A24 | Release Date: October 18, 2019
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 220 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
180
Mixed:
19
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
jomatchueOct 27, 2019
"The Lighthouse" is a stunning psychological thriller with beautiful cinematography and haunting performances. Director Robert Eggers uses a simple premise to create an engrossing and memorable viewing experience that will keep you on the"The Lighthouse" is a stunning psychological thriller with beautiful cinematography and haunting performances. Director Robert Eggers uses a simple premise to create an engrossing and memorable viewing experience that will keep you on the edge of your seat. I liked aspects of his previous film, "The Witch," but I found the third act underwhelming. "The Lighthouse" is a vast improvement - and a great example of how to get a horror movie right. Willem Dafoe, who's always good, does an amazing job. Having been familiar with Robert Pattinson only from his unremarkable turn as Edward Cullen, I was pleasantly surprised by his intense but complicated performance. The music, sound design, and visuals of "The Lighthouse" are captivating. However I found a few scenes poorly lit, and Willem Dafoe's dialogue is difficult to understand due to the thickness of his sailor dialect. But despite a few problems here and there, "The Lighthouse" is a powerful tale of insanity and isolation. 8/10. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
dredgmanOct 25, 2019
Wow, what a masterpiece! Starting with the visuals, The Lighthouse is absolutely gorgeous to look at. The imagery feels instantly iconic, and the almost-square aspect ratio helps set the time period as well as add claustrophobia to the mix.Wow, what a masterpiece! Starting with the visuals, The Lighthouse is absolutely gorgeous to look at. The imagery feels instantly iconic, and the almost-square aspect ratio helps set the time period as well as add claustrophobia to the mix.

Dafoe and Pattinson are riveting in their roles, giving career-best performances. There is an interesting ebb and flow to their relationship in the movie as if discussing, can men — or at least heterosexual men — truly be intimate with each other? As the men become more intimate during their time cloistered on this island, they push each other away, perhaps by sheer masculinity, only to revisit a need for human connection yet again.

There are also themes of power and the desire for it, or at least to be respected as an equal. And as one might expect in a film about spending weeks on an island, sanity also comes into question.

The few occasions during the moving in which my immersion broke were only because I found myself considering what must have been a truly brutal and demanding filming process.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Glic2003Oct 27, 2019
I thought The VVitch was good; this is even better, with wonderful cinematography and performances. The black and white visuals and odd aspect ratio are more than just a gimmick, they really help to frame and intensify the visuals.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
matthewmirlianiOct 19, 2019
The Lighthouse is an atmospherically brilliant puzzle of a film - with stunning black and white cinematography, haunting visuals, and a foreboding score. Taking many cues from The Shining, it’s successful as a chilling (even terrifying)The Lighthouse is an atmospherically brilliant puzzle of a film - with stunning black and white cinematography, haunting visuals, and a foreboding score. Taking many cues from The Shining, it’s successful as a chilling (even terrifying) exercise in semi-horror (with enough humor to balance out the darkness), even if not all of its provocative symbols and events fall into place. You may leave the theater scratching your head, but you will be satisfied by what you saw. The film will stick with you after - as you try to unpack its strangeness. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
TejasNairOct 25, 2019
The Lighthouse, a quirky little haunting English drama about two lighthouse keepers who spiral into self-induced (does the cold weather's contribution signify something?) paranoia characterized by bouts of energetic dance and singingThe Lighthouse, a quirky little haunting English drama about two lighthouse keepers who spiral into self-induced (does the cold weather's contribution signify something?) paranoia characterized by bouts of energetic dance and singing performances and bromance and 30-second long monologues (one each by Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson; former wins) did not much impress me not because of the fan-fan-fantastic production setup or the arresting music by Mark Korven or the black-and-white frames that sometime make it difficult to follow scenes but because it takes a lot of time to get to the point and has, like, only quarter a dozen scenes that are going to stay with me till the end of my life. TN.

(Watched and reviewed at its India premiere at the 21st MAMI Mumbai Film Festival.)
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
kayhamedOct 24, 2019
Why people don't go watch the lighthouse?? watch joker, watch avengers but don't forget what cinema is really about. original filmmakers like Robert Eggars must be supported and It's really disappointing to see one day none of true cinemaWhy people don't go watch the lighthouse?? watch joker, watch avengers but don't forget what cinema is really about. original filmmakers like Robert Eggars must be supported and It's really disappointing to see one day none of true cinema artists don't sell and might struggle for finances for their films. unfortunately my country is under sanctions but if we weren't, I would have watch this in theater the very first day it was released. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JumpCut_OnlineOct 20, 2019
The Lighthouse is a bonkers, brazen, barn-storming bombshell of a movie, the kind that only comes around once in a while. With two of the best performances you’ll see in any film this year, exceptional sound design and simply stunningThe Lighthouse is a bonkers, brazen, barn-storming bombshell of a movie, the kind that only comes around once in a while. With two of the best performances you’ll see in any film this year, exceptional sound design and simply stunning cinematography, The Lighthouse is everything you were hoping for and more; a modern masterpiece. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
CoyoteDangerousOct 26, 2019
One of the most impressive films released in the last 10 years. This is inevitably destined to be a cult classic. There are some images in this movie that have stained themselves onto my brain, and I doubt they will lift anytime soon. MyOne of the most impressive films released in the last 10 years. This is inevitably destined to be a cult classic. There are some images in this movie that have stained themselves onto my brain, and I doubt they will lift anytime soon. My favorite part was Willem Dafoe jerking off. 10/10 Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
JamesdyoDec 7, 2019
Worst movie of the year. It's a pretentious black and white grainy art house movie with Mermaid sex and a hodgepodge if other weird stuff all thrown together but it doesn't stick. Should have been 20 minutes
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryOct 31, 2019
The director of "The Witch" has created another weirdo mood piece. Willem Dafoe plays the crusty old lighthouse keeper who continually farts and berates his young new partner (Robert Pattinson). Their relationship becomes ever more twistedThe director of "The Witch" has created another weirdo mood piece. Willem Dafoe plays the crusty old lighthouse keeper who continually farts and berates his young new partner (Robert Pattinson). Their relationship becomes ever more twisted and dark, as their isolated existence bears down on their souls. Both actors get plenty of opportunity for excess (especially Dafoe) with grand statements and sometimes confusing period dialogue. The square aspect ratio and dramatic black and white cinematography add to the artistic look, while the ominous soundtrack continually invades the action with a heavy hand. As things become more bizarre, it reminded me of the detached weirdness of David Lynch's "Eraserhead." Some will find this film's peculiar, creepy vibe mesmerizing, while others will think it's a pretentious, over the top exercise in self indulgence. I'm in the middle… appreciated it more than loved it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
patrasDec 23, 2019
Absolutely stunning movie. Kept me tinking about it or the next few days after seeing it. I need to rewatch it soon.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
judahjsnOct 29, 2019
There is one major flaw in this movie, and it was a big one for me. Robert Pattison's accent shifts and fades throughout the movie. It took me out of many scenes. But my god, everything else in this film is so inspired. Not to be missed.There is one major flaw in this movie, and it was a big one for me. Robert Pattison's accent shifts and fades throughout the movie. It took me out of many scenes. But my god, everything else in this film is so inspired. Not to be missed. Can't wait to watch it again with subtitles when it's streaming so that I can fully appreciate the genius script. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
GinaKOct 29, 2019
A fascinating film – and contest of wills – between a lighthouse keeper and his new assistant. It is impossible to guess what will happen next, and the two actors (Robert Pattison and Wilhem Dafoe) are completely believable in a thoroughlyA fascinating film – and contest of wills – between a lighthouse keeper and his new assistant. It is impossible to guess what will happen next, and the two actors (Robert Pattison and Wilhem Dafoe) are completely believable in a thoroughly daft situation. The lighthouse they inhabit is claustrophobic, and the surrounding area as desolate and unrelenting as what goes on inside. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticNov 3, 2019
It's a surreal, psychological and visceral experience. I haven't seen black and white since 'Nebraska', but 'The Lighthouse' is one of the few films to make it integral. It adds to the melancholy that our protagonists, whom Pattinson andIt's a surreal, psychological and visceral experience. I haven't seen black and white since 'Nebraska', but 'The Lighthouse' is one of the few films to make it integral. It adds to the melancholy that our protagonists, whom Pattinson and Dafoe play with a triumphant and tormented force, have to face. The storytelling, however, seems to disjointed and attempts to be too much of an art film for me to properly enjoy it, steering'The Lighthouse' in the wrong direction at times, but from which the actors manage to salvage. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Oct 24, 2019
This was...a very interesting film to say the least. It starts out basic enough. Two lighthouse keepers (Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson) are stranded on an island together some time in the 1800s during a storm and are in guard of theThis was...a very interesting film to say the least. It starts out basic enough. Two lighthouse keepers (Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson) are stranded on an island together some time in the 1800s during a storm and are in guard of the lighthouse there. Soon enough, mistrust, hallucinations, madness, and drunken antics ensue between the two men. There were a lot of things I highly admired about this film. For starters, it was given a period-appropriate feel, as it employed the use of a boxy 1.19:1 aspect ratio and was filmed in black and white. Furthermore, this helped the mood and atmosphere feel all the more tense and mysterious. Dafoe and Pattinson only add further to this by keeping us guessing with their mysterious and intriguing, sometimes even humorous performances (Dafoe in particular was a hoot to watch as he hams it up playing a salty seaman.) Storywise, it's a little scattershot at times, but it mostly works on this film due to its mysterious nature, which allows for several crazy scenes and hallucinations to occur throughout the film, along with quite an ending that's going to keep me pondering what I witnessed for quite some time. Overall, this is a pretty stellar and well-acted film with several interesting elements and great cinematography that all add up to a one-of-a-kind viewing experience (and undoubtedly a vast improvement over director Robert Eggers' godawful overrated 'The Witch'.) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
moviecritic68Nov 8, 2019
Wish I could get as excited over this film as others have described but I put a lot of emphasis on exiting audiences expressions. What I saw was relief it was over. I had my hands full just urging my spouse to hang in until the end. Very lowWish I could get as excited over this film as others have described but I put a lot of emphasis on exiting audiences expressions. What I saw was relief it was over. I had my hands full just urging my spouse to hang in until the end. Very low budget since the whole film was shot in one location. The actors did their best but I'm not much on cult films. So I guess it's one of those films you will either really like or just the opposite. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
The3AcademySinsOct 27, 2019
The Lighthouse is one of the craziest films I have ever seen. It absolutely nails psychological horror, and it sets the tone par excellance. The acting by Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson is peerless. Pattinson in particular gives the bestThe Lighthouse is one of the craziest films I have ever seen. It absolutely nails psychological horror, and it sets the tone par excellance. The acting by Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson is peerless. Pattinson in particular gives the best performance of his career. It's scary. It's shocking. There are a couple of scenes that took me out of the mood personally, but overall, this is a great horror that I have no trouble recommending. In a sentence, The Lighthouse is what you would get if HP Lovecraft had written Call Me By Your Name. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1Oct 26, 2019
In The Lighthouse, two old-timey lighthouse keepers played by Willem DeFoe and Robert Pattinson are alone on an island and get on each others nerves. Things start getting freaky as sanity starts to wane and what is real or not comes intoIn The Lighthouse, two old-timey lighthouse keepers played by Willem DeFoe and Robert Pattinson are alone on an island and get on each others nerves. Things start getting freaky as sanity starts to wane and what is real or not comes into question. I found this to be rather a fascinating film and the best looking horror movie of the year.

This movie is so visually striking. It is very reminiscent of how old movies were shot. The film is in black and white and the contrast between white and dark really adds to the stark feel of the whole thing. There are a lot of controlled shots that really direct the mood. The camera lingering on a wide shot helps show the bleakness of the island or a specific focus on something out of place or unsettling add to the madness and sense of despair.

The imagery is just fantastic. A lot of the freaky stuff that goes on is quick and to the point in a manner almost like a picture in a book giving The Lighthouse an unreal feel. There are some very unique parts and there is stuff in here you won't soon forget.

The psychological drama and the script are well done, too. There are some really good moments of dialogue and even an odd funny line that'll catch you by surprise. But I admit that the script is not at the same level as the visuals. Some of the many scenes of tension or squabbling between the two main characters could've been cut down a little.

Understand that this is a slow movie. The characters speak in the manner of the times and you have to make sure you're paying attention so you can figure out what they're saying.

Defoe unsurprisingly does a great job, but in my opinion it is Pattinson who makes the film. He can say so much with just a facial expression and he is so good at handling quick changes of tone.

Overall this movie may be too slow a burn for some, but if you're the slightest bit interested, I highly suggest this. This is a movie that will really stick with you.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
CinemaCrushDec 22, 2019
Eggers strikes again! For anyone that has qualms with the bizarre plot, it is helpful to note, that just like his 'The Witch' (which didn't go over too well with the more gore and jump scare oriented horror fan crowd either). This is based onEggers strikes again! For anyone that has qualms with the bizarre plot, it is helpful to note, that just like his 'The Witch' (which didn't go over too well with the more gore and jump scare oriented horror fan crowd either). This is based on real lore, that other films have been made upon. Such as 2018s 'The Vanishing'. It's not an original off the wall concoction. What Eggers does here is merely creates his OWN explanation, that isn't so much concerned with scary your pants off as it is with making you think, about things like duality, and the behavior of the human male in duress, as we might feel while watching Jack Torrence tear through a door in the Shining. You're getting grade A black and white cinematography, with two clear cut pro actors in a chillingly real gloom trap, trying to cut the mustard. The authenticity is top notch. Any more so and one might get the taste of sea water in one's mouth. If you're looking for a scare with an explanation that will let ya sleep at night with the film nestled away in your mind, it might not be for you. If you want a film with story so perplexing, to match the true stories and theories that it represents, keeping you thinking thinking thinking for days, with the urge to learn more - this is for you. Willem hardly fails and this is no exception. Pattinson is ever evolving into a more versatile actor and this is indeed more proof, as if we already couldn't tell with Claire Denis' recent sci-fi slo-burner 'High Life' and the Safdie Bros hypermaxed out in style/heartwarmer & heartbreaker 'Good Time'. 8/10 and kudos to another fine trip by Eggers. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GrantD243Oct 25, 2019
The Lighthouse is a masterful piece of filmmaking by Robert Eggers. As a follow up to his debut feature, The Witch, The Lighthouse is very different in most ways. It's still a very slow burn and it is based around a singular location. ButThe Lighthouse is a masterful piece of filmmaking by Robert Eggers. As a follow up to his debut feature, The Witch, The Lighthouse is very different in most ways. It's still a very slow burn and it is based around a singular location. But there is no witchcraft or ghosts. This isn't about a haunted lighthouse, this is about two guys who go crazy in a lighthouse. And it's never really clear which parts of the story are based in reality and which are hallucinations. It's open for each audience member to come away with their own conclusion of the story. So if you're looking for a film that ties everything up all nice with a bow, The Lighthouse isn't for you. There is also a dash of crude humor in this film that really, really works. The jokes never feel out of place and I actually laughed out loud a few times. As for the cinematography, the lenses that Eggers used (which I believe were from the 1920s) really helped him make this look like a film that was legitimately made in the early 1900s. Some people may get turned off by the old-timey, black and white look. But it really makes for a more enthralling viewing experience. The framing on the scenes that focused solely on Dafoe or Pattinson as they were nonsensically yelling about something were incredible. Finally, Robert Pattinson gives the best performance of his career and Willem Dafoe gives one of his best performances of his career. I think both of them should be serious contenders at the Oscars. And, honestly, Dafoe should win best supporting actor. Apart from a mermaid who is briefly in the film, these two were the ONLY actors in the film. They carried it all on their own, and it's one of the best (if not the best) film of the year. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RJnatorNov 6, 2019
Wow. What a film. Haunting, well shot, well acted, well scored, well written, well EVERYTHING! It has got to be one of the best, if not THE best, movies I've seen this year. Go in knowing next to nothing about the story and you'll come outWow. What a film. Haunting, well shot, well acted, well scored, well written, well EVERYTHING! It has got to be one of the best, if not THE best, movies I've seen this year. Go in knowing next to nothing about the story and you'll come out satisfied with what you got. This movie is pretty much the epitome of perfect. I had no flaws with the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
theredskyNov 5, 2019
Not only is The Lighthouse a masterpiece, it’s my favorite film of the year so far, the most terrifying film I have ever seen, one of the best films of the decade, and possibly one of my favorite films of all time. This is one of those fewNot only is The Lighthouse a masterpiece, it’s my favorite film of the year so far, the most terrifying film I have ever seen, one of the best films of the decade, and possibly one of my favorite films of all time. This is one of those few times where I feel a film has no flaws at all. Most of this movie”s greatness comes from the performances of Robert Pattinson and Willem Dafoe, especially Dafoe. What these two do in their respective roles is crazy and awesome. Watching them go through this slow descent into madness is awesome, mesmerizing, and terrifying to watch but Willem Dafoe absolutely steals the show. At certain points in the film, Dafoe goes on a 2 minute tirad about something and it’s one steady, uncut shot of him and it’s incredibly intense and terrifying. Dafoe was 100 percent born for this role. He fits so perfectly into it and this is probably a career best performance from him so far. This is also a career best for Robert Pattinson as well. Although his performance isn’t as fantastic as Dafoe’s, he still does an outstanding job. I want Joaquin Phoenix, Willem Dafoe, and Robert Pattinson to get nominated for Best Actor at the Oscars but Willem Dafoe deserves to win the award. The script is phenomenal. Each line of dialogue is well written and clever and any jokes the film makes fit well. The Lighthouse has in my opinion the best cinematography of the year. Every single shot of the film is unique and memorable and there are tons of beautiful shots. There are a lot of one shot takes with the characters talking or working on something which are the best shots in the film for the most part. The aspect ratio for the film is much smaller than the standard aspect ratio. This aspect ratio change and camerawork mixes together a claustrophobic atmosphere which is perfect for what The Lighthouse is going for. I felt that these characters genuinely had no escape from this place because of these filmmaking techniques. The production design of the actual Lighthouse is fantastic. The sets look beautiful even in black and white. Anything the film does with sound is breathtaking. The sound design for the foghorn that plays throughout the film and certain elements of the film I can’t spoil all sounds awesome. The score by Mark Korven is so far, my favorite score of the year. Every single piece fits perfectly into its respective scene. Each piece is so unique and different from the one before and each is memorable in their own way. My favorite piece would be the first track titled Arrival. The Lighthouse’s major themes that I caught are isolation and insanity. While themes like that are common in film, the way The Lighthouse uses these themes makes it so unique. Watching these two men go insane on this island is mesmerizing thanks to Robert Eggers incredibly direction. Overall, The Lighthouse is a fantastic take on isolation with career bests from Pattinson and Dafoe along with outstanding cinematography, an intelligent script, and a jaw dropping story, and an intense musical score. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ArthuuDec 22, 2019
Big tribute to vintage cinema, psychodelic thriller with strong influence from sailor's folk tales and work of H.P.Lovecraft, must watch if you're fan of moody ambience
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Kevin3Oct 19, 2019
Excelente película, la ambientación, los actores una película muy incómoda de ver
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
opinion_haverOct 26, 2019
Nearly perfect. Some minor issues with pacing, but overall a great movie which leaves the viewer with a lot of questions. Doesn't take itself too seriously, and the directional choice was stellar.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
MikeK-123Oct 28, 2019
This movie had some terriffic acting, but it was a long journey into frustration as a viewer. I wished I'd walked-out. Seriously. Each scene was engrossing, but strung together they added to nothing. Nothing! I mean, when it ended one felt aThis movie had some terriffic acting, but it was a long journey into frustration as a viewer. I wished I'd walked-out. Seriously. Each scene was engrossing, but strung together they added to nothing. Nothing! I mean, when it ended one felt a sense of confusion, horror and uncertainty. Did we witness schizophrenia? Were they both nuts or were we watching madness through the eyes of one of the two? It couldn't be resolved even after days of reflexion. I'm not alone in this sense of frustration after watching this movie since my friend felt the same way. Remarkably, we both wondered how this movie got such glowing reviews on MetaCritic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
xenophon2019Nov 6, 2019
Perhaps one of the worst movies ever made. Pointless,depressing and with a vague ending. Don't waste your time. It would be better to be lost at sea than to waste time watching this mess.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
DavidAkivaOct 26, 2019
Pretentious, repetitive and not as scary as it thinks it is. The camerawork was impressive, but it called attention to itself.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeOct 19, 2019
The long non-blinking unflinching enactment of the monologues warps you back to the theatre and you are in one.

The Lighthouse Eggers offers a sense of vulnerability. That is his gift. Now let's look at the premise itself. No matter how
The long non-blinking unflinching enactment of the monologues warps you back to the theatre and you are in one.

The Lighthouse

Eggers offers a sense of vulnerability. That is his gift. Now let's look at the premise itself. No matter how beautifully and brilliantly will it be wrapped. It certainly would leave you depressed at the end of the day. Yet, I am happy with the final result. Of course, not talking about the themes and the plot and the genre it explores. But the filmmaking. The co-writer and director Robert Eggers's subjective method is enchanting. You are lured into the procedure. The writing. Often Shakespeare and often Dickens is seen or heard or subtexted. There is a morality clause threatening the wrong doers in the film that is impeccably heartbreaking. And I say heartbreaking, for it is not exactly denying any boundaries.

And if, forgetting all the conditional circumstances that these duo is surrounded with, it is and they could be pushed over the immoral section. The script is written in the opposite direction. In the sense that it motivates you to root for them to get on the wrong track. This is wrong and core of this art form. Now, you as an audience are struggling. The claustrophobic, the lunatic experience feels like a justice. You are told to ask for those moments.

And earns those moments are our characters. The master and the slave. The prolific and the dead. Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson shares, or more honestly snatches, this characteristic from real life, as mentioned, from their career as well as in the character. And for this almost perfect casting which should and does boost the plot, there is a sound and clear "thank you" echoed in your emotion as they dance extravagantly in the terrifying black and white shades. The Lighthouse is a collection of various artists collaborating for something purely evil. The "pure" part I like, I envy.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
TribbleNov 2, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The antithesis to a chick flick. 2 men drinking, masturbating, fantasizing about sex with a mermaid, and going crazy.... Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
breeseDec 11, 2019
No story, no set-up, no reason to care for the characters or stay in your seat on this dragging yawn of a journey full of juvenile bathroom humor and ear-grating sound. Yes, there's good cinematography, but film is not a photography show.No story, no set-up, no reason to care for the characters or stay in your seat on this dragging yawn of a journey full of juvenile bathroom humor and ear-grating sound. Yes, there's good cinematography, but film is not a photography show. Acting is good but why am I watching this again? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
LamontRaymondOct 18, 2019
There are plenty of interesting moments, cool imagery, and even some funny dialogue, but this film is just too dense, and, dare to say, too boring. It feels like watching Melville's Billy Budd or the like. The acting is excellent, butThere are plenty of interesting moments, cool imagery, and even some funny dialogue, but this film is just too dense, and, dare to say, too boring. It feels like watching Melville's Billy Budd or the like. The acting is excellent, but there's simply not much for them to work with. I should have realized that I would have this reaction because I loathed this director's The Witch. This is far superior to that movie, but it's not one that I'd EVER recommend. Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
9
CMCNov 9, 2019
This is an ambitious effort to make a serious film, and it is excellent in almost all ways. The cinematography and sound in particular stand out. However, many of us agreed that the actors seemed more like they were acting than actuallyThis is an ambitious effort to make a serious film, and it is excellent in almost all ways. The cinematography and sound in particular stand out. However, many of us agreed that the actors seemed more like they were acting than actually living their roles. This may be partially due to the somewhat outrageous and extreme lines and roles they had to play, somewhat over the top. Despite the story mostly being portrayed in the first person, you don't really think you get to know anyone. The film clearly aims to be a psychological drama in the vein of Bergman, but keeps getting undercut by the extreme CG flashbacks that signal more intent on horror than psychology. Once again, the film really is ambitious and involving as it plays. I kept wondering all through the film if it will find an large audience. But it fails my "next day" test; I was not left with anything to ponder afterwards, and pretty much forgot the details the next day. So, congrats on a serious effort, particularly in these days of boring and unchallenging movies. Pity it does not really grab me in any way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 5, 2019
One of the year's most confounding watches for me -- not in that the film itself was confusing, but more in relation to my overall feelings regarding it. This movie has everything I could've possibly asked for. Brilliant cinematography andOne of the year's most confounding watches for me -- not in that the film itself was confusing, but more in relation to my overall feelings regarding it. This movie has everything I could've possibly asked for. Brilliant cinematography and set design. Incrediblly authentic and period-immersive performances. Unprompted farting. I should be fawning all over this. Instead, I'm left feeling empty and a little uncaring. Perhaps it's the inner normie inside me, yearning for just a little nudge in the direction of what I'm supposed to make of all this. Not a big hint. Just enough of an indication that my guess as to what this movie's really about is on the right track. Alas, I'm left with neverending possibility. And, while some may find this fact comforting or even exciting, it leads me to simply cling to my best (and only) guess and move on to the next thing. Maybe that'll have more to offer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
zmgalen2000Dec 28, 2019
The artistic visuals and mis en scene established by The Lighthouse are washed away in what feels like blatant Oscar-bait. With an advanced-vocabulary-laced screenplay and overly confounding semiotics, The Lighthouse circumvents the presenceThe artistic visuals and mis en scene established by The Lighthouse are washed away in what feels like blatant Oscar-bait. With an advanced-vocabulary-laced screenplay and overly confounding semiotics, The Lighthouse circumvents the presence of a remotely clear plotline in favor of shoving ambiguity at its audience in what, honestly, feels voyeuristic. A journey filled with unintelligible dialogue and obscure images (whose signification can be interpreted quite literally or quite extremely with no middle ground), The Lighthouse is one of A24's less poignant works, appearing to be aimed at the pretentious film lover who lacks the take-it-as-you-see-it realist outlook. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Nov 19, 2019
LIFF33 2019 #2

Time to spill the beans…’The Lighthouse’ is a masterpiece! I loved loved loved loved it! I loved every minute of it. One of my favorite movies of 2019 and I honestly don’t think anything can top it. A slow descent into madness
LIFF33 2019 #2

Time to spill the beans…’The Lighthouse’ is a masterpiece! I loved loved loved loved it! I loved every minute of it. One of my favorite movies of 2019 and I honestly don’t think anything can top it. A slow descent into madness that creeps into your subconscious and won’t be leaving anytime soon.

From the very first frame, I immediately knew this was going to be special. I was hooked throughout until the end credits.

Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson both deliver career defining performances. They play off each others insanity beautifully. I could tell just from the accents and dialect that plenty of homework went into making an authentic portrayal of the time.

Robert Pattinson is fantastic as a quiet and private lighthouse keeper that witness the madness slowly unfolding, but also feeds the audiences curiosity on revealing the strange happenings on the island. Pattinson is a chameleon when it comes to portraying characters.

Willem Dafoe, on the other hand, was mesmerizing as the old sea dog captain with a love for farting. His long and insane monologues are the main highlights, because it was so electrifying to watch it was hard not be captivated. He’s strict and often unpredictable, but once you see it, you won’t forget it.

I hope Robert Eggers continues making horror movies in the future, because right now he’s one of the best living directors working today. The slow-burn tension and lack of conventional scares seems to be his trademark so far. Every choice he made was so carefully thought out and the results is masterful. According to Eggers, they actually built a lighthouse from scratch and everything we see, including the weather, is genuine. Even if some tricky was used, it was so seamless I couldn’t tell what was fake.

I loved how the movie was shot; the dim black-and-white with the claustrophobic aspect ratio, giving it the appearance of a silent film born like a German expressionism - something you would’ve mistaken for a 1920/30’s horror folklore. Perfectly captures the time period and the overall dread. You really do feel cut off from the outside world and abandoned on this spectral-like island, and this black sheet of cloud strongly looming over the two men. A dark force in all directions, unseen but very eerie. The cold and heartless weather is a character itself. A big bully with salty intentions.

I adored the use of lighting through out, as the only light source is either natural light during daytime or candle lit lanterns, which cast many shadows that adds to the unease. There’s some gorgeous looking cinematography on display here. Seriously, even as am writing this right now I can memorize every single frame of this strange nightmare of a film. Absolutely breathtaking.

While the movie is mainly horror, but there is comedy sprinkled throughout that was actually pretty hilarious. Everything from Dafoe farting and some creative insults the characters would often spit at each other, which would later expand into long monologues that I sat back and watch in awe with a stupid grin on my face, because how something so silly can be so poetic. Never have I seen a movie that perfectly balances more than one genre so fluently. You can laugh at the moments where it’s suppose to be funny, but also take it seriously whenever it’s suppose to be taken seriously, which is sometimes all in one scene. The writing from Eggers is so excellent.

After only one viewing there was a lot I could easily dissect in terms of interpretation. There's masculinity and Greek mythology imagery that demonstrates a striking sense of power. There’s also a certain idea of sexuality being a sacred thing and the frustration it may bring. Or maybe it’s just a simple story about two guys on a rock getting drunk and then getting even drunker while holding each other until they drift off to sleep.

Overall rating: One of the best looking horror comedies of 2019.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KeithDowNov 13, 2019
'The Lighthouse' ranges from artistic to avant-garde, and while some scenes push viewers towards uncomfortability, the overall merit of Robert Eggers' filmmaking isn't to be missed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RomanSkyZDec 6, 2019
Brilliant and scary at the same. Feels like you are there with the characters. One of the best of 2019.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JLuis_001Nov 15, 2019
The Lighthouse is definitely an experience but it will depend on each viewer's criteria to know what kind of experience they will have from it.
Sounds pretentious? Maybe a little but a film like this causes a lot of divided reactions.
I
The Lighthouse is definitely an experience but it will depend on each viewer's criteria to know what kind of experience they will have from it.
Sounds pretentious? Maybe a little but a film like this causes a lot of divided reactions.

I mention this because I've heard that many people have labeled it boring and non-entertaining but for people like me who enjoy this type of movies it's undeniably entertaining to enjoy it. So how can you dissect a story like that?

There are many variants but what I saw and experienced with this film left me pleasantly happy.
I accept that the film itself doesn't have a memorable story. The mystery feels somewhat naive but it's still a captivating mystery, however it's the sum of all its elements that make this an amazing, claustrophobic, imposing, and fascinating feat.
The performances, the atmosphere, the tone, the music, the ambience, the direction and the development stand out entirely.
The Lighthouse it's simply an amazing film.

This is the kind of film that makes you fall in love with cinema and therefore is so polarizing. I enjoyed it, so **** it if someone else didn't.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Morty_McFlayNov 6, 2019
This film is definitely not for everyone. Even knowing what to expect going in, it’s still hard to digest. But even when it’s stretching farther than it probably should, the immaculate cinematography and atmosphere combined with twoThis film is definitely not for everyone. Even knowing what to expect going in, it’s still hard to digest. But even when it’s stretching farther than it probably should, the immaculate cinematography and atmosphere combined with two Oscar-worthy performances kept me engaged. Might get a little too self-indulgent for its own good, but still masterfully put together on the whole. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
KenRJan 8, 2020
Having a love of all things set around the sea and classic navigational aids, it was essential to see ‘The Lighthouse’ - not so sure it was a good idea though. It’s a movie to make you feel both sickened and exhausted. The exhaustion is notHaving a love of all things set around the sea and classic navigational aids, it was essential to see ‘The Lighthouse’ - not so sure it was a good idea though. It’s a movie to make you feel both sickened and exhausted. The exhaustion is not so much from watching the harrowing events but from forcing yourself to last the distance. Great movies have been made with thought-provoking prose telling of highly strained relationships; O’Neil’s Long Day’s Journey Into Night, Mourning becomes Elektra, Melville’s Moby Dick, along with several similar writings by Edgar Allen Poe, being just a few. This grotesque, gothic horror yarn borrows from just about all of these in an attempt to bring to life its relentless assault on the hapless viewer’s senses. The end result may prove to please the horror aficionados or audiences with sadeo-masochistic tendencies. It pounds you over the head with an endless barrage of perverse abuse and vulgarity, till you want to reach for the remote to escape or move on in double speed. This sort of theme, in the past, would have been made as an effective 50min experimental featurette (BFI or CNFB style) As is, the endless morbid visual and sound scapes, tend to weigh you down to the point of wanting to walk out. The two performers are hard-working but a good movie needs more than slick acting to be enjoyable. I’m OK with the use of beautiful, moody, well lit Black and White cinematography but don’t see the advantage of shooting in an odd variation of the old 4 x 3 mode, as it added little or nothing. Also, with appearing to be set in the late 1800s early 1900s, these constructions would have been relatively newish and were quite well maintained but this set, looks so severely neglected as to be more like an untouched, 200 yr old museum piece. Lastly, lugging heavy ‘steel’ barrels up a Spiral Staircase...step by step, single-handed, when you have a pulley system outside seemed odd (?) Strictly for ‘arty’ self-abusers and the Awards crowd. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MarkHReviewsOct 30, 2019
Writer/Director Robert Eggers (“The Witch,” 2015) has created a fever dream of a film. A lighthouse keeper (Willem Dafoe) and his helper (Robert Pattinson) arrive on a tiny, remote island to staff a lighthouse for the next four weeks. TheyWriter/Director Robert Eggers (“The Witch,” 2015) has created a fever dream of a film. A lighthouse keeper (Willem Dafoe) and his helper (Robert Pattinson) arrive on a tiny, remote island to staff a lighthouse for the next four weeks. They work, they drink (a lot) and, soon enough, one or both of them begin a torturous descent into madness.

“The Lighthouse” is catnip for the art house crowd. The film is shot in 35mm black-and-white with an aspect ratio of 1.19:1 (this means the projected image is only 19% wider than its height), the projected images a boxy, noirish, claustrophobic tone. As a result, one of the most memorable elements of the entire film is its gritty, stark cinematography. If there’s any justice in the world, Cinematographer Jarin Blaschke, who partnered with Eggers on “The Witch,” should easily receive an Oscar nomination for his efforts. Because of the emphasis on the visuals, the script is spare – several minutes and two long farts have passed before a word is spoken.

On the screen, this is literally a two-person effort (the only other credited actor is a non-speaking mermaid whose scenes are as disturbing as they are brief). In fact, the only other characters of note in the film are seagulls. According to Director Eggers, three main stunt seagulls – Lady, Tramp and Johnny – were flown in from the UK to lend their expertise, seriously. Fortunately, the primary characters are totally worth the price of admission. Together and alone, Dafoe (“The Florida Project,” 133 acting credits, and counting) and Pattinson (showing depth and range never expected during his rise to fame with the “Twilight Saga”) are excellent. Each draws the audience close in every scene, then dares you to look away.

What this movie is about is another matter altogether. Before and since the film’s release, Eggers has been frustratingly elusive about his intentions. At every opportunity, he simply suggests that this is a ghost story set in a lighthouse off the coast of Maine in the late 19th century. Despite my public elementary and secondary education, I picked out a clear allusion to Prometheus and a couple of Herman Melville references. In a brief conversation after the film, a cinephile well above my pay grade told me she had picked up another dozen references from literature and other films. I left the theater dazzled but bewildered.

If David Lynch had a love child with one of the original writers of Greek mythology, “The Lighthouse” might well be the result.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
CriticandoFilmeOct 30, 2019
Simplesmente magnífico. Willem Defoe e Robert Pattinson estão em outro nível que atores
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
OhGodWhyPlzOct 31, 2019
Look, just watch the movie and you'll understand. If you watch YouTube, the cosmonaut variety hour describes why this movie should get a 10/10 the best, so just watch that. It is SO good that you just kinda need to see it to understand andLook, just watch the movie and you'll understand. If you watch YouTube, the cosmonaut variety hour describes why this movie should get a 10/10 the best, so just watch that. It is SO good that you just kinda need to see it to understand and not have it spoiled. Watch it Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JsingzNov 13, 2019
I notch it up a point due to its artistic value alone. Highly symbolic, hilariously told. Black and white turns itself bright again. Worth the price of admission.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HollywoodGleeNov 27, 2019
Robert Pattinson and Willem Dafoe star as two lightkeepers, Ephraim Winslow and Thomas Wake, trying to survive and maintain their sanity on a mysterious island while living at a remote, New England lighthouse in the 1890s, in The Lighthouse,Robert Pattinson and Willem Dafoe star as two lightkeepers, Ephraim Winslow and Thomas Wake, trying to survive and maintain their sanity on a mysterious island while living at a remote, New England lighthouse in the 1890s, in The Lighthouse, directed by Robert Eggers (The Witch). Evoking such seafaring literary classics by Herman Mehlville (Moby Dick) and Ernest Hemingway (Old Man and the Sea) as the film opens with an almost square aspect ratio (1.19:1) harkening back to early cinema. The effect is at once claustrophobic and mysteriously out of place.

In a traditional narrative fashion, the characters are introduced and established. Winslow, a strapping, mysterious, young man of few words and who appears to have a troubled past claiming a work history as a Canadian lumberjack is the hired help (wickie) under contract for four weeks with hopes of moving up the ladder and someday hoping to become a lighthouse operator like his housemate Wake, a salty, crusty archetypal seaman. Wake comes across as an experienced sea hand with knowledge of sailor life and mythology who has the inexplicable behavior of farting loudly much to Winlow's chagrin. Moreover, Wake treats Winslow harshly despite Winlsow's unswerving dedication to carrying out the chores, emptying chamber pots and swabbing the floor repeatedly to Wake's unending condemnation.

The two work together, sleep together and eat together. Winslow refrains from alcohol until a storm begins pounding the lighthouse. Together the two imbibe, dance, sing and became Marry. Soon, however, a darkness creeps in and the two men vie for control of the lighthouse. Also, Wake refuses Winslow access to the lantern room atop the lighthouse. Intrigued a jealous Winslow begins spying on Wake's ritualistic time in front of the massive light bulb and becomes infatuated with Wake's unearthly obsession. The two lighthouse keepers engage in an escalating battle of wills in a tension-fed, trapped scenario with mysterious forces, real or imagined, looming while a seemingly never-ending storm rages outside, leaving the men stranded.

Eggers uses several crew members from The Witch including cinematographer Jarin Blaschke, production designer Craig Lathrop, costume designer Linda Muir, composer Mark Korven, and editor, Louise Ford, to transport the audience into a realm of terrifying unknown. The cinematography is nothing short of spectacular as the lighting and framing create a sense of the paranormal. And, the production design along with the costuming transports the viewer, via the suspension of disbelief, into the time of the 1890s capturing the harshness of the film's setting. Furthermore, Pattinson and DaFoe play off of each other very well. But, in my opinion, the attention to detail with the sound design including foghorn, seagulls, waves, machinery, and furnace, lend strong credence to the film's reality.

The stormy night is when the film goes into warp drive and provides a catalyst for all the odd and unusual behavior to come alive and take over the film's consciousness. Eggers's use of black and white allows for the utmost effect in facial lines and scene shadowing. These scenes have a supernatural, expressionistic appearance as the film delves into insanity. What emerges is a tragic Greek myth (it begins with a capital P). Highly recommended!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
iSwaggMasterDec 8, 2019
Its a masterpiece of modern cinema, excelling farther than many films before that.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dalqatayDec 21, 2019
you know what! I love it and I don't care...
2019th best filming and acting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
kozel1Dec 23, 2019
A24 has been my favorite production studio for a while now for their original ideas and liberty that they give to the production crew, including the directors and writers.

This movie is no exception. From the very beginning you feel sympathy
A24 has been my favorite production studio for a while now for their original ideas and liberty that they give to the production crew, including the directors and writers.

This movie is no exception. From the very beginning you feel sympathy for the protagonists as they develop and change throughout the movie. Excellent writing.

The acting is Oscar worthy both from Dafoe and Pattinson. Absolutely top notch! There are times when you can't decide which one of the characters they played you care for or hate, the screenplay and the on screen happenings kept me on the edge of my seat.

You can feel something sinister pulling the strings, but you can't figure out what it is. Is it an evil spirit? Is it their minds that are playing games with them? Is it solitude? The combination all of those? Who is the bad guy? Who is the good guy? Questions like these you find yourself asking during the movie.

The editing and camerawork are fantastic also. During shots you can almost feel that you're there, the black and white experience adds to the mood that screams hopelessness and desperation.

I will surely watch this movie again.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Leandro_CamposJan 3, 2020
I don't know what happens in the head of the people who give this **** a good review. I think for some people, good movie is a boring and bizarre thing but because it "sounds intelligent and cult" it must be good. Don't waste your time withI don't know what happens in the head of the people who give this **** a good review. I think for some people, good movie is a boring and bizarre thing but because it "sounds intelligent and cult" it must be good. Don't waste your time with this...don't waste your time with Eggers. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
RjrJan 12, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Possibly the worse movie I’ve seen in a while. I didn’t even understand why Robert Pattinson didn’t leave right away. Possibly gay? So what! The movie sucked. They both deserved to die. What a waste of my time, and yours-so be forewarned. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Catface1Jan 13, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Piece of crap, waste of time. A tale of a nightmare boss, tormenting a simpleton. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jas_onJan 13, 2020
Expertly crafted and acted, with a somewhat disappointingly vague ending. I was on the edge of my seat throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxJan 7, 2020
The Lighthouse is a dazzling portrait of madness .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ApolscJan 16, 2020
I still cannot believe they won't give Willem Dafoe an Oscar for his performance. This is a very good movie and a scary and uncomfortable experience in the cinema. The sound and imagery are painful to follow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
danteabadJan 14, 2020
I understand how many people wont like this movie at all. Its pace go through normal exposition to madening slow pace where we can see how Winslow get crazier and crazier until he completely loses his mind. Its kind of frustrating how peopleI understand how many people wont like this movie at all. Its pace go through normal exposition to madening slow pace where we can see how Winslow get crazier and crazier until he completely loses his mind. Its kind of frustrating how people get more used nowadays to fast paced dramas or psychological movies where you get to know and understand everything whats happening to the main character and his mind. this is not one of those films. I really loved the way this was filmed. Direction and photography were tied up so magically. The sound design was superb. and what an outstanding interpretation of both Defoe and Pattison. To be honest i didnt thought Pattison could get so high and impresive on his character. im so relieved to see how far he is from Twilight and so well developed nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
zacharyhasDec 26, 2019
Shot, acted and directed with skill, The Lighthouse is very atmsopheric but it's ambiguous choices near the end parallel some elements of the VVitch (among other films) a little too much to be truly revolutionary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Jan 5, 2020
¿What you get when you have two men stranded on a boulder in the middle of the sea? The idea is a blow of fresh air, that reminds the early movies of genre, with a mixture of psychological horror and suspense that grows like a sliding down¿What you get when you have two men stranded on a boulder in the middle of the sea? The idea is a blow of fresh air, that reminds the early movies of genre, with a mixture of psychological horror and suspense that grows like a sliding down snowball. Good for "no more Mr. Nice Guy" Pattinson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DeanomiteJan 8, 2020
This is the second movie by Robert Eggers, the first being The Witch, an excellent movie. This one also was pretty good, i think he is inspired by Bergman. The only department lacking is the dialog, there should be more philosophy to matchThis is the second movie by Robert Eggers, the first being The Witch, an excellent movie. This one also was pretty good, i think he is inspired by Bergman. The only department lacking is the dialog, there should be more philosophy to match the excellent camera/sound/acting work. He does a lot with a $4m budget, and will likely continue to work and develop his skills at that level. How he got Willem Defoe and Robert Pattinson in his movie with that budget is a miracle. This director I feel has more untapped potential than just about anyone out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
puntmanJan 9, 2020
Brilliant cinematography and set design. Authentic and period-immersive performances. But I left feeling empty and a little meh towards the characters. I do enjoy arthouse films, but perhaps this movie was too much for me to understand. ItBrilliant cinematography and set design. Authentic and period-immersive performances. But I left feeling empty and a little meh towards the characters. I do enjoy arthouse films, but perhaps this movie was too much for me to understand. It seemed that once everything was established, the characters only finished the dark path they each had started on, and any further expansion of the story stopped. I still recommend this film. It will probably become a cult classic and I will eventually re-watch and hopefully come to a better understand of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GLADIADORJan 13, 2020
Filme chato e muito cansativo, as unicas coisas que se salvam nesse filme é a atuação do willem dafoe e do robert pattinson e o visual do filme
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DMLYxCriticJan 12, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With amazing performances from the film's two casts, Willem Dafoe and Robert Pattinson, The Lighthouse dives deep into the dark, violent, and gory psyche of the human mind. The cinematography was also amazing, and so was the lighting. The plot however, often is quite confusing, especially in following the timeline of how long the characters were in the lighthouse. But overall, the story was amazingly brutal and dark. Definitely not for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gustavo2003Dec 28, 2019
Esse filme é simplesmente maravilhoso. Roteiro complexo e muito bem escrito. Cinematografia belíssima, melhor que vi em 2019. Direção do Robert Eggers Muito boa e sem falar das atuações de William Dafoe e Robert Pattinson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheEventsOf1989Dec 28, 2019
Even with good performances and unique visuals, upon later opinions and reflections I realized the story undoubtedly writes its way into a corner. Once everything is established, the characters only finish the dark path they started on, andEven with good performances and unique visuals, upon later opinions and reflections I realized the story undoubtedly writes its way into a corner. Once everything is established, the characters only finish the dark path they started on, and the story reveals unfortunately discontinue. Story is the basis of film, without it, style becomes unsavory flavor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
luisfpalhetaJan 2, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the connection between reason, metaphor and symbolism in order to viscerally explain the interrelationship XY. explored !! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews