Amazon Studios | Release Date: November 20, 2020
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 209 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
190
Mixed:
16
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TVJerryNov 25, 2020
Riz Ahmed is one of the most impressive actors of his generation and this film gives him the showcase role to solidify his standing. He plays a punk-metal drummer on tour with his girlfriend (Olivia Cooke who also turns in a movingRiz Ahmed is one of the most impressive actors of his generation and this film gives him the showcase role to solidify his standing. He plays a punk-metal drummer on tour with his girlfriend (Olivia Cooke who also turns in a moving performance). Things go sideways quickly when he suddenly loses his hearing. The character Ahmed creates is not only aggressive and determined, but ultimately venerable and touching. The script and direction seem a bit random at times (there are some lapses in logic), but it always returns to Ahmed’s creation. The sound design also contributes to the experience of alternate hearing and open captioning is on screen to be more inclusive for a deaf audience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HerickDienerDec 12, 2020
É por filmes incríveis como esse que me apaixono cada vez mais por cinema. O diretor consegue por você na pele, para não dizer na cabeça, do personagem. Você sente a confusão, o medo, a raiva e, principalmente, a frustração de não pertencerÉ por filmes incríveis como esse que me apaixono cada vez mais por cinema. O diretor consegue por você na pele, para não dizer na cabeça, do personagem. Você sente a confusão, o medo, a raiva e, principalmente, a frustração de não pertencer aquele novo mundo. Mas, claro, parte disso é oriundo do trabalho excepcional do ator Riz Ahmed, que, se houver justiça, estará presente na próxima temporada de premiações, incluindo o Oscar, e, também do excelente design de som da obra, que lhe causa uma grande imersão na narrativa. Não tem como você ser o mesmo após assistir a esse filme. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PanchogulApr 23, 2021
Sound of Metal cuenta su historia directa al grano, pero creo que esto último se lo tomaron muy en serio ya que se nos presentan a los personajes principales, el conflicto y el planteamiento de la solución en no más de un cuarto de hora paraSound of Metal cuenta su historia directa al grano, pero creo que esto último se lo tomaron muy en serio ya que se nos presentan a los personajes principales, el conflicto y el planteamiento de la solución en no más de un cuarto de hora para luego ver como el personaje de Rubén acepta a regañadientes su nueva condición por el simple hecho de no tener alternativa, vemos como se adapta poco a poco hasta que aprende a vivir con ella, al menos eso es lo que aparenta cuando en realidad sólo estaba ganando tiempo para buscar una solución más efectiva para poder seguir con su vida normal y aparentemente lo consigue, no de la misma forma de siempre, pero es mejor que nada y al final no queda muy claro cual fue su postura al final del día porque la película termina de manera abrupta, que es lo único que recrimino de esta historia porque sentí que no supieron como darle fin.

Es destacable el uso del lenguaje de señas y la sensación que se le da al espectador de padecer la misma condición de Rubén al punto de poder empatizar con el gracias a la enorme actuación de Riz Ahmed, siento que no aprendió mucho al respecto, pero que al menos lo intentó y nunca se dio por vencido, aplausos para el, ojalá que gane el Oscar, se lo merece.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
PhilMarksJan 16, 2021
The use of sound effects to portray musician losing his hearing are dramatic. But pacing of film is monotonous. The plot has curious gaps. The process of receiving implants is over-simplified as is its cost and timeline.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
bertobellamyDec 6, 2020
'Sound of Metal' explores the hardship of the hearing impaired with a story about the difficulty of accepting the inevitable. Riz Ahmed gives a fine performance as the troubled musician, who refuses to lose his life as he knew it. The'Sound of Metal' explores the hardship of the hearing impaired with a story about the difficulty of accepting the inevitable. Riz Ahmed gives a fine performance as the troubled musician, who refuses to lose his life as he knew it. The character's emotional arc is satisfying, but the final act prevents the film from being truly amazing. So much irrelevant backstory about one character unnecessarily extends the movie. Anyway, this is a good comeback for director Darius Marder. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarakaiDec 18, 2020
Originally planned as project by director Derek Cianfrance, based on the “Metalhead” drummer who actually did blow his ears out and had to adapt to silence. The film was unfinished and debutant director Darius Marder was given Cianfrance’sOriginally planned as project by director Derek Cianfrance, based on the “Metalhead” drummer who actually did blow his ears out and had to adapt to silence. The film was unfinished and debutant director Darius Marder was given Cianfrance’s blessing to complete it. And what a solid debut it is. It’s a slow burn but nonetheless captivating film that really pays attention to the affliction of Riz Ahmed’s character and makes great use of sound mixing to put the audience directly into the experience of the sudden onset of deafness. Ahmed gives a brilliantly reserved performance and compliments the quieter moments of the film where it achieves its biggest impact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
netflicDec 7, 2020
Finally a new movie that I could recommend!
This film is about Ruben, a drummer from a heavy metal band. His hearing is deteriorating fast. If you are a musician and turning deaf, what are you going to do? Not an easy question. Especially if
Finally a new movie that I could recommend!
This film is about Ruben, a drummer from a heavy metal band. His hearing is deteriorating fast. If you are a musician and turning deaf, what are you going to do? Not an easy question. Especially if there is no good solution.
Two protagonists, Ruben and his girlfriend Lou, perform excellently.The ending of the movie is especially strong.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Neu-ro-man-cerMay 5, 2021
One Visceral, Mind-Opening, Transformative Piece of Art……. #louderthanwords
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
katezoeDec 28, 2020
The feature film debut of writer/director Darius Marder is a fascinating story on the loss of hearing. A very thought provoking story with exception acting by everyone in the cast. Highly recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FadeBlackNov 17, 2021
One of the better movies in recent years. Intense and deep storytelling, and great acting. Let's you see a difficult life, puts you in other people's shoes, and stays with you after the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gracjanskiJan 9, 2022
Touching movie with a great performance by Riz Ahmed as Ruben Stone. But the best part of the movie is the sound, that shows you how Ruben heard everything after his hearing loss and with his cochlea implantants. My hearing is reduced also (ITouching movie with a great performance by Riz Ahmed as Ruben Stone. But the best part of the movie is the sound, that shows you how Ruben heard everything after his hearing loss and with his cochlea implantants. My hearing is reduced also (I need hearing aids), so I can confirm and imagine theses sounds very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
mohammadhoseinjDec 25, 2020
Putting your character in so much pain and then judging every single one of his actions? WOW!
Acting and Sound Mixing are fantastic, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JackDenialMar 2, 2021
The acting by the lead character inspires; it’s a troubling movie but the progression of Ruben brings joy and some sadness in the end that he realizes what he has to do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Aug 11, 2021
Very good film. Riz Ahmed gives an amazing and noteworthy performance and continues to prove himself as an underrated actor. When Ruben begins to lose his hearing, you feel for him with a fantastic supporting cast around him. This is a realVery good film. Riz Ahmed gives an amazing and noteworthy performance and continues to prove himself as an underrated actor. When Ruben begins to lose his hearing, you feel for him with a fantastic supporting cast around him. This is a real and authentic film and I liked it alot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantFeb 6, 2021
When our dreams and the life we know evaporate in an instant, we may find it next to impossible to adjust, as is the case in this engaging drama about a heavy metal drummer who is faced with losing his hearing. While this offering has aWhen our dreams and the life we know evaporate in an instant, we may find it next to impossible to adjust, as is the case in this engaging drama about a heavy metal drummer who is faced with losing his hearing. While this offering has a little trouble finding its footing at times, it nevertheless takes audiences through the challenges associated with hearing loss and an addict's struggle to maintain sobriety in the wake of profound change. The film also skillfully delves into matters of adaptability and self-acceptance, as well as learning how to see "disabilities" as differences, not handicaps, qualities with the potential to give us new and unconsidered perspectives on life. All of this is brought to life through the fine performances of Riz Ahmed, Olivia Cooke and Paul Raci, as well as an inventive sound design that truly makes an impact on viewers. One of the year's best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GenTurgidsonJul 16, 2022
Riz Ahmed grabs hold of you and never lets go. Won the Oscar for Best Sound and rightly so, but should have taken Best Actor and maybe Best Picture, too (although Judas and Black Messiah was incredibly moving as well. Nomadland was fine, justRiz Ahmed grabs hold of you and never lets go. Won the Oscar for Best Sound and rightly so, but should have taken Best Actor and maybe Best Picture, too (although Judas and Black Messiah was incredibly moving as well. Nomadland was fine, just not my personal favorite.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Dec 8, 2020
Whoa, where did this movie come from?

As soon as the film started, I knew instantly I was in for an emotional ride, and I was right. 'Sound of Metal' is a great movie that felt so encouraging and honest. I admired how the movie portrays the
Whoa, where did this movie come from?

As soon as the film started, I knew instantly I was in for an emotional ride, and I was right.

'Sound of Metal' is a great movie that felt so encouraging and honest. I admired how the movie portrays the deaf community in a more positive light, because in the media it's usually misrepresented, as it often reeks of denial and self-loathing. I can tell a lot of care and effort went into this.

It's very thought-provoking as well. The main character Ruben (Riz Ahmed) who is a heavy-metal drummer, where his entire life revolves around the world of sound and music, which sadly gets snatched away from him. This devastating part of his life also becomes the thing that would later define him. The silence makes him pause and consider what life can be like when we learn to accept and let things go. Not only accepting the lost of your hearing, but overcoming a nasty drug addiction. By losing apart of yourself isn't always doom and gloom after you let it sit for a while, because it can give you a brand-new perspective on things. You start to conclude that silence is heaven to the ears.

Riz Ahmed delivers a terrific and heart-breaking performance as Ruben. He's the type of actor that does such a great job of making you care for his characters and here is no different. Riz has such intense, and yet expressive eyes that convey so much on what the character is feeling or thinking. Every worry, frustration, sadness, joy, and fear were all felt through his performance.

Olivia Cooke, who I didn't recognize at first, also delivers a great performance as Lou, Ruben's girlfriend. There is nothing more soul crushing than watching someone you love at their lowest point both emotionally and mentally. It makes me wonder why she isn't a bigger star already, because I think she's fantastic.

I like how the movie barely has a score, as the background is often incredibly quiet. The movie opens with a loud heavy metal concert blasting away it's music, but from Ruben's point of view it slowly becomes more muffled and clogged up. It just shows that a great deal of thought went into the audio and that alone made the whole thing effective. The same thing applies to Darius Marder’s directing and Daniël Bouquet cinematography; fantastic and impactful.

Overall rating: Highly recommend.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Apr 16, 2021
Rock & Roll ain't noise pollution. It's amazing what was accomplished with a cast made up of little-known faces. The plot of a rocker who must face the worst of his fears: an irreversible condition of deafness, and how he adapts to his newRock & Roll ain't noise pollution. It's amazing what was accomplished with a cast made up of little-known faces. The plot of a rocker who must face the worst of his fears: an irreversible condition of deafness, and how he adapts to his new condition has a lot to say in his favor, and those responsible for sound editing are the ones who take the lead merit, by credibly recreating the environment of deafness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LisaLR1Mar 6, 2021
Riz Ahmed Gives Top Performance as a Musician Whose World Goes Silent: "Sound of Metal" stars Riz Ahmed ("Nightcrawler") as Ruben, a heavy-metal drummer and recovering addict whose world goes silent due to severe and sudden hearing loss. TheRiz Ahmed Gives Top Performance as a Musician Whose World Goes Silent: "Sound of Metal" stars Riz Ahmed ("Nightcrawler") as Ruben, a heavy-metal drummer and recovering addict whose world goes silent due to severe and sudden hearing loss. The film follows Ruben's journey, a man whose life was given to music, now struggling to deal with and accept this new world gone quiet, filled with muffled and limited sounds. Ahmed's powerful and dignified performance is one of the year's best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SuttreeDec 25, 2020
The stellar performance by Riz Ahmed, along with sound design of such high caliber that it serves as his co-star, have rightly won much acclaim. The first two acts are compelling, as we see and hear Ruben’s sudden and profound hearing lossThe stellar performance by Riz Ahmed, along with sound design of such high caliber that it serves as his co-star, have rightly won much acclaim. The first two acts are compelling, as we see and hear Ruben’s sudden and profound hearing loss before following him to a sober house and school for the deaf. His “owl eyes” take in all they can as Ruben tries to compensate for the new and challenging silence.

Once Ruben raises the money for cochlear implants, the script lurches forward burdened by some heavy-handed messaging and a woefully underwritten Lou. Olivia Cooke, so captivating on stage and in the RV, is reduced playing a plot device, as Lou’s character development is not a priority. This is a missed opportunity, as Ahmed and Cooke are so good together in the early scenes.

Recommended despite the limitations of plot and character development, Sound of Metal has so much going for it that it is a shame more care wasn’t taken with Lou. This and the anti-implant theme mar what is often a riveting film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Dec 5, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had been waiting to see this one for a long time, and luckily this movie respond it.

By the way I must warn you that if because of the poster and the title you think you will see a film about metal or music, forget it, that's only the preamble.

Sound of Metal tells the story of Ruben. He's the drummer of a rock duo with his girlfriend who sings and plays the guitar.
The problem is that Ruben is beginning to lose his hearing, so he has to accept the situation or to see if there's some way to repair the damage and return to life as he had known it until then.

At that point the film becomes a sensory journey for the viewer, because accompanied by its excellent sound design, the film makes us clearly experience the situation that Ruben is facing, because like the character we hear voices and noises as if they were heard underwater.
This is essential to the functioning of the film, because it makes you experience even briefly how incredibly difficult their situation is.

Ruben is a recovering addict and therefore fearing a relapse he joins a group of deaf people so that Ruben can deal with both issues.
Perhaps the script doesn't operate with sufficient force at that point because it doesn't explore in more depth what the experience means for the deaf community. After what I read, about how some in this community consider those who seek surgical remedies as traitors, is when I understood the message of the film better.
Because Ruben wants an implant to regain his hearing, but also the film causes you to understand that there is also the possibility of facing this inevitable change and therefore reach acceptance of it.
It's not that the movie is trying to romanticize deafness, but rather that even we, who will never understand it 100%, can at least be much more empathetic.

Riz Ahmed is great here. This is his best performance since HBO's The Night Of.
It's a pity that he didn't receive the necessary credit and that the film went unnoticed, but if you have the chance to watch it, do yourself a favor and do it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman1999Mar 24, 2021
While the craftsmanship of sound design is nothing short of excellent, it's nothing more than practical. It's by no means exceptional, but that doesn't take away anything from its value and efficiency that, in part, rendered this movie aWhile the craftsmanship of sound design is nothing short of excellent, it's nothing more than practical. It's by no means exceptional, but that doesn't take away anything from its value and efficiency that, in part, rendered this movie a truly immersive experience. It's Riz Ahmed's bravura performance, though, that gives Sound of Metal resonance that, in turn, made Ruben one of the most relatable movie characters I've witnessed in recent memory. His ability to reflect his fluctuating feelings throughout the movie and how he perceives every phase in his new life is simply astonishing. The aching experience Ruben goes through demands a real acting talent to make the audience emotionally connected to the protagonist, but Ahmed proved he's not just a talented actor but also one who's in a total command of his craft. For if it's hard to make the viewer feel what his character feels, it's even harder to transport its mental state to the audience. Here, we don't only get the sense of loss and being stripped of everything that forms every inch of Ruben in a flicker, nor only do we only understand his pressing need to regain what he lost—especially since the possibility hovering in the air—but we see him grappling with the dilemma of whether he should continue his journey of adapting to his new condition as if it was the norm or he should keep clutching onto the flicker of hope that definitely wouldn't help in case of it turned out to be a mere mirage.

Furthermore, the movie also excels in aspects other than its nuanced portrait of its main character, namely is its exploration of deaf community that truly offers new insights. That's mostly because of the effort shown in the meticulous attention to its essential components, most notably the sign language. However, Paul Raci played a major part in that by portraying the leader of this community and a mentor for Ruben. Through his facial expressions during conversations with Ruben, he delineates the professional duties such an occupation demands. We see him monitoring Ruben's progress and interfering according to his understanding of Ruben's character in particular. As for Olivia Cooke, she further proves she's a remarkable young talent that yet to bloom. Playing Ruben's bandmate and girlfriend Lou, she managed to prove how important she's to Ruben as his most great and precious loss and equally as a great help for him to get a better sense of what he has lost and how to cope with that.

The acting clinic these three immense talents put on here left an indelible impression on me, but disregarding the technical quality would make absolutely no sense. Besides the exquisite sound design, the highly-articulate cinematography truly adds up to the experience. If there's only one issue I have about this movie it would be its failure to maintain the same dramatic heft that was in its first half. As the focus on Ruben's progression through his medical recovery and its consequences slightly overpowered the emotional quality, and hence there was a bit of it lost that even the wrap-up failed to fully retrieve. (8.5/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PedrokelviDec 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The purpose of the film is to bring audiences a sound immersion, a fact that happens. I particularly felt connected to the character Ruben and this is linked to the exceptional performance of actor Riz Ahmed. It deserves to be remembered at the Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AJGo85Apr 23, 2021
While hanging out with musician friends at shows I noticed that before playing, they all put in earplugs. I wondered why since I thought this would make it difficult for them to hear each other. This was very much not the case. If you’ve everWhile hanging out with musician friends at shows I noticed that before playing, they all put in earplugs. I wondered why since I thought this would make it difficult for them to hear each other. This was very much not the case. If you’ve ever been to a loud concert, it is way, way louder on stage. So, the premise of Sound of Metal, about a working-class heavy metal drummer whose world is turned upside down by sudden and profound hearing loss, is frighteningly believable. Thankfully, my friends still have their hearing. The path that Ruben, played by Riz Ahmed with one of the best performances of the year, finds himself on is abrupt and unexpected to put it mildly. Likewise, the film never quite goes where you expect, but you believe every moment and every emotion. I wasn’t expecting Sound of Metal to receive 6 Academy Award nominations, including Best Picture, but I am very happy that it did because I cannot think of many movies from 2020 that I enjoyed more. Faced with the loss of his hearing, his livelihood, and potentially his relationship, Ruben also fears losing his four years of sobriety from heroin. In need of immediate and special help, his girlfriend and bandmate, Lou (Olivia Cooke), takes him to a sobriety house especially for the deaf. The house is run by Joe (Paul Raci), a deaf Vietnam veteran and recovering alcoholic who gives off the impression that his inner peace only came after a hard struggle. He takes Ruben under his wing but tells him that his program is about finding a solution to the problem in his mind, not his deafness. The scenes of Ruben at the deaf sober house and learning how to live without hearing are interesting and very engaging. Director Darius Marder’s gentle approach to the characters and Ruben’s journey gives us the feeling that we are getting a window into a real community with real people, not participating in a kind of cultural tourism.

As much as I admire the approach taken by Marder’s direction and the screenplay he co-wrote with his brother Abraham, Sound of Metal works so well because of Riz Ahmed’s performance. This is not a case of an actor showing off their talents by playing a character with a disability. Ahmed plays a full range of emotions but the real pathos comes from his facial expressions, especially his expressive eyes. Most important of all to the movie’s success, he is not afraid to show big vulnerability on screen or show just how afraid and anxious someone in this situation would feel, especially if they were a musician.

Though we see Ruben getting on well at the sober house and with the larger deaf community, he still wants to have cochlear implant surgery which he believes will allow him to return to his old life. This is at odds with Joe’s belief that being deaf is not a handicap or something to be fixed and leads to one of the most compelling and affecting scenes of the movie; one that likely earned Ahmed and Raci their Oscar nominations. It is easily one of the best moments in any movie I saw over the last year. I will admit that I was hesitant to watch Sound of Metal at first, despite its positive reviews, because a movie about a young musician going deaf seems like a heavy or even depressing movie. However, Sound of Metal ends up being an uplifting film without delving into melodrama or smarmy sentiment. Every aspect of this movie is low-key, allowing every moment to feel genuine. This is not the kind of movie with twists but it does have unexpected narrative turns which are best left to be discovered along with Ruben. All of the unexpected places, both physical and emotional, the story takes us are what make it memorable. The empathy in the performances from Paul Raci, Olivia Cooke, Mathieu Amalric, and, most of all, Riz Ahmed are what make it so moving. Sound of Metal is something special: a film so seemingly simple but deeply affecting. It is a character study so well executed that it transcends its premise and puts us so in tune with the main character that its final moments become spiritual, or philosophical, depending on your inclination.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
crbJan 24, 2021
While the plot is simple and quite predictable the film manages to deliver what it wants with simplicity and style. It takes you into the mind and soul of the characters and shows in depth the struggles they face. Superb acting and editingWhile the plot is simple and quite predictable the film manages to deliver what it wants with simplicity and style. It takes you into the mind and soul of the characters and shows in depth the struggles they face. Superb acting and editing and a beautiful insight into what it means to feel like you lost everything and how to cope and accept it with serenity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Mauro_LanariDec 21, 2020
(Mauro Lanari)
1) A reflection on the addiction to sound and digital in a film broadcast on Amazon Prime Video is somewhat contradictory.
2) As soon as Mathieu Amalric enters the scene, one cannot help but think of a sequel / reboot of "Le
(Mauro Lanari)
1) A reflection on the addiction to sound and digital in a film broadcast on Amazon Prime Video is somewhat contradictory.
2) As soon as Mathieu Amalric enters the scene, one cannot help but think of a sequel / reboot of "Le Scaphandre et le Papillon" (Schnabel 2007): identical private (melo-)drama that makes one regret the Herzog peak of "Land des Schweigens und der Dunkelheit" (1971).
3) The inability to adapt to noise when playing similar music and wearing an Einstürzende Neubauten t-shirt is not the best of consistency.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
1stReviewsApr 10, 2021
Sound of Metal is a story about Ruben (Riz Ahmed), a drummer in a metal band who begins to suffer from severe hearing loss, and the film takes us on his journey through such a life-changing event. This drama is thoroughly engaging as itSound of Metal is a story about Ruben (Riz Ahmed), a drummer in a metal band who begins to suffer from severe hearing loss, and the film takes us on his journey through such a life-changing event. This drama is thoroughly engaging as it features a great story, top-tier acting performances, an intriguing theme, as well as probably the best sound design of the year. (Warning: Spoilers Ahead)

The flow of the story is constant and feels highly realistic, which kept me thoroughly locked in on the characters and wondering where the plot was headed next. With Riz Ahmed's character at the center of the film, he shows off some top-tier acting while portraying the raw emotions that Ruben is going through, making the audience feel every bit of anger, frustration, and other emotions on this rocky road on the path to acceptance of his hearing loss. The theme of acceptance is where the movie genuinely excelled since it hammers home that being deaf is not a problem at all, it is our thoughts about it, wherein lies the real problem. The driving force of this great message certainly has to be Joe (played by Paul Raci), who is a teacher at the deaf community that Ruben joins. His calm, collected, and soothing persona provides the film with the perfect guide for both Ruben and anyone watching the film on the path to enlightenment. Changing the way that Ruben thinks about his 'problem', was the only solution to finding his inner stillness, and letting go of all the negative emotions he was dealing with.

Now, even though there's more than enough reason to watch this movie from the details provided above, what takes the cake as the element which weaves the entire film together, is the exceptional sound design. The sound throughout the film is fused seamlessly with the story elements and emotional landscape of every scene. From the simple sounds of breathing or body movement to the simulated screechy noise that Ruben experiences after getting hearing implants, all the way to the moment of silence, the craft behind the use of sound in this film was world-class.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SladeykajeFeb 7, 2021
Riz Ahmed holds this together so well with a raw, visceral and heartbreaking performance. Countless times throughout the film I just wanted to give him a hug. It's probably my favourite performance of last year, and I really hope he getsRiz Ahmed holds this together so well with a raw, visceral and heartbreaking performance. Countless times throughout the film I just wanted to give him a hug. It's probably my favourite performance of last year, and I really hope he gets recognised for it. Otherwise, the direction was fluid and engaging - helped immensely by fantastic sound design (What a MIX!). Paul Raci and the rest of the supporting cast were really strong as well. I had some problems with the third act went and the first 10 minutes feel kind of long but it's all forgivable. Highly Recommend this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Stream2BigScreeDec 12, 2020
Yes, winter movie season is in full swing. It seems like there are so many great offerings every weekend on multiple platforms. A plethora of opportunities for entertainment. Upon the suggestion from Prime Video, I watched Sound of Metal,Yes, winter movie season is in full swing. It seems like there are so many great offerings every weekend on multiple platforms. A plethora of opportunities for entertainment. Upon the suggestion from Prime Video, I watched Sound of Metal, which premiered on the platform on December 4, 2020. Here's why it was such a worthwhile experience.

The plot of Sound of Metal is pretty simple - it's a drama starring Riz Amhed as a heavy metal drummer whose life takes an unexpected turn when he begins to lose his hearing. Ahmed plays the drummer, Ruben, who is part of the heavy mental duo with his girlfriend played by Olivia Cooke, and their music career seems to be going along smoothly. But, as a recovering addict, the hearing loss sends Ruben into a tailspin. As directed by Darius Marder, the crux of the film is how Ruben copes with the monumental change in his life and the emotions that he goes through, will he be able to hear again, will his relationship survive, will he survive and so many deep and devastating questions. It's not just a typical movie about an addict - though that is an important part. The film also dives into questions of identity and what makes us who we are - or who we think we are.

All of these questions hinge on the strength of the performances of Ahmed, Cooke and Paul Raci. Raci plays a sponsor, or mentor of sorts, to Ruben as he deals with his addiction and his hearing loss. Ahmed plays Ruben so well. There's so much passion, and fear, felt throughout film. The success of the film really rests on Ahmed's shoulders and he carries it well. Cooke is very good as the girlfriend and bandmate. It's understandable why she may be a motivating factor for Ruben. Raci is very impactful in his part too. He's stern, thoughtful and makes a necessary contrast to Ruben. There's a lot of care in each of these performances and they grow as the movie goes along. These characters are really well-rounded and provide a strong foundation for this emotional story.

If you are looking for a good, emotional movie to watch, Sound of Metal is a worthy contender. Riz Ahmed's performance is one people will be talking about for the rest of the year. Grab a big box of popcorn and don't miss this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
r96skMay 1, 2021
Highly recommend!

Riz Ahmed gives an incredible performance as Ruben, not only did he make me care immensely for the character but he also makes Ruben feel like a real person. You can tell he put a tonne of effort into this and it really
Highly recommend!

Riz Ahmed gives an incredible performance as Ruben, not only did he make me care immensely for the character but he also makes Ruben feel like a real person. You can tell he put a tonne of effort into this and it really does show.

Away from Ahmed, Olivia Cooke (Lou) and Paul Raci (Joe) are also very good performers, while it's nice to see Lauren Ridloff (Diane) involved - she's great in 'The Walking Dead', while she is soon to be in the MCU's 'Eternals' as well.

So much heart to this. I couldn't possibly say with 100% certainty for obvious reasons, but it seems to do a terrific job at telling the story that it intends to. That's not always the case, so the filmmakers deserve praise for that - as well as for the sound design et al.

'Sound of Metal' is worthy of the hype, no question.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NiK2000and3Jan 6, 2021
This movie does something so well, it's like magic. It somehow effectively puts you in a situation you couldn't possibly imagine being in, unless you were already in it. Everything just works together so well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrPajamasJul 20, 2021
I love stories with dark themes and it's been a while since I've seen a more serious film like this. The Sound of Metal appealed to me immediately, especially because of its theme of a musician who has lost his hearing. Films like this alwaysI love stories with dark themes and it's been a while since I've seen a more serious film like this. The Sound of Metal appealed to me immediately, especially because of its theme of a musician who has lost his hearing. Films like this always shock me and it just goes to show us that we should value our hearing and not overdo it with loud music, because as the film shows, once we lose our hearing, it's gone forever and nothing can bring it back. As for the film, the music scenes were great, although unfortunately there were only a few. The pace of the film then slows down in one location that didn't appeal to me personally. However, the ending of the film and the overall ending satisfied me and I especially liked the film because I think it has the depth of the aforementioned ear that we should appreciate. On the one hand, nothing masterful. On the one hand, maybe a MUST-SEE for those who go to metal concerts often. For me, a great film that I recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilmGuyDudeMar 31, 2021
Possibly one of the greatest sound designs ever made in film. The story is intriguing, the cast is well done, as strangely calming in its tone as it gets, it was an enjoyable flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mattaluckDec 16, 2020
The movie follows Riz Ahmed's character journey from being a musician to deaf, and to seeking help and medical recovery, and in the journey to rediscovering who he is, what we hear in the majority of the sound what Ruben have heard, alsoThe movie follows Riz Ahmed's character journey from being a musician to deaf, and to seeking help and medical recovery, and in the journey to rediscovering who he is, what we hear in the majority of the sound what Ruben have heard, also reflect of reality what normal person can hear. Riz Ahmed is great, subtle performance which still see his emotion changes through the journey. Paul Paci, who is fantastic in this role, his character is so emotionally connect to Ruben, he wants the best for him but also he has to protect the community. Cooke is great. hope to see both Ahmed and Paci to be nominated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
carolnepaixaoMar 20, 2021
Sabe aquele filme que você assiste e não saí da sua cabeça? Com Sound of Metal você vai passar um bom tempo refletindo sobre tantas coisas. As vezes é bom aceitar as coisas que a vida nos designa...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
eusoulegal911Apr 18, 2021
Filme exepcional, um dos melhores lançados em 2020, uma obra com uma história intimista, mas que comove muito o espectador, principalmente com a ótima performance do ator Riz Ahmed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AJ_13Jan 20, 2021
Beautiful film, amazing Riz and incredible use of sound effects. I'd never thought that I'd say this, but this pretty much remembers me of Memento, since its best point is the achievement of making you empathize with the character, byBeautiful film, amazing Riz and incredible use of sound effects. I'd never thought that I'd say this, but this pretty much remembers me of Memento, since its best point is the achievement of making you empathize with the character, by enabling you to feel what he is feeling (through really different techniques though). Nevertheless it may feel a bit slow and predictable by moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrIslamicApr 25, 2021
I liked this movie more than I expected. The ending was very good and was nice to see how far Ruben has come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RMoore1138Feb 3, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A depressing story of a drummer that loses his hearing and has a difficult time coming to grips with his new life without his hearing. I found the title "Sound of Metal" a little odd as there's no metal music in the movie, there's hardly any music at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WayrexMar 14, 2021
Hit me straight at the pacemaker, having a father that lost his hearing I'm sure he felt related to the feeling of isolation and fear portrayed on this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DANGHFMar 17, 2021
Incredible interpretations by the cast, Riz Ahmed and Paul Razi gave us incredible acting and the plot is awesome
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SedakoffMar 22, 2021
Довольно интересный фильм, но не более. Игра главных героев на высоте. Фильм как будто хотели не затягивать, в некоторых моментах всё довольно быстро развивается, мне кажется этого делать было не нужноДовольно интересный фильм, но не более. Игра главных героев на высоте. Фильм как будто хотели не затягивать, в некоторых моментах всё довольно быстро развивается, мне кажется этого делать было не нужно
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Hamini8405Mar 27, 2021
the movie didn't have a special music score. it made the movie more realistic. and when I was watching it, I didn't realize the time passing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ben1322Sep 3, 2021
Contrast of sound, shots, and cinematography was phenomenal. Insight as to what living deaf might be like, things you would never think of. Great message, living with stillness. Finding that stillness to be full, learning to live withContrast of sound, shots, and cinematography was phenomenal. Insight as to what living deaf might be like, things you would never think of. Great message, living with stillness. Finding that stillness to be full, learning to live with disabilities and finally not seeing them as disabilities anymore. Life keeps moving no matter what and that needs to be accepted, but the stillness will always be there. Amazing acting from Riz Ahmed, portrays frustration perfectly. Great movie overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hesnotdrunkSep 27, 2021
Truly a masterwork. Unlike a majority of modern "critical darlings", Sound of Metal is one of those rare feats that is an incredible, visceral piece of emotionally driven filmmaking, without any of the pretentiousness that comes with theTruly a masterwork. Unlike a majority of modern "critical darlings", Sound of Metal is one of those rare feats that is an incredible, visceral piece of emotionally driven filmmaking, without any of the pretentiousness that comes with the current wave of misguided auteur driven "art-house" films that divide critics and audiences. Well paced, brilliantly acted, brilliantly directed, artfully written, and beautifully shot, the film is a knockout of gut-wrenching drama with a transcendent message on hope and meaning in our existential plights. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RekiazAug 3, 2022
Buenas tomas, muy emotiva, el final algo flojo, pero los personajes y ambiente es grandioso. La historia es la típica de tener todo, perderlo, recuperarlo, pero el final solo hay dos posibles
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews