New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 18, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 428 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
305
Mixed:
46
Negative:
77
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
RandomFireOct 15, 2006
Absolutely terrible. So bad that it's just really bad.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
ColbyCJan 5, 2007
If the internet didn't exist, this movie would be: Snakes on a Plane, an Alan Smithee film. Not campy enough to be fun, too boring to be scary.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
MauraCOct 25, 2006
Absolutely horrible. Yes, I laughed... in disbelief. I had no idea a movie could sink so low until I saw Snakes on a Plane. But for making me laugh at all, I will award it a 1.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AnsonGDec 28, 2006
Boring, pointless, and too long. I cant believe they release this garbage on cinema.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
phildogSep 10, 2010
One of the worst films I've ever seen in my life. I wish I could get the 40 minutes back that I wasted on this movie, before I just walked out of the theatre.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
BosGuyAug 28, 2006
totally worthless movie with no value whatsoever. i'd rather have spent the time answering work email. yes, it's that bad.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LaurentAug 20, 2006
VERY boring until 10 minutes before the end - as an afterthought - when the real Jules kicks in. Avoid.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Q.Aug 21, 2006
Quite possibly the worst piece of .... to be released as a major motion picture in the last 10 years. All you people giving this movie good ratings because of the internet buzz surrounding it and the "so bad it's good" effect are fools, Quite possibly the worst piece of .... to be released as a major motion picture in the last 10 years. All you people giving this movie good ratings because of the internet buzz surrounding it and the "so bad it's good" effect are fools, pure and simple. You have been suckered by a handful of bored, clever people, and you really need to start thinking for yourself. You'll be happier. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
FedUpSep 1, 2006
Horrendous from start to finish. Not worthy of your time or hard earned money.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LarS.Aug 20, 2006
Should have been name "Idiots in Movie Theatres". It's what's wrong with American film making. Samuel L Jackson must be laughing all the way to the bank and laughing at the idiots who bothered to rate this "C" movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MikeBAug 22, 2006
Pretty silly. Good effects (snakes), but a virtual remake of Poseidon Adventure with snakes instead of water. Yes, some laughs, but not enough to save it. Interesting how some reviewers here give it good marks because it is stupid. I Pretty silly. Good effects (snakes), but a virtual remake of Poseidon Adventure with snakes instead of water. Yes, some laughs, but not enough to save it. Interesting how some reviewers here give it good marks because it is stupid. I deducted because of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DavidAug 23, 2006
So bad that it is impossible to believe the viewers positive scores given this trash was released? I have heard from a few that their opinions were not published. Makes one wonder it this site is on the up and up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlecAug 18, 2006
This is NOT so bad it's good. It's just bad. Awful even. Stupid.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
jakAug 24, 2006
Over hyped, totally dissapointed. Sam jackson is great but a terrible terrible movie. Not funny, and too long.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
avatar16Nov 10, 2011
Avec Des Serpents dans l'Avion, je ne vais pas tourner autour du pot : c'est scénaristiquement invraisemblable, visuellement laid (en tout cas, pour les effets numériques), joué sans conviction... EnAvec Des Serpents dans l'Avion, je ne vais pas tourner autour du pot : c'est scénaristiquement invraisemblable, visuellement laid (en tout cas, pour les effets numériques), joué sans conviction... En somme, et je pèse mes mots, c'est entièrement con (il n'y a qu'à voir le titre...). Et pourtant, ce nanar se laisse regarder avec un plaisir coupable, parce qu'il est en quelque sorte fun, et notamment grâce à des séquences plutôt désopillantes et énergiques avec les serpents, et surtout que le film ne se prend pas au sérieux. En somme, le film de David R. Ellis (à qui l'on doit Destination Finale 2) arrive à nous livrer un film, certes ridicule, mais qui se révèle être un divertissement de taille si l'on veut s'éclater entre potes avec du grand n'importe quoi. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ReaperAug 20, 2006
To me, the scariest movie of all-time. I hate f'ing snakes on f'ing planes. The way they jumped, struck, slithered, and I cried like a little girl the entire time with my legs on the seat curled up in a ball. Excellent movie by the To me, the scariest movie of all-time. I hate f'ing snakes on f'ing planes. The way they jumped, struck, slithered, and I cried like a little girl the entire time with my legs on the seat curled up in a ball. Excellent movie by the way. It's weird, I loved it, but I would not buy it and would not watch it again because it was torture. I have never been so scared and so freaked out in my life and to go through that experience again would just plain hissss. I love the sleeper hits. WOW! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 27, 2006
Anyone looking for a cinematic masterpiece will be disappointed with this film. However, the film's title is Snakes on a Plane, and the film delivers snakes on a plane. It's pure fun and entertainment, and plenty of snake-on-human Anyone looking for a cinematic masterpiece will be disappointed with this film. However, the film's title is Snakes on a Plane, and the film delivers snakes on a plane. It's pure fun and entertainment, and plenty of snake-on-human action. Two thumbs up! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JPPaxtonNov 6, 2006
'Snakes On A Plane' ('SoaP') is without a doubt the most talked about film of the year. It all started last year when many bloggers from MySpace to YouTube began chattering about it. Yes, 'SoaP' was heard far 'Snakes On A Plane' ('SoaP') is without a doubt the most talked about film of the year. It all started last year when many bloggers from MySpace to YouTube began chattering about it. Yes, 'SoaP' was heard far and wide. I myself first found out about the movie whose title explains it all while coming across an article entitled, 'Samuel And Snakes'. I was oddly and instantly intrigued upon finishing it. (Despite finding out Samuel L. Jackson opted to do the film without even reading the script.) Months passed with more and more buzz generating. And by the looks of it, it didn't look as if it were going to stop anytime soon. 'SoaP' was given the title 'Best Worst Movie of the Year' by 'Wired' magazine in their January issue. New Line and TagWorld held a contest that gave artists a chance for their music to be heard in the film. And various spoof trailers were created by fans including ones with the titles, 'Teletubbies on a Plane' and 'Snakes on Claire Danes'. Within the past year 'SoaP' has been seen everywhere imaginable. You're probably wondering why I'm telling you all this since it has nothing to do with what I thought about the film though. Well I'll tell you why. 'SoaP' isn't like other films. It's something completely different. Almost an entity if you will. The buzz and media are both a part of it's ingeniousness. It can't be judged simply by normal standards solely on things like acting and visuals. There's so much more to it. Over the past two days I've read and heard people say how horrible and downright awful 'SoaP' is. Its not either of those things. The fact is those people just don't get it. I even tried to break it down into the usual categories you'd normally judge a film on. But it conflicted with how well I actually liked the film. Yes, there's some bad dialogue in a couple of the early scenes. Yes, the snakes didn't always look real. And yes, at times the movie is far more comedic than horrifying. None of this matters though. I had so much fun watching 'SoaP' I didn't care. The bottom line is 'SoaP' has a greatness that's essentially inexplicable. But not everyone is going to see that. I think Michael Phillips, reviewer for the Chicago Tribune, proves to be a prime example of the ignorance being exhibited when he says in his review, "I liked 'Anaconda' better". All I'll say to that is he needs a new job. Possibly a janitor in some dank office building wasting his life mopping floors, mumbling inaudible things to himself. Nevertheless, I'm not suggesting you see 'Snakes on a Plane'. I'm telling you to go see those mother******* snakes on that mother******* plane! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MikeA.Feb 4, 2007
Funny movie, but cheezy at the same time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ParkerJan 21, 2007
Watching this movie in theaters on opening night is unlike any experience I've ever had in my life. It was SOOOOOO much fun. Seriously, this film means a lot to me. 10/10
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
This fits under the heading of
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AJM.Feb 12, 2007
A true popcorn flick. Sometimes it's pretty hilarious (intentionally, even); it's got moments of suspense that work admirably well; Sam Jackson is THE MAN. All of that sounds like a guaranteed winner to me. I honestly don't A true popcorn flick. Sometimes it's pretty hilarious (intentionally, even); it's got moments of suspense that work admirably well; Sam Jackson is THE MAN. All of that sounds like a guaranteed winner to me. I honestly don't get how people could not get this (unless, of course, they hate snakes, planes, or guilty pleasure horror movies), but realistically it's about as critic proof as anything I've ever seen. Bottom line: it's just supposed to be FUN, so have some. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewE.Aug 17, 2006
I dare anyone not to have fun at this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GLC.Jan 11, 2007
C'mon, it's Snizzakes on a Pizzay, damnit! That said, I remember seeing this. Not bad for a trashy piece o'crap action film, especially considering the pathetic plot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RyanLopezApr 15, 2011
This movie was really good, frightening and a little bit funny. But it had a lot of flaws- Goddamn it I sound like a real critic. This was a freaking great movie
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
OscarPicks2010Dec 20, 2010
An unfamiliar plot with likable leads, Snakes on a Plane (2006) can almost live up to its original. The story is based on a guy who witnessed a murder by a violence gang member. The witness was suppose to fly to LA to testify against theAn unfamiliar plot with likable leads, Snakes on a Plane (2006) can almost live up to its original. The story is based on a guy who witnessed a murder by a violence gang member. The witness was suppose to fly to LA to testify against the murderer. To prevent the witness from going, the murderer puts hundreds of poisonous snakes in the cargo to kill everyone and bring the plane down. Although this plot isn't anything new to Hollywood, Snakes on a Plane features Samuel Jackson and Julianna Margulies, likable stars, and a lot of snakes on a plane. It's all we wanted. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
What I really like about this film is that FINALLY, the people involved realize how absurd the plot of the movie is, and they completely play into it. They say and do the same things that most of us would do in that situation. They fullyWhat I really like about this film is that FINALLY, the people involved realize how absurd the plot of the movie is, and they completely play into it. They say and do the same things that most of us would do in that situation. They fully understand, that even thou it isn't a comedy, they are in a completely ridiculous film, not meant to be taken seriously by anyone. Samuel L. Jackson is fearless, hysterical, and terrific as FBI Agent Neville Flynn. The supporting cast, of mostly newcomers, is also great, playing off the example set by Jackson and Margulies. Lets also not forget that while many of the attack scenarios were computerized, there were still a few dozen de-fanged venomous snakes with them at all times! I don't know how you can possibly concentrate with cobras and rattlesnakes at your feet, even if they are non-venomous and used to humans. If you're looking for something simple and stupid that you don't have to think about, go for Snakes on a Plane! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeJan 24, 2013
It's a very entertaining movie, but it's very simple.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
GaborA.Aug 20, 2006
Snakes was a decent movie but what the hype is distracting from is this movie really isnt unique at all. Every year we have these creature features like deep blue sea and company. That movie wasnt meant to be taken all that seriously either Snakes was a decent movie but what the hype is distracting from is this movie really isnt unique at all. Every year we have these creature features like deep blue sea and company. That movie wasnt meant to be taken all that seriously either and Sam Jackson made an appearance there as well. Snakes is worse action and funnier than Deep Blue. Its more in the ball park of Lake Placid which i thought was pretty funny as well. Its a good flick but besides the absurd title this movie is doing absolutely nothing that hasnt allready been done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FoOdzAug 18, 2006
[***SPOILER***] When you hear the title, "Snakes on a Plane" this is exactly what you hope it will be. It makes all of your funniest jokes about ways to die from snakes on a plane, and puts it to the screen. Jackson is at his campy best, and [***SPOILER***] When you hear the title, "Snakes on a Plane" this is exactly what you hope it will be. It makes all of your funniest jokes about ways to die from snakes on a plane, and puts it to the screen. Jackson is at his campy best, and at his very best when he throws out standard Sam Jackson-isms. And really, who liked that stupid dog? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChantzE.Aug 18, 2006
Non stop greatness, partially great cause opening night, the whole crowd was so into it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YourMotherAug 18, 2006
Best Motherf....ing movie, EVER!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrysonicAug 18, 2006
Much better than I thought it would... some truly funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertJ.Aug 19, 2006
Any critics who say it sucks are just trying to be cool, and they need to try harder. This is some of the most fun I've had watching a movie in quite a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LYAug 20, 2006
By far the funniest movie that I've seen in years. I was laughing for most of the movie. Just seeing an ad for it on tv made me laugh. Snakes on a plane? Such a dumb idea. So dumb, it's funny! The computer-generated snakes look By far the funniest movie that I've seen in years. I was laughing for most of the movie. Just seeing an ad for it on tv made me laugh. Snakes on a plane? Such a dumb idea. So dumb, it's funny! The computer-generated snakes look bad... the Geico gecko looks better than them. But the effects of people getting bitten, like, swollen arms, necks, and blood and gore, were pretty good. See it if you're looking for a good laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WaisyB.Sep 18, 2006
While its story and premise is really weak, the jokes(if only 5 of them) and Samuel Jackson's great acting were really REALLY entertaining. Snakes on a Plane is the best way to spend a night with your friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DianeM.Sep 3, 2006
Having read about the hooting, clapping audiences, we tried it for ourselves. I agree with David A.; "guilty pleasure" it is! Relax and have fun! We laughed and clapped. I will be purchasing the DVD!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CherBOct 15, 2006
Turn off all your intelligence, and this movie is worth a 9. But, since we are not all Americans, I will not give it that rating. Though for the sheer number of 'oh my god' moments this movie has, it is worth a 7. Cheesy Turn off all your intelligence, and this movie is worth a 9. But, since we are not all Americans, I will not give it that rating. Though for the sheer number of 'oh my god' moments this movie has, it is worth a 7. Cheesy entertainment at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkBayerOct 2, 2006
Despite all the hype, this would-be exploitation/ action/ camp smash wasn't one for two very basic reasons: the plane doesn't fly and the snakes don't bite. The first 25 minutes, in which a mob kingpin, in a literal case of Despite all the hype, this would-be exploitation/ action/ camp smash wasn't one for two very basic reasons: the plane doesn't fly and the snakes don't bite. The first 25 minutes, in which a mob kingpin, in a literal case of overkill, plots to eliminate a damaging witness by loading the plane he's traveling on with cobras, vipers and mambas (and we learn that joining the Mile-High Club can be hazardous to your health) are promising, and it's impossible to completely dismiss an airplane-calamity movie that includes a parody of Legally Blonde's Elle Woods on its passenger list. Ultimately, however, director David R. Ellis (a solid B-movie craftsman who's done far better work with Final Destination 2 and Cellular) can't sustain the balance between gore and satire that Roger Corman, Paul Bartel, Joe Dante and other New World Pictures writers and directors accomplished so effortlessly in such classic 1970s drive-in fare as Death Race 2000 and Piranha. Speaking of the 1970s, part of the problem is this movie's slavish adherence to the blueprints of another of that decade's most notorious genres: you don't have to be afflicted with disaster movie deja vu to know instinctively which of the plane's passengers are either too loathsome or too lovable to live, or that children will be threatened but not totally turned into snake kibble, and that at least one of the three major characters will be involved in at least one false alarm. Worse still, Snakes on a Plane ultimately becomes stagy, contrived and dull because of the behavior of the snakes themselves: due to certain plot contrivances they go on sporadic feeding frenzies and then disappear entirely from the movie for long stretches of time. (What were they doing, reading the in-flight magazine? If so, that explains it--they all fell asleep!) Even though we all know that this movie has about as much chance of actually being shown on a plane as United 93, the airlines might want to reconsider: with all the recent controversy over the latest tightening of security regulations, Snakes on a Plane DOES present the very convincing argument that in the event of on-board snake attacks, too much carry-on luggage will definitely hamper your getaway. And you certainly can't fault Samuel L. Jackson's energetic performance as an FBI agent: not since Jane Fonda in last year's Monster-in-Law has an actor so thoroughly redeemed a completely shallow, one-dimensional part by displaying so much joy in the playing of it. His delivery of the line about being tired of those m***********g snakes on the m***********g plane is already the stuff of legend; it's easy to understand why audiences, seeing through the malarkey and recognizing this mediocrity for what it is, grew equally (and very quickly) tired of seeing these m***********g snakes in their m***********g theaters, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnKOct 7, 2006
This is the worst movie of all time! If it was any worse it wouldn't be called a movie. The acting, the story and the special fx were terrible. I would rather pay money to watch Barbie than watch that horrible movie. It is easily the This is the worst movie of all time! If it was any worse it wouldn't be called a movie. The acting, the story and the special fx were terrible. I would rather pay money to watch Barbie than watch that horrible movie. It is easily the worst movie around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamJacksonAug 17, 2006
Hell yes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyD.Aug 17, 2006
Probably the best movie of the summer. Its greatness comes with its subtleties. This character driven drama shows how we all have horrible snakes inside of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.Aug 18, 2006
I expected this to go down as fast as a Thai hooker, but instead it sailed beyond my muthaf-ckin expectations. some truly shocking and entertaining scenes and some very memorable and hilarious lines make it an epic in the category of I expected this to go down as fast as a Thai hooker, but instead it sailed beyond my muthaf-ckin expectations. some truly shocking and entertaining scenes and some very memorable and hilarious lines make it an epic in the category of awesomely bad and hilariously outrageous Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaidyAug 18, 2006
Sssssssssssss! This was the constant sound heard in the audience I was in, amidst flying plastic snakes and general cheering and brouhaha. Snakes on a Plane was one of those fun, must see in theaters type movies that sparked massive Sssssssssssss! This was the constant sound heard in the audience I was in, amidst flying plastic snakes and general cheering and brouhaha. Snakes on a Plane was one of those fun, must see in theaters type movies that sparked massive chuckles, boos, cheers, and plenty of audience participation. The movie itself was one of absurdness, both on the story and acting front (for the most part), but it knew as much and therefore was able to pull it off with great success. And while it started off a bit slow and lame story wise, the first few snake bite attacks were so over-the-top, you had to wonder how they could possibly continue the insanity - yet somehow they managed. The movie stayed entertaining from beginning to end, though the middle section was probably the best part of the film. Whether this movie stands the test of time is yet to be seen, but the experience was one that will not soon be forgotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimC.Aug 18, 2006
One of the best theater experiences I've ever had. It really helps to go in a packed theater so see this film while its hot and don't be afraid to yell "SNAKES ON A PLANE!" once in a while, good times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisK.Aug 18, 2006
One note, I'm never using the airplane lavatory ever! Sam was the man and that's all that anyone can ask for!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroyB.Aug 18, 2006
This is what going to movies is all about. Excitement, energy, escpaism, the howl of the crowd, and a movie with the sole aim of giving the audience what it wants and what it paid for: no nonsense entertainment. A true rollacoaster This is what going to movies is all about. Excitement, energy, escpaism, the howl of the crowd, and a movie with the sole aim of giving the audience what it wants and what it paid for: no nonsense entertainment. A true rollacoaster experience. It truly was the people's movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NickB.Aug 18, 2006
The meeting of expectations - which were set low - was surprisingly satisfying. And I don't know if I'm embarrassed to say that I was fully engaged and entertained all the while feeling like I should know better. Advice to The meeting of expectations - which were set low - was surprisingly satisfying. And I don't know if I'm embarrassed to say that I was fully engaged and entertained all the while feeling like I should know better. Advice to potential viewers: just enjoy it and don't expect more than the title. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BriAug 18, 2006
This is what movie-going is all about! With all of the hype leading up to it, the 10:00PM screening was PACKED full of hardcore fans, and everyone just had a freakin' blast from start to finish (yes, some people brought in rubber This is what movie-going is all about! With all of the hype leading up to it, the 10:00PM screening was PACKED full of hardcore fans, and everyone just had a freakin' blast from start to finish (yes, some people brought in rubber snakes, sure enough). Plus, it was even funnier than I expected it to be (both intentionally AND unintentionally) and could almost justify being a comedy as much as an action/thriller/horror. I don't think the 2nd half of the movie quite lived up to the 1st half of the movie, but that's not so much of a complaint. I'd have to say this flick just about lived up to the tremendous hype! GO SEE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaAug 18, 2006
Put simply, this movie was exactly what i wanted it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickyB.Aug 18, 2006
It's amazing what a man can do with one hand. greatest motion picture ever made
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Aug 18, 2006
No, it's not the next Citizen Kane, but if you're looking for a really fun, end-of-the-summer thriller, this fits the bill perfectly. Next to Pulp Fiction, this is likely Sam Jackson's best role. He's got style to spare, No, it's not the next Citizen Kane, but if you're looking for a really fun, end-of-the-summer thriller, this fits the bill perfectly. Next to Pulp Fiction, this is likely Sam Jackson's best role. He's got style to spare, and his lines are funny as hell. I was at the first showing (Thursday 10PM) with at least 100 SOaP fanatics, which made the experience all the more fun, but there are plenty of "scream" scenes," and probably just as many bust-out-laughing moments. The critics might find some obscure ways to dislike the film, but just about everybody I saw leave the theater tonight had huge smiles on their faces. Don't over-analyze the thing. Just go and laugh and scream with it. I wouldn't call it a horror film so much as a thriller/disaster flick. Definitely recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanB.Aug 18, 2006
Sometimes you just want to have a good time. Look for the stuffy, pretentious critics to pan the hell out of this one. All I know is that myself, and the entire audience I saw this with was laughing uncontrollably and bursting into spurts of Sometimes you just want to have a good time. Look for the stuffy, pretentious critics to pan the hell out of this one. All I know is that myself, and the entire audience I saw this with was laughing uncontrollably and bursting into spurts of spontaneous applause. If you're even slighly intrigued by the concept, you'll love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JerryH.Aug 18, 2006
The best bAD movie I've ever seen in the theatre. This film fails on so many filmmaking levels but never stops entertaining -- mainly through belly laughs of absurdity, violence, stretched cliches, bad acting, and some one liners of The best bAD movie I've ever seen in the theatre. This film fails on so many filmmaking levels but never stops entertaining -- mainly through belly laughs of absurdity, violence, stretched cliches, bad acting, and some one liners of which some are intentionally great and some are just well to horrible not to laugh at -- I was totally entertained. Enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeG.Aug 18, 2006
Taken seriously, it is one of the worst films ever made, but it is also one of the funniest. You will enjoy this if you go with a crowd that gets the movie for what it is: A b-movie that makes fun of itself and the genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveT.Aug 18, 2006
Snakes are serious business. So are planes. Sam Jackson understands this. Therefore, when snakes cause trouble aboard his plane, you best watch out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasparC.Aug 19, 2006
I saw this film at the 10pm showing, and I was surprised that the theatre was not packed to capacity. However, everyone there was there to witness the beauty and genius that is this film. The gratuitous violence on display, added to the I saw this film at the 10pm showing, and I was surprised that the theatre was not packed to capacity. However, everyone there was there to witness the beauty and genius that is this film. The gratuitous violence on display, added to the hilarious audience participation ("Snake Vision!!!"), the dramatic irony ("Let's hope this is an uneventful flight"), the wonderful one-liners, the ridiculous characters (OCD rap star, anyone?) made this a fantastic movie. I highly recommend that everyone sees this film as soon as possible. It's that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Aug 19, 2006
This generations Rocky Horror Picture Show. Whatever your opinion is of this movie, you can't deny that it is absolutely fun. If you walk into this movie expecting to see Citizen Kane, then you deserve to be disappointed. If you walk in This generations Rocky Horror Picture Show. Whatever your opinion is of this movie, you can't deny that it is absolutely fun. If you walk into this movie expecting to see Citizen Kane, then you deserve to be disappointed. If you walk in expecting to laugh at the ridiculousness of the premise and jump at the creative ways that snakes can kill people trapped in an aluminum tube at 30000 feet, then you will be motherf!#*in' impressed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanieAug 19, 2006
Far exceeded even my high expectations. I haven't laughed and screamed so much in years. Everyone with a sense of humor must see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanD.Aug 19, 2006
None of this so bad it's good BS. it was the movie of the year, full stop. it was intense, brutal, and INTENTIONALLY hilarious. i can't believe how hard nearly all these critics dropped the ball on something like this so hard.None of this so bad it's good BS. it was the movie of the year, full stop. it was intense, brutal, and INTENTIONALLY hilarious. i can't believe how hard nearly all these critics dropped the ball on something like this so hard. unintentionally hilarious? are you on crack? this is the most wry send-up of its horribly cliched predecessors that loves the BS it grew up on and has absolutely no pretensions of doing anything other than taking its own staples to ludicrous extents. the people behind this movie are effin' brilliant, and i mean that wholeheartedly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianV.Aug 21, 2006
Outstanding movie-going experience. Clearly not the manifestation of poetic genius, but this is a movie you have to get out and see in the next two weeks while the crowds are rowdy. Easily the best time I've had at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WongitAug 20, 2006
Hands down the funnest movie in a very long time. this summer saw some great flicks, some serious (miami vice) some dumb (talladega nights, but still awesome) but Snakes is just fun, its awsome and honestly i felt like cheering at the very Hands down the funnest movie in a very long time. this summer saw some great flicks, some serious (miami vice) some dumb (talladega nights, but still awesome) but Snakes is just fun, its awsome and honestly i felt like cheering at the very end of the film. Great all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaurieV.Aug 20, 2006
Forget the snakes, it's Samuel L Jackson on a plane. He carries this movie from being merely entertaining to being iconically good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobF.Aug 20, 2006
This is the best movie i have seen all year. This might be sthe best movie of all time. The way the audience participation with the movie just makes it more fun. It is so fun to watch. Of course it is it's Snakes on a Plane!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanC.Aug 22, 2006
This is not a film to be watched alone. Take your friends. Your friends' friends, even. Quite simply, this was the best theatre-going experience I've ever had. People were hissing during the movie, moaning on queue, booing This is not a film to be watched alone. Take your friends. Your friends' friends, even. Quite simply, this was the best theatre-going experience I've ever had. People were hissing during the movie, moaning on queue, booing previews, cheering when people got bit and killed in silly ways, and, when the already famous line came, stood, applauding Samuel L. Jackson's bad assery. I wouldn't have liked this movie alone and quiet, but like I said, if you take people with whom you are ready to laugh and cheer and applaud and hiss, and above all, have lots of fun, you'll have a blast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Aug 23, 2006
Pure genius, the best and worst film of all time similtaneously. Can never get tired of these ----- snakes on a ------ plane
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LisaK.Aug 20, 2006
Really, your enjoyment level while watching this film rests partly on the audience, a necessary participant. The well-timed hissing behind us as well as in front of us had me in hysterics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidA.Aug 27, 2006
As a 50-somethiing father who took his 21 year-old daughter the day before she left for Europe for a junior semester abroad - to get her mind off her anxiety about travel - we howled, clapped, and shouted along with the other audience As a 50-somethiing father who took his 21 year-old daughter the day before she left for Europe for a junior semester abroad - to get her mind off her anxiety about travel - we howled, clapped, and shouted along with the other audience members. What a hoot. Look, no one expects an Acadamy Award here, unless they have a new category called "guilty pleasure." And that it was. It takes so many of the cliches of airplane/reptile/terror movies and plays them to the hilt (retreating to a smaller and smaller safe area, the male steward, the mother with the baby, etc). What a better way to spend 2 hours on an August night than enjoying the camp and overboard nature of an exploitation film that really gets it right. We both came out laughing, quoting the most memorable lines of the movie, and saying "Eleven!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadShiiraSep 21, 2006
To be a true cult film, "Snakes on a Plane" needed Jim Brown in the lead. Samuel L. Jackson should be on a plane full of terrorists, not snakes. The film goes on with its business as if "Airplane" never happened. When Jackson tells his FBI To be a true cult film, "Snakes on a Plane" needed Jim Brown in the lead. Samuel L. Jackson should be on a plane full of terrorists, not snakes. The film goes on with its business as if "Airplane" never happened. When Jackson tells his FBI buddy about scenarios that were never drawn up, he might as well be talking about the scribes who penned the four "Airport" movies. "Snakes on a Plane" is an inspired basic cable network movie, but nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarioP.Aug 17, 2006
snakes! plane! promise kept. thanks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VzadestroyerAug 17, 2006
If only the rating system went to infinty...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobAug 17, 2006
If you're thinking about seeing this, GO NOW! The absolute best part of this was the crazy early-comer audience who are totally stoked about seeing it. People were clapping and rooting every time some silly movie cliche was played out If you're thinking about seeing this, GO NOW! The absolute best part of this was the crazy early-comer audience who are totally stoked about seeing it. People were clapping and rooting every time some silly movie cliche was played out on screen, and everytime Sam Jackson worked his crazy badass-magic. The filmmakers knew they had a cheeseball on their hands, and they spun it into pure gold. But if you see this a month from now with a bunch of people who don't know what this is all about, you'll wonder why you wasted your time. Hurry! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregK.Aug 17, 2006
I honestly didn't think it would live up to the hype. The intro is cheesy as hell, the acting is brutal but damn are those snakes freightning. A must see movie of the year, not for the faint of heart, but an entertaining thrill ride of I honestly didn't think it would live up to the hype. The intro is cheesy as hell, the acting is brutal but damn are those snakes freightning. A must see movie of the year, not for the faint of heart, but an entertaining thrill ride of emotions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Aug 17, 2006
Best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.C.Aug 18, 2006
One of the best Dark Comidies ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarleneAug 18, 2006
GREAT movie! one of the best worst movies of all time. The hype, that doz guy gettign the tattoo..the movie itself was a riot!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LisaZ.Aug 18, 2006
There were snakes, and there was this plane. Ssssss! Ssss! Aaaa! Aaaa!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinB.Aug 18, 2006
Wow. I was truly scared to see this movie. Not because I have ophidiophobia, but because it was so over-hyped, and had such great potential to be a really really bad movie. To my astonishment, I enjoyed the movie through and through. Sure, Wow. I was truly scared to see this movie. Not because I have ophidiophobia, but because it was so over-hyped, and had such great potential to be a really really bad movie. To my astonishment, I enjoyed the movie through and through. Sure, it was "hilariously bad," but the sad thing is it's actually a better movie than Miami Vice or any of the Final Destinations. They had fun making it, and I sure as hell had fun watching it. Go ahead, yell at the screen. It will only enhance the experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JPK.Aug 18, 2006
I thought it would be fun, but it was much more. I wish all bad movies were this good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SarjuS.Aug 18, 2006
Snakes on the screen, puke on the seat next to me, and I still had an amazing time. You do the math.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Aug 18, 2006
It's no work of art but so what, it doesn't try to be. Best time I've had in at a movie in awhile. Have some fun and check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyCAug 18, 2006
Honestly, I didn't expect much. Damn I was wrong. Trust Sammy L Jackson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Aug 18, 2006
I haven't laughed that hard at a bad movie in a long time!!!! Very entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewB.Aug 18, 2006
You will Laugh, You will Scream, You will HISS! Snakes on a Plane delivers with everything it promised it would... "MotherF-ing Snakes on a MotherF-ing Plane!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Aug 18, 2006
This is the best time I've had at the movies ever. It is an experience. As a parody, it worked wondrous magic over me and the entire audience I saw it with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
K.C.Aug 18, 2006
It might have helped that the theater was packed, and the audience was clapping along to the opening music and cheering for both Sam J and the snakes, but I had a great time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachF.Aug 18, 2006
It turned out to be exactly what I had expected for a movie about snakes on a plane vs. sam jackson. Fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarkSynapseAug 18, 2006
Go see it. Really. It's better than you would expect...a perfect end to the summer movie season.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathleenO.Aug 18, 2006
This isn't Citizen Kane, nor was it intended to be. It was hysterical and the audience reaction was awesome. I can't recall ever having so much fun at a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricGAug 18, 2006
Perhaps the most upbeat film of the summer. It's hard not to have fun--there were many moments of spontaneous applause in my showing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveH.Aug 18, 2006
I've never been so entertained by such a bad film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyAug 18, 2006
Easily the most fun in a theatre. Ever. Someone said this was the perfect movie to end the summer. I am in total agreement. I really hope this movie does well, it absolutely deserves it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxAug 18, 2006
I saw this movie on the premier night and from start to finish people were applauding and laughing at how ridiculous the movie was...if you go into the theater expecting a scary thriller you will be disappointed...but if you go in expecting I saw this movie on the premier night and from start to finish people were applauding and laughing at how ridiculous the movie was...if you go into the theater expecting a scary thriller you will be disappointed...but if you go in expecting to have a fun time and see Samuel L. Jackson kill some snakes in insanely amazing ways then you will enjoy yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NatAug 19, 2006
What did you expect? Anyone who expected this movie to be a truly good movie must be out of there mind. It's so bad, it's good, and they knew that when they made it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcoPoloAug 19, 2006
Color me surprised. Not only am I impressed that I even liked this movie, but I was amazed that everyone else in the theater was enjoying themselves as much as me and my girlfriend were. First off it takes a stupid premise and just has fun Color me surprised. Not only am I impressed that I even liked this movie, but I was amazed that everyone else in the theater was enjoying themselves as much as me and my girlfriend were. First off it takes a stupid premise and just has fun with it. Sure the special effects are shoddy at best, but really that's not the point. The point is to make the audience jump, laugh, (and boy will you laugh at the stupidity of it all) and sit at the edge of your seat to see what nonsense will occur next. This is really a true throwback to when movies knew to entertain and you could just have fun while chomping on popcorn and sipping on a coke. Kudos have to go to Samuel L Jackson for taking a chance with a dumb premise and going along with it to the point where you just can't help it but go along with it yourself. Trust me, dismiss what the critics may say about this being trash in its lowest form, this is what Hollywood needs to infuse into the movie theaters now and then. If Hollywood churns one or two of these kinds of movies per year, (and I'm not talking about the gore-fests that are meant to be fun, House of Wax, Final Destination 3 I'm looking at you) we'd all be the better for it. I honestly haven't had this much fun in a theater since the hey days of Sam Raimi's Evil Dead films, the original Star Wars trilogy or even John Carpenter's 80's Schlock Fests. This really isn't mindless and pointless drivel (well maybe it is a bit on the cheesy side), but as I watched what was taking place on the silver screen, I could'nt help but think that Ed Wood or William Castle would have smiled in approval of it all. A bona-fide late summer treat! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Aug 19, 2006
The snakes are symbolic of current difficulties being experienced in the air today. Like Sma J said " I am tired of these mother f....ing snakes on this mother f........ing plane."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SKAug 19, 2006
Cons - plot, script, cast, acting, directing Pros - less than 2hrs long I was bored through most of the movie. Only laughed couple times. I felt like I was sitting through a plane ride waiting to get off. Yawn!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeR.Aug 19, 2006
You get what you paid for and it kicks ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdrianH.Aug 19, 2006
Definitely the most fun I've had going to the theater this summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianGAug 19, 2006
What can I say, with all of the hype this movie received coming in, I figured I would be probably get let down to some degree.... but not at all it turns out. This movie is everything the bloggers and all the little myspace kiddies hyped it What can I say, with all of the hype this movie received coming in, I figured I would be probably get let down to some degree.... but not at all it turns out. This movie is everything the bloggers and all the little myspace kiddies hyped it up to be, and a little more imo. Definitely worth paying to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful