Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 28, 2006
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1252 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
728
Mixed:
222
Negative:
302
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
BartW.Jun 28, 2006
I'm torn. I geeked out over the effects, I giggled at the homages to the original films and I was happy to see Superman again. However, I am extremely disappointed in the plot and writing in general. This movie is another example of I'm torn. I geeked out over the effects, I giggled at the homages to the original films and I was happy to see Superman again. However, I am extremely disappointed in the plot and writing in general. This movie is another example of Brian Singer extracting what he likes from a mythos and discarding the rest. All or nothing, bud. Remember the original Superman? Doesn't Drink, smoke or have sex. Hmmm, I guess in the next one we'll see Clark smoking crack. What a role model. Sex out of wedlock, unprotected sex, drinking to deal with hurt and not to mention the irresponsible behavor of leaving a world you promised to protect. Meh, there's nothing super about this man. Shame on you, Singer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChristopherJun 28, 2006
Just came back from seeing this. I tried to forget about all the hype, media saturation, and mixed reviews on this movie, and just see it for myself. I should have just stayed home and saved my money. This was by far one of the worst movies Just came back from seeing this. I tried to forget about all the hype, media saturation, and mixed reviews on this movie, and just see it for myself. I should have just stayed home and saved my money. This was by far one of the worst movies I've seen this year. There were no redeeming values at all. The plot was riduculous, the acting was bad (yes, even Kevin Spacey can't save this), the visuals were dull and uninspired. The movie was just straight out boring. When I go to see a "popcorn" flick, I usually go to be entertained. This movie failed to do this at every level. I looked at my watch about twenty times during the film (which by the way was too damn long). I rolled my eyes so many times at the cheese plot that my head hurts. If you wan't to go see it, fine, but I don't intend to ever watch this movie again. Very, very disappointed. It looks like Bryan Singer has done it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DaveJun 29, 2006
Great big steaming pile of superhero cliches. Singer should have stuck to ruining X-men movies. I went to the Tuesday night sneek peak and by Thursday I still have a bad taste in my mouth. Half the audience was under 20 and even these kids- Great big steaming pile of superhero cliches. Singer should have stuck to ruining X-men movies. I went to the Tuesday night sneek peak and by Thursday I still have a bad taste in my mouth. Half the audience was under 20 and even these kids- raised on low brow/low expectation Hollywood fare- were falling asleep. Boo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrankO.Jun 29, 2006
First off, to all of those people who complained about Superman having "unprotected sex," let's look back at Superman II where he lost his powers SPECIFICALLY to have sex with Lois... I don't recall a scene involving the use of First off, to all of those people who complained about Superman having "unprotected sex," let's look back at Superman II where he lost his powers SPECIFICALLY to have sex with Lois... I don't recall a scene involving the use of condoms, so that plot point is fair game for interpretation. "Truth and Justice"... no American Way, eh? Well, this is a movie that's going to be seen around the world, and I think the point of leaving out the last bit was to make it more global. I think there's enough pushing of the so-called "American Way" in this world already without Hollywood having to do it also. I thought the movie was great, but I wish there had been more 3-D.. the opening credits just BEGGED to be 3-D-ized... In the end, I give the movie an eight, only because I think this was a lot like the first X-Men.. a solid start, but just a primer for the REAL movie(s) (i.e. the sequels) .. I for one will be looking forward to what comes next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaD.Jun 29, 2006
I thought this was an amazing movie. The special effects were fantastic, the cinematography gorgeous, the casting perfect, and the dialogue refreshingly uncliched (well, there was one overly sappy line ... but that was just one line ...). I thought this was an amazing movie. The special effects were fantastic, the cinematography gorgeous, the casting perfect, and the dialogue refreshingly uncliched (well, there was one overly sappy line ... but that was just one line ...). Brandon Routh is great, both as the dorky Clark Kent, and the confident Man of Steel, and all of the other characters were exactly the way I would imagine them. I'm not a devoted fan of the old movies or the comic book series, so I'm not particularly picky about whether or not this movie sticks to all the nitty-gritty details of the Superman canon, but even if it does deviate from the canon, I think it does so in all the right ways. This movie has an emotional resonance that transcends your average superhero story, daring to go where I never thought it would, and it completely revitalizes the franchise. Superman Returns has it all--I have no idea how they'll ever follow it up, but of course, I desperately want them to. I didn't want it to end, and when it did, I was already dying for a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DouglasM.Jun 29, 2006
I easily enjoyed this more than any other film so far this year - I left anxious to see it again, which I rarely feel these days. I found it balanced: for me the action worked, the heart worked, I loved the cast and the writing. Let that I easily enjoyed this more than any other film so far this year - I left anxious to see it again, which I rarely feel these days. I found it balanced: for me the action worked, the heart worked, I loved the cast and the writing. Let that stand on its own if you like, before my defensiveness. As a fan of the first two Reeve films, this movie is taking a tiresome beating because the originals have been elevated over time to an impossible, inaccurate status. Also, some apparently wanted a relentless, formulaic action film and I am thrilled to see something both fun and thoughtful. And though some here are claiming their right wing concerns were shared by entire audiences, I can at least attest that my audience applauded. I loved this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
S.L.Jun 29, 2006
Superman Returns is ultimately an enjoyable film with great special effects and a love story subplot that keeps you guessing but fails in a couple of places. Most notably and surprisingly in Kevin Spacey's weak Lex Luthor who simply Superman Returns is ultimately an enjoyable film with great special effects and a love story subplot that keeps you guessing but fails in a couple of places. Most notably and surprisingly in Kevin Spacey's weak Lex Luthor who simply isn't malevolent enough but to be fair It isn't much worse than Gene Hackman's take on the character. Neither has the gravitas of Bond's Blofeld or Ian McKellans wonderful Magneto. Parker Posey is also wasted as his sidekick in a role Jennifer Tilly was born to play. Fortunately the casting for the good guys is better. Routh is a little bit less cartoonish than Chris Reeves was which I preferred and Kate Bosworth or anyone is better than Margo Kidder's Lois. The special effects are state of the art and the scene with the crippled airliner is almost worth the price of admission by itself. Ultimately the film doesn't break any new ground although it leaves some very interesting sequel possibilites and it's strong hero is let down by weak opponent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
StevenS.Jun 29, 2006
The only reason I rated this movie a 4 is because of the special effects. Routh is a pretty good Superman and Clark Kent, and everyone else does an alright job as their respective characters.. The problem is in the story. [******SPOILERS The only reason I rated this movie a 4 is because of the special effects. Routh is a pretty good Superman and Clark Kent, and everyone else does an alright job as their respective characters.. The problem is in the story. [******SPOILERS below******] Why they decided to have Superman have a child out of wedlock is beyond me. With his faimly values, there is no way the Superman of old would have done that, let alone abandon the world and woman he loved so much. Second of all, when is this movie supposed to take place? Is this after he made Lois forget that she'd married him and he became a mortal? Is it before? Everyone in Hollywood is having a kid. First Tom Cruise, then Brad Pitt... then Jesus and now Superman? It's like they made the movie just to make it and push their ideas. I'm surprised they didn't make Superman gay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshS.Jun 29, 2006
A great cast, superb effects, and a compelling story. My only complaint is the length.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickB.Jul 11, 2006
Although I have a hard time deciding if this or Pirates will be my favorite for the Summer, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at how well-done and thoughtful Superman was. A treat for fans of the originals (to which it is a direct Although I have a hard time deciding if this or Pirates will be my favorite for the Summer, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at how well-done and thoughtful Superman was. A treat for fans of the originals (to which it is a direct sequel) and an inventive, "realistic" take on the character that adds some unique twists to the Superman mythology. A great adventure/romance Summer flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrentK.Jul 12, 2006
Superman Returns Is The Best Movie I've Ever Seen In A long Time . It a Love Story Of Lois Lane And Superman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DInaD.Jul 14, 2006
How much more fake could you get? I was laughing at the corny plot the way through. Definitely what i was expecting. Also, Christorpher Reeve can be the only superman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexandreG.Jul 14, 2006
A very entertaining movie. Excelent acting for Brandon Routh especially as Clark Kent. Kevin Spacey very good also as Lex Luthor, even though Gene is still way better at it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoshuaJ.Jul 14, 2006
A great cast, great special effects but the movie falls apart because of the script. The plot is horrible. I won't give away anything. Maybe it's my own fault holding it up to greater comic book adaptations; such as: Batman Begins A great cast, great special effects but the movie falls apart because of the script. The plot is horrible. I won't give away anything. Maybe it's my own fault holding it up to greater comic book adaptations; such as: Batman Begins and Spiderman 1 & 2. Both movies revisted the character and took the story in a new direction with out compromising the characters we have known all are lives. I've about written off Bryan Singer. I used to think that he took Xmen 1 & 2 in another direction because of all the moving parts the Xmen comic books had; now I know this to be false! This movie is a disappointment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 15, 2006
My first impression on Kate Bosworth's reading of Lois Lane was that she's channeling Lisa Loeb. Her performance took me out of the movie. A second viewing, however, changed my mind. Even though she doesn't seem remotely like My first impression on Kate Bosworth's reading of Lois Lane was that she's channeling Lisa Loeb. Her performance took me out of the movie. A second viewing, however, changed my mind. Even though she doesn't seem remotely like an ace reporter, her decidedly anti-Kidder persona was befitting since Lane is called upon to be maternal this time around. The point of her seemingly underwhelming performance is that Lane is a mommy now. Softer. If the reporter didn't have a son, surely, the filmmaker would've had the common sense to cast Parker Posey (the sole supplier of any laughs) as Lane. At the time she had won the Pulitzer, maybe Bosworth's Lane was more like the Lois of '78, and less, as mentioned, like the composer of "Stay". "Superman Returns" is a hit or miss affair, that gets by on the sheer amount of money thrown on the screen. It does, indeed, look great. But sadly, like "Star Wars; Episodes I, II, and III", the only time your heart truly soars is when you hear the rehashing of John Williams' score. Brandon Routh is fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JGJul 16, 2006
This wasn't a "Wow superman is so great look at all his cool moves" movie. It was more than Superman being all tough and macho. In fact he wasn' t even that tough and macho. There was real story line and you could see that superman This wasn't a "Wow superman is so great look at all his cool moves" movie. It was more than Superman being all tough and macho. In fact he wasn' t even that tough and macho. There was real story line and you could see that superman also had real emotions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IsmP.Jul 16, 2006
Decent film with enough nods to the past films. But it could had been more action packed and plot is underwhelming. The special effects are not that great for a $200 million plus budget.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LouisM.Jul 16, 2006
Very true to the spirit of the comic book. But two things were unfortunate. The villan is to much of a Dr. Evil character which the Austin Powers franchise laughed at. I realize that this is being true to the comic, but times change and Very true to the spirit of the comic book. But two things were unfortunate. The villan is to much of a Dr. Evil character which the Austin Powers franchise laughed at. I realize that this is being true to the comic, but times change and comic heroes evolve too, like Spiderman, Batman and X-men. I think they should have created a more realistic modern day villan without a woman holding a little dog. The other thing is that Superman does not show off his powers enough. With him, the possibilities are endlessand there were not enough elaborate stunts (ala Matrix & X-men.) The modernization of the super hero should be balanced with keeping the original spirit alive. Maybe the balance here shifted too much to the original spirit. Still a fantastic movie though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TedM.Jul 17, 2006
The only thing that propped it up this high were the IMAX and the 3D scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChantelleK.Jul 19, 2006
Absolutely fantastic film, as soon as i saw it i wanted to see it all over again. Brandon Routh is fantastic as superman! Brilliant performance. A**
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesH.Jul 21, 2006
Seen the film and thought it was brilliant. Brandon Routh gave a brilliant performance as the man of steele, can see why he was chosen. He would have been Chris Reeves first choice. The film plot was great, showing a more emotional side to Seen the film and thought it was brilliant. Brandon Routh gave a brilliant performance as the man of steele, can see why he was chosen. He would have been Chris Reeves first choice. The film plot was great, showing a more emotional side to Superman. Had great action sequences with great CGI , you can now beleive a man can most definately fly! All the acting was good, and wot a great Lex Luthor Kevin Spacey made. The film had action, humor,sadness, happyness. I recommend the film to all. Baah humbug to all the negative reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BradJul 21, 2006
The movie had a good look about it and the airplane scene was great. The problem is it seemed as a polished version of the original. Gene Hackman put his mark on the original bad guy- sorry Kevin Spacey, the role was a tad larger the life The movie had a good look about it and the airplane scene was great. The problem is it seemed as a polished version of the original. Gene Hackman put his mark on the original bad guy- sorry Kevin Spacey, the role was a tad larger the life for you to pull off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SarahH.Jul 22, 2006
Remember when the Incredibles get their new costumes, and are lectured about the dangers of capes? Try watching the opening action sequence of Superman with that in you head. I laughed till I cried.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KaySt.T.Jul 22, 2006
What a super boring movie. Weak script. Seems like only fanitics are giving it 10 to try and prop up the ratings. It's better to skip this movie so WB know that they have to do much better than this. They were too embarassed to show What a super boring movie. Weak script. Seems like only fanitics are giving it 10 to try and prop up the ratings. It's better to skip this movie so WB know that they have to do much better than this. They were too embarassed to show this at the Cannes Film festival. I can see why. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DhardingJul 23, 2006
Routh was ok as Superman, but he didn't get the Clark Kent character quite right. Kent's clumsy, but not a complete dork. Bosworth just did not capture the Lois Lane character. Not enough pizazz. Special effects great, Lex great, Routh was ok as Superman, but he didn't get the Clark Kent character quite right. Kent's clumsy, but not a complete dork. Bosworth just did not capture the Lois Lane character. Not enough pizazz. Special effects great, Lex great, Perry white was great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EricY.Jul 24, 2006
The movie was decent, but I was expecting more from this movie. The effects really weren't that great. When Superman was flying around, I thought I was watching a video game or something. His face looked like the players in my NHL and The movie was decent, but I was expecting more from this movie. The effects really weren't that great. When Superman was flying around, I thought I was watching a video game or something. His face looked like the players in my NHL and Madden games. Worth a watch, but don't expect greatness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveT.Aug 13, 2006
This years Phantom Menace. A film which many love on release but as time passes the mediocrity will be recognised and accepted. [***SPOILERS***] This is a film which takes the character of Superman and tears it up to replace it with This years Phantom Menace. A film which many love on release but as time passes the mediocrity will be recognised and accepted. [***SPOILERS***] This is a film which takes the character of Superman and tears it up to replace it with something far less super. The character now is an individual who willingly interjects himself between a family. Yes, the annoying plastic child whose expression does not change once during the entire film may be his but it believes that Richard White is its father and as such Supermans actions are suggestive that he is willing to break the family up. The Superstalker scenes are also rather uncomfortable viewing with Superman spying on Lois and family. Kate Bosworth gives a by the numbers performance which could have been carried out by any actress, she brings nothing new to the role and does nothing to make the role her own. The chemistry between her and Routh is negligable. Routh himself does a good job with the mediocre material given. He does not have the charisma evident with Christopher Reeve but aquits himself capably. The problem is that the character of Superman seems to be more about the suit than anything else, there is very little to actually define what the character is about in this film and the Clark aspect is criminally underused. One of the most interesting characters is probably Richard White who provided more charisma and chemistry and a more heroic demenour than any of the other characters presented. Lex Luthor is more menacing than the Hackman version and is better for it. There is a sense of underlying malevolance to Spaceys performance which makes him more realistic as a villain. The plot itself is poor, turning the primary colour figure of Superman into a brooding and slightly egocentric figure more concerned with his own emotional needs than the repercusions of his actions. There are some nice action pieces but these are interspaced with dull and overlong moments where nothing much happens. The pacing of this film is very poor and I did expect more from Singer. The future dynamic between Superman and Lois is damaged by this film as is the heroic nature of Superman himself. A mediocre film of moments and full of plot holes and inconsistency. A shame as I tend to think this film could have been so much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JosephW.Aug 13, 2006
Worst Superhero movie. It was long and boring, and this movie plagiarized off the original one too much for me to enjoy. It's like the edited the original script and threw a son in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlaS.Aug 15, 2006
i loved the movie for the actin of the leading man (Routh) and for the effects. We have to realize that this movie has sequels and lots of answers are still to come. a new and good Super man has bosn for this generation!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayR.Aug 15, 2006
A great film! Superman Returns is an intelligent, passionate, quirky, and most of all heartfelt open-letter to all the real life heroes in the world, and the ones we wish would pay us a visit from a distant planet to keep peace on Earth =). A great film! Superman Returns is an intelligent, passionate, quirky, and most of all heartfelt open-letter to all the real life heroes in the world, and the ones we wish would pay us a visit from a distant planet to keep peace on Earth =). I must disagree with many of the negative peer reviewers on this page. (since respectfully he did give the most complete dissenting opinion of Superman). [***SPOILERS***] Superman does indeed pay a visit to Lois Lane's new home-- but only to find out if she still loves him. C'mon.. who amongst us with a brokenheart hasn't kept tabs on our old flames to see if there was any hope left of rekindling a romance? I personally felt that the gesture opened Kal-el up to a more brokenhearted and therefore human performance. Also, he does not "interject" himself to a family.. Lois isn't married yet and the boy is Kal-el's only son! Despite all that, Superman's only action is to visit the young boy, his biological son, and speak to him in his sleep, echoing his father's sentiments ("Sometimes you'll feel like an outcast.. but you'll never be alone.. you will make my strentgh your own.") Much like Jor-el must speak to his own son from beyond the grave, Kal-el must also make contact to his own son in the same manner of isolation due to the burden he bears as Earth's defender. Superman, first and lasly, is a film about the purity of spirit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
VamsiK.Aug 23, 2006
I'm a Superman-comics fan, and found this movie disappointing. This is not how a superhero movie should be. I think the makers should take a good look at "Batman Begins" or the "X-Men" series to understand what they need to do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
talhaSep 19, 2006
Masterpiece, inside the mind of Superman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
christianbSep 15, 2008
Worst Superman version ever made in history. Didn't gave it a zero because of Kevin Spacy, but besides his performance, the movie was a disgrace to Hollywood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamM.Nov 29, 2006
This movie was done with a class that is rarely seen these dats, especially in superhero films!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HuckB.Dec 12, 2006
I found Superman creepy. Looking through walls to watch families eat. The chemistry was crap. The back story of the son was absurd. Do the math. Lois, shame on you! Too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ArkonBladeOct 26, 2010
when i think of this film one word comes to mind... boring... we've had 4 superman movies done before this and they all had lex luthor as the main villian . i think its time to move on to some one new . the whole brains vs brawn thing haswhen i think of this film one word comes to mind... boring... we've had 4 superman movies done before this and they all had lex luthor as the main villian . i think its time to move on to some one new . the whole brains vs brawn thing has worn out its stay. why not give superman a real villian who has some power like doomsday. the visual effects are nice and the new guy taking the role of superman doesnt do to bad of a job . its just that the film never feels like it goes any where fun or interesting. if you want to see a good superman movie go see the original first 2 films with reeve. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EliteF50Oct 11, 2010
Despite its flaws, this is without a doubt the best Superman movie. Sure, it could have used more action and less dialogue, but I enjoyed this movie the whole two and a half hours I was sitting there watching it. Oh, and one more thing...Despite its flaws, this is without a doubt the best Superman movie. Sure, it could have used more action and less dialogue, but I enjoyed this movie the whole two and a half hours I was sitting there watching it. Oh, and one more thing... Brandon Routh IS Superman. I'm glad Zack Snyder is taking over, but Routh needs to return as Superman. He deserves it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FamousdogJun 29, 2013
Why the hate for this movie? I have returned to this question having just been to see Zach Snyder's Independence Day meets Matrix Revolutions version of Superman and i just can't understand it. In a film landscape dominated by reboots, BryanWhy the hate for this movie? I have returned to this question having just been to see Zach Snyder's Independence Day meets Matrix Revolutions version of Superman and i just can't understand it. In a film landscape dominated by reboots, Bryan Singer attempted to produce a film that would fit seamlessly with two films made over 20 years earlier. And you know what? It bloody worked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuJun 23, 2013
Although short on 'action', this soulful and heartbreaking take on the Superman franchise is utterly fantastic. It works well at stirring nostalgia on by following precisely in the footsteps of the old 70's and 80's movies... And Kevin SpaceyAlthough short on 'action', this soulful and heartbreaking take on the Superman franchise is utterly fantastic. It works well at stirring nostalgia on by following precisely in the footsteps of the old 70's and 80's movies... And Kevin Spacey is a riot as Lex Luthor! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wolfritzJun 21, 2011
This is one great movie. The story and acting coexisted perfectly. One of my favorites of the Superman movies. Brandon Routh portrayed Clark Kent/Superman pretty well. Definitely worth the watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
Superman Returns has the right elements for a good Superman movie. It has big, epic-sized effects, a story about the more human portions of Superman, and more than enough drama to keep brainless superhero pieces of shlock on the floor (I'mSuperman Returns has the right elements for a good Superman movie. It has big, epic-sized effects, a story about the more human portions of Superman, and more than enough drama to keep brainless superhero pieces of shlock on the floor (I'm looking at you Wolverine). That said, to be a drama is not enough. It must be a competent drama. I could go on about how Lex Luthor's plan makes no sense, or about the odd decision to give Superman a child, but I like to think that picking at individual aspects isn't as important as the overall tone. Plenty of superhero movies have gotten away with questionable fine details because they had the right tone and pacing hold interest and entertain (X-Men and Spider-Man immediately come to mind). The feel of Superman Returns is just all wrong. The film truly is dull, in every aspect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 11, 2012
Superman Returns is a reboot that has a epic story. Lex Luthor is a better villain in this Superman and that is probably the biggest reason why I think Returns was satisfying. Hopefully the next reboot can do it even better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianJul 2, 2019
A reasonably good Superman film, Spacey is good and the visuals and music are strong but it isn't as entertaining as it should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Critic2012Nov 22, 2012
Though it certainly isn't on the same scale as Christopher Nolan's Batman when it comes to superhero films, SUPERMAN RETURNS is certainly one of the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
Once again, another supremely underrated comic book flick. The casting wasn't as good as the originals, but I thought that Brandon Routh, Kate Bosworth and Kevin Spacey did fine in their roles. The effects are astounding and add moreOnce again, another supremely underrated comic book flick. The casting wasn't as good as the originals, but I thought that Brandon Routh, Kate Bosworth and Kevin Spacey did fine in their roles. The effects are astounding and add more believable moments to the film. Plus, this was an original story line, its not like they revisited the origin story again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Não sou contra esse filme porém não grande coisaNão sou contra esse filme porém não grande coisa Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheWalrus2000Mar 30, 2013
I praise it becuase its better than the third and fourth supermans but at the same time I'm concerned by the bad effort Bryan Singer put on its direction. It has outstanding visuals but Superman Returns falls into great depths of boredom andI praise it becuase its better than the third and fourth supermans but at the same time I'm concerned by the bad effort Bryan Singer put on its direction. It has outstanding visuals but Superman Returns falls into great depths of boredom and similar to 300, it looks to hard for memorable scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesSep 3, 2014
I don't get why is this movie so bashed by the audience. Because it's thoroughly entertaining from the beginning to the end? Because the movie has so much potential and the cast never wastes that? While not as great as the two movies,I don't get why is this movie so bashed by the audience. Because it's thoroughly entertaining from the beginning to the end? Because the movie has so much potential and the cast never wastes that? While not as great as the two movies, "Superman Returns" offers enough witty to amuse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
UCAMay 8, 2014
It's a diffcult game. But I think this game is too simple because you really only can be two skills, dodge an attack and attack with your weapon or magic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
juliankennedy23Oct 26, 2014
Superman Returns: 6 out of 10: This movie is definitely missing the spark that made the first two Supermans fun. (Superman 3 was pretty awful and Superman 4 is one of the worst films of all time). Superman comes across as a bit of a jerk andSuperman Returns: 6 out of 10: This movie is definitely missing the spark that made the first two Supermans fun. (Superman 3 was pretty awful and Superman 4 is one of the worst films of all time). Superman comes across as a bit of a jerk and a bully in this film and the franchise isn't all that better for it.

Superman has gone away for five years in a plot contrivance that threatens to sink the film before it can begin. The claim is that he is seeking the remains of his home world (Not to sound like a comic book geek but he if gets his powers from our yellow sun he shouldn't be flying past Pluto let alone halfway across the galaxy.) He comes back, sort of says hi to mom, tortures his poor loyal dog with a tennis ball and heads to the big city where he stalks his ex-girlfriend Lois whom he didn't even tell he was leaving and who has clearly gone on with her life.

And I'm not exaggerating the stalking. Superman hangs outsider her house using superpowers to snoop like some DC comics version of a cautionary Lifetime movie.

Lex Luthor is also back with another stupid plan though Kevin Spacey does play the character well and a talented Parker Posey fills both the Otis and Mrs. Teschmacher shoes.

Both leads (Brandon Routh and Kate Bosworth) have zero chemistry with each other and considering they were passionate lovers their conversations are pretty stunted and mundane.

The action sequences are decent but the whole film seems to drag at two and a half hours and there is a distinct lack of joy. (You know something fun like everyone putting their Kryptonite up on E-bay, or Superman dating a supermodel to make Lois jealous that kind of thing everyone seems so damn melancholy.) Speaking of melancholy I noticed that Superman never asked about any disasters he didn't prevent while he was on his so called vacation. Maybe a trip over lower Metropolis to see Ground Zero would have given him a reason for all the moping.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ClipStateNov 14, 2016
Superman Returns appears to play it safe and thus plays out much like its predecessors. Its the same old material played out with a different cast and yet still feels like its stuck in the past. Some people wanted to see this, and someSuperman Returns appears to play it safe and thus plays out much like its predecessors. Its the same old material played out with a different cast and yet still feels like its stuck in the past. Some people wanted to see this, and some didn't. The background, scenery and effects are well created but lack the wow factor we expect with more recent entries. Its yet another devious, 80s-esque plot that happens to be reminiscent of the stereotypical supervillain only with diminishing returns. Most of the action is also composed of Superman lifting things. Like a lot of things. We see little in the form of combat with Superman although it probably isn't exceedingly nessecary as evident by the 2013 Reboot's supposed overuse of it. Much of Superman Returns would feel slow for the modern audience but can kick in a bit of nostalgia for the rest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
fatoshajdini101Oct 30, 2014
i must say that I really enjoy this film, I'm so glad that the critics ended well but WHY THE USERS WERE SO HARSH TO THIS FILM, THEY GOT IT ALL WRONG! I've seen this film a couple of times and it's still my favourite. Superman Returns is thei must say that I really enjoy this film, I'm so glad that the critics ended well but WHY THE USERS WERE SO HARSH TO THIS FILM, THEY GOT IT ALL WRONG! I've seen this film a couple of times and it's still my favourite. Superman Returns is the greatest superhero movie ever thanks to Bryan Singer(director of the two first X-men films) and I realized that this is an alternate sequel to both Superman l and ll ignoring lll and lV so that's peculiar, Brandon Routh is a perfect guy for the role, and Lex Luthor is back once again played by Kevin Spacey, this character is more sadistic and cruel than Gene Hackman's character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 3, 2016
Superman Returns just has a lot to go through to be the best Superman movie of the 2000's, but it failed... but that doesn't mean it's terrible. It's fun to watch until boredom begins to scratch out of your head.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KaihakuJan 25, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Superman Returns is a sad case study. It was a unique reboot that recaptured the charm of the classic movies while moving forward into new territory. Routh as Clark Kent channeled Reeves brilliantly. It might have reignited the franchise if it had contained a few more epic action scenes for the audience that found it boring. As a coming of age tale, a man becoming a father, it delivered...but it lacked the bombastic action that superhero movies usually feature and there was rarely a sense of threat. I really enjoyed it for what it was but, after lots of discussions, can understand why many of the people who saw it were disappointed. It's a shame, if only Lex had recruited an actual supervillian Routh might still be Superman instead of the Atom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DyliebarMar 2, 2016
It is an enjoyable, fun superhero film! Although it is a bit too long and it does drag a bit from time to time! It's a good, but not great movie, and it's worth watching!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieMasterEddyApr 6, 2016
Jesus of Nazareth spent 40 days in the desert. By comparison, Superman of Hollywood languished almost 20 years in development hell. Those years apparently raised the bar fearsomely high. Last seen larking about on the big screen in the 1987Jesus of Nazareth spent 40 days in the desert. By comparison, Superman of Hollywood languished almost 20 years in development hell. Those years apparently raised the bar fearsomely high. Last seen larking about on the big screen in the 1987 dud "Superman IV," the Man of Steel has been resurrected in a leaden new film not only to fight for truth, justice and the American way, but also to give Mel Gibson's passion a run for his box-office money. Where once the superhero flew up, up and away, he now flies down, down, down, sent from above to save mankind from its sins and what looked like another bummer summer.

The super-size (more than two and a half hours) "Superman Returns" was written by Michael Dougherty and Dan Harris, working off a story hatched by them and the director, Bryan Singer, after what appears to have been repeat viewings of Richard Donner's "Superman." Released in 1978, that film ushered Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster's original comic creation into the blockbuster age with frothy wit and a cast that included Marlon Brando in a creamy scoop of white hair and Gene Hackman in clover. Christopher Reeve, of course, wore the cape and tights, while Margot Kidder did a fine approximation of the young Katharine Hepburn at her most coltish. Valerie Perrine and Ned Beatty added some laughs, while Glenn Ford supplied a pinch of gravitas.

As nutritious as a box of Cracker Jack and just as yummy, "Superman" was at once a goof and a self-conscious bid at modern mythmaking. Years later, what resonates aren't Mr. Donner's action scenes, which look crude compared with what he would do later in the "Lethal Weapon" series, but how fluidly he changes tones from the iconic (as when the supertoddler lifts a truck off his Earth father) to the playful (as when the souped-up adult realizes that the closetlike phone booth is a thing of the past). Mr. Reeve worked the tonal changes with similar ease, delivering a superhero whose earnestness was strategically offset by his fumbling, bumbling, all-too-human twin, who was just the ticket for the post-Watergate, pre-Indiana Jones moment.

Mr. Singer's Superman, played by Brandon Routh, is a hero of rather different emotional colors, most muted. Like Christopher Nolan's "Batman Begins," Mr. Singer's effort reworks the legend against a vaguely modern, timeless backdrop that blends the thematically old with the technologically new. The story opens with some necrophiliac wizardry and Brando newly arisen as Superman's extraterrestrial father. Well represented even from beyond, the dead actor receives billing for his spectral turn, squeezed between Eva Marie Saint, who plays Superman's earth mother, and Tristan Lake Leabu, who plays Lois Lane's young son. The Daily Planet's star reporter is in turn played by Kate Bosworth, whose glum mien and curtain of brown hair suggests that blondes really do have more fun.

Lois, however, doesn't enter the picture until after the filmmakers have laid the story's Oedipal foundation, which finds two men saying goodbye to the much older women who will, intentionally or not, shape their destinies. In one corner, Lex Luthor (Kevin Spacey taking up the role played by Mr. Hackman) bids cold adieu to the crone who will make him fantastically rich; in another, Superman again digs a fiery trough into the Kent family farm upon crash landing. This time, it's the grown man who brings tears to his mother's eyes and who stares at the sinking Kansas (actually Australian) sun, weighing his responsibility to humankind after a five-year hiatus crossing the galaxies to visit his original home.

It's too bad that Mr. Singer and his colleagues don't really do anything substantial with the good-guy-bad-guy routine. Superman may be a super-creation, but it's his villains rather than his dual identity that have usually given him a kick. Unlike his brooding and angst-ridden rivals in the superhero game, his alter ego is only as interesting as the comic book artist or the actor adding shades of gray to Clark Kent's business suit. Part of the charm of Mr. Reeve's interpretation was that a guy this impossibly handsome, who literally towers over everyone in the office, could hide behind a slouch and oversize eyeglasses. It was absurd, but then so too was the idea that a powerful extraterrestrial would hang around Earth to take the kind of abuse perennially heaped on his human half.

As he proved with his first two installments of "The X-Men" franchise, Mr. Singer likes to make important pop entertainments that trumpet their seriousness as loudly as they deploy their bangs. It's hard not to think that Superman isn't the only one here with a savior complex.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
UNARMED_JORDAug 21, 2016
this movie is not the definitive superman movie we all crave, but for once we see superman in a way he has never been portrayed in this film, he may not be the fighting superhero we want him to be but the amount of emotional depth in thisthis movie is not the definitive superman movie we all crave, but for once we see superman in a way he has never been portrayed in this film, he may not be the fighting superhero we want him to be but the amount of emotional depth in this movie just makes it a truly worthy name under superman's belt Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Mariel33Aug 14, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall, Superman Returns is the sort of force that's irrational, yet is ironically able to gain value by being aware of itself. What's meant by this is that the irrationality in question is perhaps that it's acceptable to oppose self-awareness without reason, and that the source of this dynamic isn't meant to be understood.

Possessing self-awareness is a type of division, ergo a type of conflict. So from this definition, what can be projected onto Superman Returns is the formula that the source of being self-aware is the irrational, but, because that source was always inevitable that means that it's okay for an outcome of purity to derive from the act of self-awareness. Of course, the next problem that leads from this is that if Superman Returns is a process of getting to purity, is that meant to suggest that the movie itself is an evil product?

Even if Superman Returns isn't evil per se, on the basis that evil is true, that still leaves the worrying and disturbing idea that Superman Returns is partly evil incarnate. Which makes sense, given that the story does feel very eerie, and very poignant and about impending doom. But then again, if the story is about impending doom, that provokes the great idea in which Superman Returns can be understood as a perfect encapsulation of a trade of identities: the story is about impending doom, and therefore the external product possessing the story being the process to purity is a very neat and very impressive reality. The probability, is that Superman Returns is indeed what's just been described. It doesn't seem far-fetched or out of place to perceive Superman Returns this way, but, there is then a new issue that arises: if this identity of purity for evil is real, is it worthwhile to point out that it's possible that this nature is a justification for the movie? If the justification is real, perhaps it's just a consequence of the story that the complexity isn't able to deal with the justification. After all, the purity that's ostensibly linked to the product isn't an actual part of the experience, not even when Kal-El visits Jason at the movie's very end, and so it seems fair game to think of Superman Returns as a type of failure. Failure, in this sense, isn't negligible but it also isn't important. The fact is that Superman Returns is a tremendous emotional experience, and frankly represents a much better type of art and philosophy of film-making than most other superhero and fantasy movies do. In the world of Superman Returns, the mundane and the common are the special and the supernatural. The typical human experience is the value of the story, the clear pattern of the story being the link between complexity and uniformity.

In Superman Returns, spectacle derives from uniformity, but link between spectacle and uniformity is the theme of the movie rather than just some accidental byproduct. The supernatural nature of uniformity being possible is the movie's spiritual essence, and this is the sort of story depth that far outshines many other sci-fi classics. It's a crime that Superman Returns never got a sequel, but at the same time it isn't any wonder from an artistic perspective, similar to Batman & Robin.

At the end of Batman & Robin, Barbara Wilson joins Bruce Wayne and Dick Grayson to become a trio of superheroes; because of this intellectual development, it isn't a surprise that Batman & Robin never got a sequel, because the conceptual specialness of Batman, Robin and Batgirl was too precious to actually manifest. Superman Return was the exact same reality, ending on such a conceptually exciting and emotionally uplifting note that the prospect of any sequel to Superman Returns would've been daunting to say the least. Superman Returns has its flaws, but the real heart of its brilliance is that those flaws are in fact part of the very things that make Superman Returns an infinite case of magnificence
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
While Lex Luthor (Kevin Spacey) plots to destroy him once and for all, the Man of Steel (Brandon Routh) returns after a long absence to a much-changed world. Lois Lane (Kate Bosworth) has moved on with her life, and society has learned toWhile Lex Luthor (Kevin Spacey) plots to destroy him once and for all, the Man of Steel (Brandon Routh) returns after a long absence to a much-changed world. Lois Lane (Kate Bosworth) has moved on with her life, and society has learned to survive without him. Superman must find a way to reconnect with her and find his place in a world that may no longer need him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CoreGamer1408Dec 13, 2018
The lead role was a good choice for Superman, but they didn't give him much of a story to work with. Lex Luthor ending up being another real estate agent again. Lex is so much more than that. He is a master mind evil genius not some oldThe lead role was a good choice for Superman, but they didn't give him much of a story to work with. Lex Luthor ending up being another real estate agent again. Lex is so much more than that. He is a master mind evil genius not some old woman’s toy boy and land grabbing thug. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MacsMusicDec 29, 2017
For me, Superman Returns is the definition of a good superhero story. It is great to look at, with great action and a great plot, and really just unforgettable. This movie has so many scenes that I just want to watch again and again, myFor me, Superman Returns is the definition of a good superhero story. It is great to look at, with great action and a great plot, and really just unforgettable. This movie has so many scenes that I just want to watch again and again, my favorite being the destruction of Lex's model of Metropolis. The scene just feels... real. Much of this movie is very simple, but real and unforgettable somehow. I can't really explain why Superman Returns is so great. Just watch it, and then you might understand what I'm trying to say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarvelJoeFeb 4, 2019
This was a movie that I'll respect try to do great. It's really decent but some good moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jonslowJan 11, 2019
overall - not a disappointment. Not that awesome thriller that Spider-Man was, not as fantastic as the X-Men movies, not as mysterious as Batman, but still loads better than Daredevil, Elektra, and Fantastic Four.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews