Fine Line Features | Release Date: October 29, 1999
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 91 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
3
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SamuIndieDec 4, 2014
Masterpiece .
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJMay 3, 2013
Superb original soundtrack,amazing story and beautiful atmosphere! This movie is really one of the few movies that my friends recommended to me and i liked it a lot! I would recommend it to everyone...but if you're a musician or you're aSuperb original soundtrack,amazing story and beautiful atmosphere! This movie is really one of the few movies that my friends recommended to me and i liked it a lot! I would recommend it to everyone...but if you're a musician or you're a music lover you should watch this masterpiece without no doubt! My final score for "The Legend of 1900" is 8/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsFeb 8, 2019
A unique, strange, and beautiful film that feels more like a Tall Tale than anything else I have seen on the big screen in a long time. This is an immaculately shot and directed movie, and every piece of the ship is beautiful. The way theA unique, strange, and beautiful film that feels more like a Tall Tale than anything else I have seen on the big screen in a long time. This is an immaculately shot and directed movie, and every piece of the ship is beautiful. The way the music is portrayed is stunning. The acting is incredible, and is really an ensemble cast at their finest rather than Tim Roth shouldering the weight for everyone, even though he does do a fantastic job. This is one of the most underrated films from the 1990s, and I really think that this will be regarded as a classic one day. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
vgmkyleFeb 9, 2016
Legend of 1900 is a beautiful film, from the acting to the soundtrack to how the film is shot... you shouldn't miss this if you haven't seen it already. Roth gives yet another great performance that is not only chilling but effective noLegend of 1900 is a beautiful film, from the acting to the soundtrack to how the film is shot... you shouldn't miss this if you haven't seen it already. Roth gives yet another great performance that is not only chilling but effective no matter how distant from him you may feel. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
G_Thomas_BostonApr 25, 2013
The Legend of 1900 is one of the cleverest comedies ever filmed. Director Giuseppe Tornatore manages to get the viewer to believe they are watching a serious movie about a boy who grows up (secretly) on an ocean liner. The boy becomes a manThe Legend of 1900 is one of the cleverest comedies ever filmed. Director Giuseppe Tornatore manages to get the viewer to believe they are watching a serious movie about a boy who grows up (secretly) on an ocean liner. The boy becomes a man (still living on the ship but keeping a low profile). But he becomes not just any man; he emerges as a piano virtuoso the likes of which the ocean blue has never seen.

One particularly chortle-worthy scene depicts Tim Roth's character (the titular 1900 (HA HA HA)) lighting a cigarette off of the "hot" piano strings after his jazz duel with Jelly Roll Morton. HA HA HA HA, HO HO HO... whew! Oh, that is priceless.

The over-the-top script is delivered with hilarious high-school histrionics by a cast that includes the usually serious Pruitt Taylor Vince and Clarence (Linc) Williams III.

Hold on a second. This just in. I've been advised that this is indeed NOT a comedy. Really? Well then, I must remind myself to never watch anything with "Legend(s) of" in the title (e.g. Legend of Bagger Vance, Legends of the Fall, Legend of Zorro, Legend of 1900). I thought those were all comedies.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
StevenZ.Sep 9, 2005
I like this sad movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnC.Jul 22, 2006
Great movie Great music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HedzyS.Feb 6, 2006
One of the greatest movies i've ever seen .. the story was well thought out, the characters are interesting, and the music is absolutely exquisite. In fact, this movie actually inspired me to start taking piano lessons. I am now 16 and One of the greatest movies i've ever seen .. the story was well thought out, the characters are interesting, and the music is absolutely exquisite. In fact, this movie actually inspired me to start taking piano lessons. I am now 16 and have been playing for 6 years, ever since The Journey Of 1900 was released. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterM.Mar 1, 2006
The greatest film of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenMar 20, 2007
The Good: amazing piano scenes; subtle, ironic humor; Roth is genuine. The Bad: too long, too boring, strangely-paced. This movie has some scenes that are dazzlingly creative, well-written, or beautiful. There are fantastic piano sequences The Good: amazing piano scenes; subtle, ironic humor; Roth is genuine. The Bad: too long, too boring, strangely-paced. This movie has some scenes that are dazzlingly creative, well-written, or beautiful. There are fantastic piano sequences (one of which involves a grand piano being played as it is flying across the floor of a storm-tossed ship), and the quirky, low-key humor will be enjoyed by those patient enough to look for it. As a piano-playing movie, it is fantastic. As a gripping character study, it falls flat. Indeed, "gripping" is a large problem with this movie, for that it was it lacks. One may lament, as I did, how sad it is that there are so many great scenes and moments tied together by long stretches of boredom. I'd highly recommend renting it for a watch-through--some of the scenes are classic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
alejandro970Aug 13, 2017
Not bad, but far from best, talent jobs of Tornatore. The intimate mode in which the story is told at least worls well until the final act when nosefalls in tedious dialogues. Tim Roth and the music score saves the day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
promised_mahdiNov 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. nice but it has a strange end if i was instead max i wanted to sit in the ship and die with 1900 or come out him Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews