Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 9, 2017
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 453 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
131
Mixed:
170
Negative:
152
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
QuietlionmusicNov 18, 2017
This mummy reboot wasn't amazing by any means, but I didn't actually hate it. I found myself mindlessly entertained, just taking everything in stride while watching it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
ScienceAdvisorJul 14, 2017
Some really poor dialogue for Cruise's character making him appear mentally challenged at times, a story that sets up for a ripoff of League of Extrodinary Gentlemen, and action that would liquify a normal human body (regardless of fitnessSome really poor dialogue for Cruise's character making him appear mentally challenged at times, a story that sets up for a ripoff of League of Extrodinary Gentlemen, and action that would liquify a normal human body (regardless of fitness level). If this had more action it could have at least been as good as a Michael Bay flick, perhaps even scoring a five. Worst line in the movie: "If evil were a patheogen, he reasoned, then there must surely be a cure." If this logic is indicative of what the rest of the Dark Universe has to offer, we might as well kill the projector light on this series. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
badgerryan19Jul 30, 2017
I thought there were some good moments in this movie. The movie had some intense scenes and was enjoyable at parts. The movie also had some cringe worthy moments too. Tom Cruise does a fine job, but once again he is playing Tom Cruise in thisI thought there were some good moments in this movie. The movie had some intense scenes and was enjoyable at parts. The movie also had some cringe worthy moments too. Tom Cruise does a fine job, but once again he is playing Tom Cruise in this movie. Also Russell Crowe plays a small part but a surprising role, which I had no idea of. Now Jake Johnson's character never should of been in the movie and is not a good addition to it. The mummy played by Sofia Boutella is clearly the stand out here. She is very good and gives a lot of tension to the movie. She seems to be really good in everything she plays and is becoming quite a star at least in my eyes. I do feel if this movie wasn't called the mummy it would have been reviewed a little better. The movie wasn't as bad as some reviews and I think people should give it a watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
EduBJun 22, 2017
I went to watch the movie thinking it was going to be really bad, but that's not what I saw; The film, yes, it is not excellent and not good, but it is not bad; Compared to the 1999 film is much lower; We started with the presentation of theI went to watch the movie thinking it was going to be really bad, but that's not what I saw; The film, yes, it is not excellent and not good, but it is not bad; Compared to the 1999 film is much lower; We started with the presentation of the characters, in the beginning until they have nothing wrong, what really takes is that at the beginning of the second act, with the premise of including a universe, the script sins; Putting that old story about good and bad; After that the film is totally lost; The end of the third act is utterly flawed, not because it is bad; But by the way it is even arranged; But I say I was surprised by that; Even so the 1999 film is much better; In the old film; Had a whole history and mystical objects that interested the telescope; But in this the story comes down to very little; I felt a flaw in this direction but I hope I have another movie that counts more because I liked it too much about what can be raised in this universe .... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ChubbystoneAug 9, 2017
As the beginning of a new film universe is okay, the movie is fun to watch and with good action scenes, the script I miss a bit more seriousness but in general is a good movie, I hope with each new movie from the Dark Universe Go up theAs the beginning of a new film universe is okay, the movie is fun to watch and with good action scenes, the script I miss a bit more seriousness but in general is a good movie, I hope with each new movie from the Dark Universe Go up the quality standards / Como el inicio de un nuevo universo cinematografico esta bien, la pelicula es divertida de ver y con buenas escenas de accion, al guion le falto un poco mas de seriedad pero en general es una pelicula buena, espero que con cada nueva pelicula del Dark Universe vaya subiendo los estandares de calidad Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ivan_terribleJun 11, 2017
The buried ancient egypt sets were very good and the mummy chick was aggressive and strong. You can imagine all Tom cruise movies are like, so you can expect this mummy movie to be like that. I still like the classic mummy 1 and 2 in theThe buried ancient egypt sets were very good and the mummy chick was aggressive and strong. You can imagine all Tom cruise movies are like, so you can expect this mummy movie to be like that. I still like the classic mummy 1 and 2 in the past. Maybe this one is the sequel of the mummy series? Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
7
jdogggJun 20, 2017
Overall I thought The Mummy was an entertaining film. It seemed to have the right amount of action, jump scares, and humor. My 14 and 16-year-old kids liked it more than I did.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
2
SEROJJul 5, 2017
I am more surprised from the high scores some people rate this movie, than from the actualy movie. Horrible. So pathetic i don't want to comment. Don't waste your time and go watch the original from 1999.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
moviestalkerJun 18, 2017
Solid monster movie, althought he ending was quite a let down. No idea why people downvoted this movie into oblivion, but I heard the fact that "Brendan Fraser wasn't in it" played a big role here. After how terrible the third mummy movieSolid monster movie, althought he ending was quite a let down. No idea why people downvoted this movie into oblivion, but I heard the fact that "Brendan Fraser wasn't in it" played a big role here. After how terrible the third mummy movie was, it only makes sense to let someone else take the lead role... Preferably someone who still *has* a movie career. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Tony1984Jun 27, 2017
Tom Cruise and Russell Crowe are two of my favourite actors and while this movie wasn’t Shakespeare I found it very good as entertainment just as much as any Marvel or DC production. The fantasy plot was good? It felt a little Raiders of theTom Cruise and Russell Crowe are two of my favourite actors and while this movie wasn’t Shakespeare I found it very good as entertainment just as much as any Marvel or DC production. The fantasy plot was good? It felt a little Raiders of the Lost Arkie going on. Brillant stunts .Tom C does his own. Great CGI? Attractive actors. Some people just don’t like Tom Cruise and you can’t legislate for that. Good movie. Worth the ticket Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
FlexedacornJun 21, 2017
I went in with low expectations due to reading the early movie reviews. I felt indifferent after watching. The movie itself had me up until 2/3's of the way in, at which point the 3rd act just felt rushed. I rated it as a 5 to show as aI went in with low expectations due to reading the early movie reviews. I felt indifferent after watching. The movie itself had me up until 2/3's of the way in, at which point the 3rd act just felt rushed. I rated it as a 5 to show as a standalone film it was just an OK, not bad or great. It really did feel as a setup movie for future Monster verse films. In regards to the acting, Jake Johnson was great for comedic relief and Sofia Boutella performed well as the main antagonist. I’m not a huge Tom Cruise fan, but I felt he didn’t bring as much charisma in this as opposed to some of his other works. In closing I think it was a passable film. I think the monster movie verse will continue on track as this first film did well in the international box office. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
RetroBlurJun 10, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unfocused, underdeveloped, and uninspired are the three U's that ruin Universal's fourth (Yes, I said FOURTH) attempt at building a shared universe for their library of monsters. I thought that this would be terrible from the trailers, but I had a soft spot of hope, simply so that Universal could take advantage of the Dark Universe's potential. I was dead wrong.

The Mummy seems more interested at brushing away any sort of character or build-up for action and foreshadowing (of the DU, of course), than telling a good story. The first 20 minutes aren't great, but they do establish the plot, characters, and initial tone (a bit more serious than before, but not afraid of having fun). Then it all goes down as the film moves along. The tone becomes inconsistent, shifting from scary and serious to silly and comedic at inappropriate moments; the moments themselves are cheap, with jump-scare style horror, and lame slapstick. The pacing dashes by way too fast, not giving enough time for anything in the film to settle. The characters, particularly Tom Cruise's, have no arc or development, not even any chemistry between him and Annabelle Wallis to liven the film up. Ahmanet is just as dull as anyone else, having very little charm or depth for us to be frightened or to care of her. A good portion of the film is dedicated to Dr. Jekyll and his research facility, Prodigium, yet the film breezes through those (actually interesting) ideas so fast that here's little reason to have them in the film.

The whole feature is a mess, deciding that being a $125 million promotional piece for the Dark Universe was more important than being a good movie. What an absolute waste of potential.
Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
3
Muskrat147Jun 10, 2017
A boring, uninspired start to Universal's "Dark Universe" of monster films, The Mummy comes off as incredibly lazy, with its poorly edited action, lack of direction, and uneven performances - and even Tom Cruise's running can't save it fromA boring, uninspired start to Universal's "Dark Universe" of monster films, The Mummy comes off as incredibly lazy, with its poorly edited action, lack of direction, and uneven performances - and even Tom Cruise's running can't save it from its inevitable downfall. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
1
eagleeyevikingJun 9, 2017
Burdened by relentless exposition, a terrible second act, an unfocused and convoluted screenplay, humour that never lands, and a tone that doesn't suit well with the campiness of the premise, Universal's reboot of 'The Mummy' celebrates theBurdened by relentless exposition, a terrible second act, an unfocused and convoluted screenplay, humour that never lands, and a tone that doesn't suit well with the campiness of the premise, Universal's reboot of 'The Mummy' celebrates the arrival of 'The Dark Universe' by burying it deep in the sand. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
7
The_T-10Jun 10, 2017
The Mummy (2017) is by no means an excellent movie, and it's never intended to be so. It's a OK enough summer popcorn flick with plenty of explosions, actions, and Tom Cruise running. It might come as cheesy at some points, and the plot'sThe Mummy (2017) is by no means an excellent movie, and it's never intended to be so. It's a OK enough summer popcorn flick with plenty of explosions, actions, and Tom Cruise running. It might come as cheesy at some points, and the plot's somewhat messy, but this is what I was expecting, a dumb, fun, loud, cheesy movie. If you walk in to the cinema expecting more than that, you'll walk out being furious to the makers of this movie. Overall, I enjoyed this movie. On the other hand, the advertising clearly took a wrong direction by selling it as a franchise-starter. Studios need realize and wake up that you can't just make a movie to start a Marvel-ish dynasty. If they want to start a universe, just let it flow, don't rush it! DCEU fell to that pit with its earlier movies (Thanks to Wonder-Woman, people might actually start to get interested in that universe). Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them also barely dodged the bullet (Thankfully, the fan base of the Wizarding World was big enough already). And we all know what happened to Sony's The Amazing Spider-Man franchise.... Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
BDTiger07Jun 17, 2017
Didn't get all the negative reviews from Critics. Surely it is not a perfect film, but not a bad film either.

+ Loved the horror-action aspect of the movie + Impressed with Sofia Boutella (although she doesn't had much screen time as Cruise
Didn't get all the negative reviews from Critics. Surely it is not a perfect film, but not a bad film either.

+ Loved the horror-action aspect of the movie
+ Impressed with Sofia Boutella (although she doesn't had much screen time as Cruise though being the titular character)
+ Found interest with the world of dark universe. Can't wait for the next project.
+ Loved Russell Crowe as Jekyll & Hyde

- Tom Cruise's performance was underwhelming
- Sometimes they talked more than showing things (It can become boring sometimes)
- Final battle was not overwhelming.

They need to change the director in the sequel. Despite some flaws I think Dark Universe will be good. At least it didn't force some agenda (like Wonder Woman).
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
crankyermaJun 10, 2017
This cynical and ill conceived attempt to start a Uni-"Monsterverse" has one incredibly fatal flaw. When Marvel began their cinematic universe, all of the films were solid stand alone pictures true to the original material. This is aThis cynical and ill conceived attempt to start a Uni-"Monsterverse" has one incredibly fatal flaw. When Marvel began their cinematic universe, all of the films were solid stand alone pictures true to the original material. This is a hopelessly convoluted mess that has nothing to do with the original screen legends. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
0
corinthiansJun 10, 2017
Stop with remakes. The film is completely dispensable. Bad storyline. Weak performances.'The Mummy' has a few thrills but is dissatisfying and disappointing in every other sense.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
Hawk24Jun 10, 2017
Absolutely horrid movie. First issue is Scientology's gift to movies, Tom Cruise. His ego mars any effort at entertainment. Secondly, a confused effort to tie the Mummy storyline to a continuous "dark universe" anthology. Waste of talent,Absolutely horrid movie. First issue is Scientology's gift to movies, Tom Cruise. His ego mars any effort at entertainment. Secondly, a confused effort to tie the Mummy storyline to a continuous "dark universe" anthology. Waste of talent, badly written, and pales in graphics. And finally, the looming specter of Tom Cruise returning to any future DU movies is beyond frightening . . . total waste of time. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
tim73034Jun 10, 2017
Please don't be scared away by the low reviews! I went on opening night with my wife and 2 nephews and we had a blast with this movie! Is it a contender for best drama at this years academy awards? No. Is it a great summer popcorn movie withPlease don't be scared away by the low reviews! I went on opening night with my wife and 2 nephews and we had a blast with this movie! Is it a contender for best drama at this years academy awards? No. Is it a great summer popcorn movie with some great ideas and a few set ups towards future monster movies? absolutely! Give it a chance and have some fun, watch some special effects and jump in your seat a few times. Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
9
popcorneaterJun 9, 2017
Not sure why "The Mummy" is getting so much negative criticism. Perhaps I don't understand the backstory that true movie buffs and geeks live by; however, I enjoyed the movie very much. One prior reviewer said it was burdened with too muchNot sure why "The Mummy" is getting so much negative criticism. Perhaps I don't understand the backstory that true movie buffs and geeks live by; however, I enjoyed the movie very much. One prior reviewer said it was burdened with too much exposition but I feel just the opposite. They explained enough to understand the storyline but the movie was full of action. Also, I've always liked Tom Cruise and Russell Crowe performances and they didn't disappoint in this movie either. I found the movie to be fast paced and exciting/suspenseful throughout the whole thing but not annoyingly so like the neverending action sequences in "Man of Steel" that felt like an hour of Superman and Zod smashing each other through buildings. (I agree with a prior reviewer that liked "The Mummy" better than any of the DC offerings so far.) I liked the supporting cast in "The Mummy" and felt they all had good chemistry (did not feel the same about Henry Cavill and Amy Adams who seemed more like brother and sister). I thought Universal set-up the Dark Universe adequately but again, I'm a nube to any backstory here. I enjoyed it very much and would watch it again. I can't say that for any of the DC movies, including "Wonder Woman" (although in fairness I was very tired when I watched it). And keep in mind, the movie is not "Schindler's List". It's not meant to challenge or educate. It's pure escapist entertainment. So, if you want an action movie that resurrects the monster movies of old with a great cast, go see "The Mummy" regardless of what anyone else says. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
2
Rebecca31Jun 9, 2017
Kicking off the Dark Universe we have The Mummy, and what an awful way to start yet another franchise of seemingly never ending movies simply there to make as much money as possible. I had low expectations but it’s even worse than I imagined.Kicking off the Dark Universe we have The Mummy, and what an awful way to start yet another franchise of seemingly never ending movies simply there to make as much money as possible. I had low expectations but it’s even worse than I imagined. Tom Cruise is in the desert and Tom Cruise is in a tomb and Tom Cruise is on a plane and Tom Cruise is so in your face all the time that I was actually rooting for the Mummy. Too bad the Mummy was as insignificant as the rest of the characters because this movie is all about, you guessed it. TOM CRUISE! On more than one occasion I had to resist the urge to fall asleep but oh don’t worry if you do decide to take a little nap because every single character will take a turn at explaining the plot to you. I could go on a rant about the lazy story, the miscasting and the cringy dialogue but who has the time. On a technical note a monster movie should never be released in 3D, aside from the increase in price 3D movies can lose up to 75% of light and 30% of colour so by all means make a colourful animation in 3D but not a dark and dreary monster movie set in London. And for what? A bird flying straight into your face and a mummified hand reaching out to you. Not worth it. Yet another failed monster movie to add to the ever growing pile of rubbish. Go see anything else instead or better yet watch the 1999 version because you better believe this version makes Brendan Fraser’s Mummy look like an absolute masterpiece. Not a chance am I recommending this. Expand
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeJun 9, 2017
The Mummy is just all you could think it is. It tries so hard to become what it is today. Unfortunately for us, this is just a slap in our face excuse of a reboot of the Mummy franchise and can often be called a terrible start for the DarkThe Mummy is just all you could think it is. It tries so hard to become what it is today. Unfortunately for us, this is just a slap in our face excuse of a reboot of the Mummy franchise and can often be called a terrible start for the Dark Universe, a newly-made franchise that joins other monster movies released by Universal Studios. Spend your money elsewhere. This is not even worth a penny. Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
7
monkeyking95Jun 10, 2017
The Mummy is an impressive action film which is well above average. If you're able to remove politics from the discussion then it is about on par with Wonder Woman in terms of overall quality. That is the problem, people cannot removeThe Mummy is an impressive action film which is well above average. If you're able to remove politics from the discussion then it is about on par with Wonder Woman in terms of overall quality. That is the problem, people cannot remove politics from their reviews and they don't want this film to compete at the box office with Wonder Woman because 'feminism.' That small minority of disingenuous reviewers are muddying the waters. I have personally watched both films at the cinema and they're both above average but neither is 'great', 'fantastic', or 'excellent' as some would describe them. The Mummy is worth a watch if you're a fan of a reliable Tom Cruise performance, or interesting fantasy elements, or satisfying action, or a predictable yet still interesting story. Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
5
kman5473Jun 10, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A breath of fresh air for the summer action movie blockbuster category by far. I don't know about you, but I've gotten really bored with superheroes. Universal is offering a much edgier, darker monsters universe and I say: "Welcome!"

I was entertained by the movie, but it really does not get good until about halfway through. Tom Cruise does not start acting until that point, and the plot is...clear, but not executed well. Relationships between everyone on-screen feels forced. Cruise had more chemistry with the Mummy than he does with the Blonde woman he is supposed to be---hm, "love" is far too strong of a relationship for whatever it is their relationship is supposed to be. I think all around, it's fun. Is it a good movie all around...no. But there are parts of it that I really liked: the action, the stunts, Russell Crowe, and the woman who played the Mummy is fantastic.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
BrianMcCriticJun 10, 2017
A film that starts as a Mummy movie and ends as kind of a mess. Another company sacrificing there film for an extended universe. When are companies going to see what Marvel does and realize you can add elements to an extended universe andA film that starts as a Mummy movie and ends as kind of a mess. Another company sacrificing there film for an extended universe. When are companies going to see what Marvel does and realize you can add elements to an extended universe and style focus on the film that you're making. The Mummy has some interesting things going on early to then be completely overshadowed by The Dark Universe. I love monsters as much as the next guy but the whole second half of your film doesn't need to be setting up the next film. Overall The Mummy is watchable and has some interesting moments but not enough to matter. C Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
AcaciaJun 11, 2017
If you want action, you are going to get your full summer quota. You know the drill. The story is completely implausible and the characters are practically super heroes. Tom Cruise has an underwater sequence that had me gasping for air.If you want action, you are going to get your full summer quota. You know the drill. The story is completely implausible and the characters are practically super heroes. Tom Cruise has an underwater sequence that had me gasping for air. His sidekick Jake Johnson (I know him from "Jurassic World". He is the geeky guy in the control room with all the toy dinosaurs lined up on his desk. He is also a regular on "New Girl"). But, he is the funny one in the bunch. And that is one thing I liked about the movie. There are some good laughs. Russell Crowe makes an appearance as a mad scientist, Dr. Henry Jekyll. The ladies are interesting. Annabelle Wallis plays Jenny, a young archaeologist looking for a dagger and stone that have magic powers. And then there is the mummy! Sofia Boutella plays Ahmenet, the crazy, bloodthirsty, power mad mummy returned to life. I have never seen her before. Although Boutella will be seen in "Atomic Blonde" when it comes out. In general, thumbs were up. It is fun and entertaining and should keep your interest. We all thought it felt long, but in reality, it is less than two hours. And, this is NOT a movie for young children! This movie is scary! There were lots of children in the audience and I am betting there were quite a few who nad nightmares about being chased by the undead. But, if mummy movies are your thing, buy your popcorn and enjoy! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
QACriticJun 12, 2017
I don't know what people were expecting with a movie like The Mummy to be so disappointed with this one. It is a perfectly good movie for what it tries to be. The story is interesting the acting is good, the production values are high, theI don't know what people were expecting with a movie like The Mummy to be so disappointed with this one. It is a perfectly good movie for what it tries to be. The story is interesting the acting is good, the production values are high, the CGI is good, the sets are great, there is mystery, there is adventure, there is running, there is menace. I did not find myself checking the watch to see how much longer like I did in Wonder Woman. In short it is a good movie. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
lhmtgameJun 11, 2017
The movie is more like Mission Impossible than a mysterious movie as the previous The Mummy.
It should be a standalone movie title instead of The Mummy.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
tokemecAug 5, 2017
I don't care what anyone says. I think The Mummy was an awesome movie.This movie is very fun to watch. Don't listen to the low rank critics. Its story and characters are very interesting.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
SuperKevJun 16, 2017
I'm usually ultra forgiving of plot-holes but this movie has so many it's just sad. There is no way these film makers spent 2 seconds on countless issues with scenes that make no sense. The only other movie I really complained about so manyI'm usually ultra forgiving of plot-holes but this movie has so many it's just sad. There is no way these film makers spent 2 seconds on countless issues with scenes that make no sense. The only other movie I really complained about so many laughable plot-holes was After Earth. This movie is *that bad. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
raporgiJun 15, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. its a turkey through and through. the trailer with the missing audio was more entertaining than this. Tom Cruise plays the same character in all his movies. The extended universe baloney interferes halfway including a gawdawful scene involving Crowe's hamsandwich acted Mr.Hyde. The romance is forced and unearned and instead of using creative ideas to solve problems the movie uses brute force and plot armor to hurry things along. the movie is resolved poorly without any rhyme reason or explanation. it just phuckin ends with a crappy open ending. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
moviemitch96Jun 24, 2017
I didn't even care for the original Mummy trilogy to begin with, and therefore had no intention of checking out this reboot. However, a friend of mine was really wanting me to take him to it, so I gave in. Prior to watching this, as far as II didn't even care for the original Mummy trilogy to begin with, and therefore had no intention of checking out this reboot. However, a friend of mine was really wanting me to take him to it, so I gave in. Prior to watching this, as far as I could tell, this was apparently made for two reasons: 1. It's apparently the first installment in a planned 'dark universe' franchise. And 2. to cash in on Tom Cruise's star power. The result: A noisy, cluttered, and uninspired film that can't make up its mind if it wants to be a fun, quirky action flick, or if it would rather be just plain dark and scary instead. The film shifts back and forth between these two tones quite a bit throughout to the point of becoming rather tiresome. Russell Crowe's talent is pretty much wasted with his corny take on Jekyll and Hyde. On top of all that, the film's very loosely resolved and ridiculous ending had me leaving the theater incredibly unsatisfied. Overall, it only has a couple of entertaining moments, but none of them are very memorable at all and the rest of the film was both a literal and figurative disaster. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
MattBrady99Jun 15, 2017
"The Mummy" isn't a bad movie, just a "blah" one. Didn't hate it like everyone else, but liked it on a enjoyment level.

There were many promising elements here that I wouldn't call "great", but ideas that were visible in it's presentation. I
"The Mummy" isn't a bad movie, just a "blah" one. Didn't hate it like everyone else, but liked it on a enjoyment level.

There were many promising elements here that I wouldn't call "great", but ideas that were visible in it's presentation. I must admit that plane crash scene was pretty intense and had my heart racing. Good thing that Cruise screaming from the trailer wasn't in the final cut, because that would easily ruin the scene. Sofia Boutella did a decent job playing the Mummy. And that's really it for me when it comes to positives.

The Dark Universe? Holy crap dose that feel forced. Especially with the logo at the beginning. I know the old monster movies did a shared universe, but the way this was executed was pretty embarrassing. And with "The Mummy" being the first installment for a possible franchise wasn't really a solid start. Making an old classic horror film into a summer blockbuster is the first big mistake the film made. Would have been better if made as a low budget horror movie by A24, but I guess that doesn't sell in foreign markets.

The amount of explanations in here is so abused, it feels like a first time director made this. Again, would have been better with a little visual storytelling for us to pick up on. Like Cruises character is a thief, but instead of showing him doing some thieving, they literally have to tell us loads of times just in case we didn't get it. And it doesn't end there, as we get flashbacks narrated by Russell Crowe for more explanations. Yeah!

Now I've got nothing against Tom Cruise and I never understood why anyone would dislike him. I mean, we've seen him deliver great performances and the level of dedication he puts into the work is unbelievable. But here, he feels so missed cast and it painfully shows. He was just basically playing Tom Cruise and not a character. He wasn't that good in the comedy and intense scenes.

Annabelle Wallis didn't really do anything to stand out. Her and Cruises characters are both morons who do things for shake of pressing the plot. Shes basically damsel in a distress and the worst type.

Even the tone of movie is all over the place. One minute it's trying to be funny with the characters saying one liners and making goofy faces during long pauses, as the audience are suppose to laugh. Then towards the second and third act, it completely takes a tone swift and goes for a serious version of "UNCHARTED".

Overall rating: "The Mummy" is exactly what you expected it to be from the trailers. A mash up of "Mission Impossible" and the 1999 version. Not awful, but nothing that's going to stick with me after a week.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
UrbanlistenerJul 2, 2017
Okay summer movie with pretty cool action sequences, some compelling characters and fun visual, but nothing more. The plot doesnt make any sense, some characters are very annoying and bland, cheesy moments and surprisingly a lot of boring scenes.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
PeterAlexanderJul 15, 2017
The Mummy is a huge waste of potential, going in a direction it should never have embraced. With the chance to display the magical wonders of Egyptian mystery, the film instead spends most of its time in the Middle East and London. Not toThe Mummy is a huge waste of potential, going in a direction it should never have embraced. With the chance to display the magical wonders of Egyptian mystery, the film instead spends most of its time in the Middle East and London. Not to mention the characters are downright sub-par and the story is mediocre at best. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
CineAutoctonoJun 10, 2017
"The Mummy" was a somewhat strange film, because Tom Cruise did well his performance, Russell Crowe, and Sofia Bouttella also did well, but if the story, and the scenes did not seem well seen, were rather slow and little Disturbing, but the"The Mummy" was a somewhat strange film, because Tom Cruise did well his performance, Russell Crowe, and Sofia Bouttella also did well, but if the story, and the scenes did not seem well seen, were rather slow and little Disturbing, but the only thing I can save is the performance of Tom Cruise. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
DannyGJrJun 11, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly: The Mummy (2017)

The Good: The Hollywood Reporter recently headlined an article, “It’s time for Tom Cruise to Act his Age”, in which the author Josh Spiegel writes, “…, Cruise these days feels more comfortable running himself ragged to prove he hasn’t aged out of action movies yet.”. But Mr. Spiegel, you are so, so, wrong. Mr. Cruise is not trying to prove he hasn’t aged out of action movies yet. Mr. Cruise won’t age out of action for a long time, and if The Mummy is any indication, he will still find ways to wow us. In fact, that’s exactly why Cruise is one of the last great action hero filmmakers. A line that can be drawn directly back to Charlie Chaplin. Have you heard Cruise talk in length about making movies? He’s a total geek. Might I even say an “auteur”. Cruise represents one of the few producers who knows an audience wants to see the star’s face doing those jaw-dropping stunts. (Kevin Costner is one of the few others). Cruise wants you to have a good time. He wants you to suspend your belief. Which is why he completely commits to his roles and has such a famous work ethic. No matter how bad a movie is, if Tom Cruise is in it, he is always going to be part of the good. And in the Mummy, he does not disappoint. His character, Nick, is boyish, funny, and rude. And once the other-worldly curse begins to take hold, we are 100% game to watch him fall out of the sky, get ripped out of a moving van, jump through a bus, and yes, fight an Irish-cockey Russell Crowe. The Bad: Critics would lead you to believe this film is ALL bad. They are wrong. I would rather rate a movie of what it is, not what a critic wants it to be. This movie, much like the classics it originates from, is a hardcore expensive B-movie. This means you will not get slow-building scene work drenched in subtext or an emotional core that will bring you to your knees. What you get is dark twisty humor mixed with 90s cliché’ and a modern take on the mythology of all those monsters you’ve come to know. Our female lead, Annabelle Wallis, is unfortunately flat, providing nothing more than a plot propelling damsel in distress. (Disappointing step backwards given Cruise’s and writer/director Christopher McQuarrie’s terrific job with Rebecca Ferguson’s character in MI: Rogue Nation). The only true bad is the disastrous expositional dialogue throughout and it’s equally horrendous delivery by the usually very funny Jake Johnson. But what truly tops the bad list is the post-production sound mix and editing. The sound mix seemed incomplete, not adding the needed treble to give that extra boost to the action scenes. The editing is strange. I can only imagine the editors (yup, three of ‘em) were struggling with what they had. The production’s rush job to develop it’s own universe may answer why there is such a terrible lack of continuity from shot to shot and misplaced levels pacing throughout. The Ugly: Contrary to what filmmaker Alex Kurtzman has stated, this is not a standalone film. It’s a film setting-up for more Mummy movies and more importantly setting up the Dark Universe. And I love it. The Dark Universe seems to incorporate these characters that share the same past as League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, but does it on it’s own terms and with the added delight of taking place in present times. Russell Crowe is a blast to watch as Dr. Jekyll and the smaller easter eggs alluding to other well-known characters is fun to find throughout. Like I mentioned before, this is a 90s film, and I love it for that. It’s taking these classic “monsters” and updating them to the current superhero mytho we’ve come to accept as a movie going nation. They should take DCEU’s path, don’t let critics scare you off, keep plowing ahead until it clicks. Now, unlike DCEU, the money in ticket sales might not be there, but even if Universal breaks even, I hope the have the balls to keep moving forward with this planned Universe.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
Max293Jun 17, 2017
Putting the Knights Templar assisting the evil character was tacky and an attack on Western Civilisation. It is quite frankly disgusting and I walked out of the film as a result. I used to enjoy some of the Mummy films in the past butPutting the Knights Templar assisting the evil character was tacky and an attack on Western Civilisation. It is quite frankly disgusting and I walked out of the film as a result. I used to enjoy some of the Mummy films in the past but attempting to position the Crusades as somehow negative, when the very purpose of the Crusades was about liberty and justice over savagery is beyond comprehension and disgusting. Completely ruined the film and I could not enjoy it. I am not sure if I could ever watch Russel Crowe or Tome Cruise again but on the positive side the mummy was very sexy and it is why rather than give a zero I am giving a one star. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
SebineAug 7, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An autobiographical deptiction of Tom Cruises rise to power in the ¢hur¢h of $¢ientology.

Tom plays himself as a bumbling retard bent on doing anything and screwing over anyone for personal profit.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
kimmybridge69Jun 11, 2017
I don't know why people have to complain so much. Its a movie just entertainment to pas time. I was expecting this to be quite bad but i actually enjoyed the different take on this movie. One thing i have learnt is if you lie trailer go seeI don't know why people have to complain so much. Its a movie just entertainment to pas time. I was expecting this to be quite bad but i actually enjoyed the different take on this movie. One thing i have learnt is if you lie trailer go see it if you like the actors go see it and ignore critics wether there so called processional or not. As every person Will like or dislike for there own reasons. I'm glad i did not listen to them. I hope they d do another. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
8
lordx51Jun 12, 2017
This kickoff of the new Universal Dark Universe monsters was entertaining. The story also has some great plot twists and a couple surprises. I thought it was entertaining, loved Hyde and Russel Crowe and also am now excited for the potentialThis kickoff of the new Universal Dark Universe monsters was entertaining. The story also has some great plot twists and a couple surprises. I thought it was entertaining, loved Hyde and Russel Crowe and also am now excited for the potential of the entire series. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
joyalJun 9, 2017
Watched Tom Cruise 's The Mummy,in one sentence, I liked it! It is my reaction after watching the movie! One reason for ; I liked the movie is because of stunning performance of my dear Tom Cruise!! He is still very good in delivering amazingWatched Tom Cruise 's The Mummy,in one sentence, I liked it! It is my reaction after watching the movie! One reason for ; I liked the movie is because of stunning performance of my dear Tom Cruise!! He is still very good in delivering amazing real stunt performance! Background score is nice n cinematography is okay ! But the movie is lacking strong story plot n characterization, but in same time it entertains.
it has a lot great action scenes, flight crash scene is insanely awesome;Real shooting that scene!Sofia well played as the mummy,her staring poss is cool! Ending of the movie is leading to next one! It is crazy ;) ,I love crazy effect, may be you don't!
If you guys start comparing it to other mummy movies or other action movies ,it up to you to like or dislike! For me I find it as enjoyable action entertainer !! I liked it!
Strictly personal!
Expand
9 of 22 users found this helpful913
All this user's reviews
3
moviecritic68Jun 9, 2017
I have no one else to blame but myself for going to see this movie. I've said it before and I will say it again beware of the movies which keep getting touted on TV commercial previews. A recipe for disappointment. Getting Tom Cruise &I have no one else to blame but myself for going to see this movie. I've said it before and I will say it again beware of the movies which keep getting touted on TV commercial previews. A recipe for disappointment. Getting Tom Cruise & Russell Crowe to play parts just wasn't enough to elevate this cinema. SAVE YOUR MONEY Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
8
TryASummersaultJun 12, 2017
This is getting some of the worst unnecessary critical hate I've ever seen. This film is packed with spectacular action/visuals, a great new twist on the old story with Cruise's character, and honestly a fine performance from Cruise overall.This is getting some of the worst unnecessary critical hate I've ever seen. This film is packed with spectacular action/visuals, a great new twist on the old story with Cruise's character, and honestly a fine performance from Cruise overall. I honestly would take this over the 99 Mummy though i enjoy that film quite a bit, this film has way more going for it with its story and visuals. Just goes to show that critics are idiotic and the most of the simpleton masses will follow the hate because they have. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
dpaudiophileJun 10, 2017
Sweet Osiris! Boris Karloff couldn't have saved this unbelievably bad movie. The horrid script makes the A list actors look like fools; and I don't blame them, there is seriously nothing that any skilled actor could have done to save thisSweet Osiris! Boris Karloff couldn't have saved this unbelievably bad movie. The horrid script makes the A list actors look like fools; and I don't blame them, there is seriously nothing that any skilled actor could have done to save this movie.

Usually I like reviewing bad movies just to keep going on and on about all of the problems (it's sort of a therapy), but with this trash heap it's not even worth it. There is no fun to be had here. Stay away.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
NotoriousFraudJun 12, 2017
The Alex Kurtzman directed reboot of "The Mummy" is a lot of fun. Normally, I do not care for Kurtzman as he wrote some of the most underwhelming to flat terrible modern blockbusters including films like "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen",The Alex Kurtzman directed reboot of "The Mummy" is a lot of fun. Normally, I do not care for Kurtzman as he wrote some of the most underwhelming to flat terrible modern blockbusters including films like "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen", "Star Trek: Into Darkness", and "The Amazing Spider-Man 2". However, "The Mummy" in my opinion is much better than all those movies though that's not saying much. Tom Cruise is definitely in his element here, he wears all the action and stunts like a perfect fit glove and carries much of the script with just his charisma. The new "Mummy" played by Sofia Boutella from "kingsman" and "Star Trek: Beyond" is both sexy and scary, more so on the former but she can chew scenery more so compared to Arnold Vosloo's Imhotep and Jet Li's Dragon Emperor from the Brendan Fraser led films. Now for those "Critic" reviews, a 16% on Rotten Tomatoes and a 34 Meta Score... give me a break the movie isn't THAT bad, yeah i'm a little bias cause I enjoyed it more so than many others but as a franchise starter it is most definitely better than last years fumbled "Ghostbusters" reboot (73% on RT), David Ayer's botched DCEU effort "Suicide Squad" (25%), and it is leagues above Ridley Scott's franchise destroying "Alien: Covenant" (71%). The reviews for "The Mummy" are a gross over reaction by modern "critics" who are either much to harsh on would be franchise starting blockbusters (Ex. King Arthur: Legend of the Sword) or far too forgiving on Nostalgia driven revamps (Ex. Jurassic World). Thankfully, This new "Mummy" does not rely on the past movies to set it up as it seeks out it's own cinematic world via the "Dark Universe". Yeah I know that "Ghostbusters" set up it's "Ghost Corp" before crashing and burning, but I feel that as a starting point, this world still has some interesting layers to unwrap. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
obiewankenobiJun 9, 2017
Just saw the Mummy. This could have been a good movie. There are a few mistakes in the story that make the movie silly or stupid. Spoiler Alert! Russell Crowe as Dr Jekyll / Mr Hyde is ridiculous. Tom Cruise has a side kick that comesJust saw the Mummy. This could have been a good movie. There are a few mistakes in the story that make the movie silly or stupid. Spoiler Alert! Russell Crowe as Dr Jekyll / Mr Hyde is ridiculous. Tom Cruise has a side kick that comes back like a talking zombie from American Werewolf in London. Also, remember the 4 prong syringe from "Edge of Tomorrow?" That same syringe is what keeps Dr. Jekyll from becoming Mr. Hyde. Okay, one more over-done Mummy movie cliche' - that of a sand storm taking on the face shape of the mummy monster. We have seen it too many times - stop doing it. Other than those major issues, I enjoyed the movie. The mummy lady (from Star Trek) is very convincing. Enjoy! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
blakedyblakeJun 14, 2017
It has a strong plot and is shockingly realistic. When the Mummy punches, it is swift, brutal and powerful and it looks that way. Not the flashy fake-fighting you see in most movies. No romanticism: No "Look! It's a Mummy!"--Que everythingIt has a strong plot and is shockingly realistic. When the Mummy punches, it is swift, brutal and powerful and it looks that way. Not the flashy fake-fighting you see in most movies. No romanticism: No "Look! It's a Mummy!"--Que everything that gives off an Egyptian vibe--and it's dark. Very dark. Expect that. It's a monster movie. The main flaw was bad timing: too soon after the Mummy franchise. I watched it after seeing the review results the last few days. It didn't suck, guys. I do hope they take it up a couple of notches for the next Dark Universe movies. This sounds super cool. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Gott161Jun 24, 2017
An absolutely amazing Movie that had me on the edge the whole time.
Tom is the perfect match for a serious take on the Mummy and does a wonderful job mixing his funny side with his serious side.
The Story in itself is very good and the
An absolutely amazing Movie that had me on the edge the whole time.
Tom is the perfect match for a serious take on the Mummy and does a wonderful job mixing his funny side with his serious side.
The Story in itself is very good and the support is stellar. It is not your funny old Mummy with a ton of jokes but it doesnt matter. The Hero getting the godpowers the movie promisses the whole time is very satisfying and leaves open a truckload of possibilities. I hope it wont turn out to be an avengers copy with the good guys giving him work by beating the bad guys but him discovering more and more hidden to history secrets of old egypt and maybe mingle with other gods of the old time.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
SoulfuryJun 25, 2017
This movie is very fun to watch. Don't listen to the low rank critics. Its story and characters are very interesting. The Dark World is something I'd like to see more of.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
BarkerVisionJun 9, 2017
The Mummy is pure, cool fun that has me genuinely excited for the new shared movie experience known as Dark Universe. The movie is so satisfying from beginning to end that I'm pretty confident the critics saw something entirely different.
10 of 30 users found this helpful1020
All this user's reviews
0
TJAWJun 13, 2017
"The Mummy" is yet another desperate special effects-driven modern mess from Hollywood that favours expensive, pretentious, no-longer-impressive CG razzle-dazzle and awkward set-pieces designed to tease later films over a coherent and"The Mummy" is yet another desperate special effects-driven modern mess from Hollywood that favours expensive, pretentious, no-longer-impressive CG razzle-dazzle and awkward set-pieces designed to tease later films over a coherent and gripping narrative and interesting characters. Like many movies designed to be part of a "cinematic universe", it just cannot stand on its own because the filmmakers crammed in so many unnecessary plot threads relating to the other upcoming Dark Universe films that it's less about thrills and fun and feels more like a very, very long advertisement for the entire series. And that's not what a film called "The Mummy" should feel like. Thanks to this film I'm once again concerned about the future of blockbuster movies. New cinematic universes are constantly being planned and it's ruining the art form, making it a chore to sit through overextended movies and memorise plot threads. It's all done to keep hype constantly going, which maximises the box office grosses because everyone just wants to see what references to other movies will show up. Well done, Hollywood for once again proving to the world that, apart from the occasional surprise (see Wonder Woman) your filmmakers are no longer interested in making films for everyone - only for themselves, to satisfy their hyperactive imaginations (and wallets). I will definitely be watching more independently produced, underground and low-budget films after this because I can no longer suffer this ongoing cinematic universe trend. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
TVJerryJun 15, 2017
This is the first "Dark Universe" movie. It's an attempt from Universal Studios to create a big movie franchise. As an IP launch, it's a complete dud. From the trailer it looks like a big disaster flick with the ancient Egyptian goddessThis is the first "Dark Universe" movie. It's an attempt from Universal Studios to create a big movie franchise. As an IP launch, it's a complete dud. From the trailer it looks like a big disaster flick with the ancient Egyptian goddess returning to wreak havoc. In reality, it more of an intimate encounter with lots of dialogue (there are basically only 6 characters). Tom Cruise heads the roster. He's trying to create a devil-may-care character, but it's not convincing. Meanwhile, the story is dull, the visual effects aren't unique or innovative and the action sequences are never especially original or exciting. There's nothing to recommend this movie (unless you enjoy seeing Cruise shirtless for a few seconds). Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
NikolayGSep 14, 2017
The action scene that occurs inside a plummeting plane was among the best action scenes in the history of film. It is quite obvious they actually filmed it - many takes - in a plummeting aircraft produce the effects of zero gravity. It isThe action scene that occurs inside a plummeting plane was among the best action scenes in the history of film. It is quite obvious they actually filmed it - many takes - in a plummeting aircraft produce the effects of zero gravity. It is insane to watch.

Tom Cruise gives his all and then some as usual in his films and the ancient mummy woman does a fantastic job.

The weakness of this film is that there are no real surprises or twists until the end, and that twist at the end is not something an audience wants to see. Our action heroes may be beaten, have their limbs broken, and can even be killed in movies, but audiences never want to see their heroes lose control of who they are. That was the huge error in the second Indiana Jones movie, and it was an error at the end of this movie even though Tom Cruise was able to be heroic when required.

That said, this film is way way better than most reviews give it credit for. Since it is now rentable, rent it. It's a fun film with intense action sequences.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
Nobilis1984Jun 12, 2017
Why the bad criticism? For me it is a good average action film with good actors and good effects. Hopefully still there come some continuations. For it the first part simply has too much potential.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
DarkSonicPTJun 10, 2017
Give me back my 3,5€ i only watched the mummy because king arthur and alien were only available at a later time and because of that it wouldnt be possible for me to go home. Basically this crap of movie is 75% cliche american movie, 5% a fatGive me back my 3,5€ i only watched the mummy because king arthur and alien were only available at a later time and because of that it wouldnt be possible for me to go home. Basically this crap of movie is 75% cliche american movie, 5% a fat man trying to speedrun an explanation for the movie's plot (anda fails miserably), 5% the main character i dont remember his name but i'll call him Uncharted, 10% of the movie being nonsensical (this probably explains the average american IQ) and finally 5% of the movie trying to be like an anime (i won't spoil this but basically uncharted screams "wake up!" and the girl screams "onii-chaaaaaaan!", a nonsense scene). So if you cannot afford a PS4 and always wanted to play Uncharted and if you are ok with a wannabe chinese version this movie is for you. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
febvelanoJun 14, 2017
Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended,Not recommended.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
vulvuratAug 26, 2017
So. Egyptian mummy-princess, evil egyptian god, undead crusader knights, Dr.Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, a secret society, all under London. The expression on Tom Cruise's face all along the movie kind of says: What am I even doing here?
Seriously
So. Egyptian mummy-princess, evil egyptian god, undead crusader knights, Dr.Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, a secret society, all under London. The expression on Tom Cruise's face all along the movie kind of says: What am I even doing here?
Seriously really bad. Not exciting or nostalgic, just terrible. Honestly, this thing makes the original Mummy movie seem artistic and deep. LOL
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
FreddyLives99Jun 16, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a poor start to a new cinematic universe, and I went with low expectations and was still disappointed. There are some well-shot action sequences, and I do like what Universal is going for here, setting up a world where many different monsters coexist, like Cabin in the Woods, but what we get with this are a bunch of tired PG-13 action cliches. Oh, and I should also mention that the film is not scary at all, so that's a fail. Let's talk about the comic relief. Why is it needed? This is the "Dark Universe", so the tone should be kept serious, but screenwriters seem to always think that audiences want this, so we have to endure bad joke after bad joke. Of course we get the wise-cracking sidekick who seems to be trying too hard to get a laugh, but all characters get some line that's supposed to be funny but comes off as awkward, and it ruins any suspense that a scene may have been building toward. Humor especially ruined the scene where Tom Cruise wakes up in a body bag after coming back from death. What should have been very dramatic was just supposed to be funny because he woke up naked. PG-13 humor at its finest! Now I'd like to address the flashbacks to The Mummy's origin story. The flashbacks were way overused, and they begin probably no more than ten minutes after we see them originally. This is when I felt that the director thought his audience had very short attention spans and had to be constantly reminded of plot elements throughout the film. Now, as for The Mummy herself, she looks great, has a creative design, but she's hardly menacing like she's supposed to be, and her zombified minions are not much better. She doesn't have a world domination plan like Imotep from the 1999 Mummy franchise, she just wants Ethan Hunt, and that's it. Also, ripping off the face-in-the-sandstorm scene from the '99 movie was so unnecessary, and there wasn't even a good reason for it. If Universal is going to continue with a universe based on horror films, they need to put effort into actually scaring us. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
ImhonestJun 11, 2017
1999 Brendan Fraser film was much much better. Don't go to cinema don't even watch it at home. It's hard to believe that with all the budget, Tom Cruise and Russell Crowe they end up doing such dog ****
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
Kuldeepsingh89Jun 10, 2017
For the first time ever, i have walked out in the cinema midway through a movie. This movie is so bad. When you watch the trailer, you think that it will be a dark and serious film about an ancient mummy. It's the complete opposite. TheFor the first time ever, i have walked out in the cinema midway through a movie. This movie is so bad. When you watch the trailer, you think that it will be a dark and serious film about an ancient mummy. It's the complete opposite. The humour is so bad and cringy that it has taken cheese to another level, it wasn't even funny. Even worse was the acting. What has happened to Tom Cruise? He has become like Nicholas Cage. This movie should be called The Zummy. They were zombies not mummies. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
RCoop8888Jun 12, 2017
I would not compare this movie to the first Mummy movie. It was a fun movie with lots of action and a decent story. If you are one that just likes to be entertained without analyzing ever aspect of a movie then go see it.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
andresmgJun 14, 2017
A pesar de tener el conocimiento de que me disponía a ver una película de fantasía con el fin de entretenerme después de un largo día el resultado fue totalmente decepcionante. No voy a enumerar la incongruencias del film porque no terminaríaA pesar de tener el conocimiento de que me disponía a ver una película de fantasía con el fin de entretenerme después de un largo día el resultado fue totalmente decepcionante. No voy a enumerar la incongruencias del film porque no terminaría nunca. Las actuaciones dejan mucho que desear. Está en el top de las peores películas que he visto este año. Cero puntos. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
unfusedJun 12, 2017
I read a lot of bad reviews for this so was expecting to be disappointed, however I was pleasantly surprised... I really enjoyed it. It is nonsense of course but very well done. Tom Cruise always delivers. If I want intelligent and thoughtI read a lot of bad reviews for this so was expecting to be disappointed, however I was pleasantly surprised... I really enjoyed it. It is nonsense of course but very well done. Tom Cruise always delivers. If I want intelligent and thought provoking Drama I watch HBO If I want spectacular fun I go to the cinema.. The Mummy doesn't disappoint. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
ThhcffhvvvgJun 25, 2017
BadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadvadbadbadbadbadbafBadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadvadbadbadbadbadbafBadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadvadbadbadbadbadbAdbadbad movie Ever
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
BertoflyingfoxJun 9, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I won't pretend to know what others were expecting but boy was this one raked over the coals for being a nice popcorn flick. The stunts were fun and the plot paced itself well for an 1hour and 50min runtime. I dug the world-building and just went with it.

Technically, this movie doesn't reboot the franchise. There are easter eggs galore, one of them being a certain book Brendan Fraser had to deal with back in 1925. I guess critics were too busy seething with hatred over a franchise that has no major comic book publisher attached. I mean who the eff does Universal think they are right?

Anyway, back to the movie. I would place its weakest point in the middle, and even then if that's considered "too much exposition" then congrats, you have the attention span of a fish. I especially like how it ended, leaving a nice opening for whatever comes next.

My take aways are: awesome stunts, it didn't run for too long, decent chuckles, and a fun chase across London. Especially enjoyed the skeleton enemies :p
Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
9
Ask4pironiJun 12, 2017
Loved it!! I felt it had a great mix of respecting the B movie classic horror, with some humour from the previous Mummy movies, and some excellent set piece action scenes. The overall plot is a little thin, but I genuinly found itLoved it!! I felt it had a great mix of respecting the B movie classic horror, with some humour from the previous Mummy movies, and some excellent set piece action scenes. The overall plot is a little thin, but I genuinly found it entertaining. Was far better the WW, IMO. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
UltamaineumJun 10, 2017
An excellent start to the Dark Universe! A perfect original plot with a special guest appearance of another monster is perfect. Acting is amazing and CGI effects are top notch and much better than Fraser's attempts. Every step of the way isAn excellent start to the Dark Universe! A perfect original plot with a special guest appearance of another monster is perfect. Acting is amazing and CGI effects are top notch and much better than Fraser's attempts. Every step of the way is humorous, terrifying and twists you'll never expect. Overall a must see for monster, horror, action and comedy fans. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
PreyingOcelotJun 9, 2017
Better than anything DC has out, including WW.............................................................................................................
9 of 77 users found this helpful968
All this user's reviews
3
TheQuietGamerOct 13, 2017
Setting out to create their own cinematic universe, Universal Pictures resurrects "The Mummy" as a tonally inconsistent star vehicle for Tom Cruise. It wants to be a horror movie, but constantly shoehorns in humor and action reminiscent ofSetting out to create their own cinematic universe, Universal Pictures resurrects "The Mummy" as a tonally inconsistent star vehicle for Tom Cruise. It wants to be a horror movie, but constantly shoehorns in humor and action reminiscent of Marvel's superhero films in order to ensure mainstream appeal. It's efforts to set up the larger world of this "Dark Universe" consisting of rebooted versions of Universal's classic monster properties is interesting, but muddled. It is yet unclear how everything is going to come together. That's not the problem. The problem is that after this sorry introduction, I'm not very interested in learning how.

It's hard to care about anything happening onscreen. The story is a bit of a mess, the dialog is incredibly cliché, and the characters are bland stereotypes. The most interesting aspects are the horror ones, which unfortunately are neutered in order to not scare away the general public. I'm sorry, but I thought these were supposed to be monster movies. You can pretty much predict everything that's going to happen so any excitement is automatically drained away. Tome Cruise hams it up while playing his typical smarmy guy role that he's just getting too old for. Everyone else is just kind of there, including Russell Crowe who has a surprisingly minor and practically useless role in the film. Somebody's just there for that cinematic universe money (good luck with that). The sole shinning light in this whole ordeal is Sofia Boutella. While she plays a totally weak villain, she does manage to be drop dead sexy in the process and show some much appreciated skin.

There's a lot going on in this reboot of The Mummy. Almost none of it is any good. It's manages to capture all of the worst qualities of a Tom Cruise movie. It's a flat, stale, and pandering effort that will leave the majority of viewers bored and wanting so much more. A poor way to kick off a cinematic universe. Universal would have honestly just been better off keeping the also vanilla "Dracula Untold" as their first step. While only marginally better, at least that one was likely to have more of a following. Skip this. If this one hasn't already derailed their plans, we're all better off just waiting to see what Universal comes up with next for their Dark Universe. Outside of Sofia Boutella's butt, there's nothing here worth seeing, and you can google that. Things are very "dark" indeed.

3.6/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
gromitJun 18, 2017
what an ugly mess from start to finish. disjointed story focus's on the wrong characters and it seems someone has completely screwed the entire story and plot. The only positive this movie has is great special effects.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
imthenoobNov 19, 2017
Tom Cruise is the only one who honestly tries this entire movie, The rest of the cast is just terrible. Jake Johnson, who plays the needless comedic relief, seems very out of his element. On the other hand, Watching Annabelle Wallis try toTom Cruise is the only one who honestly tries this entire movie, The rest of the cast is just terrible. Jake Johnson, who plays the needless comedic relief, seems very out of his element. On the other hand, Watching Annabelle Wallis try to act is laughable in its own right. Throw in an awkward performance by Russell Crowe and you got yourself a very poorly acted movie.

The poor acting by the cast is really only made worse by the terrible dialogue they have to deal with. As actors, You can only try so hard to sell the weak material you are given to work with. And this script is utter garbage. It's just the first film in a modern day setting but lacking certain aspects: Likeable characters, Good action and a director who knows what he/she is doing.

The biggest issue for me was the tone. They start the film with a dark, flashback introduction to the villain. Back in the present, We are thrown into awkward bits of comedy that doesn't seem to end. This should have never been a comedy first film. They wanted it to be something it should have never been in the first place and that's why it sucks.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Jun 13, 2017
Universal's "Dark Universe" kicks off with a whimper in Alex Kurtzman's "The Mummy," a fairly watchable flick with some solid set pieces, an affable turn from Tom Cruise, and an engaging premise (the key word again - "premise") for aUniversal's "Dark Universe" kicks off with a whimper in Alex Kurtzman's "The Mummy," a fairly watchable flick with some solid set pieces, an affable turn from Tom Cruise, and an engaging premise (the key word again - "premise") for a prospective cinematic world. However, it's the uninspired execution and wonky writing that gets the better of this one, ultimately rendering it into a product with monetary aspirations, rather than a film with creative ones. Still though, if you're just looking for some pure, unadulterated, shove-popcorn-and-snowcaps-in-your-mouth entertainment, this could be the movie for you. I'm just not sure that's exactly what Universal and Co. wanted this to be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
bfoore90Jun 18, 2017
Not as bad as most are making it out to be. Sofia Bouttella is the clear stand out in this film, she does well with the role she is given and delivers a truly terrifying/creepy vibe whenever she is on screen. Some of the action scenes,Not as bad as most are making it out to be. Sofia Bouttella is the clear stand out in this film, she does well with the role she is given and delivers a truly terrifying/creepy vibe whenever she is on screen. Some of the action scenes, especially the sand storm in London were also pretty cool and enjoyable. The movie does suffer from a bit of an identity crisis, almost mirroring that of Batman V Superman and Iron Man 2 before it as it by the time the credits roll feels like a Tom Cruise action flick than a Mummy movie and a potential franchise starter. Also on the bad side, Annabelle Wallis was one of the most pointless aspects of this film. She and Tom Cruise share no chemistry, their relationship feels forced and Cruise acts circles around Wallis almost to the point as if I wondered if she was an extra that wandered onto the set. There is enjoyment to be had here, it's a fun movie once it gets itself going but its just dragged down by stupid flaws that are usually common in movies that are potentially starting a franchise. I had heard reports that Tom Cruise forced studio changes and ran amok behind the scenes and onto the director which explains the identity crisis the film ultimately suffers from. Overall, its a solid film but could have been better if Tom Cruise and the studio had stayed out of the production process. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
DudeFromIcelandJun 16, 2017
I was disappointed by this film. Despite the star power of someone like Tom Cruise, it can't save this movie.

The main problem is that it's boring which is the biggest sin any film can make. I expected waaaaay more action that was on offer,
I was disappointed by this film. Despite the star power of someone like Tom Cruise, it can't save this movie.

The main problem is that it's boring which is the biggest sin any film can make. I expected waaaaay more action that was on offer, it just felt a lot of exposition without any proper pay off at the end of it.

I liked the actress that played the Mummy, she was always a really menacing presence whenever she was on screen but I can't say anybody else was really that memorable in this film.

I wouldn't recommended this one but if you like random jump scares,the Mummy films and the lore then check it out but honestly just skip it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Costs1129Aug 19, 2017
This should have been rated R. The sexual scenes are not brief and the dark scenes are disturbing. And the plotline was stupid. At least the previous movies had a mix of humor and action.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Jim222001Jun 15, 2017
I never thought I would say Tom Cruise is no Brendan Fraser. Fraser was perfect in a Mummy movie. Since he can handle campy. Cruise is lost with the campy material of this film. Also is lost when the film takes itself seriously. He looks likeI never thought I would say Tom Cruise is no Brendan Fraser. Fraser was perfect in a Mummy movie. Since he can handle campy. Cruise is lost with the campy material of this film. Also is lost when the film takes itself seriously. He looks like he wandered off the set of a Mission Impossible film. The 1999 film aged pretty well and has a great score by the late Jerry Goldsmith. As well as fine effects. While yes even Stephen Sommers was at his best. Maybe Cruise should have took a break from all the "running" and played a vampire again in a Dracula reboot. Since he can play an action hero in his sleep. Also if you want to start a monster universe. Then you start with Dracula or Frankenstein. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MosquitozzzzzJul 11, 2017
As always "pro" USA critics are nothing more as shtasses, they rate high shty movies, when good 1s they rate low/ Fk USa critics. Fk "pro" movie critics, they are thresh.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Jess_HillJun 15, 2017
Designed to introduce the 'Dark Universe', this lump of meh is a disappointing experience that has some great sequences, but is hampered by an awful script, inconsistent tone, and lack of panache. The cinematography is solid, and some of theDesigned to introduce the 'Dark Universe', this lump of meh is a disappointing experience that has some great sequences, but is hampered by an awful script, inconsistent tone, and lack of panache. The cinematography is solid, and some of the action sequences are inspired. However, whilst the storyline is adequate, the film languishes in mediocrity throughout. It's not a truly terrible film, more a boring one, which simply isn't acceptable in this genre. 5.56/10*

*Go and see Wonder Woman instead/again.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
vgmkyleJun 26, 2017
I knew when Hollywood shooed out Brendan Fraser it was going to get bad. Fraser was fun and entertaining and built for a concept like this. He was incredible. Tom Cruise is my dude, but he wasn't made for this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
daviddelnorte23Jan 18, 2018
Una película entretenida que le da un giro diferente a lo que era la trilogía anterior de 'La Momia'. Bien, un buen producto de entretenimiento.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
ourtimehascomeOct 16, 2017
The Mummy hardly understands itself. As an action film, the scenes are so haphazard they might as well have been an accident. As a horror, it lacks any sort of believable authenticity in its storytelling to make any element consistent andThe Mummy hardly understands itself. As an action film, the scenes are so haphazard they might as well have been an accident. As a horror, it lacks any sort of believable authenticity in its storytelling to make any element consistent and interesting. As a starting point for the Dark Universe Cinematic Universe, it's an abysmal failure. Not even big stars like Tom Cruise and Russell Crowe could save this forgettable flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
sirArteriusJul 14, 2017
Dig it. I loved it. Maybe it is not super movie. But this new (yeah, reawaken) Universe has so much potential. Just for a moment look at DC/Marvel movies. So few are really good. Most of them are just moderate at best. Dark Universe. SoundsDig it. I loved it. Maybe it is not super movie. But this new (yeah, reawaken) Universe has so much potential. Just for a moment look at DC/Marvel movies. So few are really good. Most of them are just moderate at best. Dark Universe. Sounds fresh. Marvel-DC loop must be extended. Looking forward to see more.
PS: it's funny that critics gave a lower rating than users. no money - no positive reviews, ay?
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
DubeauAug 3, 2017
Cruse has a running sequence in the Mummy but that doesn't elevate the film that much. He plays an antihero like he plays about all his roles and he is not very credible in it. The best characters in this movie is the Mummy itself (Sofia) andCruse has a running sequence in the Mummy but that doesn't elevate the film that much. He plays an antihero like he plays about all his roles and he is not very credible in it. The best characters in this movie is the Mummy itself (Sofia) and Chris Vail (Jake). Vail is killed way too soon and he is the only thing bringing things down to earth. I like that the Mummy played into Nick's head but it is not always presented in a very efficient way. The others actors are average and the story is NOT scary at all. The action is pretty good but the film takes it's time to start. It seems to me that the character of Dr. Hyde wasn't that great. It's justification, the very minimal special effect of his character. They could have given that role to Annabelle and make her so much more interesting. I found myself watching the time after an hour, so...I give it a 40% because the action was decent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
bigbro29Jun 13, 2017
ok I will admit I didn't expect much judging just by the reviews of the movie but however I did get a shock kinda I honestly didn't think it was all that bad yea I mean it wasn't the best but I did like the amount of action and comedy theyok I will admit I didn't expect much judging just by the reviews of the movie but however I did get a shock kinda I honestly didn't think it was all that bad yea I mean it wasn't the best but I did like the amount of action and comedy they blended well together to make a great time at the movies I say more a rent then a run to go see but I do recommend seeing it Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
KirvinJun 16, 2017
This was almost a decent movie, but the cheesy cliches made this film boring and hard to watch. In addition to being boring the film failed to deliver the information in a way that was enjoyable to the audience. It had a ton of promise butThis was almost a decent movie, but the cheesy cliches made this film boring and hard to watch. In addition to being boring the film failed to deliver the information in a way that was enjoyable to the audience. It had a ton of promise but just missed the mark because of those mistakes and the fact that Tom Cruise was absolutely terrible didn't help. Now as far as horror, this film gives you chills at moments and Sofia Boutella as the mummy was perfect. Alex Kurtzman definitely provided horror to this remake keeping the feels closer to the original. Sadly just to many dumb lines and misguided zombie friends which makes this film a snoozer. The Dark Universe is in trouble. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
ConradoflightJun 30, 2017
Why? What went wrong? Cruise has a high low threshold but this story does not make sense. It's like it has no soul or something. Unengaging and boring waste of money and time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Kes4278Jul 30, 2017
I don't care what anyone says. I think The Mummy was an awesome movie. Not as good as the one before this but...... yeah.great movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
floresnicoSep 6, 2017
To be honest I thought this film would have been a lot better than it was. Considering the previous films before it performed fairly well. There were a lot of segments in this film that were supposed to be humorous when in fact it was theTo be honest I thought this film would have been a lot better than it was. Considering the previous films before it performed fairly well. There were a lot of segments in this film that were supposed to be humorous when in fact it was the exact opposite. I think I expected more out of the cast along with a better storyline. Overall not a huge fan of the movie and would not recommend it for others to see. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
someonegetmeoutOct 6, 2017
I cannot understand this so negative rating to this movie. The cast was great and the story was a way better than the 'original' horrible movies. The Mummy is a very good movie, a well-deserved 7, but I put a 10 to raise the average due toI cannot understand this so negative rating to this movie. The cast was great and the story was a way better than the 'original' horrible movies. The Mummy is a very good movie, a well-deserved 7, but I put a 10 to raise the average due to poor ratings by poor users. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
norseOct 2, 2017
So glad metacritic allows ratings of "0" - no more would be adequate for this steaming pile of abused celluloid.

Bad performances of not so great actors, a ridiculously implausible story and terrible slapstick throughout the scenes made this
So glad metacritic allows ratings of "0" - no more would be adequate for this steaming pile of abused celluloid.

Bad performances of not so great actors, a ridiculously implausible story and terrible slapstick throughout the scenes made this a displeasure to watch.

If you like movies, possess intelligence and or loved the original Mummy for it's wit and pacing, stay away. If it's too late, switch off the movie or attempt to drown the brain cells loaded with the putrid memories of it in something high proof.

Ugh.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
JayNiagaraJul 9, 2017
Wake up, Hollywood. How does a movie with great special FX fail in the middle of the summer blockbuster season? Casting directors need to take serious note here - the only person who still thinks Tom Cruise is awesome is Tom Cruise. TheWake up, Hollywood. How does a movie with great special FX fail in the middle of the summer blockbuster season? Casting directors need to take serious note here - the only person who still thinks Tom Cruise is awesome is Tom Cruise. The real-life arrogance and egotism shines through ridiculously and viewers have tired of it. Had Chris Pratt or Jeremy Renner been cast in the lead, the box-office gross would have been far different. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OhTheDerpSep 2, 2017
Watched it with very low expectations, but came out pleasantly surprised.

Filler filler filler filler filler filler filler filler filler filler filler
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dharmaJun 9, 2017
The Mummy is clearly has every potential to be a great film, but it squandered it for setting up the so called 'dark universe' for its studio. With Cruise at the forefront, it is essentially M:I meets Indiana Jones, mixed in with a littleThe Mummy is clearly has every potential to be a great film, but it squandered it for setting up the so called 'dark universe' for its studio. With Cruise at the forefront, it is essentially M:I meets Indiana Jones, mixed in with a little bit of the original. It is entertaining and will probably earn loads of money in the overseas market, but it will probably bomb in the US market, considering that they want a more 'hearty meal' in their viewing habits (hence, its lousy ratings). As it is, The Mummy is designed to thrill you a bit, scare you a bit and let you off the roller coaster ride mildly entertained. But it's equivalent of of eating loads of popcorn, and still wanting a full meal one hour afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mrmonsterJun 27, 2017
It was definitely worth watching. Not great, but a good way to start the Dark Universe. Lots of great characters, great moments, and seeing a female mummy was interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
mugen_is_hereOct 18, 2017
I liked the movie overall. At least it's been better than all the previous mummy movies and that is an achievement.

Tom has at least some level of character detail as opposed to Brendan Frazer in the earlier movies where his only dialogues
I liked the movie overall. At least it's been better than all the previous mummy movies and that is an achievement.

Tom has at least some level of character detail as opposed to Brendan Frazer in the earlier movies where his only dialogues were 1 liners and action sequences.

I also liked the fact that there's little of "wild action" scenes which serve more as a filler and then you forget them because they don't add anything to the plotline.

I can't tell you what I didn't like without giving away spoilers. But I would say that the ending satisfying.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LeZeeNov 4, 2017
The first in the Universal studio's 'Dark Universe'!

If you see the history, the reboots usually fails. It has to be at least half a century old to reboot like 'King Kong'. So the technology advantage would play a major role. It was less
The first in the Universal studio's 'Dark Universe'!

If you see the history, the reboots usually fails. It has to be at least half a century old to reboot like 'King Kong'. So the technology advantage would play a major role. It was less than the 20 years, the last 'The Mummy' film had released and pretty impressed everybody with modern visual effects. Even today's young generation getting used to that when it was played on the television. Comparing this to that, there's nothing much other than more perfection in graphics and additional digital 3D. In my opinion, they should have waited another decade.

It was exactly reversed version of the 1999 film. I mean the character designs. Like female mummy coming to life and targeting a man for the ultimate power possession. Two US army men in Iraq found a hidden tomb like structure from the Egyptian era beneath the sand. The recovered ancient coffin shipped to England, but the plane crash down. Since then, an unknown force begins to hunt down one of that two army men. Fighting against it, followed by how the story ends comes in the later parts.

When I first heard about the reboot, I said oh no! Hearing about Tom Cruise's involvement, it became double no! Actually, he was good in the film, but the film was unnecessary at this generation. Even though it did good at the box office, it was considered a decent run. But the studio has a bigger plan, that you would know if you watch the film, that they had already developed a plot for at least two more films with enough characters to carry on that long. If needed, it would add more in the latter. I feel that's a bad idea right now. Watching it one time is not bad, but no special at all.

5.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
chidimeAug 4, 2017
Terrible movie. Save yourself the stress and don't see this. Waste of time. Seems more like a satire movie than a serious dark one. errible character development. And the best part of the movie (Dr Jekyll and his lab) was given very littleTerrible movie. Save yourself the stress and don't see this. Waste of time. Seems more like a satire movie than a serious dark one. errible character development. And the best part of the movie (Dr Jekyll and his lab) was given very little time and no history. What a disgrace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksSep 9, 2017
The Mummy is a disaster of a movie, with no real tone, consistent story or even great acting. The biggest mistake the filmmakers made was not letting the movie be stand alone but instead using it as a starting vehicle for a franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews