IFC Midnight | Release Date: January 13, 2023
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
9
Mixed:
2
Negative:
13
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
saxboychair2Jan 18, 2023
Fascinating movie with many interesting ideas and elements. Felt like being in a dream
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
einsteJan 16, 2023
Saw this film in theaters and it got booed. There are a couple of scenes that are very tense and some interesting ideas that just go no where. The pacing is abysmally slow. 95% of this movie is literally looking a indecipherable dark footageSaw this film in theaters and it got booed. There are a couple of scenes that are very tense and some interesting ideas that just go no where. The pacing is abysmally slow. 95% of this movie is literally looking a indecipherable dark footage of walls in a house. Do you think walls are scary? Then this movie will terrify you. I recommend going and watching some Back Rooms videos on YouTube. If you love those you MIGHT be the audience for this strange movie. Otherwise I can't recommend it. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
odysseus420Jan 15, 2023
The trailer looked interesting but I was bored through most of the movie, it's not particularly scary or interesting and the way it's filmed gets obnoxious very quickly.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
jo-bunkerJan 13, 2023
A flat experience and an almost complete waste of time. The director seemed to enjoy crafting and processing his film, that much can be said… But man, what a bore it was for everybody else in the theater room…!
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
xylopyloJan 14, 2023
I seriously cannot understand how this movie doesn't have more bad reviews. I sat in the theater baffled at how I hadn't seen any warning about how frighteningly dull this movie really is.

If you enjoy staring at the tops of doorways, an
I seriously cannot understand how this movie doesn't have more bad reviews. I sat in the theater baffled at how I hadn't seen any warning about how frighteningly dull this movie really is.

If you enjoy staring at the tops of doorways, an unmoving hallway wall, legos, and an old childeren's cartoon, then this is going to be the most thrilling 100 minutes of your life, now if that doesn't sound fun to you, then you're with me.

From what I can tell from others, it seems that people find this to be a "Horror genre changing movie" but instead of action in this new form of genre we're gearing toward awful visuals, literal minutes of nothing on screen and no audio other than a god awful static. The whole movie looks as if it were filmed on a literal brick which makes it nauseating to watch and have I already mentioned the static noise? Let me mention it again, it gets old really fast.

You may ask what about any of these things relates this frighteningly dull movie to anything in a horror genre. After maybe an hour you get your first "jumpscare" which is one of the kids screaming at a toy and blowing out the mic. Now, we don't really see either of the children or the parents through the movie as the whole thing is told by minimal dialogue as the camera focuses on one of the seven different walls or sets they have in the movie.

I was genuinely about to fall asleep several times from the dark and uninteresting visuals only disturbed by a one off phrase or something like the television playing which kept me from really falling asleep. Honestly this could have been released as an audio file played over a blank screen and one would have the same experience listening as I did watching it. There are parts where the movie will rewind the same scene, then play it forward again, then rewind, and so on which honestly feels sloppy and lazy. It feels like there was maybe 15 to 30 minutes worth of content and the rest is pure padding, and not the kind to make you suspenseful, but rather like a rollercoaster that doesn't climb or doesn't drop, simply going around a level circle.

If I weren't at a theater with family I would have walked out after maybe 7 minutes. I know for a fact if it was put on at home, we would have gotten 5 minutes in, realized you can't see anything, given it another 2 to get better and then turned it off.

I really tried to give this movie a chance, but in the end it was obvious why me and my two family members were the only ones in the theater. I expect more from a movie, even one with that low of a budget. If you think that staring at walls and doorframes in the dark is for you, at least save yourself the money from a ticket and just do it at home.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
ReubenIsAGodJan 13, 2023
Movie is reallly slow. Not much actually happens. But once the genuine horror of the situation starts to sink-in it gets genuinely quite scary. I couldn't even really watch the whole film. It plays so heavily on primal fears of the dark andMovie is reallly slow. Not much actually happens. But once the genuine horror of the situation starts to sink-in it gets genuinely quite scary. I couldn't even really watch the whole film. It plays so heavily on primal fears of the dark and the disgusting feeling of proper isolation in liminal spaces. If you're wanting something that feels like a youtube ARG but has a sinking feeling of dread, totally recommended. (My brother and dad watched the movie, whilst I would sorta peak around the corner because it spooked me way too much) Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
DamionsanJan 14, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. saw his wall socket 13 times each shot spanned about 3 minutes. Good little trailer for the movie though Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
NoahLipseyJan 14, 2023
Skinamarink is a masterclass in ambient horror. Kyle Edward Ball displays his brand of minimalist cinematography to convey a horrifying tale of home intrusion. The fear of the unknown is amplified in this atmospheric hellscape by intricateSkinamarink is a masterclass in ambient horror. Kyle Edward Ball displays his brand of minimalist cinematography to convey a horrifying tale of home intrusion. The fear of the unknown is amplified in this atmospheric hellscape by intricate sound design, brilliant still-imagery, and perfect exposition. Skinamarink marks a turning point for horror films and will be talked about for years to come. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Jan 13, 2023
A primal fear. The darkness. Pulsating, absorbing, patient, just waiting to devour you. It or what awaits you buried inside of it. Who has not been afraid of it? Especially in childhood, which is one of the points of this turbulent journey.A primal fear. The darkness. Pulsating, absorbing, patient, just waiting to devour you. It or what awaits you buried inside of it. Who has not been afraid of it? Especially in childhood, which is one of the points of this turbulent journey. Skinamarink was quite an interesting but not necessarily satisfying experience.
This is an experimental horror film. It's almost 100 minutes of images and sounds that are meant to look and feel like a nightmare that seems to have no end or escape, so I have to tell you right away that if you're into the conventional, don't even bother because you're going to be bored out of your mind, but if you want to delve into a different kind of creepy, this is the stuff right here. And yes it's too long, and yes, it can be called pretentious, but this is the kind of movie that separates audiences at the extremes. They either hate it or love it. Who will you be?
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
LuigiTortelliniJan 22, 2023
Easily the worst movie ever made, the fact that it has above a zero shows just how worthless and pretentious most "professional critics" are.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
PanchogulJan 19, 2023
Si la gente en Tik Tok llama a esto una de las películas más aterradoras que existen es porque algo no anda bien tomando en cuenta que la gente de allí carece de criterio formado.

En cuanto a la película en sí, es muy pesada de ver, dura 100
Si la gente en Tik Tok llama a esto una de las películas más aterradoras que existen es porque algo no anda bien tomando en cuenta que la gente de allí carece de criterio formado.

En cuanto a la película en sí, es muy pesada de ver, dura 100 minutos que se sienten eternos y a los 45 minutos ya estaba vencido por la impaciencia. La monotonía salta a la vista hasta en los momentos de escaso diálogo.

El terror radica en sentirte aislado en completa oscuridad en tu propia casa como si estuvieras teniendo una pesadilla de la que no puedes despertar y hay que estar muy atento para poder notarlo, por lo que no es una película para el espectador promedio.

Lo mejor logrado es el sonido, en especial las voces de los personajes que suenan de manera bien peculiar.

Lo peor para mi fue el efecto de grano en la imagen que se me hizo exagerado sumándole además los filtros vintage de instagram que parecen haber usado. También la relación de aspecto usada no me pareció la adecuada para una película como esta, una tipo 1:66:1 o 1:19:1.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HitchslapJan 22, 2023
1.Borrow a camera
2.Buy $500 worth of Legos
3. Shoot random images in your house for a week. 4.Set all film grain and dirty film effects to 100. 5. Forget to set vocal audio levels to anything discernable. (f**k it just throw in random
1.Borrow a camera
2.Buy $500 worth of Legos
3. Shoot random images in your house for a week.
4.Set all film grain and dirty film effects to 100.
5. Forget to set vocal audio levels to anything discernable. (f**k it just throw in random subtitles)
6.Accidentally leak the content online.
7. Come up with some vague inspiration and use film buzz words like "experimental' and "analog" 8. Let Tik Tok and Twitter do your advertising. 9. Make 100x profit
10.. Is how many minutes this "experiment" should have been
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews