Columbia Pictures | Release Date: January 22, 2016
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 313 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
111
Mixed:
84
Negative:
118
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
PipeCFeb 17, 2016
An almost exact mix of "The Hunger Games" and "The Divergent Series"

One year more, and more best sellers have come. A teenage girl abandoned by her parents, five threatening waves, one brother to the rescue, and a couple of guys to fall
An almost exact mix of "The Hunger Games" and "The Divergent Series"

One year more, and more best sellers have come. A teenage girl abandoned by her parents, five threatening waves, one brother to the rescue, and a couple of guys to fall in love. "The 5th Wave" is an adaption of the book of the 2013 written by Rick Yancey. Its main protagonist is the talented and beautiful Chloe Moretz as Cassie Sullivan, a high school student who is threatened by one group called "The Others ", she will need to survive in a dystopian world full of dangerous and enemies for one reason his younger brother. Director J Blakeson returns to be in the director's Chair and possibly create a successful and profitable franchise, emphasizing the script created by Jeff Pinkner, Susannah Grant and Akiva Goldsman that gives light to the atmosphere so off.

In the beginning, the character played by Chloe (Cassie) is the kind of good American girl cliche of some films. She attends a party up to certain time because her parents are home, loves his brother and sing you a song of good night, it's the same again. This middle class girl suffers a rapid transformation process, it all begins with the arrival of the aliens.

Appears momentarily the first wave, a pulse electromagnetic which leaves the town in shock. With a surprising and boring short duration each wave dismantling quickly, each with a duration of about 3 minutes, missed the potential that It had the introduction of the phases. Floods, tsunamis and tidal waves attack the world, establishing a short but sexy scene of Cassie escape and her brother.

The third phase is the flu, and shows us the introduction of characters with short duration and unnecessary (Cassie best friend) used only to create a dramatic scene, the same thing again.

As it was logical her family seek refuge after harrowing moments. The girl has to deal with horrible things (deaths, falls, lost, pains and all that stuff) but the worst is what gives way to the plot of the film, the abduction of her brother.

The training of the young soldiers is very similar to the tone in "Kingsman: The Secret Service", taking refuge in a room for everyone and subjecting them to harsh tests. The performance of Maika Monroe (Ringer) was quite successful and arguably is one of the young promises next to Chloe Moretz who truly have the honor to be called "actresses".

They have arrived and the plot twist of a discovery is maintained in a stable limit, being predictable for some but unimaginable to others. So finally the 5th wave happens, and the argument starts during this.

Walk through the dangerous forest with a gun makes see a totally powerful Lady and is on the road where it meets the twin "Four" ( The Divergent Series) Evan Walker (Alex Roe) a survivor with secrets who is madly in love with Cassie.

The work of Sam Sullivan (Zackary Arthur) is as to the height of the roles of older people, can tell no difference with his companions, this boy have future.

"The 5th wave" might be more successful if its producer Sony would have expected a little more of time, when the really interesting sagas like "Divergent" or "Maze Runner" had finished and the hungry young people will ask for new franchises. But they didn't , and now it seems to be an almost exact copy of its competitors. This film was not disappointing, but this was not the best time for Cassie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
EnterViewmentMar 1, 2016
Everything about 'The 5th Wave' is very middle of the road. It isn't exactly a bad movie but nor is it one I would go out of my way to suggest people should go and see. A major problem with the film is the lack of originality in itsEverything about 'The 5th Wave' is very middle of the road. It isn't exactly a bad movie but nor is it one I would go out of my way to suggest people should go and see. A major problem with the film is the lack of originality in its narrative. As you watch it you start to see where the story of the film is going from a mile off, turning intended plot twists into confirmed predictions. Now this isn't to say that the film doesn't have entertaining moments, it does, but with the narrative being so by the numbers, the general flow of the film (particularly when it reaches the second act) starts to grind and become less engaging. A positive aspect for the film is the cast, in particularly Chloe Moretz (Kick Ass) who delivers a lot more range than any of her previous works, and takes to the lead role rather well. Considering this is the first movie of a planned trilogy and although I found it overall to be quite underwhelming, I would still like to watch the sequel as I can see there is potential, although perhaps that's more in the young actors rather than the film itself. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
JazzTheManFeb 5, 2016
The 5th Wave doesn't deliver, but it doesn't disappoint. The movie throughout is dull, and it tries too hard to bring in action and suspense. Good concept, but bad delivery.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
not_muellerMar 26, 2016
I went and saw this movie because Zootopia was sold out. From what I'd seen on the trailers, it looked like another Hunger Games/Divergent. I was right. I watched another female protagonist deal with family issues as she stumbled through theI went and saw this movie because Zootopia was sold out. From what I'd seen on the trailers, it looked like another Hunger Games/Divergent. I was right. I watched another female protagonist deal with family issues as she stumbled through the forest alone with nobody that could help her. Until, of course, she met a boy that she originally didn't like until she saw him bathing in a river. It was arguably better than most movies of its kind, however, given that it had some moments that actually made me cry. However, the part before "the first wave" was cheesy, a classic red-solo cup party with drama about a boy she liked. That part felt forced and awkward, probably because the director hasn't lived as a teenager today- understandable. The duration of the film in the first four waves was emotional and devastating, major props for that. However, aside from a few good scenes, everything else following that was much worse. Between flat characters (the "agressive one", the "kid that needs protected", the "smart one"), another plot where the teenagers have more power/skills than adults (probably meant to make teenagers feel empowered), and a rushed romance, the movie felt flat from a beginning that could have separated it from other movies of its type. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MediumUndeadMay 30, 2016
This movie is Horrid It Has no Suspense Half The Movie is Predictable And The action Scenes Are Horrible The concept is pretty Cool Actually But It Was Pulled Of Horribly
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
CasuallyFeb 6, 2017
Everything wrong with modern big budget film-making. An insult to intelligence with what is essentially a dragged out unimaginative and obvious twist. A waste of an example of a potential strong female leading role which instead culminates inEverything wrong with modern big budget film-making. An insult to intelligence with what is essentially a dragged out unimaginative and obvious twist. A waste of an example of a potential strong female leading role which instead culminates in a hilariously awful love triangle. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
victorhjklFeb 8, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I saw the trailer of this movie I thought it would be a median action movie, but no! the actions scenes are horrible, the characters are all stereotyped, the scenes are totally predictable, and even in the end of the world the main concern is: which boy will the girl choose? it's like a twilight saga in the end of the world. The movie is not good, although I have liked the idea of waves specially the fifth one, but this is not enough. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
SeanGamerDaysJan 24, 2016
The 5th Wave dosen't disappoint. It was really-really good! The story was quiet excellent, really. But the only bad aspect of the movie was, for it's small "Teen Drama Scene" moments, and the s----y ending (no worries, I wont say a damnThe 5th Wave dosen't disappoint. It was really-really good! The story was quiet excellent, really. But the only bad aspect of the movie was, for it's small "Teen Drama Scene" moments, and the s----y ending (no worries, I wont say a damn thing) Chloë Grace Moretz performance was really-really good, and so other actors... It wasn't really bad, actually. Just those parts I mention earlier... :D Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
MadMaxFuryRoadJan 23, 2016
I can't believe I'm actually saying this, but in a field of crowded dystopian films, The 5th Wave is one of the very best. From the first scene, I couldn't take my eyes off the screen. Chloe Grace Moretz was fantastic in this film as well asI can't believe I'm actually saying this, but in a field of crowded dystopian films, The 5th Wave is one of the very best. From the first scene, I couldn't take my eyes off the screen. Chloe Grace Moretz was fantastic in this film as well as her boyfriend. I felt like there were some pretty good intense disaster sequences and the film just went really well. The plot is a bit predictable and the last 30 minutes were pretty slow, but that first hour just really blew me away. Most of the people who say this movie is bad or at least not entertaining probably didn't go see the film, because the film might have its flaws but everyone must admit they were entertained for at least a small bit. I've never read the book, and I probably won't but I'm dying to see if they make a sequel. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
EricfilmsJan 22, 2016
Who do you trust when all humanity is lost? That is the basic theme of The 5th wave. Based on the first book of a planned trilogy, the present world is being invaded by aliens, eliminateing the human race with 5 waves. The last remaningWho do you trust when all humanity is lost? That is the basic theme of The 5th wave. Based on the first book of a planned trilogy, the present world is being invaded by aliens, eliminateing the human race with 5 waves. The last remaning humans are divided: Some are left alone to fight to surivive, some are taken in by the gorvement to form an elite group to take back their world, and some are taking by the "others". Cassie's little brother is taken by the others and it is up to her to save him. Cassie is a stong female character, which makes the movie enjoyable. Chole does a great job of bring Cassie to life. Before going to see the movie, I thought I was not going to enjoy it becase it was other Hunger Games and Divergent, but I was wrong. I enjoy this movie; It has it's own twist and stands on it own. The action scenes are amazing and gripping. It has everything for the male and female audience. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
Monica222Jan 24, 2016
Loved it! It was a great YA movie! If you're not into YA movies you probably won't like it and will be critical of everything, but from someone who loves YA movies this was great!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
spidey_1994Jan 25, 2016
The 5th wave delivers. It grabs you and won't let you go until the credits end. It is hauntily gripping. I don't know what the critics saw, but it sure wasn't the 5th wave. The 5th wave takes a new form of YA adapations. It is a new spin ofThe 5th wave delivers. It grabs you and won't let you go until the credits end. It is hauntily gripping. I don't know what the critics saw, but it sure wasn't the 5th wave. The 5th wave takes a new form of YA adapations. It is a new spin of this gener. The waves and action sequences are gripping. The actions are really good and mind blowing. Chole does a great job protraying Cassie. Go see this movie, you won't regret it. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
FilmkingJan 26, 2016
The strong female lead is what makes the film stand out, which Chloe does an amazing performance as Cassie. The film in whole is a trill joy ride. The actions in this film is amazing. Seeing the waves coming alive is hauting. Don'tpay anyThe strong female lead is what makes the film stand out, which Chloe does an amazing performance as Cassie. The film in whole is a trill joy ride. The actions in this film is amazing. Seeing the waves coming alive is hauting. Don'tpay any minds to critics; they don't know anything. As you can tell, audiences enjoyed this film because it is really good and entertaining. Of cource it has a little love story, but the actions, the grippingniess, and the hautinginess is what makes the movie enjoyable. Watch the film and enjoy. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
WonderworldJan 26, 2016
The 5th wave is what movies all about. It is entertaining, has actions, has a great performances of a female lead, and most of all its haunting. Seeing the waves unfold is scary. Chloe does a great job as the leading role Cassie. Don't letThe 5th wave is what movies all about. It is entertaining, has actions, has a great performances of a female lead, and most of all its haunting. Seeing the waves unfold is scary. Chloe does a great job as the leading role Cassie. Don't let others make you skeptical about this film. Go watch it!! It had great actions and is higly entertaing. You don't need to read the book to enjoy the film. The film stands on its own. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
RubeenYTJan 28, 2016
This movie has a very good argumentation and very good special effects ( if we don't count gunshots that are horrible ). Im really waiting to the second part
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
thevibeJan 28, 2016
This film truned out to be actually good. I don't know why people are dislikeing it? Maybe becasue it other YA adaptations? That is being biased. Just becasue it is other YA, dosen't mean it's bad. YA is a type of genre; just like comedy andThis film truned out to be actually good. I don't know why people are dislikeing it? Maybe becasue it other YA adaptations? That is being biased. Just becasue it is other YA, dosen't mean it's bad. YA is a type of genre; just like comedy and action.The 5th wave has a great stroy, the actions are mindblowing and well done, the special effects are good. The strong female lead is what drives the stroy forward, which Chloe dose a great job. The Waves coming alive on screen is hauntingly. GIve this movie a chance and watch it. The best part of the films are the actions, which is action packed. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
SilvaninhaJan 22, 2016
My son had mentioned me to see this movie, I really thought it would not surprise me let alone please me , but I actually found the fantastic movie without unnecessary dialogues and without much ado , I loved a lot and recommend it to everyone!
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
10
wilson123Jan 22, 2016
Shows an alien invasion a little different from what we have seen in Spielberg 's films for example, is not just explosions and advanced technology, has something else behind , say it's a very well-planned strategy , I particularly found aShows an alien invasion a little different from what we have seen in Spielberg 's films for example, is not just explosions and advanced technology, has something else behind , say it's a very well-planned strategy , I particularly found a resemblance to " the host " as the long aliens, were parasites, but only that it reminded me of something that happened in another film and the course of the film to see a bit of cliché teen movies , but that does not diminish the movie , I promise to be a long VERY good and the sequence to be better, that defects will be corrected . Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
BetoJoseJan 22, 2016
I did not even being teens movie fan , the 5th wave surprised me , really good story and a post-apocalyptic world for us all refletimos.Adorei Chloe this film really deserves a continuation
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
CooperesbeioJan 23, 2016
A movie interesant and makes what the people can dream and think most. Chloe Grace Moretz makes fall in love and the movie is a good adaptation what can be the next Hunger Games
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
margiJan 22, 2016
The 5th Wave is one of the best movies based on books currently , sorry that most critics only compares with the voracious games, but the film is perfect and performances are amazing and in no time the film gives sleep.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
milehighcrewJan 23, 2016
The book was very good but not excellent and the movie is better than that. It is not an award winning epic movie but really a good story in the lines of the maze runner or the hunger games. Critics are being to hard on this movie, anThe book was very good but not excellent and the movie is better than that. It is not an award winning epic movie but really a good story in the lines of the maze runner or the hunger games. Critics are being to hard on this movie, an excellent January release. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
WaqJan 27, 2016
I came to the theater with low expectations after reading some reviwes; however, I was wrong. The 5th wave is a good movie and highly entertaining. I don't know why people are so harsh. The film is gripping from the opening till the endI came to the theater with low expectations after reading some reviwes; however, I was wrong. The 5th wave is a good movie and highly entertaining. I don't know why people are so harsh. The film is gripping from the opening till the end credits. The actions in this film are really good and the film has a great pace. The actors doese a great job. The Waves are haunting and gripping. Watch this film, you will come out likeing this film regrardless what critics says. Just look at the user score: it has a GREEN 6.7 score out of 65 rating with 38 postive reviews. That speeks for it self. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
CarlyarJan 22, 2016
Another hit for the YA genre. While most YA novels/movies are set in a future dystopian society, the 5th wave is set in present time with invasions coming in 5th waves to eliminate the human race. The polt of the 5th wave is what it makes itAnother hit for the YA genre. While most YA novels/movies are set in a future dystopian society, the 5th wave is set in present time with invasions coming in 5th waves to eliminate the human race. The polt of the 5th wave is what it makes it different from the rest of the YA adapation; let alone making it scary to think the alien invasion will happen this way. After the "others" take Cassie's, played by Chloe Grace Moretz, brother,she is set to look for him. Along the way, she meets Evan Walker who joins her to look for her brother, but somwthings not right with Evan. Is he one or the others or one of the last remaing human? The 5th wave won't dissapoint fans of the novel. It has twist and truns and lot of great action. It also answers the question Who do you really trust in the time of need? Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
8
DaceroJan 22, 2016
Fans of the YA books rejoice! The 5th wave has finally has come. Not to be happy that the 5th wave has come to earth, because it is scary has heck. As a matter of fact, Waves 1-4 is shockingly terrifying, but that what makes the filmFans of the YA books rejoice! The 5th wave has finally has come. Not to be happy that the 5th wave has come to earth, because it is scary has heck. As a matter of fact, Waves 1-4 is shockingly terrifying, but that what makes the film adaptation gripping. To see the waves come alive on the big screen is terrifying. The actions scenes are best as it gets; it mix with war, surviving combat, and lets not forget about the waves, which will haunt you. The film adaptation will not let the fans of the book dow. It is a true adaptation that will grab you and won't let you go. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
9
dacero007filmJan 25, 2016
The 5th wave is actually good. Don't pay attention to the critics. The 5th wave has everything for eveyone. The actions sequences are gripping. Chole gives a great performance as Cassie. You wont regret watching this movie. You should take aThe 5th wave is actually good. Don't pay attention to the critics. The 5th wave has everything for eveyone. The actions sequences are gripping. Chole gives a great performance as Cassie. You wont regret watching this movie. You should take a chance and forget what critics say. Remember, they get paid to say whatever. Don't let others ruin your chance on watching this entertaining movie. Just read what the audience are saying, they too enjoy the film. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
iacero2Jan 25, 2016
The 5th wave is acutally good. I was skeptical about watching this because of the critics, but as all ways critics are wrong. The 5th wave is a fun and entertaining thriller movie. It will have you on the edge of your sets. The actions areThe 5th wave is acutally good. I was skeptical about watching this because of the critics, but as all ways critics are wrong. The 5th wave is a fun and entertaining thriller movie. It will have you on the edge of your sets. The actions are great. The waves are gripping. Chloe does an amazing job. Take a chace. You will enjoy this movie. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
ElopizJan 26, 2016
A full jolt of thrill ride. I normaly don't like this type of movie, but the 5th wave is actually good. It's actions sequences are not only mind blowing but gripping also. Chole's performances is great. The film stands out from other YAA full jolt of thrill ride. I normaly don't like this type of movie, but the 5th wave is actually good. It's actions sequences are not only mind blowing but gripping also. Chole's performances is great. The film stands out from other YA adapations due to its new twist and take. The film will thrill you from start to end. It is higly entertaing. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
Accioice21Jan 26, 2016
Brace your self the Waves are comming. The 5th wave is not your average aliens invasion; it's way better. It gives something new to not only aliens but to the YA aswell. The performance of chloe is what makes the female strong leadBrace your self the Waves are comming. The 5th wave is not your average aliens invasion; it's way better. It gives something new to not only aliens but to the YA aswell. The performance of chloe is what makes the female strong lead interesting and enjoyable. The actions in this film is well played out. I won't lie and tell you that the film is not gripping; it is. The waves will hit you and grip you. I recommend the 5th wave. Watch it. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
BB-8Jan 26, 2016
A new take on YA adaptions with haunting elements that will surly have you on the edge of your seats. The 5th wave is a trill joy ride, no matter what the critrcs says. I came into the movie thinking the movie will be a drag, but i was wrong.A new take on YA adaptions with haunting elements that will surly have you on the edge of your seats. The 5th wave is a trill joy ride, no matter what the critrcs says. I came into the movie thinking the movie will be a drag, but i was wrong. From the first few minutes the film will grab you and won't let you go. It is gripping watching the waves come alive from book to film.Chloe Grace Moretz gives a strong performance as Cassie, one of the last survivors, in search of her little brother, after aliens invades earth in waves. NO, it is no tindependence day, it is way better and realistic.As with other reviews, the actions in this film is great and haunting. Go see this movie. You would not regret it. Take a chace like I did. You will find out that you will acutally enjoy this movie. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
DfilmsJan 28, 2016
I normally do not like YA adaptions, but I found The 5th Wave to be actually a entertaning movie. The film has great amount of actions that are not only mind blowing but also gripping. It has has good special effects of the different waves.I normally do not like YA adaptions, but I found The 5th Wave to be actually a entertaning movie. The film has great amount of actions that are not only mind blowing but also gripping. It has has good special effects of the different waves. This film will not only taunt you, it will also grab you and not let you go! Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
GothamknightJan 28, 2016
I had low expectations after watching the trailer. I thought, "Oh great! another pointless aliens taking over the world movie." However, I was wrong. The 5th wave is more than just about aliens. It about the will to surviveand humanity ItI had low expectations after watching the trailer. I thought, "Oh great! another pointless aliens taking over the world movie." However, I was wrong. The 5th wave is more than just about aliens. It about the will to surviveand humanity It is way better than independence day movie. What the 5th Wave does is take aliens and twist it around in a realistic setting with real humanity issues. It has great action and special effects. This movie is so realistic that it's gripping and taunting. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
CaptaincoldJan 28, 2016
Finally, another great YA to look forward to. The 5th wave delivers in a fast paced, gripping thriller. Yes, Gripping. The Waves and actions in this film is so realistic that is hauntingly gripping. Don't listen to the critics. This movie isFinally, another great YA to look forward to. The 5th wave delivers in a fast paced, gripping thriller. Yes, Gripping. The Waves and actions in this film is so realistic that is hauntingly gripping. Don't listen to the critics. This movie is worth the watch in theaters. Look at the 45 postive reviews. Obversely people are not paying any mind to the critics, and they end up likely the movie anyways, so would you. The actions and acting are so well done. Treat yourself to this gripping film. You will like it. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
ClaytonputhJan 29, 2016
I was like eveyone, haitng this movie just beacuse it was another YA adapations. However, after seeing this film, I was mindblow. This movie has a new twist of Dystoipina. The actions and waves are left me speechless and mindblowing; It isI was like eveyone, haitng this movie just beacuse it was another YA adapations. However, after seeing this film, I was mindblow. This movie has a new twist of Dystoipina. The actions and waves are left me speechless and mindblowing; It is that great. The speacial effects are well done. The actores perfromaces are also good. The movie has lots of great actions. Don't pay mind to the haters. Watch it for yourself. You will have so much fun on the edeg of your set thril ride. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
IzzyTorresJan 22, 2016
Scary. Haunting. Gripping. The 5th wave delivers. The fans of Rick Yancey's best selling YA novel won't be dissapointed in this adaptations. Chloe Grace Moretz gives a greatperformance as Cassie, a strong female character that made the novelScary. Haunting. Gripping. The 5th wave delivers. The fans of Rick Yancey's best selling YA novel won't be dissapointed in this adaptations. Chloe Grace Moretz gives a greatperformance as Cassie, a strong female character that made the novel gripping and loved by many. After aleins landed on earth and eliminating the human populations with forms of waves, Cassie is left alone to survive after the others took her brother. Determined to save him, Cassie sets out to look for him. Along the way, Cassie meets Evan after he saves her from one of the others. But in a world where everything fight for your self, who should you trust? Is Evan one of the other? or is he really human? The 5th wave is a gripping movie that will have you on the edge of your set. The actions are mindblowing. The waves are scary. The evierment is gripping. The 5th waves is awesome. You won't be disappointed. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
AbLeaoJan 22, 2016
The book '' The 5th Wave '' is too large to develop each character , however, they measured right to be able to put everything , even taking some major parts that I really missed , it remains a great adaptation , performances really are veryThe book '' The 5th Wave '' is too large to develop each character , however, they measured right to be able to put everything , even taking some major parts that I really missed , it remains a great adaptation , performances really are very good, effects are not amazing 100% more are great . Expand
10 of 19 users found this helpful109
All this user's reviews
0
marco34laJan 23, 2016
How on earth do movies like this get made??? Good god!! It's starts as an action movie - the slows down
to a snails pace the rest of the film. It's complete with bad dialogue, cliche romance, etc...
what a complete waste of money and
How on earth do movies like this get made??? Good god!! It's starts as an action movie - the slows down
to a snails pace the rest of the film. It's complete with bad dialogue, cliche romance, etc...
what a complete waste of money and time. I hope the movie studios go bankrupt for making all this crap and charging a fortune to see it.
Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
9
TopfilmdudeJan 26, 2016
Don't pay any minds to the harsh reviwes of this film. The 5th wave is really good adaptation. It has allelements of a thriller/suspense film. The waves are haunting and scary. This movie is about the fight to save humanity when all it lost.Don't pay any minds to the harsh reviwes of this film. The 5th wave is really good adaptation. It has allelements of a thriller/suspense film. The waves are haunting and scary. This movie is about the fight to save humanity when all it lost. It is also about the will to live and survive. The strong female lead is well written and perfromed. The actions in this movie is top notch. So treat yourself to this movie. You will actually like it regradless what people are saying. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
Luis007Jan 27, 2016
The 5th wave is surpriseingly a good film. It takes a new route on YA adaptions and new twist on aliens invasion. It makes Independence Day look like child's play. The 5th wave is more on a serious note and touch bases on humanity and theThe 5th wave is surpriseingly a good film. It takes a new route on YA adaptions and new twist on aliens invasion. It makes Independence Day look like child's play. The 5th wave is more on a serious note and touch bases on humanity and the will to survive when everything is lost. Instead of nonsese blowing up stuff like independence day, the actions in this film is hauntingly and gripping in a realistc setting. Chloe Grace Moretz gives a strong performace in the female lead. Give the film a chace and watch it. The actions are mindblowing and the Waves are haunting. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
FlashfilmsJan 28, 2016
This is not your average aliens coming to earth to wrack havoc. This film lies heavily on strong humanity, which makes other aliens film look like a mindless cartoonish, Disney film. What sets The 5th Wave apart from other aliens films isThis is not your average aliens coming to earth to wrack havoc. This film lies heavily on strong humanity, which makes other aliens film look like a mindless cartoonish, Disney film. What sets The 5th Wave apart from other aliens films is that this film is on the realstic side. It's heart is fighting for humanty when everything is lost. The actions in this film are gripping and scary. Chole gives a great performance as Cassie, as well with the other actors. Don't follow the dislike reviews. This film is worth the watch in the big screeen; go see it. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
KnightsfilmsJan 29, 2016
The 5th wave won't dissapoint. It is a thrill ride from start to end. The speical effects are azmazing and the waves are terrifying. The actions are well paced and awesome. It is action packed throughout the movie that will have you on theThe 5th wave won't dissapoint. It is a thrill ride from start to end. The speical effects are azmazing and the waves are terrifying. The actions are well paced and awesome. It is action packed throughout the movie that will have you on the edge of your set. Will you survive the 5th wave? Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
jbrown8989Jan 26, 2016
Didn't really know what to expect from the movie as I had never read the book. The movie started off really good with the different waves but then turned into a bit of a teen drama movie in the end
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
Kyl0renJan 29, 2016
This film is surprisingly goood. I had low hopes for this film, but this film is amazingly entertaining. I think people should give this film a chance and watch it. You will find your self on the edge of your set. The actions are full blownThis film is surprisingly goood. I had low hopes for this film, but this film is amazingly entertaining. I think people should give this film a chance and watch it. You will find your self on the edge of your set. The actions are full blown amazing. The suspence is taunting. The waves is hauntingly terrifyig. The 5th wave delivers. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ElreyfilmJan 29, 2016
The 5th wave is not really a bad movie as people are saying. It a good entertaining movie. It even a fun thrill ride with twist and truns throughout the movie. The waves are scary and gripping. The actions in this film are throughout theThe 5th wave is not really a bad movie as people are saying. It a good entertaining movie. It even a fun thrill ride with twist and truns throughout the movie. The waves are scary and gripping. The actions in this film are throughout the film. It a new take on aliens invasion in a realastic enviorement. That what makes the 5th wave stands out. It is will pull you inside the film beacuse it has a realastic setting and realastic action. Go watch it before yor regret it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
lelefoxx00Jan 30, 2016
What a fantastic movie! I am a fan of alien movies but good ones can be hard to come by, at times. I loved the plot of this movie as well as the acting. I loved the idea that they attack in waves rather than just one sudden invasion. I haveWhat a fantastic movie! I am a fan of alien movies but good ones can be hard to come by, at times. I loved the plot of this movie as well as the acting. I loved the idea that they attack in waves rather than just one sudden invasion. I have not read the book yet but look forward to doing so. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
RalfbergsDec 25, 2016
I liked the idea of the movie and it was quite interesting throughout, I don't know why it has so many negative reviews. Only thing which I did not like was towards the end that it basically didn't solve anything and that some of the thingsI liked the idea of the movie and it was quite interesting throughout, I don't know why it has so many negative reviews. Only thing which I did not like was towards the end that it basically didn't solve anything and that some of the things started to be too weird and did not make sense. Plus they made it kinda that it will have sequels and if it is trying to make itself as another Maze Runner, Hunger Games etc franchise I think that's a bad idea. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
maxschwartzzzFeb 1, 2016
I read the book and I have to say the film really does hold true to it (for the most part), could almost say "exactly how I imagined it". It was done very well, the special effects were great, especially in the beginning. Perhaps only changeI read the book and I have to say the film really does hold true to it (for the most part), could almost say "exactly how I imagined it". It was done very well, the special effects were great, especially in the beginning. Perhaps only change i would want it the actor for Evan Walker, didn't really sell me on the part. Otherwise, really great film, I don't understand why critics are panning it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
StreetwisekidJan 29, 2016
Be warned! You will be taunted, haunted, and even jolted because the 5th wave will put you on a trill ride. This movie is good; no matter what others says. This dystopian film is so realistic that you will be drawn into the films andBe warned! You will be taunted, haunted, and even jolted because the 5th wave will put you on a trill ride. This movie is good; no matter what others says. This dystopian film is so realistic that you will be drawn into the films and characters. The actions in this film is fully loaded, which is also on the realistic stide. Chole gives a strong performace as the lead chatacter Cassie. You don't need to be a fan of the book to enjoy this film. It will blow you away. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
samdawiseJan 29, 2016
Wow! Just wow! From the opening scene the 5th wave will capative you. Then, it will grab you and won't let you go until the end credits. Then, it will leave you wanting more. I don't know why the haters dislike the YA adaptions. The 5th waveWow! Just wow! From the opening scene the 5th wave will capative you. Then, it will grab you and won't let you go until the end credits. Then, it will leave you wanting more. I don't know why the haters dislike the YA adaptions. The 5th wave is a good dystopian thril ride. The realistc enviorement is what makes the aliens invasion powerful and scary. The actions are well done and top notch. It is full of twist and turns without the actions stopping. Watch this movie. you will like it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
DavidV293Jan 22, 2016
For some reason I felt uncomfortable while watching this movie, it was either the acting or the movie itself. It's a movie based on a book which I respect that but is this movie near as good as the book? Cause if the book is like this thanFor some reason I felt uncomfortable while watching this movie, it was either the acting or the movie itself. It's a movie based on a book which I respect that but is this movie near as good as the book? Cause if the book is like this than what the f*ck are some people reading. The 5th wave is to me, an excuse to make money since movies based on books are getting popular. But hopefully is the last time I see this. Sorry to those offended but just no. This movie is awful. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
7
themattman2Jan 27, 2016
The trailers made it look like a movie I would like to see. A post-apocalypse action film. Cool! Like Terminator or Independence Day, right? Why are they showing that one girl so much? I want to know what’s happening with the adults. Why areThe trailers made it look like a movie I would like to see. A post-apocalypse action film. Cool! Like Terminator or Independence Day, right? Why are they showing that one girl so much? I want to know what’s happening with the adults. Why are we back with the girl? No, it’s a teenage thriller!

All right. Advanced aliens show up and try to get rid of humanity so they can have the Earth. They send “wave” after wave of attacks against us. The first wave is an EMP pulse which knocks out all of our electronics. It also knocks out running water, to which I say, “Waaa?” In most cases, your running water will work in most cases during a power outage. But I punched myself in the head until I could accept that and kept watching. It was disturbing to watch a plane slowly tilt in the sky before falling to the ground.

The second wave brings a literal wave. Earthquakes (unshown) cause tsunami waves on all coastal areas. The main character says they only survive because of their lake (instead of the ocean). Can a lake have a tsunami? A Google search confirmed that it can happen. All right, movie. You got me that time, but I’ve got my eye on you.

The third wave is disease in birds that crosses over to, and kills most of, humanity. I had visions of the television show The Last Ship on this one.

The 4th and 5th waves are a bit more muddy. By the end of the movie, you’ve figured out the 5th–being the whole point of the movie. What exactly was the 4th. Well, I looked it up online, but it’s not entirely clear. Is now the 4th? Now? How about now? I guess the first three waves were so dramatic. The 4th wave is less so. I guess they didn’t want to name the movie The Fourfifths Wave.

And then there’s the teenage girl love-triangle. I guess every teenage girl longs to be loved by two men. One is not enough. Neither should there be four. Five is straight out.

And then the character has “thank you” sex? Really? Has this generation devalued sex to the same level as a handshake? I suppose the sex is only implied and not shown. They could have lowered themselves off-screen for a snuggle. That was probably it.

Whoa. She’s what, 16? The leading man looks a healthy 25. Ages on either side aren’t defined. I’m sure they were only snuggling.

The whole time I was thinking, “What about the man of her dreams that she is a scene away from meeting?! Can’t she wait just a little longer?!” But that is the teenage angst getting to me. Maybe you’re supposed to feel this way (if you’re a teenage girl).

I don’t want to drop any spoilers on you. I’ll just say the ending left much for me to desire. The entire thing was very “Meh” for me.

The movie as a whole was like watching survivalists tromping through a forest. Occasionally, Dick Cheney shoots at them. The movie has a few, “What?” moments and a few, “Why not?” Moments. Those may or may not be intended.

Yes, if you’re a teenage girl. No, if you’re not. Hey, it’s better than Divergent. That’s pretty high praise.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
KadeemluvmusicJan 25, 2016
There's no star power in The 5th Wave. I love Chloe Grace Moretz, but she should've know better. Although there were a few good action sequences, but it's just another YA adaptation filled with a boring premise and lacking story. Unlike TheThere's no star power in The 5th Wave. I love Chloe Grace Moretz, but she should've know better. Although there were a few good action sequences, but it's just another YA adaptation filled with a boring premise and lacking story. Unlike The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones, I'd say it's strike #2 for Sony because if they make one more YA-based movie, then I'd rather watch an somewhat decent Divergent and Ender's Game. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
FilmWiz21Jan 29, 2016
The 5th wave is the most fun film you will watch about dystopian. The film is all around thrill ride. It is not only gripping but haunting to. The actions are mindblowig and the performace of the actors are well played out. What set this filmThe 5th wave is the most fun film you will watch about dystopian. The film is all around thrill ride. It is not only gripping but haunting to. The actions are mindblowig and the performace of the actors are well played out. What set this film apart is that it has twist and truns. This will make you think who would you trust when everything else is gone. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryJan 27, 2016
Not being familiar with the novel, I was expecting a flick about an alien catastrophe. The first 30 minutes were promising, with devastating attacks on our planet. Then it drops Chloë Grace Moretz (with her shampoo commercial hair) into YANot being familiar with the novel, I was expecting a flick about an alien catastrophe. The first 30 minutes were promising, with devastating attacks on our planet. Then it drops Chloë Grace Moretz (with her shampoo commercial hair) into YA territory, as she struggles to find her brother and save civilization. The typical tropes of the genre kick in (burgeoning romance, youngsters leading the effort, a sweet kid). That might have been acceptable if the holes in the logic didn’t make the whole thing seem stupid. It was relatively well paced, but the action was mediocre and the teen drama dragged it down. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
NateNixonJan 28, 2016
I wasn't expecting much things about this movie, I don't read the book, but well, the trama sounds interesting, sadly the movie is extremely boring, yeah, have some cool scenes, but it's not enough to save the movie. The performances are bad,I wasn't expecting much things about this movie, I don't read the book, but well, the trama sounds interesting, sadly the movie is extremely boring, yeah, have some cool scenes, but it's not enough to save the movie. The performances are bad, Chloe Moretz can make better things than this role, the other guy, Alex Roe, I don't like his character, is really generic and the performance don't help much, the rest of the cast tried to made their best, but is not enough, because the develop of the characters in the script is not good, are completely boring. At the end, The 5th Wave have a couple of positive things, is a good idea, but unfortunately the movie is boring, and let's be honest, other movies based on Young Adult movies are better than this one. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
Hache-HiJan 22, 2016
The start was interesting, but only that part, the rest become those cliches type Young Adult Fiction, but nothing unique, personally i didn't enjoy it, i get bored pretty quickly.
Is just the same thing exploited just to make money.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
LuisacerofilmJan 25, 2016
I was recommended the 5th wave by my friends after they seen it. At first i wad a little skeptical about watching it, but i was wrong. I found myself enjoining the movie. It was action packed and gripping. Many people compare the 5th wave toI was recommended the 5th wave by my friends after they seen it. At first i wad a little skeptical about watching it, but i was wrong. I found myself enjoining the movie. It was action packed and gripping. Many people compare the 5th wave to The Hunger Games and Divergant. The 5th wave is enither of those two. It is completely different. The action sequences are amazing and well done. I recommend the 5th wave. It really good. If i was skeptical then found myself acutally enjoying it, so will you. Watch it!! Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
AlejandroDJan 26, 2016
Another great YA adaption to look forward to. The film plays out well and the actions are amazing and scary. Chloe does a great job in a strong female lead. See this movie if you like haunting and gripping stroy line. Even if you do not likeAnother great YA adaption to look forward to. The film plays out well and the actions are amazing and scary. Chloe does a great job in a strong female lead. See this movie if you like haunting and gripping stroy line. Even if you do not like YA adaptions, You will like the 5th wave. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
4
TheKavehJJan 24, 2016
There are so many plot problems with The 5th Wave, but it's just like every YA dystopian film. Some parts are enjoyable, but most parts are just so cliched and boring.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
fantasyFeb 2, 2016
I have always wondered about Metacritic in whether or not these reviews are from actual moviegoers. I am sorry to report that the reviews you see for The 5th Wave are mostly phony. I thought so before I decided to see the movie yesterday butI have always wondered about Metacritic in whether or not these reviews are from actual moviegoers. I am sorry to report that the reviews you see for The 5th Wave are mostly phony. I thought so before I decided to see the movie yesterday but wanted to make certain for myself. If you click on some of these reviewers previous reviews you will see just one review, which is of course, for you guessed it, The 5th Wave. Coincidence? I don't think so. Metacrtic should be monitoring these reviews. So sad.

In the rave reviews below you will see the same buzz words repeated. "Doesn't disappoint"; "harsh critics"; "haunting"; "thrill ride"; ""scary" "YA movie", "Don't listen to the critics", "better than Independence Day" etc. I'm sorry to report that all these reviews were written by the same person who needs to study up on her spelling. But I do give this young teenage girl an "A" for effort in trying to get you to go see this movie.

Let me begin by stating that this is a mindless movie for teenage girls under the age of 15. The acting, directing, and cinematography is what you would expect in a campy "B"movie. It was painful to watch. Unfortunately, if you buy the propaganda you will soon learn there is never any action, nor a moment of suspense, and completely forget about any thrill rides! Scary? Haunting? Midway thru the movie you may want to take some No Dose to stay awake!

About 20 minutes into the flick you know you've been had. It's so badly acted that you actually want to stay to see what comes next. It's almost laughable. The first wave is all power is lost on the planet. No cell phone, no automobiles, no planes, no running water. 15 minutes later the US Army comes marching into camp riding school buses. Really? No explanation how they did it but just accept it as fact.

By now anyone with an IQ above their actual age realize what the 5th wave is. Then it goes from bad to worse. I almost felt like I was watching a video game unfold before my eyes. If you think you are going to see any aliens good luck. There are none. Just ridiculous mumble jumble of a script that defies any and all logic. Giving this movie a rating of 1 isn't even justified. For the record I love science fiction movies of all kinds. This is by far one of the worst movies ever made. Avoid at all costs Collapse
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
DadarkknightJan 29, 2016
I was amazed how much this film was actually good. The harsh reviews are way off. The 5th wave is a fun and hauntily thrill ride. The invasion are realistic and haunting. There are actions throughout the film with great special effects. TheI was amazed how much this film was actually good. The harsh reviews are way off. The 5th wave is a fun and hauntily thrill ride. The invasion are realistic and haunting. There are actions throughout the film with great special effects. The actors also done a great job. This film is filled with twists that you won't see coming. Watch it, it is really good. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
NikitaBrandtJan 23, 2016
1. The worst cast picking ever. 2. There's no acting of this girl-protagonist at all. 3. My friend liked that movie, so there's can't be something worse than this...
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
2
shpostalJan 24, 2016
Sorry I suppose to be a downer, but outside the presence of Chloe Moretz, the adorable gal from the "Kick Ass" series, has grown up some into a very beautiful young actress, and her acting is fine - it's the script, lack of originality and aSorry I suppose to be a downer, but outside the presence of Chloe Moretz, the adorable gal from the "Kick Ass" series, has grown up some into a very beautiful young actress, and her acting is fine - it's the script, lack of originality and a sixth wave of incredible cliches and predictability that sinks this film at least for me, partly because I'm not a teenager, and I don't think modern teenagers can save the world without their smart phones, frankly, and I'm sick of knock offs of "The Hunger Games".
First it was "Divegents", then the "Maze Runners", that one having at least a twist of a tale, and then this film which shamelessly is trying only to capitalize on a teen age Armageddon craze. I'll break the news gently to Hollywood: despite your best efforts, you cannot and will not produce another Jennifer Lawrence any time soon. Lawrence is incredibly smart and talented - her ability is that of the greats. Quit trying to clone her.
Then the plot. I could have come up with something a lot more sinister and threatening, not to mention avoiding the casting, which was so derivative of the other teen apocalypse movies it was aping it was insulting. It seem that Hollywood was willing to bank on a tried and true formula without much thought hoping it could cash in. It probably will, but I'm glad we used a gift card from Christmas so I can honestly say I didn't spend my money on it.
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeJan 22, 2016
Disaster... movies... never... turn... out... to... be... good... period. Let's just not see what happens on the 5th wave and call it a day, okay? No, don't bother seeing this unless you're in it for disaster movies.
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
2
DotTheEyesJan 22, 2016
For a while, The 5th Wave is modestly promising: a dramatic in-medias-res opening finds the teenage heroine (played by Chloë Grace Moretz) encountering a stranger while searching an abandoned convenience store and shooting him in a panic. AFor a while, The 5th Wave is modestly promising: a dramatic in-medias-res opening finds the teenage heroine (played by Chloë Grace Moretz) encountering a stranger while searching an abandoned convenience store and shooting him in a panic. A prelude to her post-apocalyptic isolation is then shown, a crowded and entertaining 20- or 25-minute montage of Roland Emmerich-style set pieces, including tsunamis crashing into major cities and a visit to an expansive quarantine zone. The film then implodes spectacularly, however, with end-of-the-world spectacle giving way to a flatly executed series of YA clichés. Everything is either inconsistent (the alien antagonists' body-snatching-in-suburban-Ohio end game does not comport with their early global omnipotence), trite (the introduction of a studly farmhand to serve as love interest), or uncomfortable: much of the story revolves around child soldiers, and the film is not concerned by the idea of an adolescent army, only whether they are fighting for the right side. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
VioletsJan 24, 2016
Terrible execution even from YA adaptation standards. The characters were uninteresting enough to the point when if any one of them died, I wouldn't care. Nothing happens in this movie, nothing. I cannot stress enough how boring this was. NoTerrible execution even from YA adaptation standards. The characters were uninteresting enough to the point when if any one of them died, I wouldn't care. Nothing happens in this movie, nothing. I cannot stress enough how boring this was. No action. No thrill. Not even emotion compelling enough to give sympathy. And the romance. Oh boy, the romance. The worst, most forced, most awkward I have seen in years since Twilight. DO NOT give the Box Office what they want, money for a sequel. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
3
NerdConsultantJan 23, 2016
THE 5TH WAVE IS A MESS, PURE AND SIMPLE. It has very few original ideas. It seems to constantly rip off other movies in the hopes of becoming the next ‘Hunger Games’, ‘Maze Runner’ or ‘Divergant’, however I think it will be joining theTHE 5TH WAVE IS A MESS, PURE AND SIMPLE. It has very few original ideas. It seems to constantly rip off other movies in the hopes of becoming the next ‘Hunger Games’, ‘Maze Runner’ or ‘Divergant’, however I think it will be joining the myriad of young adult novel series that fail to get sequels like ‘Tomorrow When The War Began’, “The Gold Compass’ or ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians’ and yes I am aware that Percy Jackson got a 2nd movie, but really, that franchise is dead now. The acting isn’t too bad, but it’s clear the actors have been poorly directed. The effects are rubbish and the story is so boring, over cliched and raises way more questions than answers that no one can care about. It doesn’t inspire you to see a sequel, it just inspires you to see better movies and TV series, instead of watching this one. The only saving grace was kind of Maika Monroe and Nick Robinson’s performances, but even that is not enough to save this movie. It was boring and a poor watch, I really have no desire to see where this possible franchise is going and I suspect this will tank at the Box Office. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerFeb 26, 2017
I really enjoyed the setting in this movie. It's kind of got a post-apocalyptic feel as our heroine is left to scavenge supplies on her own in a new world where she can't trust anybody and is without the everyday comforts she once took forI really enjoyed the setting in this movie. It's kind of got a post-apocalyptic feel as our heroine is left to scavenge supplies on her own in a new world where she can't trust anybody and is without the everyday comforts she once took for granted. It's something that sets the movie apart from the average YA novel flick. There are quite a few issues though, so there's more than a bit of wasted potential.

The most notable thing is how this feels like a budget attempt at the Hunger Games. Special effects are really dated and a few of the actors are B-level at best. Mix in a few YA movie tropes and you've got a movie that happens to stumble over it's own feet here and there. The biggest issue is just the plot. Things are fine when you're watching Moretz try to survive, but they take a turn for the ridiculous when you follow the other characters. It's too absurd to believe that the military is training high-school aged kids and younger to be elite soldiers while all the adults apparently just sit around and do nothing. A twist near the end makes this all a little easier to swallow, but doesn't change the fact that it's nonsensical to the point of stupidity.

I did find the movie to have it's enjoyable elements though. The characters are likable, Moretz is a great lead, and I dug the end of the world vibes I was getting from it. It's a little more unique than just another Hunger Games wannabe. There's also some solid action.

The movie could definitely be a lot better. You're going to have to put of with some cheesiness, preposterous plot points, and Maika Monroe's irritating performance and ear-bleed inducing dialog, but there are worse movies out there. If you enjoyed other Hunger Games-esque movies like Maze Runner then this should still prove worth a watch. Most likely though as just a rental.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Mar 22, 2016
This is a truly godawful film. Between the horrible acting, ridiculous romance, and half thought through story, the 5th Wave is the bottom of the barrel of these young adult films. The series should end now because I have a feeling this isThis is a truly godawful film. Between the horrible acting, ridiculous romance, and half thought through story, the 5th Wave is the bottom of the barrel of these young adult films. The series should end now because I have a feeling this is only going to get worse. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
TerrierJul 9, 2016
Avoid this one.

About the FX, sorry but we are pretty sick of it but its not the main problem. The history sounds great but the characters are the problem, they are really unrealistic. People are more simple, when they are scared then
Avoid this one.

About the FX, sorry but we are pretty sick of it but its not the main problem. The history sounds great but the characters are the problem, they are really unrealistic.

People are more simple, when they are scared then they are scared (obvious, no?), not in love or with personal issues. When people are scare then, they run, cry, getting shocked and so on. There is not time to talk about feeling. Why?, everybody feel like a crap.
I wonder why Hollywood simply don't do a high school movie?.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Nobilis1984Feb 16, 2016
cruel boring movie.
The film adheres strongly to the books. I myself have found me the audiobook only partially belongs. The reason for this is the boring and bland story to Kassy and repel the aliens to mankind.
Audio book and movie suck.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Caveren59Feb 10, 2016
If you want real entertainment, just read the book. They took an awesome post-apocalyptic survival story and turned it into a teen movie. Almost ruined the book for me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Samanosuke0Feb 9, 2016
Another teen movie, full of teen action and teen lovesick. Dispensable.

What's up with the good directors ? Any crap made in our days is called "Sci-fi".
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
OsoamigableFeb 3, 2016
A kid's movie disguised as an adult's one,
Stop appreciating this piece of **** for its (mediocre) actress, the movie is absolutley terrible, teen-drama crap that you'd expect from a worthless book and its painful adaptation. Un-surprisingly
A kid's movie disguised as an adult's one,
Stop appreciating this piece of **** for its (mediocre) actress, the movie is absolutley terrible, teen-drama crap that you'd expect from a worthless book and its painful adaptation. Un-surprisingly bad. Who would enjoy this? Pre-teens that would fap to the **** actress, and melodramatic idiots that like this kind of crap.
Final verdict:
Not recommended, unless you're a child or you like this kind of **** adaptations.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
bttrmoviesFeb 2, 2016
When I saw the cast list for 5th Wave, I'll admit that I got kind of excited. I'm a fan of Chloe Grace Moretz, Maika Monroe, and Liev Schreiber and was looking forward to seeing them work together in a film - even if it seems to be a set upWhen I saw the cast list for 5th Wave, I'll admit that I got kind of excited. I'm a fan of Chloe Grace Moretz, Maika Monroe, and Liev Schreiber and was looking forward to seeing them work together in a film - even if it seems to be a set up for a typical teen dystopian film. The movie even starts off with a bang, setting up a bleak look at the fall of humanity through a teenager's eyes. And as it unfolded, I remained hopeful that this movie was on the right track. And then we meet Evan. It's not his wooden acting that throws the movie off (it kind of does) nor his overly mysterious backstory (again, it kind of does). What he presents that ruins the movie is the typical teen love triangle/story of a taboo love that trumps the enemy no matter what.

The movie sort of devolves into an awkward alien love story complete with bad sexual tension and a second love interest. The best part of this movie that survives is Nick Robinson and Maika Monroe, however. These two have a subplot about the army training a group of children to fight the alien invasion. I can say with no hesitation that it should have been the main plot of the film and had my attention whenever it was on the screen. The chemistry between Robinson and Monroe works surprisingly well and made me wish for more screen time for the pair.

Another plus for the movie is the character development of Liev Schreiber, who plays the general of the army and the leader of the resistance. At first he seems wasted as a generic army grunt but he soon evolves past that and we enjoy a very good scene between him and Nick Robinson's character that was maybe the scene of the film for me. It is an understated scene that changes the direction of the story being told and does so effectively.

Overall, 5th Wave fails to be anything more than a generic teen sci fi movie. It becomes Twilight with Aliens and even then fails to be that entertaining. It wastes a decent set up and beginning, as well as an effective subplot involving the army (which in some ways gives off a Full Metal Jacket with kids feeling). It also wastes a good cast that try their hardest to make the story and script work but in most ways ultimately fail. I really wanted this movie to be good and gave it the benefit of the doubt (the doubt being a teen sci fi movie released in January - not a good sign). But in the end, it became almost a parody of itself and settled for some half brained Terminator 2 style ending, complete with a lame but hopeful voice over by Ms. Moretz.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Arya89Feb 9, 2016
The 5th wave is not a good movie. If you want to know all the history watch the trailer is more intresting, the plot is so flat that it will bore you at minute fifteen.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
sandbornMar 31, 2016
I was going in with low expectations but was I proven wrong! This is a solid sci-fi action movie. I don't think I can recall a boring or wasted moment. Some people complain about the romantic scenes being cringe-worthy. But even so, theyI was going in with low expectations but was I proven wrong! This is a solid sci-fi action movie. I don't think I can recall a boring or wasted moment. Some people complain about the romantic scenes being cringe-worthy. But even so, they lasted no more than 20 seconds. It's hardly something to complain about. The only complaint I have is it's unoriginal. But I'm sure younger viewers who haven't seen the sci-fi classics will get a bigger kick out of this movie than I do. Still, I highly recommend The 5th Wave! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Sevvy88Jun 2, 2016
Actually terrible. The premise is absurd, the acting is hollow, the characters are not there, the camera work sucks, the action sequences are tame. Sometimes shots feel like rejected sets from the Walking Dead.

Just terrible. I didn't
Actually terrible. The premise is absurd, the acting is hollow, the characters are not there, the camera work sucks, the action sequences are tame. Sometimes shots feel like rejected sets from the Walking Dead.

Just terrible. I didn't realize this was a movie for a very young demographic when I rented it, but still, teenagers are more intelligent than what this movie puts forward. Hopefully there won't be a sequel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Feb 5, 2018
The 5th Wave is a rare of example of a film I enjoyed despite hating the novel it was based on. The book was extremely slow, as it was narrated by the lonely girl the film is focused on. She re-lived her experiences in flashbacks in the book,The 5th Wave is a rare of example of a film I enjoyed despite hating the novel it was based on. The book was extremely slow, as it was narrated by the lonely girl the film is focused on. She re-lived her experiences in flashbacks in the book, while the movie is more straightforward, therefore eliminating some of the monotony. Still the film isn't without it's flaws, as it is based on an idea that has been done to death. Aliens have invaded the Earth once again and this time they have done it in four crushing waves. Most of the planet is in ruins, millions are dead, and the few that are left have banded together to try and form some sort of resistance. A 5th wave is coming and the military has surmised that children will be the least affected by it, and have begun rounding them up and training them as soldiers. Cassie Sullivan (Chloe Grace Moretz) is one of these children, who is devastated to be separated from her family, but at the same time happy to be fighting along side her life long crush Ben Parish (Nick Robinson). For me, this film was less about the story and more about it's stars. As I said I didn't really care for the story, it's been done, and the whole Hunger Games love angel just seemed to be a lazy rip off. What I did enjoy was seeing two of Hollywood's biggest young stars together in the same film, Chloe Grace Moretz and Nick Robinson. Both of them have been getting bigger and better roles and to finally see them together in a major blockbuster film was a treat. Moretz's character was just another Katniss Everdeen/Tris clone, but she played in well. The true star of the film, was Nick Robinson, the popular kid in High School who transforms into Zombie, the fearless leader of the youthful army. Films like Kings of Summer and Being Charlie saw Robinson take the reigns and make those films his own, and in a way he did the very same thing here. He may not have been THE star, but he certainly was the one to watch, as he was involved in every great scene this movie had to offer. The 5th Wave is a mix of elements and characters simply stolen from other similar stories. The special effects were terrific, the young cast was out of this world, but as a whole, this film wasn't anything special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LeZeeApr 24, 2016
Another teen film trilogy, alien invasion theme on a roll.

The 80s teen films were different, (like the recent one 'Turbo Kid') especially those I watched when I was growing up in the late 90s and early 2000s. But now most of them are
Another teen film trilogy, alien invasion theme on a roll.

The 80s teen films were different, (like the recent one 'Turbo Kid') especially those I watched when I was growing up in the late 90s and early 2000s. But now most of them are dystopian action-adventure-fantasy/sci-fi themes, and obviously trilogies with high end graphics. I won't blame for that, the time has come for a change, the movies have technical qualities and they know how to render them, but the stories are terrible.

To me this was just an okay film. Felt like the action-adventure versions of 'The Host', but I loved that one, not this. I know it's a trilogy, so, more stories to come with more explanations, but the first film in a series is always important and it failed to impress me. This installment is all about a teen girl and her younger brother. After getting separated during the chaos of alien invasion, she goes to look for him and that's the film.

This might be the finer contents for a book, but for a movie, it is not that any special. I did not like the ending as well, felt like it was so stupid. Even some B films got better conclusion and stunt sequences. I feel bad for Chloe Moretz for taking up this project. She should do more action films like 'Kick-Ass'. I thought she would be the one who's going to replace Angelina Jolie. I can only hope for this series to get better in the follow up and end as a decent trilogy.

5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BrianMcCriticMay 13, 2016
This film is a gigantic snooze fest. Character wise you come away saying who cares because they're all bland. This alien invasion is far from compelling it's down right brutal. D
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mijxeroMay 27, 2016
I was very surprised how good this movie was. It slowed down and took time on the events that built character and the environment and then sped up the action towards the end. I have to say that it was a new look at an old concept.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TwodecadesgamerSep 2, 2016
Wow. I NEVER write movie reviews but this is just ridiculous, and I mean that literally. This 'movie' is what happens when the producers and director don't even TRY and release a pandering piece of garbage that doesn't make a bit of sense.Wow. I NEVER write movie reviews but this is just ridiculous, and I mean that literally. This 'movie' is what happens when the producers and director don't even TRY and release a pandering piece of garbage that doesn't make a bit of sense. It's post alien invasion America, where the blow dryer still works and the cast of hot people in their mid-twenties are playing teenagers. Really. Everyone also has a cosmetic consultant. This entirely derivative and nearly plagiarized pile of teen angst fails in every dimension, and I wonder how people get access to so much funding with work this incompetent. Incompetent is the word, this movie is awful, and if it follows the 'book' closely then all of this criticism goes to the author too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
juliankennedy23Jan 10, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first half hour is decent enough. Heck. The first scene is the best thing in the movie. It’s like something out of a Fallout or State of Decay film adaptation. If the movie itself was anything like that first scene it would be fantastic. It isn’t.

First the positive. Outside of Maria Bello hamming it up, the acting isn’t that bad. And that is about it for the positives. The special effects and setting make this seem more like a made for TV or perhaps a headlining SyFy movie rather than a Triple-A theater release. The story telegraphs twists that Ray Charles would find hard to miss. The turncoat good guys practically twist their invisible mustaches. The good guy child soldiers are dressed in black ninja camo and yet all wear giant led flashlights on their head. I am no military expert but that seems like a no-no. The invading Aliens plan makes zero sense and each twist brings the film closer into The Happening territory.

As someone who can watch the similar themed Red Dawn and leave logic comfortably outside the room, all this doesn’t kill it for me. Then the movie goes full Twilight. You never go full Twilight. They were going for Buffy and Angel and ended up with Xander and a Praying Mantis. The romance seems like that between an injured kidnap victim and the creepy guy at the gas station who still goes to high school parties.


Poor Chloë Grace Moretz just wants her own YA series to complement her own serious films like Jennifer Lawrence got with The Hunger Games. Instead, she got a ripoff like Shailene Woodley got with Divergent. To make matters worse unlike Divergent this Turkey is unlikely to get the two sequels no one is asking for.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TornadoCreatorApr 11, 2016
With the "young adult" genre swelling I've started giving these films far more consideration; particularly following Divergent. The fact that Chloë Grace Moretz was playing the lead was a major factor as I know she's a pretty decent youngWith the "young adult" genre swelling I've started giving these films far more consideration; particularly following Divergent. The fact that Chloë Grace Moretz was playing the lead was a major factor as I know she's a pretty decent young actress. This is another case where I was pleasantly surprised and I'm starting to disassociate films with the "young adult" moniker. Yes they're all given from a young adult or teen perspective and usually have shared themes of, "coming of age" but so do many films. 5th Wave may have these things but it feels like a sci-fi survival film first and foremost.

The alien invasion in this film is played very well and the pacing is particularly well designed, with no single scene dragging on or feeling rushed through. The story felt well balanced and was easy to follow while also feeling like it had multiple threads going simultaneously. The little action it has is thrilling, there's a real sense of desolation and desperation at times, and the sense of tragedy is heightened by the fact that the largely teenage survivor base we follow are too naive to realise just how screwed they are. A fun film with aspects that should appeal to anyone, I can recommend this easily to most without reservation. Unless you're so detached from your youth that you can't remember what it was like to think like a teenager, the characters remain fairly easy to relate to and the story is consistent and without any major plot holes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chrismovieguyFeb 4, 2016
ok so i really only saw this for chloey in the begining but it turned out to be a pretty good movie it had a ton of action and adventure kept my intrest vfrom the start and never really let up very entertaining movie if u are looking for aok so i really only saw this for chloey in the begining but it turned out to be a pretty good movie it had a ton of action and adventure kept my intrest vfrom the start and never really let up very entertaining movie if u are looking for a good movie i say u cant go wrong watching this one super fast and fun Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
badgerryan19May 19, 2017
the first act was promising. Then it gets bad and boring. A stupid love story and a cliched one. Chloe Grace couldn't even save the film. Another bad adaptation from another book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CineAutoctonoApr 13, 2016
"The 5th Wave" was a movie very action-packed but very missing energy , Chloe Grace Moretz made ​​very good performance , the start was very good but as for the rest of the movie , has lacked a lot of energy and a little emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diegonelliFeb 28, 2016
The film is good and the story is well developed. I liked how it all twisted and how it ended. The book is better, like always. I'm giving this a 7 because I don't like some of the ideas and characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RobBob99Sep 10, 2016
Another year, another generic young adult novel adaptation. That's the best way to describe this movie: Generic. It starts off sloppy but somewhat interesting then proceeds to get dumber and dumber the longer it goes on. It is terrible? NoAnother year, another generic young adult novel adaptation. That's the best way to describe this movie: Generic. It starts off sloppy but somewhat interesting then proceeds to get dumber and dumber the longer it goes on. It is terrible? No but it's so middle of the road generic that it doesn't even matter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DavidTejadaDec 29, 2016
"I'm not an alien anymore because I got a crush into you" ~Evan Walker~ The others?? Seriously!? It's all known that it's based on a book but this movie was totally unfocused and unnecessary for theaters. I quite enjoy some parts which"I'm not an alien anymore because I got a crush into you" ~Evan Walker~ The others?? Seriously!? It's all known that it's based on a book but this movie was totally unfocused and unnecessary for theaters. I quite enjoy some parts which actually had some coherence but overall it's just some of the worst movies of the year. Quotes as the first one, makes it a mess, an horribly one (42%) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imdanielaplinFeb 5, 2016
This is acctually one of the best movies I've seen (apart from the hunger games series) I don't know why it's getting so much hate. the action scenes in it where fantastic, I LOVED Chloe's Performance aswell as Alex's, although it does have aThis is acctually one of the best movies I've seen (apart from the hunger games series) I don't know why it's getting so much hate. the action scenes in it where fantastic, I LOVED Chloe's Performance aswell as Alex's, although it does have a dodgy love triangle it was still a fantastic movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hailiezajaczkowFeb 26, 2016
I am really impressed this movie somewhat follows the story line of the book I'm obsessed with the book but I haven't read the 3rd book yet i need to buy it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SrPepeJul 6, 2018
La verdad que no tiene nada que no se haya visto antes, de hecho muchas escenas me hacían acordar a TWD. Mala.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GFactorJun 10, 2016
Se você quer um grande filme ou com grande plot twists, não veja. Mas se quiser um filme para fim de noite sem muito compromisso: este é ótimo.
O filme começa MUITO bem, porém se perde na metade. Em meio a tantos clichés o filme vai indo
Se você quer um grande filme ou com grande plot twists, não veja. Mas se quiser um filme para fim de noite sem muito compromisso: este é ótimo.
O filme começa MUITO bem, porém se perde na metade. Em meio a tantos clichés o filme vai indo numa leva e acaba morrendo no meio. Foi previsível. Além do fato de romances teens já estarem muito saturados.
The 5th Wave é um filme mediano que deve ser assistido sem compromisso.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
xxSolidifyedxxMay 16, 2016
This movie will frustrate you if you read the books. Hunger Games and The Maze Runner may have small details missing, but overall they are able to capture the essence of the book. It seems as though the director of the 5th Wave got in wayThis movie will frustrate you if you read the books. Hunger Games and The Maze Runner may have small details missing, but overall they are able to capture the essence of the book. It seems as though the director of the 5th Wave got in way over his head, as this movie misses the big picture and essence of the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zachary99May 16, 2016
The 5th wave was an excellent film in my eyes, it makes over alien films look rubbish because in the 5th wave you don't find out who the aliens really are until near the end witch makes it a good film. it also and its a film I would love toThe 5th wave was an excellent film in my eyes, it makes over alien films look rubbish because in the 5th wave you don't find out who the aliens really are until near the end witch makes it a good film. it also and its a film I would love to watch again and Chloe Grace Moretz plays a great charter. chloe grace moretz the 5th wave it one of the best films you've been in I like. ;) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
UNARMED_JORDJun 17, 2016
it's lazy, its cliche and most of all entirely under filmed the 5th wave main use would be as a doorstop, the acting is ordinary, the story line is sloppy but most of all it fails to fit in with any genre
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JyroJyroAug 2, 2017
Fairly cliche and often painstakingly boring. Chloe Moretz is awful here. I often wonder how book-to-movie adaptations such as this one go so wrong...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cine1Dec 29, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie takes the end of the world scenario and tries to fit too much into its runtime: aliens masquerading as humans, child soldiers, and Chloe Grace Moretz journeying across a forest and finding an intergalactic romance as she tries to track down her missing brother who is being turned into a child soldier to battle the aliens. The film is all over the place and the direction is lifeless, creating an artificiality to an already fantastic scenario. The actors are really working, but it doesn't much matter when all sense of reality has petered out in the first few minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews