Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 2, 2006
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 218 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
143
Mixed:
43
Negative:
32
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
heyitsmegrif4Feb 11, 2012
Although a half decent performance from Jennifer Aniston, the film is a complete waste of supposedly good actors who try to not be cliche by having an opposite of a romantic comedy and then it goes cliche, and lacks in laughs and goodAlthough a half decent performance from Jennifer Aniston, the film is a complete waste of supposedly good actors who try to not be cliche by having an opposite of a romantic comedy and then it goes cliche, and lacks in laughs and good performances. I give this movie 47%. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
DougF.Oct 19, 2006
Take a 300 pound Vaughn, mix in a washed up actress whose best role was starring in Leprechaun and what do you get? Bad movie!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JenieS.Aug 4, 2006
instant american comedy classic..absolutley terrific by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classic..go vaughn.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SisterA.Aug 4, 2006
all of it and more...its all you need and more. how beautiful is jennifer aniston, how funny is vince vaughn and how perfect is the funny at times and sad at times script by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it all of it and more...its all you need and more. how beautiful is jennifer aniston, how funny is vince vaughn and how perfect is the funny at times and sad at times script by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classic Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MarkB.Jun 20, 2006
To slightly amend the immortal words of Neil Sedaka, breaking up may be hard to do, but watching people break up isn't much of a picnic either...especially when both parties involved are as smug, self-centered and unlikable as they are To slightly amend the immortal words of Neil Sedaka, breaking up may be hard to do, but watching people break up isn't much of a picnic either...especially when both parties involved are as smug, self-centered and unlikable as they are in this mystifying box office hit, whose success can only be attributed to the by-now speedily waning goodwill generated by leads Vince Vaughn and Jennifer Aniston. Superficially reminiscent of 1989's War of the Roses, and to a lesser degree the 1967 Debbie Reynolds-Dick Van Dyke pic Divorce, American Style, but without either film's satiric precision, focus or gutsiness, The Break Up deals with a seriously mismatched yuppie couple playing psychological games with one another because one or both them have to vacate their Ponderosa-sized loft. Despite the time limit imposed on them by their Realtor, one of the film's failings is its absolute lack of ticking-clock suspense or comic tension, which is just as well because had these two stayed together much longer, it almost surely would've resulted in a job for the homicide division. The "Telly Savalas" bit and the a capella song sequence featured in the movie's trailers come off as less egregious than they otherwise would be because the whole movie is a haphazardly stacked series of rambling, pointless sequences arranged with a surprising lack of clarity by director Peyton Reed...and given how many nifty, original touches he brought to the cheerleader comedy Bring It On and the stylish, underrated Doris Day/ Rock Hudson parody Down With Love, the disappointment is truly painful. (His one good invention, if it was his idea, in The Break Up is the use of various splices of John Lennon's "Jealous Guy" as background musical stings.) And with the exceptions of Judy Davis and Jon Favreau, who at least has a pertinent third-act speech that cuts to the heart of Vaughn's character, I can't think of another recent movie that so thoroughly squanders such an interesting cast; I mean, how can the same movie come up with the brilliant notion of casting Ann-Margret as Aniston's mom and then give her virtually nothing to say or do? As far as the much-paparazzi'd leads are concerned, Vaughn's bloated, overgrown infant frat boy persona worked well for him in Wedding Crashers and Swingers but very little else, and it certainly doesn't here. (His best role and performance ever appeared in 1998's uncharacteristic, uncompromising and heartbreaking drug-smuggling drama Return to Paradise, but since that one didn't even crack the box-office Top 10, I doubt that we'll ever be seeing Vaughn challenge himself by doing the likes of it again.) And even though Aniston's character is right about 97% of the time (and yes, that includes the matter of the twelve lemons, too) she's so snooty and humorless that she all but negates the strength of her arguments. (She and that prig in the plaid shorts that she's seen with in the film's opening few minutes are true soulmates!) Aniston is a tremendously likable actress and most people's favorite Friend; I think just about all of America is rooting for her personal happiness and personal success, but this is by far her most mechanical and by-the-numbers performance yet...only in the lemon scene and her tear-stained moment of truth near the end does Aniston really catch fire. Perhaps instead of trying so hard to grasp the big brass ring with questionable projects like this and Rumor Has It, Aniston needs to keep doing more of the offbeat, independent material--like The Good Girl and the current Friends With Money--that really allows her to explore unusual avenues of her considerable talent and charm. THEN, after solidly establishing her indie cred, she can slowly build her commercial base. Hey, it worked for Reese Witherspoon, didn't it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayS.Jun 2, 2006
NOT romantic but a funny and realistic movie, highly entertaining and extremely believable story of a breakup. Everything Vaughn says is clever, entertaining funny and believable. The movie is fairly sophisticated and many complicated scenes NOT romantic but a funny and realistic movie, highly entertaining and extremely believable story of a breakup. Everything Vaughn says is clever, entertaining funny and believable. The movie is fairly sophisticated and many complicated scenes work well. The producers of the trailer should never be hired again for misrepresenting this well done movie as a romantic comedy. Its a very funny and entertaining unromantic comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChryssaR.Jun 2, 2006
Worst ending ever . . .like it was an afterthought, or a poor set up for a sequel.... Other than that, the characters were shallow and inconsistent and Jennifer was acting just like Rachel; in other words, the way she always acts. This movie Worst ending ever . . .like it was an afterthought, or a poor set up for a sequel.... Other than that, the characters were shallow and inconsistent and Jennifer was acting just like Rachel; in other words, the way she always acts. This movie had a couple of funny moments, but overall a big letdown. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronJun 4, 2006
The movie was a great comical approach to the problems we all face in our own relationships. I think Vince Vaugn and Jennifer Aniston had great chemistry and the movie had a lot of laughs and emotion. I don't understand why The movie was a great comical approach to the problems we all face in our own relationships. I think Vince Vaugn and Jennifer Aniston had great chemistry and the movie had a lot of laughs and emotion. I don't understand why "professional" critics hated the movie so much because it really is worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeB.Jun 5, 2006
Critics completely miss the boat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SvetlanaI.Jun 7, 2006
This movie is garbage. Very dissappointing
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamJun 8, 2006
The movie is awful. About all the jokes it has are shown in the previews. The rest of the movie is just filled with crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JennyS.Jul 16, 2006
The only reason people went to see it was because of all the gossip press between Mr. Vaughn and Jennifer Anniston. However the movie was slow and boring and the acting horrible. I had to walk out before it was finished.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Jul 2, 2006
Great Film...love the chemistry between aniston and vaughn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FreedS.Aug 4, 2006
by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classicby far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classicby far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NateH.Feb 13, 2007
Despite its completely unconvincing nature, it was also quite unoriginal and painful to watch. The ending was some small relief, in that it did not resolve anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricaOct 30, 2006
I would definitely give this movie a solid 8. Not the best, but definitely not among the worst. Vince Vaughan is absolutely hilarious, as always. And Jennifer Aniston is perfect. The jokes were good, but not over the top, and the plot was I would definitely give this movie a solid 8. Not the best, but definitely not among the worst. Vince Vaughan is absolutely hilarious, as always. And Jennifer Aniston is perfect. The jokes were good, but not over the top, and the plot was solid. Excellent script and lines, and Jon Favreau was a fabulous addition as a supporting character. The laughs were all genuine throughout the theater, and I can't wait for the sequel. Assuming Jen and Vince don't break up for real in the meantime and refuse to work together... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnsonT.Jun 1, 2006
There's some great Vince Vaughn moments in the film...where you find yourself laughing along with the scenes...there's some tough moments too - but that's what makes the film worth seeing...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VioletP.Jun 17, 2006
Ubsolutely the best movie in a longest time. Must see for men of all ages. Very true and sad. Great ending - real life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaseJun 19, 2006
Not bad at all, actually very funny dark alterna romance movie. Vaughn is aces as usual and the movie really rests on his shoulders as Aniston really is as vacant as usual. Vaughn fans won't be disappointed guaranteed. Also Judy Davis Not bad at all, actually very funny dark alterna romance movie. Vaughn is aces as usual and the movie really rests on his shoulders as Aniston really is as vacant as usual. Vaughn fans won't be disappointed guaranteed. Also Judy Davis and Justin Long are great as Aniston's boss and coworker who help with her scenes when Vaughn is gone. Also a side note Favereau and Vaughn look HORRIBLE, wow. I couldn't decide who was harder on the eyes them or Anistons strange overly tanned skeleton look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KenG.Jun 21, 2006
A movie that just seemed to miss the boat every step of the way. It can be defined by everything that's not believeable. [***SPOILERS***] For most of movie it's not really believeable that these 2 people would ever have gotten A movie that just seemed to miss the boat every step of the way. It can be defined by everything that's not believeable. [***SPOILERS***] For most of movie it's not really believeable that these 2 people would ever have gotten together in the first place, then all of a sudden, late in movie, it becomes not really believeable (and contrived) that they wouldn't be able to work out their problems. Vaughn's such a self-asborbed jerk for most of movie, that when he shows up as someone more sympathetic late in the film, it's not really believeable he's the same character we saw up to then. And it's not like ealier in film he was a flawed but likable guy (as he was, for instance, in "The wedding crashers") Here, you just don't like him, or care about him. And it's not really believeable that Anniston would have the bizzare idea, that the way to improved her relationship with Vaughn, is to treat him like garbage. While this is something that might have worked in a more screwballish kind of comedy, here it just seems weird. In fact, movie did start off like it intended to be more screwballish, but somewhere along the line it changed its mind, and took itself more seriously. It seems alot of people here don't think much of Jennifer Anniston. I think she is a good actress, and has genuine screen charisma, but like quite a few actresses in Hollywood today, she has lousy judgement when it comes to picking her films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KellyP.Jun 2, 2006
We saw this movie despite the critics' reviews (and because Poseidon Adventure would truly be an act of desperation) only to find the movie pretty entertaining. Certainly better than what was promised.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LalaM.Jun 2, 2006
Excellent film I love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeS.Jun 3, 2006
Needed more bite and insight and less Pepsi product placements. It could have been a fine relationship dramedy if it wasn't done in by it inability to actually say or show anything actually meaningful. i.e.: Men can be selfish juvinile Needed more bite and insight and less Pepsi product placements. It could have been a fine relationship dramedy if it wasn't done in by it inability to actually say or show anything actually meaningful. i.e.: Men can be selfish juvinile jerks, women refuse to say what they mean. Stop the presses! (At least they all love Pepsi...) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShawnM.Jun 3, 2006
A solid movie. Very funny, with lots of great characters including Vincent D'onofrio, Justin Long, and especially Judy Davis. There were no moments that I felt annoyed by the characters or their so-called lack of chemistry - I felt it A solid movie. Very funny, with lots of great characters including Vincent D'onofrio, Justin Long, and especially Judy Davis. There were no moments that I felt annoyed by the characters or their so-called lack of chemistry - I felt it was very well executed. And like some of the other reviewers, I did not feel that the ending was the set up for a sequel, more of a "you believe what you want" kind of ending like The Graduate. I would recommend to anyone, especially anyone who has ever found Vince Vaughn funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RebeccaN.Jun 4, 2006
Loved it! Lauged the whole time. It was definitely better than I expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GeorgeR.Jun 4, 2006
It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AveA.Jun 4, 2006
Totally boring movie. such a waste of time and money. i'll never watch any aniston movies again. I'll always end up disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DraculaJun 5, 2006
Everyone loves Jen. And all she keeps doing is regurgitating one awful movie after another. I'm sorry to say that this is as bad as the rest of the crapola she has made. And they had to change the ending as it was even worse before they did?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
A.R.Jun 6, 2006
What utter irritating drivel. I can't believe crap like this is made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlessandraJun 6, 2006
Wow, did the critics ever get this one wrong. It was a wonderful movie filled with laughs, tender moments and raw emotion. The end brought the whole story together. This movie is cathargic in a way, because it reminds us that everyone goes Wow, did the critics ever get this one wrong. It was a wonderful movie filled with laughs, tender moments and raw emotion. The end brought the whole story together. This movie is cathargic in a way, because it reminds us that everyone goes through break ups. Must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TonybobJun 6, 2006
This movie was awful its felt like i was sitting there for three hours just anticipating the end. the first movie where i was happy that i had to pee during just so i had an excuse to leave for a few minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TopsyJun 6, 2006
Yuk as I think I want to puke. There were a few funny moments but overall this was one awful movie. As for the chemistry between Jen and Vince, where was it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillC.Jun 7, 2006
Critic's have ego's and they are really showing their faults when they review this film.
[***SPOILERS***] So what if the couple don't ride off together in your typical hollywood ending! I'm sick of critics saying the
Critic's have ego's and they are really showing their faults when they review this film.
[***SPOILERS***] So what if the couple don't ride off together in your typical hollywood ending! I'm sick of critics saying the ending was re-shot and don't work.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JillR.Jul 3, 2006
I thought this was a very interesting movie with moments of truth about relationships. It was funny at times, but it wasn't a comedy. I really liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcDAug 21, 2006
Aniston is a very good actress.... better than I expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarkT.Aug 4, 2006
I had really low expectations when I went. It was my girlfriend who wanted to go and I was expecting a "chick flick". I was a little surprised and it exceeded my low expectations. I still dosed off once, but it wasn't bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveS.Aug 4, 2006
by far the best movie of the summer. well acted, funny, sweet, and it breaks the old hollywood ending...very well done and very smart...a instant comedy classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RedlightJun 5, 2007
Good film but it doesn't get the balance between comedy and drama right. Personally, I think it worked better as a drama. Plus, why is Brooke so desperate to get back with Gary when he is such an asshole? Anyway, great acting from VaughGood film but it doesn't get the balance between comedy and drama right. Personally, I think it worked better as a drama. Plus, why is Brooke so desperate to get back with Gary when he is such an asshole? Anyway, great acting from Vaugh and Aniston (especially Aniston) and still a good film despite its flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PBNov 2, 2006
I typically love Vince's wit and command of the English language, but this movie was painfully dull. The outakes were funnier than the movie. The onlyredeeming factor, which allowed me to give this movie any points at all, was that it I typically love Vince's wit and command of the English language, but this movie was painfully dull. The outakes were funnier than the movie. The onlyredeeming factor, which allowed me to give this movie any points at all, was that it was shot in Chicago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RachaelJun 14, 2006
I've recently seen hillarious recut trailers for "movies" such as "Brokeback to the Future" and The Shining Redux, called simply, "Shining". (If you haven't seen these yet, check them out). They're makers prove a point, which I've recently seen hillarious recut trailers for "movies" such as "Brokeback to the Future" and The Shining Redux, called simply, "Shining". (If you haven't seen these yet, check them out). They're makers prove a point, which is that movie footage can be manipulated to create trailers that seems to belong to completely different movies. I think The Break-Up suffered from a little bit of this. After viewing the trailer, most people who went to see it were likely expecting a light, breezy romantic comedy (ugh) and I'm sure were greatly disappointed. This movie is much more About Last Night (minus the almost pornographic elements) than it is How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days. As such, it is a wonderfully realistic portrayal of a relationship gone sour. If you like to see real life reflected on the big screen, go see this. If you're looking for escape, look elsewhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffS.Jun 15, 2006
Sure, it's not going to win any Oscars, and it doesn't make you think "wow, that's the funniest movie I've ever seen". However, it's a fun movie. As with most actors and actresses, some views may like them while Sure, it's not going to win any Oscars, and it doesn't make you think "wow, that's the funniest movie I've ever seen". However, it's a fun movie. As with most actors and actresses, some views may like them while others do not. For me, I'm a fan of both Aniston and Vaugn, and I enjoyed them both in this movie. Admittently, some of the fight scenes go a little long (you can only sit still during a relationship fight scene for so long before getting uncomfortable), but there are enough funny bits to make it effective. As others have said, this movie is about a breakup, and the actors were convincing enough to make me believe their emotional investment and hardship. In the end, I left the movie threater feeling entertained. At least it's a break from the typical romantic comedy genre... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.Jun 2, 2006
When Vince Vaughn is being his usual fast-talking sardonic self, The Break Up looks promising, unfortunately, that's only about the first 15 minutes and then it becomes a Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? spin-off except by this time When Vince Vaughn is being his usual fast-talking sardonic self, The Break Up looks promising, unfortunately, that's only about the first 15 minutes and then it becomes a Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? spin-off except by this time we're already unsympathetic for both of them and just want it to end, it doesn't matter how, just end already. The supporting cast, especially Judy Davis and Vincent D'Onofrio, shine in their all to brief roles. Vince Vaughn's "Idea" for the story must have been a Great Indie script but the anti-romantic dramedy has been turned into a big Hollywood anti-entertaining film, and would somebody please tell Jennifer Anniston that there are roles out there that are not "A cute Rachel type woman." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AngieJun 25, 2006
Horrible... There was absolutely nothing funny about this movie... All the people do is yell at each other the ENTIRE movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JimG.Jun 25, 2006
Went to this one with low expectations and was pleastly surprised by the strong humor. Though Vaughn and Anniston seem like a mismatch before, during, and after (the ghost of Pitt maybe?), the humor works and you will definitely be Went to this one with low expectations and was pleastly surprised by the strong humor. Though Vaughn and Anniston seem like a mismatch before, during, and after (the ghost of Pitt maybe?), the humor works and you will definitely be entertained. It's a shame that they tacked on a ridiculously amateur and incredibly forced ending. I would suggest you leave when you think it is over, but then you'd miss the delightful Tone Rangers rendition of "Rainbow Connection." Overall? Not overwhelmed, not underwhelmed, just whelmed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarisaM.Jun 3, 2006
Better than I had expected from the trailers. Some clever humor. Although I agree with some of the critics that it was tiring to listen to people argue for 2 hours and I found myself looking at my watch frequently.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronF.Jun 4, 2006
Overall it was a really interesting movie, which of course had it's lows, but overall was worth seeing. Vince Vaughn and Jennifer Aniston deliver amazingingly well done acting that was so perfect...unfortunatley the directing does tend Overall it was a really interesting movie, which of course had it's lows, but overall was worth seeing. Vince Vaughn and Jennifer Aniston deliver amazingingly well done acting that was so perfect...unfortunatley the directing does tend to drag out the wrong parts too long. If it had moved a little more seamlessly it would have been a great hit, but it's still really good and has it's value none-the-less. It's a little weird to see Vince Vaughn as the obvious antagonist, even though he's usually good at showing those moments we love to laugh at but don't want to be like in many movies. They really played on the strengths of the actors in that, and like I said, the timing is the only thing throwing it off. It would have come together more if they could have had just a slightly more satisfying ending too, as compared to the "there's hope" ending. I guess that once again comes up to timing on the director's part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MelissaM.Jun 4, 2006
I thought this movie was actually really good. I'm not gonna lie before I actually sat down to watch it I thought maybe this movie wasn't going to be all that good, I thought it would only be funny for the first 20 minutes and then I thought this movie was actually really good. I'm not gonna lie before I actually sat down to watch it I thought maybe this movie wasn't going to be all that good, I thought it would only be funny for the first 20 minutes and then go downhill from there, but I was wrong. It was actually really really funny. Then again what movie isn't funny when Vince Vaughn is in it? I thought he did a really good job in this movie, especially with the serious parts, cause that's usually a side you don't see in him in movies. Jennifer Aniston was also good! I don't think she can ever do bad in a movie. She's defiantly one of my favorite actresses. I recommend this movie to anyone who wants to see a good romantic comedy that also has its serious parts that might be a tear jerker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
B.RizzaJun 5, 2006
Definitely better than I expected. Johnny O AKA Jon Favreau was hilarious as his best bud/confidant. Jason Bateman as his bud/real estate agent/therapist had a small but very funny part. The ending however is what through me off & lowered Definitely better than I expected. Johnny O AKA Jon Favreau was hilarious as his best bud/confidant. Jason Bateman as his bud/real estate agent/therapist had a small but very funny part. The ending however is what through me off & lowered the overall rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarilynJul 22, 2006
Funny, cute, engaging, but I didn't like the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShanS.Jul 6, 2006
I thought that the ending was totally appropriate. Some really funny lines that I missed the first time but caught the second. Great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JMGFeb 16, 2007
I think what backfired with this movie is that everyone going to see it expected a light, airly romantic comedy. Parts of it are funny but some of the scenes in it are a bit more blunt and realistic to what happens when couples break up. The I think what backfired with this movie is that everyone going to see it expected a light, airly romantic comedy. Parts of it are funny but some of the scenes in it are a bit more blunt and realistic to what happens when couples break up. The games, the arguements....everything. They do a good job of showing the loneliness and various issues of these two people and how it effects their relationship. It's hard to watch not because it's bad (only mediocre) but because some of the situations are very real. Unnecessarily panned....not a great movie but still pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleC.May 31, 2006
Say what you will about this movie but I was truly entertained. I love Jennifer Aniston in everything she does, so it is no surprise that I think she is awesome as Brooke a sometimes crazy, always loveable heartbroken women. (Did I mention Say what you will about this movie but I was truly entertained. I love Jennifer Aniston in everything she does, so it is no surprise that I think she is awesome as Brooke a sometimes crazy, always loveable heartbroken women. (Did I mention she looks amazing-worth the price of admission alone.) Vince Vaughn is classic Vince Vaughn-sarcastic and hilarious. I laughed, I cried. I think we will all see a side of how childish and vindictive we can be when going through a break-up. The ending rocks by the way!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KarenR.May 31, 2006
Aniston can not act to me, She will always be Rachael, Maybe small screen is the place for her.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
C.B.Jun 12, 2006
If this movie was marketed as a dramedy and not a Vince Vaugn driven comedy, I may have liked it more. Can Anniston make a good movie?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Rev.RikardJun 19, 2006
I probably viewed this movie with a different eye than most. With a Masters in Marriage and Family therapy I carry quite a load of marital counseling. The movie contained all the depressing emotions and childish arguments I see repetively. I I probably viewed this movie with a different eye than most. With a Masters in Marriage and Family therapy I carry quite a load of marital counseling. The movie contained all the depressing emotions and childish arguments I see repetively. I felt like I was in my office and listening to another couple that failed to ask the right questions before entering into a committed relationship. If the viewer wanted to be entertained this was a miserable experience. If they wanted to see the hell that a couple can experience without a happy ending, this was a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KristinaDNov 24, 2006
Vince Vaughn and Jennifer Aniston had absolutly no chemistry = hardly convincing...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ScraperNov 22, 2018
Movies like this and the Hangover, etc, look to take common life situations and amplify them for comedy's sake. The Break-Up comes off as cruel. A couple chuckles can't save the fact that both these characters were written either mean orMovies like this and the Hangover, etc, look to take common life situations and amplify them for comedy's sake. The Break-Up comes off as cruel. A couple chuckles can't save the fact that both these characters were written either mean or dumb. Vaughn, for some baffling reason, portrays a mentally abusive creep who, to the rational, semi-experienced boyfriend, comes off as utterly tone deaf. He goes from zero to out of his damn mind in no time flat. This movie was horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
pgmarkDec 16, 2010
Hard to hate anything Vince Vaughn is in .. for me at least. Good humor there :) Jennifer Aniston is ok but barely. Great flick if you want some VV sarcasm and laughs!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Bruce722Aug 4, 2013
Vince Vaughn is fantastic as usual but he and Jon Favreau are the only positives about The Break-Up. It truly still puzzles me how Jennifer Aniston continues to get roles. She consistently plays the same detestable character in every singleVince Vaughn is fantastic as usual but he and Jon Favreau are the only positives about The Break-Up. It truly still puzzles me how Jennifer Aniston continues to get roles. She consistently plays the same detestable character in every single movie she's in and makes the films almost unwatchable. Sure, she's attractive but it's not like she's a supermodel or anything and her personality is atrocious. Fans of Vaughn will at least get some decent humor out of a few scenes but that's about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
A great cast giving great performances doesn't make up for a daft script. It takes a long time to settle into and ultimately becomes quite tolerable, but it doesn't really have all that much to say. Also, Justin Long needed a bigger part, heA great cast giving great performances doesn't make up for a daft script. It takes a long time to settle into and ultimately becomes quite tolerable, but it doesn't really have all that much to say. Also, Justin Long needed a bigger part, he was the most hysterical thing in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
archibaldswifeMar 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i just didn't like the ending. usually i love all jennifer aniston movies. i cannot believe she didn't at least end up with that hot guy. and what would of made it all funnier would be if gary found out he was gay lol Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews