Paramount Pictures | Release Date (Streaming): February 4, 2018
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 452 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
158
Mixed:
162
Negative:
132
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
kaitgamerFeb 6, 2018
Basically it was way more enjoyable for me to watch the trailer compared to watching the movie. The best parts of the plot were way underplayed because the concept was actually very interesting. By the end, I didnt care. If you like theBasically it was way more enjoyable for me to watch the trailer compared to watching the movie. The best parts of the plot were way underplayed because the concept was actually very interesting. By the end, I didnt care. If you like the strangeness of the trailer, skip this movie, it wasnt strange at all. Star Trek did a better job with this plot. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
2
AlphaRebelFeb 6, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So I have to be honest up front, I would have scored this movie 4/10 but I have to knock 2 points off which I would explain in a bit but lets cover the actual movie. (and yes there be spoilers ahead, lots of spoilers actually)

The principle of the movie has at heart quite an interesting idea but not novel, it's yet another energy mguffin causing a tear to another reality / dimension (so far so much like Killswitch and about a dozen other movies in the last few years.)
Script is meh, acting is passible and the SFX's do their job, the main problem is it works very hard to hit all the typical sci-fi / horror tropes but never actually has the guts to properly deliver and in the process gets itself wound up into a muddled mess where the only "character" who actually has a clue how to fix stuff is a guys disemboded arm (not that it's ever explained how it knows what it knows or even how it stays animated) It's all very by the numbers just without a payoff (keeping it PG like those movies with bloodless swords etc) It's like the writer(s?) literally wrote this thing by trawling TV tropes. The "tinfoil hat guy who's right", This thing needs the keys turning at the same time (for no reason), The x times we have done this to fine another way that doesn't work (Chain reaction, also about energy sources), There's "the infected" (see Promethious), Solid objects sucking people in, Animated body parts, The (not)Gruesome Autopsy, an airlock malfunction (okay this one was a least somewhat original, mostly because for reasons best known to the whoever wrote this garbage, the airlock in question pumps water not oxygen), The tools / structure comes alive and has tendrils to suck in a chacter, we have the deception to pull a heroic sacrifice off to save the ship and the sucked out of the window / porthole. And yet ALL these ideas are done better in other movies with much better delivery and pay off.
So yeah this movie would be another run of the mill flick that doesn't set the world alight but it's worst crime is simply they have very obviously gone back and filmed scenes with the leading actresses screen husband and set them around the original cloverfield (with nod to 10CFL) to try and tie it into the cloververse (and it's painfully obvious and badly done because of the utter absence of this in the scenes set on the station) so yet again they are just using the cloverfield name as a sticking plaster onto unrelated movies because they don't feel they are strong enough to stand on it's own merits.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
warlock7Feb 8, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a steaming heap of garbage from the self cognizant arm to the ludicrous conclusions which characters come to based off of seemingly nothing other than ruminating about things while locked in a soundproof medical exam room with only glass walls. Why does an electrically activated sealant foam react to magnetic fluctuations by reaching out and grabbing someone? Where did all that water come from and why did it wind up where it did? This film simply does not know what it is, other than fundamentally stupid. Is it a supernatural horror? Is it a sci-fi horror? Is it a comedy? Don't care anymore, it certainly didn't start as a Cloverfield production. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
whoischarlotteFeb 13, 2018
Orbiting above a planet on the brink of war, scientists test a device to solve an energy crisis and end up face-to-face with a dark alternate reality.

Let’s just say… I understand why Paramount sold this film to Netflix. Incredibly boring,
Orbiting above a planet on the brink of war, scientists test a device to solve an energy crisis and end up face-to-face with a dark alternate reality.

Let’s just say… I understand why Paramount sold this film to Netflix. Incredibly boring, and slow paced mess. This film probably has two redeeming features:

1. Chris O’Dowd
2. The last scene I have nothing else to say
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
BeepboopbopFeb 10, 2018
Okay, movie, but doesn’t live up to the Cloverfield brand. Read the Caliban comic books by Garth Ennis to see this sort of story done well.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
MaxJadueFeb 17, 2018
As a Sci-Fi thriller, you can find some entertainment in "The Cloverfield Paradox", but the film doesn't hold back with its head-spinning pacing and head-scratching moments. Other than some good acting, cool visuals and some glimmers ofAs a Sci-Fi thriller, you can find some entertainment in "The Cloverfield Paradox", but the film doesn't hold back with its head-spinning pacing and head-scratching moments. Other than some good acting, cool visuals and some glimmers of cleverness, the film comes out as a major disappointment in the Cloverfield franchise and leaves you with a giant question mark over your head. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Movie3Aug 11, 2018
...What was THAT?? Gave more questions than answers. I guess we'll never get our answers for all three movies...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Tcurran2Feb 5, 2018
The Cloverfield Paradox: It's like "Alien," only terrible. Nowhere in this incomprehensible mess of a science fiction script is anything made clear. The rest of the production doesn't fare any better. Actors slipping in and out of terribleThe Cloverfield Paradox: It's like "Alien," only terrible. Nowhere in this incomprehensible mess of a science fiction script is anything made clear. The rest of the production doesn't fare any better. Actors slipping in and out of terrible accents, wonky expository dialogue, and lackluster set-pieces all hamper this straight to Netflix production. The film's advertising was so low key that it only aired one spot (during the Super Bowl no less). One wonders now if that sleight of hand marketing tactic was done out of sheer embarrassment. That's the problem with these Cloverfield movies. They're over-hyped schlock. The first film, "Cloverfield" (2008) was advertised much like the Blair Witch Project. The marketing team positioned it as a groundbreaking cultural event, yet the final product resembled little more than a found footage Godzilla movie. "10 Cloverfield Lane" (2016), was also shrouded in secrecy. An otherwise competent B movie, 10 Cloverfield Lane's ludicrous ending completely jumped the shark. Unfortunately for the latest entry in the J.J. Abrams produced franchise, there is nothing more to offer than a derivative sci-fi distraction. Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
3
WiscoJoeFeb 5, 2018
The real paradox of "The Cloverfield Paradox" is that the movie is both longer and less interesting than it's entire ad campaign. Marketing-driven "event" films are the new norm in Hollywood, but this takes the formula to a whole new level,The real paradox of "The Cloverfield Paradox" is that the movie is both longer and less interesting than it's entire ad campaign. Marketing-driven "event" films are the new norm in Hollywood, but this takes the formula to a whole new level, serving as nothing more than one big marketing stunt for Netflix and for the Cloverfield franchise (universe? anthology?). The film itself is generic, forgettable, sloppy, and all-too-worthy of its straight-to-streaming-video fate. Whereas the previous two Cloverfield films were so wholly unique and unexpected that it was easy to forgive their flaws, with "Paradox" we have a standard disaster-in-space flick that recalls way too many other recent exercises in sci-fi schlock. A fantastic international cast of fine actors is wasted on characters that are thinly written and indistinctly characterized even by the low standards of the genre. It's unfair to even call them cannon fodder, because when they meet their inevitable end it barely even registers. The direction is limp, the special effects and production design are perfunctory, and the story has a hap-dash feel where anything can happen at anytime in order to advance the plot or cause a jumpscare because, hey, it's a "paradox." If you're a diehard Cloverfield fan that absolutely needs to know what is happening and why it started, you'll finally get your answers (as well as some likely disappointment and boredom). If you're looking for suspense/terror/survival in outer space, just go ahead and watch one of the Alien movies, or Sunshine, or Gravity, or Life, or Event Horizon, or Moon, or Interstellar, or Apollo 13, or... wait, no it's at least better than Geostorm, barely. Expand
13 of 16 users found this helpful133
All this user's reviews
2
MrFlanksterFeb 6, 2018
I wanted so badly for this to be amazing and I really wanted to like it. As the movie went on, I kept telling myself that I like it... but then it ended.

What does this movie have to do with anything... let alone the Cloverfield universe??
I wanted so badly for this to be amazing and I really wanted to like it. As the movie went on, I kept telling myself that I like it... but then it ended.

What does this movie have to do with anything... let alone the Cloverfield universe?? Honestly. What does the space station situation have anything to do with the Godzilla conflict that is going on in the previous two movies? What answers do we get that bring us closer to what questions the first movie so ingeniously raised??

Where does the franchise go from here? The second movie, at least, gave us a different perspective that relates to the first movie's cause. This didn't feel anything like a Cloverfield movie. It felt more like a dysfunctional Alien/Life wannabe. A total of 10 minutes of this movie actually have anything to do with the creature that is reeking havock down on earth. Even if this wasn't a Cloverfield movie and was just a science fiction movie, there are so many questions left unanswered. Why does everyone know about the "Paradox" phenomenon, but we are left in the dark? What does the arm have to do with anything? How did certain parts end up in a certain person's body?

Even when the characters are pitching their solutions to solve the problems, none of it makes sense and that they are just pulling crap out of their a**es, while everyone stands in a circle pretending to agree and know what to do next.

This is the most jumbled movie I think I have ever seen. The only reason for the 2 score is primarily for Chris O'dowd's performance and humor, along with the ambiance of the film.They set the tone right but never executed... and again, what in the hell does this have to do whth Cloverfield??
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
GreykingFeb 6, 2018
I wanted to continue my 2018 theme of the critics must be crazy.

However, for the love of all that is true and good, the critics are right. Please DO NOT waste 2 hours of your life watching this movie. You will NEVER get them back. You’ve
I wanted to continue my 2018 theme of the critics must be crazy.

However, for the love of all that is true and good, the critics are right. Please DO NOT waste 2 hours of your life watching this movie. You will NEVER get them back. You’ve been warned.

This movie has nothing to do with any of the other Cloverfield films and is a fraudulent cash grab rebranding a generic Paramount science fiction film The God Particle, as a Cloverfield film and having Netflix purchase and stream this film as a Netflix original.

We need Mueller off the Russian investigation and onto this travesty ASAP!
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
KidocosmicFeb 5, 2018
Very mediocre. Not a fun watch. A jumbled mess from end to end, it lacks characters that even care about the film they are working on. It didn't need to be a cloverfield movie, it just is.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
3
concernedfanFeb 5, 2018
Oh dear. Every character seems to be in a different movie. Hamilton is in Gravity, Bruhl & Zhang are in a bad Alien rip-off, and O'Dowd is in Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. The stitches connecting this collection of cockpit and hallwayOh dear. Every character seems to be in a different movie. Hamilton is in Gravity, Bruhl & Zhang are in a bad Alien rip-off, and O'Dowd is in Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. The stitches connecting this collection of cockpit and hallway shots to the Cloverfield universe are obvious and clumsy, and the attempt to add a Cloverfield twist to the end is telegraphed so clearly that it's no fun at all. Oh well. Hope this doesn't kill the franchise; first two were loads of fun. Expand
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
2
McGillotineFeb 5, 2018
Cloverfield (2008) was enjoyable film in it's own right, 10 Cloverfield Lane was Genius, and The Cloverfield Paradox is a complete and utter mess. Once again tooting the name of the lense flare God JJ Abrams as a producer, and holding anCloverfield (2008) was enjoyable film in it's own right, 10 Cloverfield Lane was Genius, and The Cloverfield Paradox is a complete and utter mess. Once again tooting the name of the lense flare God JJ Abrams as a producer, and holding an estimated 26 million dollar budget, there is really no excuse for The Cloverfield Paradox to be such a sh*tty film, yet the films director Julius Onah, makes it look all too effortless. Prior to being bought out by Neflix, The Cloverfield Paradox was held in development hell by it's original distributer, Paramount pictures, at The time many questioned this decision by Paramount considering the surprising success of 10 Cloverfield lane two years. Cut to present day and the decision by Paramount seems all too logical as The Cloverfield Paradox, suffers from plot holes, pacing errors, bad plot decisions, boring characters, and a predictable story among other things. Starting in the not to distant future, but not the future, because Cloverfield takes place in 2008, so not to distant past i guess, a group of scientist decide it would be a great idea to manipulate the space time continuum, what ensures is a bunch of wacky hijinks that don't add up or make any sense leading to death, death and more needlessly stupid death. To put it simply this movie left me frustrated, 5 minutes in my head hurt, and after 30 minutes i wanted it to stop, surprisingly enough this film isn't that long at 102 minutes, but i'll be damned if i didn't feel every last minute. The cast is also heavy underutilized, Daniel Bruhl, Chris O'Dowd and Gugu Mbatha-Raw are good actors and they show at times how good they could have been in this film. But some seriously awful dialogue and confusing story choices make their effort go to naught with frequent incompetence by the films director who shows he has no idea what to do in a film let alone with 26 million. I would continue this review however everything i say will just become repetitious, the are far too many bad decisions in this film and it fails in almost every degree. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
1
RaultvFeb 5, 2018
The good thing about watching this on Netflix is the ability to fast forward this mess. It looks so cheap. No thrill, no excitement, very bad acted. This is the worst Bad Robot production and I am a huge fan of the company. The spaceshipThe good thing about watching this on Netflix is the ability to fast forward this mess. It looks so cheap. No thrill, no excitement, very bad acted. This is the worst Bad Robot production and I am a huge fan of the company. The spaceship looks so silly, the general mood and theme is absurd. I hope they can come back with a good idea and please let the Cloverfield thing die. You guys killed it. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
3
GreysteelFeb 6, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Despite it's shock value, and the strength of it's franchise, Paradox is a car crash of poor performance, poor script and poor delivery. Very little of it makes sense and despite several points where it tries it's best almost everything falls flat. Chris O'Dowd takes the gong for best line when forced to confront the plot itself in the form of his on severed arm writing out a message on the floor. Only for that little gem to never be explained either. Miss it, you're better off just not knowing. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
2
hauru13Feb 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would have love it if it was a funny movie. poor scenario, poor acting. the worst is the reaction of that poor guy who just lost his wife, or that scientist laughing at his missing arm... Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobFeb 5, 2018
The movie was flawed from pre-production on. The budget ballooned to 10 times the original budget and even then there was still serious work to be done. And when they realized there was no hope for a theatrical release, Paramount shipped itThe movie was flawed from pre-production on. The budget ballooned to 10 times the original budget and even then there was still serious work to be done. And when they realized there was no hope for a theatrical release, Paramount shipped it off to Netflix. And truly, The problems show throughout.

The cast does a good enough job but the story just isn't here. And there isn't enough material to truly tie it into the Cloverfield lore, Heck there isn't any at all aside from the Cloverfield name drop every now and then. This film is an insult to fans of the franchise and I've been once since the first film came out.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
3
MattBrady99Feb 5, 2018
Worst Black Mirror episode ev- oh wait.

Didn't expect this to be released today on Netflix and after seeing it, I can see why. You know it's not a good sign when things get rushed and the release date gets canceled just to be dumped on
Worst Black Mirror episode ev- oh wait.

Didn't expect this to be released today on Netflix and after seeing it, I can see why. You know it's not a good sign when things get rushed and the release date gets canceled just to be dumped on Netflix. Doesn't feel like an actual movie with nothing cinematic about it.

Wasn't hyped for this in the first place, but the end result is disappointing.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
2
nightmovesFeb 6, 2018
If you have seen any space horror movie from 1980 to 2018 then you can fast forward and condense this 110 minute movie into a 30 minute viewing. It borrows every cliche from the genre and fails to use any of them well. As to how this movieIf you have seen any space horror movie from 1980 to 2018 then you can fast forward and condense this 110 minute movie into a 30 minute viewing. It borrows every cliche from the genre and fails to use any of them well. As to how this movie fits into or expands the Cloverfield universe is baffling. It confuses the timeline and adds too many new "ideas" without explaining any of the ideas that it falls flat. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
CinemaphileFeb 6, 2018
In the sphere of turd gilding, one can assume that turds can be silver plated as well. By extension, this film excreta has been chromed. It's bright and shiny, but a turd none the less. Paradox has a script devoid of a basic knowledgeIn the sphere of turd gilding, one can assume that turds can be silver plated as well. By extension, this film excreta has been chromed. It's bright and shiny, but a turd none the less. Paradox has a script devoid of a basic knowledge of physics with insipid dialogue and zero internal logic that reenacts scenes wholesale from other genre films and then neatly wraps up everything with a cynical Cloverfield bow. Paramount and Abrams have no shame. Skip this steamy cow pie. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
1
idkthroaway22Feb 5, 2018
Completely terrible. The characters are awfully written, the story makes no sense, and completely throughs away the original story of the cloverfield monster. First let me start with the story and how it makes no sense. Humans are using upCompletely terrible. The characters are awfully written, the story makes no sense, and completely throughs away the original story of the cloverfield monster. First let me start with the story and how it makes no sense. Humans are using up all the energy so that makes some scientists go to space to fire some laser for unlimited energy. 'Why don't they use solar panels or wind turbines?' you ask. Simple, the writers needed a cheap plot device to show how the monster appears in the original movie, because the original story for the clover field monster was that it is a normal sea creature that was hatched from a large egg deep under the atlantic ocean. Its NOT an alien and its most certainly not from another universe. Besides the boring story and the contradictions, the characters are so badly written that i ended up not caring for or even remembering any of the characters. Half of these characters act as a 12 year old child. These are scientist astronauts, people that would be calm in the most tense situation but here we have grown men yelling and screaming at one another for the smallest reasons. If you have literally nothing else to do for the next hour and a half than doing literally anything other than watching this movie would be better. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
0
edefakielFeb 8, 2018
The most tasteless, annoying and stupid movie that I have seen in years. I have registered here just to warn other people.

But, hey, it is politically correct.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
3
SteveZarFeb 5, 2018
Well... Back in 2008 i remember cloverfield as something interesting. It was a kaiju movie, a monster movie. Good, great. But this... it's so forced into the cloverfield universe. It's a space movie, with a few touches of cloverfield soWell... Back in 2008 i remember cloverfield as something interesting. It was a kaiju movie, a monster movie. Good, great. But this... it's so forced into the cloverfield universe. It's a space movie, with a few touches of cloverfield so people could say "Ohhhh yeah so that's why is called cloverfield, oh yeah, now i get it" or something like that. It's an ok movie... average, almost mediocre.. but ends up being bad.
It could be called The shepard paradox, The average space station paradox, or whatever, let's say... "Movie". Because that's what it is, a movie we have seen before... mmmmmaaaany times. Totally unnoriginal.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
ChrisSoTruFeb 26, 2018
It was incredibly insulting to see that this movie has disrupted the consistensty of the Cloverfield (somewhat) franchise. The first two installments were incredibly chilling and so well choreographed that it would leave its mark on theIt was incredibly insulting to see that this movie has disrupted the consistensty of the Cloverfield (somewhat) franchise. The first two installments were incredibly chilling and so well choreographed that it would leave its mark on the suspense genre. This film, however, was such a ridiculous outlier that disregarded any legacy that it was hoping to build up. Expect a few twists to leave you confused, but the bad yet predictable writing will relieve your mind of thinking at all. While the acting is satisfactory in this film, there is hardly any element to make this film uniquely cinematic. The problem with this movie is the lack of effort and the typical path that most effortless movies have gone down to. It does not help that the speculation around the monsters and creatures in this universe are only clouded with more questions. Questions that we're supposed to find the answer to in another obsure prequel with an even more obscure premise. In short, this movie is nothing special. Just like any other Netflix film, it tends to bore you with nothing left for thought. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
heloheFeb 6, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The science in this movie just does not make any sense. It is not just bad it is completely wrong and annoyingly so. Spacestation breaks appart and stuff keeps spinning around it even though it is not attached to anything. Hatchdoor breaks and water and body freezes instantly. Gravity looks like to be sometimes present and sometimes not, depending on convenience. Hand from other universe can move by itself and can hear and see apparently as well without being attached to anything. Guy looses arm and is like "oh-well-whatever". People use too much energy on earth and fight war about the energy. Then instead of building more tried and trusted renewable energy sources, they build giant expensive space station based on untested physical theory with only enough energy for 5 or so tries and hope for the best. Meanwhile on earth everyone continues driving cars and using cell phones and fancy computers with buttons built into the desk and what-not and sparkly lights. Looks like there is no energy crisis going on whatsoever. The monsters or whatever that only appear like 2 seconds in the end of the movie are not explained. The parallel-universe story that is going on in the movie could explain that they come from the other universe, but even though the spacestation seems to suddenly have all the data from said universe (even though having been transported there from the regular universe) does not list anything about those monsters being there. Also the character from the other universe does not say anything about it. Apparrently you need a hyper-expensive gyroscope to just make a simple position analysis using known constellations. Apparently particle collisions can create deamons if one is to believe some guy they show in the tv. Also saying the particle accellerator is 1000x stronger than any ever built is kind of a lame comparison in terms of the scale involved in the energies of particle physics. Also the movie sucks. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
1
djjackFeb 5, 2018
Disappointment of the year! Посмотрели вчера с женой его. Муть несусветная. Такая задумка классная и столько вариантов решения и грамотного вывода к первой серии, которая "Монстро", но сценаристы решили всё иначе и просто зря потратилиDisappointment of the year! Посмотрели вчера с женой его. Муть несусветная. Такая задумка классная и столько вариантов решения и грамотного вывода к первой серии, которая "Монстро", но сценаристы решили всё иначе и просто зря потратили полтора часа нашего времени. То, что они хотели показать и сказать, умещается в одной строчке и в минутном ролике максимум. Не советую и ставлю низший бал на всех сайтах. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
rojobuffaloFeb 6, 2018
I created a Metacritic account just to rate this movie. Not good. Not interesting.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
Starwarsfan0001Mar 26, 2018
J.J. Abrahms should have just retired 10 years ago instead of crapping out garbage and ruining star wars and star trek. I loved the original cloverfield and loved lost, everything he has touched since then is complete trash.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
Jes1310Feb 12, 2018
The history in cloverfiels Paradox is paper thin. and more times than often, the paper is shredded or torn to pieces. Things are happening for no reason what so ever, and that just becomes annoying. There are some cool old school scifiThe history in cloverfiels Paradox is paper thin. and more times than often, the paper is shredded or torn to pieces. Things are happening for no reason what so ever, and that just becomes annoying. There are some cool old school scifi references to Aliens and other classics, but that just isnt enough to keep the movie together. Only other positive is that is explains why the Kaiju starts roaming our earth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
peterf28Jan 1, 2020
Too many nig nogs starring, also a german actor. Please stop **** up the sci-fi genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RefallOct 29, 2018
Terrible in every aspect, with the exception of some reasonable acting work in protagonist roles. I did not care for this film in the slightest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ShaManaJun 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The world is running out of energy. No really! Its literally running out of energy and once this happens everyone will die except... if we dont make the Mcguffin particle work. This is literally the whole movie premise. So lazy that my 11 year old nephew can write one better. We have a massive space station with artificial gravity and rooms 5 times bigger than my whole apartment but we are running out of energy. This is just a lazy movie made for money no reason to watch it as it has little to no cinematic value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
tasslehoff69Mar 19, 2018
Started out promising, but quickly devolved into a mess. Didn't like the main character at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
abm0Mar 16, 2018
It would've been so easy to take the stupidity just one step further and make it a full-blown parody, but no - they had to stop halfway and make a seriously stupid paranormal-fi movie with ridiculous physics, ridiculous jump-scares and overIt would've been so easy to take the stupidity just one step further and make it a full-blown parody, but no - they had to stop halfway and make a seriously stupid paranormal-fi movie with ridiculous physics, ridiculous jump-scares and over the top drama. Not even the good actors they had in there could save this trainwreck. Don't waste your time on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ViniciusBritoJan 18, 2019
In a possible reality the world is in a shortage of basic resources for survival, there is a lack of energy for example with a lot of blackouts. Then astronauts,  from different places in the world, go for a mission in space looking foward toIn a possible reality the world is in a shortage of basic resources for survival, there is a lack of energy for example with a lot of blackouts. Then astronauts,  from different places in the world, go for a mission in space looking foward to make a strong machine work and then give humanity energy to keep living again. And doing that they just end up in another dimension. Directed by Julius Onah and written by Oren Uziel.
So let's start with what is good about the story, wich is the idea, the whole idea is very nice, the characters traveling to another dimension unintentionally and finding out that are versions of themselves and in different conditions are really nice, and the consequence of this broke of time and space being the reason of the creation of monsters, wich we see in other movies from the franchise, the fact that this makes any other creative situations with monsters in any historical moment, not mattering space or time is really good. The justification for the story isn't the worst thing, lack of energy and something so strong to be done on earth can produce more and save people's life, isn't bad, but isn't very good neither, the main thing was to see how that was going to go, the storytelling in this film is really that bad, wich implies to make the audience bored, because there isn't much moments where i got enthusiastic watching this, the story isn't fun, the happenings overall aren't interesting, so all of this helps to make this a bad movie, is the essential. One really bad thing about this film is that all the time they are saying to eachother to go fix that, go do that, arrange this, and sometimes you actually see them doing these things, but it doesn't matter, just never, is all the damn time, you just don't know what they are fixing or doing with tools and all the time we see them using things, a lot of things happen when they are doing those and you just don't get it, i was just like: "but what was he even doing there". There are so many plot holes, that i really got stressed in some moments, i got that the dimensions colapsing and that is the paradox, so strange things happens, that is cool but i think that they went to far in a level that this movie isn't the kind of to do that, like, i'm ok with an arm moving alone, but how in the world and why, a arm would know that a compass would be in the stomach of another guy, that is nonsense in a way that this is not the kind of film to have it, it is nice that everything is strange, people are appearing out of nowhere and they know the others, but there somethings that just didn't fit. More towards the end there are some characters that do somethings really nonsense, i mean, it first makes a decision, and 5 minutes later it completely changes the decision with absolutely nothing being different, the 3rd act of this film have so many flaws that what could have saved the movie in some point, with at least some nice scenes really just made it worst for me. There are some nice scenes, right after they lost Earth and they not sure what is happening, that is nice, imagine that you are orbiting the planet and for one time to another you just completely lost it and have no idea where is it anymore, here is a nice agony, and the things that start happening after it, some work, some doens't, but the true is that it is nice to see strange things going on. About the dimension situation the thing about Ava character is really nice, where in one dimension one bad thing have happened and in the other one the problem is not there, so the fight for stay there or not it is nice.
The chemistry between the characters, until some point it is fine, but it got way to whatever. Gugu mbatha-raw overall don't really do a much different or stable thing, but there is a monologue towards the end and some tears in other moments that were really nice. Elizabeth Debicki have some moments in this film that works, her doubt face in some moments is fine, but in other her misunderstanding weren't really convincing, i don't know if that was directing or she, but wasn't good. All the others are just functional, there weren't really much moments for each other.
The cinematography really don't mean much, there are some lights in some moments, some use of cameras, but really nothing very special neither inside or outside the station. The soundtrack is ok, but still no big deal neither.
Cloverfield Paradox is a film with a very interesting idea, but poorly executed, a story that got interesting during some minutes, but because so many plot holes and a 3rd act with not much coherence, this is self sabotaging.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
F111Feb 13, 2018
Once there was the term 'straight to DVD' which just got replaced by 'straight to Netflix'.

I'll not cram this with spoilers. In short I'll just say its a cheap mash up of seemingly unrelated sci-fi ideas amalgamated into one incoherent low
Once there was the term 'straight to DVD' which just got replaced by 'straight to Netflix'.

I'll not cram this with spoilers. In short I'll just say its a cheap mash up of seemingly unrelated sci-fi ideas amalgamated into one incoherent low budget TV movie. The only solid connection with the series is the title which is such a shame as Cloverfield, for me, was one of the greatest sci-fi/monster/disaster movies of all time.

Avoid like the plague.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
pearlkyoudaiMar 23, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ammount of stupidity in this movie is off the charts. While watching this movie, I said "Wtf is going on?" out loud probably about 20 times. I don't even know where to start... Why the hell is everyone talking mandarin to that chinese chick ? Since when is mandarin the language of international science? What happened to the russian guy and his eyes ? Why ? How did that "gyro" compas end up inside his corpse ? How did Mundy's arm know about it ? The black "commander" commits suicide, because **** you... They were able to hear the screams of "Jensen" from miles away (who ended up inside a wall for some **** all reason) , in an invironment that is supposed to be soundproof and air tight... Oh boy, this movie would have been funny if it was a comedy, but no... It's blood serious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
NoahboyJul 13, 2019
Cloverfield Paradox (2018): This movie is really, really bad. Things just happen for seemingly no reason, and nothing makes any sense. I can't say much more about such an unenjoyably dumb movie other than that the plot is really messy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
grantpolifkaAug 13, 2018
Cardboard characters, sloppy editing, confusing writing, and terrible horror genre cliches ruin what little chances the film had to begin with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews