Netflix which in general are much better than this trash. Do yourself a favour, save the money and give this a skip. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
BooyahMediaMar 10, 2018
the first half is basically just a porno and it was so painfully slow! cut off the graphic sex scenes as well speed it up a bit and would have been a much better movie! shame, not her best work.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
Mr_FMar 10, 2018
A terrible, deeply disturbing movie. It tries to shock you but for no other reason than shocking itself. It's empty and the plot is primitive, it has cliche over cliche multiplied by violence. I must admit, camera work is pretty great, andA terrible, deeply disturbing movie. It tries to shock you but for no other reason than shocking itself. It's empty and the plot is primitive, it has cliche over cliche multiplied by violence. I must admit, camera work is pretty great, and that makes for a great trailer, but not enough for a good movie. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
1
clifbarMar 9, 2018
One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time. Amateurish plot was hard to follow. Hard to understand what was being said. Two great actors were wasted on this movie.
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
amheretojudgeMar 3, 2018
what have you done..

Red Sparrow Being rich and clean visually, the feature endorses intensity and practicality capturing some indigestible brutal scenes depicting the clear genuine effort and hard work that went behind the stage which
what have you done..

Red Sparrow

Being rich and clean visually, the feature endorses intensity and practicality capturing some indigestible brutal scenes depicting the clear genuine effort and hard work that went behind the stage which unfortunately makes it more sad in the end as it nullifies everything to zero. A common mistake while creating such character driven feature is that if the characters and the offered environment to the audience isn't intriguing enough to invest in it, the movie starts to fade off slowly but surely in front of their eyes. Francis Lawrence is definitely not short on execution but what lacks is enough material to feed the audience for more than 2 hours and hence fails to offer any lose thread to hold them. Jennifer Lawrence aces on her side of the act and is supported too with a great cast like Joel Edgerton and Jeremy Irons saving the 'performance' objective of the feature. Red Sparrow is a slow pill whose attempt may be admirable but won't connect to the viewers in any tone for it fails on offering gripping content, better editing and a genuine reason or soul.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
CandsMar 3, 2018
This is an R rated film, but in fact it should be X rated! To say that the director went too far would be an under statement. Scenes of violence, explicit sex and sex crimes have left me feeling violated! My husband and I went to watch theThis is an R rated film, but in fact it should be X rated! To say that the director went too far would be an under statement. Scenes of violence, explicit sex and sex crimes have left me feeling violated! My husband and I went to watch the movie for our date night last night, expecting an exciting action thriller. Instead we were met with an indecent pornographic film. At one point I really wanted to leave the cinema, but the cinema was packed and I didn't want to cause a scene. If this is the type of movie we have resorted to calling entertainment, then I am deeply saddened for humanity. Anyone with any sense of decency will simply find this movie a violation of all that they are. Not to mention the fact that the Russian accents were so poor and many of the actors would even slip out of their accent! Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinMar 2, 2018
Usually, the best thing about a movie Jennifer Lawrence is in is her being in it and she is the best thing in “Red Sparrow”.

The set up is simple with a Russian ballerina suffering a career-ending accident during a performance and is forced,
Usually, the best thing about a movie Jennifer Lawrence is in is her being in it and she is the best thing in “Red Sparrow”.

The set up is simple with a Russian ballerina suffering a career-ending accident during a performance and is forced, by her pedophile uncle, to go to a Russian intelligence school referred to “Sparrow School”, where sex and body are used as weapons, in order to continue taking care of her sick mother.

From then on we are watching a convoluted screenplay by Justin Haythe that is even more confusing when tried to explain at the end and, in my opinion, does or doesn’t point a finger at the mother.

The sex, of which there is plenty, and a lot of nudity, is gratuitous and worse, boring. The violence is almost to the point of the audience vomiting along with some of the movie’s characters. The British Board of Film Classifications had the film to take out parts of a particular scene—I wish they had taken it out completely!—to get a less certification for strong, sadistic violence. Rated is “R” in the USA for ‘strong violence, torture, sexual content, language and, yes, smoking’!

The direction by Francis Lawrence is haphazard and very slow moving for what is a spy thriller. The ‘love story’ is far from believable and there doesn’t seem to be any ‘heat’ by the two stars.

Jennifer Lawrence has a couple of striking scenes, one as the ballerina and one of her in a sparkling red dress that is more interesting than anything that happens in this movie.

Her co-stars do their best but with a bad script, a very talky, slow-moving 139 minutes spy thriller that doesn’t really thrill, “Red Sparrow” a book trilogy should start and end with this one.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews