Yari Film Group Releasing | Release Date: August 18, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 539 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
480
Mixed:
44
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ViolettJan 23, 2014
Awesome. Great plot, great acting. This is sort of steampunk-like movies (like Sleepy Hollow). Plot takes you from the beginning till the end, I dont want to spoil, but at the end of the movie I has the same face as of Paul Giamatti ))Awesome. Great plot, great acting. This is sort of steampunk-like movies (like Sleepy Hollow). Plot takes you from the beginning till the end, I dont want to spoil, but at the end of the movie I has the same face as of Paul Giamatti ))
Jessica Bil is very cute!
Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
5
CraigASOct 10, 2006
Looks great, but the pay-off at the end isn't big enough to justify the rest of the film. Leaves you with a "oh... and?" feeling.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
HalfwelshmanMar 31, 2012
The Illusionist is just like the worst kind of magic act. Far from being incompetent, it puts on quite a show, but never instills you with a sense of wonder, empty as it is below the surface. The cast, who look pretty good on paper, areThe Illusionist is just like the worst kind of magic act. Far from being incompetent, it puts on quite a show, but never instills you with a sense of wonder, empty as it is below the surface. The cast, who look pretty good on paper, are largely wasted, with Edward Norton being up-staged by his own beard playing Eisenheim the Illusionist, and Jessica Biel being bland and utterly forgettable as love interest Duchess Sophie von Teschen. Even the usually brilliant Eddie Marsan makes little impact, as his character, Eisenheim's manager is under-used and has very little to do. Thank goodness the film also stars Paul Giamatti, who imbues his character of Inspector Uhl with a pleasing sincerity and complex morality, and tries his very best to elevate the film's rather clunky script, and Rufus Sewell, who makes a very entertaining, menacing antagonist as the scheming Crown Prince Leopold. The film is very visually impressive, with striking cinematography and high-quality production design with some pleasing period details. Philip Glass's moody soundrack is also rather effective in maintaining a consistent tone throughout the film. Despite these positives, the Illusionist has a disappointing amount of negative counter-points. A film can be as pretty as atmospheric as you like, but when the story is dull (and by jingo, The Illusionist's is boring) and the characters unengaging, its impact, and ultimately its enjoyability is limited. I found myself comparing the film to other, better examples of its type. The Illusionist lacks the sheer beauty, playfulness and soul of Sylvain Chomet's animation of the same name, and the intricate plotting and pure entertainment value of The Prestige. It's just not particularly interesting or memorable, and is disappointingly unmagical. The Illusionist may look the part, and Giamatti and Sewell put on quite a show, but ultimately the sub-par script, underwhelming characterisation and uninvolving story threatens to ruin the film, and alarmingly often, it does. There's no fooling the audience here, the film just isn't magic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
j30Dec 1, 2011
The Illusionist suffers from coming out around the same time as The Prestige (a far better movie in comparison) and a poor story line. Has anyone ever given you the "OMG" look because you haven't seen the Illusionist ?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RegOzApr 6, 2012
Honestly, Idon't know how to express the feeling I got after I saw it. I went to the movies to watch it, and it looked so interesting that I had expectations; yet, well...I didn't get the 'wow' feeling. I perhaps should watch itHonestly, Idon't know how to express the feeling I got after I saw it. I went to the movies to watch it, and it looked so interesting that I had expectations; yet, well...I didn't get the 'wow' feeling. I perhaps should watch it again...should I? don't even remember the ending. Does that say something about how interesting it was? I guess so. I will say a 6...? I may go and watch it again! I don't want to be unfair, and I am curious to see how I feel about it this time. So far, just a 6. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThomasLehmannApr 22, 2012
There's a great atmosphere and a surprising end - at least the first time you see it. It's now the third time and still I'm fascinated by the strong role playing. It's a love story - yes - but more than this it's a strategic carefulThere's a great atmosphere and a surprising end - at least the first time you see it. It's now the third time and still I'm fascinated by the strong role playing. It's a love story - yes - but more than this it's a strategic careful consideration of a magician to play with emotions and to provide hints. At the end also the chief inspector cannot avoid to laugh about these cleverness - he feel sympathy for Eisenheim the whole time... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 28, 2013
Yes, The Illusionist is not very believable, however, that does not mean it does not allow you to suspend what you know to be true for the two hour spectacle, just as in Eisenheim's performances. Edward Norton shines as always in the leadYes, The Illusionist is not very believable, however, that does not mean it does not allow you to suspend what you know to be true for the two hour spectacle, just as in Eisenheim's performances. Edward Norton shines as always in the lead role and is central to mystical and magical nature of the film that makes it so enjoyable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SEROJJul 3, 2013
I'm don't know what to say. This movie is not either bad or good. It's just so unfinished. Could be a lot better! 5/10 is my score, very boring and decent movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
Maybe I'm biased seeing as I saw the Illusionist after the Prestige, and yes, the two films are alike enough to be compared to one another. Whereas the Prestige seemed like something different, this film felt like a copy. E Norton was good,Maybe I'm biased seeing as I saw the Illusionist after the Prestige, and yes, the two films are alike enough to be compared to one another. Whereas the Prestige seemed like something different, this film felt like a copy. E Norton was good, but P Giamatti stole the show here. it's a shame, coz it actually had a good twist at the end Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
The Illusionist shows off its tricks.
The Illusionist initially has eye popping appeal with a cast of great actors. The premise itself is as mysterious as it sounds, and the result it a fine movie. It suffers though with a lack of
The Illusionist shows off its tricks.
The Illusionist initially has eye popping appeal with a cast of great actors. The premise itself is as mysterious as it sounds, and the result it a fine movie. It suffers though with a lack of explanation for blatant phenomenon's it preforms and then ignores.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DanD.Nov 10, 2006
Im a big fan of Norton, and this movie was enjoyable, but if we were supposed to believe that he was capable of this sort of illusion, then that is what sat wrong with me. Not even close to being feasible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
Patrick94Oct 20, 2013
Not as good as The Prestige, but a brilliant movie nonetheless. I really enjoyed this one, especially how he always has you wondering whether the magic is real, or just a trick
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
PrabhathNov 15, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Could have build up the character of Crown Prince establishing him as a
cruel person.....there isn't even one scene at least to establish
that....He didn't seem to me as a Villain.....Actually I felt sorry for
him being failed by his man, the foolish chief inspector.....And for
the surprise element its easy for any film buff to guess that she
(Biel) was not actually murdered at that night....and from there it is
just impatient watch till the climax....which ends making us (atleast
people like me) feeling sorry for the Prince and I just couldn't watch
that foolish Inspector laughing for being fooled and lost the Prince
with his incapacity. And there's one question - Since she is a Duchess
the royal families must have attended her funeral.....And if there
isn't any funeral and they haven't attended then she must be alive
somewhere else.....Steven Millhauser...
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ElvisA.Jan 4, 2007
I'm very biased towards Norton because I love every role I've ever seen him in. And the crazy thing about this movie is that I myself was tricked by the illusion that he wasn't acting as well as I'm used to seeing him. I'm very biased towards Norton because I love every role I've ever seen him in. And the crazy thing about this movie is that I myself was tricked by the illusion that he wasn't acting as well as I'm used to seeing him. Instead, I get to the end of the movie and realize he wasn't acting for the audience, he was acting for the other characters in the movie. It's like you can see everything coming and think your not fooled and once the ending sequence hits, you immediately realize you were duped. Great acting by all and anyone who doesn't like this movie needs to go back and watch again and realize why its as good as it is and why anything Norton has the Midas touch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MovieGoerOct 16, 2006
First, to introduce myself - I adored The Age Of Innocence but disliked Pride and Prejudice. The Illusionist is a total bore - from beginning to end. The film is based on a short story. The problem is there is only enough real content for a First, to introduce myself - I adored The Age Of Innocence but disliked Pride and Prejudice. The Illusionist is a total bore - from beginning to end. The film is based on a short story. The problem is there is only enough real content for a short film - the rest of the film is filler. And the short story is not special. You've seen the basic story before and done much better. The casting is atrocious. Almost all the actors were chosen for star power rather than talent. They are all supposed to be Austrian. But the top three characters seemed like Americans with fake accents. I've realized it is quite hard to make a good film and it is entirely possible to not want to see any movie currently in release. When that happens, rent an old classic or do something else. But don't waste your money on a weak film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Sep 3, 2006
"The Illusionist" cheats a little. Without giving away anything, what actually transpires at the end seems contrary to what is being set up because the special effects are too good. In the third act, a crucial bit of information that goes "The Illusionist" cheats a little. Without giving away anything, what actually transpires at the end seems contrary to what is being set up because the special effects are too good. In the third act, a crucial bit of information that goes unsaid feels like a contrivance to extend the film's running time since it would've facilitated the same end result anyway. If the film went in another direction, it would've emboldened the creepy atmospherics of the illusionist's stage show. Since "The Illusionist" goes for the too happy ending, the filmmaker undermined the strongest part of his film. Still, it's a film worth seeing in spite of being burdened by the star-crossed lovers ordeal, and the duel of elaborate facial hair presentation between Edward Norton and Paul Giamatti. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LortieM.Sep 4, 2006
This is one or the most entertaining films I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Sep 8, 2006
Actually I would have given this movie an 8.5 maybe even an 8.8 but this rating system will not let us be that refined. I would have given this movie a straight up 9 even a 9.5 and potentially a 10 if it weren't for a few factors. The Actually I would have given this movie an 8.5 maybe even an 8.8 but this rating system will not let us be that refined. I would have given this movie a straight up 9 even a 9.5 and potentially a 10 if it weren't for a few factors. The first and less important is the film had the illussion of being a bit short. [***SPOILERS***]There was no time revealed between Eisenheims childhood romance and 15 tears later when he comes back to Vienna. I could have lived with this as revealing too much spoils the illusion hence is no fun. However my second point is where I have a much more valid issue. I was happy and yet disappointed at the same time by the end of the movie. I was happy that like some artistic movies that end on a downer this one didn't. The world is full of unhappy endings, and as a vast general I don't go to the movies to get reminded of it. So a happy ending with Jessica Biel is an ultra plus in my book. But here comes the prestige of my argument is that at the end of the movie it is all but revealed how he preformed his illusion to fool the Prince and his cronies thereby gaining his childhood love. I think it would have been much more powerful if it was not revealed and it left the audience wondering was the magic real of was it just an illusion. I guess this is why they call it the illusionist but isn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RodG.Feb 20, 2007
It wasn't the best movie I've ever seen but it was entertaining enough to watch. The ending was predictable like most movies nowadays. The guy was an illusionist so how else could it have ended?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DebbieS.Oct 2, 2006
A movie that is what movies should be. Norton and Giamatti are wonderful as always, and Jessica Biel shows surprising talent in a role many actresses would have sleepwalked through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleC.Oct 3, 2006
This is incredible. Norton, Giamatti and Beil shine in a superb film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveT.Aug 19, 2006
Magical! One of the best of the year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoySillesenAug 22, 2006
I was lucky enough to see this film a little more than six months ago at an advance screening. I -- and the entire audience -- was mesmerized. I'm glad to see that it's finally been released and that the overall reaction to it is I was lucky enough to see this film a little more than six months ago at an advance screening. I -- and the entire audience -- was mesmerized. I'm glad to see that it's finally been released and that the overall reaction to it is as favorable as it has been. I know when my husband and I saw it we walked out of the theater completely impressed by the story, the cast, and the overall production values of this film. It's a little gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AriadneVSep 11, 2006
Wonderful from start to finish. Nothing fake here, worth the price just to watch Giamatti's expressions and his reaction to the denouement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.P.Sep 2, 2006
It's been awhile since Hollywood has produced such an intelligent film. Paul Giamatti was superb and Ed Horton believable. The twist at the end was the icing on the cake. Bravo!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FantasySep 24, 2006
I saw this with my main squeeze Carol Ann. We both loved it. The acting is first rate and the story was great. The only negative was at the end it would have been fun to see how everything was really done. Well, we all know about CGI but I I saw this with my main squeeze Carol Ann. We both loved it. The acting is first rate and the story was great. The only negative was at the end it would have been fun to see how everything was really done. Well, we all know about CGI but I mean it would have been neat to see a little more detail. Great movie anyway. Go see and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnL.Sep 20, 2006
A beautiful movie. I love it when hollywood gets off its butt and does something original, dramatic, and tells a good story. It has a mystery novel feel about it. Acting is great all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronL.Sep 30, 2006
This is a great movie from beginning to end. It will definitely be a nominee in next year's Oscars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanaM.Sep 4, 2006
Attention holding and beautifully designed. This film suceeds in maintaining its mystery to the very end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GjF.Sep 4, 2006
This movie has stayed with me for three days. It's been years since that happened.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenG.Sep 5, 2006
A wonderful period piece, well acted and directed. Edward Norton is spellbinding in the lead role, but Paul Giamatti steals the movie....but what else is new??
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarvinB.Sep 6, 2006
I haven't seen a better film in years. If you're into magic/fantasy/cinematography/great acting/an actual plot/and human characters, go for a wonderful experience. I saw it in a nice, new theater, and I'm glad I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Sep 7, 2006
My interest in the film grew as it went along; by the end I was hooked. Of course, it was easy to guess going in that the film would end in some kind of "illusion," but getting there was fascinating. One measure of a film is whether viewers My interest in the film grew as it went along; by the end I was hooked. Of course, it was easy to guess going in that the film would end in some kind of "illusion," but getting there was fascinating. One measure of a film is whether viewers discuss it afterward. We did extensiviely and agreed that we would have to see it again (on DVD) to catch all the illusions. Norton and Giamatti were terrific. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlanG.Jan 13, 2007
Those who want to try to pidgeon hole this as a murder mystery have totally missed the point. In reality it is a touching romance, but without any of the pretensious slushiness that makes most unwatchable. This was a real surprise to me - Those who want to try to pidgeon hole this as a murder mystery have totally missed the point. In reality it is a touching romance, but without any of the pretensious slushiness that makes most unwatchable. This was a real surprise to me - excellent acting, Paul Giamatti excellent as always and no attempt by the 'stars' Jessica Biel and Ed Norton top steal the show by making more of their characters than they actually are. OK, the twist may be a little obvious, but for todays savvy audiences who almost expect it anyway this shouldn't be a surprise. The only real shocker here is how little coverage this moving has received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulE.Jan 29, 2007
Not really understand how this movie is better than The Prestige..In deed, a good story and even a better ending. I was thinking about this end though , but quite remarkable. Still not having the depth and intensity of The Prestige, nor the Not really understand how this movie is better than The Prestige..In deed, a good story and even a better ending. I was thinking about this end though , but quite remarkable. Still not having the depth and intensity of The Prestige, nor the interpretation of the actors rise to one from The Prestige. A good movie, but not one to be seen again, and again... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jwFeb 11, 2007
(7.5) I like Edward Norton, and I like English accents. I do not like Edward Norton's English accent. Reminds me of Jude Law's American accent in I Heart Huckabee's (especially put up against Naomi Watts' American accent, (7.5) I like Edward Norton, and I like English accents. I do not like Edward Norton's English accent. Reminds me of Jude Law's American accent in I Heart Huckabee's (especially put up against Naomi Watts' American accent, which is better than mine, and I live here). Giamatti is at his bearded, bug-eyed best, and retains his position as my second-favorite heir to character genius Martin Balsam. (Bill Macy being number one). The movie's not earth-shattering, but pretty and just smart enough to leave you with no regrets. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LenH.Feb 27, 2007
This was one of the best movies I have seen in some time. I see the voting is all over the board. Yes, if you think too hard, you will come to the conclusion, the conclusions relied on for the "hoax" to come together is a reach, and you can This was one of the best movies I have seen in some time. I see the voting is all over the board. Yes, if you think too hard, you will come to the conclusion, the conclusions relied on for the "hoax" to come together is a reach, and you can complain (like so many in the movie) they wanted explanations to the illusions, but as any good magician knows, don't give up the secrets, it adds to their effect, and so be it in a magician's movie. The book of directions for the orange tree at the end tell us they affirm to all that they were just illusions after all. If you have a week romantic side, and just want to be entertained, this is a great movie. Much better than the other similar movies that have all seemed to hit recently. I liked the small shack at the end as well. Proof they had no quest for material things, just themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KennyM.Feb 9, 2007
The entire leading cast does an amazing job, just as Norton and Giamatti always do. The shooting, lighting, and visual effects are perfect, led by some amazing magic scenes. The plot takes the viewer to some amazing places, but the ending The entire leading cast does an amazing job, just as Norton and Giamatti always do. The shooting, lighting, and visual effects are perfect, led by some amazing magic scenes. The plot takes the viewer to some amazing places, but the ending sequence really ruins the magic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DouglasS.Mar 11, 2007
A wasted opportunity. It was a beautiful portrait that had drained the life out of its subject. The writing was flat, uninspired and lacked depth. I do not mind that the twist was apparent early on, but apart from narrative revelation there A wasted opportunity. It was a beautiful portrait that had drained the life out of its subject. The writing was flat, uninspired and lacked depth. I do not mind that the twist was apparent early on, but apart from narrative revelation there was nothing else for the mind to feed on. There was no real passion or magnetism to the characters, no depth to their behaviour. A tale about an illusiionist and a prince could have offered some insight into perception, the human capacity for delusion and the artifice of social hierarchy, but this tale was purely confectionary. Furthermore, it suffered from a Philip Glass score. This kind of score is insistent in its repitition, it does not vary in its constitution, it merely pauses to breathe. It is perfect for montage movies (see The Hours, Notes on a Scandal). Time passes, scenes change, but the score remains the same. It may smooth over rough edges in a film but it sucks away individual scene vitality, in favour of an overall drab consistency. It is a sure sign that a director is not doing his job. Nice lighting by Dick Pope though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AshIdontthinksoMar 1, 2007
C'mon Len H. Dont make excuses for the movie. "If you have a week romantic side... this is a great movie" ??? I dont think the romantics went to watch this movie. It failed... it built up a tremendous plot, but only managed to blow hot C'mon Len H. Dont make excuses for the movie. "If you have a week romantic side... this is a great movie" ??? I dont think the romantics went to watch this movie. It failed... it built up a tremendous plot, but only managed to blow hot air in the end. Its a cop out. .... The unpredictability was in its predictability.... plus its outrageous ending and wind up. Its easy to come up with a thriller if you dont plan to reveal the answers. So what's with the butterflies... and what's with the orange tree coming to life (the picture showed mechanical instrument underneath the pot --- give me a break...) If you're into credibility of a storyline first and foremost... this one is no good. If you care about all the other stuff mentioned here, how great the cinematography or lighting is... then go for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictoriaSep 20, 2007
Beautiful cinematography, wonderful acting, and a delightful, atmospheric splendor of a movie; a romance in full bloom. I was enchanted and it's a movie that I will not forget too soon. There's no illusion here. This is the real deal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.LopezFeb 6, 2009
There's one word that can describe this film, pure genius! this amazing period piece mystery stars Edward Norton as Eisenheim a traveling Illusionist who while doing a show in Vienna meets up with an old childhood sweetheart Sophie, she There's one word that can describe this film, pure genius! this amazing period piece mystery stars Edward Norton as Eisenheim a traveling Illusionist who while doing a show in Vienna meets up with an old childhood sweetheart Sophie, she is know the fiancee of the crowned prince Leopold. The illusionist is a lavish film that is bathed in dark tones, and amazing cinematography. This film is much different them the Prestige a movie that came out in the exact same year, the Prestige deals with the three rules of a magician. While the illusionist doesn't it deals with mystery ,murder & deception. And it blends perfectly into such a way that this film will leave you absolutely stumped until the very end ( and I mean the very end!) Edward Norton turns in an oscar worthy performance as a mysterious traveling magician, and Paul Giamatti(also exceptional) proves he's just as good as the rest. This movie is one that you can enjoy over and over again, and no mater how many times you see it you still be in awe of the vast beauty of it all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdwardS.Oct 11, 2006
Everything clicked and came together beautifully -- the acting, film sets, music (Philip Glass), photography, and even the fairy-tale-like ending. Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenGNov 21, 2006
I thought this was very good, into it shot itself in the foot at the end, with a twist ending that felt pedestrian, and haphazardly tacked on. Just because it went along with the theme of the movie (a trick ending, for a movie about someone I thought this was very good, into it shot itself in the foot at the end, with a twist ending that felt pedestrian, and haphazardly tacked on. Just because it went along with the theme of the movie (a trick ending, for a movie about someone who performs tricks) isn't enough to make it clever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbP.Oct 16, 2006
Easily one of the best films I've seen all year. It's beautiful and romantic and intriguing all at once. Like a great magic show it sucks you in and makes you believe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharmaineH.Oct 5, 2006
This movie was truly amazing. I was on the edge of my seat and completely entranced the whole way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KrisMOct 7, 2006
Loved it for the most part but there were some scenes where the dialogue might have expanded and given rise to sharper drama and conflict--yes, *passion* in every sense. Sometimes Eisenheim (Norton) was a little too controlled as were his Loved it for the most part but there were some scenes where the dialogue might have expanded and given rise to sharper drama and conflict--yes, *passion* in every sense. Sometimes Eisenheim (Norton) was a little too controlled as were his reunion conversations with his long lost love. I would have enjoyed a stronger show of distress from him. Other than that, great storytelling, pacing, structure and costumes. [***SPOILERS***] A wonderful mystery, complete with ghosts! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickD.Oct 7, 2006
A classic romance. Well written, albeit with a few holes in the conceit. The acting was enormously strong, which is no surprise from the likes of Edward Norton or Paul Giamatti. However, Jessica Biel's strong performance was a A classic romance. Well written, albeit with a few holes in the conceit. The acting was enormously strong, which is no surprise from the likes of Edward Norton or Paul Giamatti. However, Jessica Biel's strong performance was a revelation. I found myself smiling like a fool at the very end, but I won't give away the secret why... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyB.Aug 19, 2006
One of the year's best- i do not understand why it has not been better promoted. Great acting by all of the leads, visually stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArnoldP.Aug 23, 2006
Riveting "old fashioned" entertainment to please this adult starved for intelligent films. I've e-mailed all of my address book to encourage friends to support seeing this film to send a message to Hollywoood that adults too can cough Riveting "old fashioned" entertainment to please this adult starved for intelligent films. I've e-mailed all of my address book to encourage friends to support seeing this film to send a message to Hollywoood that adults too can cough up big $. Seeing the star turn of Paul Giamatti is worth the price of admission alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindsayB.Aug 26, 2006
A fascinating and engaging film. Definitely one of the best films of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanB.Aug 27, 2006
I'm no Paul Giamatti fan but he's particularly good in this. As is Rufus Sewell (I think that's his name) as the Crown Prince. Biel and Norton do good jobs also but somehow I couldn't care about them or their love. Which I'm no Paul Giamatti fan but he's particularly good in this. As is Rufus Sewell (I think that's his name) as the Crown Prince. Biel and Norton do good jobs also but somehow I couldn't care about them or their love. Which is why this gets a 7. Also, film looked fantastic. Had much cleverness in it. I wished the "illusions" were a teeny bit less obviously CGI. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NancyH.Aug 27, 2006
Loved this movie--the art direction and cinematography was great. Visually sumptious movie. Paul Giamatti is wonderful--didn't know he could do an accent, and of course Edward Norton is one of the finest actors of this generation. The Loved this movie--the art direction and cinematography was great. Visually sumptious movie. Paul Giamatti is wonderful--didn't know he could do an accent, and of course Edward Norton is one of the finest actors of this generation. The only thing that kept it from getting a 10 is well...I figured out the 'trick'. But otherwise, one of the most well done movies I've seen all year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Sep 11, 2006
A good time with a few faults. This was not Edward's best but Rufus Sewell and Paul Giamatti are amazing and more than make up for it. Jessica Biel is distractingly pretty but believable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HowardP.Sep 16, 2006
Nicely crafted, well acted and atmospheric but the plot had the substance of Mission Impossible
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MyraM.Sep 2, 2006
Engrossing and very well acted movie. Audience applauded at the end of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaseSep 2, 2006
Highly watchable, yet seems to already be slipping from memory. I've heard alot about how Biel wasn't right for the part but I thought she did quite well. Everything seemed to come together just fine even though I did guess the Highly watchable, yet seems to already be slipping from memory. I've heard alot about how Biel wasn't right for the part but I thought she did quite well. Everything seemed to come together just fine even though I did guess the twist ending correctly which kinda sucked sense I wanted to be fooled by the illusionist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandySep 24, 2006
Magnificent, mesmerizing, the best movie I have seen this year, compelling performances by all involved. I am recommending it to everyone I know, and will go again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JanM.Sep 25, 2006
While the film successfully holds the viewer's attention, the tale it weaves is ultimately unsatisfying -- like a dinner of chocolate fudge. Midway into the film, the viewer is wondering why nothing on the screen really matters, and While the film successfully holds the viewer's attention, the tale it weaves is ultimately unsatisfying -- like a dinner of chocolate fudge. Midway into the film, the viewer is wondering why nothing on the screen really matters, and this lack of concern for the characters and their situation holds even as the final credits roll. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveC.Sep 28, 2006
Best movie I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnF.Sep 4, 2006
I really enjoyed this film. It was better than the reviews... very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Sep 5, 2006
They say magicians never reveal the secrets to their tricks and in The Illusionist they certainly respect that rule, but then again, that's half the fun of watching the movie. The CGI effects are some of the best i've seen because They say magicians never reveal the secrets to their tricks and in The Illusionist they certainly respect that rule, but then again, that's half the fun of watching the movie. The CGI effects are some of the best i've seen because they all involve magic tricks and illusions, and though you know they're special effects, you're still looking for invisible wires and mirrors. Edward Norton shines again, he just doesn't do bad movies and Paul Giamatti redeems himself after Lady in the Water. Rufas Sewell is noteworthy for his role of the power hungry prince who fears the The Illusionist. All in all, it's a very good, always inventive movie with great camera work and a beautiful score by Phillip Glass but i wish they would have broken the magicians code atleast once and explained the "Beam me up" trick! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
michaelcarrSep 9, 2006
Very entertaining movie...This movie will keep your interest. It is unique, clever, well-acted, and nicely written. While I think that most people won't say this is the best movie ever, I have a hard time seeing anyone who won't like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesZ.Jan 14, 2007
The plot and storyline was the best you can get.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisT.Feb 5, 2007
Brilliant! One of the best movies I have seen in a long time. It ranks up there with Shakespeare In Love, Pulp Fiction , V For Vendetta, and Fight Club! Edward Norton is the Man!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaleMApr 15, 2007
Good story beautifully told. This movie didn't get the publicity of the other magic movie, The Prestige, but it was much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PeterF.May 27, 2007
Edward Norton doesn't phone in his performance, he sends it as an IM. How this great actor could give us such an uninspired, incoherent characterization is the only mystery worth pondering in this turgid film. And that dreadful accent! Edward Norton doesn't phone in his performance, he sends it as an IM. How this great actor could give us such an uninspired, incoherent characterization is the only mystery worth pondering in this turgid film. And that dreadful accent! At least Paul Giamatti was there to act against type and make some interesting choices. But the best acting in the world could not save a tired script and hallmark-card lighting and set-design. Painful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredB.Jun 8, 2007
This movie was fantastic. Edward Norton was simply amazing and Jessica Biel was stunning. One of my top 5 movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MariaApr 9, 2008
Hard to sit through. ed norton is so tiresome these days. and the script was dead. did he rewrite this script too?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandallSFeb 19, 2009
I thought this was an excellent and unique movie. Like others have said, the plot can be a bit hard to follow (I had to watch the climax thingy right at the end like three times) but it was intriguing and very well supported by the cast. I thought this was an excellent and unique movie. Like others have said, the plot can be a bit hard to follow (I had to watch the climax thingy right at the end like three times) but it was intriguing and very well supported by the cast. Also, the movie was gorgeous. The setting was expertly crafted. It isn't often that you see movies set in the pre-WWI 20th century so that piece was refreshing by itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnR.Nov 13, 2006
Nicely filmed and acted, but the script and characters do not take us in very deeply. In the end it is just a period bauble and a lukewarm love story with nifty tricks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinaDNov 24, 2006
I thought that this was a brilliant movie. It was refreshing to see Jessica Biel in a period piece which I don't believe that she has ever done before. I love period films and this one was especially good. Although there is nothing I thought that this was a brilliant movie. It was refreshing to see Jessica Biel in a period piece which I don't believe that she has ever done before. I love period films and this one was especially good. Although there is nothing particulary new about the forbidden love-type story, the Illusionist was done in a very different way and had many twists and turns. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesS.Oct 13, 2006
Honestly one of the most magical films I have ever seen. And when the critics say it is dazzling to the eye, that is more than true; the images are so warm, vivid, and colorful, you feel as if you are eating a tasty old fashioned desert with Honestly one of the most magical films I have ever seen. And when the critics say it is dazzling to the eye, that is more than true; the images are so warm, vivid, and colorful, you feel as if you are eating a tasty old fashioned desert with your eyes. Mr. Norton, not some one I have seen in many movies, is simply wonderful--in a quaint intelligent way. And even though movie theaters are charging so much these days, this one is more than worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DannyS.Nov 9, 2006
This was a creative and unpredictable film. I think this could be a good contender for a best picture oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
rogert.Dec 11, 2006
This movie blows the twist ending. It looks like they threw it in at the last minute, and the rest of the movie is just boring anyway. Except Jessica Biel, I guess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StuartS.Oct 21, 2006
You cannot predict where this film is going. But you will enjoy the ride. Lots of splendid twists and great romance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnS.Oct 24, 2006
One of the best movies I have seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
andrewt.Oct 29, 2006
Reasonably entertaining historical drama/thriller. Vienna and the Austrian empire circa 1890(?) are nicely portrayed, and the story is certainly not boring. The magic does significantly help build drama and is quite enjoyable to watch. Reasonably entertaining historical drama/thriller. Vienna and the Austrian empire circa 1890(?) are nicely portrayed, and the story is certainly not boring. The magic does significantly help build drama and is quite enjoyable to watch. However, with the exception of Giamatti's chief inspector, none of the characters are drawn with much depth, perhaps to help maintain the illusions that this movie so much depends on. And the underlying love story is almost childishly portrayed. But overall, the movies provides an entertaining evening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinR.Aug 17, 2006
Powered by the suberb performances of its leads, this film is one of the best so far this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizC.Aug 19, 2006
Wonderful movie and very romantic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClintM.Sep 14, 2006
I absolutely loved this movie ... it's completely original, compelling all the way to the end, unique, interesting, wonderfully acted, wonderful story, very stylized filming ... all around I have 0 complaints with it. I left feeling I absolutely loved this movie ... it's completely original, compelling all the way to the end, unique, interesting, wonderfully acted, wonderful story, very stylized filming ... all around I have 0 complaints with it. I left feeling rewarded for having come! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JudithS.Sep 16, 2006
I loved this movie and would like to see it again tknowing the end just to see how everything was worked out. Thought the acting was great, loved the tone of the movie and just thought it was the best movie certainly of the summer, but for a I loved this movie and would like to see it again tknowing the end just to see how everything was worked out. Thought the acting was great, loved the tone of the movie and just thought it was the best movie certainly of the summer, but for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JudyT.Sep 22, 2006
A beautiful movie more people should have seen it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DeWayneP.P.Sep 24, 2006
I think the Users votes are a bit too high for this film (the critics reviews for a change, is right-on!). The cinematography was beautiful, dark, smokey, and romantically moody. But the story lines of love and power needed more tension and I think the Users votes are a bit too high for this film (the critics reviews for a change, is right-on!). The cinematography was beautiful, dark, smokey, and romantically moody. But the story lines of love and power needed more tension and drama development...or was it all left on the cutting room floor??? At $10. a pop to see this film it really isn't worth it, but it is a good deal if you're watching' it on a Saturday night and you flip-on HBO-at-the Movies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelC.Sep 26, 2006
This is one of the most entertaining movies I have ever seen, in a time when Hollywood has forgotten that movies are supposed to be entertaining. I cannot believe that there would be a negative review about this movie, but only cries to This is one of the most entertaining movies I have ever seen, in a time when Hollywood has forgotten that movies are supposed to be entertaining. I cannot believe that there would be a negative review about this movie, but only cries to Hollywood for more films of this intellect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JackieC.Jan 12, 2007
Edward Norton as a passionate leading man comes off more like a whimpish poser. No heat at all between the love interests. I predicted the ending well in advance without ever wanting to do so. Thank goodness for Paul Giamatti!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillL.Jan 12, 2007
An excellent period piece and the ending was predictable but the movie as a whole was very well acted, entertaining and beautifully photgraphed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimW.Jan 16, 2007
This is a classic movie that keeps you involved the entire time and leaves you feeling glad you saw it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasonL.Jan 16, 2007
I liked this movie, but I didn't feel Norton's performance was up to par. The whole thing seemed a bit stiff. I guessed the ending, like most people will, as soon as the mystery became apparent. It seems to me the whole movie was I liked this movie, but I didn't feel Norton's performance was up to par. The whole thing seemed a bit stiff. I guessed the ending, like most people will, as soon as the mystery became apparent. It seems to me the whole movie was made and risked over that one plot device, which is not enough really to carry it. Smart as it may be, it has been ripped straight out of the usual suspects. I still enjoyed it and I think most people will. Kind of reminds me of the Saw franchise in a way. One clever idea a movie does not make, especially when it comes across as being contrived and artificial. Norton's passionless performance was also a bit of a let down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenJan 19, 2007
A brilliantly inventive movie, wonderful cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TerryR.Jan 21, 2007
Looks great and good performances but a little empty at heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidL.Jan 24, 2007
A beautifully mounted production, but a little stilted in its execution. Everything feels too staged...too rehearsed. Perhaps that was done purposefully. Still, I could not take my eyes off of this film. It has its mesmerizing moments, A beautifully mounted production, but a little stilted in its execution. Everything feels too staged...too rehearsed. Perhaps that was done purposefully. Still, I could not take my eyes off of this film. It has its mesmerizing moments, particularly in the performance of Edward Norton. Paul Giamatti, once again, asserts himself as one of our very best actors working in film today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StuH.Jan 29, 2007
Very entertaining! The cinematography was well done as was the period costuming and locations. My wife figured out the twists and turns, but not 'til late in the movie and even still, she was captivated! A different look for Paul Very entertaining! The cinematography was well done as was the period costuming and locations. My wife figured out the twists and turns, but not 'til late in the movie and even still, she was captivated! A different look for Paul Giamatti but he looked very comfy there and showed well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SherryS.Feb 25, 2007
Thoroughly entertaining and romantic melodrama with the eerie look of a slient movie. Director's commentary on DVD is well-done and very satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatE.Apr 15, 2007
Out of the many flops of 2006 this one is sure to be a pleaser if you are looking for a movie you can just enjoy with the family or by yourself and be fascinated with the visuals. I see alot of people are trying to get technical with the Out of the many flops of 2006 this one is sure to be a pleaser if you are looking for a movie you can just enjoy with the family or by yourself and be fascinated with the visuals. I see alot of people are trying to get technical with the magic, of course if you don't know anything about magic don't do that. Your simple logic won't lead you to the answer you seek. A very touching movie, had good emotion to it. Bottomline...a solid 8! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardJun 17, 2007
I believe that this was possibly one of the best drama's of the year. It does however require the viewers to take some initiative in understanding the plot, which is not overly complex. Of course it was easy to understand what was going I believe that this was possibly one of the best drama's of the year. It does however require the viewers to take some initiative in understanding the plot, which is not overly complex. Of course it was easy to understand what was going on in the story, however the hard part was trying to put the pieces of the movie together to understand how the illusionist was going to pull off his last trick. I give it a 10 out of 10 because I felt that the actors did a great job, the plot was great, and the cinematography was excellent. Unlike most movies lately, this one did not suck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DougL.Nov 28, 2006
Mediocre in every sense, except perhaps Paul Giamatti. The conclusion was rather obvious and the journey there just wasn't very interesting. Plus it has a very muddy look.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kingshahidNov 8, 2011
A great movie, I loved the twist right at the end. The entire movie was brilliant from the cast, costume, and story. It got me interested in illusionists now - I would love to see a live show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shamanJan 27, 2011
This movie is slow and uninteresting like llamas wenie I want more robotussin but either way this movie was something that I never want to watch again...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lususgreeneMay 13, 2011
Great acting, good story, good use of effects, there really isn't anything bad to say about this movie. This is the best movie I have ever seen that could be classified as a romance movie. Here it is guys the perfect movie to watch with yourGreat acting, good story, good use of effects, there really isn't anything bad to say about this movie. This is the best movie I have ever seen that could be classified as a romance movie. Here it is guys the perfect movie to watch with your girl. Because it is a great movie and yet romantic. Norton and Giammati oce again prove they are a cut above the rest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews